Saturday, April 30, 2005

Dartmouth's 'Pay Gap'

Male professors at Dartmouth earn 22 percent more than their female counterparts, the highest disparity in the Ivy League, according to a study by the American Association of University Professors. In response to the study, the College will doubtless create an Associate Dean of the Faculty for Salary Equity and establish a committee to study the program.

Now Hiring: More Bureaucrats

Dartmouth has roughly 20 administrative job openings listed on its employment website.

Among the open positions are:
  • A vice president for alumni relations to replace Stan Colla '66
  • A director of planning, who would manage the current construction projects
  • A director for alumni diversity, who would work in the alumni relations office to communicate with Dartmouth's four "official" minority groups. Salary: up to $65,000
  • Two "community directors," mid-level bureaucrats who manage Dartmouth's "evolving" housing plan and occupy valuable student housing while working with a myriad of other bureaucrats to engineer student social life. Salary: up to $78,800
Salary information (available here) is unavailable for the top two administrators, whose salaries are negotiable. However, since we can assume their pay would be higher than that of lesser bureaucrats, they would probably make more than $71,300, the minimum salary of the next-lowest pay grade.

Could the $350,000 or so spent on these bureaucrats' salaries be better spent elsewhere? On a speech department, perhaps?

Friday, April 29, 2005

Propaganda in the Daily D

The Daily Dartmouth has published a mass-produced op-ed submitted to several student newspapers by the Humane Society. Nearly identical pieces were published in the Daily Californian, Boston University's Daily Free Press, the Ball State Daily News and the Bowling Green News.

Thursday, April 28, 2005

Eight Days Left

Voting in the alumni Trustee election ends on May 6.

Brokaw to Speak at Commencement

Tom Brokaw, recently removed from the NBC Nightly News, will be this year's commencement speaker. Among the other notables receiving honorary degrees are:
  • Thomas Kean, former Governor of New Jersey and chairman of the 9/11 Commission
  • Dr. Norman Borlaug, a research scientist who developed new high-yield varieties of wheat and received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1970
  • Lucille Clifton, former Poet Laureate of Maryland and Professor at St. Mary's College in the same state
  • Mary Sue Coleman, President of the University of Michigan and affirmative action spokesman extraordinaire
  • Dr. Mathilde Krim, the founder of the AIDS Medical Foundation
  • Gordon Russell '55, former General Partner of Sequoia Capital, a venture capital firm
  • Andrew Young, former mayor of Atlanta and Clinton's Ambassador to the UN

Questions About the Sustainability Director

John Hideraker '71 posts a reader's questions about the truthfulness of the claims made by Jim Merkel, Dartmouth's new sustainability directortor.
Is it really possible to live on $5K/year without taking advantage of the "commons" of others? As the IRS considers "trading" of valuable things to be a production of income, was Merkel's income, at $13.00 per day, underreported?
. . .
Obviously, Mr. Merkel is one of the oft-lamented "uninsured" who visits the emergency room when he falls off his bike, as there is no possible way in Hades he has health insurance on the 20 cents he has left over each day after paying for food and lodging. Therefore, I pay for Merkel?s health care when he busts his "sustainable" head.

Further, I am very pleased that Mr. Merkel, after his retirement, will certainly receive more dollars from the Social Security system that he has paid in. It is only fitting, after all, that we "sustain" him in his dotage, as he is such a role-model for us all.
His apparently frugal lifestyle does raise some eyebrows. It also raises another question: does he really expect Dartmouth to follow his lead? As one Powerline reader wrote, if everyone lived as he does, the world economy would come to a grinding halt, and everything we hold dear (including Dartmouth) would perish with it.

D'Souza '83 on Dennis Miller

Former Dartmouth Review editor Dinesh D'Souza '83 will be appearing on Dennis Miller's CNBC program this Thursday and Friday. The segments will air at 9 p.m. each night.

D'Souza, a fellow at the Hoover Institution and a former Reagan aide, will be speaking at Dartmouth on May 4.

Wednesday, April 27, 2005

They Still Haven't Moved On

Protesters on Ledyard Bridge

Nathaniel Ward

— Protesting for minority rule —

Roughly a dozen Upper Valley residents affiliated with MoveOn.org, a leftist fringe group, protested Wednesday to preserve minority rule in the Senate and to oppose Republican judicial nominees.

Braving the rain, the hardy bunch (not a student among them) began their vigil at 5 p.m. on Ledyard Bridge between Hanover and Norwich. Their protest in favor of existing Senate filibuster rules was co-ordinated with other similar protests around the country.

The protesters boasted several hand-made signs, most of which were probably too small to be seen from the road. One sign prophesized, "Republicans Majority Now, Minority Later." Another proclaimed that "Filibuster = Democracy," suggesting incorrectly that in a democracy minorities pick the leaders. There were no signs advocating positive policy positions.

Several cars honked their horns at the small group, but it was unclear whether they were offering support or expressing anger.

Alston Ramsay on NRO

Former Review Editor in Chief Alston Ramsay '04, now an Associate Editor at the National Reivew, has an excellent article online about Dartmouth's alumni Trustee election.

Another Bureaucrat

The College has added a "sustainability director" to its payroll, the Daily Dartmouth reports. The new bureaucrat, Jim Merkel, advocates radically restructuring society so we leave a smaller environmental "footprint."

Tuesday, April 26, 2005

Trustee Election Poll

Sure the e-mail is poorly written, but it's probably worth voting in this SA poll if for no other reason but to aggrevate the Alumni for a Strong Dartmouth folks.
-------------------------------------------
BOARD OF TRUSTEES ELECTION POLL

The Alumni Body now has the right to nominate eight trustees to the Board....

The Alumni body are voting this year to fill two trustee positions...

After a close Student Assembly election, the Board of Trustees race is very important to our futures and the destiny of Dartmouth College. If you could take a couple of minutes to read through the bios of the candidates and vote, it would be a monumental first step in involving students more closely with Trustee affairs.

PLEASE VOTE ON:


(The deadline for this poll is Monday May 2nd at 5pm)
-------------------------------------------

Ingraham '85 Has Breast Cancer

Former Dartmouth Review editor and conservative pundit Laura Ingraham '85 has been diagnosed with breast cancer. Our thoughts go out to her.

Protesting Prosperity

A group of anti-trade students is collecting signatures in Thayer Hall for a petition against the Central American Free Trade Agreement. CAFTA is modeled on the decade-old North American Free Trade Agreement, which has promoted economic growth, jobs and trade in the United States, Mexico and Canada.

Get Xtreme with MoveOn!

--- Forwarded Message from Sharon D. Racusin ---

>Date: 22 Apr 2005 06:44:17 EDT
>From: Sharon D. Racusin
>Subject: Rally for fair judges

It is time to pull out all the stops! Please come to a MoveOn.org sponsored rally at the Ledyard Bridge - 5 PM on Wed. April 27th to prevent the Senate from breaking the rules, seizing absolute power over judicial appointments, and stacking the courts with extreme judges. Contact Sharon Racusin (sharon.racusin@dartmouth.edu) for more information and if you are willing to help organize.

Monday, April 25, 2005

NH Libertarians Try to Vote in Trustee Election

Following up on his group's threat, New Hampshire libertarian Michael Lorrey, who is not an alumnus, is attempting to cast his ballot in the alumni Trustee election. He sent the following e-mail to the Alumni Relations office.
As a NH resident since childhood, and a 'townie' of the city of Lebanon, I have been subject to the self-important pronouncements and pontifications of Dartmouth professors, at city meetings, in the Valley News, and in our finer publican establishments for more years than most perpetual students. Therefore, I feel I have earned the requisite credit hours to be considered an 'alumnus' of Dartmouth. As my family has had its hunting cabin poised mere yards from the border of the Second College Grant for some 35 or more years, and I have enjoyed many a fishing trip on Four Mile Brook or the Diamond rivers, as well as hunted for deer, bear, moose, grouse, and woodcock on your property, I can't help but feel like I have been a part of Dartmouth for several decades. In addition, my mothers parents willed their bodies to Dartmouth in the interests of science, and despite being a Worcester Polytech undergrad alumnus, gramps was tickled to become a "Dartmouth man" late in life. Given that NH Assistant Attorney General for Covering Up Election Fraud Bud Fitch defines residency required to vote in NH elections as "a state of mind", and that Dartmouth students use this interpretation to illegally vote at no risk in NH elections, despite not possessing NH drivers licenses, or obtaining them within 60 days of an election, and furthermore, given that Dartmouth College is complicit in this voter fraud, in refusing to disclose which students are or are not valid state residents, the college therefore has given tacit consent for a reciprocal interpretation of its trustee election eligibility rules, and given the span of time the College administration has been complicity, I hereby determine that estoppel has thus set in, and the Dartmouth Trustee Elections are now open to anybody who simply feels like an alumnus of the college.

In light of this, I hereby present to you my choices for Trustee: Peter Robinson and Todd Zywicki. This email is to be considered a valid ballot in the elections since your voting website seems to have a glitch in accepting my login. You may also add my address to your alumni mailing list, so that you may pepper me with pleas for endowment donations and to sell football tickets. Given I've enjoyed how well you folks maintain my favorite hunting and fishing coverts, you certainly deserve it. Please keep up the good work, look after nan and gramps, and add my votes to the totals.
Voting in the Trustee election is open to real alumni until May 6.

This Seems Counterproductive

As part of its ongoing effort to curtail student alcohol consumption, the College will be conducting a free alcohol screening tomorrow in Collis Commonground. Students who participate will receive a free Nalgene water bottle, just in time to fill it with booze for Green Key weekend.

'            .'

Sunday, April 24, 2005

Women's lacrosse wins Ivy title

Yesterday, the Dartmouth's women's lacrosse team continued their unprecedented thirteen-game winning streak in grand style, defeating archrival Princeton for the Ivy League crown (the program's tenth).

The Valley News' coverage may be found here.

Spin City

Anyone who has been following the trustee election is no doubt aware that the College pleads innocence on the charge of hostility to free expression. The official line -- despite all evidence to the contrary -- is that Dartmouth does not have a speech code. But what about the Zeta Psi case, you say, in which a single private, in-house parody newsletter led to a fraternity's permanent derecognition and expulsion from campus? The College has a pat little answer: Zete was punished for its conduct, not its speech. Says Robert Donin, the College's lawyer, in his recent letter to The Daily Dartmouth:
The Zeta Psi case falls squarely within the area of permissible regulation.... The statements in the Zeta Psi newsletter [...] targeted two specific students for personal abuse in a repeated fashion even after the organization agreed to end this behavior.
Fortunately, FIRE President (and Harvard-educated lawyer, thank you very much) David French takes Donin to task, pointing out that Dartmouth's charge of "harassment" against Zete is laughably weak:
I know of no case authority indicating that a person is denied or limited in their "ability to participate in or benefit from the educational program" when he or she is "targeted" in a communication so private that he or she couldn't find it without sifting through the trash. There is no court in America that has found "harassment" in similar circumstances.
Indeed. Predictably, too, Donin falls back on a cherished old shibboleth of the censors. Dixit Donin:
A long line of First Amendment cases recognizes that freedom of expression is not absolute. Even where the First Amendment fully applies, as Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr. famously wrote, no one has the right to falsely yell "fire" in a crowded theater. Similarly, the First Amendment does not protect defamation, invasion of privacy, copyright infringement, threats or harassment, to cite just a few of the well-established, judicially approved limitations on free speech.
All of this is readily conceded; indeed, I wonder who exactly Donin is arguing this point with? No commentator I know of (certainly not trustee candidates Peter Robinson or Todd Zywicki, for whom, if you are an alum, you really ought to have voted by now) has suggested that actual defamation should be protected expression. (Indeed, Donin never explains why any of this is even relevant; does the Zete case fall into one of these categories? No? Then why bring it up?) Donin is fighting the straw man syllogism "if speech, therefore absolutely protected." It might be easier for Donin to argue with absolutist simpletons; but, to borrow from Rumsfeld, you argue with the opponents you have, not the opponents you wish you had. So Mr. Donin: can we please get back to the question at hand?

But perhaps I'm being too harsh on Donin; after all, it's not his fault his bosses so gleefully resort to heavy-handed punishment for puerile little jokes. So let's see what President Wright had to say about the matter in a recent speech to the Dartmouth Club of New York:
The Dean [of Residential Life Marty Redman, affable fellow by day, outraged Puritan by night] derecognized the fraternity because of the repeated publication of a newsletter that cruelly demeaned specific women on campus. This incident was about behavior, not speech -- the organization published articles describing the supposed [wrong: obviously fictional] sexual exploits of two undergraduate women who were identified by name.
(Um, er, I thought Zete's publication was speech, just one of those types that you can regulate -- no? Yes? Oh, never mind....) So Wright, too, relies on the harassing-conduct-not-speech line. Once again, David French brings us back to Earth (with some help from yours truly). French shows how thin the charge of harassing conduct is (ditto for the alleged violations of Minimum Standards, which actually provide the clearest evidence yet of a speech code applicable to 40% of the student population; all Dartmouth students should be aware of the backdoor tactic employed in the Zete case).

French aptly concludes:
A fraternity did something silly and tasteless and offended a significant (and powerful) segment of the campus community. Dartmouth found a way to punish that fraternity despite the fact that no pre-existing rule or code prohibited the fraternity's actions, and then President Wright and Dean Larimore drafted the letters that form the basis of the modern Dartmouth speech code as a warning against future offenders.

If Dartmouth respects free speech, it will not only repeal its speech code, but it will also re-recognize Zeta Psi. Four years of punishment in the absence of any violation of campus rules or regulations is enough.
Okay, so the College's lame arguments can be exhaustively refuted, and when they are, they are shown for what they really are: mere spin. But I must confess, I get very frustrated that these refutations are always necessary. Why does the College dig its heels in so? Why is Wright so hesitant to acknowledge the many ways in which expression -- edifying or otherwise -- can occur? Why do they insist on this facile distinction between conduct and speech? (Who's guilty of easy syllogisms now?)

Finally, why is the College so determined to punish a bunch of kids for silly but harmless jokes? (And please, please, nobody try to argue that the harm was psychological. Melissa Heaton -- the publication's main attraction -- took evident joy in her newfound celebrity. She went on The Today Show and spoke to any number of jouranlists. She told me personally that she relished the publicity. Melissa milked her fifteen minutes; it is simply false to say that anyone was harmed by this.)

Zywicki: Bankruptcy Reformer

Alumni Trustee petition candidate Todd Zywicki '88, a long-time supporter of reforming America's bankruptcy laws, was recently invited to the White House to watch President Bush sign the reform into law. As a specialist in contract law and bankruptcy, he's written about bankruptcy reform quite a few times.

Voting in the alumni Trustee election ends May 6.

Friday, April 22, 2005

'The Decline of Rhetoric'

The new issue of The Dartmouth Review is now online. In this issue:

Daily D Favors Free Speech

The Daily Dartmouth's editorial board today decried the Student Assembly's electoral regulations that restrict the electioneering not only of candidates but of their supporters.
In particular, the suspension of the campaign privileges of Paul Heintz '06 and Brian Martin '06 at a crucial moment in the election highlights problems with the overall feasibility of election regulation.
Speech needs less regulation, not more; restricting it does not make elections "fairer" by any stretch of the imagination.

Thursday, April 21, 2005

Chief Wah Hoo Says...

No Dartmouth Commencement is complete without a Dartmouth Indian cane. Pick one up at the Review's Indian Store and join more than 100 years of graduation tradition. Please contact President@DartReview.com for bulk purchase pricing for groups and organizations. Also, only 10 days remain in the April Indian shirt sale. All short-sleeve shirts marked down from $15 to $10 and long sleeve, $20 to $15. As one loyal reader put it, "pick up a cane and then, gripping firmly the smooth, rounded head of said cane, take part in graduation, which has attached to it more than 200 years of tradition[!]"

Responding to Donin

In a letter to the editor of the Daily Dartmouth, Michael Herman '07 picks apart College Counsel Robert Donin's recent op-ed, which claimed Dartmouth has no speech code.
These statements [from Wright and Larimore] demonstrate not only that Dartmouth has a speech code, but worse, that it has a speech code that came into being only after the incident and was then retroactively enforced. Since the speech code was not public prior to the incident, the school administrators had the power to make up whatever terms they wanted for the code. By imposing the code ex post facto, the dean and the president were able to punish students for speech they found offensive even though there was no way for those students to know ahead of time what speech would be punished.
Read the whole thing.

Libertarians and the Trustee Elections

Ed Naile of the Coalition of New Hampshire Taxpayers sends this email:
Since The Coalition of NH Taxpayers took matters into our own hands on April 1 we have assembled 150 ballots and sent them to the Alumni relations Office. They should arrive there tomorrow.

We used genuine NH Guest Receipts from a NH restaurant which we believe, after carefully reviewing our Bylaws, to be just as valid for voting in our Dartmouth Trustee Election as Dartmouth students Texas or Pennsylvania drivers licenses, Dartmouth ID cards, and letters from the Admissions Office are in NH elections for Governor and Congress.

Our favored candidates are Peter Robinson and Todd Wyniki. In fact, those two are the only Trustee Candidates to receive any Coalition votes. How about that!

In any case, we hope you will stop by the Alumni Relations Office about the time they get their mail and make sure our ballots are received. Obviously we plan on challenging any attempt at disqualifying our legitimate right to vote in NH elections even if we have to come back to Hanover next April 1 to claim our equitable rights.

Our good friend, Bud Fitch, at the NH Attorney General's Office seems to have a very broad, evolving, unique, amorphous, and vague interpretation of who can vote in NH which we are sure will include our ballots so it should not be a problem.
Naile was involved in the April 1 protest on the Green.

Those who are presently allowed to vote (Dartmouth alumni) can vote until May 6.

Wednesday, April 20, 2005

Riner '06 Wins Assembly Election

Noah Riner '06 has won the Student Assembly election and will serve as the body?s president for the coming year, the Elections Planning and Advisory Committee announced moments ago. Riner will succeed Julia Hildreth '05.

Riner narrowly defeated Paul Heintz '06 in the sixth round of voting, earning 1036 votes to Heintz?s 1007. After last year?s elections were decided by a single vote, the Assembly adopted instant runoff elections, in which voters rank their preferred candidates.

This year?s race pitted several long-time Assembly insiders against Heintz, who ran as an outsider. He hoped to emulate the success of Janos Marton '04, who used a similar anti-establishment and pro-fraternity platform to earn two consecutive terms as Assembly president.

Jeffrey Coleman '08 will serve as the Assembly?s vice president.

Meanwhile, Review contributor Danielle Thomas '07 was elected to a position on the Organizational Adjudication Committee.

Tuesday, April 19, 2005

Keep It

On the proposal of a shadowy, blitz-happy Publius.

This proposal is cute but impractical. My understanding of the assembly-- vague, admittedly-- is that it serves basically as a group of students with which the administration can interact, to 'represent' us as governments do. Now, suppose that we replace representative democracy with pure democracy. With whom will Wright, Larimore and company negotiate? (Surely not all decisions can be made in a public forum.) It won't be with all the students or even the most enthusiastic ones-- probably the ones they like the most or the ones that are most willing to suck up to them. Our de facto government will be just as sycophantic if not more. Our current system gives us choice, whereas that system would place the choice in the hands of higher ups. Apple-polishing and demagoguery will proliferate.

Next, crowds are dynamic, enthusiastic, and demanding but not particularly responsible. As easy as it is to laugh at the politicking that goes on at the SA, sitting in on meetings with uncooperative, dull, scary, ugly, stubborn administrators is time-consuming. It's far easier to just make a five minute statement at a town-hall meeting. Commitment to 'public service' keeps these people involved. The marginal amount of civic virtue that is found among our current SA representatives would be effaced by this proposal.

Finally, meetings are a fine way to administer a government if the citizens are sovereign. In a town, they are, more or less, so long as their decisions do not conflict with federal and state requirements. We are not-- the administrators have final say, with the exception of law. A town-hall meeting for a town makes sense because it places the deliberations-- which are significant and meaningful-- into the open. Student government has fiat about little. It can advise, condemn and beg but it basically has no leverage against Dartmouth's true government, except maybe causing a PR stir if it's brave enough. So, having this group, as ineffectual as it can seem, may actually be better than this proposed alternative.

If I have mischaracterized the Student Assembly, correct me-- with much flattery to mitigate the pain of your criticisms, please.

(I also noticed that someone-- the author of the proposal?-- has added a mention of his or her statement in the first paragraph of the Wikipedia entry on 'Town Meeting' today. So congratulations on making yourself Encyclopaedic-- it will go well with your web site.)

Students Against the Assembly

Nearly 73 percent of students support the abolition of the Student Assembly and its replacement with a town hall-style government. 270 students favor the Assembly's dissolution and 100 oppose it out of roughly 4,200 surveyed; results are not yet final.

The group organizing the survey plans to unveil a website this weekend.

Abolish Student Assembly?

The "Committee for the Abolition of Student Assembly," which like any good revolutionary group, uses Mozilla Thunderbird instead of the facist Microsoft Outlook for its e-mails, recently sent this message out to campus:
Date: Tue, 19 Apr 2005 19:15:30 -0400
From: Abolish SA
User-Agent: Mozilla Thunderbird 1.0.2 (Windows/20050317)
To: na@na.na
Subject: Abolish SA?

-=-=-=- ABOLISH STUDENT ASSEMBLY -=-=-=-

DO YOU THINK THAT STUDENT ASSEMBLY SHOULD BE ABOLISHED AND REPLACED WITH A TOWN MEETING?

PLEASE READ BELOW AND REPLY "YES" OR "NO" TO THIS BLITZ.

Did you know that towns as large as 25,000 people run themselves directly democratically?

With the SA elections happening at this very moment, the question of whether or not SA is a useful or necessary institution seems more relevant and important than ever.

Does an intelligent campus of roughly 4,200 students really need representatives, or can we represent ourselves?

The Committee for the Abolition of Student Assembly would like to know if you think that our representative student government, marred with internal disputes and absorbed with personal and organizational interests, should be replaced with a New England town meeting format.

What is a New England town meeting? If you would like an answer, follow this URL: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Town_Meeting

Benefits of a New England town meeting government:

- Direct democracy: you are in control
- Town meetings have nearly 400 years of history as proof of their effectiveness
- The student body takes responsibility for its own legislative successes and failures
- Every student can easily submit legislation
- Every student can easily vote
- Every student is considered a political equal
- No more big egos, no more r�sum� padding

The Committee for the Abolition of Student Assembly, if there is enough student support, would like to explore how, within the College's rules, SA can be replaced with a town meeting. This requires some planning and a great deal of student input; that's why we're asking you for your opinion.

If enough students reply to this blitz with their support, we'll dedicate our time and energy to finding out how to make it happen.

What Does a Body Good?

The only pertinent question: what's on the menu for dessert?

Subject: What is a "normal" body?
Date: 18 Apr 2005 21:09:08 EDT
From: Student.Health.Advisory.Committee@Dartmouth.EDU (Student Health Advisory Committee)

Join us for a discussion:
Tuesday Night Collis
212
7pm

What does the "normal" body at Dartmouth look like?
Do you have a Dartmouth Body?
Is there a "normal" body type at Dartmouth?
How do we differ from national standards?
Why?
How does it impact us?
Come with opinions, frustrations, experiences andperspectives on change.

Dessert will be served. (How scandalous!)

Election Bribery of Sorts

Supporters of Student Assembly presidential candidate Todd Golden '06 handed out candy and a small brochure in food court to promote their candidate. I know candidates are prohibited from negative campaigning and from sending emails with hidden recipients, but is bribery allowed? I couldn't find the EPAC rules online (in an admittedly cursory search).

Duplicitous D?

Staffers have come out of the woodwork to comment on the Student Assembly Presidential election (I didn't know Joe or Stethers used a computer), and, to continue the discussion, I'd like to present some selections from three recent Daily Dartmouth endorsements.

Three years ago, the Daily D endorsed Michael Perry '03, and, in the process, implicitly criticized the 'outsider' candidacy of Jamos Marton '04:
While other candidates would misdirect their energies toward unworkable structural reforms to the Student Assembly, Perry would spend his time bringing about tangible improvements to student life...this is not the time for a radical structural overhaul, which would likely have a negative impact given the Assembly's limited power.
The next year, however, it was Marton who was the 'insider,' and the Daily D changed its tune accordingly:
Janos Marton '04, the incumbent candidate for president of the Student Assembly, should be reelected. His successful efforts to implement small, targeted improvements reflect an important piece of knowledge gained through experience: that the Assembly cannot effect major changes on campus...The broad goals and outsider attitude with which Brett Theisen '05 is approaching this campaign are reminiscent of Marton's previous platform. Last year Marton vowed "Read my lips: no new committees," but to date the structure of the Assembly remains essentially unchanged.
Why then, this year, does the Daily D suddenly believe that outsider Paul Heintz '06 can fundamentally alter the role of the Assembly?
In light of widespread apathy with regard to the Assembly, a charismatic candidate who will advocate for change provides the best solution. Therefore we endorse Paul Heintz '06 for Student Body President...Heintz's outsider status will provide the Assembly with the jolt that it needs. Student Assembly's greatest failure is the lack of interest it inspires in the student body. Heintz has the spark and drive to overcome student apathy, wants to take charge and wants to rebuild the Assembly on the basis of greater campus inclusion...Furthermore, Heintz seems to have a grasp of "the vision thing."
As I wrote last night, I'm voting for Noah Riner '06, and, while I know many (include my colleagues) support Heintz, I'm wondering why the Daily D is among them.

Even More Missing Alumni Ballots

Another alumnus, from the Class of 1955, reports that he has not received a paper ballot. The Alumni Association promised paper ballots even to those who voted electronically.
I voted electronically, but have not recieved a paper ballot. Is the college trying to tell us something? Send your money, but don't interfere with what we do with it? I hope that there is an accounting of all the ballots, in the end, so that we can see what the vote spread and final totals are. Unless the process, which has taken on more controversy that in previous years, becomes transparent, there are many who will be disenchanted and disgruntled. Thanks for the ongoing chatter.
Update: Still another alumnus e-mails:
I am a '68 and have not yet received a paper ballot. I voted via the internet and hope my vote will count. How will we know? (I know that makes me sound like some sort of paranoid conspiracy theorist, but this does seem to be a pretty loose process.) [Name withheld]
In the 1980 election that put petition candidate John Steele '54, several votes were contested. Would that be possible today with online voting tabulated by a firm in Texas?

Alumni who have encountered any ballot problems are encouraged to write to the Dartlog editors.

More Assembly Hi-Jinx

A second Student Assembly presidential candidate, Brian Martin '06, has been censured by the Elections Planning and Advisory Committee for the actions of his supporters. His campaign has now been prohibited from using e-mail.
Date: 19 Apr 2005 01:45:27 -0400
From: Elections Planning and Advisory Committee
Subject: Violations

In the interest of full disclosure, EPAC posts violations of election rules on this bulletin.

There has been one campaign rule violation today.

Candidate: Brian Martin
Violation: A supporter sent out a blitz that included negative campaigning against another candidate.
Sanction: Suspension of Blitzing for the Duration of the Campaign Period (Tier Two)
This includes:
- no blitzes from candidate or supporters
- no blitz signatures from candidate or supporters

Heintz.

Gentlemen, I reccomend you cast your lots for Paul Heintz.

Granted, this sort of jazz--student 'government' and web-logging--is out of character for me, but, for purely pragmatic reasons, I hope Mr. Heintz wins. He's the only candidate who seems to realize both the limitations and the possibilities of a student assembly. It's a simple distinction, really, but one of which our late SA members seem ignorant.

The Student Assembly is, of course, a joke; it has all the legitimacy of the Cuban parliment, with only a fraction of the results. Still, with $80,000 to throw around, it could concievably impact student quality of life. Though, not by recycling failed transporation programs (Big Green Bikes, anyone?); not by whining about federal student-loan policies; not by wasting time (and probably money) on The Ivy Council--an organization whose only achievment is to have discovered a level of irrelevance surpassing even our own SA; and certainly not with that oh-so-dreadful of afflictions, 'big vision.' What's needed is small vision: more greenprint terminals and longer library hours are a splendid place to start.

As for Mr. Heintz's alleged checkered past, the last grown-up presidential election was a contest between a former alcoholic and a self-admitted war criminal. And as for his lack of experience, its a credit to the man that he hasn't a string of meaningless collegiate acronyms listed on his resume. Assuming that SA isn't structuraly flawed to the point of complete superfluity--however dubious that proposition might be--Joe is correct, over-motivated careerists plauge SA and lack of experience is, in this case, a virtue.

And Mr. Heintz, if you notice this, could you please do something to get actual butter in Food Court and Homeplate. The margarine is atrocious.

Christopher Dynamite

Student Assembly Vice Presidential candidate Chris Galiardo '06 takes a pagefrom Napoleon Dynamite.

Heintz Campaign Suspended

Hours before voting is set to begin, the Elections Planning and Advisory Committee has censured Paul Heintz '06, a candidate for Student Assembly President, for a series of campaign violations. EPAC's restrictions have all but ended his formal campaign.
Date: 18 Apr 2005 23:39:46 -0400
From: Elections Planning and Advisory Committee
Subject: Violations

In the interest of full disclosure, EPAC posts violations of election rules on this bulletin.

There were two campaign rule violations today.

Candidate: Paul Heintz
Violations: In one blitz, a supporter repressed a recipient list. In another blitz, a supporter engaged in negative campaigning against another candidate.
Sanction: Suspension of Campaign for the Duration of the Campaign Period (Tier Three)
- No blitzing by candidate or supporters
- No auto-replies about the campaign from candidate or supporters
- No signatures about the campaign from candidate or supporters
- No chalking by candidate or supporters
- No new posters (but current posters can stay up)
- No creation of a website
- No new campaign expenditures
- Verbal campaigning is still allowed

Call Me a Values Voter...

I'm casting my vote for Noah Riner '06. There are several compelling candidates in this year's race, as the differing opinions of our staff may attest, and I trust that any of the three mentioned positively in this space will at least attempt to combat the worst excesses of administrative policy, &c.

Why, then, throw my hat in the ring for Riner? While his platform is similar in many respects to that of Brian Martin '06 and Paul Heintz '06, I think Riner has distinguished himself by his character, a trait made all the more important by the Assembly's historic inefficacy. In the other words, if the actions of the SA are assumed to be irrelevant until proven otherwise, as has certainly been our historic position, the nature of the person serving as the most public student face of the College matters as much as, or more than, his policies.

Through both personal and professional association, Riner has distinguished himself to me as not only the best candidate in this regard but also as the most steadfast person on the Dartmouth campus. Compare to Martin, who was at the center of the Blitz terminal controversy (certainly a ridiculous incident, but one must still, I think, question his triggering and acceleration of it) and has proved somewhat belligerent during the campaign.

Compare in particular to Heintz, who has made relating to the average Dartmouth student the centerpiece of his campaign. The claim of his posters notwithstanding, Heintz's checkered history with the authorities-one that required a special ruling in order to even be on the ballot-is simply not representative of 'me' or, I would hope, most Dartmouth students. Arguing that familiarity with the student judicial process on account of these missteps will make him a better candidate, as he has done, is nothing more than claiming that inmates should run the asylum.

Riner served as SA Vice President two years ago and as a committee chair this year, which has led to some question his ability to be impactful as an 'insider.' To my mind, however, and particularly given SA's do-nothing reputation, it will be much easier for Riner to be effective given the strong relationships he's developed with alumni (particularly the Trustees), than it will be for Heintz, who has trumpeted his outsider status (i.e. inexperience).

Monday, April 18, 2005

News from Canada

The Canadian Press is running a rather unflattering profile of Gordon Campbell '70, who is the Liberal premier (head of the provincial government) of British Columbia.

For what it's worth.

Several correspondents have asked me which candidate I back for this year's Student Assembly president, and I've been more than content to keep my hands out of this. As I commented on the yawping last time around:

For a government that manages to be at once self-important and utterly irrelevant, the elections for the most part amounted to an unpopularity contest for Dartmouth's least-representative representatives.

Just so. And frankly I'd conclude that things have worsened, if that's humanly possible. The clutch of over-motivated careerists who dominate the S.A. go gamboling off with some eighty-grand of campus dues--that's more than most Americans earn a year, I'd add--and then devotes weeks to fantastically petty in-fighting over top-secret e-mail terminals. Come on.

But, for what it's worth,--I'd call Paul Heintz this year. In a most salient qualification, he's not associated with the S.A. Amazingly, this has led to the main violence of his opponents: he's not acceptable because he's never gotten bogged down in the S.A. tar-pits. So far as I'm concerned this is the precondition of a successful presidency. Who here remembers Molly B. Stutzman, the original campus celeb--

I don't think Heintz and I agree on a lick of politics; luckily, he's not standing for an actual political office. What's the worst he could do? Left-liberal programming on the new flat-screen monitors that are soon to replace our hopelessly old-fashioned bulletin-boards?

And there is more to life, thankfully, than just opinions. I know Heintz rather well and though we've often disagreed on much, I've always found him to be genial and gregarious, bright and intense and never dull. He is clearly part of Dartmouth's thriving culture of ideas. On the matters important to the enduring vitality of the College, Heintz is spot-on. That's it, you know.

Gingrich at Dartmouth

Newt Gingrich's two-day visit to New Hampshire, which includes a stop in Hanover tomorrow, is creating a buzz in the media regarding his potential candidacy for the 2008 presidential election. The former Speaker of the House will make a number of stops in the granite state, including one to meet with a Dartmouth class and the College Republicans. While Gingrich's aides claim he does not know whether or not he will run in 2008, his trip to Iowa next month seems to indicate that Gingrich is doing some strategic political thinking.

Still No Ballots for Some Alumni

A member of the Class of 2002, who asked to remain anonymous, tells us that he hasn't yet recieved his paper ballot for the alumni Trustee election, which was originally slated to end on Friday:
I still have not received any balloting materials from the college. The college definitely has my address, as I regularly receive the alumni magazine, newsletter, and lots of fundraising appeals, but no ballot. I have heard from many young alum friends that they are having the same experience. I voted electronically but because I wanted to make sure to get a vote in, but would have vastly preferred a paper ballot.
Voting is now slated to end May 6th. Any other alumni with similar experiences should contact the Dartlog editors.

Update: Another alumnus, from the Class of 1965, e-mails to tell us that "though I voted electronically on Day 1, they said I'd get a ballot, but I didn't." There seem to have been major problems with getting ballots out.

A New Spin on Free Speech

College Counsel Robert Donin defends Dartmouth's speech codes in today's Daily Dartmouth. In his article, he cites a recent comment by President James Wright (emphasis added):
"The Dean derecognized the fraternity because of the repeated publication of a newsletter that cruelly demeaned specific women on campus. This incident was about behavior, not speech -- the organization published articles describing the supposed sexual exploits of two undergraduate women who were identified by name."
In other words, students are allowed to think satirical thoughts about their friends, but they can be punished for writing these thoughts down.

Donin continues, writing that the vanished letters from President Wright and Dean of the College James Larimore, which appeared to set out a speech code, did not, in fact, set out a speech code:
Removed from the context of the Zeta Psi case, these comments might imply a broader regulation of expression. But the letters were prompted by, and addressed to, the specific case at hand. (Both letters were commenting on the decision already reached by Dean Martin Redman concerning Zeta Psi, rather than setting forth policies that led to that decision.) The assertion that the letters constituted official "policies" subjecting students to penalties for discriminatory or unpopular speech per se is incorrect.
Donin is right. There is no speech code per se. That is why, absent any formal policy regulating or permitting free expression, we can look only to the views of the administration.

If the administration is committed to free speech, why did President Wright say in his letter that "speech has consequences for which we must account" and that he does not believe free speech is more important than the "rights, feelings, and considerations of others?" (In fact, that portion of the letter was not about Zeta Psi, as Donin suggests, but about the Indian symbol.) Why did Dean Larimore say that "the rules and standards of our community" are more important than the right to "expressive conduct?" Why did he write that unregulated free expression would be "corrosive of the very idea of a residential college?"

Donin says these letters represent the views of President Wright and Dean Larimore alone and do not reflect policy. But, since Dartmouth students lack any formal commitment to free speech and since the administration routinely cracks down on "inappropriate" speech, it is unclear why the opinions of the College's top administrators and policy makers would be irrelevant.

The College applies this same rationale during its repeated attempts to censor The Dartmouth Review: students are free to hold whatever beliefs they like, but the College may place restriction on their dissemination.

Sunday, April 17, 2005

'They Can't Be Stingy With the money'

A recent series of articles in The New York Times Westchester section offers some insight into high school senior Franklin Ordonez's college search. He ranks 30th in his class of 285, and has been admitted to Syracuse, Bentley, George Washington, N.Y.U., and Dartmouth. While Syracuse offered the young businessman $32,000, G.W.U. and Dartmouth undercut that by nearly $7,000. The Times article explains:
Peggy Butkier, Mr. Ordo�ez's guidance counselor, persuaded him to ask Dartmouth for more money.

"I sent a yellow appeal paper," said Mr. Ordo�ez, but he added that he was not willing to accept the school's offer of a federal loan. "I don't want to pay interest. They got to give me more money, they can't be stingy with the money."
Franklin was turned down by Georgetown, UPenn, Harvard, and Cornell, and has decided, "I'm going to Dartmouth, whatever."

President Wright and the Ford Foundation

James Wright's letter endorsing a new Ford Foundation program to encourage academic freedom and free speech made headlines last week. Wright has recently been criticized by the Foundation for Individual Rights in Education and Trustee candidates Peter Robinson '79 and Todd Zywicki '88 for restricting free speech at Dartmouth.

Less noticed, however, were the details of the program that Wright endorsed. The Ford Foundation is calling for grant proposals "to address the potentially chilling effect of the 9/11 attacks, the Iraq war, and violence in the Middle East on academic dialogue." This may seem commendable, but in reality the Ford Foundation is one of the largest left-leaning philanthropic foundations in the country, providing large amounts of funding for the defense of racical preference programs.

Looks like yet another instance of free speech for those who agree with liberal academia, but not for dissenters.

Evangelicalism and the Bush Presidency.

Jeffrey Hart, Professor of English Emeritus, has a very good article today in the Pittsburgh Post Gazette. He argues that the Bush presidency is populist and radical, not conservative, and its policies are corrupted by the influence of Christian extremism. He traces the periodic 'awakenings' in American history--"sustained by no structure of ideas"--and their pernicious influence in the current administration.

If we recall Leo Strauss's formulation that "Athens and Jerusalem" -- science and spiritual aspiration -- are the core of Western civilization, American Evangelicalism is a threat to both, through ignorance of both.

Except for that major qualification, Evangelicalism would not matter much if it were a private superstition, a sort of hobby, except that the Evangelicalism of the Bush variety has real and often dangerous effects on the world in which the rest of us, and even they, live.


You can find the text here. This is important, I think.

More Missing Ballots

Some alumni have still not received their ballots for the Trustee election, Joe Malchow '08 reports. Balloting ends May 6th.

Any alumni who are missing ballots should contact the Dartlog editors: dartlog@dartreview.com

Saturday, April 16, 2005

Trustee Election in the Weekly Standard

An article in the next print edition of the Weekly Standard explains why alumni should support alumni Trustee petition candidates Peter Robinson '79 and Todd Zywicki '88. Voting continues until May 6th.

Friday, April 15, 2005

Student Assembly presidential race

A summary of this year's candidates for Student Assembly president:

Brian Martin '06 is a brother of Psi Upsilon with an unabashedly pro-Greek stance. He claims he can free up over $20,000 of the Assembly's budget, in part by cutting the inane Big Green Bikes program and similar monetary holes. He also has the advantage of being at odds with the current SA administration of Julia Hildreth '05. As for his plans on the diversity affairs committee... Nevertheless, with the most defined candidacy of any of the five, and an apparent desire to cut useless programs, Martin is the best candidate to emerge thus far.

Todd Golden '06, the current SA vice-president, has a few issues he's running on, such as teaching CPR to undergraduates and distributing students' rights cards (good) and support for Big Green Bikes (bad). However, he also appears to have a nasty penchant for wasting SA's money.

Mats Lemberger '06 is running a campaign based in part on his involvement with the annual Festival of Humanity, held Green Key weekend. Again, I haven't seen a website or a poster that clearly defines his platform--let me know if there?s anything.

Paul Heintz '06 is a brother at AD and is trying to fit into the pro-Greek insurgent candidate mold, a la Janos Marton '04 (who, indeed, supports Heintz). However, other than the fact that he's not happy with SA and that he's "fighting for students" (per his campaign poster), I haven't seen much in the way of concrete details (though please comment if I've missed something). The former president of the Young Dems (and an avid Deaniac), he also is the author of this charming article on campus politics.

Noah Riner '06, the vice-president for the 2003-2004 academic year, is by all accounts a very nice person, though his campaign manager, Jim Baehr '05, has some strange things to say about his candidate:

"I kept trying to encourage different female friends to run so I wouldn't have to support Noah, but sadly he's the best man for the job," Baehr said.

Riner has hyped his involvement in crew, but I haven't yet seen a defined platform.

Furstenberg's Ghost

The Daily Pennsylvanian claims that Penn values athletics more than Dartmouth does.

This sounds similar to the comments made by Yale football coach Jack Siedlecki:

"As a parent, it would certainly make me question sending my son or daughter to Dartmouth to be a student athlete."

Such criticisms can continue (to the detriment of Dartmouth's athletic prowess and campus community) until Dean Furstenberg resigns, is fired, or gives a more meaningful apology.

Boot and Rally

Stevie Starr, known popularly as "The Regurgitator," will visit the Collis Center again tonight on the College's tab. His annual act is simple: swallow something and spit it back up.

Thursday, April 14, 2005

Breaking into the Academy

Paul Mirengoff '71 follows up on The Review's editorial on intellectual diversity, saying that his proposed solution may not be so easy:
Without disagreeing with Michael's solution, we should remember that, in collecting talent, conservative think tanks took advantage of the fact that twenty years ago colleges were inhospitable to rising conservative academics. Today they are even less hospitable. Thus, while conservatives who are just passing through college may not be seriously short-changed by the status quo, the same probably is not true for those who are thinking about sticking around.

Big Green Bus

Several students from Dartmouth's club ultimate frisbee team have begun work on an environmentally friendly bus powered by used vegetable oil. They have posted a video showing their efforts.

With luck, the contraption will prove more reliable than Dennis Kucinich's bio-diesel van.

Webster Ave. Electrical Upgrade

This explains why power lines have been strung above ground for several days in front of several fraternities.
Date: 14 Apr 2005 11:45:55 -0400
From: Charles P. Clark
Subject: Webster Ave Power Outage

Granite State Electric is cutting power to a number of Houses along Webster Ave in order to replace failing under ground Power Lines.
This will take place this afternoon for couple hrs.

Wednesday, April 13, 2005

2005-06 Hockey Schedule Released

Quinnipiac joins the ECAC by replacing UVM (who is leaving for Hockey East), and with the Bobcats comes a change in travel partners. Dartmouth is now paired with arch-nemesis Harvard, while Brown is paired with Yale and Quinnipiac will travel with Princeton.

Schedule highlights:
Season opener @Harvard on October 29th
Boston U. comes to Hanover on December 10th
Battle for the Riverstone with UNH on January 14th in Manchester. (Note it is a Saturday rather than the midweek matchup of previous years).

Lowlights:
The home Harvard game is December 17th. With students on break, one of the most anticipated matchups of the year will go unseen by most.

Sacred Heart and Holy Cross on January 20/21. Blame these games on Harvard's idiotic academic schedule. While 90% of the country is playing conference games, Dartmouth is forced to schedule whoever they can find to fill the dates because Harvard cannot play during exams, which take place roughly six weeks after the semester ends.

Full schedule can be found here (PDF format)

Night to be Retaken Again

Coordinated by the College's professional feminists, Dartmouth students will "take back the night" this Friday. The night was also retaken last year (and the year before, and the year before, and the year before). Decrying unreported rape, the event usually features speeches condemning all things male.

At the Dartmouth Trustee voting site

I haven't received an e-mail or seen a press release about this, but:

IMPORTANT UPDATE-The Voting Deadline has been extended to May 6, 2005

Election Rules Violation - X

Vote for Robinson and Zywicki.

(And if you haven't yet, note that balloting has officially been extended. The final date is no longer April 22nd, but May 6th.)

Azar '88 to Help Run HHS

President Bush has nominated Alex Azar '88 to be the new Deputy Secretary of Health and Human Services. Azar, currently general counsel for HHS, has also clerked for Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia

Beck on Intellectual Diversity

National Review Online has published an article by Stefan Beck '04 on the need for intellectual diversity on college campuses. Beck bases much of the piece on his experiences at Dartmouth, where he said conservatives were often more willing to engage in genuine debate.
The second phenomenon I observed was the array of weak responses from our left-wing peers: frustration, pique, speechless outrage, even anonymous pre-dawn raids of vandalism and theft on our offices.

What I rarely saw was calm, persuasive, and informed reaction to conservative ideas. Two weeks prior to "Shock and Awe," at an "open-mic discussion" (read: anti-war bongo jam), I saw the best minds of Dartmouth's progressive Free Press destroyed by such verbal bunker-busters as "What do you mean by imperialism?" I saw the same dunderheaded hipsters, starved for approval, looking to their radical "Peace Studies" clerics for the answers.
He concludes by saying that there is a need for more conservative professors, but not through state-mandated management of "dissent" or "balanced viewpoints." Indeed, Beck says that conservative students should regard their interactions with campus liberals as a rite of passage which can only make them stronger.

Wanted: VP of Alumni Relations

A College committee is searching for a man to replace Vice President for Alumni Relations Stanley Colla '66. Colla has held his position for twelve years.

Election Rules Violation — IX

Susan Ackerman '80 is not the only faculty member advocating against the petition candidates in violation of election regulations. The Review has learned that Geography Professor Richard Wright has also been circulating emails disparaging Peter Robsinson '79 and Todd Zywicki '88 while encouraging alumni to vote on the behalf of the Alumni Council nominees. Wright specializes in "immigration, race, racism, urban geography, and transnationalism," and served as Associate Dean of the Faculty for Social Sciences from 2001 to 2003.

Wright is also the head of the Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship Program, whose stated goal is to "increase the number of minority students, and others with a demonstrated commitment to eradicating racial disparities, who will pursue PhDs and subsequent careers in higher education in core fields in the arts and sciences."

[Ackerman's email, which was attached to Wright's orginial message, has been removed]
--- Forwarded Message from Richard Wright ---

Dear friends
We live in parlous times and two extremist Review-types are serious contenders for the 2 slots on the Board of Trustees this year. The Board is powerful and I suspect that Need Blind Admissions, the MMUF program, and other aspects of this place near and dear to our hearts will come under fire if these two get on. What I can guarantee is that with TJ Rodgers already on the board, the addition of two other right wing ideologues WILL affect the choice of the next President. Someone way more scary than Larry Summers could get the nod with vocal Review-types in seats of power. [emphasis added]
Susan Ackerman is an alum and a Professor of Religion at Dartmouth. Vote and please pass on Susan's email to any and all friends of ours who have a vote.
thanks
r
ps please note -- your most effective vote is for ALL FOUR Alumni Council nominees

A Desperate 'Plea for Help'

Aaron Schlosser '07, the student behind the parody site Fartlog, is quite the activist. According to an article he wrote, he opposes such things as the middle class, pool parties, suburbs, vacation spots, unfamiliar people, free markets and green lawns.

Schlosser is a "sensitive young man" committed to preventing "ecocide," according to a comment.

Fence Removed

The fence blocking access from Webster Avenue to Tuck Mall and the rest of campus has been scaled back. Specifically, the portion between Zeta Psi and Alpha Xi Delta has been removed. The removal restores a shortcut to campus, allowing students living on frat row to forgo the long walk down Webster Avenue.

Tuesday, April 12, 2005

Defending the Petition Candidates

The Neophyte, posting on Voices in the Wilderness, defends alumni Trustee petition candidates Peter Robinson '79 and Todd Zywicki '88 and their charge that Dartmouth is becoming too much like a university.
It used to be that for their four undergraduate years, students who attended Dartmouth were given the chance of a lifetime- to live and learn amongst their peers, without having to compete for resources with grad students and administrative beaurocracy- in short, to do everything Mr. Bydon espouses. And those four years are what Dartmouth, simply, should return to being all about.

Malchow's Newest Venture

Joe Malchow '08, the freshman behind Dartblog, has started up The Editorial Board, "a bustling forum for news, conservative and moderate opinion, and witty banter. And all from a collegiate perspective!" Contributors include Malchow and Robert Butts '06 from Dartmouth, plus writers from various other schools.

A Comedy of Errors

There are countless varieties of humor in the world, but it seems most can be boiled down to two broad categories--that which is intended and that which is unintended. An example of the former is sophomore Aaron Schlosser's delightfully satirical website Fartlog, which, as you may guess from its eponymous name, is a spoof of this website and The Dartmouth Review. The humor is sharp and the rhetoric witty--though it doesn't touch the time the Harvard Lampoon, back in the '90s, I think, published a perfect replica of TDR and distributed it in Hanover. (If anyone can hunt that issue down in the archives, you'll be rolling on the floor for quite a while.)

And then there's the unintended type of humor, which Abe Clayman '07 so graciously offers up in today's D. Some of you may have noticed I lit into Kapil Kale '07 a few days ago for publishing an editorial that was pretty lame, at best. But Kapil had one thing working in his favor: I could at least understand his argument, even if it was anodyne, muddled, and, well, flat out wrong. (He's since backtracked, grasped for straws, and come up short--but I'll leave that for another day.)

Anywho, as I read Abe's editorial I kept trying to figure out if he suffered from some malignancy that caused his synapses to fire out of order, thus creating the strange amalgam of sentence fragments intended, I think, to make an anti-Bush argument. Nathaniel mentioned below that he was speechless while reading the column. So was I--because I was laughing too hard.

If you want a wholesale destruction of the piece, check Emmett's bit in the comments section under Nat's post. But I think Emmett has erred by responding. People like Abe shouldn't be taken seriously--not, at least, until he has a rudimentary understanding of the subjects he addresses, and can figure out how the English language works. People like Abe should instead be laughed off the stage.

Since the subject of this post is humor, perhaps a contest is in order. I recall a good one to come up with the best, by which I meant worst, headline from the D. Let's do something similar: In two sentences or less, what was the D's op-ed editor thinking when he decided to publish Abe's piece? Post in comments, and the winner, as determined by me, can try to convince TDR president Kevin Hudak or editor in chief Michael Ellis to give him an Indian T-shirt.

I'll kick it off:

"Well, I'd really like to publish the next installment in R. Lance Martin's incisive series entitled "Mock Conversations You Might Have Heard on Saturday Night at the Fro-Yo Machine," but I'm afraid his second part is just a little weaker than the first--oh, wait, what's this on the floor? It looks like it's in English..."

(Does anyone recall what we crowned winner in the D headline contest?)

Different Election, Same Inanity

The Student Assembly maintains oppressive election rules just as inane as those governing the alumni Trustee elections. Candidates and their supporters, for example, are prohibited from sending campaign emails with recipient lists suppressed. So far, two candidates have already been censured for their supporters' "illegal" speech.

Pink Dartmouth Sweatshirts

The 2005 class council is selling pink Dartmouth sweatshirts to raise money. Real Dartmouth sweatshirts are available at the TDR store.

It's America's Fault, or Something

I am at a loss for words.

Calling All Buzzflooders

Nationally renowned columnist George F. Will writes about Patrick Byrne '85 in his latest op-ed. Byrne has been pitching the novel idea of requiring school districts to spend 65% of their funding on classroom instruction. Not surprisingly, the education bureaucracy and teachers' unions are opposed to the plan.

Monday, April 11, 2005

More Electioneering

Geoff Berlin '84 is again using an official Class of 1984 email address to push the anti-petition candidate agenda of College-tied Alumni for a Strong Dartmouth, as Voices in the Wilderness reports. He sent the following email to an alumni list presumably acquired from the alumni relations office.
From: Geoff Berlin [mailto:geoff@dartmouth84.org]
Sent: Monday, April 11, 2005 11:19 AM
To: @Alum.Dartmouth.ORG
Subject: Alumni for a Strong Dartmouth

Dear ,

It's not too late to get out the vote for the alumni trustee elections...Dartmouth needs your help now!

I'm working with a group of concerned alumni who remain supportive of the College and would like to ensure that responsible leadership remains on the Board of Trustees.

Please check out the platform for ALUMNI FOR A STRONG DARTMOUTH at:

http://strongdartmouth.org/

If you share our point of view, please Sign Up and spread the word to other alumni.

This is very important for Dartmouth. Much thanks for your support!

Best regards,

Geoff Berlin '84
Does the Class of 1984 leadership approve of him campaigning this way using its resources?

Assembly Favors Higher Tuition

According to a report in today's Daily D, the Student Assembly has passed a resolution encouraging the federal government to drive up the cost of education with increased subsidies. Fortunately, the consortium of Ivy League student governments known as the Ivy Council declined to approve the measure.

Dartmouth Goldwater Recipients

Two Dartmouth students, Bart Butler '06 and Emma Lubin '06, were recently named Goldwater Scholars. A bit of background on the prestigious awards, which support undergraduate excellence in science, mathematics, and engineering, can be found here.

Congratulations to them both.

Dartmouth Figure Skating Repeats

The Dartmouth club figure skating team won its second consecutive national championship (blurb at bottom of page) last weekend, destroying runner-up Delaware 109-59.

A Research University?

The College should give up any pretense at being an undergraduate-focused institution and become a research university, Mohamad Bydon '02 writes in an op-ed in today's Daily Dartmouth. To achieve these ends, he concludes, alumni should vote against Trustee petition candidates Peter Robinson '79 and Todd Zywicki '88.
Those who talk about Dartmouth's mission as an undergraduate institution forget that the College has the nation's fourth oldest medical school, the oldest school of engineering and world's first graduate school of business. Recently, important research on cervical cancer and cognitive learning has emerged from Dartmouth's graduate programs. Dartmouth is currently in a state of transition: Over the past few years, the College has seen research funding increase from less than $100 million to over $200 million. The efforts of some alumni to resist this trend have been well-intentioned but misguided. Research does not threaten the undergraduate experience at a university. It merely enhances it. . . .

Undergraduates at Dartmouth are truly fortunate, but they receive no better an education than their counterparts at research-oriented universities like Stanford or Princeton. Dartmouth would be well-served to increase the size of its faculty (so that students can benefit from smaller classrooms), to invest significantly in the Life Sciences, and to make available to its students the opportunity to be involved in cutting-edge research. For these things to become priorities, Dartmouth's alumni need to vote and they need to reject the candidacies of Zywicki and Robinson.
Presumably, then, those who support the College's undergraduate mission would vote for Robinson and Zywicki. Voting in the Trustee election ends April 22nd.

Sunday, April 10, 2005

The New Corporate Order

The influence of the Ivy League on American upper management is declining.

Eisenhower on Free Speech

Speaking at Dartmouth's Commencement exercises in 1953, President Dwight Eisenhower had this to say about openness to ideas you disagree with:
Don't join the book-burners.

Don't think you're going to conceal faults by concealing evidence that they ever existed. Don't be afraid to go in your library and read every book, as long as any document does not offend our own ideas of decency. That should be the only censorship.

How will we defeat communism unless we know what it is, what it teaches, and why does it have such an appeal for men, why are so many people swearing allegiance to it? It's almost a religion, albeit one of the nether regions.

And we have got to fight it with something better, not try to conceal the thinking of our own people. They are part of America. And even if they think ideas that are contrary to ours, their right to say them, their right to record them, and their right to have them at places where they're accessible to others is unquestioned, or it's not America.
Some of today's Dartmouth faculty should follow his advice.

A recording of the speech, in MP3 format, is available on the Class of 1953 website.

'If I Were a Lesbian, Don't You Think I Would Have Gone to a Women's College?'

The Union-Leader talks to Gina Barreca '79, one the first women admitted to the College, about the early years of co-education

Saturday, April 09, 2005

Humor in the Trustee Election

Scott Johnson '73 writes at Powerline that the alumni behind Alumni Asking WTF "have a better sense of humor" than do those who run Alumni for a Strong Dartmouth.

Roomies

Kevin Pedersen '05 pokes fun at The Review's coverage of the alumni Trustee election in his Daily Dartmouth cartoon.

Zywicki: Lack of Diversity 'Unsurprising'

Alumni Trustee petition candidate Todd Zywicki '88 has this to say on The Review's recent study finding that Democrats outnumber Republicans at Dartmouth 12.5 to one: "the results are unsurprising." (Via Instapundit.)

Meanwhile, Adam Gurri from George Mason University writes that the study is in line with The Review's history as a campus watchdog.

Dickey Director: 'No Doubt' About Warming

Human-caused global warming is an incontrovertible fact, Dickey Center director Kenneth Yalowitz said. "The scientific facts are no longer in doubt," he wrote in the institute's Crossroads newsletter. "Global warming is happening in the Arctic and northern regions and humans play a role."

Yalowitz himself doesn't seem too certain of the facts. He qualifies his firm opening statement with the note that, "I am not a scientist, but the evidence seems clear" (emphasis added).

Considerable doubt does, in fact, exist. Bjorn Lomborg, for example, challenges the alarmist view of global warming in his widely-regarded Skeptical Environmentalist.

Oh really?

In an April 5th speech here in New York, President Wright said, "The criticism that Dartmouth has a 'speech code' derives from the position taken by the interest group FIRE, which bases its 'red light' designation on a single letter I wrote following the Zeta Psi incident four years ago."

He seems, conveniently, to have forgotten that FIRE wrote a scathing letter to him regarding the shameful attempts to ban door-to-door delivery of campus newspapers. Maybe he forgot because his minions in the legal department wrote the milquetoast response, citing an over-riding "desire to reduce litter" in the dormitories.

Friday, April 08, 2005

Latest Dartmouth Review Now Online

Today's edition of The Dartmouth Review is now available online.

In this issue:
Look for the print on campus tonight.

That Ol' College Try

Kapil Kale '07 made a feeble attempt in yesterday's D to explain the presence of liberal bias among the professoratti. Feeble, I say, because he relied on words of wisdom he obviously cribbed from his Sociology 101 class explaining the strong correlation "between years of education and liberal political preference":
One of the first lessons taught in American government classes is that there is a strong correlation between years of education and liberal political preference. Education forces people to open their mind [Their collective mind? How Jungian!] to new ideas and ways of thought, encourages reasoned thought and fosters social awareness--tenets central to the philosophy of the Democratic party. . .Education inherently discourages belief in a just world [omitted part explains that Republicans base their beliefs on the "just-world bias"] by directly expanding the mind by teaching new perspectives and paradigms of though, essentially putting students in the shoes of others.
In other words, Kapil cuddles up to the stale belief that those of us who voted for Bush are less-educated; we haven't had our minds exanded; we must adhere to antiquated paradigms and perspectives; Well...

In the 2004 election, the Pew Research Center found the following for party group identification:
Republican Democrat
Below HS Grad21% 40%
HS Grad 28% 33%
Some College32% 31%
College Degree+33% 32%

Voting patterns for the 2004 election:
(% of total) Bush (%gain from 2000) Kerry
No HS (4) 49 (10)50
HS Grad (22) 52 (3) 47
Some College (32)54 (3) 46
College (26) 52 (1) 46
Post Grad (16) 44 (0) 55

These numbers obviously put a bit of a crimp in Kapil's argument, especially the relative sizes of the various factions. But let's complicate matters further with this analysis (down the page quite a ways) of education and race from the 2002 mid-term House elections:
(% of total) GOP Share
White
No HS (3) 53%
HS Grad (22) 56%
Some College (30) 61%
College Grad (26) 63%
Some Postgrad (20) 54%
Black
No HS (7) 2%
HS Grad (25) 4%
Some College (38) 10%
College Grad (22) 16%
Some Postgrad (8) 19%
Hispanic
No HS (14) 27%
HS Grad (22) 31%
Some College (35) 35%
College Grad (18) 55%
Some Postgrad (11)40%

What's this I see!? As blacks become more educated a larger portion votes for the GOP!? And the same for Hispanics, until they reach the post-grad level!? Might wanna grab your eraser and return to the drawming board, Kapil.

He is right on one point: The liberal bias on campus is due in large part to self-selection. But his assertion that the correlation--which, according to these numbers, is certainly not "strong"--between education and political stripe has to do with fundamental changes wrought in the psyche, the expansion of the mind, as it were, is ridiculous. One of the first things taught in American government classes is that correlation does not mean causation.

Kapil's screed is just another instance of a pie-in-the-sky liberal talking down to Republicans and conservatives with little or no factual basis. Just another attempt to feel better about the bruising losses Democrats have suffered the last few elections at the hands of those of us mired in our ancient world beliefs. We Republicans just can't put ourselves in others' shoes, dammit, but somehow we manage to keep winning!

There are other aspects of the piece to be criticized--its stilted prose, the bits lifted from Krugman as Nathaniel notes in an earlier post, the pathetic appeal to authority ("as an ethnic minority in the greater society of America, I grant that..."), the failure to have even the most basic understanding of conservatism or Republicans ("...the central beliefs of the Republican party often are based on faith and sources other than accepted fact"), & co.--but such drivelling inanity deserves no more of my time.

Well, maybe just a little. Kapil closes with this gem: "If conservatives want to regain the support of academia, the Republican party itself will have to shift." Tell you what, Kapil, we'll happily cede academia if you let us keep control of the House, the Senate, the Presidency, and the state governorships.

Thursday, April 07, 2005

Overheard on the Green

Two students bellyached to one another that Dartmouth is flying the American flag at half staff in memory of Pope John Paul II. They apparently believed it a violation of the separation of church and state to show respect for the dead.

They then complained that President Bush has traveled to Rome to pay his respects, arguing that his "theocratic" beliefs alone prompted him to join 114 world political and religious leaders of all faiths.

Wireless Upgrade Leads to Outages

Recent upgrades to Dartmouth's wireless computer network have resulted in intermittent outages in various places on campus. Representatives of Computing Services said the problems stem from the switch from Cisco wireless routers to Aruba routers, which will ultimately allow faster connections.

Students reported problems connecting to the wireless network in the Gold Cost dormitories, in the Collis Center and in parts of Berry Library.

Daily Dartmouth Errata

Some observations about today's Daily Dartmouth:

So Which Is It?--Reporter Rebekah Rombom '08 did not question the contradiction between College President James Wright's statement that students can speak freely and his endorsement of the speech code. Wright told the Daily D that Dartmouth has no speech codes: "I'm not aware of anyone [here] that thinks they can't speak freely." (The College has routinely sought to censor The Dartmouth Review.) Wright further said he would not retract his statement that "speech has consequences for which we must account," and he stood by his argument that students lack "'rights' [which] trump the rights, feelings, and considerations of others."

No Credit Where It's Due--The Daily Dartmouth today runs several stories about academic diversity, an important issue the paper has rarely covered in any depth. In one of these articles, about Daniel Klein's lecture on the lack of Republicans on university faculties, reporter Kristen Kelley '06 neglected to mention that The Review sponsored the event.

The Non-Partisan Political Group--
In response to the 2004 presidential election, several students spearheaded the creation of Dartmouth For Democracy, a self-described non-partisan group designed to train students interested in gaining necessary skills to run grassroots campaigns. ... Dartmouth for Democracy is a local chapter of Howard Dean's Democracy for America, an organization he started following his unsuccessful presidential primary campaign.
Self-Evident--Jennifer Garfinkel '08 notes something important about Dartmouth, in an otherwise unclear sentence about the Deaniacs: "Dartmouth College is among the first institutions in the country, and is the first school in the Ivy League to start a chapter."

Coincidence?--Kapil Kale '07 wrote an op-ed on academic diversity which closely resembles former Enron adviser Paul Krugman's self-righteous column in Tuesday's New York Times, as Joe Malchow '08 notes.

There Are Probably Legal Problems Too--Mat Brown '05 complains that a recent article in the Daily D did not "give a concrete explanation of the 'political' problems faced by sexual assault advocates."

Is 'Drill' Something You Can Teach to Italians?--The newspaper's floater photo features this convoluted caption: "Sarah Overton '07 teaches drill to Italian students outside Dartmouth Hall Wednesday as Hanover enjoys warm weather."

'Unconstitutional'

The Dartmouth Civil Liberties Union tonight will show "Unconstitutional," a film produced by liberal activist Robert Greenwald about (what else?) the PATRIOT Act. Greenwald has produced a series of partisan niche "films" in the past several years: "Uncovered," a liberal flick decrying the Iraq war; "Outfoxed," a rather predictable production about how Fox News is taking America back into the stone age; and "Unprecedented," about how Republicans are undermining democracy.

Wednesday, April 06, 2005

TDR on NRO

National Review national political reporter John Miller notes that The Dartmouth Review, through the Collegiate Network, has been one of the recipients of support from the soon-to-be-defunct John M. Olin Foundation.

In his retrospective on the philanthropic organization, Miller writes that "the foundation is closing down, according to the wishes of its benefactor, the industrialist John M. Olin (1892-1982). He stipulated that rather than exist in perpetuity, his foundation would spend all of its assets within a generation of his death."

Other recipients of the foundation's largesse over the years include the law-and-economics programs at several leading universities, the Federalist Society, and cultural critics Allan Bloom, Francis Fukuyama, and former TDR editor-in-chief Dinesh D'Souza '83.

Student Assembly Enters Trustee Fray

The Student Assembly's Alumni Affairs Committee submitted questionnaires to the six alumni Trustee candidates, asking their positions on free speech, room searches, athletics, fraternities, class size and other important issues. So far, Sheila Cheston '80, petition candidate Peter Robinson '79, Curtis Welling '71 and petition candidate Todd Zywicki '88 have posted their replies.

Both Robinson and Zywicki come out swinging in favor of free speech. Robinson, in particular, attacks President James Wright's statement that "Dartmouth has no speech codes":
As a trustee myself, I would refuse to accept any mere form of words like that President Wright offered at Convocation. The administration must instead take action, rescinding all infringements on freedom of speech while promoting a climate in which every man or woman on campus feels genuinely at liberty to speak his or her mind.
Read all the statements.