Thursday, August 26, 2004

Women's hockey news

Current and former Dartmouth players are gathering in Lake Placid for the U-22 tournament. The Article on the unofficial reunion from Monday's Valley News was written by a Dartmouth alum, Elliot Olshansky '04.

A former Reviewer in the news

Former Review Editor-in-Chief Andrew Grossman '02 has co-authored an op-ed in Thursday's USA Today on statistical methods used to calculate employment.

Wednesday, August 25, 2004

Dartmouth President Emeritus McLaughlin Dead

An e-mail from current President James Wright announced the sad news. More will undoubtedly follow, but our condolences to the family.

Dear Friends,

It is with deep sadness that I write to inform you of the passing of David T. McLaughlin, (Class of 1954 and Tuck 1955), the 14th President of Dartmouth and a valued friend and colleague to many of us in the Dartmouth family. He died this morning while on a fishing trip in Alaska with his sons Bill and Jay and some Dartmouth classmates and friends.Mr. McLaughlin dedicated so much of his life and considerable energy to Dartmouth and its people. Truly a citizen of the world, he distinguished himself as a student, an athlete, a businessman, a trustee, and ultimately as president. We have lost a good friend of many years. His life was full, and, in the end, too short.I have extended our condolences to Mrs. McLaughlin, and we are working on arrangements for a service and a full obituary to recognize his many contributions. We will share that information as soon as possible. Meanwhile, I know you join me in having Judy McLaughlin and the McLaughlin family in your thoughts and prayers.

Sincerely,
James Wright

Tuesday, August 24, 2004

Reviewer takes on censorship

In a letter in the Daily Dartmouth, Daniel Linsalata '07 denounces recent calls for internet filters in the College libraries.

New campus political journal

Today's Daily D describes a new campus publication, the Dartmouth Independent, which seeks to present both liberal and conservative points of view in a point-counterpoint format. According to the D, the two sophomore founders will appeal to centrists by presenting both liberal and conservative ideas. Seeing multiple facets of an issue, though, is not unique to centrist newspapers; it is, in fact, a tenet central to journalism. The D did not publish comments from representatives of existing publications, including The Review, the liberal College-funded Free Press or the non-partisan Dartmouth Contemporary, a newspaper reporter Matthew Abbott '06 entirely neglected to mention.

The Fuller Audit and Redman's email

Another reason Greek organizations may be suffering low occupancy is the so-called Fuller Audit, a College-funded examination on the physical plants of fraternities and sororities that required houses to undergo extensive renovations by 2008. This audit—which included even such frivolous details as the accessibility of fire alarm pull-stations—is costing many houses hundreds of thousands or even millions of dollars, forcing them to raise their rents and dues to pay for it, even as insurance rates rise astronomically. The rent at Greek organizations, already mandated to be 80 percent of College rooming fees and in many cases much more, may be a large factor in students' decision to live on campus.

Friday, August 20, 2004

Redman

Check out this blitz he sent:


Good day to all.


I am writing to let you know of a problem confronting both the College and CFS system. All of you should be aware of our historic issues regarding lack of undergraduate housing. While the College is engaged in the permitting process with Hanover and completing final construction documents for new residence halls, those facilities will not open for several years.


Normally, we have been able to accommodate those who remain on our housing wait list by the time classes start. I am sorry to say that at this point on August 20 I am very nervous about our ability to do that. Let me explain why.


For comparison purposes, last summer (03) on August 15 we had 51 students on the wait list and were able to accommodate them by opening day. This summer (04) on August 15, 110 students remain on the wait list. I do not believe that an additional 50-60 students based upon last years information will decide to change their D Plan to something other than being in Hanover between now and opening day.


I have tried to understand where the increased demand has come from. While there are multiple explanations I could provide one is a hard fact that is not easy to ignore. In the summer of 2003 within the greek system all but a few houses were filled to at least their minimum capacity and many were at their maximum capacity. As of today, the greek system as a whole is 46 students short of meeting minimum capacity figures. At the same time many of the organizations who are below their minimun capacity have members residing in the residence halls. Some may be UGA's but most are not.


I have several greek organziations that are not even at 50% occupancy. About half a dozen with 4 to 7 vacancies and many who have one or two vacancies to fill to reach minimum. Only six organizations are at their minimum number or above.


I believe this is a shared issue for several reasons:


1. All of those on the wait list are rising sophomores. The very ones that we intend to participate in rush and join our organizations in October. If they cannot secure housing, they will not be here to participate in rush in the fall and we all will suffer.


2. If the vacancies persist and I was one of these students, I would not be highly inclined to join a greek organization that had members who could fill their house but did not. The student and their family would look at it that the CFS student took away the space I should have had since I did not have other options.


3. Finally, there is the financial impact. If houses do not meet minimum in the fall it will undoubtedly have an impact the organizations budget. The only way I can imagine to cover the operational costs is to increase dues to all members or to divert existing funds to purposes they were not originally intended for. Less social to pay the taxes for example. In addition, some of these orgainzations are in the process of applying for loans to complete fuller audit work. Those groups are using income from rents to cover the debt. Those applications so far have been based on at least meeting minimum capacity. I can only speak for myself, but I would be hard pressed to approve a loan when at the time of application the revenue expectations to meet the loan obligation cannot be met.


Those are the facts and my opinions.


I am requesting your assistance to help me with this situation. For those groups who have not meet their minimum capacity obligations I ask you to fill those spaces. In order to fill the spaces so that I can accommodate those sophomores on the wait list, you must fill those spaces with students who have an R in the D Plan for fall term and who are currently assigned to traditional residence hall. Bringing people in from off campus does not help me one bit. Housing students who are on a leave term does not help me one bit. If you are to be helpful I need to be able to assign the wait list students to the residence halls hence people moving into your facilities need to come from the residence halls.


Please contact Alison Harmon in the Housing Office to get current information regarding you occupancy. You can email her on campus or call the housing office at 603-646-3089. I shared this information with the CFS advisors who attended Wednesday evenings quarterly meeting. I told them that I would be sending out this note to all. At our next advisors quarterly meeting I anticpate discussing why this situation is different than in the past and what we collectively can do about it.


I apologize for the the terse nature of this note. On our part I am actively engaged in trying to rent local housing and converting lounges to bedspaces for maybe 45 to 50 students. Our offices here have been as creative as we can be to meet the sophomores need. The only avenue I have remaining to me is to encourage you to meet your minimum capacity obligation as outlined in the CFS Policies and Recognition documents.


I will be happy to answer any general questions and Alison can answer specific capacity versus occupancy numbers.


Martin Redman

Dean of Residential Life


I have a few other suggestions, which Redman is sure to love:


  • Let students live in Zete.


  • Let sophomores live in the fraternities in the Fall, when they are at the greatest disadvantage from a housing standpoint.


  • Don't insult the frats' intelligence by justifying this request by saying that prospective brothers might not rush because they didn't have a full house, among other things.


Don't a lot of houses, especially the nationals, already pull their brothers in at the last minute? When I was an undergrad, I had a friend who de-pledged AZD because they tried to force her to live there and she was the manager of the football team, which meant she had to be up at four every morning, and living in a sorority house just isn't conducive to that. I also remember my house losing a boarder because Psi U forced him to live there.


I feel bad for the kids who aren't going to get housing, but I wish the Administration would take a little more responsibility for this whole mess.


When they admitted the Class of 2005, it was the biggest class ever. It was so big, in fact, that they had to offer $5000 to get more students to defer, and then build the Tree Houses. Now the 05s are seniors, and they all have to be in residence this fall, so the 07s are screwed.


And now they want the frats to bail them out.

For Rago, who hates Dr. Seuss

Somehow, pictures of a threesome between the Cat-in-the-Hat, the Grinch, and Cindy-Lou Who might be a good way to extort 2.5 million from Geisel's '20 widow. Insert additional jokes here.

Thursday, August 19, 2004

Debating Nothing

In another seminal piece in today's Daily D, guest contributor Patrick Mattimore '72, in an op-ed piece, rants against legacy admissions. Not only does he spend the first half of the article raving against George Bush for some slightly-relevant reason, but he finishes up with inspiring conclusion: "I have no intention of debating the merits of either side's arguments." This statement comes, of course, after a laundry-list of arguments for and against various types of admissions preferences, and still fails to draw a conclusion. Is news in the summer really so slow that the D has to publish crap like this?

Wednesday, August 18, 2004

More on Websites

Joe Malchow sends in a link to the Cornell website redesign weblog.

What's that? Are you saying that Cornell has a weblog so that the community, including students, faculty, and alumni, can participate in the design process, offer ideas, and critique the new design? Yep, that's it. There's even a link to the weblog on the Cornell homepage.

For a school that goes on and on and on about community, Dartmouth (Hanover, NH, USA!!!!) might have done the same.

(If Dartmouth did have something like this, please let us know and we will note it here. That said, it clearly was not as prominent as Cornell's effort to involve others in the design.)

The new Cornell site will go live tomorrow.

Tuesday, August 17, 2004

The Blackbird Papers

Has anyone read this Ian Smith Dartmouth murder mystery novel?

A little slow

The Daily Dartmouth is running a preview of the changes to the Dartmouth website today. Unfortunately, it seems the writers and editors failed to notice that the site had already gone online. The new version was available as of at least 12:56am, roughly two hours before the Daily D's press time.

Dartlog first commented on the changes last Wednesday, and followed up with lengthy critiques. The College's preview page was up as early as August 2nd.

An oft overlooked alumnus

Why?

The "Introduction to Dartmouth" page of the College website mentions some prominent alumni. We never seem to mention that we graduated a Chief Justice of the United States!

Salmon P. Chase, Class of 1826

New Dartmouth site now live

The new version of Dartmouth's webpage is now live. It seems that the College made none of the changes suggested here on Dartlog.

Monday, August 16, 2004

"Career contacts are just as good at Nebraska as at Dartmouth"

One of the reassurances offered here

Hottest college for the Tech-Savvy

Us, according to the Newsweek Kaplan College Guide

Another shameless plug



Closely examine the cover of The New Criterion's forthcoming September issue. Among the names of its esteemed contributors, you will find Stefan Beck and James Panero; both of these TDR alumni are editors of America's foremost critical periodical. For details, check Armavirumque , the TNC weblog.

G. Rollo Begley can kill you. Really.

Many of us scoffed when we considered that our beloved Rollo would shortly be defending our nation. Recent events in Fort Benning, GA, where Rollo has entered the white phase of boot camp, should give us pause. I refer to weapons training.

Some of you may recall Full Metal Jacket's epic opening sequence, and diehard fans may even remember that the men have to name their rifles. Private Pile, for example, names his Charlene.

Well, Rollo now has a rifle, and its name is Lorene Lou. I would not want to encounter either of the new lovers in battle:

"Wednesday was our first day live firing the M16 [Lorene Lou], and the second group I ever fired I grouped all six rounds in a 4 cm circle from 25 meters. Then, on Friday, we were shooting stationary targets between 50 and 300 meters, and I was the best in the platoon with 39 of 40 hits. This coming Friday we qualify on the M16 with pop up targets from 50 to 300 meters, and the week after that is continued weapons training where we do covering fire with live ammo, night firing, firing with a gas mask on, etc. Then we qualify with hand grenades and learn to use the SAW, Claymore, and AT-4 anti-tank missile."

He also now runs two miles in 14:11, knows hand-to-hand combat, and is working on his push-ups and pull-ups. After a brief dispute we had on the merits of life on the Costa del Sol, Rollo finished his letter, querying, "What have you shot this week, bitch?" I am humbled.

I'm sure Rollo would love to hear from people; he can be reached at the below address, and his turn-around time is pretty sharp.

BEGLEY, George
203
A Co 1/38th INF
5480 Roush Dr.
Bldg 3210
Ft Benning, GA 31905

And write a large '203' on the back of the envelope--lest Rollo have to more push-ups.

Friday, August 13, 2004

Re: An ancient, elite college?

Great points, Andrew. I hope you'll pass them on to the powers that be in Computing.

I also found all of the tabs and text on the left WAY TOO LARGE; the font size needs to come down considerably.

Re: An ancient, elite college?

It's now online here.

Couple thoughts:

  • Doesn't this look positively outdated? That picture is so 1999!

  • If you're going to force people to use brand-new browsers to view the thing and give them nasty messages if they don't, why not take advantage that fact and ditch the tables? Still, I am impressed that there are no font tags in sight.

  • It is not a bad thought, but couldn't this be better integrated? How hard would it be to translate 100 words. On the plus side: almost no text-as-images. In other words, it should download more quickly, look better on slim browsers, be more accessible and translatable, etc.

  • The page title: "Dartmouth College - Hanover, NH, USA". What's the use of the location ID? It seems, well, provincial. Harvard is Harvard, Yale is Yale, Penn is Penn, and even Cornell is Cornell. What it should say: "Dartmouth College - Welcome".

  • Use of PNG images - Wow, they really are serious about requiring modern browsers. This will not work in Netscape 4. But, it's gratuitous--what do you get above using a GIF that justifies this added incompatbility. And why is this an image anyway? Why not put a link in 9-point (but relative) type below the image, right-aligned?

  • And why doesn't the image change on reload, like it did on the old (going back 2 generations) homepage? Maybe it does but my browser is caching the stylesheet. Quick fix: put that stylesheet declaration inline so that it can be done dynamically when the page is generated. Dynamic stylesheets are generally a bad idea.

  • Re the "Who Are You?" dropdown - Well, who are you?, and what's with the question, bub? "I am a...," which is still not great, would be better.

  • "Top of page" link -- kill this on the homepage.

  • Major complaint: No dynamic content. Where does news plug in? There's nothing fresh here to tell me what's going on on campus today, what happened yesterday, what research is hot, etc.

  • Major complaint: low density and flexibility. I like the design (it's a great improvement over the overly bland homepage of today), but the information density is much lower, making it less flexible. I'm not sure where to put news content or recent events. There really isn't anywhere. Keep the template, but redo the homepage. And do all these directory-->subdirectory links need to be on the homepage? It may be helpful for the first-time visitor, but...

  • Final complaint: Webblitz?! Students already know not to use it, alumni will love its sloth and data-destroying capabilities, and it's a great site for prospective students, parents, and other visitors who cannot access it at all. Great choice!

Bottom line: the broad information design is a great improvement. It makes a lot more sense and is more visually pleasing. The specifics, at least on the home page, need a lot of work.

Wednesday, August 11, 2004

'Recovered' Dartmouth Deaniac on the web

Self-described "Dartmouth Democrat, New Hampshire native [and] recovered Dean supporter" Sarah—presumably former Howard Dean campaign worker Sarah Ayres '06—has started a new blog, titled "The Dartmouth Wing Of the Democratic Party."

Intestingly, the site's subtitle is "Dartmouth: Not just for Republicans anymore," even though statistics support a strong Democratic streak at the College. Faculty, for example, are overwhelmingly Democratic, while students also lean to the left. Maybe it's just that Dartmouth's conservatives have a more appealing message.

Another slow news day?

Justin Neiman '06 is writing what he calls a "humorous" article profiling fraternity dogs for tomorrow's Daily Dartmouth. Fraternity members will supply "funny quotes" about the canines, plus their ages and breeds, to round out the piece. The Daily D publishes twice a week over the summer.

An ancient, elite college?

This new website design sure won't make us look like one in terms of web image.

It looks like it was designed for a summer enrichment program or something.

The sub-pages don't look as bad though.

Tuesday, August 10, 2004

Zywicki Back on Volokh

After a year at the FTC, alumnus Todd Zywicki is free again and visiting at Georgetown. Read his commentary on the Volokh Conspiracy (which is worth reading anyway, of course).

Monday, August 09, 2004

Professor Irwin in the Journal

Economics professor Douglas Irwin penned an article (subscription only) for today's Wall Street Journal that takes on critics of globalization and free trade. He especially emphasizes that globalization and "outsourcing" account for only a tiny portion?roughly three percent?of all layoffs, despite the labels of "Benedict Arnold" that some candidates attach to corporations. Instead, he argues, increases in productivity stemming from technological progress, combined with an economic slowdown, had more to do with job losses. His book on the subject, Free Trade Under Fire, was published last year.

Update: AEI has the column online for free. It's a good one. (--Grossman)

Friday, August 06, 2004

"I knew them when"

Some of us will someday maybe be able to say:

"I saw them hone their skills with Dog Day in the Hyphen," and few will know what we're talking about.

"Matt and Ben" takes off, leads to other opportunities

Wednesday, August 04, 2004

Speaking of FIRE

The Foundation for Individual Rights in Education is currently looking to fill two full-time positions: development officer and program officer. FIRE -- my old stomping grounds, for those of you not in the know -- is a great place to work. Details are here. You don't have to be a conservative -- in fact, that's completely irrelevant, as FIRE is a steadfastly nonpartisan organization. But you do have to be seriously committed to principles of free expression, especially in the academic context.

If you have any questions about FIRE, send an email to me at emmett.hogan -at- alum.dartmouth.org.

The Occidental President

The buffoonery is in full effect at California's Occidental College, according to this piece by Mike Adams, a professor at the University of North Carolina. Occidental President Ted Mitchell has used a shock jock's potty mouth as an excuse to shut down the entire student government, among other inanities. According to the college president, the radio host's offensive expression was -- I hope you're near your fainting couch! -- "masquerading as open expression." (I'm not sure how, exactly, you can "masquerade" openly; masquerading seems like an inherently furtive enterprise to me.)

Here's the best part:
In another bizarre twist in the Occidental case, Title IX officer Horowitz blames Jason Antebi for labeling a segment on his show "token black girls." Horowitz states that the label "is sexist as well as racist, an epithet that implies an adult has a job, or for that matter a college admission that she does not merit." The problem with Horowitz's accusation is that the segment was actually dubbed "token black girls" by one of the African American women (a friend of Jason's) featured on the segment, who discussed race issues from the perspective of an African American female. Of course, Antebi's speech would still be protected if he had indeed used this label in a derisive way, but the term was simply being used by African-American students to mock tokenism in higher education. For that, Antebi is dubbed a racist and a sexist.
Please direct all outraged emails to President Mitchell here.

Want more? The Foundation for Individual Rights in Education (who else?) has the goods.

UPDATE Uh-oh. President Mitchell's bio page says: "A Dartmouth professor from 1981 to 1991, Mitchell chaired the department of education [of course] and was co-chair of the academic senate for three years." So that's where he learned it....

It's as if he never left

Howard Dean—former Vermont governor, former Democratic presidential candidate and current object of Democrats' affections—will be appearing yet again at Dartmouth.

In what organizers are touting as "the first time a presidential candidate has ever come to a sorority at Dartmouth," the loser of all but one Democratic primary will appear at Epsilon Kappa Theta sorority on Friday evening to discuss "political engagement in the 21st century." The official Dartmouth distinguished visiting fellow for the summer, Dean has made few appearances on campus; perhaps he has instead been campaigning in the rural South. As at the few other events he has attended as a guest of the College, he will likely use Friday's visit to discuss the wild success of his flopped campaign.

Tuesday, August 03, 2004

Ivies in the minors

Former Ivy Leaguers playing minor league baseball

Here

Montgomery Fellow

The shirt-tail of this editorial feature on John F. Kerry and John F. Kennedy in today's WSJ:

Mr. Dallek, currently the Montgomery Fellow and a visiting professor of history at Dartmouth, is the author of "An Unfinished Life: John F. Kennedy, 1917-1963" (Back Bay Books, 2004).

Presidential historian Robert Dallek has been in residence at Dartmouth for the summer.

Dartmouth supports lewdness

The College did nothing to stop a man touching his privates in Berry Library last Thursday, dismissing it as not in violation of College policy. According to the Daily Dartmouth's account, many students were disgusted to observe the man fondle himself while watching explicit transsexual films on a public computer, though associate librarian Cindy Pawlek determined that such acts were consistent with library rules. In fact, Dartmouth defines sexual harassment as including "verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature" that creates "an intimidating, hostile, or offensive working or educational environment."

The incident may also have violated New Hampshire law, though. According to Title LXII of the New Hampshire Criminal Code, a person is guilty of a misdemeanor if he
(a) Fornicates, exposes his or her genitals or performs any other act of gross lewdness under circumstances which he or she should know will likely cause affront or alarm. (b) Purposely performs any act of sexual penetration or sexual contact on himself or herself or another in the presence of a child who is at least 13 years of age and less than 16 years of age.

Update: Former Review Editor Alston Ramsay '04 points out a quote from the article that takes the cake:
Katherine McNabb '06, who observed the incident, said that she was not particularly fazed by the transvestite pornography. "Don't yuck someone else's yum," McNabb said.

Indeed.

College to recognize Tubestock?

According to today's Daily D, the College is debating whether or not Tubestock can be counted as a "school environment" in order to file sexual harassment charges against participants.
According to [sexual assault awareness chief and professional feminist Abby] Tassel, there are two types of sexual harassment -- a direct verbal confrontation that she termed "quid-pro-quo," and a hostile environment. Tassel said she sees the chanting at Tubestock as a hostile environment. To find sexual harassment illegal, however, it must occur in a workplace or school environment. The question is whether Tubestock is considered a school environment or not.

If it does accept the annual river rite as a "school environment" event, Dartmouth may put itself in a legal bind. Having taken responsibility for some of the goings-on, the College might be found liable for anything taking place at the officially out-of-favor aquatic carnival--a risk it is unlikely to accept. The unofficial festival, held on the Vermont side of the Connecticut River since the New Hampshire side is College-owned, has grown less elaborate in recent years as the alumnus who bore the hefty insurance costs withdrew his support for fear of legal culpability.

Another bias incident

A conservative friend of mine sent me this email about a recent incident at the Hinman Mail Center:
This afternoon, I went up to the mail center window and handed the guy my ID card and asked to pick up the package that had been delivered to me. He asked me what my shirt said, and as I pulled away my bag's strap to reveal "Dartmouth College Republicans", he handed me back my ID card and pink slip saying "Come back when you have a Democrats shirt on." I insisted on getting my mail, and then he began to interrogate me on why I supported Bush.

One can only hope that this employee was joking and that he gave her the package in short order. With its recent efforts to crack down on dubious "bias incidents," Dartmouth policy should bring about an investigation by the Office of Plurality and Leadership. Whether such an investigation will take place is unclear, though the College has little record of punishing its employees for political discrimination.

Monday, August 02, 2004

Hockey attendance

Dartmouth finished 18th in the country in attendance this past year, averaging 4,037 fans per game. Wisconsin led the nation with 11,701 per game, followed by North Dakota and Minnesota, both averaging over 10,000 per game. Nebraska-Omaha and Michigan rounded out the top 5.

Dartmouth topped the ECAC, followed closely by Vermont (3,868) and Cornell (3,836). Dartmouth's attendance has risen dramatically the last several years, nearly doubling since the 99-00 season, while season ticket sales have nearly quadrupled from 295 in 99-00 to 1,159 this past year.

Average Attendance at Thompson Arena
2003-04: 4,037
2002-03: 3,738
2001-02: 3,254
2000-01: 2,952
1999-00: 2,205

What a tease

This is all the online of the Valley News has from an article in today's edition:

OK State Transfer Bulks Up Big Green O-Line
Hanover -- Are you ready for some football?


If anyone has access to the print edition, I'd love to know more about this.

Landing a Big 12 athlete on the line is a big deal...and this kid is probably a big boy.

Worth being excited about but I'd urge a restrained enthusiasm. Our University of Wisconsin quarterback transfer didn't work out this past season. Hopefully this new guy will help protect Rittgers, who could use some extra time in the pocket to find receivers, especially with the departure of our #1 and #2 all-time receivers -- Barnard and Cramer.

Cramer '04 signed by the Bucs

In the Chicago Tribune:

Tampa Bay: Signed WR D'Wayne Bates, LB Marquise Cooper, S Will Allen, G Jeb Terry, TE Nate Lawrie, WR Mark Jones and FB Casey Cramer. Placed WR Joe Jurevicius and G Matt O'Dwyer on active physically-unable-to-perform list.

Update:

The Tampa Tribune says the parties have agreed to terms on a five-year deal and that the signing bonus will be $43K.

Dartmouth's competition

Harvard, Princeton, Stanford....and Wisconsin?

An article on the alma mater of S&P 500 CEOs

President Wright is quoted.

There is no mention of the enrollment differential between Wisconsin and the other schools, but it is interesting nonetheless.
Daniel Webster, Dartmouth and nonprofit