Friday, October 31, 2008

War and Peace Issue Online

The latest issue of The Dartmouth Review, featuring history, interviews, and commentary on the topic of War and Peace, is now online. Coverage includes:

* The Laurelled Men of Dartmouth who have served throughout history, and four Dartmouth students/alumni answering the call right now
* The Case for Bob Barr; The Case for the Causal Theory of Perception
* Pulitzer prize winner John Burns talks Iraq at the College; gives an exclusive TDR Interview to boot
* Emily Esfahani-Smith on the foreign policy career path; TDR interviews former CENTCOM commander General Abizaid
* Naturally, the Week in Review, and The Last Word.

Tuesday, October 28, 2008

Sununu Surging

Having met the man and seen his record, I am hoping that this pans out and at least the Granite State does its part to deny Obama his supermajority.

Sunday, October 26, 2008

Homecoming Issue Online

Our latest issue of The Dartmouth Review, celebrating homecoming, is now online. Top stories include:

* A History of Dartmouth Nights, including why one should, nay, must rush the field.
* The editorial take on the Presidential Search, and a tragic blow-by-blow of the student forum
* Why Jeffrey Hart is supporting Barack Obama.
* The Rugger's Roundup and the latest Indian Football update
* Why Socrates was not black
* Per Usual, the week in review and the last word on the subject.

Friday, October 17, 2008

Dartmouth

Something less divisive, as Homecoming is a time for the Dartmouth family to recognize that our bonds are stronger than our disagreements.

And it's really cool to watch.

Sunday, October 12, 2008

Parity Politics

The Hanover Institute, a non-profit corporation with an interest in maintaining parity on Dartmouth College’s Board of Trustees, issued a full page advertisement in The Dartmouth on Friday, making it clear that they will continue the fight for alumni influence on the Board. While the Association of Alumni claims to be negotiating to gain more alumni trustees, the Hanover Institute remains skeptical of the Board’s reciprocity in the matter. The potential for another law suit, this time filed by individuals, remains on the table.

We call upon the Board of Trustees to affirm the right of parity – the right of alumni to elect one-half of the non ex-officio members of the board – at their November 7-8 board meeting.

If they are unable to do that, then any “negotiations” between the Board and alumni are clearly futile.

Saturday, October 11, 2008

WFB's Son To Vote Obama


So in the event anyone notices or cares, the headline will be: “William F. Buckley’s Son Says He Is Pro-Obama.” I know, I know: It lacks the throw-weight of “Ron Reagan Jr. to Address Democratic Convention,” but it’ll have to do.

Christopher Buckley explains.

Tuesday, October 07, 2008

Nader Neglected

Ralph Nader, the quadrennial third-party presidential candidate, held what could be loosely defined as a “campaign rally” at Dartmouth College on Monday. Despite the on-campus popularity of environmentalism and consumer advocacy, two of the central issues in Nader’s largely overlooked run for the White House, the event was not well attended.

As The Dartmouth reported, Nader, visibly perturbed by the lack of interest, took shots at the quality of the college’s political discourse and its conservative reputation.

Nader noted that fewer than 10 of the approximately 40 audience members appeared to be Dartmouth students. He criticized the “sterile political debate at Dartmouth,” adding that the College is known as the most conservative school in the Ivy League.

Monday, October 06, 2008

Questions for Professor Hart

This week, I will be interviewing Professor Hart about the elections (and his support of Barack Obama) for our upcoming issue. If any Dartlog commenters would like to suggest questions for Prof. Hart, they can be left in the comments section.

Sunday, October 05, 2008

Latest Issue Online

The Latest Issue of The Dartmouth Review is now online, focusing on the issue of religion and spirituality on campus. Highlights include:

* A History of the Tucker Foundation
* Ending the Secular Crusade by Emily Esfahani-Smith
* The Return of Prof. Rosenstock-Huessy, commentary by Jeffrey Hart
* A TDR Exclusive Interview with BC's Peter Kreeft
* A History of the Review; A Pea-green's take on his first week
* The Last Word on the subject

Saturday, October 04, 2008

TDR and Technology

As Web Editor of The Dartmouth Review, I will begin to provide insight into Technology here at Dartmouth, and in the nation as a whole. New student start-ups, changes in the Dartmouth network infrastructure, and national debates on such topics as Network neutrality and software patents - all will be fair game. I hope to appeal to the geekier side of Dartmouth, of which I am unabashedly a member.

To kick it off, I'd like to provide a shot of what was undoubtedly one of more light-hearted moments of Thursday's debate.

Thursday, October 02, 2008

Vice-Presidential Debate

About two and a half hours ago, liberals everywhere tuned in to the Vice Presidential debate, already relishing the anticipated rout. Even some pessimistic conservatives expected Joe Biden to talk circles around Sarah Palin. However, the debate didn’t quite go that way, although Joe Biden's ability to talk in circles remains unquestioned.


Governor Palin held her own. She didn’t always answer the moderator’s questions, but neither did Biden (or any candidate in debate history).  She also failed to refute the Delaware Senator’s devastating insinuations that John McCain believes in the free market. She did, however, demonstrate an understanding of national issues, the very thing she has been so frequently accused of lacking.


The debate probably didn’t achieve any spectacular conversions; those who prefer liberal ideas will still prefer Obama/Biden. But swing voters who doubted Palin’s competence at the national level can set those doubts to rest.

Wednesday, October 01, 2008

2008 Dartmouth Clery Report

The Dartmouth Department of Safety and Security today released their 2008 Annual Security Clery Report, detailing various crime rates, specifically crimes committed by students and those that occurred on Dartmouth property. Not much was new in the document besides 2007's numbers. Highlights include:

  • We appear to have stamped out arson on campus, with no occurrences in '06 or '07!
  • Dartmouth campus still murder-and-manslaughter free! Take that, Yalies!
  • Alcohol-related arrests down 40% since '05 - alcohol-related disciplinary action down almost 50%! (Debate: does this make the '11s the worst class ever?)
  • No gun law violations (not that there's really any gun laws to violate here in NH)
  • Burglary, drug law arrests/violations all holding even
  • A slight up-tick in sexual offenses (14 in '05, 13 in '06, 19 in '07)