Friday, April 30, 2004

Dartmouth: D-A-R-T-M-O-U-T-H

Apparently spelling isn't a favorite subject of New Hampshire's Transportation Department. Details here.

Princeton hockey search

Dartmouth assistant coach Dave Peters is in the running for the head coaching spot at Princeton.

Thursday, April 29, 2004

Basic Turns 40

Slashdot thread:

5 REM nam37 codes
10 PRINT "In 1963 two Dartmouth College math professors had a radical"
20 PRINT "idea - create a computer language muscular enough to harness"
30 PRINT "the power of the period's computers, yet simple enough that even"
40 PRINT "the school's janitors could use it."
50 END

Little known fact: from 1970-1975, the majority of Dartmouth's janitors had mathematics/CS doctorates. Now they're all into humanities, which explains the decrepit state of the dorms.

Men's bball coach finalists

Colorado assistant Terry Dunn, Penn assistant Gil Jackson, Williams head coach Dave Paulsen, and George Washington assistant Steve Pikiell reportedly will be invited to Hanover for interviews.

Full story here in the Valley News

Slant here at ivybasketball.com

Wednesday, April 28, 2004

RRU

Reviewers, I hope many of our children will end up either at Dartmouth or here.

Your culture's no better than mine; we just didn't have marchland advantage and access to the sea

Seniors may remember this title as summer reading before matriculation. So, freshman fall and senior spring, our undergraduate years bookended by geographical determinism and cultural equivalence. Irony Alert: the lecture is sponsored by the Religion Department, and the email comes from Classics.

Date: Wed, 28 Apr 2004 13:56:47 -0400
From: Erin L Perkins (make list)
Subject: DIAMOND event
To: Edward Bradley , (Verbose)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Guns, Germs, and Steel: The Rise and Role of Religious Elites in the
Evolution of Human Culture

a lecture by Jared Diamond*
Wednesday, May 5, 2004, 4:00 p.m.
105 Dartmouth Hall


In this lecture Jared Diamond provides an overview of the broad cultural
theory propounded in his book Guns, Germs, and Steel, that human beings
everywhere share the same basic capabilities. Striking differences among
societies spring largely from geographical factors that shape technology,
economic and social life, and forms of cultural expression. One criticial
social and cultural factor is the rise of religious elites. Made possible
by economic stability, religious leadership fosters the use of writing and
other cultural forms that have influenced the advance of human civilization.
This lecture will focus on religion as a consequence and cause of human
social development.


Jared Diamond is a Professor of Geography at UCLA. He is the Pulitzer
Prize-winning author
of the widely acclaimed Guns, Germs, and Steel: the Fates of Human
Societies, which also won Britain's 1998 Rhone-Poulenc Science Book Prize.
He is the author of Why is Sex Fun and The Third Chimpanzee, and is
currently preparing a new book, Ecocide. Dr. Diamond is the recipient of a
MacArthur Foundation "Genius" Grant; The Tyler Prize for Environmental
Achievement; and the National Medal of Science, which is the nation's
highest civilian award in science.







*This lecture is sponsored by the Department of Religion, as part of its
James and David Orr Memorial Lectures on Culture and Religion, and by the
Dean of the Faculty Lecture Series.

For information, get in touch with Becky Townsend:
rebeca.townsend@dartmouth.edu, or 603-646-1180

------ End of Forwarded Message

Prof. Samwick on the White House Homepage

Econ professor and new Director of the Rockefeller Center, Andrew Samwick answers questions at this interactive part of the site along with other members of the administration

Monday, April 26, 2004

"I Still Live"

Daniel Webster, senator from Massachusetts, addressed a gathering Wednesday night at North Hampton Library with the kind of eloquence unheard from public officials since sometime before the turn of the 20th century.

Former Provost Susan Prager...

is a finalist in the search for the next president of the University of Utah.

Now the dean of UCLA Law School, Prager's competitors are Loren Crabtree, vice president of academic affairs for the University of Tennessee system and Michael Young, dean of the George Washington University Law School.

Baseball nearly clinched Red Rolfe Division

With a 2-game lead heading into the final weekend, if Dartmouth (22-11, 13-3 Ivy) splits the upcoming series with Harvard, they will clinch the Red Rolfe Division and host the Ivy League Championship Series the following weekend at Red Rolfe Field. A single win forces a tie atop the division, but I don't know the tiebreaking procedures. Saturday's doubleheader is in Cambridge, while Sunday's action will take place in Hanover starting at 1 PM.

Princeton has all but clinched the Lou Gehrig Division, needing only a single win this weekend against Cornell to do so.

Dartmouth would host the Ivy Championship Series by virture of a better Ivy League Record.

Bucs Coach John Gruden on the Ivy Leaguers

Here

On Lawrie:

�He came to our facility 10-12 days ago,� revealed Gruden. �He�s a big tight end, a productive tight end from Yale. He is the son of a football coach. He is a very productive pass receiver and has real interesting range in terms of his growing potential.

He�s a little bit over 6-6 and he has some work to do in the weight room with Garrett Giemont, but he carries 263 pounds easily. He runs around 4.8 (seconds in the 40-yard dash) and he�s a very productive pass receiver and a guy we need on the line of scrimmage and as a blocker. We need that considering Ken Dilger and Rickey Dudley are coming off injuries and we will see where Dave Moore is in the pads this fall. We felt like we needed to add a young tight end to the mix.�


On Cramer:

�He�s a 245-pound tight end/fullback, who we will use as an H-Back player,� said Gruden. �We will place him in a three-point stance in the backfield. He will also work on the line of scrimmage as a tight end. He was a very productive player from the Ivy League and he left a real good impression at the East-West Shrine game earlier this year.�

Great reporting in the Valley News

on Cramer's big draft day

Here

Sunday, April 25, 2004

Casey Cramer '04 drafted by the Bucs

He was taken in the 7th round of the NFL Draft with the 228th pick overall by the Tampa Bay Bucaneers. Yale tight end Nate Lawrie was also taken by the Bucs, in the 6th round.

Friday, April 23, 2004

Shanties and the Free State Project

Reader Mile Lorrey comments on a recent post:

Yes, it was my senior year of high school at Lebanon, I was an editor of the school newspaper, and one of the only Young Republicans on campus, when this great event [knocking down the shanties on the Green] occured. Infinitives notwithstanding, it is good to see that at least SOME Dartmouth students know their school history.

I'd have thought that the administration and faculty would have buried it in shame at their abrogation of the first amendment rights of Review staff (on a par with the violent protests faculty members engaged in back in their youth during the Vietnam War, when they were busy in academia avoiding the draft), but I wouldn't be surprised if they brag, in the current day, about it with perversity.

Along with the announcement that the Dartmouth Democratik Republic of Hangover is being split off from the more sane towns of its NH House legislative district, there is other news in the district to talk about: the Free Town.

A group of Free State Project (www.freestateproject.org) members, after surveying the state's towns, have declared the town of Grafton to be The Free Town, to become the target of enough Free Staters migrating into the state so as to establish a voting majority there. The hope is to make the town a test bed of libertarian theory.

Quite a number of the local residents are looking forward to having transplants come in they actually agree with. The home of Libertarian Party of NH chairman John Babiarz (who also has held several commissions under Governor Craig Benson), Grafton already has a libertarian bent: no zoning ordinance, no building inspectors, a volunteer fire department, the town is ripe for more libertarian influence. A few years ago a ballot warrant to declare Grafton a "UN
Free Zone" lost at town meeting by only 5 votes.

Being enterprising individuals, a number of us are forming development groups to build the housing necessary in Grafton to provide shelter for the coming cat herds of liberty seekers. Questions can be directed to me at mlorrey (at) yahoo.com.

I am also the Local Group Leader for the Free State Project, covering the Dartmouth-Lake Sunapee Region. There are currently 22 known FSP members in this area. Dartmouth students are welcome to get involved.

Wednesday, April 21, 2004

You Can't Keep a Bad Idea Down Forever

Here I am in Criminal Law class, and what pops into my inbox but the Daily Dartmouth's email, letting me know thatSA to provide bicycles for campus through a "Rides Across Dartmouth" program. I know I'm getting old when I realize no one at Dartmouth knows about Big Green Bikes. I would advise that someone on SA look into how that worked out before your check clears for those bikes. And more importantly that the Review immediately bring back the Communist Bike Scheme jokes of my youth.

Re: Fame lasts a minute; infamy lasts a lifetime

"Long-term residents of the Hanover plain will remember when Dartmouth Review staffers destroyed a shanty-town erected on the Green to push for divestment from Africa."

Depending on your interpretation of whether "destroyed" or "erected" antecedes the dependent infinitive "to push" here, this sentence could imply that The Review was making common cause with the protesters. How you like them apples, Freepers? Now that our commitment to social justice is a matter of public record, we must continue to fight the good fight. Our predecessors prevailed in their battle against Apartheid in South Africa, but according Mr. Rubin '95 the greater war for divestment from Africa at large continues. Our burden is heavy, but our cause is right.

Tuesday, April 20, 2004

Dartmouth narrows men's bball coach search

Here

Another Ivy basketball coaching vacancy

Princeton's John Thompson is heading to Georgetown. Dartmouth's Dave Faucher announced his resignation mid-season.

Fame lasts a minute; infamy lasts a lifetime

In today's D, Justin Rubin '95 recalls the halcyon days of the Review:

"Long-term residents of the Hanover plain will remember when Dartmouth Review staffers destroyed a shanty-town erected on the Green to push for divestment from Africa."

For a mildly sarcastic rebuttal to Rubin's call for divestment from offensive companies and hedge funds, here's a piece I wrote for the D a couple years ago.

Sunday, April 18, 2004

It's a small world.

Recently, the D has been running articles about a writer of theirs, Jenn Buck, who went to Iraq to cover the occupation. Well, one of my friends happens to have a brother serving in Iraq with the Air Force--here is what he had to say in a recent blitz, written in what my friend describes as "his signature prose":

"The other week, a college girl got in a convoy up to our base. She then
managed to get to our flight line walk on it, and start taking pictures of
all our planes. Our Air traffic control guys saw this called in our law
enforcement and had her arrested. She said she was a journalist from
Dartmouth. And demanded a ride in one of our planes. However she had no
credentials, and no one to back her story. We confiscated all of her
cameras, and by the end of the day she was in tears. I am still trying to
find out her name and the complete story, but some how she ended up on a
plane anyways. And flew out of here"

God bless our troops.

Friday, April 16, 2004

Our Tuition at Work

--> Regurgitator <-- --> Regurgitator <-- --> Regurgitator <--
--> Regurgitator <-- --> Regurgitator <-- --> Regurgitator <--

Clear your calendars. He's back!

THE REGURGITATOR
THIS FRIDAY, APRIL 16TH
8:00 pm
Collis Commonground

Another great event brought to you by PB

--> Regurgitator <-- --> Regurgitator <-- --> Regurgitator <--
--> Regurgitator <-- --> Regurgitator <-- --> Regurgitator <--

Just tell me when you'd like some smoke" says Stevie, "Would you like all or half of it? Or how about putting
it in a soap bubble?"

Next to disappear down Stevie's throat is a miniature Rubic's cube and when he returns it - SURPRISE - all
the rows have been turned.

Among the other amazing stunts Stevie performs is swallowing a bowl-full of dry sugar followed by a glass
or two of water and then bringing the sugar back bone dry. Or how about swallowing a gentleman's ring followed by a locked padlock and the key and returning them with the ring locked inside the padlock!

Maybe the stunned audience would like a card trick (swallowed, of course) before Stevie swallows two live
goldfish, only to return them unharmed at the end of the show (having drunk enough water to keep them swimming happily inside).

--> Regurgitator <-- --> Regurgitator <-- --> Regurgitator <--
--> Regurgitator <-- --> Regurgitator <-- --> Regurgitator <--

Thursday, April 15, 2004

Most Unwired Campuses

Dartmouth is number 5.

Tuesday, April 13, 2004

***************************

The Rockefeller Center is pleased to present...

Howard Dean, M.D.
Class of 1930 Distinguished Visiting Fellow

"The Long Term Implications of the 2004 Presidential Election"

Wednesday, April 14
7pm, Kellogg Auditorium (in the Medical School)

Doors will open at 6:30pm. Alternate viewing available in Filene Auditorium and B03 in Moore Hall.

***************************

Monday, April 12, 2004

Our Newsweek darling

Gorsche's latest

The Wrong Debate

"There's something unsettling about seeing prominent Democrats who spent the winter blasting Bush as a trigger-happy cowboy now faulting the president for not pulling the trigger in time."

The above is excerpted from our beloved Editor Emeritus, Ryan Gorsche's, most recent article in Newsweek. In his fourth column for the magazine, he uses his usual wit and vitriol to savage the Left for pussyfooting with terrorism and directing senseless rage towards the President. You can read it here .

Additionaly, Ryan was interviewed by the Seattle Times for an article on college students writing for mainstream publications, which may be viewed here .

Friday, April 09, 2004

Ahem

Just to remark, Talcott, it was entertaining to read such gustatorial descriptions on Good Friday. But I'm sure you enjoyed yourself immensely.

Some local treats

After an afternoon of watching Dartmouth handle Penn in a baseball doubleheader, I went with a friend to Jasper Murdock's Alehouse at the Norwich Inn.

We both tried the Venison Pate Burger, homemade and covered with a jalapeno aioli on an herb buttermilk biscuit. Came with redskin potato salad and a field greens salad with vinegarette. All for $7.50. I also enjoyed the Stackpole Porter, which tastes like a cinnamon stout, and the Oh Be Joyful Ale, which was like a fuller, more hoppy Fat Angel or other pale ale.

Then moved on to the Harpoon Brewery in Windsor, VT. As always the Munich Dark was tasty. Also tried the Hibernian Ale and a special 100-barrel limited Alt Ale, the latter having zero carbonation or aftertaste.

Standing alone

A lone demonstrator, a Hanover resident, stood during her lunch hour on the coner of Main and Wheelock Streets with a sign reading "No to occupation, no to empire." Pedestrians either glared at the woman or ignored her altogether.

Using amusingly inaccurate information, she explained that she sought the immediate withdrawal of American troops from Iraq since they caused "disorder" and had caused, she said, "hundreds of thousands of deaths." She would not consider that American forces provide a form of stability in the ethnically-divided fledgeling democracy nor would she cite the source of her casualty figures; even liberal estimates at Iraq Body Count place the number of deaths at 10,715, at the outside. Finally, the said that American forces should not "meddle in other countries' affairs" even if national security is threatened.

Thursday, April 08, 2004

eBay item

A 1950 Dartmouth songbook

Below the seal on the cover it says "1770." Don't we have 1769 on everything?

Wednesday, April 07, 2004

I'm speechless...

I never thought I'd see the day when Dartmouth would trumpet any conservative-validating scholarship. Yet today I see "[H]igher medicare spending linked to lower-quality care" on the College's homepage. To read the Dartmouth research that confirms what conservatives have said for ages, go here.

Stempniak named All-American

Lee Stempniak '05 was named a 1st Team All-American today by the American Hockey Coaches Association. Stempniak becomes Dartmouth's first hockey All-American since Dave Williams '90 was named to the 2nd team in 1989.

Tuesday, April 06, 2004

Venturi, Scott Brown Strikes Again

I was in Ann Arbor, Michigan this past weekend. I was taking a stroll around the University of Michigan's campus at dusk one day. I ran across a building that looked suspiciously familiar (and grim). I went inside to ask a somewhat startled security guard if he knew the name of the architecture firm that was responsible for it. "Venturi, Scott Brown?" I volunteered. It was correct. I knew because the building looked exactly -- exactly -- like Berry Library. It was Berry Library, even down to the floorplan of the ground level.

I had no idea that "New England mill" was a style in Michigan, too.

Sunday, April 04, 2004

Meet the guy who will lose to Judd Gregg

**SENATOR BURT COHEN**

NH State Senator Burt Cohen, Democratic candidate for US Senate, will be at Dartmouth for an hour and a half radio symposia with Dartmouth College Radio.

Cohen will be delivering a speech on education and other youth issues, and will be joined by a panel of Dartmouth students. A live-broadcast question and answer session will follow.

Wednesday, April 7.
8:30pm
Carson L01

LIMITED SEATS: BY RSVP ONLY, BLITZ US BACK TO RESERVE YOUR SEAT.

(Blitz "WDCR-WFRD")

Foiled again...

Once again, Dartmouth just misses the cut for the Collegiate Network's annual Campus Outrage Awards, or Pollies. See who won here. There's always next year...

Thursday, April 01, 2004

Dartmouth Review Outsourced to India

Former Dartmouth Review editor Andrew Grossman '02 will announce at a conference later today that all Dartmouth Review operations will be outsourced to India immediately.

Mr. Grossman attributed the move to the poor quality of current Dartmouth students and concerns about competition in the Hanover newspaper market. "I blame it on affirmative action and grade inflation, plain and simple. Something's up when students' average GPA is 4.0, but half of them can't write a grammatical English sentence," said Mr. Grossman. "The last time I was in Hanover, it felt like Ithaca," he added.

Relocating the Review to India is just the latest of several recent cost-cutting measures undertaken since the departure of fundraiser John MacGovern in 2002. "We moved the staff to bottom-shelf bourbon and Scotch last year," said retiring editor Ryan Gorsche. "Nobody noticed." Additonally, the paper dramatically reduced overhead expenses by giving up its offices, and ongoing expenses by ceasing publication for two terms. "Nobody noticed," said Gorsche.

Former Review publisher Charles Kluender will stay on as president of the Review and will direct editorial and business operations in Bangalore. According to former president Thomas Camp, "Kleunder sat down in the office and said he wouldn't move until we made him president. It was fine with me." Mr. Camp added that concerns about Kluender's health in recent years have been overblown and that Kluender will finish out his term as president. "Yeah, he's doing alright. Maybe he'll stay on for another year or two. Wouldn't surprise me."

Additionally, Nilanjan Banerjee, a Brahmin and until recently of Microsoft, will return to the Review as director of human resources.

As of this afternoon, new issues of The Dartmouth Review will be produced in Bangalore, India, and, as appropriate, in Thailand, where the former staff of the Harvard Crimson has been retained. Issues will continue to be printed in Argentina, where Mr. Kluender "knows a guy."

This announcement also marks the end of the Review and the Dartmouth Free Press's joint operating agreement, which began one year ago today. Due to the two staffs' radically different vices and mutual antagonism, the JOA was unable to attain the savings that either paper had hoped for.

The Dartmouth Review is Dartmouth's only independent newspaper and is produced weekly biweekly monthly by Dartmouth students. The Review was founded in 1980 by disgruntled former staff of the Daily Dartmouth, which claims to be America's oldest college newspaper but really isn't.

He Just Won't Go Away

Howard Dean is returning to Dartmouth yet again. In addition to a speech that he will be giving at DMS on April 14th, he has been tapped by Rocky to serve a six-day fellowship sometime during summer term. To compliment his inevitable Bush-bashing, he will discuss political involvement, as well as remark upon his campaign experience (for whatever worth such advice might have).