Wednesday, December 09, 2009

Final Fall Issue

The final issue of the fall is here, in pdf form. Our archives are also back up.

Tuesday, December 08, 2009

Curb Your Enthusiasm, Pt. 2

In an unrelated note, B@B is apparently down. Why?
recently, our community has been under attack by a very small group of people. these people troll the site with the purpose of killing the community with slanderous and racist comments.
i do not condone hate speech or racist comments and i will not allow boredat to exist if:
1. it does not accurately represent the general opinion of its community.
2. it does not have the ability to self-moderate.


Uh, wasn't that more or less all that was on there?

Curb Your Enthusiasm

Well, this just landed in in-boxes across campus. You might want to tone it down next time you attend a squash match.
To the Dartmouth Community:


As you may know, The Valley News reported Saturday on the inappropriate behavior of Dartmouth students attending a men's and women's squash match against Harvard last Wednesday.

We are very disappointed that any of our students would engage in behavior that is out of line with the values of this community. While we encourage students to vigorously support our athletes, we expect them to do so in a way that reflects our pride in those teams, not disrespect for others. The Office of the Dean of the College and the Athletics Department are still gathering information about what happened at this match at Dartmouth.

A number of our students have already apologized to the Dartmouth community and others, including our men's soccer team, which today issued a written apology to the Dartmouth community and took full responsibility for actions by some members of their team. We support the soccer team's newly-announced initiative to encourage Dartmouth athletes and fans to discuss how to create a more respectful atmosphere at our events.

We will be personally contacting a Harvard player and his parents who were particular targets of inappropriate statements by Dartmouth students, as well as Harvard President Drew Gilpin Faust, to convey our concern and to offer apologies on behalf of our community.

Jim Yong Kim
President, Dartmouth College

Sylvia Spears
Acting Dean of the College

Bob Ceplikas '78
Acting Athletics Director


The story in question is this one. Apparently some boys from the soccer team and AD appeared at the recent squash match against Harvard to support our team and create an intimidating atmosphere (good). They did this by being as loud (great!) and lewd (not so good) as possible, including yelling such family friendly phrases as the following:

Words such as “dick,” “fag” and “----sucker” were repeatedly shouted at the visitors Wednesday, many times with “f------” added as an adjective. Harvard's female players eventually sought the protection of an assistant coach after they said they were called “whores” and “sluts” while they cheered on their male peers. While playing his match, Franklin Cohen was told he had small genitals and asked if he liked bagels, a phrase his mother viewed as a reference to the family's Jewish surname.
Nice one, guys. Bryan Giudicelli, an '11 soccer player, also followed up by calling a Crimson team member who was score-keeping,

...a “coward” and a “despicable human being”.
Well, at the very least, I suppose we can trash talk at both ends of the spectrum. I eagerly await the day we refer to a Harvard player as, "a downright daft dosser," or perhaps, "a plebeian, twonking prat." The possibilities are endless with our near-limitless vocabulary.

Thursday, November 19, 2009

No Comment

Occasionally, I pull up YouTube and simply type "Dartmouth" into the search box, then sort by newest uploads. This is what I found this time.

Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Welcome to Dartlog

While our primary website, dartreview.com is under construction please enjoy our blog with pdfs of the latest issues and news from across campus.

Website Update

We are still sorting through our website mess, and, in the meantime, we've redirected dartreview.com to this blog. Until the website is up and running again, I will be posting pdfs of our latest issues under the Nota Bene section on the right hand side of this page. Additionally, our store is still up and functioning and can be found here.

Tuesday, November 17, 2009

Welcome to Dartlog!

Dartreview.com is currently under construction.

To donate or subscribe, please e-mail tdrprez@gmail.com

Visit our store to purchase t-shirts and other clothing.
To purchase Indian canes, Indian bow ties, or Indian ties email tdrprez@gmail.com or call the Dartmouth Review offices.

Please continue to check here for .pdf files of the latest issues and Dartmouth related news.

Monday, November 16, 2009

Issues to be Posted under Nota Bene

The website issue continues to plague us; in the meantime we have redirected dartreview.com to this blog. I'm also going to continue posting pdfs of the recent issues on this blog. They will be collected under the Nota Bene section on the right hand side of our blog. We are looking to fix this problem as quickly as possible. Thanks again for your patience.

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Quick News Hit

Saturday, November 07, 2009

President Kim on Finances

This Blitz landed in my inbox tonight:

Dear Members of the Community,

The Board of Trustees just finished meeting to discuss strategic priorities, the scope of the financial challenges the College faces and our approach for investing in Dartmouth's future. I wanted to provide you with an update on these issues and the principles that will guide us as we move forward.

Dartmouth is a world-class institution with an unparalleled educational formula. During my four months at the College, I have heard many wonderful ideas from you on how we can enrich the Dartmouth experience even further. As we head toward Dartmouth's 250th Anniversary in 2019, we must continue to be bold and ambitious in our vision for the College.

At the same time, we face an immediate and pressing financial challenge. Like other institutions, we are not immune from the impact of the severe and prolonged economic downturn. For the fiscal year that ended in June 2009, the College had an operating budget deficit of $34 million caused primarily by financial losses on investments. Financial projections show that this annual budget gap could widen to more than $50 million in fiscal 2011 and by an additional $50 million in fiscal 2012 as growth of expenses continues to outpace revenues.

To achieve our current and future aspirations, and maintain our commitment to excellence, we need to take immediate action to address this structural deficit. The sooner and more effectively we act, the sooner we will be back on a sound footing and in a position to invest strategically in Dartmouth's future.

During the past five years, spending and investment decisions helped the College achieve critical priorities: enhancing financial aid to attract the best students; hiring more faculty in key areas; and starting construction on critical new facilities. The change in the worldwide economic outlook, however, has led us to alter our assumptions. We can no longer sustain our current level of endowment spending.

The Trustees have asked us to plan on an endowment distribution rate that is more sustainable in the current environment and closer to the College's historic rate of 5 to 5.5 percent, down from 6.3 percent in fiscal 2009. The lower endowment distribution rate will take effect in fiscal 2011.

To close the budget gap, we must look to reduce our expenses thoughtfully and improve the efficiency and effectiveness of our administrative operations. I regret that this process will unavoidably result in a smaller workforce at Dartmouth. We will pursue every possible alternative and treat any affected employees with respect and dignity.

Our goal will be not just to cut costs, but to improve the way we operate the College in pursuit of its mission. We will protect the "Dartmouth Experience" and make necessary investments to continue to enhance it, and we will preserve the College's commitment to leadership in higher education.

We must continue to offer superb teaching and scholarship by world-class faculty, while achieving leadership positions in new and emerging fields that make the most of Dartmouth's unique strengths. We will also aim to increase philanthropic giving and strategically pursue initiatives that provide new sources of revenue.

While we look to reduce expenditures, the Board has also asked that we work on plans for new strategic investments that will ensure Dartmouth continues to advance its mission and maintains an educational experience that is the best in the world.

We are going to approach this process with a five-year time horizon, and we will be submitting a detailed fiscal 2011 budget plan as well as a five-year investment plan to the Trustees, in stages, for approval next spring.

I have asked Carol Folt and Steven Kadish to partner with me in leading the budget process. Carol, Dean of the Faculty of Arts & Sciences, is also acting Provost. Steve is Senior Vice President and Strategic Advisor. The Committee on Priorities of the Faculty of Arts & Sciences, the institution-wide Budget Steering Committee, and the Student Budget Advisory Committee, will be fully engaged in the process as well.

Throughout the process, we will seek input from across the College community, and we will be meeting with and reviewing all departments and divisions. Regular updates will also be posted to Dartmouth's budget website, at http://budget.dartmouth.edu/, where we invite you to submit questions and suggestions.

This undertaking will not be easy. It will involve difficult choices. I am confident that together we can overcome the financial challenges we face. With a sense of common purpose, guided by passion and practicality, I know that we will make the right decisions not only to sustain but to advance Dartmouth and its enduring mission.

Sincerely,
Jim Yong Kim
President
Dartmouth College

Please visit the Dartmouth News website to view the press release on the Board's November meeting: http://www.dartmouth.edu/~news/releases/2009/11/07.html

It's a bit disappointing that he refers to Dartmouth, over the past five years, "hiring more faculty in key areas." Last I checked, we still have no Shakespeare Chair. Still, he also writes that fixing finances, "will unavoidably result in a smaller workforce at Dartmouth." Hopefully, President Kim will be fully prepared to make some tough choices and implement them. He's dealt with World Health Organization levels of bureaucracy; one would think that Parkhurst, while no cakewalk, should be easier to work through.

Indian Football Notches Second Victory!

Wah-Hoo-Wah! In two overtimes, the final is:

Dartmouth 20
Cornell 17

The box score can be found here.

Next up: Brown.

Friday, October 30, 2009

Friday News Roundup

See it here before you read it in the D.

Thursday, October 29, 2009

Because Being a Petition Candidate Wasn't Hard Enough Already

Well, here we go again. This is from today's D:

The Dartmouth Association of Alumni executive committee voted to shorten the campaigning period for Board of Trustees and Association elections on Wednesday, moving forward with the recommendations of an Association committee tasked with exploring election reform. Although the committee was originally formed to pursue campaign finance reform, it found that such reform is politically untenable at this time.

Absolutely amazing. If "campaign finance reform" (read: keeping petition candidates from being able to spend sufficient amounts of money to get their name out there to get elected) was too hot to touch, I'm still not sure why shortening the campaign period by a full third is a good idea.

Association President John Mathias ’69, a member of the election reform study committee, said in an interview with The Dartmouth. “The reduction to four weeks was welcomed.”
Well yes, welcomed by you and those who would rather pesky petition candidates stay out of your way so you can Harvardize this institution.

Thankfully, the article has some balance. Frank Gado '58 responded:

Frank Gado ’58, a former member of the Association executive committee who supported the organization’s 2007 lawsuit against the College, said that shortening the campaign period will negatively affect petition candidates.

“The group within the alumni that is seeking to challenge the establishment needs to get its message out,” Gado said. “How can it get its message out [in four weeks]?”

Don't worry about that, Mr. Gado. Candidates will be given more room to write personal statements, up from the current limit of 250! That's really a good trade off there. The AoA has kneecapped future petition candidates and given them a Band-Aid in the form of a few more lines in a Word file.

What's the logic behind all of this? Well, as David Spalding '76 put it:

“Yes, we believe that with a shorter election period and with the College providing more space for people to express their views, there will be less of a need for money in the elections,” Spalding said.
It also makes it that much more difficult for petition candidates--who run entirely on their own dime, by the way, without the College's inherent advantages such as mailing lists--to get their message out. Combine this with "campaign finance reform" that will inevitably recommend putting a ceiling on the amount of money candidates can spend and we're looking at completely disenfranchised alumni.

Are you ready for the kicker? Get this:

The fourth guiding principle from the report, which stated that “petition candidates should never be disadvantaged by any restrictive election guidelines or rules promulgated by the [Association executive committee],” was changed to say that “no candidate should be ever be disadvantaged” by election guidelines, Mathias said.
The other guiding principles — that alumni should be given sufficient information about all candidates, that candidates should be allowed to share their opinions “without editorial review” and that elections should not be affected by the amount of money spent candidates — were accepted without change by the committee.
Yet, this is exactly what has just been done. Don't be surprised if that last "guiding principle" is the next one to be implemented in the interest "fairness" or some such nonsense.

Monday, October 26, 2009

Fall Issues Now Online

As you have surely noticed, The Dartmouth Review's website has been down for quite some time. Originally, we had hoped to fix the problem quickly and post back issues online; however, we have come to realize that the problem requires more than a quick fix. Since this is the case, I'm going to post the fall issues we've published up until now as pdfs. Rest assured that we are working to fix the problem with the website as quickly as is possible. Thank you for your patience.
Feel free to comment below.

Worst Class Ever

It is now official.

In a buck of tradition, no students touched the Homecoming bonfire on Friday or rushed the field at Saturday’s football game.

The D's article includes plenty of speculation about the reason for the failure of this old tradition.

Some things certainly did not change, however: four out of ten Good Sam calls resulted in arrests. Four more dangerous criminals off the streets, I suppose.

Saturday, October 24, 2009

Indian Victory!

Wah-Hoo-Wah! Final is:

Indians 28
Lions 6

Keep in mind, this is the same Columbia squad that smacked Princeton around in New Jersey to the tune of 38-0 (and we play Princeton here in Hanover this year). The box score can be found here. Congratulations to the squad on a fine victory. Next up: Harvard.


Thursday, October 22, 2009

Apologies

The previous post's comments section is not working. Please use this post if you'd like to comment on it.

Protesters "Storm" Parkhurst

0
Remember that interview where President Kim stated that he wanted students to "symbolically storm Parkhurst"? No? Well, it actually happened today.

Well, storm may be too strong a term. There was no property damage done and everyone was more or less civil. There were only two tie-dye shirts and one of them turned out to be a Ben and Jerry's t-shirt. Anyways, after receiving the Blitz in the previous post, I caught a lucky break when my midterm finished at 3:20. I was able to run back to my dorm and grab my camera and Dictaphone. I proceeded to swing back by Parkhurst and managed to catch the protesters as they were organizing. I counted twenty-six of them initially and the number varied throughout the protest, dropping towards the end.

I learned the event wasn't widely publicized. It had been organized by Tim Bolger '10. As was made clear in my previous post, the point was to deliver a letter to President Kim, which one of the members of the protest was kind enough to Blitz to me and can be read in its entirety here. A quote or two to give you an idea of its content:

In the spirit of the students that took over Parkhurst in protest of the Vietnam War and built slums on the Green to protest apartheid, we accept your challenge to take on the world's problems as our own with the belief that as committed and passionate individuals we can promote positive and lasting change. Climate change is an issue of great urgency for which Dartmouth students are ready and willing to address, but we need your support. We envision a Sustainable Dartmouth as a place that produces no net greenhouse gas emissions, uses renewable sources of energy, models a cradle-to-cradle system for waste management, and promotes sustainable behaviors among its students, staff, and faculty. A Sustainable Dartmouth is integral to the mission and future of the College as a place to practice creative and experiential leadership that may be adapted to the world beyond.


And their demands--well, demands is definitely the wrong term to use. The way it's worded, it's almost more like it's a series of suggestions.

  • Make the necessary investment that will hedge against the risk of high future energy costs, double our energy efficiency efforts, and replace our dependence on No. 6 oil with renewables.
  • Appoint an Energy Research and Advisory Committee to help develop conservation and efficiency policies, raise the funds necessary for a transition to renewable energy sources, and build partnerships with the town, state, businesses, and other colleges and universities.
  • Make sustainability efforts a core part of Dartmouth's next capital campaign.
  • Provide more staff support for implementing these policies and programs through the Sustainability Office.

There is a true opportunity for leadership in addressing climate change and making sustainability an institutional priority at Dartmouth. We hope that you accept this challenge in partnership with students and that together we can create a more sustainable campus, community, and world.


When the clock struck 3:50 (apparently an allusion to this), somebody let loose a cry of "Leeroooy, Jenkiiins!" (yes, seriously) and we all walked up the steps and into Parkhurst.

Unfortunately for the intrepid protesters, President Kim was in a meeting and it was unknown when it would finish, most likely around five-thirty. The group elected to stick around and wait rather than just leave the letter for him. The secretary went to inform President Kim of the crowd outside his door and the sit-in commenced. One fellow remarked aloud that he felt like he should've shaved because he was going to be meeting the President.

I asked another protester, the same one who was kind enough to Blitz me the letter, why they were protesting. He told me it was about the administration's inaction on climate change. When I pointed out that we'd had several buildings built to be environmentally friendly, he said we could be doing, "so much more with our resources."


While we were waiting, people spread out into the hallway and settled into the chairs--and the floor--in the reception area. I glanced at the posters downstairs which I had briefly noted as we walked in. They were posters for the Dartmouth Sustainability Initiative, which can also be seen in Baker-Berry library. It struck me as a little odd that they were there to protest when the administration cared enough to put their posters behind glass in Parkhurst (Marissa Knodel '09, one of the protesters, is featured on the leftmost poster).













A ways into the sit-in, a slightly befuddled Senior VP Kadish met with the protesters and tried to talk them out of it. The group held firm and the aforementioned Marissa Knodel '09 informed Kadish that she had been in the office several times trying to schedule a meeting and had been told the earliest she could meet with President Kim would be the winter term. Kadish retreated a bit, telling the students that he really did, "appreciate what [they're] doing," because he, "stood right where [the protesters] are standing." He suggested the two groups huddle and work out a deal. It was no good; Bolger's group held their ground.





Somebody brought in Ben and Jerry's ice cream to fortify them while they waited. I considered running and grabbing something from FoCo when somebody whistled. Kim had emerged from his meeting. It was showtime.



I apologize for the somewhat lousy quality of the videos. My camera isn't the best and people weren't speaking particularly loudly. The group scheduled a meeting with President Kim for tomorrow morning at 8:00. I headed back to my dorm, only to encounter this lady on the corner of Wheelock and Main, which is a favorite for folks who want to protest something.

To be clear, the lady has nothing to do with the protest at Parkhurst, I just found her day-glo sign, which is nearly as big as she is, to be humorous.

Sustainability LEEDs to Inevitable, Pt. 2

Just had this forwarded to me. I've redacted the names for their privacy.

From: [REDACTED]
Date: 2009/10/22
Subject: Sit-in at presidents office
To: [REDACTED]


Hey [REDACTED],

So, something really cool is going down today to protest Dartmouth's
inaction on climate/sustainability issues.

We will be sitting-in at the President's office and giving him a document
outlining our concerns.

We'll meet in front of Parkhurst at 3:40 TODAY.

Please invite your friends or teams or whatever. We should represent all
groups on campus and we should make that place overflow!

3:40, Parkhurst. You'll be at robo anyways, so misewell stop by!

[redacted]


Below is whole list of 350 (Climate awareness events)...

TODAY (Thursday), 3:40pm in front of Parkhurst
Talk with President Kim. We will give President Kim the attached letter,
which will be signed by the chairs of numerous environmental organizations
on campus.

TONIGHT (Thursday), 6:00 - 8:00pm, International Climate Awareness Event
Free food! (GUSANOS!)
Live music! (Cfunk lite + DMC's co-chair, Billy Corbett. Also featuring
members of Clusterfunk including DMC's very own Marc Shapiro and Tim Bolger)
Keynote speakers!
Free raffle for prizes like Ipod shuffles!

Saturday, 3:20pm- ~5pm, International Climate Action Day, 350
1) Capture the flag/CO2 game (BLITZ MATT DAHLHAUSEN FOR MORE INFO),
2) 350 demonstration/photo (BLITZ TIM BOLGER FOR MORE INFO),
3) table and provide information/graphics about Dartmouths energy
consumption
and carbon footprint. (PEOPLE FROM ENVS80 AND OTHERS, BLITZ TIM BOLGER IF
YOU
CAN HELP OUT/NEED TO BUY MATERIALS.)

I'm a little surprised at their concern about Dartmouth's "inaction" on climate issues. I mean, we slipped from an A- to a B+ in the green report card, but I'd hardly call that inaction. The McLaughlin and McClane-Fahey clusters received gold LEED ratings. Kemeny and the Haldeman Center garnered silver ratings and even the Floren varsity house was built to LEED specifications (it received a silver ranking as well). Even if they haven't worked out as well as people had hoped, that's still quite a bit of money spent over five buildings. Short of letting our powers combine, I'm not sure what more they want the College to do.

Wednesday, October 21, 2009

Sustainability LEEDs to Inevitable

Well, the results are in. Dartmouth dropped a grade from an A- to a B+in the fourth annual Green Report Card from the Sustainable Endowments Institute. It appears we lost ground in three categories: Endowment Transparency, Investment Priorities and most amusingly, Green Buildings. Our gains in the Administration and Climate Change categories couldn't offset the loss.

This leaves us fifth in the Ivy League in sustainability behind Brown, Harvard, Penn and Yale, and ahead of Cornell, Columbia and Princeton.

To aid the College in its quest to regain its former grade, I hereby pledge to take shorter showers in the dark.

Sunday, October 18, 2009

Sun God Now Available on YouTube

Yes, really.

In case you haven't been around campus lately (or are subscribed to the D and keep wondering who the guy is who appears in "The Still North" every so often), the so-called "Sun God" is Jonathan Recor MALS '10. If you've missed his antics, you can now find nineteen videos of them under his account. For example:



Why is he dancing around campus at all times of the night with a lightsaber? Well, as he puts it on his video descriptions:

Mission: These impromptu performances are intended for people who recognize that life isn't as serious as we sometimes make it out to be. As such, our mission as a collective student body is to have fun and let loose the emotional energies and stresses of our lives to form a meaningful and creative performance that builds from the foundation of our humanity.

There's also a much more detailed explanation on his Facebook group. To each his own, I suppose.

Wednesday, October 14, 2009

The Patriarchy Precipitated the Market Crash

Before you ask, no, I don't know why I'm receiving Blitzes from WiL.

This week in Women in Leadership...

"Title IX CEOs"

Would the financial meltdown have been as severe had women held the top leadership spots on Wall Street?
Does participation in intercollegiate athletics provide valuable preparation for competition in the boardroom?

Here's a great article:
http://views.washingtonpost.com/leadership/panelists/2009/03/title-ix-ceos.html

Wednesday night, 6-7pm. Morrison Commons in Rocky

Free Ramuntos


Apparently the Y chromosome may lead to financial crises. Here are some fun quotes from the article linked to in the Blitz:

Second, and again generalizing somewhat, women are more collaborative and less competitive in business than men; they'd be less likely, for example, to push an untested and poorly understood financial instrument so as to be seen as a Master of the Universe, or gobble up another company just so their merged entity would be bigger than the company of someone they wanted to best.

The power of Greyskull not only transforms Cringer into Battle Cat, it grants sub-prime mortgages as well. Don't worry, though, the government will have fixed all this machismo investing through Title IX legislation.

Might it be that 10 or 15 years from now, when Title IX will have spawned a whole generation of women with experience in intercollegiate athletics, we'll see women behaving as competitively in the boardroom as they did on the soccer field, softball diamond or basketball court?
So the problem was that men were too aggressive and the question posed is whether women, because of their moderating tendencies, would have mitigated the financial crash if they'd been in top leadership positions. How do they get to those top leadership positions so they can exercise their tendencies? By becoming more aggressive thanks to sports. Did I miss something here? The amusing part is that the article was written by Paul R. Portney, who is, according to the article, "Dean of the Eller College of Management at the University of Arizona, where he also holds the Halle Chair in Leadership."

Dean Folt to Become Acting Provost Folt

Personnel in Parkhurst are being shifted around like chess pieces, it seems.
October 14, 2009


Dear Members of the Dartmouth Community,

I am delighted to announce that Dean Carol Folt will serve as Acting Provost (effective October 26) as we search for a permanent Provost. Carol also will continue as Dean of Faculty. We are very fortunate to have someone of her academic and administrative caliber who is willing to take on this additional responsibility at this critical time for Dartmouth.

The Dartmouth Professor of Biological Sciences, Carol is an internationally-recognized environmental scientist, an award winning teacher, and an astute administrator. Known for her work on metal toxicity, she is the Associate Director of Dartmouth's interdisciplinary Superfund Basic Research Program, which has received over $40 million in federal research awards. Carol has served as one of Dartmouth's senior academic leaders since 2001, first as Dean of Graduate Studies and Associate Dean of Faculty(2001-2004), then as Dean of Faculty since 2004.

Provost Barry Scherr, who is stepping down after eight years as Provost, will continue working closely with Carol through the transition, and overseeing our reaccreditation self-study through December.

With her deep understanding of our mission, and her experience across academic, administrative, and financial affairs, Carol has been a key advisor since my arrival in Hanover. Going forward, her guidance will be valuable as we work together as a community to address financial challenges and discuss our future. Dean Folt has played a critical role in overseeing the strategic growth of the Arts & Sciences faculty, and in launching creative cross cutting programs and institutes, including the Neukom Institute for Computational Science, the Institute of Writing and Rhetoric, as well as new programs in digital humanities, sustainability science, and professional ethics. She developed numerous partnerships with the graduate and professional schools, such as with the Amos Tuck School of Business to teach classes in business for undergraduates, with the Dartmouth Medical School to enhance graduate student recruitment and training, and with the Provost's Office to enhance K-12 experiential science education programs in the Upper Valley.

I want to thank Carol for her willingness to take on this additional responsibility and look forward to her leadership and guidance over the coming months.

Sincerely,

Jim Yong Kim
President
Dartmouth College
This is unfortunate, especially President Kim's note about her, "administrative caliber." Do keep in mind that while serving as Dean of the Faculty, Carol Folt let our philosophy department become a shell of its former self (for example, we're losing Prof. Sinnott-Armstrong to Duke in the coming spring). Let's hope that soon to be Acting Provost Folt will be better at her new job.

With how long Provost Scherr remained in his position after President Kim reappointed him, one wonders how Dean Folt will hold onto her new post.

Friday, October 09, 2009

Pres. Kim Hits the Ground Running

It appears President Kim knows how to get a jump on things. This was sent out to the campus today:

October 9, 2009

Dear Members of the Dartmouth Community,

As we settle into the new academic year, I want to express appreciation for the warm welcome you have extended to my family and to me. With the celebration of Convocation and Inauguration on September 22, many of us had the chance to reaffirm our commitment to each other as members of the Dartmouth community, and to the pursuit of excellence in education.

In less challenging economic times, you might expect that my first letter to you as president would focus largely on our aspirations for the coming year. But these are not normal times. I am writing today to update you on Dartmouth's financial picture, and the difficult work we face in continuing to bring the College's finances into balance.

The global economic crisis has created significant challenges for every institution of higher learning, but Dartmouth remains committed to providing the finest education in the world. Our priorities are clear: to enable the best students to attend Dartmouth, regardless of their financial means; to continue to attract superb faculty who are both great scholars and great teachers; and to build on our reputation as an exceptional place that offers a personalized educational experience for leaders who will shape the future.

Generous friends, parents, and alumni have once again enabled Dartmouth to act according to its priorities. The level of giving held up extraordinarily well over the past year, despite the recession. However, unprecedented volatility in global financial markets caused substantial losses in virtually every part of our endowment in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2009.

Here is an overview of key financial metrics for fiscal year 2009:

Endowment Losses

* Dartmouth's endowment fell 23 percent to $2.8 billion (a decline of 19.6 percent due to investment performance, with the balance as a result of spending from the endowment, somewhat offset by new gifts to the endowment).
* This loss of $835 million equates to approximately a $50 million reduction in annual operating revenue available to the College.
* Long-term endowment performance, however, has been excellent. Dartmouth achieved an 8 percent annual return over the past decade, when the performance of the broader stock market was flat, placing it in the top 5 percent of all endowments and foundations.

Endowment Spending

* Dartmouth increased its rate of endowment spending several years ago to support key initiatives including enhanced financial aid, additions to the faculty, and critical facilities projects.
* Endowment spending of $227 million represented 32 percent of Dartmouth's revenue last year (total revenue of $701 million) and, after tuition, was the largest source of revenue for the institution.
* We are making conservative projections about future endowment performance. Given these projections and the decline in the value of our endowment, contributions to Dartmouth's budget from the endowment will be flat or will decline over the next several years relative to fiscal year 2009 -- further reducing revenue to fund operations.

Prospects for Recovery in the Endowment

* While the stock market has recovered somewhat in recent months, college and university endowments, because of their asset allocations, generally have not rebounded as quickly. Dartmouth's endowment, with only 26 percent of assets invested in public equities, is no exception.
* We do not expect our endowment to return to its fiscal year 2008 level of $3.66 billion for quite some time.

Fundraising Progress and Goals

* The Dartmouth College Fund raised $38.1 million in fiscal year 2009, down from the record $42.2 million raised in the previous year. Alumni participation remained high at 46 percent, off just one percentage point. The Fund provides unrestricted dollars which directly support financial aid, faculty and academic programs, athletics, the arts, and service opportunities for students around the world.
* Volunteers are hard at work to meet our $40 million goal for the fiscal 2010 Dartmouth College Fund.
* The Campaign for the Dartmouth Experience is now raising the final $60 million necessary to meet its $1.3 billion goal, which we anticipate achieving by December 31. These gifts are generally restricted to specific priorities, and are not available to fund general operating expenses.

Efforts announced last February to cut the operating budget have affected all parts of the institution. These efforts have included reducing the work force and holding compensation flat for most employees. These were not easy actions for the campus community. While these actions produced meaningful savings and helped address the immediate shortfall in the budget, they are not enough to cover the gap we face.

No single path will be sufficient to address these serious financial challenges. We will proceed on three fronts:

* First, we will reduce expenses. This must be done thoughtfully. We will work collaboratively and creatively to arrive at innovative solutions. We will be called upon to make some difficult choices.
* Second, we will aim to increase philanthropic giving to Dartmouth, in part by continuing to demonstrate to donors that we are using our resources efficiently and effectively.
* Third, we will pursue new initiatives that build upon the strengths of Dartmouth and produce revenue while addressing the evolving needs and potential of our students and of society.

As we address these challenges, we will seek campus input widely, through meetings and forums, and will continue to communicate with you in the weeks and months ahead. Meetings are already underway with the Arts & Sciences' faculty Committee on Priorities and with the institution-wide Budget Committee.

In my Inaugural address, I spoke of pursuing our most cherished goals not only with passion, but also with a tough-minded practicality that will allow us to deliver on those goals. I am confident that we will overcome these financial challenges and realize our aspirations, and that the character of this community will not just sustain this institution, but enable Dartmouth to continue to thrive.

Sincerely,

Jim Yong Kim
President
Dartmouth College


Several things of note: it's good that he acknowledged that there would be, "some difficult choices" to be made. Hopefully this means that Kim isn't afraid to fight through bureaucratic red tape in order to alleviate the budget shortfall through, say, downsizing a department or cutting a sacred cow office or two (like OPAL, the office that, in the words of former Dean Tom Crady, doesn't need to, "justify its existence," because everyone just loves it). He directed the U.N.'s World Health Organization, so Parkhurst shouldn't pose as much of a problem.

Nick Lowery '78 to be Inducted to Chiefs HoF

One of Dartmouth's most overlooked alumni, former Patriots, Chiefs and Jets kicker--and preliminary Football Hall of Fame nominee--Nick Lowery '78, will be inducted into the Chiefs Hall of Fame. Lowery was a two time All-Ivy selection for the Indians during his time at Dartmouth and went on to become the most accurate kicker in NFL history (or so his website claims) and receive the Dartmouth College Presidential Medal for Outstanding Leadership and Achievement.

Maybe it's a good omen; we play Yale tomorrow and a little karma might help.

You'll probably be reading about this in the D tomorrow in the space where an advertisement could have been placed. Seems like someone isn't happy with good old Joe Asch '79. This seems to continue the trend of Ivy papers making weird decisions with the advertisements they choose to run.

Thursday, October 08, 2009

Zantop Murders Revisited

The Boston Globe's website has an interesting little Q&A in its MetroDesk section with the authors of Judgment Ridge: The True Story Behind the Dartmouth Murders, about the psychology of James Parker and Robert Tulloch, the murderers of Half and Susanne Zantop, two Dartmouth professors. Some parallels are drawn to the recent murders in Mont Vernon, N.H. this past weekend.

Monday, October 05, 2009

Provost Scherr to Return to the Classroom

This message from President Kim landed in Blitz inboxes across the campuses today. Reshuffling is the name of the game as of late, it seems.

Dear Members of the Dartmouth Community,

I'm writing to let you know that Provost Barry P. Scherr has decided to return to academic work at Dartmouth after eight years in his current role. I intend to appoint an Acting Provost very shortly, and will then initiate an expedited search for a permanent successor.

I am pleased to also report that Barry has agreed to continue to lead Dartmouth's reaccreditation process through the end of this calendar year, for the remainder of his time as Provost and then as Provost Emeritus. He will work closely with his interim successor and me to ensure a smooth transition as we drive forward the budgetary and strategic initiatives that are so critical to the advancement of Dartmouth's academic mission and student experience. Once this transition process is complete, Barry will take a long-delayed sabbatical to complete several scholarly projects.

While I had previously asked Barry to stay on to help with the presidential transition, and he had generously agreed, we both feel that we've made rapid progress over the last few months and with the new academic year well under way, now is an opportune time for Barry to follow his heart and return to academic life. I am especially grateful for the support and guidance he provided to me from the very day I joined the Dartmouth community in March and certainly understand his desire to focus more fully on his academic interests in the years ahead.

Barry has served the College with great distinction for 35 years, and we appreciate the many contributions he has made to all facets of Dartmouth life. As Associate Dean for the Humanities, he played a major role in establishing the Leslie Center for the Humanities, and as Provost he helped to create the Dartmouth Center for the Advancement of Learning (DCAL). Barry has had a special interest in Dartmouth's international profile and has worked closely with the Dickey Center on several projects. A strong supporter of the arts at Dartmouth, he has encouraged innovative programming at both the Hood Museum and the Hopkins Center for the Performing Arts. He was instrumental in enabling the Library to acquire several major archives, including those of Pilobolus, of Professor Errol Hill, and of Budd Schulberg. Barry put in place the office of Vice Provost for Research, which has come to offer greater oversight and support for the critical research that takes place here in Hanover. I know that Barry takes special pride in the strong leadership that he has managed to attract to the areas that report directly to the Provost and that are vital to the academic and intellectual vigor of the institution.

Barry also has had a distinguished career as a scholar and teacher since joining the Dartmouth faculty in 1974. He is the Mandel Family Professor of Russian and has chaired both the Department of Russian and the Program in Linguistics and Cognitive Science. He also helped found the Program in Jewish Studies. His teaching interests have included 19th and 20th century Russian literature, comparative literature and film. He has authored or edited some 12 books and has published more than 70 scholarly articles, along with several dozen contributions to reference works. His research over the years has ranged widely over Russian poetry, 20th-century Russian prose, and Russian film, with some of his more recent writings focused on issues of translating poetry between English and Russian.

I feel fortunate to have had the chance to work closely with Barry since the announcement of my presidency. I have come to value and admire the immense intelligence and dedication Barry brings to all that he does. He reflects the finest traditions of Dartmouth. Please join me in thanking Barry for his steady hand and tremendous service in leading Dartmouth College to where we are today.

Sincerely,

Jim Yong Kim
President, Dartmouth College

Interesting. As Joe Asch '79 pointed out over on Dartblog, it'll be interesting to see if Sylvia Spears' position as Tom Crady's replacement will last a similar length of time.

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Joseph Asch '79 On Alcohol Enforcement

Over at Dartblog, Joseph Asch has some interesting statistics and facts on alcohol enforcement that might be of interest. It's apparently the first in a series, so check it out again tomorrow.

Update: the second part is now up.

Wednesday, September 09, 2009

Crimson Red-Faced Over Holocaust Flap

This summer it's been easy to laugh at our friends in Cambridge. First Professor Gates did his best Bill Cole impersonation and now this (scan credit: Ivy Gate, who have had a field day with it).

An advertisement was placed on the bottom left corner of page A7 in the Tuesday, September 9 edition of the Crimson by one Bradley Smith, the founder of Committee for Open Debate on the Holocaust. Yes, you read that right. The Crimson ran an ad that questioned the Holocaust with bulletproof reasoning we’ll paraphrase: “Eisenhower didn’t mention gas chambers in his 582 page book, Crusade in Europe; you think a future president and Allied commander would just forget?”

Yes, the whole argument in the advertisement is based on that.

The ad, located opposite the one for the John F. Kennedy Jr. Forum titled “Justice: What’s the Right Thing to Do?” asks readers if they can, “provide, with proof, the name of one person killed in a gas chamber in Auschwitz?”(emphasis in the original) His real goal appears to simply be to re-write history, having said things like, “I don't want to spend time with adults anymore. I want to go to students. They are superficial. They are empty vessels to be filled.”

In other words, he thinks Harvard students are dumb enough to think the Holocaust never happened. I hate to burst Mr. Smith's bubble (okay, that's a lie), but it's doubtful that anyone at Harvard is going to write their thesis on Holocaust denial like Mahmoud Abbas, Chairman of the Palestinian Authority, did.

The Crimson has scrambled into damage control mode. A letter from the president states that the ad was received in the summer and wasn’t originally supposed to run and "fell through the cracks"; it saw the light of day as a result of "miscommunication" and any money taken for running the ad will be returned. Considering they would have had to cash a check and let this thing get through copy-editing, that's one heck of a miscommunication.

For those Dartlog readers out there with a sense of history, this will no doubt strike you as slightly ironic. Back in the early 1990s, a disgruntled ex-staffer managed to slip a quote from Mein Kampf into the masthead of the Review as an extension of the usual Teddy Roosevelt quote. As Professor Emeritus Jeffrey Hart recalls here in a 1998 article, this was the infamous "Hitler quote incident" that led to the equally infamous "rally against hate" staged by Dartmouth's then-President Freedman.

He invited the media and it didn't play well. It's probably the reason why Freedman was unable to become president of, ironically, Harvard in 1991 upon the retirement of Derek Bok. The Harvard Lampoon even created an 8-page parody issue that was distributed on Dartmouth's campus in the spring of '92. We'll see if the Lampoon follows up on this gaffe, perhaps with a faux-issue of the Crimson that sports ads denying the existence of gravity and that the sky is blue.

Thursday, September 03, 2009

Washington Monthly Ranks Dartmouth #40

We all let out a collective snort when US News & World Report released their college rankings with methodology that placed Dartmouth at a disadvantage (ex., using the site ratemyprofessors.com as a measuring stick for student satisfaction with their professors, etc.).
Correction: Those were the Forbes rankings, which also included a metric involving "enrollment-adjusted entries in Who's Who in America." Dartmouth placed 98th.

Not to be outdone, however, Washington Monthly has released their rankings with a far goofier methodology, including measuring a college's "community service score" by:

measuring each school’s performance in three different areas: the size of its Army and Navy Reserve Officer Training Corps programs relative to the size of the school; the number of alumni currently serving in the Peace Corps relative to the size of the school; and the percentage of its federal work-study grant money spent on community service projects.
Notice this says nothing about the quality of education the students are receiving for their money, but rather that the point is to rank them according to their "contribution to the public good."

This landed Dartmouth in the #40 slot out of 258, bested by Harvard (11), Cornell (17), Yale (23), Princeton (28) and Brown (35). However, we did beat out Columbia (42) and Penn (59).

Wednesday, August 26, 2009

Editor Emeritus Interviews Tx. Gov. Rick Perry

Former Editor-in-Chief and current Robert L. Bartley Fellow at the Wall Street Journal, Emily Esfahani Smith '09 interviewed Texas Governor Rick Perry for the WSJ. Topics include Arnold Schwarzenegger, tort reform and the general state of the GOP, among others.

Ted Kennedy Passes Away

The "Lion of the Senate" has lost his fight with brain cancer.

CNN has the obituary.

Sunday, August 23, 2009

Heads Up: Dartblog Resumes Posting with Joseph Asch '79

In terms of posting frequency, the handful of Dartmouth-centric blogs (I'm sorry, I refuse to use the word "blogosphere") have been in a bit of a summer slump -- this one included -- but hopefully the pace will pick up as the school year approaches. Dartblog, dormant since May, published two pieces this weekend by Joe Asch '79; Mr. Asch said that he will be blogging there on Dartmouth affairs "regularly."

Thursday, August 20, 2009

US News and World Report Rankings Released

The new US News and World Report desperate bid to stay relevant by capitalizing on the disposable incomes of helicopter parents -- excuse me, their college rankings -- came out today with very few surprises. Dartmouth stayed in its #11 spot, behind less selective schools like University of Chicago and Duke University.

We also topped the list in a new category ranking quality of undergraduate teaching, which is fantastic. Working this summer with graduates and professors of top-tier research universities who've expressed surprise that all my classes have been taught by full professors has affirmed my belief that I really lucked out in choosing a college with an incredible committment to undergraduate education. It's nice to receive recognition for that.

Obviously, the USNWR rankings rarely reveal any new information and are, at best, only one of many indicators by which prospective students and employers measure prestige. For example, Dartmouth's fall from the 'top 10' two years ago hasn't been quite the calamity some hysterical PR-minded folk imagined it to be, as evidenced by our steadily decreasing admissions rate (13.5% in the last cycle!) and increasing applicant pool. But the yearly release of rankings is newsworthy, if only because, as one astute IvyGate commenter put it, "The wailing and gnashing of teeth after they come out is what makes it fun."

Tuesday, August 18, 2009

On Second Thought, I'll Have the Salad

This Blitz has been going around campus and just landed in my inbox. You may want to eat out tonight.

> --- Forwarded Message from ---
>
>
> One of my [redacted] works for DDS. Apparently there's maggots
by the
> grill at foco!
> Just a heads up
>
>
> --- Forwarded Message from ---
>
>
> --- Start of quoted text:
> From:
> Date: 18 Aug 2009 09:04:28 -0400
> Subject: Maggots?
> --- end of quoted text ---
>
>
> I'd stay away from the grill for a little while
guys...just a suggestion. Hotline and Sandwiches are good to go... and don't bring it up with me in front of any dds workers please.
>
>
> justyourfriendlystudentddsworkerlookingoutforyou
>

Dean Tom Crady to Resign

Provost Barry Scherr just sent a campus-wide blitz informing us of Dean of the College Tom Crady's decision to resign:

Dear Colleagues,

I am writing to inform you that Tom Crady has resigned as Dean of the College, effective this week. Sylvia Spears, who has been a significant contributor in providing student support in the Dean of the College area, will serve as Acting Dean for a period of two years.

I know that the decision to leave Dartmouth has been a difficult one for Tom and his family. Tom started at Dartmouth in January 2008, after serving 10 years as Vice President of Student Services at Grinnell College in Iowa, where he had worked for more than 25 years. Tom has decided to return to Iowa to pursue other opportunities.

I want to thank Tom for his service, for his commitment to improving the student experience, and for the many innovations he has introduced in his 18 months on campus, including the reform of the COS system, his reorganization of the student deans, and his decision as the Dean of the College to be more accessible by holding regular office hours in Collis for undergraduates. He
brought to the job a great deal of energy, a willingness to embrace change, and a true enthusiasm for his work with students.

In the coming months we intend to examine the scope of responsibilities in this critical area; only after completing that process will we launch a national search for the new Dean.

Sylvia joined Dartmouth as Director of the Office of Pluralism and Leadership/Associate of Student Life in July 2007. This past year, she also served as Acting Senior Associate Dean of the College with responsibility for guiding academic support programs and outreach to faculty. Sylvia's expertise is student development, with particular emphasis on factors that contribute to the success of students. Sylvia holds a Ph.D. in Education, an M.S. in Human Development and Family Studies, and a B.A. in Speech Communications. Before coming to Dartmouth, Sylvia held a faculty position in the Department of Human Development and Family Studies at the University of Rhode Island, where she taught courses in counseling, research methods, higher education law and cultural competence.

As we get ready to begin a new academic year on September 24, we will continue to look to the Dean of the College area to complete the process of putting in place the new student dean system, to carry out an ongoing assessment of existing programs and services, and to work on strategies for ensuring student success.

I want to take this opportunity to wish Tom well and to express my appreciation for what he accomplished in his time at Dartmouth.

At this time, I would also like to thank each and every member of the staff of the Dean of the College area, for their professionalism and support during this transition. I have every confidence in that office, and in Sylvia, as together we seek to provide an extraordinary educational experience for the students of Dartmouth.

Sincerely,

Barry Scherr
Provost

I'll be quite sad to see him go - The Review interviewed Dean Crady last year and was impressed with his open-mindedness regarding such topics as alcohol policy, Greek life, and COS reform, and I know many students appreciated his weekly open office hours.

Saturday, August 15, 2009

Dartmouth Football on Yahoo!

It's story number 11 on the new Yahoo! home page. Apart from Dartmouth football players shaking hands after a game, there's no mention of the team in the article.

They're Back

You might have heard of the Young Cons. This past May, Josh Riddle ‘12 and David Rufful ’12 created a rap video in which they espoused their conservative views. They had no real ambitions for it, intending to show to friends and family. They put it up on YouTube.



Unexpectedly, it went viral.

It was linked to several places: The Huffington Post, Foxnews.com, even the dailykos picked it up. Before long they were invited to appear on “Fox and Friends” as well as “Huckabee” (at about 3:30). The video has reached over 455,000 views as of this writing and the song even made it onto iTunes.

To be sure, not everyone’s reacted positively. Bill Maher, for example, slammed it. The Young Cons appear unfazed, however; they’re back and the production values have been bumped up several notches. This is their new video: “Power of the Individual” featuring Cole Hernandez.



The song hits iTunes this week, according to their web page. Also listed there are links to their Facebook page, Twitter, Youtube and MySpace.

Tuesday, August 11, 2009

Rest in Peace, Eunice Kennedy Shriver

What an accomplished, inspiring woman. The Times obit is quite good, as usual -- respectful and moving.

Sunday, August 02, 2009

AKA President Makes Questionable Purchases

A $900,000 wax statue of herself, shopping sprees, HD television set...if Barbara McKinzie were the government we'd call it stimulus. As she's the president of a national sorority for African-Americans, its just the most hilarious case of theft and embezzlement I've seen this week.

Sunday, June 14, 2009

Blanchflower to Receive Honor

As you all probably know, Dartmouth College has some history with the U.K.; William Legge, the 2nd Earl of Dartmouth, was the head of the trust that Samson Occom and Reverend Nathaniel Whitaker helped establish in order to help Eleazar Wheelock's Indian Charity School remain financially viable.

One more link was added yesterday on the 13th.

Professor Blanchflower, a particularly prescient Dartmouth economist who served in the Bank of England's Monetary Policy Committee until just two weeks ago and saw the recession coming a long ways off, is set to be made a Commander of the British Empire in recognition of his services in economics and monetary policy.

The rank of Commander (CBE) is the third highest achieveable following Knight Grand Cross and Knight Commander. It does not entail knighthood or the ability to use the title of "Sir."

Saturday, June 06, 2009

Dartmouth Indian Punter Trying Out With Steelers

We at TDR have heard that Dartmouth's own All-American punter, Brian Scullin, is trying out with the Pittsburgh Steelers. If he makes it, he'll be the second Dartmouth graduate in the NFL alongside current Tenessee Titans fullback Casey Cramer (Jay Fiedler last played pro ball in 2005). We wish him the best and hope he makes the squad. Go Indians!

Monday, June 01, 2009

Debt Talk

Looks good:

From: "Judy Fothergill"
To: All
Subject: Rockefeller Panel Today - The Threat of Our National Debt

"Debtor Nation: The Threat to America's Future"
A Panel Discussion with Moderator, Marjorie Rose, Economics, Dartmouth College

Panelists James Poterba, Economics, MIT;

Andrew Samwick, Director, Rockefeller Center; Economics, Dartmouth College;

Jonathan S. Skinner, Economics, Dartmouth College

4:30 PM , 3 Rockefeller Hall
Sponsored by The Rockefeller Center for Public Policy and the Social Sciences with Wa.S.up: Wake Up. Speak Up. Dartmouth Students for Fiscal Responsibility

More info: http://d2u.dartmouth.edu/archive?id=2126
Talk may be cheap, but the dollar sure will be too at the rate we're spending.

Friday, May 29, 2009

Told Ya!

Here we are, this is from today's D:

Google’s Gmail is now the leading contender to replace BlitzMail as the College’s e-mail system, according to biology professor C. Robertson McClung, chair of the Task Force on E-mail and Collaboration Technology and associate dean of the faculty for the sciences.


Remember folks, you heard it here first!

Thursday, May 28, 2009

Should've Gone to Freecreditreport.com. Or not.

Here's a quotation from an article from yesterday's D regarding the drop in the College's credit rating and the cost it incurs:

Days before the College plans to issue over $400 million in bonds, Standard & Poor’s downgraded the College’s credit rating to double-A plus, the second highest rating, from its prior triple-A status. The change will likely have only a marginal effect on the College’s upcoming bond issue, according to Adam Keller, Dartmouth executive vice president for finance and administration.

Because of the downgrade, Dartmouth will incur “a very modest cost” — interest rates will increase between one and two-tenths of one percent on the new bonds, Keller said in an interview with The Dartmouth.

That doesn't sound too bad, does it? The College took some risks, gets its credit rating lowered, but it'll shrug it off, right?

Let's crunch some numbers here. 0.1-0.2% on those loans means that the that the College will pay out about $400,000-$800,000/year of extra interest on the $400,000,000 loan - in other
words, the annual cost of 3-6 full professors. Unless your name is Tim Geithner or Henry Paulson, it's hard to call that amount of money "modest."

In contrast, those flat-screen TVs in Collis and FoCo that are a favorite target of editorials in the D are probably cost $3,000-5000 each. I'm not sure what model they are, but a quick trip to Best Buy's website seemed to give a price range for the big screen models at around $2,000-3000, even though they were on sale. If there was something that students should be upset about, TVs in Collis and FoCo ought to be a bit lower on their list.

Monday, May 25, 2009

DTV Returns to Campus

An interest group of over 40 students is bringing back DTV, Dartmouth's television station that has been defunct since 2007. Programs will include Dartmouth varsity and club sports, Dickey and Rockefeller Center lectures, student films, Dartmouth news programs, and a variety of student-made serial and comedy shows.

DTV will be launched this fall; tune in at Channel 13.

Dartmouth UG Vets Association to Host BBQ at Beta

Got this in my Blitz inbox; spacing has been condensed in order to aid readability:
The Dartmouth Undergraduate Veterans Association cordially invites you to remember those who sacrificed for this great nation Monday, May 25th at 7pm at the flagpole on the Green.

The ceremony will include the retiring of the flag, a non denominational prayer service and a special gift for President Wright.

A barbeque will preceed the event at 6pm on the front porch of the Beta house.

Friday, May 22, 2009

Micro$oft Makes Mistake, Google Now Front-Runner

Our sources at The Review have informed us that, in the battle to replace Blitz, Microsoft may have made a critical error: they want to charge the College 2.5-3 million dollars to complete the changeover.


Google, however, will do it for free.

As a result, the College is leaning heavily, heavily towards Google now, and is most likely going to pick them.

Monday, May 18, 2009

Hit the Deck!

There was apparently a non-fatal shooting at Harvard today. It's unknown if the victim is a student; he is now hospitalized in stable condition. Both AP and the Huffington Post have the story.

Friday, May 15, 2009

Kofi Annan Named Columbia University Fellow

He'll be lecturing people, hosting conferences and moderating events in NYC. So really, I suppose little has changed.

AP has the story here.

Wednesday, May 13, 2009

Zywicki '88 On Chrysler

Again, WSJ has it.

Geithner '83 Admits That Government Goofed Up

The Wall Street Journal has the story here.

Government Department Appoints James Russell Muirhead, Jr.

The Government Department has announced the appointment of James Russell Muirhead, Jr., a current associate professor at UT-Austin, as the inaugural holder of the Robert Clemens Professorship of Democracy and Politics. Full News Release here.

I was really excited when I received this news update. The creation of an endowed chair affirms Dartmouth's commitment to quality of education even in light of our necessary budget cuts to weather the economic downturn. Muirhead does have an impressive resume (Rhodes Scholar, Ph.D from Harvard, and former varsity skier(!)) and he seems willing to apply his extensive research experience, which includes three books on political theory/political science and research grants received from the National Science Foundation, to the benefit of undergraduates: "Dartmouth students, of course, are among the greatest attractions of the place. I put my mind and my heart into the classroom, and I look forward to teaching courses that explore the complexities of a democratic society, the intersection of ideas and political institutions, and the great and enduring questions of political philosophy." The Review welcomes Dr. Muirhead and hopes that he'll demonstrate a commitment to undergraduate education in addition to research.

ps - HOOK'EM!

Tuesday, May 12, 2009

And the Hits Just Keep On Coming

This landed in my Blitzmail inbox yesterday morning from the Dartmouth Animal Welfare Group:

Subject: BeTtEr SeX

is had by vegetarians!

...seriously.

Interested in learning about the relationship between people, animals, and food?

/want FREE Jewl of India?

Come check out a screening of Eleni Vlachos's new film:

SEEING THROUGH THE FENCE- a funny, accessible look into the role of food in modern society.

Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/porchlife

THURSDAY MAY 14
5:30 PM
ROCKY 002

COME

p.s. check out the ad that got banned from the superbowl that proves vegetarians are better in bed: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pwe0vuejR14
I eliminated some space between lines in order to make it easier to read, but the Blitz is as originally sent, complete with a misspelling of "jewel."

Later, when I first later caught sight of the following subject line I thought that whatever spam filter Blitzmail employs had finally failed me. Then I realized it came from the Center for Women and Gender.

Subject: Orgasm Inc. (second) Sneak Film Screening

Since Loew Auditorium was not able to hold the masses. . .

Orgasm Inc.: The Strange Science of Female Desire

Sneak Film Screening

TOMORROW (wed may 13th), 4pm
The Center for Women & Gender (6 choate road)
Free and open to all.

Orgasm, Inc. is a humorous and informative odyssey that explores the mixed messages, corporate greed and outright quackery that women confront in their quest for sexual pleasure. This film had its international debut in the last few days at a Toronto Film Festival where audiences have been motivated to speak out on issues of women's health.

http://www.thefledglingfund.org/media/health-care/orgasm-inc.html

-({})
In case you're wondering, yes, the signature does appear to be a text representation of a woman's genitals like those Vagina Monologues t-shirts they were handing out during the winter quarter.

The film description is as follows from The Fledgling Fund's website, linked above:

"With unique access and deft style of interviewing, filmmaker Liz Canner goes on an eight year odyssey following cadre of drug companies as they race to be the first to win FDA approval of their pill, cream, patch or nose spray. The promised result: orgasm and "normal" sexual function for women. Ultimately, the film concludes that the key to women's sexual satisfaction is to change not just our sex lives but also our society."
It has received grants from Chicken & Egg Pictures, a group that exists to "provide support for women filmmakers who are working to address the social justice, equity, and human rights issues of our time, locally, nationally, and globally."

The director/producer is Liz Canner.

Friday, May 08, 2009

Student Organizations Hold Bondage Clinic

The Dartmouth Coalition for Progress recently blitzed the following out to campus advertising a seminar on sexual bondage:
>From: Dartmouth Coalition for Progress
>Date: 07 May 2009 21:22:54 -0400
>Subject: All tied up?
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

&%&||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||%&%|||||||||||||
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||&%&|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|||||||||||||||||||||||||%&%

P A N A R C H Y
and
The Dartmouth Coalition for Progress
p r e s e n t
...,,,..,,...,...,...,,,...,,,,.....,,,..,,,......,,,...,,,...,,
``''````'''````''''```'```'''```''''``''`'''```'''```'''```'''````'''```'''`
"We tend to think of the erotic as an easy, tantalizing sexual arousal. I speak of the erotic as the deepest life force, a force which moves us toward living in a fundamental way."
~ Audre Lorde
...,,,..,,...,...,...,,,...,,,,.....,,,..,,,......,,,...,,,...,,
``''````'''````''''```'```'''```''''``''`'''```'''```'''```'''````'''```'''`

BONDAGE 101:
an interactive* introduction to erotic rope tying

Tuesday, May 12
8:00 pm
Panarchy
9 School Street

featuring Dov, NYC-based bondage expert
...,,,..,,...,...,...,,,...,,,,.....,,,..,,,......,,,...,,,...,,
``''````'''````''''```'```'''```''''``''`'''```'''```'''```'''````'''```'''`
"Thou art to me a delicious torment."
~ Ralph Waldo Emerson
...,,,..,,...,...,...,,,...,,,,.....,,,..,,,......,,,...,,,...,,
``''````'''````''''```'```'''```''''``''`'''```'''```'''```'''````'''```'''`

On a campus with little exposure to a kink-friendly community, Dov (and Panarchy, Sexperts, DCP, GSX, and Tabard) seek to offer students a space to learn and discuss safe, consensual methods of exploring BDSM. Dov will be teaching students how to perform erotic rope tying based on an intricate style originated in Japan. No assumptions will be made about gender and sexual preference; we seek to make this event as safe, queer-friendly, feminist, sex positive and inclusive as possible.

*Participation is optional (fully clothed). Ropes will be available; feel free to bring a partner.

Cosponsored by: Dartmouth Coalition for Progress, Tabard, Sexperts, Co-ed Council, COSO
...,,,..,,...,...,...,,,...,,,,.....,,,..,,,......,,,...,,,...,,
``''````'''````''''```'```'''```''''``''`'''```'''```'''```'''````'''```'''`
"Stars hid your fires. Let not light see my black and deep desires."
~ From The Talented Mr. Ripley
...,,,..,,...,...,...,,,...,,,,.....,,,..,,,......,,,...,,,...,,
``''````'''````''''```'```'''```''''``''`'''```'''```'''```'''````'''```'''`

%&%|||||||||||||||||||||||||
&%&||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||%&%|||||||||||||
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||&%&|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||


Cosponsored by: Dartmouth Coalition for Progress, Tabard, Sexperts, Co-ed Council, COSO


Note that the event is funded by COSO. This will pay for the expertise of "Dov, NYC-based bondage expert" (Is 'dominatrix' not PC any more?), who will demonstrate
"erotic rope tying based on an intricate style originated in Japan." I'll leave it to the reader to assess how responsible a use of the College's money this is.

Wednesday, May 06, 2009

Dartmouth Makes Unnoticed Webseries

By chance this evening I happened to run across this series of videos. The plot is as follows:

Two Dartmouth grads, Trevor and Dustin, former members of the (thankfully) fictional "Dartmouth Jingleberries" all male a cappella group are living in NYC and aren't quite ready to give up the boundless joy of singing a cappella. So, they begin to recruit random New Yorkers to their tone deaf cause whilst wearing sweater vests and a Bluetooth earpiece.




The humor's rather juvenile, but it does mention the College on the Hill. There's also a Facebook group if you're interested. Remember, you saw it here first (not that anyone cared about it in the first place, but still)!

Tuesday, May 05, 2009

Geithner Makes #30

Tim Geithner '83 came in at #30 of TIME Magazine's list of the 100 most influential people. The writeup praises him for having:

  • an "ambitious" bank rescue plan (though one should remember it was his second attempt; the first was universally panned as too vague and the market plummeted)
  • "deft handling of the auto industry bailout" (which is confusing given that Chrysler filed for chapter 11 bankruptcy just a few days ago)

It's written by Massimo Calabresi, a TIME reporter. It's pretty short, especially when compared with others' such as Tom Hanks or Penélope Cruz. It appears that he also penned Christine Lagarde's writeup as well.

Monday, May 04, 2009

Dartmouth Alums Aren't Alone

Dartmouth alumni aren't the only ones being disenfranchised by their alma mater. It turns out Harvard alums are getting the same sort of treatment down in Cambridge, where two petition candidates are attempting to run against eight official candidates. Unsurprisingly, they're haivng many of the same problems Dartmouth petition candidates have: active opposition from the administration, being outfinanced, denial of mailing lists, etc.

FIRE (short for the Foundation of Individual Rights in Education), has the story.

Professor Hart to Speak at Beta

Professor Emeritus of English Jeffrey Hart will speak at Beta on Tuesday, May 4th, at 7:00 p.m.

Blitz below, originally titled "Ever Heard of Nixon?"

How about Reagan?

Well Professor Jeff Hart lived it.


****Tuesday 7 PM @ BETA****

Hear Professor Hart talk about writing speeches for the two Presidents and the drama of 1968.

Sunday, May 03, 2009

"Crossing"

Crossing, will be screened in Silsby 028 from 8-10 p.m. this evening. It has been described by the Wall Street Journal as a "Schindler's List for North Korea."

The trailer can be found here, in Korean.

Saturday, May 02, 2009

Saturday Night With Nothing to Do?

Then perhaps you can go to Sigma Delt and get nekkid. It is getting chilly outside, though, so I wouldn't really advise it.

------------Sigma Delt-----------------
-----------------------Presents--------
---------------------------------------------
------------Semi- Dressed-----------
---------------------------------------------


Come half dressed
Come half naked
Come let it all hang out
just come hang out


Tonight Saturday
11-2 @ Sigma Delt
10 west wheelock

Kegs of Long Trail
and Honey brown


Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Happy Birthday, Eleazar!

On this date in 1711, almost three hundred years ago, a man was born in Windham, Connecticut to Ralph Wheelock and Ruth Huntington. His name was Eleazar Wheelock, and he would become the founder of our institution some fifty-eight years later.

"Girls Gone Wild" on campus!

Representatives of the franchise are here, but don't hold your breath for a "Girls Gone Wild: Ivy League Fantasies" release in the near future.

From: Panhellenic.Council@Dartmouth.EDU (Panhellenic Council)
Date: April 21, 2009 2:22:29 PM EDT


Not sure if all the houses have received info about this but please pass it on.


This morning, a woman was on the green wearing letters and was approached by men who wanted to interview women in houses. The men continued talking to this student regardless of her reluctance and informed her that they were from Girls Gone Wild and were looking for cute girls to talk to and interview. Again the student declined and sent a warning out to their house. This is not the first time in the last few years that this has happened. Safety and Security has received this information and is looking for these men. If anyone from your house is approached please contact S&S.

Tuesday, April 21, 2009

TEC-T to Reveal Two Blitzmail Replacement Options

This is from the Dartmouth Daily Update that just arrived in my inbox.
The Task Force on Email and Collaboration Technology is holding information sessions from noon to 1 p.m. on April 28 and 29 in Haldeman 041 to update the community on the assessment of potential replacements for BlitzMail and Oracle Calendar, and to demo the two products under consideration.

For more information about the sessions, see http://www.dartmouth.edu/comp/about/committees/tect

Emphasis added. Our guess at TDR as that these will, in fact, be Microsoft Exchange and GMail. Remember, you heard it here first!

UPDATE (4/22): I learned today that the two products will in fact be Google and Microsoft from a member of the task force. The system eventually chosen will be free for the College but will carry advertisements; this may be slightly inconvenient for those using the system, but in the face of budget cuts, it's a wise and prudent move. I also learned that the system will retain the Blitzmail name and will carry unlimited mailbox size. The system will be in place for the class of 2013 when they arrive next fall.

Friday, April 17, 2009

College Republicans Like to Party

Not to be outdone by nation-wide hordes of histrionic Ron Paul supporters, the College Republicans will be staging their very own "tea party" on the green this afternoon. In an apparent socialist counter-protest, numerous Greek houses will be hosting "beer parties" later this evening. More as the situation develops.

From: College.Republicans@Dartmouth.EDU
Subject: TEA PARTY
Date: April 17, 2009 12:36:54 PM EDT
To: Recipient list suppressed
Reply-To: College.Republicans@Dartmouth.EDU

Hey everyone,

We'd love to see you out on the green today at 3pm for our tea party. If you can
come, even for a short time, please do -- and wear your Dartmouth College Republicans
T-shirt or other GOP stuff if you've got it.

Thanks! See you at 3!
DCRs