Thursday, November 30, 2006

College Pats Itself on the Back

The Dartmouth website has just added its latest special feature, an in depth coverage of the "Solidarity Against Hatred Rally." Included are the speeches from students and administrators, in addition to pictures taken of the rally. A wonderfully unbiased read for those of us who couldn't attend.

Also it seems that our SA president succeeded with his goal as the Boston Globe has picked up the story.

Wednesday, November 29, 2006

Solidarity for Solipsism

As promised, members of the Dartmouth Community met outside of Dartmouth Hall today to protest against hate-mongerers. The event drew an estimated 400 people, various attendees put the ratio between administrators/professors and students at 40% : 60%. Surprisingly, President Wright, who was thought to be out of town, also attended, giving one of his trademark vacuous addresses. Other highlights of the event included . . . well, at least it didn't rain.

Official Response from North Dakota

Below is North Dakota Governor John Hoeven's (Dartmouth '79) official response to Josie Harper's astounding apology for the University of North Dakota's participation in next month's hockey tournament.

"Unfortunately, Ms. Harper takes her position with no knowledge of how the University of North Dakota has approached the logo issue. UND has handled the matter with consideration and respect for Native Americans, and the university is a leader in Native American Programs."

Timmy Rallies the Rabble

SA President Timmy Andreadis called an unofficial meeting tonight at 11:30 to "discuss a response" to the new issue of The Dartmouth Review. Early estimates put the attendance at somewhere between 150 and 200 students. Apparently, very little other than the usual self-righteous bilge was decided upon. Some of the participants called for the College to stop funding TDR only to become more agitated and outraged upon finding that no number smaller than "0" exists. One deranged female exclaimed that TDR was lucky that "things haven't gotten violent" - because, you know, they're a tolerant bunch. Solidarity was a big topic, with one student suggesting the interlocking of umbrellas to show their support for . . . well, we haven't quite figured that out yet. That said, there will be a protest in front of Dartmouth Hall tomorrow at 2:00, the mob that assembles there hopes to attract the attention of the Associated Press - they've not yet decided on whether they should wear muzzles to protect themselves from the teeth nashing that is sure to ensue; in fact, there was much deliberation on what they could wear to show "solidarity" with the Native Americans on campus; this might be a good time to point out that if they go here they can buy Indian t-shirts already emblazened with the Dartmouth name. The only certain thing at this point is how fun the rest of this week will be for all who love to watch the PC police go overboard.

Wah-Hoo-Wah!

Tuesday, November 28, 2006

The Natives are Getting Restless!

The latest issue of The Dartmouth Review is now online.

Inside:
--A comprehensive analysis of 'racist' incidents this term.
--Lt. Rollo Begley's Dispatch from the Levant.
--Bob on Jim: Robert Frost deconstructs President Wright.

Plus, as always, The Week in Review, Barrett's Mixology, and The Last Word.

Monday, November 27, 2006

Debate: Is Multiculturalism Good for Higher Education?

With the help of the Intercollegiate Studies Institute, TDR and a number of campus organizations will be bringing Professor David Schaefer of the College of the Holy Cross and Professor Patricia Bode of Tufts to debate the value of multiculturalism in higher education Wednesday night. The details of the event are below, and with two very qualified experts in the field I am predicting a very interesting debate.

************************************
Join us as Tufts Professor Patricia Bode debates Holy Cross Professor David Schaefer
WEDNESDAY NIGHT - 7 PM - MOORE HALL, FILENE AUDITORIUM
************************************
Part of the Intercollegiate Studies Institute's Cicero's Podium College Debate Series - www.isi.org

FREE TO THE PUBLIC THANKS TO:The Evelyn Waugh Society, The Intercollegiate Studies Institute, The Dartmouth Review, The Arthur N. Rupe Foundation, Dartmouth College Republicans, Sigma Nu, Sigma Alpha Epsilon, Phi Delta Alpha

----Speaker Bios----

Patricia Bode

Professor Bode is the Director of Art Education for Tufts University in affiliation with The School of the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston. Her research interests include the arts in urban education as well as postmodernism and multiculturalism in art education. With years of experience as an activist public school teacher and teacher educator, Professor Bode has published extensively on multicultural education theory and anti-racist curriculum reform and is the recipient of the 2005 National Multicultural Educator Award from the National Association for Multicultural Education.


David L. Schaefer

Professor Schaefer teaches courses on political philosophy and American political thought and is the author of two books, Justice or Tyranny? A Critique of John Rawls's "A Theory of Justice" and The Political Philosophy of Montaigne. A frequent contributor to The Fenwick Review and National Review, he has written on education and equality, affirmative action and social justice, and the present nature of liberal education.

Saturday, November 25, 2006

Dartmouth on ESPN.com

...for all the wrong reasons, as you can imagine. In instances like these, I begin to reconsider my "any press is good press" mantra.

The NADs wanted to bring the national press into the campus controversies. And they certainly did. I hope they feel satisfied for bringing utter and thorough embarassment to our school and our athletic program. Dartmouth has become the laughingstock of collegeiate athletics for reasons that have nothing to do with on-the-field performance.

Is this any way to treat a guest?

The Dartmouth features two web updates in the online Opinion section, including one letter from alumnus Robert Marchant '57:
Despite the recent incidents involving the Dartmouth community and the Native
American students, the College did invite the University of North Dakota hockey
team to a tournament in Hanover. UND hockey is one of the premier hockey
programs in the nation with a proud tradition. For Director of Athletics Josie
Harper to apologize to the Dartmouth community for inviting a team with the
mascot of Fighting Sioux is, to this alum, quite offensive ("Apology for hockey
tournament mascot," Nov. 21). The UND tradition is theirs and not Dartmouth's.
The UND hockey team is the guest of Dartmouth at the holiday tourney and should
be accorded every respect that a visiting team deserves.
I find this to be a strong argument against Dartmouth AD Josie Harper's recent letter to the editor. In her approach, the Dartmouth administration and community as a whole is not communicating with the UND AD or President, and we are not having a dialogue with the students of UND. These are tried and true strategies that we see around campus to confront problems of intolerance and misunderstanding, and they are being completely ignored by a high-ranking member of our administration.

Instead, we are being warned about the upcoming pain and suffering that will surely follow the UND hockey players. Unfortunately, the truth is that those hockey players have a very small hand in perpetuating the mascot--surely, if there is blame it falls squarely on the UND administration and Ralph Engelstad, who donated $100 million for the construction of the new arena on the condition the "Fighting Sioux" name remained.
Yet it is clear from the tone of Harper's letter that the focus of the controversy is on the arrival of the hockey team, who are the ambassadors of UND whether they like it or not. As a result, they will be greeted with letters of apology from Dartmouth administrators and perhaps a one or two page spread in The Dartmouth when I presume all they want to do is continue being a world-class college hockey team and play in the Ledyard Invitational. against other world-class college hockey teams.

As the above opinion piece makes clear, these are our invited guests, and as ambassadors of Dartmouth, I would hope that AD Josie Harper, the hockey team, and the entire Dartmouth community treat them with the respect and tolerance that we hold dear as a campus, and that they deserve.

Friday, November 24, 2006

Dartmouth's Dubious Distinction

Scott Johnson at Powerline comments on the UND "Fighting Sioux" controversy, demonstrating how Dartmouth AD Josie Harper's apology to students has quite possibly set the College apart as one of the most PC schools in liberal academia:

Zach Hafer is a 1999 Dartmouth alum, former member of the hockey team and supporter of Dartmouth athletics. He writes that he is not surprised "that the football team just capped another 2-8 season, given that the AD is spending her time meeting with 'aggrieved' students,' 'develop[ing] a specific and continuing plan to address issues of respect and tolerance within the athletic department,' and writing letters of profuse apology." Yesterday's Manchester Union-Leader devoted a good editorial to Josie's letter to the editor. The editorial quotes a UND official:
Don Kojich, executive associate vice president for university relations at North Dakota, referred all questions to the state's attorney general, but did say that he has never heard of another school publicly apologizing for playing the Fighting Sioux.
Dartmouth has now managed to distinguish itself on the national stage for its political correctness. Adjusted for degree of difficulty, this is an almost unbelievable accomplishment. Surely some kind of award is in order.

Thursday, November 23, 2006

Reaction from North Dakota

In addition to the near unanimous indictments of Dartmouth Athletic Director Josie Harper's letter to the community on Monday coming from college sports websites and liberal-leaning Deadspin blog, a native North Dakotan and UND fan chimes in on the Bismarck-Mandan Blog, giving a mid-west cultural context to the controversy:
I was surprised by Josie Harper's letter apologizing for the "pain" caused by hosting the UND Fighting Sioux at their hockey tournament. I had no idea that Native Americans were present in such great numbers at Dartmouth and were so easily offended by our state's tribute to the brave spirit of the Sioux warriors.

Right now North Dakota is under attack by a select few out-of-state advocates of political correctness. They claim our logo, drawn by a Native American artist, is "hostile and abusive." I invite them to actually visit us sometime. Our highway signs and Highway Patrol cars have Native American figures on them. The hospital near my house has an area devoted to burning sage and other traditional Native American healing practices. UND itself hosts dozens of programs for Native Americans including the INMED program, which trains one fifth of the nation's Indian physicians, as well as cultural programs, eight publications, and seven student organizations.

The only oppression I've heard of is of Native students who don't mind the nickname. They're treated like the Midwest's version of an "Uncle Tom" by the PC police. Archie Fool Bear, chair of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe judicial committee, says his tribe's leadership doesn't represent the vast majority of tribal members. He said, "We went to a hockey game, and they talked about the courage and integrity of the Sioux people. We looked at each other like, 'Wow, we don't even honor our Sioux warriors or veterans like this on the reservation.' " How do the politically correct crowd honor this tribal elder? By trying to oust him from the tribal government.

We'd be just fine if a bunch of out of state PC liberals would quit trying to tell us how things need to be out here in flyover country. Perhaps if our team showed up named the UND Brave White Men we'd be more welcome. Then again, every single special interest riding Josie Harper's politically correct bandwagon would then have a unifying reason to apologize for North Dakota's painful presence. In the mean time, the only place we'll apply real pain is on the ice, where it belongs...and actually exists.
The author has sent a draft of the letter to The Dartmouth, though with the publishing term ended it is unlikely to appear in print.

Say Anything, North Dakota's "most popular political blog," posts a commentary that includes the UND mascot graphic as well as the logos appearing on ND State Police Cruisers and the State Department of Transportation's road signs.

More on the letter

Hockey fans are having a field day with this one as well, over at US College Hockey Online. Read the comments here.

I'll be back in Hanover for the tourny in question; I've been planning to do so since I heard North Dakota was gonna be in it. If NoDak wasn't in the tournament, I wouldn't be coming back, it's that simple. But, I suppose being PC means more than providing compelling matchups that fans and alums might be interested in.

Update: The Union Leader picks up the story here.

Wednesday, November 22, 2006

The Merits of Self-Flagellation

The blog DeadSpin.com lambastes Dartmouth Athletic Director Josie Harper for her erstwhile apology for North Dakota's mascot (see below). The comments on the post are quite humorous and worth the read.

Tuesday, November 21, 2006

Dead Horse Crosses Line

And one more in the ongoing Indian bitch-a-thon:

In today's Daily D, Dartmouth Athletic Director Josie Harper apologizes for the University of North Dakota's participation in the upcoming holiday hockey tournament. UND's team name is the Fighting Sioux. She cites her lack of foresight on the hurt it would cause now, when she was organizing the tournament TWO YEARS AGO. To say nothing of the fact that UND is one of the premier hockey programs in the country and their attendance will certainly bring positive attention to Dartmouth.

I hope I'm not alone in thinking it's absurd that our AD has to apologize for another team's mascot...

Monday, November 20, 2006

That Poor, Poor Dead Horse

The Native Americans ad Dartmouth (NADs) began their campaign of misinformation today in today's Daily D in a two-page advertisement entitled "When Good People Do Nothing: Racism On Our Campus." They go on to list a series of racist "incidents," the first of which begins asserting that on September 12th during Orientation, The Dartmouth Review "[sold] t-shirts emblazoned with the Indian symbol to first-year students." This of course refers to the open house to which all students were welcome on September 23rd, and during which all '10s were given free Indian T-shirts and free Indian food. Although first-years are welcome to purchase Indian merchandise at our Review Indian Store, the NADs had better get their facts straight if they hope to take their mockery of a campaign to a greater audience.

Sunday, November 19, 2006

Telling Someone Who Cares

It seems that the Native Americans at Dartmouth are no longer content with subjecting just the Dartmouth community to their typical laundry list of offensive incidents. The NADs have a new plan to up the ante: they're going to start complaining to the NATIONAL media, per a notice circulated amongst their members (copied in full below).

It seems to me that that the NADs have made every effort to avoid direct, pro-active resolutions to their qualms, real or perceived. Rather, this term they have been adhering closely to the tenet of "He who complains loudest, wins." And what louder forum to complain in than the national media?

>Date: 18 Nov 2006 17:38:37 -0500
>From: Native Americans at Dartmouth
>Subject: **READ THIS BLITZ**Notifying National Media
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

Hello everyone,

The idea has been proposed that we notify newspapers and the media across the country about the issues and events this term. One suggestion was to wait a little while to see how the administration will respond to our meeting with President Wright, however another sentiment is that we've been waiting for too long. If we decide to undertake this action, we must do so NOW.

Thanksgiving is next Thursday, and as wrong as it is, newspapers and other media across the country like to highlight Native American issues during this time of year, probably more than any other time of the year. It would be advantageous to submit something to National, local, and regional newspapers by Monday because of the likelihood of having it included before Thanksgiving. To be honest, it does not seem that many newspapers would publish something about Natives in December which is the "Christmas Holiday Season".

Thus, we must meet soon to decide how to go about this. We already have a lot of stuff to work with (past editorials, our own knowledge, etc) so it should not involve a large amount of effort. Tomorrow, Sunday, at noon at the NAD House should be a good time to meet on this issue. Please make every effort to attend and if anyone would like to change the meeting time because of prior commitments, PLEASE BLITZ THE NAD ACCOUNT SOON!!!

**Tomorrow, Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at the NAD HOUSE**

Best,
-Your NAD Officers

Friday, November 17, 2006

NEWSFLASH: People Don't Like Timmy

Apparently SA President Timmy Andreadis doesn't play well with others. The Daily D reported today that an exodus of a large number of veteran SA members has occured this fall, citing frustration with the utter lack of any purpose. In fact, there remains only one '07 member who has experience dating back to his freshman year - and he will be resigning at the end of this term; he noted specifically his frustration with Andreadis as a reason for his leaving. Some may have asked in previous years, "Could the Student Assembly be more irrelevant?" Timmy has responded with a resounding YES. Heralding the increased "diversity" of the Assembly, Andreadis notes that this year's SA has become more of an "advocacy body". When pressed for specific accomplishments, Timmy trotted out the COS Report; ironically, something set up by former SA President Noah Riner. Nevertheless, Timmy's gang remains upbeat: "I think the Winter [term] is going to be a really exciting term because I feel like at this Fall [term] we're at like at the brink of developing a bunch of new things." As we know from the constitution debate, trying really hard and coming close to results is all that matters in the end.

On the positive side, this article could be viewed as a retributive act on the the part of the D's in response to the SA's resolution last week (see blog entry for Wednesday, Nov. 8). A new and entertaining enmity between the paper and Andreadis? One can only hope.

Monday, November 13, 2006

Cornell's Fifth Down

As Professor Jeffrey Hart documented in the Homecoming Issue of The Dartmouth Review, in 1940, a nationally ranked Cornell football squad eeked out a narrow victory over the Dartmouth Indians. Only one problem: the scored the winning touchdown on the final play of the game on an illegal "fifth down," thanks to an error by the game's referee. Upon watching video replay of the match, the referee acknowledged his error the next day, and Cornell quickly sent a telegram to Dartmouth's president and athletic department, conceding the game. It was the first time a collegiate football game had ever been decided off the field.

I just found this video documentary about the game, produced by CBS and CSTV. A brief, but fascinating, glimpse at College athletic history.

Sustainably Insane

Sustainability at Dartmouth Coordinator Jim Merkel, unveiled the most recent iteration of his quixotic quest to reduce all signs of human impact upon the earth (with the necessary end objective of eradicating the human race altogether.) Merkel plans on heating water in four Dartmouth buildings via solar panel. The Office of Sustainability projects that oil consumption will be cut by "0.0024 percent". "The goal is to save oil and diversify our energy portfolio, which currently consists of 100 percent fossil fuel," Merkel said. Students eagerly anticipate this Great Leap Forward when only 99.9976 percent of Dartmouth's energy will be derived from fossil fuels.

Friday, November 10, 2006

Howie Hawkins Earns 1%; Declares Victory

Running on an anti-war platform, co-founder of the Green Party in the U.S. Howie Hawkins procured a hefty 1.2% of the vote in his Senate bid against Hillary Clinton on Tuesday. A former Dartmouth drop-out (he completed four years of study, but failed to learn a foreign language), Hawkins scrounged up 52,010 votes, or less than one per square mile. Hawkins will be long remembered for leading the construction of a shanty-town on the Green in 1985 only to see the shacks mercilessly walloped with hydraulic hammers by Review staffers. Although the Green gubernatorial ticket failed to reach the requisite 50,000 votes to earn a ballot line in the next election, Hawkins has publicly stated his intention to ignore the law and manipulate activist judges to get his way. The Alliterative Society of New York responded: "Who the Hell is Howie Hawkins?"

Thursday, November 09, 2006

New TDR Now Online

The newest issue of The Dartmouth Review is now available online.

In this issue:
--An analysis of why the Alumni Constitution failed.
--TDR interviews Historian Robert Dallek about his upcoming book on the Nixon Administration.
--An evaluation of suggested reforms to the Committee on Standards.

Wednesday, November 08, 2006

Comical Integrity

The Student Assembly (SA) approved a "Statement of Concern Regarding Journalistic Integrity in The Dartmouth" on Tuesday night. The impetus for the resolution was a comic - that's right, a comic. After all, if one can't trust comics to deliver on journalistic integrity, where is one to turn? Spearheading the move was SA President Timmy Andreadis, who tried a similar move last winter but failed to gain the requisite votes. Among a bevy of other complaints addressed, was the selection process for op-ed pieces; again, diversity is encouraged as long as it doesn't offend Timmy, i.e., no more publishing male writers.

Saturday, November 04, 2006

Unethical to Inform?

Martha Hennessey '76, one of the crafters of the recently defeated constitution, vented her frustration in Friday's issue of the Dartmouth. Clearly mentally incapacitated after the vote, she alleged (among other things) that, "the opposition has the editor of The Wall Street Journal in their back pocket." She later went on to claim that it was "unethical" for national media to cover the election - because, as we all know, informing alumni is clearly something to be discouraged.

Thursday, November 02, 2006

Victory: AGTF Constitution Soundly Defeated

The proposed new Dartmouth alumni constitution, as drafted by the Alumni Governance Task Force, has been resoundingly defeated. Proponents had hoped that a 30% voter turnout (seemingly a pipe dream going into this process) would guarantee passage by the 2/3 super-majority needed. Turnout was indeed a record--37%--which makes the defeat sting that much more: 51%, or over 12,500 voters, voted "NO."

The implications here? The AGTF wasn't even close in trying to construct a document that alumni wanted. Back to the drawing board. I'll throw my name into the ring right now to be on the next task force. Additionally, Merle Adelman et al. must now reschedule their unconstitutionally cancelled executive elections for the Association of Alumni... stay tuned to Dartlog and The Dartmouth Review for updates on the fallout of the constitution's defeat.

Additionally, the other four proposed amendments, all of which the The Dartmouth Review endorsed, each failed to muster the necessary votes for passage.

Rodent Recall

First the tragic demise of a squirrel and now this. The residents of the new McLaughlin Cluster have been treated to a calamitous week of pocket-sized proportions. The Dartmouth reported today that though this is the first year of the dormitories use, there is a mouse infestation problem. According to Residential Operations Director Woody Eckels, the mice probably found their way into the buildings this summer during construction. Though the Office of Residential Life (ORL) has hired an exterminator the overwhelming feelin amongst residents is one of frustration. The exception, of course, is Lyle Baker '10, who has been hand catching mice. "I don't think the mouse problem will be solved any time soon," Baker said. "In the meantime, we enjoy the rush of catching the little guys on our own. We don't exterminate them or abuse them. We show them off to our floor and let them loose outside."

Sons of Dartmouth dare a deed for the old Mother, indeed.