Monday, May 31, 2004

If you're reading this

thank a teacher. If you're reading this in English, and not German, thank a veteran.

Happy Memorial Day. God Bless our Troops.

Also, in memoriam, Taps here.

Department Heads Against Gazzaniga

According to an article in the Valley News, Dartmouth's department heads gave a vote of no confidence in Dean of the Faculty Michael Gazzaniga. The whole story is, unfortunately, not online.

Saturday, May 29, 2004

Dartmouth Elementary School

Further proof that the administration treats us like grade-schoolers. From 3-legged races to "mess o' pie," there's sure to be something for everyone. If this is what my student activity fees are going to, I want my money back.
__________________________________________

Date: 29 May 2004 17:11:05 EDT
From:
Subject: TONIGHT! races,pie,dodgeball...
To: (Recipient list suppressed)

*********Take a BREAK!!!!*********

SATURDAY MAY 29TH
9:30PM-11:30pm
LEVERONE FIELD HOUSE
for all undergrads

RELAY RACES AND
OTHER CLASSIC RACES
(such as 3 legged, sack races etc)
A GIANT DODGE BALL GAME!
AND A PIE EATING CONTEST
for the grand finale!

Excellent food!! (including Ben and Jerry's ice cream cones) Prizes, and a mess o' pie on a spring night!

Brought to you by the Programming Board, BBL, DCAD

Tuesday, May 25, 2004

Cosby

Best column I've seen in response to Bill Cosby's controversial remarks on the anniversary of Brown v. Board of Ed

Here, by Thomas Sowell

Monday, May 24, 2004

Re: Great Headline

Perhaps a contest is in order? Post your favorite (i.e. worst) Daily Dartmouth headline on this thread, and the winner--judged by me--gets an Indian T-shirt. Make sure to include the link.

Thus far we have:

"Campus addresses caterpillar problem"

"Moose on Green scares students"

"Baryshnikov rehearses, eats Hop fries"


I think Baryshnikov has the early lead, but I expect some of you alums to weigh in.

Great Headline

The Daily Dartmouth's headlines are usually pretty classic. Today, however, I think they topped themselves:

"Campus addresses caterpillar problem."

Yes, add it to the pantheon of other issues the campus has addressed, like alcohol, sex assault, and the like.

Saturday, May 22, 2004

Local Foods at DDS

Date: Sat, 22 May 2004 11:55:41 -0400
Subject: LOCAL FOODS AT DDS
From: Students For Local Food

Who hasn't had the urge to squeeze the tomatoes or grab the cucumber of the person next to them at the Collis salad bar? Wouldn't that urge be even stronger if the vegetables were fresher?

The key to this unprecedented level of gastro-gasmic freshness is simple...DDS needs to start serving LOCAL FOOD.

Last week a major federal grant was funded that will allow a local non-profit called Vital Communities to work with Dartmouth Dining Service in an attempt to bring LOCAL FOOD to the students of Dartmouth. In order for this to become a reality, the students need to voice their opinion on whether local food in DDS cafeterias is a desirable alternative. PLEASE CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW AND FILL OUT THE 30 SECOND SURVEY...before you know it Thayer hall will echo with groans of ecstasy.

http://www.zoomerang.com/survey.zgi?p=WEB2JK3XY8VQ


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For those of you who don't want to take the survey, the questions are all along the lines of "Do you care about eating local food," "Would you pay more to eat it? If so, how much," and "Do you think local food would be successful?"

Thursday, May 20, 2004

"The sons of old Dartmouth, the loyal sons of Dartmouth"...

became "...the daughters of Dartmouth"

The Naval Academy follows suit

Here

Wednesday, May 19, 2004

The Dartmouth Mangles Review History

This article in today's D resorts to the same old College-approved half-truths as usual. Apparently, the Review had a problem with William Cole for being black--nothing more. This article is only the latest effort by the D in its march toward mediocrity.

Monday, May 17, 2004

Congratulations

The Dartmouth Free Press recently published its fiftieth issue, and it ran a section looking back over the last few years.

I found one thing odd about their coverage. They published a timeline of their accomplishments, which is not online, and one of the 17 bullet points regards Jane's Story, a fake first-person account of a date-rape drugging. If you didn't see TDR's response (here and here), it turns out that the story portrayed by the anonymous writer was blatantly false. In fact, Dartmouth's administration even sent out a rebuke reiterating that no one has ever tested positive for a date rape drug here. The writer, who was tested, claimed the anti-depressent Celexa masked the drug. The police and officials at the state lab, however, said this idea was laughable.

Anywho, the Free Press should be congratulated; it's certainly improved a lot over the last few years, and this is a tough enterprise. But hyping an invented story that was publicly proven to be wrong by multiple sources probably isn't the best self-promotion.

Unrelated, the Review will be celebrating its 25th anniversary next year.

Sunday, May 16, 2004

Irony

A second event this Tuesday, apparently an "Opposite Day" about which I was previously uninformed, will be Beer Chug Lessons courtesy of Parkhurst Hall.

>Date: 16 May 2004 23:31:43 EDT
>From: Bradley M. Tavares
>Reply-To: Fearless Leader
>Subject: QUIT WHILE YOU CAN! PROGRAM
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

@~@~@~@~@~@~@~@~@~@~@~@
@~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~@
@ Bones Gate presents
@
@ SENIORS!
@ QUIT WHILE YOU CAN!
@
@ 04's! Don't leave Dartmouth
@ with an addiction!
@ QUIT SMOKING NOW!
@ Learn tips, tricks and hints
@ to quit smoking now!
@ Find out about the resources
@ available on campus!!
@
@
@ Tuesday, May 18th
@ 7pm
@ BG Fraternity
@
@~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~@
@~@~@~@~@~@~@~@~@~@~@~@

Saturday, May 15, 2004

The Correct View

Far be it from me to pass on a chance to chime in.... But what I have to say about Ken's post (below) is simple: I don't care what T.J. Rodgers thinks about the College climate in 1970. I care what he thinks about the College climate now, and he's clearly on the right side.

But even if true, the charge is almost academic in relevance. So there!

A Differing View

Not everyone is on the T.J. Rodgers bandwagon, it seems. The below comes from Ken Dahl, a '68 and father of my roommate during my senior year. He asked that I post it, and I figured, what better way to inaugurate the election of a free speech advocate?
There was a link in TDR's Dartlog.net to a piece in AgapePress, which included the following paragraph about T.J. Rodgers '70, the new insurgent trustee of Dartmouth:

>The Cypress CEO says when he was at Dartmouth, there were fairly conservative-reigning views on campus, and Vietnam War demonstrators were in the minority. But now, he says, there are "all kinds of attacks" on dissenting views -- "and in today's world, they happen to be conservative dissenting views against liberal, majority views," he says.<

This claim by Rodgers utterly discredits him in my mind. He's just palpably wrong about Vietnam War demonstrators being in the minority.

I was there. You should know that I am a '68 who dropped out and then graduated in 1970.

Before I dropped out in March, 1968, I had already seen very visible anti-war activity, and I am certain that anti-war sentiment was embraced by at least half the student body.

I dropped back in in January, 1970, and that winter term was marked by a peace vigil every Wednesday (as I recall) noon, stretching across the Green from McNutt to Dartmouth Hall, numbering as many as 100 on less cold days, and never fewer than perhaps 30 on quite cold days. I know, for I was always among them.

Spring term, 1970, anti-war sentiment exploded on the Hanover Plain, with Nixon's so-called incursion into Cambodia. The campus was electrified and mobilized, as were the other Ivy League campuses.

How do I know that it was an overwhelming majority of the student body that were so convulsed? Because one day a mass meeting was called by the campus peace movement for the same evening in the Top of the Hop. All day long, there were rumblings that a student strike (already an accomplished fact at some other campuses) would ensue at that meeting . . . you heard this everywhere: in Thayer, in Hinman P.O., coming out of classes. And I heard it with ease, even though I was a '68 and not really plugged into any social circles anymore.

Again, what proof is this that an overwhelming majority of the student body was aroused? Because President John Kemeny, as subtle and pre-emptive at politics as he was at math, stole our thunder by closing down the college, before we could. He just closed Dartmouth down, more or less for the duration. No more classes--just, as he urged us, pay attention to our national crisis.

I forget exactly how and when the details were sorted out, but after a week or so, professors were told to resume holding classes, but classes were now optional. Some large minority went back to class, but the majority accepted the asterisks on our transcript that were offered to any and all who claimed them--attesting that, by vote of the faculty, asterisked courses were ungraded but complete for purposes of course credit. As with many people, I split the difference, taking asterisks in a belated science distrib and one required course for my major, but finishing my govy honors thesis for a grade.

Meanwhile, a large fraction (maybe 10% or 15%) of the student body (including me) worked through term's end (and some in Wash., D.C. through the summer) against Nixon's War. The principal vehicle at Dartmouth was Continuing Presence in Washington (working out of Silsby Hall and out of an office in Wash., D.C., to which student activists brought a computer terminal hooked up by phone line to Kiewit, with Kemeny's blessing) and at Princeton it was the Movement for a New Congress. Both Dartmouth and Princeton got prominent play for this in the newsweeklies and on network news--as leaders in the nationwide anti-war movement.

If anyone doubts my account, just go to Rauner and read May, 1970 copies of the Daily D.

So where was T.J. Rodgers '70 in this flaming spring of his senior year? Playing pong? And does he have any asterisks on his transcript for his senior spring?

And don't forget: plenty of conservatives opposed LBJ's war in Vietnam, just as plenty of liberals (like me) support Bush's war in Iraq. And plenty of liberals like Hubert Humphrey and LBJ and JFK supported the war in Vietnam, just as some conservatives like John McCain are moving towards opposition to the Iraq War.

Ken Dahl '68

Friday, May 14, 2004

Who Reads The Dartmouth Review?

Apparently, T. J. Rodgers does. Note the last paragraph.

Rushed, Pledged, and Spackled

In response to Daniel Balserak's review, reader Sheila Gastiger writes in with some dope on Alexandra Robbins's Pledged: The Secret Life of Sororities:
The "sorority girls do not have sex" and other "rules" that Robbins cited are not from any national sorority's materials. Rather, they are from Rush: A Girl's Guide to Social Success, a book written in 1984 by a former sorority rush chair at the University of Texas. Much of it was tongue-in-cheek and certainly not to be taken seriously by anyone outside the state. For context, there were also rather long sections devoted to the importance of properly starching and creasing one's jeans.

Her repeated citing of a book that is prehistoric in college terms only shows how ridiculous her research methods were.

Thursday, May 13, 2004

Lucas and Perry sweep baseball awards

Dartmouth duo wins Ivy League awards. Ed Lucas was named Player of the Year, while Steve Perry, who pitched a complete game against Harvard to send Dartmouth to the ILCS, was named Rookie of the Year.

In case it's not printed

>Date: 13 May 2004 12:23:45 EDT
>From: Alexander D. Talcott
>Reply-To: alex.talcott
>Subject: Short letter to the editor
>To: The Dartmouth

I've enjoyed your series on higher education admissions. Clearly five articles cannot exhaust the issues of a process that is becoming ever more competitive and expensive. But I want to suggest that with the presentation of the statistics and advantages of legacy acceptances, there was no statistic offered about the admission rate for students with parents who attended other highly selective institutions. I imagine children of parents who attended Princeton or MIT might fare comparably well as Dartmouth applicants if provided a strong education, set of genes or work ethic. If available, such statistics would help put the legacy advantage into context. It would also help combat the complaining of cynical, anxious parents of high-school-age applicants who are convinced that every applicant besides their own has a connection or an advantage and that a power elite is running McNutt and other admissions offices.

Dunn Officially hired as bball coach

Press Release from the Athletics Dept. can be found here.

Sounds nice in theory

There's been a lot of hand-wringing about private schools and the college admissions process. For instance, in today's D, Zac Goldstein leads with, "Minorities, legacies and elite high schools--all seem to benefit during the admissions process. With acceptance rates above average for these groups..."

Oddly enough, the sidebar attached to the article shows that students from private high schools had an 18.1% admittance rate, versus 18.8% for public high schools, and 18.3% overall. Hardly "above average," Mr. Goldstein.

"Does he speakee English?"

>Date: 13 May 2004 12:10:21 EDT
>From: Men's Project
>Subject: tonight: The Guy Nobody Wants to Date
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

please join us tonight in Collis 212 at 5pm
for pizza and a multimedia discussion.

KASA and the Men's Project present
"The Guy Nobody Wants to Date"

What makes an Asian man?
Does he speakee English?
Why doesn't he ever "get the girl"?

* A multi-media discussion on *

* Asian/Asian American masculinity and media stereotypes*

* With free pizza and refreshments *

* as part of APA Heritage Month *

Thursday 5/13 in Collis 212 @ 5 p.m.

~-_-~-_-~-_-~-_-~-_-~-_-~-_-~-_-~-_~
Join KASA and the Men's Project to discuss the representation of Asian/Asian American men in the media, from "Flower Drum Song" to William Hung, Apu Nahasapeemapetilon ("The Simpsons") to Jackie Chan ("Rush Hour"). What is a positive media image, and how do you deconstruct a negative stereotype? Duke Lee '05 and Serena Chang '05 will lead the discussion, based on their video documentary project "Out from the East."

Obvious

"Athletes and students with 800 SAT scores also gain admission at a disproportionately high rate, Dean of Admissions Karl Furstenberg said. Rates are also higher for students with exceptional essays and above-4.0 GPAs."

Wednesday, May 12, 2004

Sensible Iraqis

I hope more Iraqis feel this way.

Memorial Service for Zeke Webber '00

Zeke was a Sigma Nu, and his fraternity is holding a service this weekend in his memory.

The details come from Troy Blanchard '05:

Sigma Nu fraternity wishes to extend an invitation to all members of the Dartmouth community to a Memorial Service for Zeke Weber '00.

Sigma Nu
12 Webster Ave.
Saturday, May 15
12:00 pm
(Formal Attire)

Men's Lax All-Ivy

Dartmouth is not one of the three Ivies headed to the NCAAs, but we did have solid representation on the All-Ivy Teams.

Rodgers wins!!!!!!!!!

Dartmouth alumni elect T.J. Rodgers trustee

First write-in to win since the Review-championed Dr. John Steel in the early 80s

Rodgers, quite simply, is the man. See his letter in the D today.

Dartmouth to hire Colorado ass't Terry Dunn

Reported by ivybasketball.com here

Williams coach removes self from consideration for Dartmouth gig

Here

Basketball coach

Expect the official announcement this coming weekend that the athletics department has finally decided on their man. Unfortunately I wasn't able to get a name, they're keeping it fairly tight-lipped until it's officially announced.

Remembering the Jesus Abuse Movement of the Early 70's

Dartmouth Review associate Editor Kevin "Snacks" Hudak endured nearly an hour and some questionable South American tea aboard a bus operated by representatives of the Twelve Tribes of Israel two weeks ago. His time and article elicited more than just short-term paralysis. A reader responds:

>From: Julia M. Keane
>Subject: re: Hippies for Jesus
>To: editor@dartreview.com
>Cc: Kevin C. Hudak

In light of Kevin Hudak's May 10 article "Hippies for Jesus," I thought it appropriate to add some information. The Twelve Tribes community receives much praise for their environmentally conscious and low-cost lifestyles, no doubt appealing to many a savvy liberal. However, despite claims to an enlightened existence, the Twelve Tribes has been anything but a model community. Having faced allegations of child labor, child abuse and neglect, as well as sexual abuse, notably in New York and Vermont, as well as well-founded accusations of racism, the Twelve Tribes fly in the face of human decency, let alone "hippie" or Christian values. This feel-good band of free-thinking, post-consumer age guitar players should be recognized for what they really are - a dangerous and seductive cult.

Sincerely,
Julia Keane

Ivy Alumni in Baghdad

...but not with the military.

A Tragedy

Dartmouth grad Zeke Webber -- a member of the class of 2000, I believe -- died last week, under circumstances that are not publicly known. This is a terrible shame, and a great loss, because Zeke was a good guy. RIP, and condolences to his family and friends.

Thanks to Jen for passing on this news.

John Buckholz: Student Radical

http://www.thedartmouth.com/article.php?aid=2004051201040
Former Review editor Steven Menashi '01 quoted, with an article of his linked to, in this viewpoint piece at foxnews.com

Tuesday, May 11, 2004

Madness?

>Date: Mon, 10 May 2004 14:47:43 -0400 (EDT)
>From: James.E.Wright@Dartmouth.EDU
>To: dartmouth-announce@locum.dartmouth.edu
>Subject: Community social
>Sender: massmail-sender@locum.dartmouth.edu
>Precedence: bulk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Students, Faculty, and Staff

Emily Dickinson wrote of

"A little Madness in the Spring."

After a long winter, please join

Susan Wright and me

for a community social
on the
Green

Tuesday May 11th

3:30 to 5 pm

Ice Cream and Music

Everyone welcome

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

James Wright

Re: "Beh?"

"Can anyone figure out what this means?"

I think it means that the people writing for the D need to be sent to remedial Reading-'Riting-'Rithmetic classes, seeing as they obviously can't put together a sentence.

Beh?

From The Daily Dartmouth:
Rodgers, whose candidacy was described as "insurgent" by the Wall Street Journal, has run on a platform of criticism against the Wright administration and existing direction of the College. The reaction of favorable student response is the first Rodgers has been made known have.
Can anyone figure out what this means?

In any event, the article says that T.J. Rogers decisively won a Student Assembly poll of the student body. That's good news -- let's hope the alums feel the same way. Incidentally, the results will come out sometime in the next two weeks. What's with the delay?

Monday, May 10, 2004

Out to Get Us

Christopher Bateman '05 has decided that his campaign to censor campus speech should continue and in fact spread to the rest of campus. In an e-mail just sent to many students, he offered to collect the recently-distributed copies of the Review.
Are you tired of having to deal with those copies of the Dartmouth Review continually being dropped outside your door? Does its mere presence offend you? Want to do some good for the environment?
He even thanked Editor in Chief Joseph Rago '05 for his friendly note in a previous issue. He did not say what he would do regarding the plastic strip inserted in the papers to deter just this collection "service."

Still Good For a Laugh

The Daily Dartmouth has produced another memorable Op-Ed page. Today, star columnist Amie Sugarman '07, famous for her musings on campus safety, opined on the notorious Disney-Bush-Terror-Lies connection, while one-time Student Assembly presidential candidate James Baehr '05 discussed in awed tones the trials and tribulations of a humble candidate.

On Jeffrey Immelt

and his succession of Jack Welch

Here

Sunday, May 09, 2004

Belated congratulations

Former Review editorHugo Restall '92 became a member of the editorial board of The Wall Street Journal earlier this year. He was succeeded as editorial page editor of The Asian Wall Street Journal by Mike Gonzalez, formerly deputy edit page editor of the Journal's European edition.

A NH lax affair

Dartmouth women to host UNH in the first round of the NCAA tourney

Trustee election

11:59 pm EDT last night was the deadline to vote.

No word on the results or when we can expect to hear them.

The Student Assembly is still blitzing out about a student poll on favored candidates.

Saturday, May 08, 2004

ILCS Game 2

Dartmouth fell to Princeton 5-4 in 10 innings, losing the ILCS 2-0. Dartmouth got hosed on several close calls, the most noteable coming when the Dartmouth left fielder appeared to make an outstanding catch as he ran into the wall in the bottom of the 8th, but the umpire ruled he trapped it and the Princeton player ended up with a double and later scored on a 2-out hit. Several other close calls also went against the Dartmouth team, who has lost to Princeton all three times they've made the ILCS.

ILCS Game 1

Princeton took game 1 this afternoon 14-3. It was 6-3 going into the ninth when Princeton scored 8 times thanks to 3 Dartmouth errors and some timely hitting.

Dartmouth stranded multiple runners in scoring position.

Game 2 is just starting, and Dartmouth will be the visitors, needing a victory to stay alive and force game 3 tomorrow at 1 PM.

Mike Remlinger '88

Article on MLB.com about Remlinger and his mother, in honor of Mother's Day tomorrow.

He is expected back with the Chicago Cubs in a week or two after missing the season thus far while rehabbing from offseason surgery.

Friday, May 07, 2004

Re: Immelt

Steven Leschuk '01 writes:

I just wanted to point out that Jeff Immelt spoke at the Thayer School Investiture ceremony 2 years ago. I found the speech was significantly more relevant to a new graduate than the Dartmouth commencement speaker that year (the RPI president whose name I can't even remember).

I think its important to note that General Electric is an extraordinarily diverse company requiring genuine leadership at the helm. I'd argue that the difficulty of the job ranks with the UN Secretary General.

That speech is still available online.

My feeling: Much better Immelt than some communist academic, Demond Tutu, or Maya Angelou.

Mr. Immelt involved with several charities. And even if he weren't employing as many people as he does with well paying jobs is great for society. He is also an honorable businessman of great integrity. He is an example of what's right in corporate America.

Students Don't Vote, Complain About Results

Evidently, there is a fair amount of dissension among graduating seniors about the choice of Jeff Immelt '78 as the commencement speaker. The complaints range from, "We want somebody who has made a greater impact on the world" to "I don't think he'll be funny and engaging enough" to "We're once again suffering Harvard penis-envy because they've got Kofi Annan." I'll let the seniors address the first and last complaints, but I went to Greener Ventures, and can attest that the a priori criticisms of his speaking style are unfounded. Also, I find it very intriguing that only ONE senior in the whole class turned in nominations for speaker and honorary degree recipients, yet many are voicing their disappointment. Personally, I feel Immelt is a great choice: a brilliant example of the type of success to which a Dartmouth education can lead you. Then again, I'm not the one graduating.

Thursday, May 06, 2004

The results

These are the results for the 2004 Elections. Results are according to the EPAC guidelines, which are enclosed.

We are looking forward to seeing all candidates at 9:30 pm in Tindle Lounge, but we want to take this opportunity now to congratulate you all for your persistence and dedication in the campaigns you ran in some very tough & tight races.

The successful candidates are marked with an asterisk (*)

Please note: Only candidates with more than 1 vote will be listed.


STUDENT BODY PRESIDENT:
*Julia N. Hildreth 778 29.16%
Ralph N. Davies Jr 777 29.12%
James S. C. Baehr 512 19.19%
David J. Wolkoff 467 17.5%
Michael J. Valmonte Jr 110 4.12%
Kenyon T. Blomquist 5 0.19%
Total votes cast: 2668

STUDENT BODY VICE-PRESIDENT:
*Todd Rabkin Golden 1055 48.55%
Karan D. Danthi 493 22.69%
David S. Zubricki 473 21.77%
Thomas A. Zangle 49 2.25%
Kenyon T. Blomquist 16 0.74%
Total votes cast: 2173

COMMITTEE ON STANDARDS (COS):
*Benjamin E. Schwartz 524
*Kwabena A. Safo-Agyekum 468
*Russell W. Lane 424
*Taica Hsu 419
*Austin L. Lord 414
*Lucien A. Williams 398
Kristen A. Wong 340
Charles M. Rittgers 330
William J. Canestaro 330
Amisha R. Patel 327
Claire L. Arthurs 318
Diana C. Zhang 315
Dana A. Jupiter 302
Spencer A. Lawley 300
Elana R. Bannerman 292
Vanessa Vega 290
Eduardo E. Bertran 281
Kaethe B. Henning 271
Brian E. J. Martin 269
John David Schriffen 243
Sarah M. McNally 241
Meredith D. Raucher 219
Megan E. Spillane 218
Kristina M. Ross 158
Srobol Subhapholsiri 151
Elkin A. Cabas 37
Kenyon T. Blomquist 18
Thiago M. Oliveira 17
Neal T. Graves 17
Rafael A. Mejia 16
Andres M. Aranda 12
Jamila D. Smith 7
John F. Stern 5
Thomas A. Zangle 4
Todd Rabkin Golden 4
Zachary P. Pfeiffer 3
Serena S. Chang 3
Neil B. Desai 3
Timothy W. Grinsell 3
Elisa M. Donnelly 2
Christopher R. Lapointe 2
Tiffany N. Davis 2
Nisha Sahay 2
Nicholas W. Chukiat 2
Bridgette L. Hylton 2
Kevin A. Boakye 2
Stephen G. Stahr 2
Casey W. Ley 2
Michael J. Valmonte Jr 2

ORGANIZATION AJUDICATION COMMITTEE:
*Bradley M. Tavares 570
*William J. Canestaro 484
*Amisha R. Patel 450
*Brian E. J. Martin 401
*Jennifer A. Thompson 374
*Alyssa B. Minsky 342
Francesco A. Zincone III 322
Francisco J. Reyna 309
Evan M. Mendelson 285
Allen G. Harvey Jr 259
Andres M. Aranda 59
Kenyon T. Blomquist 12
Todd Rabkin Golden 4
Elisa M. Donnelly 4
Joseph C. Deutsch IV 3
Thomas A. Zangle 3
Rajiv Dhar 3
Angad Banga 3
Neil B. Desai 3
John F. Stern 3
Karan D. Danthi 3
Susan R. DuBois 2
Neal T. Graves 2
Michael J. Valmonte Jr 2
Elkin A. Cabas 2
Serena S. Chang 2
Thiago M. Oliveira 2
Nisha Sahay 2
Rafael A. Mejia 2
Samuel J. Jackson 2
Brandon J. Charles 2
Tiffany N. Davis 2

'05 STUDENT ASSEMBLY REPRESENTATIVES:
*Ralph N. Davies Jr 513
Julia N. Hildreth 432
*Sabrina K. Singh 343
*Steven J. Koutsavlis 268
*Stella E. Treas 266
*Jason B. Moore 192
*Lucas E. Nikkel 187
*Sara E. Hudson 171
*David G. Hankins 168
Kenyon T. Blomquist 4
Graig L. Peterson 3
David J. Wolkoff 2

'06 STUDENT ASSEMBLY REPRESENTATIVES:
*Noah R. Riner 342
Todd Rabkin Golden 308
*Susan M. Abramczyk 196
*Jesse M. Brush 167
*Mathew S. Lemberger 161
*William J. Canestaro 150
*Diana C. Zhang 142
*Brian E. J. Martin 124
*Shaunak M. Mewada 120
Benjamin W. Waters 119
Shardul K. Oza 119
Anthony J. Keating 105
Rene C. Moya 102
Srobol Subhapholsiri 81
Benjamin E. Silverman 75
Daniel G. Kurland 66
Mark D. Herman 66
Kenyon T. Blomquist 4
Kevin A. Boakye 2
Michael J. Valmonte Jr 2
Russell S. Gordon 2

'07 STUDENT ASSEMBLY REPRESENTATIVES:
*David S. Zubricki 339
*Karan D. Danthi 231
*Pooja G. Viswanath 231
*Adam L. Shpeen 228
*Anoop Rathod 217
*R. Dax Tejera 194
*Jacques P. Hebert 179
*Santiago M. Vallinas 178
Elisa M. Donnelly 171
Benjamin I. Zimmerman 166
Christopher F. Bertrand 144
Lindsey D. Dryden 116
Arthur W. Baron 105
Peter M. Van Buren 94
Susan E. Ivey 91
Cara S. Yang 85
Lisa E. Warren 84
Colleen E. Lamarre 80
Katherine M. Cameron 76
Evan H. Michals 73
Daniela P. Osorio 70
Kevin M. Garland 69
Kristen R. Blanchette 65
Ivy M. Pruss 64
Ezra D. Tzfadya 50
Gregory M. Juell 42
John A. Milliken 36
Araam J. Han 30
Jerome L. Tufte 25
Arthur W. Baron 5
Samantha Ferguson 2

GREEN KEY:
*Benjamin E. Schwartz 284
*Nan Wang 219
*Taica Hsu 201
*Russell W. Lane 198
*Austin L. Lord 171
*Edythe A. Wilson 170
*Heidi C. Immesberger 169
*Colin S. Barry 160
*Susan J. Gordon 160
*Nicholas G. DeJulio 160
*Mathew S. Lemberger 153
*William J. Canestaro 148
*W. Lane Verlenden IV 144
*Kristen A. Wong 140
*Jennifer M. Bordeau 137
*Akay C. Tuncak 132
*Diana C. Zhang 132
*Chelsea S. Voake 129
*Ann C. Scott 126
*Griffin C. Gordon 121
Carolyn A. Rooke 120
Margaret V. Cody 118
Francisco J. Reyna 117
Alexandra W. Amrhein 109
Kelly E. Michaelsen 105
Colleen M. Platt 102
Gregory W. Olwell 100
Russell G. Herman 96
Scott L. Glabe 93
Jenna C. Pelletier 79
Srobol Subhapholsiri 72
Bridgette L. Hylton 72
Aaron J. Sallen 69
Irene M. Gasco 62
Jiamin Chen 43
Gifty G. Ampadu 12
Alexander E. Lawrence 7
Kenyon T. Blomquist 4
Alice Park 4
Carolyn M. Lathrop 4
Michael J. Valmonte Jr 3
Brian E. J. Martin 3
Evan M. Mendelson 2

Russell S. Gordon 2
Kevin A. Boakye 2
Rajiv Dhar 2
Angad Banga 2
Katherine A. Brill 2
Nicholas M. Connizzo 2
Samuel J. Jackson 2
Harold D. Brown 2
Todd Rabkin Golden 2

'05 CLASS PRESIDENT:
*Sabrina K. Singh 461
Devin T. Knickerbocker 5
Ralph N. Davies Jr 4
Meghan E. Hill 3
Kenyon T. Blomquist 3
Neil B. Desai 3
Kevin A. Pedersen 2
Kiran B. Talluri 2
Nicholas A. Miles 2
Daniel E. Balserak 2
Nina T. Edelman 2
Jesus Gutierrez 2
Total Voters: 527

'05 CLASS VICE PRESIDENT:
*Katelyn McCarthy 448
Evan F. Jones 6
Ralph N. Davies Jr 4
Kenyon T. Blomquist 4
Kiran B. Talluri 2
Thomas A. Zangle 2
Stephen G. Stahr 2
Julia N. Hildreth 2
Nicholas A. Miles 2
Neil B. Desai 2
W. Rawson Daniel Jr 2
Total Votes: 510

'07 CLASS PRESIDENT:
*Edward J. Duszlak III 320
Juan S. Restrepo 246
Edward F. Molleo IV 8
Peter M. Van Buren 8
Nicholas G. Martin 3
Karan D. Danthi 3
Carl R. Hansen III 2
Elisa M. Donnelly 2
Shaina B. Landau 2
Charles E. Cunningham 2
Total Votes: 613

'07 CLASS VICE PRESIDENT:
*William F. Stork 300
Kenneth A. Brown Klinger 215
Edward F. Molleo IV 8
Peter M. Van Buren 5
Elisa M. Donnelly 2
Adam J. Patinkin 2
Charles E. Cunningham 2
Pooja G. Viswanath 2
Shaina B. Landau 2

Wednesday, May 05, 2004

Dartmouth President Emeritus James O. Freedman would love this guy

David Souter, "creative loner"

Freedman's quote is in this good one from the archives: "James O. Freedman: A Decade of Turbulent Deceit" by Benjamin Wallace-Wells (5/28/97)

Zack Walz '98 and Pat Tillman

Here

What matters to Stanford football head coach Buddy Teevens '79 and why

Here

Hawkeyes won't scalp 'em

Adhering to a policy instituted 10 years ago, but not always followed, the UI [University of Iowa] athletics department recently canceled a baseball game with Bradley University of Peoria, Ill., because of the school's mascot.

The game was originally scheduled to be played today, but the athletics department canceled the nonconference game in February, recognizing that Bradley's nickname - the Braves - falls under the university's policy to not schedule nonconference games with teams that have American Indian mascots.


Here

Tuesday, May 04, 2004

Acclaimed!!! Multimedia!!! Interactive!!!

Date: 04 May 2004 17:24:26 EDT
From:
Subject: JUST DO IT!!!!
To: (Recipient list suppressed)

*/\**/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/\*/
Fair Trade Day Events
*\/*\/*\/*\/*\/*\/*\/*\/*\/*\/

Dartmouth Greens present NATIONALLY RENOWNED speakers Jim Keady and Leslie Kretzku in their ACCLAIMED, MULTIMEDIA, INTERACTIVE lecture:

Sweatshops and Social Justice: Nike In Indonesia-A Case Study.

Ever wonder how your Nike's were really made and by who? Confused about all the anti-sweatshop and fair trade hype? Come hear the story of two people who WILLINGLY lived as sweatshop workers and see if you still want your Air Force Ones....


**Friday May 7th***
**105 Dartmouth Hall***
**7 PM***

No need for tickets because we're cool like that-plus free Jewel of India.

Followed by...

** F A I R T R A D E c O f f Ee H o U sE ***
* SoulScribes poetry SLAM and open mic *
** 9pm Collis Cafe ***

Immelt makes sense

As we gear up for a capital campaign, it make sense to highlight a wealthy generous alum.

I know of Atwood; I think my mom might read her stuff. I've heard of Chan.

There have been superstar honorary degree recipients in the past, but whose contributions may not be appropriate for a college commencement (e.g. J.K. Rowling, Hank Aaron).

Somebody suggested to me last week that Immelt might be the choice. I said "Nah, he was just here." He had just been the keynote speaker at the Greener Ventures entrepreneurship conference. I hope that was a good warm-up

Commencement Speakers and Honorary Degrees

The keynote speaker: General Electric Chairman and CEO Jeffrey Immelt '78

Honorary Degree recipients: Rebecca Adamson, Margaret Atwood, Lo-Yi Chan '54, Philippe de Montebello, Norman Francis, Richard Page '54, Jeffrey Immelt '78, Janet Rowley, and Alice Waters.

Has anyone heard of any of these people besides Immelt?

Monday, May 03, 2004

ILCS Schedule

Ivy League Championship Series
Princeton @ Dartmouth (Red Rolfe Field - Hanover, NH)

Saturday, May 8:
Game 1 - Noon
Game 2 - 3 PM (or roughly 30 minutes after the completion of game 1 if it goes long)

Sunday, May 9:
Game 3 - 1 PM (if necessary)

Let the celebration (and fundraising) begin

Senior Class Dinner

From: Alumni Relations
Location: Leverone Field House, Hanover, NH
When: Thursday, May 20, 6:30pm
Phone: 603-646-2258

In celebration of you and your accomplishments and to welcome you into the Dartmouth Alumni Family!

The Alumni Council of Dartmouth College invites all members of the Class of '04 to a Reception and Lobster Bake with entertainment by '04 Bands!

Thursday, May 20, 2004 at 6:30 p.m.
Leverone Field House

Open Bar
Fantastic Lobster Dinner
(Chicken and Vegetarian Menus also available)

FUN! GREAT FOOD! GREAT CELEBRATION!
(Seniors ONLY - Bring your Dartmouth ID)
Meet and Network with Alumni Leaders

****RSVP by MAY 14 directly to Evite and make sure to include your meal preference (lobster, chicken, vegetarian) in the comment box below.

2004 Dartmouth football captains

There are four. They are '05s Ryan Conger, Chris Dodds, Chris Little and Clayton Smith. In my days at Dartmouth, the team has been captained by one, two and now four players.

Commencement speaker

No word yet on commencement speaker or honorary degree recipients.

Hopefully we won't be merely swapping with UNH, as they have a Dartmouth prof for for their ceremony this year. It will be Mae Jemison, whose primary claim to fame is as the first black woman in space. Announcement here

I know Cornell has Bill Clinton. Not sure of a comprehensive list or schedule out there, though I know David Horowitz has lists of past speakers here

Cramer at Bucs rookie mini-camp

Here

More on the camp, including video of an interview with Coach Jon Gruden, in which he comments specifically on the Ivy League here

A fast, reasonable response

from the Webmaster at least:

Thanks for the reports, however, there's really nothing I can do about it. The data that you are viewing came directly from the Registrar's Office and the Banner Student System. All I did was parse it so you could view it online to register votes.

I'm not sure how the multi-teacher courses are handled for the Distinguished Teacher Award. My recommendation is to submit the values for those courses were it's clear who you are voting for. I'll pass your comments along to the Registrar and the people who handled the data exporting.

-Brian Hughes, Webmaster

Poor poor poor implementation

>Date: 03 May 2004 12:45:48 EDT
>From: Alexander D. Talcott
>Reply-To: alex.talcott
>Subject: Distinguished Faculty Survey
>To: Michael S. Gazzaniga

And my e-mail was returned because there is no dean.of.faculty.office@dartmouth.edu in the DND. This was the contact e-mail given if there were any problems with the survey.

--- Forwarded message from Alexander D. Talcott ---

>Date: 03 May 2004 12:43:22 EDT
>From: Alexander D. Talcott
>Reply-To: alex.talcott
>Subject: Distinguished Facutly Survey
>To: dean.of.faculty.office@dartmouth.edu

There were many professors incorrectly attributed to courses and some who co-taught left off the survey.

In my experience alone,

00F NAS 007 70 FS-N American Autobiography Runnels, Dennis M.
This course was taught by Prof. Colin Calloway.

03W EDUC 029 90 Policy&Politics in Am Educ Chua, Lee-Beng
This course was taught by Prof. Katharine Dougherty.

03F REL 001 10 Patterns-Relig Experience Green, Ronald M.
This course was co-taught by Prof. Green and Prof. Kevin Reinhart.

04W COCO 018 80 Math and Science Fiction Davies, Laurence J.
This course was co-taught by Prof. Davies and Prof. John Trout.

Nice idea

>Date: Mon, 03 May 2004 09:19:06 -0400
>Subject: Distinguished Teacher Award Survey
>To: Members.of.the.Graduating.Class@Dartmouth.EDU
>From: webmaster@Dartmouth.EDU (Distinguished Teacher Award Survey)


Sorry for the fase start... here's the real welcome message to the Distinguished Teacher Award Survey.

-Webmaster


Dear Member of the Graduating Class:

Dartmouth College has long sought to encourage good teaching and measures and rewards teaching in a variety of different ways. Through the generosity of Jerome Goldstein from the class of 1954, we have annually recognized a faculty member with the Dartmouth Distinguished Teacher Award. The donor has specified that the recipient be chosen each year with input from the senior class.

Each year, the Dean of Faculty Office surveys the senior class electronically for this purpose. This procedure allows students to evaluate the faculty whom they have had as a professor. It also gives faculty who teach smaller courses an opportunity to be considered for this recognition and permits us to recognize in other ways those faculty whose teaching you have valued.

The Dartmouth Distinguished Teacher Award consists of a monetary award and funds to be expended during the following year in any way that enhances the individual's teaching. The name of the recipient is inscribed on a plaque in Hopkins Center across from the Jaffe-Friede Gallery, and the Award is presented at Class Day Exercises in June. Since it is your award, I urge you to participate in the selection procedure.

You can find the survey on-line at . Just click this URL and you will be directed there automatically. The survey asks for a single rating of the quality of instruction for each course you took at Dartmouth. You may also add comments at the end of the survey. Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
Michael Gazzaniga
Dean of the Faculty

Sunday, May 02, 2004

Dartmouth to host ILCS vs. Princeton

Dartmouth pulled out a 7-2 victory behind the complete game effort of Steve Perry '07 in the 2nd game of a doubleheader against Harvard this afternoon. Combined with yesterday's 9th inning heroics that gave Dartmouth a 13-10 victory, Dartmouth split the 4-game series with Harvard and won the Red Rolfe Division.

Dartmouth will host Princeton in the best-of-3 Ivy League Championship Series on Mother's Day weekend. Game times have not been set, but odds are it'll be one game on Saturday and then games 2 and 3 (if needed) on Sunday.