Wednesday, November 30, 2005

East Wheelock Contretemps

Date: 30 Nov 2005 09:09:12 EST
From: Cluster-East Wheelock
Subject: Destroyed microwave
To: (Recipient list suppressed)

Last night, someone put the drain stopper from the sink in the microwave and turned it on. Because of this, the microwave is broken/destroyed.

If you have any information about this even, please do not hesitate to contact me. If you used the microwave last night before it was broken, please let me know, as we can narrow down the time of the event.

Also, there is a wooden bench missing from the outside back (North) door of Brace Commons. If you know anything about its whereabouts, please let me know.

Thank you,

Michael Lord
Community Director
East Wheelock

**********************************
East Wheelock Cluster
Dartmouth College

Michael Lord-Community Director
Judy MacNeil-Administrative Assistant
John Pfister-Cluster Dean
***********************************

Monday, November 28, 2005

Only One Week Until...

If you're in a somnolent mood next Monday, don't forget to tune in to Dean Carol Folt's "webcast" about the state of undergraduate education at Dartmouth at 8pm.

The webcast also promises appearances by Trustee Al Mulley '70 and Alumni Council President Rick Routhier '73.

Kang in the Washington Post

Prof. David Kang recommends in Monday's Washington Post that the Bush administration push for Korean unification instead of confronting the Communists in Pyongyang with brute force.

Sunday, November 27, 2005

Bork on Griswold

An excerpt from Judge Bork's confirmation hearings taken from Judge Ray Randolph's brilliant and moving speech on Griswold, Roe, Lawrence, and judicial lawmaking that he delivered to the Federalist Society just a few weeks ago:

[Judge Bork:] Nobody ever tried to enforce that statute, but the police simply could not get into the bedroom without a warrant, and what magistrate is going to give the police a warrant to go in to search for signs of the use of contraceptives? I mean it. is a wholly bizarre and imaginary case.

Now let me say this—

The CHAIRMAN: Would the Senator yield at that point just for clarification?

Senator SIMPSON: Yes, certainly, Mr. Chairman.

The CHAIRMAN: If they had evidence that a crime was being committed--

Judge BORK: How are they going to get evidence that a couple is using contraceptives?

The CHAIRMAN: Wiretap.

Judge BORK: Wiretapping?

The CHAIRMAN: Wiretap.

Judge BORK: You mean to say that a magistrate is going to authorize a wiretap to find out if a couple is using contraceptives?

The CHAIRMAN: They could, could they not, under the law?

Judge BORK: Unbelievable, unbelievable.

The full transcript of the Bork hearing is available here.

Thursday, November 24, 2005

New Issue Online

While the print edition went out to campus on Monday evening, you can now read the latest issue of The Dartmouth Review online as well.

Happy Thanksgiving to all.

Monday, November 21, 2005

In defense of the Indian mascot

Jon Wisniewski '07 defends the Indian mascot in the Daily D:
Opponents would have us believe that Dartmouth Reviewers and others who sport
the villainized Indian head are complacent with and supportive of the actions of
our national predecessors who engaged in what amounts to genocide and theft on
an epic scale. The truth, however, is that those of us who wear or support such
a mascot do so with absolutely no connection to those unfortunate and repugnant
actions. We do so as individual actors, entirely separate from all of history
and modern society, because we have made a choice that on some level, aesthetic
or otherwise, the mascot is pleasing to us. This is not because it looks down on
Native American culture, a culture as deserving of respect and admiration as
any, but rather for the exact same reasons that we support a fighting Irishman
mascot or a minuteman mascot. No amount of blame-placing or waxing eloquent will
ever change this fact.
Update: This is notable only because it is a defense of the Indian mascot in the Daily D. It is not a particularly good defense of the traditional symbol, though.

Taking a lesson from the French

Daily Dartmouth headline: "College to collaborate with Sun Microsystems."

Seriously, though, it's good to see that Dartmouth is trying to stay on the cutting edge.

Sunday, November 20, 2005

Hart: Bush Isn't a Conservative

Professor of English emeritus Jeffery Hart has just published an opinion piece that begins simply, "George W. Bush is not a conservative..." Hart then goes on to compare Bush's foreign policy with that of Woodrow Wilson, who Hart rightly claims is hardly an example of conservatism.

This criticism should not be taken lightly as Professor Hart has served as an arbiter of modern American conservative thought and has many accolades to support that claim. Even Buckley has seemed luke warm on the War on Iraq and with Hart's latest piece it is becoming clear that this war is supported and defended by neo-conservatives.

To once more quote Professor Hart, "George W. Bush is conservative, but he is not a conservative."

Alison Crocker: Rhodes Scholar

Congratulations are in order for Dartmouth '06 Ali Crocker, who was just named a Rhodes Scholar.

Friday, November 18, 2005

Save the Date

From the Alumni Association website:

ALUMNI ASSOCIATION TO HOLD SPECIAL MEETING
The newly-elected executive committee of the Association of Alumni has called a meeting for Sunday, February 12, 2006, in Hanover. The meeting will allow alumni to vote on an amendment to the existing alumni constitution that would open that amendment process to all-media voting.

Flyers?

Anyone else see flyers posted around campus with the following written on them? Or know who S.W. is?


The following is an excerpt from The Spirit of Dartmouth by Richard Hovey, a member of the class of 1885 and the author of Men of Dartmouth, now called the Alma Mater. The poem below is a reminder that, even as we look towards the College's future, we must remember its past.

While we recognize that many things have changed since Hovey's time—many for the better—the Spirit of Dartmouth remains.



This is the lesson she teaches,
Our Dartmouth we love so well,
To begin the strife with the dawn of life
And to strive to its latest knell;
To have part in the deeds that are doing,
To bear the heaviest brunt,
And if we are o'erwhelmed, there are others,
But we die with our eyes to the front.

And wheresoever we struggle,
In factory, mine or mart,
In the grip of the learned professions,
Each pledged to his separate part
There still shall rise to our nostrils
The scent of those pine tree days,
And we hear the tones of the college bell
Come drifting through the haze.

They may cover the campus with buildings,
They may gather the rich man's gold,
They may try to abolish all hazing,
They may preach till the world is old,
They may chop and change and alter
Our ways for newer ones,
But the spirit of Dartmouth will last for aye
In the bosom of us, her sons.


– S. W.

Thursday, November 17, 2005

The Dartmouth Review: the book

Wah-hoo-Wah, friends! A collection of the best writing from twenty-five years of The Dartmouth Review, edited by Stefan Beck '04 and myself '98, will be published by ISI Books in April 2006.


I've written more about the project on my weblog, Armavirumque.

Any Connection?

In today's Daily D:

Tuesday, November 15, 2005

Monday, November 14, 2005

Dartmouth Last in Presidential Pay

The Chronicle of Higher Education has released its annual survey of academic executive compensation (searchable here). Dartmouth's James Wright ranks last in the Ivy League, with a total compensation of $460,238

Penn: $934,922
Yale: $715,212
Cornell: $675,027
Columbia: $638,250
Brown: $575,859
Princeton: $564,619
Harvard: $554,098
Dartmouth: $460,238

Note, though, the lack of correlation between executive pay and academic presige (Cornell vs. Harvard). Perhaps this is one issue where the Wright administration is on the right track.

Next Stop: Israel

So, how long now until a "Palestine Action Group" starts a campus campaign to divest from Israel? My guess is six months, tops.

Oh, No! Capitalism!

Capitalism is the root of all evil and all that is wrong with the world, Benjamin Borbely '06 tells us in today's Daily Dartmouth. It causes everything from polar ice melting to Chinese pollution to riots in France, he declares. Borbely even tells us that individualism and growing wealthy is immoral--even though increased personal wealth and economic growth through capitalism, not collectivism and redistribution, is the proven cure to so many social ills.

Saturday, November 12, 2005

Rago and Buckley

In today's Wall Street Journal, Dartmouth Review Editor Emeritus Joe Rago '05 talks to former National Review editor William F. Buckley about current events and the state of conservatism.

Friday, November 11, 2005

Nate Fick

is awesome. Go see him today, most particularly if you opposed the war or have significant doubts about it. You'll find his thoughtfulness incredibly refreshing.

4:30 PM
Filene Auditorium

Wanted

While perusing National Review's archives, I came across the following in the classified section, in the April 8, 1961 issue:
WANTED. An intellectual, who will write 750 word defense of House Committee on Un-American Activities for The Dartmouth, student newspaper of Dartmouth College. Have not been able to find anyone in Dartmouth area disposed to write same.

Fick on 'Jarhead'

Nate Fick '99, who is signing copies of his new book, One Bullet Away today at the Dartmouth Bookstore, has an excellent column on Slate about the new film "Jarhead."

Thursday, November 10, 2005

If It Ain't Broke...

Michael Belinksy '08 closes his convoluted pro-theft op-ed in today's Daily Dartmouth by conflating two notions: cheap online access to information, through Apple’s iTunes and the like, and intellectual property rights. He's somehow arguing that the existence of the former necessarily means the latter is outdated and in need of revision. However, that Apple is selling material online—and making a killing at it—in fact means that intellectual property laws are working just fine.

Wednesday, November 09, 2005

Rago on New England

Today's Journal features a Joseph Rago '05's review of The Encyclopedia of New England, a new compendium of articles detailing the unique history and identity of Rago's beloved homeland. Rago has also taken a full time position with the Journal as an editorial features editor.

Dartmouth Dashboard Disabled

The Hypsometry website now reports that the "Dartmouth Viewpoints" website (see my post on 11/1) is "under consideration" by Dartmouth College and has been taken down in the meantime.

SA Spending Reform

Habiba Musah '08 writes in today's Daily Dartmouth that the Student Assembly should fund such organizations as KatrinaHelp because the governing body already wastes money on pet projects like foosball tables. But is this really an argument in favor of more spending, as Musah suggests? It sounds to me like an excellent argument in favor of spending restraint. Perhaps if the Assembly had a more limited budget—$90,000 is rather a lot—it would choose its priorities better.

Monday, November 07, 2005

New Issue Online

The latest issue of The Dartmouth Review is now online for your reading pleasure.

Congrats

Buzzflood impresario Kabir Sehgal '05 has been named a Rhodes Scholarship finalist. Congratulations are also in order for Alison Crocker '06, who was recently named a Marshall Scholarship finalist, and Daniel Preysman '04 and former TDR Editor in Chief Alston Ramsay '04, who are Mitchell Scholarship Semi-Finalists.

Wednesday, November 02, 2005

Who Knew?

Believe it or not, Judge Samuel Alito, President Bush's nominee to replace Justice Sandra Day O'Connor on the Supreme Court, is not a radical leftist. So says Danielle Strollo '07 in an op-ed in the Daily D. In fact, according to Strollo, Alito actually holds some fairly common-sense positions:
  • Married couples should discuss "family planning" issues
  • Court claims require evidence and not simple assertions
  • The First Amendment allows individuals to tease one another
  • The Second Amendment includes a right to bear arms
  • Congress does not have unlimited power to impose environmental rules
  • Laws Congress passes should not discriminate based on sex
Of course, Strollo hysterically says these views amount to a "death sentence" for women.

Tuesday, November 01, 2005

Pres. Wright speaks to faculty

President Wright's remarks to yesterday's general faculty meeting may be found here. Definitely worth reading.

Dartmouth Dashboard

Chris Boone of Hypsometry has unveiled a new "Dartmouth-focused dashboard," featuring a news aggregator, Dartmouth photos, weather, maps, and blogs, in cooperation with the College's Web Publishing Services group. It looks pretty neat, if a little Google-heavy.