Wednesday, March 31, 2004

Some interesting posts on grade inflation and on T.J. Rodgers at the blog of John Bruce '69

Monday, March 29, 2004

Olympic trials in track and field

This summer in Sacramento, four Dartmouth people:

Sean Furey '04 (javelin throw)
Mustafa Abdur-Rahim '04 (decathalon)
Adam Nelson '97 (shot put; silver medal, 2000 Olympics)
Alex Ghanotakis '96 (discuss; competing for Greece, Greece's national champion)

Sunday, March 28, 2004

Spring Break Sports

Just got back from Southern California, where the Dartmouth softball team struggled out of the gate but deserved a better fate. Though they finished their season opening trip to California with a 2-9 record, 3 of em went to extra innings and several of them were 1-run games, and with a few more bounces they could easily be over .500 instead

Men's hockey finished up their season last weekend in Albany, where they lost to Harvard 2-1 in the ECAC semis and then fell to Colgate 3-2 in the consolation game. Dartmouth appeared to have tied it up in the closing seconds, but for what seems like the upteenth time this year, the ref waved it off, claiming that he had blown the whistle before the puck was in the net.

Women's hockey finishes their season off today in a little under an hour, when they face St. Lawrence in the NCAA 3rd place game. The team lost to Minnesota 5-1 in the Frozen Four semis on Friday. The teams were deadlocked at 1-1 heading into the third, when Minnesota pulled away. Dartmouth was playing without forwards Gillian Apps and Cherie Piper, who were called away to prepare with Team Canada for the upcoming World Championships next week.

Saturday, March 27, 2004

Friday, March 26, 2004

Haines sighting

I kid you not. While scoping out the George Washington University Law campus, I found a crowd of students gathered outside of a building with many obvious Secret Service agents securing the area. John Kerry was inside the Lisner Auditorium giving some sort of interview and maybe also picking up the official endorsement of Dean. Kerry came out and waved and saluted the crowds before filing into an SUV and driving off with police escorts. As soon as the car pulled away, Robert Haines -- still with beard, cowboy hat and sign -- entered the street and stood stoically. I later spotted a tired looking Haines holding out a hand -- for a slap or a handout I'm not sure -- standing on a sidewalk nearby.

I celebrated by attending a taping of Crossfire, co-hosted by a stuttering James Carville and a drunk Robert Novak.

Monday, March 22, 2004

It's Not Just at the Top

Apparently, student body politics is getting nastier, too. (Well, presumably, at those schools where it makes a difference.) So MSNBC is claiming, anyway, and while I believe it's true, this article is kind of short on hard evidence.

More on Rodgers

He's in the latest edition of Tongue-Tied.

Tuesday, March 16, 2004

Re: Drudge Link

That's very interesting. Will an endorsement follow?
Drudge has a link to this article in the D

Re: Vote for Rodgers

Those of you who have already voted for Rodgers no doubt have noticed that his name appears on the electronic ballot, right after the three "approved" candidates. This is a happy peculiarity. Rodgers doesn't have to have his supporters, say, write in his name. For all purposes on the ballot sheet, the fact that Rodgers is "by petition" doesn't make the slightest bit of difference. (Actually, it might even help him.)

Does anyone know of any benefits the "approved" candidates get that Rodgers, as a petition candidate, does not?

Vote for Rodgers

From Troy Blanchard '05: Great story on Rodgers that shows he's on our side

Monday, March 15, 2004

Re: Dartmouth wins!

Just to add on to what Alex posted:

Eric Przepiorka's goal 20 seconds into the 3rd period was a thing of beauty. He had the puck along the far-side boards, threaded it between the defender's legs, and put a backhand shot past Marsters from the slot for the only goal of the game.

I encourage everyone who is able to to head to Albany next weekend, for both the men's and women's games (which are being held @Union). I went last year and had a blast, even though Dartmouth finished 3rd, losing to Harvard before beating Brown in the consolation. I would be there again this year but am leaving for San Diego on Wed. with the Dartmouth softball team.

Dartmouth wins!

Dartmouth men's hockey beats RPI 1-0, with its second shutout in as many days.

Dartmouth killed a number of RPI power plays. RPI matched Dartmouth's level of physicality. Dartmouth had a number of scoring opportunities before its eventual and only goal, coming 20 seconds into the third period. RPI then narrowed the shot on goal gap.

The crowd spent much of the third period chanting "Nathan!" for Nathan Marsters, RPI's goalie.

Dartmouth will take on Harvard in the ECAC semifinals in Albany, N.Y., beginning on March 19.

Sunday, March 14, 2004

Re: NCAA Skiing Championships

Interestingly, the championship was won by the University of New Mexico.

Vote for T.J. Rodgers '70

I second John Kalb on this. T.J. Rodgers, who has been nominated by petition, is a refreshing candidate who seems very sympathetic to the concerns of disaffected Dartmouth alums. He's a very successful businessman and, it seems, a free marketeer par excellence.

But his personal statement truly blew me away. In decided contrast to the puffy, solipsistic statements of the official, Board-approved candidates, Rodgers focuses on three specific issues: curriculum, open government, and the Dartmouth identity. He thinks that Dartmouth College ("not University") must remain "the best liberal arts college in the world," and that the College's current mission statement does not adequately reflect this. Furthermore, he wants a stronger curriculum that focuses on "thinking and reasoning, writing clearly, understanding the economy and even understanding the basic principles and history of our American Democracy." (Yes, a candidate for trustee of Dartmouth College actually said that.)

But I nearly fell out of my chair when I read the next segment:
More open and better governance. The alumni receive too many glossy infomercials, while being excluded from meaningful debates on the great issues that set the character of the Institution. This stifling of free speech starts with the trustee oath, which prevents the trustees from publicly expressing dissenting opinions. Next, Dartmouth's speech code encroaches on the First Amendment rights of its students. Finally, a mandated campus orthodoxy, defined and enforced by expensive overhead bureaucracies such as the Office of Residential Life, limits free speech on campus. Above all else, Dartmouth should fully embrace the First Amendment.
I could quibble about his statement on the First Amendment rights of students -- rights that, as a private institution, Dartmouth is not legally obligated to respect -- but frankly, the fact that a trustee candidate is willing to acknowledge Dartmouth's speech code and to call for greater commitment to free expression is exhilarating.

He already has my vote. And he should have yours, too. Alums can cast their ballots through April 30, although I urge everyone to vote as soon as possible.

ECAC Action - Day 2

The Dartmouth women dominated Yale for two period then managed to hold off a 3rd period surge to knock off the Elis 4-3. Dartmouth sweeps the quarterfinal series and advances to the Semis, where they will likely face St. Lawrence, who were forced into a game 3 tomorrow by losing to Colgate 1-0 despite outshooting the Raiders 50-16.

The Dartmouth men came out with a vengence tonight, not allowing RPI even a single shot for the first ten minutes of the game and cruising to a 6-0 victory to even up the series at a game apiece. Dartmouth had 6 different goal scorers in Jarrett Sampson, Lee Stempniak, Mike Ouellette, Eric Prezpiorka, Dan Shribman, and Mike Turner. Dan Yacey got Dartmouth's first postseason shutout since 1980, when current Head Coach Bob Gaudet also shutout RPI while playing goaltender for Dartmouth.

The deciding game 3 will be played at 7 PM tomorrow night at Thompson Arena. The crowd was much better tonight but still smaller than normal. Come unload all that finals stress by taking it out on Joel Dupree the referee and the Engineers of RPI.

Friday, March 12, 2004

ECAC Playoffs : Day 1

Dartmouth women won 3-0 in a game that shouldn't have been even that close. Yale's goalie stood on her head, but in the end the relentless pressure gave Dartmouth the fairly routine win.

The men were not as fortunate, falling to RPI 3-1. It was a very even game throughout, the Green just could not get the bounce they needed.

The crowd also sucked tonight. Granted there wasn't a whole lot to cheer about, but wow. We need more people arriving earlier and being louder tomorrow night, or the second season could be over before it starts.

Go Moose Go!

Dartmouth senior Mustafa Abdur-Rahim is fourth after one day of competition in the heptathlon at the NCAA Championship hosted by the University of Arkansas.

Women's Basketball Ivy Honors

Jeannie Cullen '06 and Elise Morrison '07 made the seven-member (?) Second Team.

Freshman phenom Morrison was the League's Rookie of the Year. She was joined on the All-Rookie team by Ashley Taylor.

Angie Soriaga '06 was honorable mention All-Ivy.

Wednesday, March 10, 2004

More All-Ivy Awards

Men's Basketball: Leon Pattman '07 was named Ivy League Rookie of the Year.

Women's Hockey: Despite winning the Ivy Title, Dartmouth failed to place anyone on the First Team All-Ivy. They dominated the 2nd team All-Ivy, however, earning 4 of the 6 spots. Forwards Katie Weatherston '06, Gillian Apps '06, and Sarah Clark '04 and defenseman Louise Peitrangelo '04 all earned 2nd Team honors.

Re: Internet Connection

It's been awful for over a week now. Either slow, selectively working, or entirely down. I've complained via blitz to numerous computing people, but by the time they respond all is up and running again.

Dartmouth's Internet Connection

Has there been something wrong with Dartmouth's backbone provider for the last week or so? Both Blitz and the Dartmouth webpage are down for the second time this week, and when I got the Alumni election ballot, they said that they had to delay the start of voting because of major internet issues on the Eastern seaboard, but I can't seem to find any other webpage that is affected.

Does anyone know what's up?

Monday, March 08, 2004

Calling All Alumni

Vote for T.J. Rodgers in the Alumni Trustee Election. Do it. Now.

Hockey playoff schedule

Women:
#3 Dartmouth (2nd-ranked nationally) vs. #6 Yale
Friday at 3:30 PM, Saturday at 2 PM, Sunday at 2 PM (if necessary).

Men:
#4 Dartmouth vs. #5 RPI
Friday at 7:30 PM, Saturday at 7 PM, Sunday at 7 PM (if necessary).

Re: Sports school

This is true, though I'm curious why Gonzaga fans would rush the court in the WCC semifinal. The final I could see, but hte semifinal?

Plus, our fans are getting better. We actually had a decent contingent of students and non-students at the Boston College hockey game this year over Thanksgiving Break, and people always show up en masse for the Harvard football game in Cambridge every other year. Though it'd be nice to get a larger student turnout for things like the UNH hockey game in Manchester, or even home basketball games.

Last year there were maybe a dozen or two students mixed in with the rest of the Dartmouth crowd in Albany for the ECAC Championships, hopefully that number will go up this year assuming we beat RPI this weekend. Though sadly I won't be attending, as I'll be in San Diego over Spring Break with the softball team.

We are not a sports school

Men's basketball fans of #4 Gonzaga just rushed the court on the road in a last-second win over Santa Clara in the WCC semifinal. We don't even go on the road to support our teams.

Saturday, March 06, 2004

Hockey playoffs nearly set.

The 4th-seeded men will host 5th-seeded RPI next weekend in the ECAC quartfinals at Thompson Arena. RPI swept Princeton 5-4 and 3-2 (OT) in the first round, two games that were much closer than expected. The game Friday night will start at 7:30 PM, Saturday and Sunday's (if necessary) games will start at 7 PM.

The women beat Cornell 5-1 tonight, assuring themselves at least a 3rd place finish and guaranteeing home ice in the first round of the playoffs, also next weekend. Game times will likely be 2:30 on Friday and 2 PM Saturday and Sunday (if necessary). The opponent has not yet been determined.

Thanks, Dad

Tommy Woon speaks ex cathedra:
"When I opened the website I found this one statement that I consider could be alienating, that 'hell is where I send homosexuals,'" said Woon. "So as part of our response, we just want people to know that these posters are up, and that they're disturbing."
This from the man who criticized a Catholic priest at Aquinas House -- Father Brendan -- who opposed a "hedonistic" and "anti-Christian" sex fair. Who does this man think he is?

I respond succinctly

>Date: 06 Mar 2004 15:36:27 EST
>From: Alexander D. Talcott
>Reply-To: alex.talcott
>Subject: Re: Recycle Your Dartmouth Review!
>To: Christopher J. Bateman

Very anti-intellectual.

More reading is always better than not reading at all.
>Date: 06 Mar 2004 15:35:07 EST
>From: Christopher J. Bateman
>Subject: Recycle Your Dartmouth Review!
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)


************************

Are you tired of having to deal with those copies of the Dartmouth Review continually being dropped outside your door? Does its mere presence offend you? Want to do some good for the environment?

Sign up for the new Recycle Your Dartmouth Review service! No this is not a joke -- simply respond to this blitz with 1) your dorm name, 2) your room number, and 3) the number of copies you want removed (in case you're stuck with Republican roommates) -- all in the subject line -- and every time a new Review is distributed, we will come by, make the collection, and put it in a recycling bin for you.

Start today -- the service is completely free!

*************************

Brought to you by an independent group of progressive, environmentally friendly students.
>Date: 06 Mar 2004 14:55:02 EST
>From: SHEBA Dance Group
>Subject: Apology
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

Members of the Dartmouth Community--

Concern has been expressed about the nature of the phrase "booty-poppin in a handstand" used in our campus-wide blitz advertising our show Wednesday night. For those of you who responded, thank you for your comments; we are heartfully sorry that we've offended you and anyone else.
We realize that this quote from a variety of new Hip Hop songs does have some implications in reference to some of the more degrading aspects of modern Hip Hop culture. At the same time, SHEBA's mission is to spread knowledge about hip hop music and culture through the dance form. Our blitz was not meant to spout politics about the misogynistic aspects of the music genre, nor meant to degrade women; we simply took a phrase that we thought would catch some attention and get our blitz opened and read. It was a mistake that WILL NOT happen again. Furthermore, we will try to be more sensitive in the future about the opinions of the Dartmouth public when advertising our shows.
We hope that this mistake does not deter you from supporting us in the future. We work very hard to entertain our audience members through our love for dance and Hip Hop, and are proud of our ability to share that love with our fellow students.

Once again, our sincerest apologies for having offended anyone. Please feel free to contact us if you would like to continue this discussion.

Thank you.

Sincerely,
Blair Dickinson '04 & Kimberly Marable '05
Co-Directors, SHEBA Dance Group
and the members of SHEBA

Re: Klingon Bias Incidents

As an aside, on the e-mail Linsalata posted, you'll notice a rather odd reply-to for Carol Bushway, who sent the dogfood notice. Courtney Andree '07 was perplexed by "bortaS blr jablu'DI' reH QaQqu'nay," but quickly found that it is--and I'm not making this up--Klingon for "Revenge is a dish best served cold."

And Dartmouth actually pays this woman to send out notices about potential "bias incidents." You know what they say, though: "qatlh Hol Dajatlhbe."

(Trans.: To each his own.)

Re: Bias Incidents

For the sake of clarification and further explanation, the Dry Dog Food episode was the first such incident to set the bias alert system into motion. As was explained to me earlier this week, the system is sill in the "test phase." I can only speculate upon what exactly is being "tested," but a good starting point would be to define exactly what constitutes a "bias incident."

"Bias Incidents" at the College

Details here.

Among the highlights: OPAL guru Tommy Lee Woon condemning Aquinas House chaplain Fr. Brendan Buckley for Buckley's refusal to throw support behind a recent SexEd event. Fr. Brendan, in an e-mail to the event sponsors, had called the event "hedonist and anti-Christian."

Friday, March 05, 2004

ESPNEWS pundits laugh at Dartmouth men's basketball's expense

Just happened

Princeton can be the first team to clinch a berth in the NCAA Tournament if they beat Harvard and we beat Penn tonight. The former is certainly more likely than the latter. We remain dead last in the RPI and boast (?) a record of 3-23, 1-11 Ivy. And saidly among those 3 wins is a victory over Division III Tufts. Also, among the numerous losses, is a loss to Division III Hawaii-Hilo.

The Final Issue

TDR's final issue of the term is now online. With this, Ryan and I end our vainglorious tenure as Editors in Chief of The Dartmouth Review.

Inside you'll find extensive coverage of Shelby Grantham's English 5--the College's worst class--as well as the budget crisis one year later, V-Day on campus, the Review evicted from Zeta Psi, the rise of Conservative activism, sports round-up, Israelis fight back, a mixology, and more.

For those of you on campus, expect the paper at your door later this afternoon.

Thursday, March 04, 2004

Re: Maybe I'm misinterpretating this...

Nah, Grossman, you're quite right. Cell phones, blogs, PDA's, iPods - the 07's have invaded this campus in a most techie way. But there is one freshman blog that towers above the rest.

Maybe I'm misinterpretating this...

But does like every freshman at Dartmouth have a weblog?

Former staffer moving up in the world

Barrett Thornhill '01 takes his act to the Senate

Better than an engineering class

Oh, the things a Dartmouth professor could learn from exams like this.

Wednesday, March 03, 2004

"Would you reign terror for peace?"


To break a man out of jail?

Have you ever believed that strongly in anything?

--- Would you reign terror for peace? ---

In 1969 a group of radical student activists formed the Weather Underground, a terrorist organization with the goal of overthrowing the US government. This is their story. ..

The Dartmouth College Greens present:

********* "The Weather Underground" ************

SATURDAY, March 6

7:30 pm

Dartmouth 105


************ Speaker: Former FBI's Most Wanted Bill Ayers *****************


Come see this Academy Award-nominated 2003 film
and meet former Weatherman Bill Ayers!



In October 1969 hundreds of young people, clad in football
helmets and wielding lead pipes, marched through an upscale
Chicago shopping district, pummeling parked cars and smashing
shop windows in their path.

This was the first demonstration of the Weather Underground's
"Days of Rage." Outraged by the Vietnam War and racism in America,
the organization waged a low-level war against the U.S. government
through much of the 1970s, bombing the Capitol building, breaking
Timothy Leary out of prison, and evading one of the largest FBI manhunts
in history.

THE WEATHER UNDERGROUND is a feature-length documentary
that explores the rise and fall of this radical movement, as former members
speak candidly about the idealistic passion that drove them to "bring the war
home" and the trajectory that placed them on the FBI's most wanted list.

Co-sponsored by: COSO, Dartmouth Government Department, Dartmouth Film Studies Department, Panarchy Residential Society, and the Dartmouth Free Press. Our thanks to the Rockefeller Center's McSpadden Public Issues Forum for providing support to secure the rights for the presentation of the film.

Circus freak at Dartmouth?

No, not "Clown Girl."

6'4 women's basketball player Sam Burnham '04

P.S. The Big Apple Circus was founded by Paul Binder '63.
BuzzFlood posted this conservative, perjorative news item:

Catholics for a Free Choice, a so-called "Catholic" organization that backs abortion, has named three people to its board of directors, including outgoing NARAL president Kate Michelman.

The Dartmouth connection is that the Chair of the board is Marysa Navarro-Aranguren, professor of Latin American history and a perennial pick for the Review's Worst Professors list.

Men's Hockey All-Ivy

Lee Stempniak '05 and Grant Lewis '07 make first team All-Ivy. Hugh Jessiman '06 makes the 2nd team.

Hobey Baker Candidate Yann Danis (that's his full legal name for the rest of the season, by the way - just read any Brown press release) won player of the year and was the first team goalie. Forward Brian Ihnacak of Brown got Rookie of the Year.

Now someone tell me how a first team All-Ivy player loses out on Rookie of the Year to someone who not only doesn't make the 1st team, but doesn't make the 2nd team or even Honorable Mention either.

Full teams can be found here

Tuesday, March 02, 2004

Re: Tommy the Loon

Dan, is what you said about crackers true? Did you "report" it?

Re: Tommy the Loon

Careful there, Dan. Calling Tommy Woon "Tommy the Loon" could be construed as a racial slur.

Could be construed as such on whatever planet the man is from. (Could be Mars.)

Tommy the Loon, Dean of OPAL, hard at work

The following blitz was forwarded to me, and I cannot help but to read it over and over again in amazement...

Date: 02 Mar 2004 11:03:44 EST
From: Carol F. Bushway
Reply-To: bortaS blr jablu'DI' reH QaQqu'nay [sic?]
Subject: fyi
To: (Recipient list suppressed)
-----------------------
Greetings,

We are writing to let you know of a disturbing incident.
We learned on Friday (2/27/04) that an '06 African-American
female student returned to her residence hall room on Friday
(2/20/04) evening to find that someone had dumped dry dog food in
front of her door.

We are not making any judgments about this incident report
and do not want to make any judgments about this incident without
having more information. However, we feel it is important to
alert you in case you are aware of any student and community
discussions about it.

Please contact any administrator or staff such as the
Director of Safety and Security, Class Deans, Residential and Student
Life staff, OPAL (Office of Pluralism and Leadership) staff, or
faculty members if you have concerns to share or information to
report. We also encourage you to make your staff and other colleagues
aware of this.

Holly Sateia
Dean of Student Life

Tommy Lee Woon
Associate Dean of Student Life
Office of Pluralism and Leadership (OPAL)
---------------------------------------------------------

My concern about this egregious action is two-fold; first of all, why must OPAL immediately pull out the race card, discounting the possiblity of a drunken friend playing a harmless stunt? And secondly, if the prank was racially charged, why was no action taken when somebody left a pile of crackers in front of my door two weeks ago?

Further details to be posted as/if they become available.

Re: Trustee Election

Kalb - As usual, the three candidates put up by the nominating committee are almost impossible to tell apart from one another on the basis of the information we are given about them. Luckily, this is one of the rare years when there is a legitimate alternative in the person of petition candidate T. J. Rogers.

Alumni who think the whole, non-transparent, candidate selection process is fine and dandy, and that alumni have been well-served by the Board's direction of the College in recent years should feel free to pick among the committee's candidates at random, or by gender, race, region, profession, greek affiliation or whatever other factor makes you happy - it's not going to make much difference. If you think it's scandalous that alumni are given no clear picture of any differences in candidates' beliefs about the proper direction of the College, or feel the Board has in past years been routinely unresponsive to alumni concerns, then the only appropriate vote is for Rogers.

Just in case I've been too subtle, I think voting for anyone but Rogers would be a mistake.

Monday, March 01, 2004

Don't look now...

For those of you who didn't like the Dr. Seuss hat gracing Dartmouth's homepage--now the College has seen it fit to add various Dr. Seuss pictures. As much as Dr. Seuss means to the College, I think the administration has gone a bit overboard.

Trustee Election

The Alumni Association blitzed out saying that voting for open Alumni Trustee seat starts on March 5th. Who are the candidates, and which ones suck?

As promised

Forgive me if I fail with these images, but my HTML is limited at best. If I figure this out, there will be more in the upcoming days as we gather cameras and film. Depending on how these show up, the folks are left to right, or top to bottom, Freshmen Courtney Andree, Jackie Greaney, and Kevin Hudak, outgoing President Harry Camp, yours truly, and our goon show of Rollo Begley, Alex Talcott, and Raph Clark.