Friday, December 29, 2006

Professor Hart on 'How the Right Went Wrong'


“Like the Whig gentry who were the Founders, I loathe populism,” Hart explains. “Most especially in the form of populist religion, i.e., the current pestiferous bible-banging evangelicals, whom I regard as organized ignorance, a menace to public health, to science, to medicine, to serious Western religion, to intellect and indeed to sanity. Evangelicalism, driven by emotion, and not creedal, is thoroughly erratic and by its nature cannot be conservative. My conservatism is aristocratic in spirit, anti-populist and rooted in the Northeast. It is Burke brought up to date. A ‘social conservative’ in my view is not a moral authoritarian Evangelical who wants to push people around, but an American gentleman, conservative in a social sense. He has gone to a good school, maybe shops at J. Press, maybe plays tennis or golf, and drinks either Bombay or Beefeater martinis, or maybe Dewar's on the rocks, or both."

The full text of my profile of Professor Hart, from the Jan/Feb 2007 Dartmouth Alumni Magazine, is available here.

Wednesday, December 20, 2006

Dartmouth Dropout Wins at Jeopardy...

It appears that Christian Haines' brain cells have had ample time to regroup in his six years away from Bones Gate. Sweeping past the competition four days in a row, he captured $105,000 in winnings. Haines, an '01, plans to return to Dartmouth to complete his degree, graduating with the class of 2008. This just goes to show that while Career Services might tell you that you can't win at life without your diploma, you can certainly win at Jeopardy...

Thursday, December 07, 2006

The Cover Story, Part 2

Nick Desai and Emily Ghods have written an open letter to Dartmouth, in which they acknowledge that "the cover was a mistake."

They offer further missives upon the best approach for those of a conservative bent to confront misplaced liberal dogmatism on campus, stating, in part:

The best course for those of a conservative disposition is to employ evidence, learning, logic, and wit to combat what Orwell called “the smelly little orthodoxies now contending for our minds.” Because much about Dartmouth is liberal, this intellectual combat must necessarily seem conservative, though, occasionally, the orthodoxies will not be creatures of leftism, and the arguments we employ must be merely true.

Sunday, December 03, 2006

Explain Yourself, they said.

And so I did.

I have posted a clarifying statement regarding the cover of the most recent issue of TDR.

Saturday, December 02, 2006

Time for Another Trustee Election

The Alumni Council has nominated the official slate of Trustee candidates to replace the retiring Nancy Jeton '76. The election will be held in the spring.
Dartmouth Alumni Council Announces Trustee Candidate Slate

In June 2007, Nancy Jeton '76 will retire from her seat on the Dartmouth College Board of Trustees. Following an extensive review process and in accordance with the Association of Alumni constitution, the Dartmouth Alumni Council has ratified a slate of three candidates to fill this alumni trustee vacancy. They include:

Richard L. "Sandy" Alderson '69
Sandy Alderson is CEO of the San Diego Padres, a National League team of Major League Baseball. Alderson is a former marine and Vietnam veteran. He was affiliated with the Oakland A's for 17 years as general counsel, general manager, and president. He came to the Padres in 2005, after serving as executive vice president of baseball operations for Major League Baseball. Alderson is a member of the advisory board for the UC Berkeley Haas School of Business, a trustee of the California Historical Society, and former chair of the board of directors of Interplast, an organization providing reconstructive surgery for children in developing countries.

Sherri Carroll Oberg '82, '86Tu
Sherri Oberg is cofounder, president, and CEO of Acusphere, Inc., a biotechnology company based in Watertown, Massachusetts. A finalist for the 2006 Ernst & Young New England Entrepreneur of the Year Award, she was also named by Mass High Tech: The Journal of New England Technology one of its 2005 All Stars in the biotech sector. Oberg is a former director of the Massachusetts Biotechnology Council. She has been a member of the Tuck School of Business Board of Overseers since 1995, served on the advisory board for the Tuck Center for Private Equity and Entrepreneurship, and chaired the Tuck Task Force on Women in Business. She is a frequent guest lecturer at Tuck on entrepreneurship, strategy, technology, and private equity.

John S. Wolf '70
Ambassador John Wolf is president of the Eisenhower Fellowships, a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization working with emerging world leaders. He served in the Department of State, joining the Foreign Service in 1970. He was ambassador to Malaysia and to Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation in the 1990s; presidential envoy for Caspian energy negotiations; and assistant secretary for nonproliferation and chief of the U.S. coordinating and monitoring mission for the Middle East peace process. Wolf was a Mid-career Fellow at the Woodrow Wilson School, Princeton University. He won the Secretary of State's Award for Distinguished Service in 2004, the President's Meritorious Service Award in 1992 and 2000, and the Asia-Pacific Council of American Chambers of Commerce Award for Distinguished Service in 1996.

Trustee balloting will take place from April 1-May 15, 2007. Petition trustee candidate nominations will be accepted until February 2, 2007.

For additional information please visit www.voxthevote.org or contact the Office of Alumni Relations at (603) 646-3929.

Thursday, November 30, 2006

College Pats Itself on the Back

The Dartmouth website has just added its latest special feature, an in depth coverage of the "Solidarity Against Hatred Rally." Included are the speeches from students and administrators, in addition to pictures taken of the rally. A wonderfully unbiased read for those of us who couldn't attend.

Also it seems that our SA president succeeded with his goal as the Boston Globe has picked up the story.

Wednesday, November 29, 2006

Solidarity for Solipsism

As promised, members of the Dartmouth Community met outside of Dartmouth Hall today to protest against hate-mongerers. The event drew an estimated 400 people, various attendees put the ratio between administrators/professors and students at 40% : 60%. Surprisingly, President Wright, who was thought to be out of town, also attended, giving one of his trademark vacuous addresses. Other highlights of the event included . . . well, at least it didn't rain.

Official Response from North Dakota

Below is North Dakota Governor John Hoeven's (Dartmouth '79) official response to Josie Harper's astounding apology for the University of North Dakota's participation in next month's hockey tournament.

"Unfortunately, Ms. Harper takes her position with no knowledge of how the University of North Dakota has approached the logo issue. UND has handled the matter with consideration and respect for Native Americans, and the university is a leader in Native American Programs."

Timmy Rallies the Rabble

SA President Timmy Andreadis called an unofficial meeting tonight at 11:30 to "discuss a response" to the new issue of The Dartmouth Review. Early estimates put the attendance at somewhere between 150 and 200 students. Apparently, very little other than the usual self-righteous bilge was decided upon. Some of the participants called for the College to stop funding TDR only to become more agitated and outraged upon finding that no number smaller than "0" exists. One deranged female exclaimed that TDR was lucky that "things haven't gotten violent" - because, you know, they're a tolerant bunch. Solidarity was a big topic, with one student suggesting the interlocking of umbrellas to show their support for . . . well, we haven't quite figured that out yet. That said, there will be a protest in front of Dartmouth Hall tomorrow at 2:00, the mob that assembles there hopes to attract the attention of the Associated Press - they've not yet decided on whether they should wear muzzles to protect themselves from the teeth nashing that is sure to ensue; in fact, there was much deliberation on what they could wear to show "solidarity" with the Native Americans on campus; this might be a good time to point out that if they go here they can buy Indian t-shirts already emblazened with the Dartmouth name. The only certain thing at this point is how fun the rest of this week will be for all who love to watch the PC police go overboard.

Wah-Hoo-Wah!

Tuesday, November 28, 2006

The Natives are Getting Restless!

The latest issue of The Dartmouth Review is now online.

Inside:
--A comprehensive analysis of 'racist' incidents this term.
--Lt. Rollo Begley's Dispatch from the Levant.
--Bob on Jim: Robert Frost deconstructs President Wright.

Plus, as always, The Week in Review, Barrett's Mixology, and The Last Word.

Monday, November 27, 2006

Debate: Is Multiculturalism Good for Higher Education?

With the help of the Intercollegiate Studies Institute, TDR and a number of campus organizations will be bringing Professor David Schaefer of the College of the Holy Cross and Professor Patricia Bode of Tufts to debate the value of multiculturalism in higher education Wednesday night. The details of the event are below, and with two very qualified experts in the field I am predicting a very interesting debate.

************************************
Join us as Tufts Professor Patricia Bode debates Holy Cross Professor David Schaefer
WEDNESDAY NIGHT - 7 PM - MOORE HALL, FILENE AUDITORIUM
************************************
Part of the Intercollegiate Studies Institute's Cicero's Podium College Debate Series - www.isi.org

FREE TO THE PUBLIC THANKS TO:The Evelyn Waugh Society, The Intercollegiate Studies Institute, The Dartmouth Review, The Arthur N. Rupe Foundation, Dartmouth College Republicans, Sigma Nu, Sigma Alpha Epsilon, Phi Delta Alpha

----Speaker Bios----

Patricia Bode

Professor Bode is the Director of Art Education for Tufts University in affiliation with The School of the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston. Her research interests include the arts in urban education as well as postmodernism and multiculturalism in art education. With years of experience as an activist public school teacher and teacher educator, Professor Bode has published extensively on multicultural education theory and anti-racist curriculum reform and is the recipient of the 2005 National Multicultural Educator Award from the National Association for Multicultural Education.


David L. Schaefer

Professor Schaefer teaches courses on political philosophy and American political thought and is the author of two books, Justice or Tyranny? A Critique of John Rawls's "A Theory of Justice" and The Political Philosophy of Montaigne. A frequent contributor to The Fenwick Review and National Review, he has written on education and equality, affirmative action and social justice, and the present nature of liberal education.

Saturday, November 25, 2006

Dartmouth on ESPN.com

...for all the wrong reasons, as you can imagine. In instances like these, I begin to reconsider my "any press is good press" mantra.

The NADs wanted to bring the national press into the campus controversies. And they certainly did. I hope they feel satisfied for bringing utter and thorough embarassment to our school and our athletic program. Dartmouth has become the laughingstock of collegeiate athletics for reasons that have nothing to do with on-the-field performance.

Is this any way to treat a guest?

The Dartmouth features two web updates in the online Opinion section, including one letter from alumnus Robert Marchant '57:
Despite the recent incidents involving the Dartmouth community and the Native
American students, the College did invite the University of North Dakota hockey
team to a tournament in Hanover. UND hockey is one of the premier hockey
programs in the nation with a proud tradition. For Director of Athletics Josie
Harper to apologize to the Dartmouth community for inviting a team with the
mascot of Fighting Sioux is, to this alum, quite offensive ("Apology for hockey
tournament mascot," Nov. 21). The UND tradition is theirs and not Dartmouth's.
The UND hockey team is the guest of Dartmouth at the holiday tourney and should
be accorded every respect that a visiting team deserves.
I find this to be a strong argument against Dartmouth AD Josie Harper's recent letter to the editor. In her approach, the Dartmouth administration and community as a whole is not communicating with the UND AD or President, and we are not having a dialogue with the students of UND. These are tried and true strategies that we see around campus to confront problems of intolerance and misunderstanding, and they are being completely ignored by a high-ranking member of our administration.

Instead, we are being warned about the upcoming pain and suffering that will surely follow the UND hockey players. Unfortunately, the truth is that those hockey players have a very small hand in perpetuating the mascot--surely, if there is blame it falls squarely on the UND administration and Ralph Engelstad, who donated $100 million for the construction of the new arena on the condition the "Fighting Sioux" name remained.
Yet it is clear from the tone of Harper's letter that the focus of the controversy is on the arrival of the hockey team, who are the ambassadors of UND whether they like it or not. As a result, they will be greeted with letters of apology from Dartmouth administrators and perhaps a one or two page spread in The Dartmouth when I presume all they want to do is continue being a world-class college hockey team and play in the Ledyard Invitational. against other world-class college hockey teams.

As the above opinion piece makes clear, these are our invited guests, and as ambassadors of Dartmouth, I would hope that AD Josie Harper, the hockey team, and the entire Dartmouth community treat them with the respect and tolerance that we hold dear as a campus, and that they deserve.

Friday, November 24, 2006

Dartmouth's Dubious Distinction

Scott Johnson at Powerline comments on the UND "Fighting Sioux" controversy, demonstrating how Dartmouth AD Josie Harper's apology to students has quite possibly set the College apart as one of the most PC schools in liberal academia:

Zach Hafer is a 1999 Dartmouth alum, former member of the hockey team and supporter of Dartmouth athletics. He writes that he is not surprised "that the football team just capped another 2-8 season, given that the AD is spending her time meeting with 'aggrieved' students,' 'develop[ing] a specific and continuing plan to address issues of respect and tolerance within the athletic department,' and writing letters of profuse apology." Yesterday's Manchester Union-Leader devoted a good editorial to Josie's letter to the editor. The editorial quotes a UND official:
Don Kojich, executive associate vice president for university relations at North Dakota, referred all questions to the state's attorney general, but did say that he has never heard of another school publicly apologizing for playing the Fighting Sioux.
Dartmouth has now managed to distinguish itself on the national stage for its political correctness. Adjusted for degree of difficulty, this is an almost unbelievable accomplishment. Surely some kind of award is in order.

Thursday, November 23, 2006

Reaction from North Dakota

In addition to the near unanimous indictments of Dartmouth Athletic Director Josie Harper's letter to the community on Monday coming from college sports websites and liberal-leaning Deadspin blog, a native North Dakotan and UND fan chimes in on the Bismarck-Mandan Blog, giving a mid-west cultural context to the controversy:
I was surprised by Josie Harper's letter apologizing for the "pain" caused by hosting the UND Fighting Sioux at their hockey tournament. I had no idea that Native Americans were present in such great numbers at Dartmouth and were so easily offended by our state's tribute to the brave spirit of the Sioux warriors.

Right now North Dakota is under attack by a select few out-of-state advocates of political correctness. They claim our logo, drawn by a Native American artist, is "hostile and abusive." I invite them to actually visit us sometime. Our highway signs and Highway Patrol cars have Native American figures on them. The hospital near my house has an area devoted to burning sage and other traditional Native American healing practices. UND itself hosts dozens of programs for Native Americans including the INMED program, which trains one fifth of the nation's Indian physicians, as well as cultural programs, eight publications, and seven student organizations.

The only oppression I've heard of is of Native students who don't mind the nickname. They're treated like the Midwest's version of an "Uncle Tom" by the PC police. Archie Fool Bear, chair of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe judicial committee, says his tribe's leadership doesn't represent the vast majority of tribal members. He said, "We went to a hockey game, and they talked about the courage and integrity of the Sioux people. We looked at each other like, 'Wow, we don't even honor our Sioux warriors or veterans like this on the reservation.' " How do the politically correct crowd honor this tribal elder? By trying to oust him from the tribal government.

We'd be just fine if a bunch of out of state PC liberals would quit trying to tell us how things need to be out here in flyover country. Perhaps if our team showed up named the UND Brave White Men we'd be more welcome. Then again, every single special interest riding Josie Harper's politically correct bandwagon would then have a unifying reason to apologize for North Dakota's painful presence. In the mean time, the only place we'll apply real pain is on the ice, where it belongs...and actually exists.
The author has sent a draft of the letter to The Dartmouth, though with the publishing term ended it is unlikely to appear in print.

Say Anything, North Dakota's "most popular political blog," posts a commentary that includes the UND mascot graphic as well as the logos appearing on ND State Police Cruisers and the State Department of Transportation's road signs.

More on the letter

Hockey fans are having a field day with this one as well, over at US College Hockey Online. Read the comments here.

I'll be back in Hanover for the tourny in question; I've been planning to do so since I heard North Dakota was gonna be in it. If NoDak wasn't in the tournament, I wouldn't be coming back, it's that simple. But, I suppose being PC means more than providing compelling matchups that fans and alums might be interested in.

Update: The Union Leader picks up the story here.

Wednesday, November 22, 2006

The Merits of Self-Flagellation

The blog DeadSpin.com lambastes Dartmouth Athletic Director Josie Harper for her erstwhile apology for North Dakota's mascot (see below). The comments on the post are quite humorous and worth the read.

Tuesday, November 21, 2006

Dead Horse Crosses Line

And one more in the ongoing Indian bitch-a-thon:

In today's Daily D, Dartmouth Athletic Director Josie Harper apologizes for the University of North Dakota's participation in the upcoming holiday hockey tournament. UND's team name is the Fighting Sioux. She cites her lack of foresight on the hurt it would cause now, when she was organizing the tournament TWO YEARS AGO. To say nothing of the fact that UND is one of the premier hockey programs in the country and their attendance will certainly bring positive attention to Dartmouth.

I hope I'm not alone in thinking it's absurd that our AD has to apologize for another team's mascot...

Monday, November 20, 2006

That Poor, Poor Dead Horse

The Native Americans ad Dartmouth (NADs) began their campaign of misinformation today in today's Daily D in a two-page advertisement entitled "When Good People Do Nothing: Racism On Our Campus." They go on to list a series of racist "incidents," the first of which begins asserting that on September 12th during Orientation, The Dartmouth Review "[sold] t-shirts emblazoned with the Indian symbol to first-year students." This of course refers to the open house to which all students were welcome on September 23rd, and during which all '10s were given free Indian T-shirts and free Indian food. Although first-years are welcome to purchase Indian merchandise at our Review Indian Store, the NADs had better get their facts straight if they hope to take their mockery of a campaign to a greater audience.

Sunday, November 19, 2006

Telling Someone Who Cares

It seems that the Native Americans at Dartmouth are no longer content with subjecting just the Dartmouth community to their typical laundry list of offensive incidents. The NADs have a new plan to up the ante: they're going to start complaining to the NATIONAL media, per a notice circulated amongst their members (copied in full below).

It seems to me that that the NADs have made every effort to avoid direct, pro-active resolutions to their qualms, real or perceived. Rather, this term they have been adhering closely to the tenet of "He who complains loudest, wins." And what louder forum to complain in than the national media?

>Date: 18 Nov 2006 17:38:37 -0500
>From: Native Americans at Dartmouth
>Subject: **READ THIS BLITZ**Notifying National Media
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

Hello everyone,

The idea has been proposed that we notify newspapers and the media across the country about the issues and events this term. One suggestion was to wait a little while to see how the administration will respond to our meeting with President Wright, however another sentiment is that we've been waiting for too long. If we decide to undertake this action, we must do so NOW.

Thanksgiving is next Thursday, and as wrong as it is, newspapers and other media across the country like to highlight Native American issues during this time of year, probably more than any other time of the year. It would be advantageous to submit something to National, local, and regional newspapers by Monday because of the likelihood of having it included before Thanksgiving. To be honest, it does not seem that many newspapers would publish something about Natives in December which is the "Christmas Holiday Season".

Thus, we must meet soon to decide how to go about this. We already have a lot of stuff to work with (past editorials, our own knowledge, etc) so it should not involve a large amount of effort. Tomorrow, Sunday, at noon at the NAD House should be a good time to meet on this issue. Please make every effort to attend and if anyone would like to change the meeting time because of prior commitments, PLEASE BLITZ THE NAD ACCOUNT SOON!!!

**Tomorrow, Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at the NAD HOUSE**

Best,
-Your NAD Officers

Friday, November 17, 2006

NEWSFLASH: People Don't Like Timmy

Apparently SA President Timmy Andreadis doesn't play well with others. The Daily D reported today that an exodus of a large number of veteran SA members has occured this fall, citing frustration with the utter lack of any purpose. In fact, there remains only one '07 member who has experience dating back to his freshman year - and he will be resigning at the end of this term; he noted specifically his frustration with Andreadis as a reason for his leaving. Some may have asked in previous years, "Could the Student Assembly be more irrelevant?" Timmy has responded with a resounding YES. Heralding the increased "diversity" of the Assembly, Andreadis notes that this year's SA has become more of an "advocacy body". When pressed for specific accomplishments, Timmy trotted out the COS Report; ironically, something set up by former SA President Noah Riner. Nevertheless, Timmy's gang remains upbeat: "I think the Winter [term] is going to be a really exciting term because I feel like at this Fall [term] we're at like at the brink of developing a bunch of new things." As we know from the constitution debate, trying really hard and coming close to results is all that matters in the end.

On the positive side, this article could be viewed as a retributive act on the the part of the D's in response to the SA's resolution last week (see blog entry for Wednesday, Nov. 8). A new and entertaining enmity between the paper and Andreadis? One can only hope.

Monday, November 13, 2006

Cornell's Fifth Down

As Professor Jeffrey Hart documented in the Homecoming Issue of The Dartmouth Review, in 1940, a nationally ranked Cornell football squad eeked out a narrow victory over the Dartmouth Indians. Only one problem: the scored the winning touchdown on the final play of the game on an illegal "fifth down," thanks to an error by the game's referee. Upon watching video replay of the match, the referee acknowledged his error the next day, and Cornell quickly sent a telegram to Dartmouth's president and athletic department, conceding the game. It was the first time a collegiate football game had ever been decided off the field.

I just found this video documentary about the game, produced by CBS and CSTV. A brief, but fascinating, glimpse at College athletic history.

Sustainably Insane

Sustainability at Dartmouth Coordinator Jim Merkel, unveiled the most recent iteration of his quixotic quest to reduce all signs of human impact upon the earth (with the necessary end objective of eradicating the human race altogether.) Merkel plans on heating water in four Dartmouth buildings via solar panel. The Office of Sustainability projects that oil consumption will be cut by "0.0024 percent". "The goal is to save oil and diversify our energy portfolio, which currently consists of 100 percent fossil fuel," Merkel said. Students eagerly anticipate this Great Leap Forward when only 99.9976 percent of Dartmouth's energy will be derived from fossil fuels.

Friday, November 10, 2006

Howie Hawkins Earns 1%; Declares Victory

Running on an anti-war platform, co-founder of the Green Party in the U.S. Howie Hawkins procured a hefty 1.2% of the vote in his Senate bid against Hillary Clinton on Tuesday. A former Dartmouth drop-out (he completed four years of study, but failed to learn a foreign language), Hawkins scrounged up 52,010 votes, or less than one per square mile. Hawkins will be long remembered for leading the construction of a shanty-town on the Green in 1985 only to see the shacks mercilessly walloped with hydraulic hammers by Review staffers. Although the Green gubernatorial ticket failed to reach the requisite 50,000 votes to earn a ballot line in the next election, Hawkins has publicly stated his intention to ignore the law and manipulate activist judges to get his way. The Alliterative Society of New York responded: "Who the Hell is Howie Hawkins?"

Thursday, November 09, 2006

New TDR Now Online

The newest issue of The Dartmouth Review is now available online.

In this issue:
--An analysis of why the Alumni Constitution failed.
--TDR interviews Historian Robert Dallek about his upcoming book on the Nixon Administration.
--An evaluation of suggested reforms to the Committee on Standards.

Wednesday, November 08, 2006

Comical Integrity

The Student Assembly (SA) approved a "Statement of Concern Regarding Journalistic Integrity in The Dartmouth" on Tuesday night. The impetus for the resolution was a comic - that's right, a comic. After all, if one can't trust comics to deliver on journalistic integrity, where is one to turn? Spearheading the move was SA President Timmy Andreadis, who tried a similar move last winter but failed to gain the requisite votes. Among a bevy of other complaints addressed, was the selection process for op-ed pieces; again, diversity is encouraged as long as it doesn't offend Timmy, i.e., no more publishing male writers.

Saturday, November 04, 2006

Unethical to Inform?

Martha Hennessey '76, one of the crafters of the recently defeated constitution, vented her frustration in Friday's issue of the Dartmouth. Clearly mentally incapacitated after the vote, she alleged (among other things) that, "the opposition has the editor of The Wall Street Journal in their back pocket." She later went on to claim that it was "unethical" for national media to cover the election - because, as we all know, informing alumni is clearly something to be discouraged.

Thursday, November 02, 2006

Victory: AGTF Constitution Soundly Defeated

The proposed new Dartmouth alumni constitution, as drafted by the Alumni Governance Task Force, has been resoundingly defeated. Proponents had hoped that a 30% voter turnout (seemingly a pipe dream going into this process) would guarantee passage by the 2/3 super-majority needed. Turnout was indeed a record--37%--which makes the defeat sting that much more: 51%, or over 12,500 voters, voted "NO."

The implications here? The AGTF wasn't even close in trying to construct a document that alumni wanted. Back to the drawing board. I'll throw my name into the ring right now to be on the next task force. Additionally, Merle Adelman et al. must now reschedule their unconstitutionally cancelled executive elections for the Association of Alumni... stay tuned to Dartlog and The Dartmouth Review for updates on the fallout of the constitution's defeat.

Additionally, the other four proposed amendments, all of which the The Dartmouth Review endorsed, each failed to muster the necessary votes for passage.

Rodent Recall

First the tragic demise of a squirrel and now this. The residents of the new McLaughlin Cluster have been treated to a calamitous week of pocket-sized proportions. The Dartmouth reported today that though this is the first year of the dormitories use, there is a mouse infestation problem. According to Residential Operations Director Woody Eckels, the mice probably found their way into the buildings this summer during construction. Though the Office of Residential Life (ORL) has hired an exterminator the overwhelming feelin amongst residents is one of frustration. The exception, of course, is Lyle Baker '10, who has been hand catching mice. "I don't think the mouse problem will be solved any time soon," Baker said. "In the meantime, we enjoy the rush of catching the little guys on our own. We don't exterminate them or abuse them. We show them off to our floor and let them loose outside."

Sons of Dartmouth dare a deed for the old Mother, indeed.

Monday, October 30, 2006

Return Fire

In today's Letters to the Editor section in the Wall Street Journal, Peter Robinson '79 responds in short to J. B. Daukus's letter from last week. I encourage all of you to read the letter here (subscription required); but more importantly, for those alumni who have yet to cast their vote, I encourage you to read the proposed changes and decide for yourself how democracy is best served. Go here and click on Final Proposed Alumni Constitution (June 2006).

Sunday, October 29, 2006

Hockey off to first 2-0 start in 19 years

With the 3-2 win over Vermont tonight, the men's ice hockey team is off to its first 2-0 start to a season since the fall of 1987. In a game that featured 62 minutes in penalties, Dartmouth persevered over the neighboring Catamounts in front of 4011 at Thompson Arena.

Captain Tanner Glass and Ass't Captain David Jones each had a goal and an assist on the night, while Mike Devine made 29 saves to earn the victory.

Dartmouth (2-0-0, 1-0-0 ECAC) continues its four-game long homestand next Friday and Saturday, hosting the North Country duo of St. Lawrence (2-3-0) and Clarkson (4-1-1).

Friday, October 27, 2006

#17 Dartmouth opens season with 5-2 victory over #11 Harvard

Dartmouth's men's hockey team started last season 0-4 before going a remarkable 14-2-2 over the final 18 conference games to win its first regular season ECAC crown in team history.

This year started a tad differently, with the squad downing archrival Harvard, 5-2, in the season opener for both teams. The top forwards accounted for three of the five goals, one each by Wyman, Jones, and Johnson while Glass finished with three helpers. Freshman T.J.Galiardi notched his first collegiate goal in front of near-sellout crowd of 4318 at Thompson Arena.

Dartmouth (1-0, 1-0 ECAC) hosts Vermont (2-2-1, 0-0-1 Hockey East) in a non-conference matchup on Sunday.

Wednesday, October 25, 2006

Daukus Fires Back

John D. Daukas, member of the Alumni Governance Task Force, responds to Peter Robinson's '79 recent op-ed piece in a letter to the editor in today's Wall Street Journal. Daukas spewed the usual response to all attacks on the constitution, while roundly ignoring what Mr. Robinson had to say. Short on valid arguments and long on inconsequential endorsements, Daukas fails to hit his mark - in fact, he fails to hit anything. Among the most amusing of his points was the endorsement of the D (wonder if the routine full page ads have something to do with it), while at the same time he willfully (so I must assume) ignores the many papers who have withheld support, including this one. Enjoy (subscription required).

Sunday, October 22, 2006

Robinson in WSJ

Peter Robinson '79, fellow at the Hoover Institute and member of the Dartmouth Board of Trustees, has an op-ed piece in Wednesday's Wall Street Journal concerning the Alumni Constitution. Robinson eschews the typical arguments against the Constitution; instead, he addresses the increased transparency into college issues afforded by the internet. The point: Administrators now have reason to fear that their actions will not go unnoticed now that alumni magazines are not the only vehicle for news about the College on the Hill. Here for the full piece.

Thursday, October 05, 2006

TDR Carnivale

The new issue of The Dartmouth Review is now online. Take a look for stories on selling your soul, bearded ladies, and dancing with the Devil.

Also be sure to check out Nick Desai's feature interview with Francis Fukuyama.

Tuesday, September 26, 2006

Furstenberg Steps Down

Dean of Admissions Karl Furstenberg has announced his retirement as of Monday evening. During his 13 year tenure, applications grew by 76%, the male/female ratio went from 56/44 to 48/52, and the academic qualifications of each entering class have improved markedly. Furstenberg will be remembered almost entirely, however, for his misguided letter to the President of Swarthmore College praising the latter for doing away with the school's football program, and describing athletics as "antithetical to the academic missions of colleges such as ours."

Football players received word of Furstenberg's retirement at the end of practice yesterday afternoon, before nearly anyone else on campus.

Friday, September 15, 2006

Alumni Constituion Voting Starts Today; Tampering Already in Progress

All-media voting for the anti-Democratic begins today and runs through October 31. On the elections page, the Association of Alumni Executive Committee boldly declares its recommendations regarding each amendment. Not surprisingly, they have endorsed to new constitution, and recommend voting against four other proposed amendments. The first of these other amendments recommends that all meetings follow Robert's Rules of Order. The other three allow proxy and all media voting on essentially all Association votes.

Cast your vote now against the new consitution. The Dartmouth Review recommends voting FOR the other proposed amendments.

Tuesday, September 12, 2006

College administration campaigns for new constitution

Patricia Fisher '81, the director of the College's Alumni Leadership office, is using her Dartmouth e-mail account to send e-mails backing the new alumni constitution.

Below is an e-mail Fisher sent to Dartmouth's official Alumni Council list on behalf of Martha Johnson Beattie '76, the president of the Alumni Council and a supporter of the "reforms." Beattie tells Council members that it is their "official duty" to ask alumni "to vote yes along with us," and she includes sample e-mails defending the document and attacking alumni who have raised questions about it.
-----Original Message-----
From: Patricia Fisher/Alumni Leadership
[mailto:ALUMNI-COUNCIL@LISTSERV.DARTMOUTH.EDU]On Behalf Of Patricia Fisher
Sent: Monday, September 11, 2006 11:05 AM
To: ALUMNI-COUNCIL@LISTSERV.DARTMOUTH.EDU
Subject: Urgent request for the Alumni Council--From President Martha Beattie


Councilors,

The summer vacations are behind us and we need to act. Some of you have responded to my first request to advocate for the proposed constitution. I admire your efforts and thank you. It is now time for all councilors to put out the message as to why we, in May, voted unanimously for this document. As official representatives of the alumni body of Dartmouth College it is our duty to report to our constituency, explaining our vote, and asking them to vote yes along with us! Your leadership is needed!

I am asking each of you to send out an email. At the risk of serious overload, I have pasted below three letters of advocacy, written by fellow councilors in response to my first request. You can choose one letter, copy it word for word and state that it was written by a fellow councilor. Or, create your own version by using points from all three. Introduce yourself, state your role on the Council, present the facts of the constitution and emphasize how crucial it is for all alumni to understand that their yes vote is important.

To all class representatives on Council, it is imperative that you tackle this project as soon as you can. Your class constituencies will cover the great majority of alumni. As Alumni Councilors you are in the position to request class email lists by bv virtue of your representative duties. All you need to do is to email or call Bonnie Bourdon, [e-mail address removed] (603-646-3929). Please do this as soon as you can, but please no later than Wednesday. Bonnie will send the lists to you and you can attach your message and send it off. If you have technical problems with the send, she can help you with that as well. I will be managing the list of all class reps who have requested and subsequently received the email addresses, and will follow up with each of you in the week to come. Please contact me at [e-mail address removed] with any questions or concerns you may have, especially class reps who are new to Council.

To all other councilors, you too can request your constituency mailing list from the College. If you represent the mini-reunion chairs, request that list. If you are the Thayer School rep, request your alumni list. I think the goal is clear. In addition to that, please send your letter to any personal contact list for Dartmouth and ask each of your friends to send it on to their contact list.

There is a great deal of misinformation being spread about this Constitution. Many of you have seen the WSJ editorial, which irresponsibly had more falsehoods in it than truths. Thankfully, good letters of rebuttal were subsequently published. The Alumni Council has to step up and take a leadership role. Attending two fun meetings a year in Hanover is not why you, with your talents and commitment, have been brought together to serve as the representative body of all Dartmouth alumni. It is consistent with your charge as concilors to communicate the Alumni Council's positon to your constituency. The vote is four days away. Please send out your message of advocacy now. I will monitor the activity and look forward to helping each of you in any way that I can.

Thank you.

Sincerely,
Martha

SAMPLE LETTERS:

****************************************************
Dear Classmates:

Starting on September 15th (thru October 31st) you will have the opportunity to vote on a new Dartmouth Alumni Constitution. At the May Alumni Council meeting, the Council voted UNANIMOUSLY to endorse the proposed constitution. This constitution was written by an alumni task force that spent several years reaching out and processing input from the many different constituencies that make up the alumni body of Dartmouth. This election is extremely important and I urge you to take five minutes and read why I believe voting YES is the right answer for the future well-being of our College.

Why vote YES for this new Constitution?

Because what we have now is not working. We actually have two constitutions for two separate governance bodies --the 96 member Alumni Council and the Association of Alumni representing all 66,500 alumni. The current system is confusing; it is not terribly democratic; it includes rules for electing Alumni Trustee nominees that are out of date and unable to deliver a fair and level playing field and it fails to provide a proper forum for effective two-way communication among the Administration, the Board of Trustees and the alumni body.

The new constitution establishes a framework for solving these problems:

---Instead of two constitutions there will be one. Instead of having an Association of Alumni that presently does nothing but oversee Alumni Trustee elections, the Association <> representing all 66,500 alumni <> will control every aspect of alumni governance.

---The Assembly it establishes will be a representative body, like the current Alumni Council, but with better representation (e.g. classes through the 50th Reunion will have their own representative, rather than currently having to share one with another class).

---A new Alumni Liaison Board will be established to provide more open and accessible communications among alumni, the Administration and Board of Trustees that will allow alumni opinions to be better heard.

---Alumni governance will be democratic through alumni-wide, all media voting, not just for Alumni Trustee elections, as is presently the case, but for all Association and Assembly officers, 21 at-large Assembly seats and half the seats on the Alumni Liaison Board, Nominating Committee and
Balloting Committee.

---The new constitution levels the playing field between petition candidates for trustees and those nominated by the alumni council. Instead of three-on-one races with three slated candidates facing a petitioner and the victor not needing to win a majority of alumni votes, the new constitution encourages one-on-one races with the winner getting more than 50% of the vote. Petition candidates will still be able to run easily (in fact the number of signatures needed to get on the ballot will be reduced from 500 to 250), but a petition candidate will no longer have the advantage of running against three Association nominated candidates, as called for by the current constitution, which inevitably splits the nominated candidate vote three ways. (Imagine Republican or Democrat reaction to an election law mandating one or the other had to run three candidates vs. one for the opposition! Pretty absurd, right?)


I thank you for taking the time to read about the new Constitution. I hope that you will be joining me in voting YES for a better Constitution and a better Dartmouth!

Sincerely,

Liz (Epstein) Kadin

Your class representative on the Alumni Council


***********************************************************


Dear Friends:

I am one of the conservative members of the nine-member Alumni Governance Task Force that has worked for over two years to produce a new constitution for Dartmouthis alumni that radically increases the ability of alumni to influence the future of the College. As many of you know, I wrote for the Dartmouth Review as an undergraduate, organized a group of fraternity alumni officers to prevent ithe end of fraternities as we know themi in the 1990is, was a member of the reform group Dartmouth Alumni for Open Governance, and have a iDartmouth Indiansi sticker on my bumper. I write to encourage you to vote in favor of the new constitution, and to ensure you know the facts about our efforts to involve the petition trustees in reforming the Constitution.

The Current System of Alumni Governance is and for Many Years Has Been Broken at Dartmouth College.

Far too many alumni believe that their opinions are not heard and respected by the trustees and administration, and they do not know how to influence the future of the college that they so dearly love. Rightly or wrongly, many alumni believe that the current alumni organizations, the Alumni Council and Association of Alumni, are self-perpetuating bodies that have not adequately represented all alumni. In addition, many alumni do not know what these organizations do, and their mandates are redundant and at times unclear. Currently, alumni may only vote for president of the Association of Alumni if they travel to Hanover once a year to vote in person. Alumni are not allowed directly to vote for president of the Alumni Council, at-large representatives to the Alumni Council, the Alumni Councilis Nominating Committee (which nominates trustee candidates), the Balloting Committee, and many class and club representatives. Indeed, currently each alumni class does not even have its own representative on the Alumni Council, but must share a representative with another class on a three-year rotating basis.

The Proposed Constitution Would Radically Increase Democracy for Dartmouthis Alumni and the Ability of all Alumni to Have Their Views Addressed by the College.

Under the proposed Constitution, all alumni would be able to vote by mail or e-mail for president of the Alumni Association, chair of the Alumni Assembly (the successor to the Alumni Council), vice president of the Alumni Association, 21 at-large representatives to the Alumni Assembly, half of the members of the Nominating Committee, half of the members of the Balloting Committee, class representatives to the Alumni Assembly, and club representatives to the Alumni Assembly. Moreover, the number of class representatives essentially would be doubled with each class having its own representative to the Alumni Assembly through the 50th year reunion class. Finally, any alumnus could run for any of these offices by petition.

Another radical improvement is the creation of the Alumni Liaison Board which is charged with ascertaining alumni sentiment and meeting regularly with the Board of Trustees to convey alumni views and engage in a two-way dialogue/partnership with the College. A majority of the members of the Alumni Liaison Board would also be directly elected by all alumni. We have met with the Board of Trustees, and believe that they are committed to working with the Alumni Liaison Board.

In sum, under the proposed Constitution the Alumni Association, consisting of all 66,500 living Dartmouth alumni, would be the over-arching umbrella organization under which two equal bodies would function: the Alumni Assembly and the Alumni Liaison Board.

The Trustee Nomination Process -- Now and as Proposed.

Much controversy and false information has been generated concerning proposed changes to the trustee nomination procedures. Currently, the unelected Nominating Committee of the Alumni Council must nominate three candidates for an open alumni seat (the alumni nominate 8 of the 18 members of the Board of Trustees, and the trustees are then free to accept the nominated candidate if they so choose n which they always have done). To become a petition candidate one now must submit a petition signed by 500 alumni, 60 days after the Nominating Committee has announced its candidates. In elections where a candidate runs by petition, there are four candidates which makes it is very difficult for any candidate to secure a majority of the vote. For example, in the last trustee election the two winners, Peter Robinson and Todd Zywicki, received a mere plurality of the vote, with a majority of votes cast against them. This has led to a situation where some challenge their legitimacy and question whether they represent the alumni. While I do
not necessarily subscribe to this view, the current vote-fracturing system lends itself to such claims.

The proposed Constitution is designed to make it easier for petition candidates to get on the ballot and to promote two-candidate races where the winner must win by a clear majority of votes cast. The changes are as follows: 1)cutting in half the number of petition signatures necessary to get on the ballot from 500 to 250; 2) reducing the number of candidates nominated by the Nominating Committee to two (or one when a petition candidate is running); and 3) in order for the Nominating Committee to know whether to nominate one or two candidates so as to assure a two-candidate race, requiring petition candidates to submit their petition the day that the Nominating Committee announces its nominee(s). As noted above, an additional dramatic change is that half of the members of the Nominating Committee will now be elected by all alumni in alumni-wide voting (currently none are), and any alumnus may run by petition for a seat on the Nominating Committee with a mere 50 signatures.

Reasons for Change to the Trustee Nomination Process.

Contrary to claims you may have heard that the entire constitution is a scam designed to prevent petition candidates from winning trustee elections, here are the facts. First, changes to the petition process were first proposed in 2003, over two decades since a petition candidate (John Steele) had won a trustee election, and before T.J. Rogers, Peter Robinson and Todd Zywicki had even run for trustee. Second, in the Fall of 2005 the Alumni Governance Task Force changed its earlier proposals to address concerns raised to the Task Force by Rogers, Robinson and Zywicki and I personally spent months trying to solicit their input on the current proposal and to discuss other options with them. Indeed, Rogers initially stated that there was nothing in the current proposal he could not support, though he wanted to study it further. Sadly, Rogers, Robinson and Zywicki refused to respond to my repeated direct and indirect efforts to work with them this past Spring -- instead waiting until the deadline for the final proposal had passed and then criticizing it in The New York Times. Third, I and other members of the Task Force supported some petition candidates for trustee and two of us ran as petition candidates for president of the Association of Alumni as outsiders/dissidents trying to reform Dartmouthis alumni organizations. Finally, the fact is that the new proposal actually makes it easier for petition candidates to get on the ballot by cutting in half the signature requirement, and petitioners having a majority of support will be elected as easily as ever, without the possibility of having their legitimacy questioned. On the other hand, the new proposal will prevent an unpopular candidate from sneaking onto the Board of Trustees due to vote splitting by overly-numerous, more popular candidates.

In Sum.

The proposed Constitution is a huge step forward for Dartmouth alumni. Is it perfect n no. Is it an enormous improvement in what we have now n you bet it is. I encourage you all to vote in favor of the proposed Constitution and ask you to send this e-mail to your friends.

Please feel free to contact me to discuss the proposal.

Very truly yours,

John "J.B." Daukas '84


***********************************************************

Hi Everyone,
I have spoken with some of you on this issue. I feel strongly that the naysayers - the "squeaky wheel" in this process - are drowning out the silent majority. I could not make a more articulate or cogent argument in favor of the proposed constituion than the one below, written by Alumni Council president-elect Rick '81. You may have already read it. If not, I encourage you to take the time to do so. It pains me to see Dartmouth dragged through the mud by Paul Gigot and others. In addition, I resent the fundamentally spurious accusations made about the Alumni Councilors ( including me) who are dedicated volunteers. I fear, as do many, that the excellent work represented by a DIVERSE group of alumni will be sacrificed.

" I'll start with the disclaimer that I am the President-elect of the Alumni Council, a job to which I was elected primarily by virtue of the fact that I was willing, as best I can determine, and that I have served with enthusiasm on the Council. I'm not a politician, in fact, I don't really like politics. I'm a surgeon, and as a medical person, I'm more used to working toward concensus, rather than taking everyone on as an adversary.

That said, I have been overwhelmed lately by the misrepresentation of the process that has gone into creating the new constitution, the purpose behind it, and the concept that those of us who support it are somehow conspiring to serve some higher power in the administration. If this is all true, someone forgot to tell me about it. I'm just a schmuck who can't say no when asked to do something for my alma mater, and now I find myself about to be on the chopping block for my willingness to serve.

The most recent attack appeared on the editorial page of the Wall Street Journal. For anyone interested, please e-mail me, and I can send you the text of that as well as five responses from alumni, which refute most of the points of the editorial. The fact that Paul Gigot, an alumnus who is opposed to the constitution, is the editorial editor of the WSJ is not pointed out in the editorial anywhere. I think it's unlikely that any of the five letters to the editor in response will be published.

Please look beyond what is being written in the "D", the "Review", and the national media, and look at the actual document, the explanation of how it was developed by the AGTF (which included members from DAOG!), and look at the history. This process started long before the most recent petition candidates for trustee were elected; it was not in response to that fact. It attempts to make the trustee election process less burdensome to all parties involved, and to provide results that are definitive with winners who gain a majority of votes. Beyond this, the primary complaint of most opponents, the proposed Alumni Assembly is far more representative and up-to-date than thecurrent Alumni Council, which was designed before co-education, and before our student body had the degree of diversity it now has.

Please be thoughtful in making your decision about the constitution. I strongly encourage you to vote in favor of it, but if you are opposed to it, understand why--don't accept what you read in the paper, on the blogs, or in e-mails that are far more inflammatory than mine.


-- PLEASE VOTE!!!

Martha Beattie
[Address removed]

Sunday, September 10, 2006

Re: Board back constitution

This announcement merits a bit of follow-up.

I find this vote disturbing because it reveals the true, root causes and motivations underlying the proposed constitution. The vote was split 14-3. It is not hard to quickly appreciate that the three dissenting votes were T.J. Rodgers, Peter Robinson, and Todd Zywicki, the three petition trustees who have all publicly stated their opposition to the constitution. Thus the supportive votes came from the 8 charter trustees, and the Alumni Trustees who had been 'official' candidates in their respective elections.

What to make of all this? It now becomes self-evident that the primary motivation behind the new constitution is to keep petition candidates off the Board of Trustees. The silver lining? The constitution's proponents look uglier and more disgraceful with every move they make.

UPDATE: Lest I forget, there are two more board members. The first is John Lynch, Governor of New Hampshire; he didn't vote. The final "yes" vote, then, went to President James Wright. This blows away the last wisps of the veil of College neutrality on the constitution.

Board backs constitution

By a 14-3 vote, the Board of Trustees has backed a measure supporting the undemocratic new alumni constitution, according to an e-mail distributed by the office of alumni relations. Since the Board is Dartmouth's governing body, is the College now officially in favor of the "reforms?"

The text of the e-mail follows:
September 10, 2006

Dear Fellow Alumni and Friends:

The Board of Trustees met this weekend for our annual retreat and among other matters reviewed the June 2006 proposed Association of Alumni of Dartmouth College Constitution. During 2005-06 the Trustees met with members of the Alumni Governance Task Force, Alumni Councilors, members of Dartmouth Alumni for Open Governance and alumni at various Dartmouth events across the country and gathered a range of opinions on alumni governance. We have also taken note of alumni opinion in print and electronic media.

The Board adopted by a 14 to 3 margin a motion distributed on August 31 to support the proposed constitution that provides 1) a more representative alumni governance structure; 2) better communication channels with the Trustees and College administration; 3) a fair trustee nomination process; and 4) modernized voting methods for election of Association officers and representatives. The Board also reaffirmed its commitment to ensure an enhanced level of alumni engagement and communication with the College. The proposed constitution’s Alumni Liaison Board would contribute materially to that goal, and, if the proposed constitution is approved, we look forward to working with this group.

The Board expressed its appreciation for the work by the Joint Committee on Alumni Governance and Trustee Nominations (2001-2003) and the Alumni Governance Task Force (2004-06), and wishes to thank the many individuals and groups who participated in the process that has led to the proposed constitution. Dartmouth depends upon the good services of its alumni volunteers. The text of the motion appears below.

The vote on the proposed constitution will take place from September 15 to October 31, 2006. The Board of Trustees encourages all alumni to cast their ballots and let their voices be heard.

Sincerely,

William H. Neukom ‘64, Chair, Board of Trustees
__________________________________________

Board of Trustees

September 9, 2006 Meeting

PROPOSED CONSTITUTION OF THE DARTMOUTH ALUMNI ASSOCIATION

The Governance Committee proposes the following motion for action by the Board of Trustees:

VOTED: to express appreciation for the work by the Joint Committee on Alumni Governance and Trustee Nominations (2001-2003) and the Alumni Governance Task Force (2004-06), and to thank the many individuals and groups who participated in the process that has led to the proposed system for alumni governance and the nomination of alumni to the Board of Trustees.

VOTED: to record the Board’s support of the proposed constitution of the Dartmouth Alumni Association that provides 1) a more representative alumni governance structure; 2) better communication channels with the Trustees and College administration; 3) a fair trustee nomination process; and 4) modernized voting methods for election of Association officers and representatives.

Friday, September 08, 2006

Responses to the Journal Article

Today's Wall Street Journal runs several letters in response to last Friday's editorial opposing the Alumni Constitution, including notes from T.J. Rodgers '70, and Bill Neukom, Chairman of the Board of Trustees.

Wednesday, September 06, 2006

Level Playing Field a Concern on Upcoming Votes

The Balloting Committee of the Association of Alumni is in charge of running the voting process for the upcoming Constitution. Their job is to make the process fair, efficient, and transparent. On problem, the Chariman of the Balloting Committee, Merle Adelman '80, has gone on the record as saying her first objective is to make sure the AGTF-proposed constitution passes.

Conflict of interest here? Probably not if you ask her. Then again, neither was unilaterally extending the her term and those of her fellow executives.

Tip of the hat to Joe Malchow on this one

Monday, September 04, 2006

The Journal weighs in on alumni constitution 'reforms'

The Wall Street Journal's editorial on the antidemocratic alumni constitution is now available for non-subscribers. From the article:
In 2004 and 2005, however, Dartmouth alumni were finally offered genuine choices. Over three successive Trustee contests, independent candidates bypassed the official channels and got onto the ballot by collecting alumni signatures. Each of the petition candidates--T.J. Rodgers, a Silicon Valley CEO; Peter Robinson, a former Reagan speechwriter and current Hoover Institution fellow; and Todd Zywicki, a law professor--ran on explicit platforms emphasizing academic standards, free speech and Dartmouth's acute leadership crisis. All three were unexpectedly elected by wide margins despite intense institutional opposition. Not only did the trend give expression to the general alumni discontent over how Dartmouth is being run (a rare thing in academia), but a critical mass was also building for more muscular stewardship, and, with it, fundamental change.

Dartmouth's inner circles, quite naturally, loathe all of this. And so the Alumni Council--the representative body of sorts for the whole--decided there was nothing to be done but change the rules. At issue is a new proposed constitution, cooked up in 2004 and constantly altered in response to events, that would "reform" the incorporation of the Trustees.

Saturday, August 19, 2006

New Hampshire Falls of Dems' Map

The Democratic National Committee has added a caucus in Nevada between the Iowa Caucus and the New Hampshire primary. Something about more diversity, yada yada yada. More to the point, Iowa and NH are largely white, not the Democrats' strongest demographic when it comes to voters.

Gov. John Lynch and NH Secretary of State William Gardner have said they will "honor tradition" by leapfrogging the NH primary in front of the Nevada caucus anyway.

In other news, Republicans have decided not to mess with a systerm that has worked perfectly well for decades.

Friday, August 04, 2006

Good News

College Drinking is Safer Than Perceived.

Apparently College students have a "plan" when they go out binge drinking. Seriously.

Wednesday, July 19, 2006

Hey, Check Out our Book!

Stefan Beck '04 and James Panero '98, were recently interviewed by Front Page Magazine, where they discussed The Dartmouth Review's book, The Dartmouth Review Pleads Innocent: Twenty-Five Years of Being Threatened, Impugned, Vandalized, Sued, Suspended, and Bitten at the Ivy League's Most Controversial Conservative Newspaper, which they edited together. The interview is both whimsical and insightful.

On a side note, the book has been tagged with the following descriptors on Amazon: Conservative wacko, right wing rant, right-wing conspriacty, porn, sex, and "liberal moonbats exposed."

From Urban Dictionary: Moonbat: What happens when the sensible people crumble away from the Republican party: gay ass words become their currency.

Tuesday, July 18, 2006

Out-Reviewing the Review?

I think not.

In a similar style to my joint editorial with Andrew Seal, editor of the Dartmouth Free Press, Rahul Sangwan and Adam Patinkin have published a joint statement in the Manchester Union-Leader nominally condeming the AGTF constitution. It is really more of an attack against the Alumni Association's ridiciulous and authoritarian actions of late than it is a criticism of the Constitution, but I'm sure makes some good points nonetheless.

Wednesday, July 12, 2006

Electioneering, Part 2

And it continues...

This one from an intercepted communique sent out to members of the Alumni Council. This time, Merle Adleman '80, she of the cancelled election fame, has sent a plea to her friends on the Alumni Council, asking for signatory and financial support to publicly endorse the document.

Please excuse the formatting; the letter is reproduced here in the form in which I received it.


From: Patricia Fisher/Alumni Leadership
[mailto:ALUMNI-COUNCIL@LISTSERV.DARTMOUTH.EDU]On Behalf Of
Patricia
Fisher-Harris
Sent: Wednesday, July 12, 2006 2:28 PM
To: ALUMNI-COUNCIL@LISTSERV.DARTMOUTH.EDU
Subject: From President Martha Beattie


Dear councilors,

I am forwarding an important letter from Merle
Adelman '80, first vice
president of the association of alumni. She is asking our
help in
communicating
about the new constitution and creating a public list of
alumni endorsers. I
feel it is crucial for the Alumni Council to respond
immediately and
strongly
on this issue, given that we unanimously approved the
constitution at our
May
meeting.

This is a purely volunteer effort. As you will see below,
Kaja Schuppert
'95, a
member of the association executive committee, is
collecting the list of
endorsers. Jim Adler '60 is buying an ad in the Dartmouth
Alumni Magazine
to
list all the names of the endorsers. Any support you could
give to each of
them
is much appreciated. You will note that Kaja is asking for
names by today,
July
12, so please respond quickly.

Best wishes,
Martha Beattie


***********************************************************
********
LETTER FROM MERLE ADELMAN '80

I am writing on behalf of the Executive Committee of the
Association of
Alumni and the AGTF/AoA Communications Committee to ask
for your help in
creating a public "endorsers" list for the AGTF-proposed
constitution that
has been approved by the Alumni Council.



The Communications Committee, with the support of many
volunteers, will be
running an endorsement ad in the September/October issue
of the Dartmouth
Alumni Magazine.



The ad will include the following copy with a list of 400+
alumni in
chronological order endorsing this.



Vote YES on the Proposed New Alumni Constitution.





" Better Representation - for classes, clubs, and
affiliated groups

" Direct All-Media Voting- for officers, at-large reps,
and key
committees

" Fair Trustee Elections - with majority victories and
equalized
campaigning

" Stronger Trustee Communication - through the new Alumni
Liaison
Board (ALB)

" Easier Access to Elected Office - if you choose to run





Vote YES for a more democratic, transparent, and fair
system of governance.



September 15-October 31, 2006



What we need from you - a list of endorsers of the
constitution who are
willing to put their names on this list (and on a longer
list that may be
posted electronically on a web site). Ideally, this list
should include a
wide range of alumni leaders from all classes - leaders
who may hold
differing viewpoints on this issue, but who have come
together to endorse
the document.



So, can you:



* Reach out to the Class Officers, Alumni Council and
Club Officers -
whoever you represent - today or tomorrow
* Ask them to reach out to their constituents and ask
if they will
both endorse the AGTF-proposed constitution and ask other
class/club leaders
to do so - and be listed in the ad.
* Ask them if they would be willing to contribute funds
towards the ad
since this is a volunteer-funded effort
* Respond with their names to Kaja Schuppert '95
(kaja.k.schuppert.95@alum.dartmouth.org) by Wednesday July
12



I believe a note may have already gone to the Alumni
Council and another one
wouldn't hurt - a two pronged approach from councilors and
class officers,
complemented by club officers can only help.



If you would like to be listed, send Kaja your name.



If you would like to contribute, please send a check (we
need $1700 at a
minimum and have commitments for $700 thus far - only 17
contributions of
$100 will do it!) to:



Jim Adler

PO Box 1653

Norwich, VT 05055



Jim is fronting the money and will need funds ASAP. (Make
checks out to
James
Adler.)



Thanks so much. Questions - give me a call or drop a note.



For Dartmouth,
Merle

Tuesday, July 11, 2006

AGTF Electioneering

Well, you knew it was coming. And now it's here. The electioneering process has already begun to force the undemocratic AGTF constitution through its Fall vote. Local clubs, it seems, are throwing their support behind the constitution, and telling others to do the same (to the extent that voting against the Constitution seems to not be an option). Scott Johnson has a rundown of the situation over on PowerLine. I feel as if I don't have much to add to the disucssion at this point, and he covers it quite well, though I never ceased to be amazed by how low these will stoop to force the proposal through.

Thursday, July 06, 2006

Jim Merkel or Steve Urkel?

Dartmouth's sustainability director is in the news (or the D) once again. This time, Merkel has spearheaded a movement to buy more expensive produce from within the region to supply Dartmouth Dining Services.

This Whiz Kid might just be on to something when he notes that, "another advantage of the switch would be to increase the number of jobs in the Upper Valley," adding that "the program might make it easier for locals, including the spouses of professors, to find employment."

I'm almost positive that Tommy Lee Woon's wife would have preferred to stay in Hanover had she known that a well paying gig with a sweet corn stand would be headed her way in the near future.

Wednesday, July 05, 2006

Is this guy for real?

More from the absurdity of sustainability guru Jim Merkel:

In an article in today's Daily D, Merkel sings the praises of more eco-friendly takeout containers at Food Court. The former clear, plastic containers have been replaced with cardboard, biodegradable ones.

Merkel is already declaring victory on this front, ignoring all the practical implications of the new containers; for instance, pasta sauce and salad dressing saturate and leak through the cardboard, creating messes and rendering it impossible to keep food for an extended period of time, and cashiers have to take extra time to open each opaque container.

Ultimately, Merkel would like to see Tupperware take-out containers (at $20 a pop), that, in his pipe dream, will be returned by each and every student. I can't wait to see him preach the reality of this option to a student body that regularly steals lunch trays to go sledding. Merkel also bemoans students who get food to go, but eat in anyway. As he explains, "It's a social issue, and they take the to-go container because they're not sure they're going to find a friend to sit with."

His solution? "Maybe make it cool to sit with someone you don't know." Yes, that's exactly it. Dartmouth pays this guy $105,000 per year to solve all the world's problems by shifting a paradigm that has been ingrained in society since time immemorial. You've got to be effing kidding me here...

Tuesday, June 27, 2006

Kevin Hudak, Dan Linsalata, and more

They're all in the July/August edition of the Dartmouth Alumni Magazine. Check out page 20 for an excellent article by Bryant Urstadt on the Review's twenty-fifth anniversary gala.

Saturday, June 24, 2006

Robinson: Insiders 'trying to throw out the old constitution'

Laura Ingraham '85

Laura Ingraham '85

Alumni Trustee Peter Robinson '79 spoke Thursday morning to Laura Ingraham '85, host of The Laura Ingraham Show and a former TDR editor, about how "the folks who run the Alumni Association are trying to throw out the old [alumni] constitution and give us an entirely new constitution."

"It's just one more instance of a group of insiders trying to control the situation," Robinson explained to the national radio audience. The proposed new constitution would grant more power to those most closely tied to the College establishment and limit the ability of outsiders to have a say. As Ingraham put it, these insiders "want to change the rules because you were able to get access to the board and get the word out to alumni about what's happening at Dartmouth College."

"TJ Rodgers, Todd Zywicki and I are not going to play by those rules any more," Robinson said, and they're going to fight to keep the alumni in charge. Speaking directly to the alumni, he added: "We'd recommend that you vote against it."

Click here to listen to the whole interview.

Friday, June 23, 2006

Dartmouth Rundown

I've been a bit slow in blogging the past few weeks, as I've been driving home, starting work, etc etc. Here are a few items of note.

As pretty much everyone at the College expected, the search of Alpha Delta fraternity three days before commencement has yielded nothing. The investigation is ongoing, but for the time being AD seems to be off the hook.

In the ongoing Tubestock saga, the Town of Hanover has passed legislation that seems to effectively be the death knell for Tubestock. It takes aim at open containers on waterways, as well as "noisy and disruptive" outdoor events. It closes the loophole which formerly pinned liability solely on event organizers (Tubestock has never had an official organizing person or group) by holding all participants liable. The action comes on the heels of similar legislation passed by the State of New Hampshire at the behest of the Marine Patrol. Tubestock and Dartmouth were specifically cited in demonstrating the need for such regulations.

I would also propose that the PR office's Dartmouth in the News website change its name to "Dartmouth in the News We Like." It mentions neither the AP's reporting of the police raid on AD (the 'Animal House' angle was very popular nationally), nor Tuesday's extensive piece the the New York Time regarding the Alumni Constitution debacle. Quelle suprise. The Times piece has already been cited in several higher education publications; the national significance of both stories is tough to overestimate. While both admittedly draw attention upon the Plain for the wrong reasons, they at least merit acknowledgement.

Tuesday, June 20, 2006

'Voting? Yes. Democracy? Not at all.'

Peter Robinson, the Alumni Constitution, a "Timeline of Dirty Tricks,"
and Joseph Stalin: all in The New York Times:


"Dartmouth Alumni Battles Become a Spectator Sport"

You say you want a revolution?

A communique intercepted from alumni high command:
Members of the Association of Alumni,


One of Dartmouth's enduring strengths is that her alumni nominate half the trustees of the Dartmouth Board. When a seat becomes available, the Nominating Committee of the Alumni Council is charged by alumni leadership to present a slate.


The Dartmouth College Board of Trustees has announced that Nancy Jeton
'76 will complete her second term on the board in June 2007.
Consequently, the Alumni Council's Nominating and Trustee Search Committee asks all alumni to participate in the nomination process and to submit the names of qualified candidates to fill this position on the board. From your recommendations, as well as a comprehensive search process, the committee will develop a slate of candidates, and balloting by all media (mail and Internet voting) will take place in the spring of 2007.


We encourage you to submit nominations in writing with as much substantiation as possible of the proposed individual's qualifications.
Nominees must be Dartmouth alumni, and should have the background, knowledge, and experience to contribute with excellence to the governance and stewardship of the College. The deadline for nominations is October 31, 2006.


Please send your suggestions to me, either by mail or email, as follows:


Mail: Office of Alumni Relations, 6068 Blunt Alumni Center, Hanover, NH 03755.


Email: alumni.council@alum.dartmouth.org


Thank you for your participation.


Sincerely,


Rick Routhier '73 Tu '76

Chair, Alumni Council Nominating and Trustee Search Committee


Want to learn more about the Lone Pine Revolution? Read the book...

Monday, June 05, 2006

Mallard Fillmore

Mallard Fillmore congratulates the Review on 25 years.

Thought it might be of interest to some.

Friday, June 02, 2006

Three Indians Taken in Lax Draft

Three senior Indian lacrosse players were taken in the 2006 Major League Lacrosse draft. Co-captain Brad Heritage was chosen by San Francisco in the 4th round, while co-captain Jamie Coffin and two-sport star Ryan Danahey were both drafted by Boston in the 4th and 5th rounds, respectively.

Wednesday, May 31, 2006

A United Front

Together with Andrew Seal, editor of the Dartmouth Free Press, the campus's far-left publication, I wrote this editorial condeming the proposed Alumni Constitution. Our aim was that by presenting an across-the-spectrum opposition to it amongst students, more alumni will see its instrinsic problems.

For a handful of technical, legal, and whatever else reasons, only one name could appear in the byline. We went with his, citing notoriety and perceived bias associated with mine. Note, however, that I did, in fact, take a very active part in writing and presenting the piece.

Tuesday, May 30, 2006

Paulson '68 Tapped as Treasury Secretary

Hank Paulson '68, current CEO of Goldman Sachs, was named Secretary of the Treasury this moring by President Bush. His nomination comes as part of the ongoing overhaul of the President's cabinet. Paulson is one of the first true Washington 'outsiders' to be brought into the fold.

During his time at Dartmouth, Paulson was a member of Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity and a star running back for the football team.

Monday, May 29, 2006

A Record of Their Fame

As today is Memorial Day, I feel it only appropriate that we all take a moment to reflect upon the Sons of Dartmouth who have given their lives for the sake of our country. Last year, The Dartmouth Review published a list of the names of those heroic gentlemen.

On a side note, I am also reminded of one of my favorite Dartmouth traditions, one that today is found in the memories of a only handful of diligent undergraduates, though the meaning is certainly not lost upon decades of alumni: the 'war verse' of Hovey's "Men of Dartmouth," since rechristened as the Alma Matter. In theory, the war verse is supposed to be sung only in times of war; in practice, I have never heard it sung or even mentioned in my time at Dartmouth. For posterity, I have copied the lyrics below. The tune is the same as the rest of the song.

They were mighty men of old
That she nurtured side by side;
Till like Vikings they went forth
From the lone and silent North,
And they strove, and they wrought, and they died;
But the sons of old Dartmouth,
The laurelled sons of Dartmouth,
The Mother keeps them in her heart
And guides their altar flame;
The still North remembers them,
The hill-winds know their name,
And the granite of New Hampshire
Keeps the record of their fame;
And the granite of New Hampshire
Keeps the record of their fame.

Sunday, May 28, 2006

Women's Lax Loses Heartbreaker to Wildcats

The Dartmouth women's lacrosse team fell to Northwestern this afternoon, 7-4, in the NCAA title game. The women held a 4-3 lead following a goal by Sarah Szefi 5:11 into the second half, but the Wildcats scored the final four goals of the game to win their second consecutive title.

Dartmouth finishes as the NCAA runner-up for the first time in team history, ending the year with a 14-6 record. Northwestern finished the year 20-1, and avenged its only loss to Duke with an 11-10 OT victory in the NCAA semifinals.

Saturday, May 27, 2006

Women's Lax Reaches NCAA Final

Dartmouth's women's lacrosse team cruised past Notre Dame last night in the NCAA Semifinal, 14-8, and will face defending champion Northwestern Sunday at noon for the NCAA title. The game will be played at Boston University's Nickerson Field, just a short 2-hour drive from Hanover.

A victory would give the College its first national title since 1976, when it won the NCAA skiing championship. It would also be Dartmouth's first NCAA title in a women's sport.

Friday, May 26, 2006

AoA Executive Committee CANCELS Elections

The Executive Council of the Dartmouth Association of Alumni have CANCELLED elections at their next annual meeting. You read that correctly: in light of the Alumni Council's endorsement of the new proposed constitution, the executive committee, without an all-association vote, has decided to eschew elections of new officers at the upcoming annual meeting. In other words, they cannot be replaced before the vote on the new Constitution. One can only speculate that this is precisely to avoid that inconvience of new officers in advance of the upcoming constitution vote; a new slate of officers could, in theory, cancel the vote entirely, thereby scuttling the new constitution (oh, if only...).

Oh, and one other small detail: nowhere in the constitution of the Association of Alumni is the Executive Committee empowered to unilaterally cancel elections in this manner. Rumor holds (though unsubstantiated) that impeachment calls have already been set up.

Stay tuned to Dartlog.net for updates.

Below is the letter sent from the Executive Committee to the Association membership explaining the decision:


May 24, 2006

Dear Fellow Alumni,

The officers and executive committee of the Association of Alumni (AoA) continue to work on several matters of alumni governance stemming from the constitutional amendment being proposed by the Alumni Governance Task Force (AGTF) to provide for a new constitution for the association. Here is an update of our plans.

The Vote on the Proposed New Constitution

During its 192nd meeting, May 18-20, 2006, the Alumni Council unanimously ratified the proposed new constitution presented by the AGTF. This version is the result of many years of work by a diverse group of volunteers who solicited and incorporated feedback from a wide range of alumni, representing constituencies across the AoA. The constitution will be presented to the entire alumni body for an all-media vote from September 15 to October 31, 2006.

This vote will be conducted according to the Guidelines for All-Media Voting for Constitutional Amendments, adopted on March 23, 2006, and posted on the AoA Web site (http://alumni.dartmouth.edu/leadership/association/index.html). Alumni will have the option to vote online, by phone, or by regular mail.

In the interest of fairness and democracy for all alumni, additional amendments to the current constitution will be included on the ballot if they are submitted in accordance with the guidelines. Although additional amendments will not have undergone the extensive review, debate, and revision the AGTF proposal has received, we trust alumni to make their own judgments about the worth of alternative proposals.

The Annual Meeting of the Association of Alumni and Election of Officers
The proposed constitution includes provisions for all-media voting for alumni officers and a plan that transitions the AoA and Alumni Council into a single new organization (the Dartmouth Alumni Association)while minimizing disruption. If the proposed constitution passes, the transition committee and transition leadership will determine the timing and content of the next annual meeting.

Because the results of the vote on the proposed constitution will not be available until after October 31, 2006, the AoA Executive Committee is making two changes to the annual election process. We are postponing the annual meeting from the October 15, 2006 date originally planned to the first half of calendar year 2007. The election of association officers and executive committee members will be conducted via all-media voting. The guidelines for this vote will be developed and announced in the fall, with appropriate time allotted for the nomination and announcement of candidates well in advance of the voting period. The election will be completed at the annual meeting, with final voting by attendees who have not previously voted.

This approach is consistent with the current constitution of the AoA, which stipulates that officers be “elected annually at each annual meeting.” The AoA operates under the same calendar as the College; therefore, the meeting must take place during the period from July 1, 2006, to June 30, 2007. The delay in the annual meeting means that if the proposed constitution passes, the officers currently in place will remain in place until the next election, ensuring a smooth transition to a new alumni governance structure. If the proposed constitution does not pass, the next slate of officers and executive committee members will be elected via all-media voting.

The AoA Executive Committee and the AGTF encourage you to learn more about the proposed constitution at the AoA Web site (address is given above) and to ask your questions and offer comments on the blogs of the AoA (http://www.dartmouthaoa.blogspot.com/) and AGTF (http://dartagtf.blogspot.com/)
or by contacting any of us directly.

For Dartmouth,

Merle Adelman ’80
First Vice President

Friday, May 12, 2006

The Wright Stuff, Part 2

Over on Powerline, Scott Johnson editorializes on their "Just the Facts" interview of President Wright from yesterday. His critiques are pretty much the same as my own, and many other like-minded people. In short, Jim Wright is a nice guy who clearly cares passionately for Dartmouth, but is content to maintain the status quo by forever playing the role of the complacent diplomat.

Thursday, May 11, 2006

Wright on Powerline

Today, Powerline Blog features this brief interview with President Wright. It touches on all the standard hot-button topics (Alumni governance issues, Western Civilizaiont curriculum, etc.), with little editorializing. You get the impression in reading it that Wright was using the interview to stump for himself, the College, what have you. Case in point:

President Wright seems to have sought us out as representative critics of the Dartmouth administration whom he sought to win over in advance of the vote on governance changes to be submitted to Dartmouth alumni for a vote this fall. President Wright referred to himself several times as a political historian; he is the author or editor of five works of political history.

His political skills were prominently on display in his meeting with us. He was incredibly well briefed on John and me, referring to my daughters and to our work for Power Line. He began by asking how we found time to write for Power Line while pursuing our vocation. He acknowledged criticism we had directed toward the Dartmouth administration. Taking notes, I said that I wanted to convey his message without editorial comment and write something about our meeting that he would feel fairly presented his views.

Wednesday, May 10, 2006

Guaranteed housing? Maybe next year.

The Office of Residential Life announced, with much self-laudatory fanfare, that the College would, for the first time, guarantee housing for all students during the '06-'07 school year. (Sophmores, of course, used to have to fend for themselves.) It seems that claim was a bit premature:

--- Forwarded Message from Special Housing ---

>Date: 10 May 2006 13:57:59 EDT
>From: Special Housing
>Subject: TONIGHT - Room Draw!
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

Greetings!

Room Draw concludes TONIGHT in Alumni Hall and as a student whose priority number will be called tonight, we want to make sure you know the following pieces of information before everything begins this evening. This blitz has a lot of information, but please read it all so you are INFORMED!

** If all of our 178 vacancies are taken tonight, we expect to have a waitlist of about 120 09's. We are guaranteeing that everyone who submits a waitlist application by June 1, 2006 will be housed (and not in the Tree Houses!). There will be housing cancellations and d-plan changes which will open up spots currently occupied for the fall, so we anticipate having ample space to house all on-time waitlist applicants! While having a waitlist this year is unexpected, our staff has much experience in managing the process.

Thank you!
The Housing Office Staff
Rachael, Gretchen, Gwen


Who would have thunk it? Clearly if anything the College is suffering from an abundance of housing. Otherwise it wouldn't have closed Hitchcock, the Lodge, the Treehouses, and assorted River dorms...

Friday, May 05, 2006

Whatever you say

From today's Daily D: "Larimore has gained the respect of the student body for his even-handed approach to the Greek system."

Thursday, May 04, 2006

The Daily D shills for Larimore

The Daily Dartmouth's article reviewing Dean Larimore's tenure as Dean of the College reads like a press release:
Larimore will leave Dartmouth this summer without completely achieving his goals for student life and administrative communication, but having made significant progress. The diversity of the student body increased by 50 percent under his leadership, and numerous construction projects are underway to expand the residential life network. He is largely responsible for reconciling some of the Wright administration's difficulties, which he had no part in creating, and because of Larimore the Greek system is stronger. Larimore departs having built the infrastructure between the Greek system and the administration necessary to facilitate improvements that he did not have the chance to accomplish.
The article gives no voice whatsover to Larimore's many detractors among the students and alumni, aside from oblique references to "skeptics." Without citing any evidence, reporter Phil Salinger gives the retiring dean sole credit for many of the positive changes in the past two or three years. In fact, many of these changes consisted of dismantling some of the inane rules and regulations Larimore had himself put in place. The article further ignores other impetuses for change, like widespread student and alumni unrest and the election of three reformers to the Board of Trustees.

And what does "the diversity of the student body increased by 50 percent" even mean?

Class Marshals Step Down

Perhaps equally breaking news, but I can't do Stethers' siren thing.

In any case, all five Senior Class Marshals who are also SEC members have stepped down. The resignations come in the wake the controversial elections which generated a considerable backlash from many students.

In a statement in the Daily D this morning, SEC president Anthony Bramante explains that the decision came from the SEC itself, as an acknowledgement to the widespread criticism of the selection process. The non-SEC marshals will retain their positions.

Wednesday, May 03, 2006

Larimore is Leaving



--- Forwarded message from Michael S. Hanitchak ---

>Date: 03 May 2006 16:05:07 EDT
>From: Michael S. Hanitchak
>Subject: **Please Read - Important Announcement**
>To: Native-American-Program-Members@Mac

Hi all,
I'm sorry to notify you all that Jim Larimore has accepted a position as the Dean of Students at Swarthmore College, effective July 1. While I am sad to see him leave Dartmouth, I know that it is for family reasons rather than because he is not happy here. He will be meeting with NAD personally in the near future and I hope you will all join the NAP staff and extend your best wishes to him and his family for this new chapter in their lives. It has been an honor to work with Jim and to have him as Dean of the College. I know you will miss his presence here as much as we will miss working with him. I'm sure more details will be available soon. Please let us know if you have any concerns or questions.

Thanks,
Michael