Saturday, May 31, 2008

Harry Frankfurt Interview

Apologies for the light posting, but we are in the midst of finals. For those who want something interesting to read in the meantime, TDR Senior Editor David Leimbach has an interview with world-renowned philosopher Harry Frankfurt in the most recent issue of Aporia. Check it out (pdf).

Wednesday, May 28, 2008

College Decides that some Alumni Are Not Interested in Voting

This from Power Line:
As the election for executive positions on the Dartmouth Association of Alumni draws to a close, we on Parity Slate have received two disturbing reports. First, a few alums have said they did not receive ballots. When one of them inquired about this, the college informed him that he has been classified as "not interested" in receiving it.

Update on the Priya Venkatesan story

The daily D apparently had another interview with Priya Venkatesan yesterday. The article in today's issue noted that Venkatesan no longer plans to write a book that names names and exposes us Dartmouth students for the bigots we are. Venkatesan still claims that "in [her] heart of hearts" she believes the law was broken as she was blatantly discriminated against.

Tuesday, May 27, 2008

New Tipster Service in Place

The Dartmouth Honor Education Committee has set up a website that allows students to anonymously inform on their peers. It will be interesting to see what kind of weight these anonymous tips will hold with the COS.

WSJ: Dartmouth and Clinton, Both Desperate

From today's Wall Street Journal:

If you think Hillary Clinton has been slow to accept the results at the ballot box, meet the folks who run Dartmouth College.

Like Sen. Clinton, the powers that be at Dartmouth have been getting trounced at the voting booth by an opposition campaigning for change. Like Sen. Clinton, Dartmouth's establishment has responded with increasingly desperate attacks. And like Sen. Clinton, its hopes of victory now depend on increasing the power and influence of unelected officials.


The full piece by William McGurn can be found here.

[Joe Malchow]

Monday, May 26, 2008

Choice of Font May Affect Paper Grade

Memorial Day marks the beginning of finals period here at the College. For those of us assigned final papers, Phil Renaud has some interesting research on how to raise your grade with virtually no effort.

(I realize that the more students use Georgia over Times and Arial, the less advantage Georgia will have. My apologies for posting to those of you already in the know.)

Sunday, May 25, 2008

O'Donnell Coordinates with DALA? Surely Not.

DALA sent out a blitz to its affiliated alumni Friday morning, trotting out the right-wing conspiracy angle once more. They touch on most of the same things as Katy O'Donnell's recent article in the Daily D, but their appearance on the same day is surely just coincidental.

The e-mail from the Dartmouth Association of Latino Alumni, under the fold.

From: DALA
Date: Fri, May 23, 2008 at 10:59 AM
Subject: DALA urges you to VOTE - your vote mattes
To:





Dear DALA Members:

By now you have all received your ballot for the election of the Executive
Committee of the Dartmouth Association of Alumni (AoA) and for an amendment
to the AoA Constitution.

This is a pivotal time in Dartmouth's history. It is important that we make
our voices heard. Whether your time at Dartmouth was outstanding or best
forgtotten, you are a part of the history of our college and this is your
opportunity to help define Dartmouth's future. Dartmouth does not belong to
one sole group - but to all of us. We have left our laughter, sweat and
tears on the grounds of this College on the Hill. Please take a few minutes
from your day and vote. Vote for yourselves, but also for the hijas and
hijos of Dartmouth that have come after us and will continue to come. Help
make Dartmouth a place where Latino students will thrive, not just survive.
This election matters - your vote is vital. Take the time now - VOTE.

Sincerely,
The DALA Executive Board

The board of DALA strongly urges you to vote for all of the candidates
forming the UNITY SLATE, and for no other candidates, and to vote YES on the
nominating committee amendment, and to contact your friends urging them to
do so. The Unity Slate includes:

President - John H. Mathias Jr. '69
First Vice President - Cheryl A. Bascomb '82
Second Vice President - Douglas H. Keare '56, TU/TH '57
Secretary/Treasurer - David P. Spalding '76

Executive Committee Members:

Marian Zischke Baldauf '84
Veree Hawkins Brown '93
John S. Engelman '68
Ronald G. Harris '71
Kaitlin Jaxheimer '05
Otho E. Kerr, III '79
Ronald B. Schram '64

For more information about the candidates, or for a sample ballot, see
http://dartmouthundying.com/

The members of the Unity Slate are committed to maintaining and developing
the relationship between the alumni and the College by cooperation and
collaboration, and OPPOSE THE LAWSUIT that has been initiated by an activist
bloc that has shown itself to be secretive, divisive, deceitful, and
bigoted.

The lawsuit and the attack on the College's self-governance in the New
Hampshire Legislature have already cost the College millions of dollars that
could have better been used to continue to enhance the educational, social
and moral life of the Dartmouth community. The lawsuit has been fostered in
secret, and supported and partly funded by the right-wing "Center for
Excellence in Higher Education" (see
http://www.cehe.org/pressroom/PR20080205.html and
http://dartmouthaoa.blogspot.com/2008/02/lawsuit-funding.html) -- though the
identity of other donors has been hidden.

The costs of the lawsuit extend beyond the short-term financial cost to the
chilling effect it is likely to have on alumni giving, on the recruitment of
the best students for upcoming classes, and on the candidate pool for
Dartmouth's next President.

The comic strip, "BlarFlex," that ran in The Dartmouth on April 24th gives a
window to the view of the College the lawsuit backers love and wish to
preserve: written and drawn by two members of the Phrygian Society (see
http://thedartmouth.com/2007/03/07/news/secret/), student supporters of the
lawsuit, it is a concentrated dose of racism, sexism, and homophobia. (A
copy is attached, including commentary and opposition by an alliance of
campus organizations.)

In contrast, the Unity Slate supports a vision of an inclusive and excellent
College that can be loved by, and extend its embrace to, its diverse
community.

This election can put a halt to the about-face in progress that has gripped
the College for the last few years. The DALA board urges you to vote, using
your paper ballot or electronically, for ONLY the Unity Slate, and to vote
YES on the amendment, and to contact your alumni friends urging them to do
so.

DALA would like to thank David Eichman and DGALA, Andrew Chu and
DAPAAA, and Natalie Herring and BADA for their leadership and their guidance
on this important issue.

Review Holds Spring Fete

Yesterday the staff of The Dartmouth Review held its annual spring cookout. Celebrating the close of another eventful year here in Hanover, the Review staffers and one canine friend gathered on a verdurous fraternity lawn to enjoy pleasant weather and sumptuous comestibles. I certainly don’t intend to “name names,” so I shall instead merely note that this year’s masthead has perhaps more than its fair share of culinary talent.

Friday, May 23, 2008

The D Breaks a Story! Not.

In today’s Daily Dartmouth, there’s an article that acts like a real-live journalism piece: that is, it pretends to be news with an angle. Truly, though, the article possesses neither news nor a worthy angle—the fact that the Phrygians support the AoA parity slate is not news, and the only angle driving the piece is outing the members of the Phrygian society.

The D takes issue with the fact that the Phrygians are taking over Dartmouth’s media outlets by—wait for it…writing letters to the editor of the D. The infamous Bonnie Lam comic, of course, is a more serious attempt, but seems less like the Phrygians taking over the D and more like bad editing on the D’s part. But read the article yourself and comment below!


UPDATE below the jump: D Editor-in-chief Katy O'Donnell allegedly ghost wrote the Phrygian article.

UPDATE [3:57 pm]: Katy O'Donnell allegedly ghost wrote today's piece on the Phrygian society, the piece for which Nick Swanson has the by-line. A friend of The Dartmouth Review's, who wishes to remain anonymous, told TDR that O'Donnell ghost wrote the piece; when I asked the source 1) What motivated O’Donnell to do this and 2) how s/he knew that O’Donnell ghost wrote the article, the source responded:

Part of it is sycophancy; they [the D writers and editors] think they get ahead by going to bat for the administration and the creme of the alums who are behind the efforts to curtail the petition process. She [O’Donnell] also is very angry with Alex Felix for the cartoon ordeal, which I hear took a lot out of her...

Two people at the D told me she wrote it, and in her emails she repeatedly referred to it as her own work. However, D "policy" is that the ed [editor] cannot write articles. So she faked a byline. Which is a an egregious violation of ethics.



Again, this is an allegation, and I have already contacted Katy to see if the allegation has any merit. I’ll let readers know as soon as she responds.

UPDATE #2 [9:19 am, May 26]: When I got in touch with Katy O'Donnell this past weekend, she pointed out that it is not against the D's editorial policy for the editor-in-chief to pen editorials. However, she did not respond to the allegation that she ghost wrote the piece, saying instead "surely people realize that an editor's job is to help reporters." Having heard the allegation of ghost-writing repeated by two members of the D, I asked her about it once more, but she did not respond to the allegation, but merely asked me the names of the D members who corroborated the claim.





Dartmouth Undying Bribes Students

...with Vitamin Water and cold, hard cash. Apparently, Dartmouth Undying is paying students to campaign for the organization’s cause. Someone in my sorority sent the following e-mail out to the sorority’s e-mail list [edit: the e-mail was sent out last night, btw].
If you want to make an easy $100 bucks and do something good for the Dartmouth community you can join me in calling women Alumni with Martha Beattie (Nell Beattie 09's mom) to encourage them to vote for Dartmouth Unity Ballot in the elections for the Association of Alumni Executive Committee. The ballot is headed by John Mathias '69 (I think it's Alice '07 TriDelt's dad??) and they are wanting to end the unnecessary lawsuit against the school that is costing us millions of dollars.

I did it today and it was super easy. Hours 7-10:30 pm,
$100. All you do is read a prompt sheet and call women Alumni. Martha Beattie is a super sweet woman and bought pizza and Vitamin water for us! We are going to call again on Monday and Tuesday (same hours). If you want to help please just come to the Coldwell Banker House (yellow house across from Psi U) Mon or Tues between 7-10:30pm. If you are concerned about calling because you don't now what you are representing you can go to the org's website: dartmouthundying.org and read up on the initiatives.


I will be there for sure on Monday if you are shy and want to walk over with someone.

You can also email Ms. Beattie if you have any questions: marthabeattie76@msn.com

Thursday, May 22, 2008

COS Review Forum

On May 16, the COS Review Committee released their Report, containing twenty-three recommendations for changes to the disciplinary procedures at the College, with the understanding that "specific implementation" would be at the discretion of the new Dean of the College, Thomas Crady. This evening, May 21st, a forum was hosted by Student Assembly in which COS Review Committee Chair Katherine Burke and Director of Judicial Affairs April Thompson outlined some of their recommendations for students in attendance, and fielded a large number of questions about specific proposals.

Before the event began, the room was abuzz with various different conversations, and using my keen reporter's senses I was able to determine two things. 1) Sexual assault was going to be the major focus for students in attendance, and 2) the state of progressivism and social justice is alive and well amongst particularly committed students; in fact, there are rumors that the Dartmouth Coalition for Progress is developing a special Women's (Womyn's?) Coalition, presumably to be more efficiently progressive overall. Make of the latter point what you will, but the way sexual assault cases are handled by COS is clearly of concern to a number of students.

Read my entire journey through the recommendations after the jump.

Almost immediately after introducing themselves, Burke and Thompson addressed the question that seemed to trouble many in in the room: Why hadn't the Committee forwarded every one of the Student Assembly's Task Force recommendations verbatim to Dean Crady? Imagine the shock in the room when it was revealed that the Department of Judicial Affairs reviews the COS every ten years, and the Student Assembly's recommendations had not been the impetus for this dramatic chain of events at all. After the concerned young activists in the room came to terms with this, Thompson and Burke assured us all that they cared greatly about student feedback, and would take copious notes for their own, the Committee's, and Dean Crady's perusal. With that, we were off to Tackle the Twenty-Three, and any questions we encountered along the way.

Many of the recommendations are mundane (though some of the reasoning, such as worrying about learning opportunities during the time off campus because of suspension, seemed slightly more than questionable), and so we proceeded through the list unfettered. On Recommendation 4, COS Eligibility, all of that changed. One student in the audience, after dancing about for a time clarifying and ensuring that she understood the recommendation that students with previous disciplinary history might indeed be eligible, declared that she has "some concerns about that." Suddenly, pens jolted to notepads and heads snapped to attention; they were clearly not kidding when they said feedback was important.

From this point forward, most of the talk was about sexual assault. The student who raised the concern is a SAPA, and was worried that perhaps a student who has been accused of sexual assault in the past but found not culpable will harbor some grudge in the future, and should not be allowed to serve on COS in complaints concerning sexual assault. The fact that the hypothetical student was cleared of responsibility, and therefore would presumably be equal in capability and innocence to anyone else did not seem to enter into the analysis. Thompson and Burke assured the student that COS did not want there to be any doubt about the validity of a finding, so it would make case by case determinations about eligibility if the recommendation is adopted.

The other major concern was Recommendation 9, Standard of Evidence. The Committee had disagreed with the SA recommendation, and had decided that the standard of evidence should continue to be a "preponderance" rather than the more strenuous "clear and convincing". Our two guides explained that the decision had to be one that was "right for this community", and that Dartmouth is simply "not interested" in having a "more intrusive" information gathering process. When they phrased it that way, in terms that conjure images of wiretaps and strip searches, it seems obvious that such things should be avoided. Of course, somebody who is falsely accused would probably not give a flying social justice what the community was interested in, but would prefer finding information and clearing his name. The same student who had earlier expressed concerns about allowing innocent students to serve on COS because of past accusations announced that she agreed with this recommendation entirely. Part of her reasoning? The College seems to have minimal evidence gathering capabilities, so it makes sense that we have minimal evidence requirements. One can just picture that taken to its obvious conclusion.

One issue that flared up unexpectedly was really too perfect a microcosm to convey with words alone, but I shall take my aforementioned reporter's instincts and endeavor to humbly do my best. One student was about to leave, but Ms. Thompson became upset and asked whether he didn't have any concerns to voice in person. Beginning in an off-hand tone that could not long contain the urgency he obviously felt about the issue, he expressed concern that there are a lot of students of color who are going through the COS process. SA Vice-President Nafeesa Remtilla joined in, noting that she had noticed that "colored students" have been accused more often. This reporter was not sure the term "colored" was still PC, but did not allow that to distract him from the urgency of the issue and potential implications. An inquiry was made, could demographic statistics be made available so that the proper advocates could begin fighting for the mistreated minority groups? Thompson and Burke were working through an explanation that such a thing would be wonderful, (but privacy issues might come up), when suddenly one student had the insight to ask directly of the two women with actual COS experience, Are minorities statistically more likely to be brought before COS. Well...No.

So after a few more ideas were posited, Ms. Thompson assured us that perception of bias was an issue that should be addressed even if it did not prove to have merit, and one more student got in an anecdote about a student of color being brought to a room filled almost entirely with sinister white males, the issue petered out. For the time being, obviously.

The only other questionable recommendation is that accusers be allowed to have another hearing in light of new evidence, something that seemed to run contrary to the protections against double jeopardy that are inherent in real law. Thompson and Burke admitted that they could not think of a tangible difference between the different standards of evidence, so the two biggest controversies of the evening seemed to have hinged entirely upon abstract notions and a perceived but nonexistent injustice. And there are a few good ideas thrown in to boot, it's worth a glance.

There was a bit of excitement at the conclusion, when I was outed as a plant and questioned about the Review's stance on any of these issues. I gave what I thought was a diplomatic response, that the newspaper is not a monolithic entity and that I could only speak for myself, one lone student who had a few qualms about tossing out legal traditions including innocence until proven guilty and protection from double jeopardy. To those who shared the arduous journey with me, and may feel betrayed, I would like to go on record that I do believe sexual assault is one of the most serious crimes imaginable, that bias based on race is wrong even if it didn't happen to exist this time, and that the only reason I may appear bigoted to my progressive peers is that I believe justice happens to matter a little bit more.

Read the SA recommendations here.

Typo Eradication Advancement League Update

The guys with TEAL are headed back east. A write-up in today's Tribune, here.

Byrne Family Comes Out for Parity

Via Joe Malchow:
In an email sent Wednesday afternoon to members of the Class of 1985, Mark Byrne ‘85 T’86 and Patrick Byrne ‘85 of the billionaire Byrne family tell classmates that they have decided that the Board-packing plan proposed last September by Chairman Ed Haldeman and his five-person Governance Committee is “radical,” “heavy-handed,” and “undemocratic.”

Messrs. Byrne urge election of the pro-parity slate of candidates for the Dartmouth Association of Alumni, who are running against a slate of candidates (styling themselves as the “Unity Slate”) who would permit the plan to go forward full tilt, upsetting the 117-year balance between duly elected trustees (currently half of the Board) and handpicked self-propagating appointees (the other half). The partity slate would enforce the 1891 Agreement between the Board and the Association guaranteeing a half-elected Board; the other slate would dissolve it.

The brothers have never met the petition trustees who now compose one full quarter of the Board; nor have they, to this page’s knowledge, ever taken a position on Dartmouth politics before. But the brothers Byrne do recognize a sore loser when they see one.
The parity slate can be found here. The voting takes place here; about 15% of alums have voted thus far. Voting ends on June 5.

The Byrne e-mail to the class of '85, below the fold.

From: Mark Byrne ‘85
Date: Wed, May 21, 2008 at 5:30 PM
Subject: Mark and Patrick Byrne Support Parity
To:

Dear Fellow D’85,


We know you are being bombarded with email and snail mail, and regret
adding to that pile. However, we felt compelled to write to you, to
urge you to vote in the Association of Alumni election, and to tell you
why we are voting for the Parity Slate
(http://www.dartmouthparity.com/vote/).


The College-sponsored slate has the full tools of the College
propaganda machine; the Parity team do not, and must rely on partial,
obsolete mailing lists. That kind of undemocratic approach is key to
why we feel continued Alumni - elected involvement at the 50% level is
vital to the future of the College.

The first tool of the propagandist is the ad hominem attack. They don’t
really try to defend the indefensible, namely the implementation of the
Board-packing plan by stealth. Instead, they label their opponents,
especially the four petition trustees, as extremists, bent on taking
over Dartmouth.

We are not extremists, and we have never met the petition Trustees or
any of the Petition slate. We are two brothers, who love Dartmouth and
have consistently supported the College for many years. Frankly, we
expect that there would be important disagreements between us if we did
meet the petition Trustees. But these things are clear:

1) Because a few trustees got elected by petition, who had
differing views to those of the leadership, the college tried to change
governance by referendum, to make it harder for petition trustees to get
elected. They lost that referendum.

2) President Wright wrote to us shortly thereafter, promising an
end to the matter.

3) The matter was not, in fact, dropped, and a five man governance
committee managed to plan and narrowly pass a resolution to turn
Dartmouth’s Trustee’s Board into a self-electing elite, permanently.
The courts will decide whether this was a breach of contract. However
we don’t need a court to tell us it was a heavy-handed and undemocratic
thing to do.

4) The extremists are the ones who breached a hundred year old
deal because a handful of trustees had views they didn’t like.


We urge you to vote for the Parity Slate. If we don’t elect them, your
vote will never matter again.


Sincerely,


Mark Byrne D’85 T’86

Patrick Byrne D’85 (PhD Stanford).


Full post, here.

Wednesday, May 21, 2008

Presidential Search Letter

The letter can be found below the fold.

>Date: Wed, 21 May 2008 15:34:58 -0400 (EDT)
>From: President.Search@Dartmouth.EDU
>To: dartmouth-announce@locum.dartmouth.edu
>Subject: Update
>Sender: bulkmail.sender@Dartmouth.EDU
>Precedence: bulk

May 21, 2008

Dear Members of the Dartmouth Community:

As many of you will recall, last February President James Wright announced his intention to step down in June 2009. When the Board met in March, Ed Haldeman named Al Mulley to chair the search committee. We are pleased now to update you on the earliest stage of the search for Dartmouth's 17th president.

Search Firm Consultant

At our most recent meeting with the Alumni Council on Saturday, May 17, we announced the selection of John Isaacson '68 and his firm Isaacson, Miller as our search consultant. After interviewing several firms, Isaacson, Miller emerged as our clear choice. The firm has conducted hundreds of searches for leading institutions including secretary for the Smithsonian Institution, and presidencies for Brown, Tufts, the University of Pennsylvania, and Vanderbilt. A Dartmouth graduate who also studied at Oxford as a Rhodes Scholar and earned a law degree from Harvard, John Isaacson knows Dartmouth well and will bring tremendous wisdom to the search. To read more about the firm, visit: http://www.imsearch.com/

Community Input

We have solicited input from the community on Dartmouth's challenges and opportunities and the qualities of leadership needed to ensure the College's
continued preeminence. We are gathering this input in a variety of ways, including online or by mail at Presidential Search, Post Office Box 242, Hanover, New Hampshire 03755. We welcome your continued suggestions to the Board. To provide your input, visit: https://www.dartmouth.edu/~trustees/communications/search-input/index.html

We have also met with the Faculty Committee on Priorities, the Committee on Policy, representatives of the professional schools, the President's Leadership Council, and the Executive Committee of the Campaign for the Dartmouth Experience. And we have met in Hanover in six separate sessions with students, faculty, staff, and alumni, both on campus and at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center. More public forums will be scheduled with the search committee this fall. For podcasts or transcripts of these forums, visit: http://www.dartmouth.edu/~trustees/communications/

It is clear from the community's input to date that we share a commitment to Dartmouth's mission: "To educate the most promising students and prepare them for a lifetime of learning and of responsible leadership, through a faculty dedicated to teaching and the creation of knowledge."

Many themes are emerging in the hundreds of responses we have received about the qualities of leadership you most value. We are hearing similar words and phrases, such as: highly regarded scholar with a superior mind; insistence on excellence; a record of support for diversity; a proven global leader; a consensus builder; and a highly articulate, warm and compassionate communicator.

You have reminded us of Dartmouth's responsibility to educate leaders for a global society in which the challenges in our own times are as great, or greater, than those that led former Dartmouth President John Sloan Dickey to tell the incoming class in 1946, "The world's troubles are your troubles."

Next Steps

Searches often take nine months or longer to complete, in which case we would be on track for an announcement next spring. The Board of Trustees met on May 6 in New York in the first of two special sessions this month to organize the search. The Board plans to announce the membership of the search committee in early June. The committee will convene this summer. Its first goal will be to finalize the Statement of Leadership Criteria that will be approved by the Trustees and shared with the Dartmouth community.

The Board will continue to be as open and transparent as possible in this search, while preserving the confidentiality necessary to ensure participation by the strongest candidates. Thank you for your continued interest and support as we undertake our search for the president whose leadership will be critical to ensuring the strong, bright future we all want for Dartmouth. We welcome your continued participation as we identify and select the next leader of this exceptional institution. We will continue to update you on the progress of the search.

Sincerely,

Ed Haldeman '70
Chair, Board of Trustees of Dartmouth College
http://www.dartmouth.edu/~trustees/biographies/haldeman.html

Al Mulley '70
Chair, Presidential Search Committee, Board of Trustees of Dartmouth College
http://www.dartmouth.edu/~trustees/biographies/mulley.html

Daughters of Dartmouth Strike Again

Or do they?

Bring Back Priya Venkatesan!

I fell in love wit Prof Venkatesan. While teh other students in the class really irritated us (particularly this one girl who kept on blowing her nose), I found Venkatesan's prelectual performances to be enlightening, like sunshine in a dirty toilet. I am currently designing my own major in Postlogical Hermineutics and their Application tot he Morphogenetic Field, inspired largely by Venkatesan's metadiscourses on "science" and "society" (yes, acceptin the complications of the terms). During office hours (MWF 3-5pm Carpenter 107), She illustrated her Weltanschauung and contrasts it with the more insidious Weltanschauungen of Tom Cormen and teh other pre-Derridian "academics" in the Writing department. (Some of them only have "M.A.'s" from the "University of Toledo".) The lectures became microcosmic proscenia of the absurdity and hyper-reality of post-constructionist "society". In our final laboratory expose we were made to write a short paper on what respect of Prof Venkatesan means to us. I wrote a tome.

Venkatesan's Gesamtkunstwerk is a kaleidoscopic travelogue through contemporary semiotic anapleroticos. I will always treasure this experience as a formative block in my own Bildungsroman at Dartmouth University (no "mistake," for Venkatesan's presence qualifies this signifier). In the words of Lao Tse: "??? ?????? ??????? ?? ?????? ??."

Thanks Men of Dartmouth!
Love,
The Daughters of Dartmouth


[Dartblog]

Response to Klorese

An alum's response to the Klorese '77 Op-Ed:

Roger Klorese '77 is completely wrong on the law in his piece in
the "D". Though one can argue as to whether the alumni should be an
important stakeholder in the College, there is no doubt that they could
contract with the Board to hold a certain number of seats on the Board.
Judge Vaughan's ruling in favor of the AoA on the Motion to Dismiss states
categorically:

"The Court further finds that the Board had the requisite
authority to enter into the Agreement, and that the Agreement did not
represent an improper delegation of the Board's duties" (p. 13).

If Bill Gate's were to offer Dartmouth $1BN, but ask that he and
his heirs have a permanent seat on the Board, there is no doubt that the
Board could enter into this Agreement - just as the Board enters into short
term agreements with Trustees today, eg.: "Ed, you give us $10M and we'll
name a building after you and give you a seat on the Board...".

My two cents, below the fold.

The pro board-packing faction's motivations for attempting to paint parity as a "conservative cabal" are painfully transparent. With a nominally 'conservative' president mired so low in the polls that no one will touch him, the word 'conservative' has recently come to represent all of the blundering that came with his presidency, fairly or unfairly. There are two glaring problems with the board-packer's assertions:
  1. Not all of the pro-parity folks are conservative. Indeed, one of the most prominent people for parity is T.J. Rodgers '70. Rodgers (a) is a leading producer of solar power, (b) has said the following when asked who he'd vote for: "In my value system where the good guys are libertarians and the bad guys are totalitarian, there are two bad guys--McCain and Hillary. I would vote against them for anybody else. For example, I'd vote for Obama," (c) and he only married his girlfriend of 22 years for tax reasons. Marian Chambers '76, who is running for the AoA's secretary/treasurer position, "worked for the Democrats in Congress for 23 years." And just recently, Dartblog published a letter from Daniel King '02 urging his fellow progressives to get behind parity. He described himself as, “ an openly gay man, a teacher, a card-carrying member of the Democratic Party, the ACLU, and the Human Rights Campaign.”
  2. Second, and more importantly, transparency and fair play are not left/right, democrat/republican, or liberal/conservative issues. As Marian Chambers stated in an interview with us, it's just commonsense. Is their not something just a little hilarious in the fact that the board-packers are 'slandering' their opponents for believing in fair play? The board-packers have probably picked the right side of history to be on, but that's nothing to be proud of.

Anti-Lawsuit Alum Accuses Conservatives of Misrepresenting the Issue

Drawing parallels to the issues of abortion (pro-life) and civil rights (special rights), Roger Klorese '77, in an op-ed piece in the Daily Dartmouth, accuses those opposed to the board-packing plan of changing the language involved to establish a bias. I love how the op-ed begins with:
As with other conservative movements, the take-over faction who has brought suit against the College is attempting to define its issues by changing the language. Their right-wing kin have biased the language in the discussion of abortion (who, after all, is “anti-life”?) and equal rights (because it is easy to get people to oppose “special rights” even if those rights are no more special when applied to those who seek them than to those who would deny them).
Of course, it's completely okay when the opposing side does the same thing (i.e. politicizing the issues as pro-choice and equal rights; who opposes choice and equality?) because they're the good guys and their "good" ends justify the means.

More after the jump.


Either way, Klorese claims that parity and democracy don't apply to the issue at hand. He says that an issue of democracy requires "a constituency forming a government from its own membership," and being an alumnus does not make you a member of anything. He continues later by saying that a board should be most well equipped to "drive forward the goals of the managing administration." What Mr. Klorese fails to realize, despite having served on the boards of SEVERAL non-profits, is that the board in question is a Board of Trustees which does indicate a membership. Those who invested in the college's interests (the alumni who at least paid 4 years of tuition) are the ones who form the constituency. What those non-profits failed to teach Klorese is that corporations often form their Board of Trustees by holding a vote of the shareholders or those invested in the future of the organization. Granted, the alumni don't actually own portions of the college, so the trustees don't necessarily have to represent them. Still, many believe the accountability to the alumni make this college great.

On parity, Klorese says that there must be two differing interests involved for there to be an issue, and the Board of Trustees is one interest. Unfortunately, Mssrs. Merriam and Webster disagree with Klorese's definition; they say that parity is "the quality or state of being equal or equivalent." I'm pretty sure that were the board's change in governance to pass, there would be an inequality of some sort that would disrupt the current parity between alumni elected and board appointed trustees.

All in all, even if the conservatives are changing the language to bias the issue, at least they're not making up new definitions for words to try and make a terribly articulated point. As Mr. Klorese would say, It's laughable that he's tossing around definitions without looking the words up first.

Tuesday, May 20, 2008

Greek Key Issue Now Online

Don't miss the latest issue of The Dartmouth Review, dedicated to the springtime phenomenon that is Greek (later changed to Green) Key. Among the articles awaiting your perusal, here are a few highlights:

Neukom to Take Control of Giants

One year ago yesterday William Neukom '64, then Chairman of the Board of Trustees, stood before the Alumni Council and announced the beginnings of the process that would lead to the current Board-packing scheme. So where does Mr. Neukom find himself one year later, having played out his role in the current controversy? In charge of a major league baseball team.

Let that be a lesson, things turn out well for those who abuse fair play.

Brought to you by LOL Fraternity, Inc.

From: William.D.Martin@Dartmouth.EDU
Subject: TONIGHT!
Date: May 20, 2008 1:01:50 PM EDT
To: Recipient list suppressed

***** Leavin' U Lustin' *****
Carving Out your Own Space
in Dartmouth's Sex/Dating Culture
(or Lack There Of)

TONIGHT: TUESDAY, MAY 20th

****** 7PM*******

TINDLE LOUNGE, (In the Thayer Dining Hall Lobby)

Facilitated by the Dartmouth 'Sexperts'

"Fed up with your Dartmouth love life? Come "Screw It!" with Sexperts. This program presents information ranging from relationships outside of physical intimacy to hot ways to spice up (bland?) sex. Games, aphrodisiac sampling, and guides to sexuality at Dartmouth will all be part of defining your intimate college couture."

Brought to you by La Unidad Latina, Lambda Upsilon Lambda Fraternity, Inc.


All I want to know is where I can buy some "intimate college couture."

Monday, May 19, 2008

Something Patently False in the Daily D.

most students do not use the BlitzMail client

Really? Article, here.

Prof. Jere Danniell Tonight

Prof. Jere Daniell '55 will speak tonight about the history behind the College's second land grant. Along with Jack Noon '68, he is coauthor of a recent book called Dartmouth's Second College Grant: A History. I attended his and Prof. Shewmaker's presentation on the Dartmouth College case last fall, and it was excellent. I encourage everyone to attend tonight.

7:30pm, Dartmouth 105

AD—Less than Hard

The Telegraph ran a piece today on the number of recent incidents involving American fraternities. As a counterweight, the author looks back to the good old days when hazing only included carrying a lunch box and being servile.
An American friend who, 10 years ago, was a member of the Dartmouth College frat that inspired the comedy film Animal House, says that all he had to do was carry around a child's lunchbox and be servile towards senior members.

The first frats were around before American independence and their continued affection for pointlessly unpleasant initiation ceremonies must owe something to Oxbridge and British public schools.

Except that it has got out of control - as if someone sat down to watch a repeat of Brideshead Revisited and didn't realise he'd switched over halfway through to a documentary about the SAS recruitment process.
The whole article, here.

Dartmouth Undergraduate Veterans Association

Inspired by a similar Tuck group, ten undergraduates have come together to create the Dartmouth Undergraduate Veterans Association (DUVA).
The group gathers about once a week to discuss issues ranging from homelessness among U.S. military veterans to more basic things like class schedules and dorm life. Generally, the veterans are a bit older than traditional undergraduates, and because of their experiences, they often approach the everyday stress of student life in different ways.

"I think we provide an official vehicle for talking about the needs and experiences of student veterans to the larger campus community," says Abe Holland '08, from Irasburg, Vt., a member of the U.S. Air Force who served in support of operations in Afghanistan. "We also provide support for new veterans coming to campus or thinking about coming to Dartmouth, and we hope we can facilitate discussions where non-veteran students and veterans can share perspectives."
Press release, here.

Friday, May 16, 2008

Priya Venkatesan Update

From the Daily Northwestern:
The controversial former Dartmouth College lecturer who threatened to sue her students before coming to Northwestern as a research associate says she has enjoyed her first month on campus.

[ . . . ]

Venkatesan also declined to comment on the lawsuit, saying she was trying to move on but said she had learned a lot about herself through the Dartmouth controversy.

"The situation was not handled the way it probably should've been handled," she said. "I want to put it behind me. I think that'll be healthy for everyone involved."

Thursday, May 15, 2008

Attention, Female Econ Majors

http://economicwoman.com/2008/05/14/advice-for-economics-undergraduates/

Some fairly insipid advice for Dartmouth's ubiquitous econ majors, courtesy of new blog Economic Woman, where "economics and feminism collide."

Steve Jobs at Dartmouth

Pudgy Steve Jobs speaks at Dartmouth?

Tuesday, May 13, 2008

If This is Their Solution, They're Already Too Far Gone

The University of Colorado at Boulder woke up one day, looked around, and wondered, "Where has all the diversity of thought gone?"

So they decided to solve this problem the way they have all others, with affirmative action; this time, the University is after a token conservative professor.

Anyone proposing something like this, including Horowitz and the like, simply does not get it.

Monday, May 12, 2008

Harvard Self-Call Bought by New York Media Types

According to the Times Manhattan Media has bought 02138, a magazine published by Harvard alumni for Harvard alumni, a "Vanity Fair for Harvard alums." You got a taste of what they were all about when, in their inaugural issue, they claimed, "We realized that we had started dividing everyone we met, read about, saw on TV, and heard about at dinner parties into two categories, 'Harvard' and 'not Harvard.'" Last spring Editor emeritus Joe Rago '05 took a look at 02138 and compared it unfavorably to an earlier Cambridge literary foray.

Rago's takedown, below the fold:


(Click on the photo to enlarge.)

Propaganda "From the Ground"

The folks over at Dartblog have a good rebuttal to the anti-parity column Professor Susan Ackerman wrote in today's D.

P.S. I'd like to add that Moore's claim that faculty numbers have gone down since 2006 seems a bit dubious. I've asked him for more proof, but in the meantime here are the numbers I'm aware of. —A.S.

facultyartsandsciences2007.pdf

facultytotalinstitution2007.pdf

Sunday, May 11, 2008

Kos Blooger Sees Conspiracy

In response to a comment on the previous post: Yes, Laura Clawson is indeed the Daily Kos blooger that posted "The VRWC [Vast Right Wing Conspiracy] at Dartmouth and Beyond." Here's her take on the fight to keep Dartmouth a college at heart:
This is a radical program to bring the worst intersection of neo-con and fundamentalist thought to higher education -- to engage in a multigenerational battle to take over your children's education, and the airwaves, and the courts.
Who knew? More on Clawson's Dartmouth connection, after the jump.

Meanwhile, Miss Clawson (she prefers not to be called Dr. Laura) is a Melon Postdoctoral Fellow in Sociology at Dartmouth, where she explores things like Gender in Romance Novels while teaching classes about the sociology of the family. She has also guest-lectured a women bloggers course at Keene State; the professor was, like, totally surprised that bloggers don't make that much money.

Clawson's faculty page, here.

Saturday, May 10, 2008

Learn How to be a Progressive Blooger

Rocky, right now.

>Date: 10 May 2008 17:33:54 -0400
>From: Dartmouth Free Press
>Reply-To: DFP
>Subject: Orient & Progressive Blogging Now!
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

The second half of the Dartmouth Coalition for Progress's Activism Skills Training will be starting now, with dinner from the Orient and Laura Clawson, Daily Kos Frontpage Contributer, on progressive blooging, journalism, and media utilization.

Luke Watson, Outreach Director for Paul Hodes, will also be speaking on lobbying skills.

5:30-6:30
Rocky 2
*Orient!!!

Friday, May 09, 2008

The AoA lawsuit muckraking continues

Once again, William Schpero made it to the front page of today's daily Dartmouth for what seems to be the only role he plays in that publication - exposing the lies disseminated by the AoA executive committee majority. Thankfully, this particular article is surprisingly unbiased and actually mentions pro-lawsuit executive committee member, Frank Gado's opinions. Now if only that part made it to the front page along with AoA President Bill Hutchinson's claims that the AoA executive committee never made sufficient attempts for dialogue with the Board of Trustees prior to the board-packing plan.

More after the jump.

The article conveniently begins with
In the race for the executive committee of the Association of Alumni, supporters of the Association’s lawsuit against the College have claimed that the Board of Trustees ignored or denied several of the Association’s requests to meet prior to the Board’s September announcement of changes to Dartmouth’s governance structure. Board Chairman Ed Haldeman ‘70, however, said ... Association President Bill Hutchinson ‘76, who opposes the suit, has maintained, along with College officials, that the executive committee made “one and only one” attempt to meet with the Board, and the Board complied.

Then the first paragraph after the fold, is the first to mention Frank Gado. The rest of the article continues to offer Gado's claims as a counterpoint to Hutchinson's.

Later in today's issue, the Opinion Page prints their Verbum Ultimum column. In this column they explicitly cite Schpero's article as if the entirety of the article were what was printed on the front page:
As today’s news article (“AoA members differ on dealings with Board”) makes clear, the executive committee made only one official effort at a meeting with the Board to discuss the proposed governance changes before they were announced publicly. Even though pro-lawsuit members of the committee and their supporters have claimed that the committee persistently and seriously pursued the option of mediation, no resolution was ever passed on the matter.


Thank god, the Opinion section printed J. Michael Murphy's (petition candidate, class of '61) article, which states the facts and points out how Bill Hutchinson, John Mathias '69, and the Verbum Ultimum's accusations are misleading.

More on the Senior Survey

Jake Baron '10 dissects the recently released senior survey. He's taken some of the graphs out of the pdf, so head on over and take a look. Here's just one interesting take home point from one of the graphs:
There are a few points of interest here, particularly in the campus life graph. First, notice the high rating students give to “Social life.” With this in mind, the administration’s simmering distaste with Greek-letter organizations and the recent campus obsession with finding “alternative social spaces” look a lot less useful, and a lot more like ideologically-driven social engineering.

Read the full post, here.

Thursday, May 08, 2008

More administrative bloat on the way

According to the front page of today's D, the College is looking for an "information security officer." Here's why:
Confidential research and security information can be transmitted by the click of a button or by the exchange of a simple CD. A professor at one of Dartmouth’s peer institutions learned this when one of her trusted post-doctorate students tampered with data on her computer and some of her valuable research-related CD’s were stolen. To counteract these security risks, the College is currently searching for a candidate to take on the role of chief information security officer.

Apparently the solution to professors being careless with their data is to hire a new bureaucrat rather than teach them how to secure their data...

Dartmouth Medical School in the News

The New York Times reports on "Slow Medicine", an approach to geriatric care based in research conducted at the Dartmouth Medical School.

Hearing Out the Profs

Today’s Daily Dartmouth features an editorial which, like so many of the editorials we've seen lately, is differentiating petition trustees from non-petition trustees—but the issue at stake here is shockingly not 1891 or parity-related. This time, Joseph Asch '79 is criticizing non-petition trustees for not reaching out to Dartmouth professors who, according to Asch, “ more than any other campus group, have a broad perspective on Dartmouth, one that comes from interactions throughout the institution and long experience with previous presidents and deans. If all of our trustees could tap into this information, they might come to an understanding of why so many alumni are concerned about the direction of the College.”

Asch’s ultimate criticism is that “unlike the petition trustees, who are active in learning about the College, non-petition trustees seem to base their understanding of Dartmouth on the presentations that the Wright administration prepares for their quarterly meetings.” This is a problem that has an easy solution, according to Asch.

Asch suggests that the non-petition trustees should do some of their own field-work, personally meet professors, and ultimately rely less on the power-points and presentations put together by Parkhurst. For more on his proposed solution, read on here.

Why not Just Send a Check?

Students buy jeans, help Somali women.

P.S. This, courtesy of the comments.

Wednesday, May 07, 2008

Wright on the New GI Bill

President Wright has a piece in the Chronicle of Higher Education on the new GI Bill. Here's a small sample:
Yet despite the overwhelming historical success of educational benefits for veterans, such support for those who served in Iraq and Afghanistan has, unfortunately, proved to be n unnecessarily complicated matter. Remarkably, Congress allowed the legislation for the new GI bill to sit for a year with no action on it. The three major arguments of those opposed: the expense of adding another entitlement program; Pentagon concerns that re-enlistments might suffer if too many people left the military to pursue higher education; and reservations by some in Congress about providing federal tuition dollars to wealthy institutions.

The full essay can be found here.

Tuesday, May 06, 2008

New TDR Issue Finally Up

After some technical difficulties with our server, we have finally been able to upload the full issue to our website. Some of the new articles available for your reading pleasure are:

Monday, May 05, 2008

Dartmouth has the nicest in the Ivy League

Ms. Maura Pennington '08 wrote a letter to the editor in response to Amelia Rawls' op-ed piece in the Washington Post. Rawls contended that the students at top universities lack the compassion to be completely selfless; she suggests that our good deeds are merely ploys to pad our resumes. Ms. Rawls had this to say about our success and community service:
I'm not saying different. I'm saying that sometimes some of these students will denounce world hunger but be unfriendly to the homeless. They will debate environmental policy but never offer to take out the trash. They will believe vehemently in many causes but roll their eyes when reminded to be humble, to be generous and to "do what is right."

It is these people, though, who often climb America's ladder of success. They rise to the top, partly on their own merits yet also partly on the backs of equally deserving but "nicer" people who let them steal the spotlight.

Pennington countered with her Dartmouth experience saying that she has met innumerable "nice" classmates who have given her faith in our characters. A quote from her letter:
I have found more classmates than I can name who are caring, conscientious, compassionate and downright nice.

More Transparency on the Way?

In a favorable new development, the College has decided to start making the biannual senior surveys available to the public. Previously, the collected data had only been available to the Board of Trustees and administrators. Here is a pdf of the most recent survey—the class of 2006. According to the Daily D, at least partial credit is due to the ex-President of SA, Travis Green '08, who pushed to make the findings public. Finally a worthwhile achievement out of SA.

Rago '05 opines on Venkatesan scandal in WSJ

The Opinion section of today's Wall Street Journal features an excellent piece by former Review editor-in-chief Joseph Rago '05. A choice excerpt:
I once wrote a term paper for a lit-crit course where I "deconstructed" the MTV program "Pimp My Ride." A typical passage: "Each episode is a text of inescapable complexity . . . Our received notions of what constitutes a ride are constantly subverted and undermined." It received an A.

Mocking deconstruction? Now that's postmodern.

Sunday, May 04, 2008

Subversive Models Needed!!

>Date: 04 May 2008
>From: Untamed
>Subject: Photoshoot today
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)


If you are interested in participating in a photoshoot for the new issue of untamed, contact Candais Crivello. Let her know what aspect of the photoshoot you are interested in.

Today at 1:30 at the Tabard students are meeting to take a variety of photos.

One major idea we have is "This is what a feminist looks like" and we want to get simple portraits of people who are feminists as themselves to show the diversity of feminism on this campus. If you cannot make it today for a portrait, let us know if you can do it at a later time and we can meet you then.

Another potential theme is stereotypes-- debunking them by combining different types and showing how absurd they are. An example is the virgin-whore paradox. Someone could dress up half "virginal" and half more "sexual" perhaps and show the impossibility of being both at once. These are just some ideas.

Let us know if you're interested!!

Thanks,
Valerie

Saturday, May 03, 2008

Will Schpero: I Worship at the Feet of Dartmouth Undying

In the same piece that Mostafa linked to in the post below, there is also this little gem:
In an unrelated development on Thursday, the pro-lawsuit Association executive committee majority voted to censure Dartmouth’s Office of Alumni Relations for “providing its listserve and postal addresses to some members of alumni groups while denying those same means of access to other duly elected officers.”

Quite frankly I'm surprised Schpero even mentioned this, given his track record.

Friday, May 02, 2008

Daily D: Alumni hate pro-parity polls, themselves

A hilariously biased front-page story from today's D:
Alumni have allegedly been subjected to “push polls” favoring the pro-lawsuit candidates in the Association of Alumni election over the last week, according to active alumni.

The article is especially hilarious in light of Daniel Belkin '08's opinion piece Wednesday that alleged pro-parity alumni have a "monopoly" on media attention.

Thursday, May 01, 2008

AoA Statement, What Happened Last Summer?

The AoA Executive Committee just contacted The Dartmouth Review with the following statement. Of particular interest is the penultimate paragraph, where the EC explains the steps they went through last summer to dialogue with the Board of Trustees—before the lawsuit.
President Hutchinson went on to state that the Executive Committee made “one and only one” attempt to meet with the Board regarding the governance study. In fact there were many attempts to interact with the Board. Our formal letter of May 30 received no response. Written inputs from individual committee members received no response other than a courtesy acknowledgement of receipt. Chairman Haldeman met in-person only with president Hutchinson, having been informed that our president did not represent the opinions of the committee majority. One teleconference did occur during the last week in August, involving two trustees, but the committee was informed that the governance recommendations were essentially complete; there was no sit-down working session to consider alternatives. Shortly after the trustee decision was announced, several executive committee members made personal overtures to various Board members suggesting legal action would be held in abeyance, if the Board would postpone implementation of their plan during a mediation process. These overtures were rejected.

The full statement, below the fold.

Association of Alumni of Dartmouth College Issues Election Campaign Corrections

Hanover NH, May 1, 2008: Contact: Tim Dreisbach, Class of 1971
Executive Committee Member
802-763-2456

The annual election of the Association’s leadership has begun. While the Executive Committee of the Association remains firmly committed to open campaigning and unrestricted speech by all candidates and their supporters, several incorrect, false, and misleading statements have been made about the actions of the Executive Committee itself and its members. We feel an obligation to set the record straight on those allegations.

One slate of candidates, Dartmouth Parity, has implied in their campaigning that the Association polled alumni on the question of whether or not to pursue legal action in defense of maintaining parity on the Board of Trustees. This is incorrect. The Association did conduct an alumni-wide survey in which alumni responded that they were in favor of maintaining parity, by a margin of over 9-1. This information was provided as input to the Trustees. After the trustees announced their decision to eliminate parity, the timeframe for filing an injunction did not permit a second survey.

One organization of campaign supporters, Dartmouth Undying, has stated that all those in the Association executive committee majority who voted for the lawsuit also “asked the N.H. legislature to enact a law to give the state control over the Dartmouth College charter.” This is a falsehood; only one of six spoke in support of this bill, and several others were openly opposed to the measure. The committee’s documented deliberations reveal a desire by the majority for non-involvement. A minority request to take a stand of condemnation was defeated. Dartmouth Undying has endorsed candidates opposed to the pro-parity petition candidates, and in turn some of these opponents are listed as supporters of Dartmouth Undying.

Dartmouth Undying has also published a statement that the same six members of the executive committee "still refuse to disclose who is footing the bill" for the lawsuit. This is also untrue. Funds for attorney fees have been contributed by the Hanover Institute, a fact that was made public by these individuals after obtaining permission from the donor. The law firm has made clear that it takes direction only from our designated liaison, and that individual can act only on the approval of the Association’s executive committee.

One member of the Executive Committee, the president, recently sent an email to all alumni using Association letterhead, criticizing a letter from six of his fellow members. Because they had also used Association letterhead, he falsely claimed their letter “purported to be from the Association” without there having been a formal vote. There was no such representation in the letter, which was explicitly signed by the six senders. President Hutchinson’s letter was also sent without formal review or approval. A recent letter by twelve Dartmouth Trustees, on College letterhead, follows the same practice.

President Hutchinson went on to state that the Executive Committee made “one and only one” attempt to meet with the Board regarding the governance study. In fact there were many attempts to interact with the Board. Our formal letter of May 30 received no response. Written inputs from individual committee members received no response other than a courtesy acknowledgement of receipt. Chairman Haldeman met in-person only with president Hutchinson, having been informed that our president did not represent the opinions of the committee majority. One teleconference did occur during the last week in August, involving two trustees, but the committee was informed that the governance recommendations were essentially complete; there was no sit-down working session to consider alternatives. Shortly after the trustee decision was announced, several executive committee members made personal overtures to various Board members suggesting legal action would be held in abeyance, if the Board would postpone implementation of their plan during a mediation process. These overtures were rejected.

We hope the above provides clarification specific to the actions of the executive committee. On behalf of the entire Association, we encourage all alumni to participate in these elections, with an informed and thoughtful mind. A high turnout percentage will demonstrate the engagement of Dartmouth alumni in the College they love. A majority mandate, one way or the other, will be a major step towards a constructive future.

Daily D: At Least We Are Not Charging You a Copyright Fee

Apparently the Daily D was doing all those outraged by the comic a favor. From a blog called Angry Asian Man:
Too bad the The Dartmouth charged them $437.40 to print the one-page ad. You think they'd give them a break, considering that it was The Dartmouth that made the idiotic mistake of printing the damn comic strip in the first place. Apparently, The Dartmouth even claimed they were doing them a favor by not charging a copyright fee for re-using the comic.
The ad, courtesy of Angry Asian Man, below the jump.