Wednesday, May 31, 2006

A United Front

Together with Andrew Seal, editor of the Dartmouth Free Press, the campus's far-left publication, I wrote this editorial condeming the proposed Alumni Constitution. Our aim was that by presenting an across-the-spectrum opposition to it amongst students, more alumni will see its instrinsic problems.

For a handful of technical, legal, and whatever else reasons, only one name could appear in the byline. We went with his, citing notoriety and perceived bias associated with mine. Note, however, that I did, in fact, take a very active part in writing and presenting the piece.

Tuesday, May 30, 2006

Paulson '68 Tapped as Treasury Secretary

Hank Paulson '68, current CEO of Goldman Sachs, was named Secretary of the Treasury this moring by President Bush. His nomination comes as part of the ongoing overhaul of the President's cabinet. Paulson is one of the first true Washington 'outsiders' to be brought into the fold.

During his time at Dartmouth, Paulson was a member of Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity and a star running back for the football team.

Monday, May 29, 2006

A Record of Their Fame

As today is Memorial Day, I feel it only appropriate that we all take a moment to reflect upon the Sons of Dartmouth who have given their lives for the sake of our country. Last year, The Dartmouth Review published a list of the names of those heroic gentlemen.

On a side note, I am also reminded of one of my favorite Dartmouth traditions, one that today is found in the memories of a only handful of diligent undergraduates, though the meaning is certainly not lost upon decades of alumni: the 'war verse' of Hovey's "Men of Dartmouth," since rechristened as the Alma Matter. In theory, the war verse is supposed to be sung only in times of war; in practice, I have never heard it sung or even mentioned in my time at Dartmouth. For posterity, I have copied the lyrics below. The tune is the same as the rest of the song.

They were mighty men of old
That she nurtured side by side;
Till like Vikings they went forth
From the lone and silent North,
And they strove, and they wrought, and they died;
But the sons of old Dartmouth,
The laurelled sons of Dartmouth,
The Mother keeps them in her heart
And guides their altar flame;
The still North remembers them,
The hill-winds know their name,
And the granite of New Hampshire
Keeps the record of their fame;
And the granite of New Hampshire
Keeps the record of their fame.

Sunday, May 28, 2006

Women's Lax Loses Heartbreaker to Wildcats

The Dartmouth women's lacrosse team fell to Northwestern this afternoon, 7-4, in the NCAA title game. The women held a 4-3 lead following a goal by Sarah Szefi 5:11 into the second half, but the Wildcats scored the final four goals of the game to win their second consecutive title.

Dartmouth finishes as the NCAA runner-up for the first time in team history, ending the year with a 14-6 record. Northwestern finished the year 20-1, and avenged its only loss to Duke with an 11-10 OT victory in the NCAA semifinals.

Saturday, May 27, 2006

Women's Lax Reaches NCAA Final

Dartmouth's women's lacrosse team cruised past Notre Dame last night in the NCAA Semifinal, 14-8, and will face defending champion Northwestern Sunday at noon for the NCAA title. The game will be played at Boston University's Nickerson Field, just a short 2-hour drive from Hanover.

A victory would give the College its first national title since 1976, when it won the NCAA skiing championship. It would also be Dartmouth's first NCAA title in a women's sport.

Friday, May 26, 2006

AoA Executive Committee CANCELS Elections

The Executive Council of the Dartmouth Association of Alumni have CANCELLED elections at their next annual meeting. You read that correctly: in light of the Alumni Council's endorsement of the new proposed constitution, the executive committee, without an all-association vote, has decided to eschew elections of new officers at the upcoming annual meeting. In other words, they cannot be replaced before the vote on the new Constitution. One can only speculate that this is precisely to avoid that inconvience of new officers in advance of the upcoming constitution vote; a new slate of officers could, in theory, cancel the vote entirely, thereby scuttling the new constitution (oh, if only...).

Oh, and one other small detail: nowhere in the constitution of the Association of Alumni is the Executive Committee empowered to unilaterally cancel elections in this manner. Rumor holds (though unsubstantiated) that impeachment calls have already been set up.

Stay tuned to Dartlog.net for updates.

Below is the letter sent from the Executive Committee to the Association membership explaining the decision:


May 24, 2006

Dear Fellow Alumni,

The officers and executive committee of the Association of Alumni (AoA) continue to work on several matters of alumni governance stemming from the constitutional amendment being proposed by the Alumni Governance Task Force (AGTF) to provide for a new constitution for the association. Here is an update of our plans.

The Vote on the Proposed New Constitution

During its 192nd meeting, May 18-20, 2006, the Alumni Council unanimously ratified the proposed new constitution presented by the AGTF. This version is the result of many years of work by a diverse group of volunteers who solicited and incorporated feedback from a wide range of alumni, representing constituencies across the AoA. The constitution will be presented to the entire alumni body for an all-media vote from September 15 to October 31, 2006.

This vote will be conducted according to the Guidelines for All-Media Voting for Constitutional Amendments, adopted on March 23, 2006, and posted on the AoA Web site (http://alumni.dartmouth.edu/leadership/association/index.html). Alumni will have the option to vote online, by phone, or by regular mail.

In the interest of fairness and democracy for all alumni, additional amendments to the current constitution will be included on the ballot if they are submitted in accordance with the guidelines. Although additional amendments will not have undergone the extensive review, debate, and revision the AGTF proposal has received, we trust alumni to make their own judgments about the worth of alternative proposals.

The Annual Meeting of the Association of Alumni and Election of Officers
The proposed constitution includes provisions for all-media voting for alumni officers and a plan that transitions the AoA and Alumni Council into a single new organization (the Dartmouth Alumni Association)while minimizing disruption. If the proposed constitution passes, the transition committee and transition leadership will determine the timing and content of the next annual meeting.

Because the results of the vote on the proposed constitution will not be available until after October 31, 2006, the AoA Executive Committee is making two changes to the annual election process. We are postponing the annual meeting from the October 15, 2006 date originally planned to the first half of calendar year 2007. The election of association officers and executive committee members will be conducted via all-media voting. The guidelines for this vote will be developed and announced in the fall, with appropriate time allotted for the nomination and announcement of candidates well in advance of the voting period. The election will be completed at the annual meeting, with final voting by attendees who have not previously voted.

This approach is consistent with the current constitution of the AoA, which stipulates that officers be “elected annually at each annual meeting.” The AoA operates under the same calendar as the College; therefore, the meeting must take place during the period from July 1, 2006, to June 30, 2007. The delay in the annual meeting means that if the proposed constitution passes, the officers currently in place will remain in place until the next election, ensuring a smooth transition to a new alumni governance structure. If the proposed constitution does not pass, the next slate of officers and executive committee members will be elected via all-media voting.

The AoA Executive Committee and the AGTF encourage you to learn more about the proposed constitution at the AoA Web site (address is given above) and to ask your questions and offer comments on the blogs of the AoA (http://www.dartmouthaoa.blogspot.com/) and AGTF (http://dartagtf.blogspot.com/)
or by contacting any of us directly.

For Dartmouth,

Merle Adelman ’80
First Vice President

Friday, May 12, 2006

The Wright Stuff, Part 2

Over on Powerline, Scott Johnson editorializes on their "Just the Facts" interview of President Wright from yesterday. His critiques are pretty much the same as my own, and many other like-minded people. In short, Jim Wright is a nice guy who clearly cares passionately for Dartmouth, but is content to maintain the status quo by forever playing the role of the complacent diplomat.

Thursday, May 11, 2006

Wright on Powerline

Today, Powerline Blog features this brief interview with President Wright. It touches on all the standard hot-button topics (Alumni governance issues, Western Civilizaiont curriculum, etc.), with little editorializing. You get the impression in reading it that Wright was using the interview to stump for himself, the College, what have you. Case in point:

President Wright seems to have sought us out as representative critics of the Dartmouth administration whom he sought to win over in advance of the vote on governance changes to be submitted to Dartmouth alumni for a vote this fall. President Wright referred to himself several times as a political historian; he is the author or editor of five works of political history.

His political skills were prominently on display in his meeting with us. He was incredibly well briefed on John and me, referring to my daughters and to our work for Power Line. He began by asking how we found time to write for Power Line while pursuing our vocation. He acknowledged criticism we had directed toward the Dartmouth administration. Taking notes, I said that I wanted to convey his message without editorial comment and write something about our meeting that he would feel fairly presented his views.

Wednesday, May 10, 2006

Guaranteed housing? Maybe next year.

The Office of Residential Life announced, with much self-laudatory fanfare, that the College would, for the first time, guarantee housing for all students during the '06-'07 school year. (Sophmores, of course, used to have to fend for themselves.) It seems that claim was a bit premature:

--- Forwarded Message from Special Housing ---

>Date: 10 May 2006 13:57:59 EDT
>From: Special Housing
>Subject: TONIGHT - Room Draw!
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

Greetings!

Room Draw concludes TONIGHT in Alumni Hall and as a student whose priority number will be called tonight, we want to make sure you know the following pieces of information before everything begins this evening. This blitz has a lot of information, but please read it all so you are INFORMED!

** If all of our 178 vacancies are taken tonight, we expect to have a waitlist of about 120 09's. We are guaranteeing that everyone who submits a waitlist application by June 1, 2006 will be housed (and not in the Tree Houses!). There will be housing cancellations and d-plan changes which will open up spots currently occupied for the fall, so we anticipate having ample space to house all on-time waitlist applicants! While having a waitlist this year is unexpected, our staff has much experience in managing the process.

Thank you!
The Housing Office Staff
Rachael, Gretchen, Gwen


Who would have thunk it? Clearly if anything the College is suffering from an abundance of housing. Otherwise it wouldn't have closed Hitchcock, the Lodge, the Treehouses, and assorted River dorms...

Friday, May 05, 2006

Whatever you say

From today's Daily D: "Larimore has gained the respect of the student body for his even-handed approach to the Greek system."

Thursday, May 04, 2006

The Daily D shills for Larimore

The Daily Dartmouth's article reviewing Dean Larimore's tenure as Dean of the College reads like a press release:
Larimore will leave Dartmouth this summer without completely achieving his goals for student life and administrative communication, but having made significant progress. The diversity of the student body increased by 50 percent under his leadership, and numerous construction projects are underway to expand the residential life network. He is largely responsible for reconciling some of the Wright administration's difficulties, which he had no part in creating, and because of Larimore the Greek system is stronger. Larimore departs having built the infrastructure between the Greek system and the administration necessary to facilitate improvements that he did not have the chance to accomplish.
The article gives no voice whatsover to Larimore's many detractors among the students and alumni, aside from oblique references to "skeptics." Without citing any evidence, reporter Phil Salinger gives the retiring dean sole credit for many of the positive changes in the past two or three years. In fact, many of these changes consisted of dismantling some of the inane rules and regulations Larimore had himself put in place. The article further ignores other impetuses for change, like widespread student and alumni unrest and the election of three reformers to the Board of Trustees.

And what does "the diversity of the student body increased by 50 percent" even mean?

Class Marshals Step Down

Perhaps equally breaking news, but I can't do Stethers' siren thing.

In any case, all five Senior Class Marshals who are also SEC members have stepped down. The resignations come in the wake the controversial elections which generated a considerable backlash from many students.

In a statement in the Daily D this morning, SEC president Anthony Bramante explains that the decision came from the SEC itself, as an acknowledgement to the widespread criticism of the selection process. The non-SEC marshals will retain their positions.

Wednesday, May 03, 2006

Larimore is Leaving



--- Forwarded message from Michael S. Hanitchak ---

>Date: 03 May 2006 16:05:07 EDT
>From: Michael S. Hanitchak
>Subject: **Please Read - Important Announcement**
>To: Native-American-Program-Members@Mac

Hi all,
I'm sorry to notify you all that Jim Larimore has accepted a position as the Dean of Students at Swarthmore College, effective July 1. While I am sad to see him leave Dartmouth, I know that it is for family reasons rather than because he is not happy here. He will be meeting with NAD personally in the near future and I hope you will all join the NAP staff and extend your best wishes to him and his family for this new chapter in their lives. It has been an honor to work with Jim and to have him as Dean of the College. I know you will miss his presence here as much as we will miss working with him. I'm sure more details will be available soon. Please let us know if you have any concerns or questions.

Thanks,
Michael

Tuesday, May 02, 2006

The Review Enters the Information Age

The video of Professor Jeffery Hart which was presented at our 25th Anniversary Gala is now available at YouTube.

Monday, May 01, 2006

Close Encounters Follow-Up

We've received numerous enquiries as to whether The Dartmouth Review was in any way responsible for the aeroplane trailing the banner at today's immigration rally. To curious parties, I say, "Yes, and thanks for your interest."

Illegal Aliens of the World, Unite!

As I'm sure you're all aware, a nation-wide rally for illegal alien "rights" is taking place this May Day. (What ever happened to a dance around the maypole?) Unfortunately, even fair Hanover was marred by the protests:





But wait, what's that flying above their heads?



Hmm. That puts a bit of a damper on 'solidarity.' A pity.

Immigration Rally

I'll post more on this subject later today as I'm in a bit of rush right now, but the relevant point here is that there is a College-sponsored rally on the Green today, encouraging students to cut class to attend, for some cause relating to immigrants, immigration, &c.

I wrote this article in the Daily D in response.

UPDATE--Since I have received a few questions about this, I should also note that the opinions stated in the editorial are my own, independent of my work with The Dartmouth Review. The facts are, well, facts.