Friday, December 31, 2004

South Asia Needs Your Help

Western governments have given over $650 million to help South Asia recover from last weekend's earthquake and tsunami, but more is needed. Amazon is accepting donations on behalf of the American Red Cross; other relief organizations are listed in the side bar of the South East Asia Earthquake and Tsunami Blog.

Tuesday, December 28, 2004

Facebook

Today's Washington Post includes a profile of the Facebook, an online community of which Dartmouth has been a part since last winter.

Monday, December 27, 2004

The Daily D Takes Note

The Daily Dartmouth has at last reported on the Furstenberg controversy, though the article is little more than a brief summary of developments.

Saturday, December 25, 2004

Daniel Pipes coming to Dartmouth

As if Victor Davis Hanson wasn't enough, apparently Daniel Pipes will be paying Dartmouth a visit in late January.

Thanks to the Dartmouth Observer for the info.

Friday, December 24, 2004

Is Wright Responsible for Football Woes?

Many have sought to pin blame for Dartmouth's recent athletic problems, especially with the football program, on Dean of Admissions Karl Furstenberg. Despite his 2000 letter dismissing the necessity of the football program, the problems may stem not from his policies but from those of his superiors.

Review Editor Emeritus J. Lawrence Scholer '04 suggests that the football team's difficulties began long after Dean Furstenberg arrived at Dartmouth in 1990. Indeed, the recent glory days of Indians football correspond with his arrival: from 1990 to 1997, quarterback Jay Fiedler '94 and others garnered a 58-19-3 record.

It is since the 1998 campaign, the first under President James Wright, that the Indians have struggled, compiling only 16 wins in those seven seasons. During his tenure, President Wright has overseen football coach John Lyons' dismissal, the grudging reinstatement of the swimming and diving teams only after a public relations fiasco and, most embarassingly, the hiring of an an athletics director with a falsified resume. And that's only since 2002.

Such problems are hard to pin on Dean Furstenberg, the admissions director who recruited Dartmouth's first undefeated football team since 1970.

Football Coach Search Continues

Apparently interviews are already taking place.

Thursday, December 23, 2004

Football Links

Bob Hebert '76 has compiled a very thorough list of links on the Dartmouth football controversy.

Furstenberg Responds

Dean of Admissions Karl Furstenberg, who four years ago wrote that "football programs represent a sacrifice to the academic quality and diversity of entering first-year classes," recently said he did not mean those words.

Dean Furstenberg explained in a letter to Dartmouth students on Tuesday that "the sentiments expressed are not an accurate reflection of my views on intercollegiate athletics."

Furstenberg did not deny writing the letter, however.

His original letter, addressed to Swarthmore College President Alfred Bloom on official Dartmouth College stationery, praised Bloom's decision to disband his school's football team. "Football, and the culture that surrounds it, is antithetical to the academic mission of colleges such as ours," he wrote, adding that a "close examination of intercollegiate athletics within the Ivy League would point to other sports in which the same phenomenon is apparent."

Despite his stated belief in the harmful nature of athletics in general, Furstenberg wrote that he values "athletic competition and those who engage in it."

He further retreated from what he called his "private" statements in an interview with the Valley News last week. He told the Hanover-area newspaper that "Dartmouth admissions has been responsive to football throughout time and quite supportive."

President James Wright, in the same letter, explained that Dartmouth's athletics program "is as strong as it has ever been." Pundits, though, have pointed to the football team's recent 1-9 season, following on the heels of several middling campaigns, as a reflection of athletic weakness.

Wright said other schools "have raised legitimate questions about athletics," though he says Dartmouth is not among those schools that have raised these "legitimate questions"—at least publicly. While the College has repeated this defense several times, many sports critics see the elimination of key teams as illegitimate.

Wednesday, December 22, 2004

Football coach search update

No names, but good names are at least being consulted.

Here

Menashi Guest-Blogs for Sullivan

Editor Emeritus Steven Menashi '01 is guest-blogging for columnist Andrew Sullivan. Update: It seems Mr. Talcott beat me to posting this.

Beck has the goods...

on some nice web appearances by fellow alums James Panero '98 and Steven Menashi '01 here and here, respectively.

Review featured

The Review is now the featured newspaper of the Intercollegiate Studies Institute's Collegiate Network.

Here

Tuesday, December 21, 2004

Dartmouth Athletics Blog

Bill Wellstead '63 has started a must-read blog in response to Dean of Admissions Karl Furstenberg's admission that he seeks to derail Dartmouth sports teams. His Dartmouth Athletics site
will post letters and articles concerning the current crisis in the Dartmouth College Administration brought on by the revelation of a letter Karl Furstenberg, Director of Admissions and Financial Aid at Dartmouth, wrote on Dartmouth stationery four years ago concerning his negative feelings about football at Dartmouth and other sports in general.
Mr. Wellstead includes various damning articles about the future of Indian sports from the Valley News and the Harvard Crimson and, perhaps more importantly, correspondence from alumni and even professors condemning Furstenberg's letter.

The Furstenberg kerfuffle has already drawn attention from the Associated Press and larger regional newspapers, including The Boston Globe and the Manchester Union Leader. The College has mounted a typically poor defense of his comments.

Religious symbols in Rauner

Though Christmas displays in public areas have been shunned nationwide, Rauner special collections library is prominently displaying a Christmas symbol in recognition of the spirit that binds Americans together at this time of year. No protests against "blatant proselytizing" or other violations of student rights have been reported. (Updated for clarity.)

Don't worry...be happy

Grammy-winning vocalist and conductor Bobby McFerrin will be a Montgomery Fellow spring term.

Monday, December 20, 2004

Dartmouth Enduring

Like the Olympics...the Rolling Stones...and the Constitution.

Here

Thursday, December 16, 2004

College to offer flu shots

Dartmouth will now offer flu vaccine to all comers, including those not classified as "high risk," starting at a clinic next Monday, College health director John Turco wrote in an e-mail to students. Since the shortages of vaccine have abated to the point where some clinics are even over-supplied, might Secretary Thompson have been right to say the supply hiccup was "not a health crisis"?

Dartmouth College Republicans hit the AP wire

Dartmouth College Republicans president Jesse Roisin is quoted in an article about the problem of post-election political apathy.

Sunday, December 12, 2004

Shout-out from Sophistpundit

Here

"...[I]t's stories like the Dartmouth Review, an independent school paper that took measures to expose the flaws in their campus and succeeded, despite the best efforts of the university to get rid of them, that I find really interesting."

Furstenburg Comments in Valley News

The words themselves are unfortunately not shocking, but the fact that they were made public is. As Alex notes in his comment, the school is in damage control mode already.

Articles from the Valley News onFriday and today shed some light on the football team's struggles. The latter article is a good comparison between Dartmouth and its Ivy rivals in terms of facilities, admissions, and so on, while Friday's article has the candid remarks from the Dean. The relavent part of Friday's story appears below:

In the letter to Swarthmore College President Alfred Bloom [dated Dec. 20, 2000], a copy of which was provided to the Valley News last month, Furstenberg praised Bloom's decision to drop football from the Swarthmore athletic program.

"I am writing to commend you on the decision to eliminate football from your athletic offerings. Other institutions would do well to follow your lead. I know you've heard a lot of criticism about this decision, but I, for one, support this change," wrote Furstenberg.

"You are exactly right in asserting that football programs represent a sacrifice to the academic quality and diversity of entering first-year classes. This is particularly true at highly selective institutions that aspire to academic excellence. My experience at both Wesleyan and Dartmouth is consistent with what you have observed at Swarthmore.

"I wish this were not true but sadly football, and the culture that surrounds it, is antithetical to the academic mission of colleges such as ours. This is really a national problem and it is a good thing that you are taking leadership on the issue. A close examination of intercollegiate athletics within the Ivy League would point to other sports in which the same phenomenon is apparent."

Thursday, December 09, 2004

Trustee Candidates: Change for the Better?

All the alumni Trustee candidates are—oh no!—corporate executives. Sheila Cheston '80 works in the defense industry and previously served as the General Counsel for the Air Force. Gregg Engles '79 is an executive in the food industry who opposes Democrat-favored ideas like the Dairy Compact and supports President Bush to boot. Ric Lewis '84 works in the real estate investment industry and spent part of his career investing in the Third World. Last but not least, Curt Welling '71 is an executive involved with online finance and even works for some charities.

Clearly, these are very successful alumni, and are perhaps better candidates than last year's official lineup. Much like Trustee T.J. Rodgers '70, write-in winner of the 2004 election, none of the candidates has any apparent background in education. This may be a good thing, considering the damage that can be done to a school when it is administered by lifelong academics.

Alumni Council nominees for the Board of Trustees announced

Here

Four will vie for two spots.

"A ballot with the slate of candidates will be sent to alumni in March.

Petition candidates may have a place on the ballot provided they submit a petition form with 500 signatures of Dartmouth alumni. Only original, signed petitions in ink other than black will be accepted. Neither fax nor electronic petitions will be considered valid. The deadline for submitting petition forms is February 23, 2005. Petition forms must be requested by February 10, 2005. To receive a form please write: Patricia Fisher '81, Director of Alumni Leadership, Dartmouth College, 6068 Blunt Alumni Center, Hanover, NH 03755, email: Patricia.Fisher@dartmouth.edu, (603) 646-2258."

Wednesday, December 08, 2004

RIP Nilly

A '00 in my house sent word to our e-mail list that Nilly died of cardiac arrest at the end of last month.

If anyone wants to send condolences to his parents, feel free to contact me at kalb-dot-03-at-alum-dot-dartmouth-dot-org, and I'll be happy to send you contact info.

This is just tragic.

Tuesday, December 07, 2004

Huge blow to Dartmouth men's basketball program

Last year's Ivy League Rookie of the Year Leon Pattman '07 has quit the team.

Sunday, December 05, 2004

CN Turns 25

The Collegiate Network, a conservative newspaper consortium of which The Dartmouth Review is a part, celebrated its 25th anniversary this past weekend, as John Miller reports.

The Review is also celebrating a quarter-century of publication this year.

Tuesday, November 30, 2004

Lyons is out

Here

And Ty Willingham's out at my law school, Notre Dame.

I better get my resume ready for all these openings before Ben Flickinger and Elliot Olshansky, my fellow four-eyed, smart-school sports fans do so.

Monday, November 29, 2004

Harvard admits they suck

http://www.harvardsucks.org

Not quite as good as CalTech's Rose Bowl pranks, but impressive nonetheless.

Good job Elis.

Teevens '78 out at Stanford football

Here

Wishful thinking, but time for a return to Dartmouth??

Edit: More fodder that at least a change is in the mix. The Valley News reports a sit-down with Head Coach John Lyons and Athletic Director Josie Harper today. Here

Sunday, November 28, 2004

George Will On Campus Diversity

Prompted by a series of recent studies, columnist George Will discusses intellectual diversity in academia in today's Washington Post. His conclusion:
Many campuses are intellectual versions of one-party nations — except such nations usually have the merit, such as it is, of candor about their ideological monopolies. In contrast, American campuses have more insistently proclaimed their commitment to diversity as they have become more intellectually monochrome. They do indeed cultivate diversity — in race, skin color, ethnicity, sexual preference. In everything but thought.
Read the whole thing.

Hockey Ties

The Indian men skated to a 0-0 tie last night against Maine's Black Bears, the first-ever game without a goal played at Thompson Arena. Dartmouth goalie Dan Yacey '05 had 22 saves on the night, while Maine's Jimmy Howard stopped 33 shots. A last-second shot from Darcy Marr '06 could have won the game for Dartmouth in the extra period, but Howard made the save.

The team's next game is on December 10th, at home against UMass-Lowell.

Friday, November 26, 2004

How Far We've Fallen

This quick test was administered to British 11-year-olds in 1898. Some samples:
3. Name the conditions upon which the climate of a country depends, and explain the reason of any one of them.

4. Name the British possessions in America with the chief town in each. Which is the most important?
...
1. Write in columns the [Latin] nominative singular, genitive plural, gender, and meaning of:? operibus, principe, imperatori, genere, apro, nivem, vires, frondi, muri.
...
4. What important results followed ? the raising of the siege of Orleans, the Gunpowder plot, the Scottish rebellion of 1639, the surrender at Yorktown, the battles of Bannockburn, Bosworth, Ethandune, La Hogue, Plassey, and Vittoria?
I suspect even the most adroit and knowledgable Dartmouth student today would struggle with many of these questions, even were the subject matter less British-oriented.

Would that such things were still considered standard knowledge for youth.

Thursday, November 25, 2004

Myn's Project Looking for Help

From: Men's.Project@Dartmouth.EDU (Men's Project)
Subject: looking for help with Vagina Monologues
Date: 22 Nov 2004 17:18:04 -0500
Bulletin Topic: Men's Project
Expires: 8 Dec 2004 17:11:43 -0500

Dartmouth College's Center for Women & Gender presents
The Vagina Monologues 2005
Performances Tuesday 15 Feb at 7pm
and Wednesday 16 Feb at 5pm

The Sex Festival will take place Monday 14 Feb 5-8pm
in Collis Common Ground

The monologues will be performed by women from across campus, and there are plenty of opportunities for anyone to support and assist the production (director, publicity/marketing, set design, and other production team members, as well as ticket sales and assistance with the Sex Festival).

Please contact Jennifer John regarding the Vagina Monologues. Auditions will be held early next term.

Please contact Wade Meyer regarding the Sex Festival.

For anyone unfamiliar with the Monologues:
The production has been held annually at Dartmouth for the past few years and has been very succesful each year. It is run in conjunction with the week-long V-Day campaign each year and the 2 performances are preceded by the Sex Festival. The production includes a series of pre-scripted monologues exploring a range of issues pertaining to violence against women and female sexuality. The performers must be women, but men can certainly help in all other aspects of the production. Each year, we include a number of testimonials in addition to the pre-scripted monologues (the testimonials can be written and performed by women or men). All proceeds will go to W.I.S.E.

Animal Farm Meets College Hiring

The College is hiring new staff for its communications department. The job description is normal—works well with people, minimum three years experience, etc.—but just below it is a rather curious "equal-opportunity employer" disclaimer (emphasis added):
One of the most diverse institutions of higher education in New England, Dartmouth College is an equal opportunity/affirmative action employer and has a strong commitment to diversity. In that spirit, we are particularly interested in receiving applications from a broad spectrum of people, including women, persons of color, persons with disabilities, and veterans.
This does seem to say that "all resumes are welcome, but some are more welcome than others."

Those who are sufficiently diverse may send their resumes to Dana Yamashita of Dartmouth Public Affairs.

Tuesday, November 23, 2004

The Most Important News of the Day

The lead article in today's Daily Dartmouth describes in upbeat terms how the College purchased two large mats for the Collis Center floor. What's unique about these particular mats, apparently, is that they are decorated with labrynths—not to be confused with mazes, we are told. Why Upperclass Dean Lisa Thum decided to spend money on these items while the College recently cut back its library staff for budgetary reasons remains a mystery. Dean Thum says she hopes the mats will combat stress, though she doesn't say how.

A discussion about diversity in admissions with Dean Carl Furstenberg is relegated to second-story status.

Student attendance at hockey

Talking with some people still on campus, the student sections at hockey games have been a complete joke this year. And having seen some video from the Cornell game this past weekend, I must concur. A ranked Ivy League foe comes to town and the student section was 3/4ths empty for the entire first period. Sounds like there's a lot of fairweather fans who only show up when they get to throw stuff on the ice (ie the Princeton game) or who decide to wander in an hour after the puck drops.

I realize most students are going home this weekend for Thanksgiving, but if you're on campus, goto the game on Saturday vs. #8 Maine. And don't show up an hour late, get there at 7 PM or even 6:45 so you can see the pre-game introductions. Thompson Arena is going to be sold-out for this game, and it's going to look extremely bad if the entire place is packed to the rafters except for empty the student sections.

Rant over, but it greatly disappoints me as a very recent alumnus to see the student attendance regressing rather than improving. Especially when students get in for free.

Monday, November 22, 2004

More football

One play which sums up the season:

Tied 10-10 with 6 minutes to go in the fourth, Dartmouth blocked a Princeton field goal attempt. However, Princeton picked up the loose ball, and after a lateral, ran it in for the decisive touchdown.

This football team deserved better than a 1-9 record. They probably should've been a 3-7 or 4-6 team. One season like that would be a fluke, but this program has been stale for 7-8 years. At that point it comes down to attitude, and eventually you have to look at the coaches. Fair or not, look for a coaching change this offseason. Changing basketball and football coaches in successive years is tough, but the school has proven it can and will support its sporting teams that put forth a watchable effort (see hockey, baseball, lacrosse).

This is a once proud program that still holds more Ivy League Titles (17) than anyone else (Penn and Yale are next with 13 apiece). Hopefully we won't have to go through 20 straight losing seasons like hockey did before they finally start winning again.

Saturday, November 20, 2004

Football Loses, Ends 1-9

Dartmouth's 17-10 loss to Princeton's Tigers this afternoon left the team with a single win on the season, against Brown last weekend. The Indians went 5-5 last season.

As if to highlight the last-place Indians' fate, punter Grant Wagner 'TH broke the team's record for punts in a single season today by booting his 78th kick. Wayne Schlobohm '00 set the previous record of 74 punts in 1998.

Men's Hockey Prevails in OT

In besting Cornell tonight by a score of 2-1, the men's hockey team won its first overtime victory in two years and showed it could bounce back from yesterday's loss. Forward Eric Przepiorka '06 scored with just two minutes left to play, snapping a tie that had endured since the second period. As yesterday, the Indians outshot their opponents, this time by a 31-24 margin.

Another Disappointing Loss

It seems to be the tale of the young season for the men's hockey team. Last night, despite thoroughly dominating the Colgate Raiders, the Indians fell short once again, falling 2-1.

Though Dartmouth outshot Colgate almost two to one, including many high-quality scoring opportunities, some defensive miscues cost the Indians another should've-been win.

The Indians return to action tonight, hoping to regain some traction with a win against #9 Cornell.

Thursday, November 18, 2004

Shocking

The New York Times writes that liberals outnumber conservatives in the academic world. They even cite studies:
One of the studies, a national survey of more than 1,000 academics, shows that Democratic professors outnumber Republicans by at least seven to one in the humanities and social sciences. That ratio is more than twice as lopsided as it was three decades ago, and it seems quite likely to keep increasing, because the younger faculty members are more consistently Democratic than the ones nearing retirement, said Daniel Klein, an associate professor of economics at Santa Clara University and a co-author of the study.
As James Taranto would ask, "what would we do without studies?"

Update: That is indeed what Taranto wrote.

Derrida Is Dead -- Long Live Derrida!

Confusion abounds -- appropriately.

Linsalata: Behind the Mallet

The Daily Dartmouth sat down with Reviewer and Croquet League President Daniel Linsalata '07 to discuss "why croquet is an unmatched exercise in athleticism and mental fortitude." The article is accompanied by a photograph demonstrating Mr. Linsalata's distinctive style of dress.

College Set to Expand Campus

Dartmouth is continuing its northward expansion with the pending construction of a 342-bed dormitory cluster north of Maynard Street and an as-yet-unapproved dormitory to house 162 students on Tuck Mall. While administrators often speak of these dormitories as "the end of the housing crunch," the new rooms, when completed in 2006, may simply alleviate overcrowding in existing dormitories.

Some Greek members worriedly speculate that the construction could spell the end of the fraternity system, which houses approximately 500 students. Were the off-campus Greek facilities not needed to provide rooms to all students, they fear, the College could act with greater impunity to prohibit student residence in their own houses.

Administrators promise that the dormitories will not resemble the sterile "creative loner" housing in the East Wheelock cluster. Dean of Residential Life Marty Redman told the Student Assembly that residents could get "down and dirty" in special recreation rooms. Who knows? Those party rooms might be as fun as Fuel.

Wednesday, November 10, 2004

Groupthink in Academia? Nah

The Chronicle of Higher Education features an article in its latest issue that examines the very real leftward slant of university faculty. The author, Emory professor Mark Bauerliein, explains that liberals have created a fantasy world for themselves in which academic thought is liberal thought.
The problem is that the simple trappings of deliberation make academics think that they've reached an opinion through reasoned debate —�instead of, in part, through an irrational social dynamic.


He proposes that liberal academics—who are by far the majority—should seek to introduce true discussion by using materials they don't necessarily agree with. Bauerliein actually proposes something radical for academia: that "thickets of leftists critique" actually foster very little in the way of debate.

Monday, November 08, 2004

Jessiman Done for Season (Updated 11/11)

Update 11/11: Jessiman will undergo season-ending surgery on his ankle on Friday, according to the NY Post. Huge loss for a hockey team that is already struggling just 4 games into the season, and now the question becomes does Jessiman come back for his senior year.
-----------------

The news isn't good for Hugh Jessiman and the men's hockey team, according to the New York Post.

"X-rays taken at the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center in Hanover, N. H, have revealed ligament damage substantial enough to warrant further examination and evaluation today by Rangers medical trainer Jim Ramsay at the Blueshirts' training facility in Tarrytown.

'The ligaments on the inside of the foot are either strained or torn, I don't that's been determined,' Jessiman told The Post by phone last night. 'I'm hoping for the best, I'm hoping for some positive news, but it doesn't look like I'm going to be back on the ice any time soon.'"

Sunday, November 07, 2004

Men's Hockey off to shaky start

Well, 2 weeks into the season and the ultra-high expectations have come crashing down to Earth. Based on paper and talent Dartmouth should be 4-0 in the young season. Instead they're 2-2 after suffering another shocking loss, this time to Princeton, the unanimous pick to finish last in the conference (though in fairness to the Tigers, Yale has been far and away the worst team in the country so far.)

The good news for Dartmouth is also the bad news. They definitely have had more talent than any of their early opponents and the underclassmen are carrying the team thus far. Players like Stempniak and Przepiorka are too good to remain this quiet on the scoresheet for an extended period of time. But it also appears that this team is built to win games 4-1, 5-3, or 7-4. Which means in any game that stays 1-0 or 2-1 late into the game, they could be in trouble. They also have to start playing smarter, especially in the defensive zone. It's only four games in and they've already made roughly a season's worth of absolutely horrible turnovers that have lead to goals or near-misses for the opposition.

Also, if anyone sees or hears anything further regarding Hugh Jessiman's ankle injury in Saturday's Princeton game in the local papers or otherwise, please let me know either here or via e-mail. All I know is what was said on the radio, which was that he went straight to the hospital before the game even ended. If he's going to be out for an extended period of time, that's a huge blow to the team.

Also, kudos to the people webcasting all of the men's home games. The quality is much higher than I was anticipating. It isn't TV quality, but for a free service it's pretty damn good.

Saturday, November 06, 2004

Mister Restall Update

Dow Jones is changing the format of its fifty-eight year old Far Eastern Economic Review from weekly to monthly, and former TDR Editor-in-Chief Hugo Restall will edit the reborn publication. An Austrian immagrant, Eric Halpern, founded it in 1946, with a mission "to analyze and interpret financial, commercial and industrial developments; collect economic news; and to present views and opinions with the intent to improve existing conditions." Mr. Restall intends to continue down this course, claiming, "In important ways, this newest incarnation of the Review closely resembles the original publication launched in 1946."

Thursday, November 04, 2004

They just can't accept it.

Our Ivy League brethren in Massachusetts can't fathom how Bush won. What, then, is a disenchanted voter to do? Apparently, hold a protest and claim that Bush "stole" the election.

Hanover Democrats Come To Grips

Campus Democrats are apparently struggling to understand how so much of the country doesn't resemble Hanover, a liberal outpost in Grafton County. Echoing James Carville's sentiment that President Bush's supporters "are the dumbest people in America," Michael Martin '06 told the Daily D that he was surprised Hanover was not a national bellweather.

Distressed liberals held a cadlelight vigil last night on the Green.

Wednesday, November 03, 2004

Mister Beck Update

TDR's very own indie-rock connoisseur cum respectable journalist, Stefan Beck, appears on A&L Daily today. They link to his review of Stanley Crouch's The Artificial White Man: Essays on Authenticity, originally published in the The New Criterion.

Monday, November 01, 2004

Homecoming Sports Review

First a preview of the upcoming weekend: The Dartmouth-Princeton hockey game is this weekend. While no official warning has been issued thus far, a reminder that last season the team did not want people to throw tennis balls anymore (even though 50 or so did, and 3 supreme idiots did so a second time, forcing Dartmouth to settle for the tie rather than possibly getting the win - and they lost the Ivy Title by a single point) and I would assume the same applies this year. As a suggestion, if you absolutely must throw a tennis ball, do so after the last whistle rather than the first goal. The worst that can happen to the team at that point is a symbolic penalty at the 20:00 mark.

Next, it was an absolute disappointing weekend on the gridiron and the ice. The football team outplayed Harvard, especially in the 2nd half, but the porous kicking game, a questionable play call, and some downright bad timekeeping conspired to give the Crimson the 13-12 win. Dartmouth failed to convert after a touchdown for the 4th and 5th times this season. The decision to go for 2 and the win was a good one given the poor kicking game, but the play call on the conversion attempt was extremely poor. And the timekeeper was absolutely awful, allowing 5-6 extra seconds to run off the clock with roughly a minute to go, and then allowing the clock to expire when the ball appeared to be spiked with 1-2 seconds left. The on field officiating wasn't much better, with several blatent penalties going uncalled and the referee never putting time back on the clock standing out especially.

On the ice, the Dartmouth men held a 43-11 advantage in shots on goal, a 98-17 advantage in shot attempts, and still lost 2-1 to a weak Quinnipiac squad in an extremely boring game to watch. They bounced back the next night to take a comfortable 4-1 victory over UConn. The crowd both nights was disappointing. Only 3600+ for the season opener and just over 3000 for UConn. Last year the team averaged 4000+ fans per game.

Friday, October 29, 2004

Fluff Course

The next entrant in the long and glorious tradition of worthless learning for academic credit--this gem from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.

Wednesday, October 27, 2004

Season Ticket Sales Soar for Hockey

Season ticket sales for men's hockey have jumped 59% from last year, and are 6x's as high as they were for the 1999-2000 season. Roughly 40% of Thompson Arena is presold this year, not counting the student section. Some of that is probably due to the increase in the price of single game tickets to $9 a piece, while season ticket holders pay roughly 1/2 of that on a per game basis.

Year - Season Tickets Sold
99-00 - 295
00-01 - 539
01-02 - 832
02-03 - 1,046
03-04 - 1,159
04-05 - 1,841

An alum co-founded the Green Party?

Howie Hawkins '75, U.S. House candidate in Florida

Sunday, October 24, 2004

"Insourcing" study by Tuck prof

Here

Indian Football Heartbreak

Final Score - Columbia 9, Dartmouth 6

The Indians and Columbia faced off at Wien Stadium Saturday amidst hopes that Dartmouth could grasp their first win of the season against the winless Lions. Going into the second half, the Lions were ahead 6-0 after two field goals. Dartmouth gained good field position when Columbia quarterback Jeff Otis tossed an interception to Clayton Smith '05, and would later score with quarterback Charlie Rittger '06 from one yard out. After missing the extra-point attempt, the Indians allowed another field goal, finishing the game with 6 points versus Columbia's 9. This was the first win for Columbia since November 11th, 2003. The Indians next face undefeated Harvard in the Homecoming game Saturday, October 30th at Memorial Field.

Dartmouth Homecoming Schedule

For those alums making the trek back to campus, here's your spectator sports schedule:

Friday:
#2 Women's Hockey vs. Boston College - Thompson Arena - 5 PM

Saturday:
Football vs. Harvard - Memorial Field - 12:30 PM (yeah we're gonna get killed, but what's new there)
#12 Men's Hockey vs. Quinnipiac - Thompson Arena - 7 PM (NESN/CSTV)

Sunday:
#12 Men's Hockey vs. Connecticut - Thompson Arena - 7 PM

Saturday, October 23, 2004

Flip-Flops

This is why most newspapers don't endorse candidates during the primary--to avoid the awkward situation when their beloved candidate loses, and they need to endorse again. Apparently The Daily Dartmouth doesn't believe in this rule. After endorsing John Edwards "for President" during the primary, The D now feels the need (lest its anti-Bush credentials be questioned) to endorse John Kerry. Two endorsements, one election. A curious situation, indeed.

Friday, October 22, 2004

Panhandling Event?

Jonathan Lazarow '05 is organizing a "Rally for Change" this evening in front of Dartmouth Hall. The event, apparently non-political, is being billed as a community service opportunity for students.

The last "Rally for Change" in recent memory was in 2001.
J. Lawrence Scholer covered the fiasco.

*!*!*!*!*!*!*!*!*!*!*!**!*!*!*!*!*!*!*!*!*!*!*!*!*!*!*!*!*!*!*!*

ELECTION WARM-UP WITH ROCK THE VOTE'S JEHMU GREENE

Free food, hot drinks, and entertainment.

Dartmouth Hall Lawn

99 Rock will be kicking it off at 4:30pm

First speaker is on at 5pm

AND, last chance to pre-register to vote in NH:
3:30 - 5 Collis Lobby.

Thursday, October 21, 2004

Better than the Lorax

The Lorax only spoke for the trees. One Dartmouth student speaks with them and heals them too.

According to the Daily D, pagan Emma Sloan '05 uses "the power of the universe" to mend sick trees that consent to her help.

Wednesday, October 20, 2004

This article

is disturbing on so many levels. Must've been a slow news day.

Columbia Writer Hates Dartmouth

Kwame Spearman, a sports writer for the Columbia Spectator, has it in for Dartmouth and its Indian football team. Spearman, who graduated from Denver's East High School with a 4.76 grade point average, bragged that rural and unsophisticated Dartmouth is "hardly even a safety school" for students like him. In an article from April, he modestly described himself as "a famed sports columnist" known for "humor, good looks, and knowledge of sports."

One Review contributor noted that Spearman's article failed to mention the greater likelihood of getting shot at Columbia.

Tuesday, October 19, 2004

TDR: Volume 25, Issue 3

The new issue of The Dartmouth Review is now available online. The issues pays homage to David McLaughlin, considered by many Dartmouth's last great president, as well as coverage of a bevy of leftist hawks trotted out for students' amusement over the past few weeks.

Friday, October 08, 2004

One Vermont Liberal Wasn't Enough

Apparently, the College wasn't satisfied hosting only one liberal Vermont politician tomorrow. Democratic Sen. Patrick Leahy will speak to the Young Democrats in the 1930s Room at 2pm.

Socialist to Rant on Terror Bill

Vermont Rep. Bernie Sanders, the only Socialist in the House of Representatives, will speak on campus tomorrow about the USA PATRIOT Act's effect on civil liberties. The event will take place at 7pm in Filene Auditorium.

Tuesday, October 05, 2004

Way to Patch up America?

In part one of a series (though I'm doubting that part 2 will materialize) Adam White of the Daily Dartmouth offers advice for learning how to live with your politically opposite neighbor. ie A wily Republican.

A brief excerpt:
Your friend is one of them. He or she is taking a ride on the G.O.P. train. You've devoted a lot of thought to this friend, and you've realized that you have only two choices: 1. Somehow learn to live with the friend. 2. Shoot the friend.
It's obvious what you have to do. You decide to shoot the friend. But then you remember that you're completely against guns because you watched most of Bowling for Columbine and were appalled by Charlton Heston's limp. You're left with only one option. Learn to live with the friend.


Read it all here (if you so choose).

Nobody (at the Cornell Review) Rages (Anymore? Ever did?)

In a post at NRO's The Corner, Jonah Goldberg said of Cornell Review staffers whom he met after a lecture: "...they seemed uninterested in post-oratory libation, which is always a dissapointment for me, personally and philosophically."

Monday, October 04, 2004

The new issue of the Review is online, complete with the requisite freshman-authored "Orientation was a Leftist Kindergarten Wonderland" article!

The Porn-Watcher Returns

Eyewitness reports indicate that the man who viewed pornography in the Library over the summer has returned. He was observed moments ago looking at porn in the basement of Carson Hall.

Sunday, October 03, 2004

New Dartmouth Blog

Andrew Samwick, just returning from the President's Council of Economic Advisers to head up Rocky, has started a blog called Vox Baby. There isn't much up yet, but what is there looks good.


Via Power Line.

Tuesday, September 28, 2004

Dartmouth TV broadcasts

Hopefully more will be announced as the seasons progress, but at least 2 men's hockey games will be broadcast on TV.

The season opener against Quinnipiac on 10/30 will be broadcast live on NESN.
The annual battle against UNH in Manchester on 1/12 will be broadcast by WMUR.

Tuesday, September 21, 2004

ECAC Media Day

The men's hockey team was tabbed as the preseason #1 today in the preseason ECAC media poll, and second behind Cornell in the coaches poll. Lee Stempniak and Grant Lewis were picked for both preseason all-conference teams, while Hugh Jessiman made it onto the media's team but was left off the coaches' team.

The women's team was picked to win the conference in the coaches preseason poll.

Men's preseason polls (women's link on the ECAC page is broken)
Preseason All-Conference teams

Sunday, September 19, 2004

Dartmouth falls in season opener

Once again the simplest scoring play in football cost Dartmouth (0-1), who fell to Colgate 17-15 in Hamilton, NY yesterday.

Dartmouth failed to convert on its PAT following the first touchdown of the season due to a botched snap. The lost point would prove costly, as it would force Dartmouth to go for two when it scored with no time left in regulation. The 2-point conversion likewise failed.

Dartmouth has had trouble converting PAT's in each of the last three seasons. An automatic point for most teams, the problem has been the primary culprit in several losses over the last few seasons.

Kicker Tyler Lavin has missed more PAT's (12) than field goals (11) in his career. Lavin missed yesterday's game with an injury, and was replaced by junior kicker Erik Hinterbichler, who made a 21-yarder in the first quarter to put Dartmouth up 3-0 early.

Tuesday, September 14, 2004

Confederate Flag at Nebraska

A student at the U of Nebraska has created a stir by hanging a Confederate flag in his dorm window.

Most noteable, however, is the response of the school administration. They have asked him to take the flag down after a complaint was received, but agreed that he has the first amendment right to leave it up if he chooses.

"Chancellor Harvey Perlman and James Griesen, vice chancellor for student affairs, said they don't like the message the flag sends, but that Montgomery has a First Amendment right to display the flag in his window.

'I suppose that, as a landlord, we could say there's to be no visible sign in any windows,' Griesen said. 'Then we'd be in a situation where someone wouldn't be able to put up Christmas lights, or a Husker flag.'"

Amazing - a college administrator siding with common sense and the first amendment rather than charging the person with a bias incident, a hate crime, or holding 20 meetings on making sure everyone's feelings are ok.

Sunday, September 12, 2004

Ah, The Daily D

The freshman issue of The D is up. It?s quite the treasure trove of hilarity. While The D?s claims of being "Dartmouth?s premier school of journalism" had me rolling on the floor for the better part of an hour, some other articles are similarly hilarious, or just downright confusing.

Alexis Jolly ?05, in his op-ed, does praise the "handful of professors who don't concern themselves with appealing to an administration that preaches plurality at the expense of academic integrity" but goes on to say this does not include the "Dartmouth Review reactionaries who lament admitting minorities." Maybe a summer away from campus has dulled my memory, but I don?t recall any professor (nor anyone on The Review?s staff) who feels that qualified minorities should not be admitted.

But the coup de grace was delivered by Paul Heintz ?06. Take your pick, really:

"New Hampshire is the only real ?swing state? in New England, and if Al Gore had squeezed out an extra 7,000 votes in the Granite State four years ago, Bush could have cheated as much as he desired in Florida, and he still would have lost."

"Join one of the political groups on campus, like the Young Dems, the Greens or the College Republicans. Although keep in mind a quotation forwarded to me by a friend of mine who heard this from some kid at another school: ?He's the President of the College Republicans?! What the f*** is 'College Republicans'? That's just, like, a code word for virgins.?"

"As a Dartmouth student you have every right to vote here, and changing registration is simple and free of consequences. It'll take you a few minutes to sign the forms, and it will save you hours on Election Day when the Republican lawyers show up at Hanover High and challenge every voter who looks like a college student."

But I admit my favorite was this gem:

"And you can write! Write for the op-ed page of The Dartmouth, or the leftward leaning Free Press. Or if you're one of those awkward, socially inept, pasty white kids from an intolerant upper class family and you like to make fun of minorities and Jews and pretend that you're a really sweet guy when you actually have lots of inner-anger problems that will constantly plague you until your worthless marriage falls apart and you have a mental breakdown in your mid-40s, I wholeheartedly encourage you to write for The Dartmouth Review. Really, they do a great job."

If I would have known I?m "from an intolerant upper class family," I wouldn?t have needed to work 60+ hours per week this summer between three jobs to pay the tuition bills. Even in jest, you have to wonder about some of these people?

Wednesday, September 08, 2004

Alumni Meeting

Here's the invite:

"To Members of the Association of Alumni,

The annual meeting of the Association of Alumni will take place on Saturday, September 18, at 2:30 p.m. in Alumni Hall on the Dartmouth campus. The time of the meeting has been moved up by one hour in order to accommodate requests by some alumni and because a potential conflict with volunteer class officers has been resolved. The original call to the meeting was circulated to all alumni via the e-newsletter "Speaking of Dartmouth," and was also posted on the Association's web site. I am writing to urge your attendance. Voting will take place on the slate of officers, we will hear reports on the latest alumni trustee election as well as issues important to alumni governance, and we will vote on two amendments to the Association's constitution that have been offered by petition. For details, please visit the Association's web page..."

It doesn't look like there is any important business. Is this correct? If not, is there any undergrad who will be on campus willing to act as a proxy?

Friday, September 03, 2004

Indian Neckwear? Charles Knows a Guy...

As many of you know, TDR President Charles Kluender is in on a lot of shady deals. Well, back by popular demand, today he brings you the shadiest of all: Indian Neckwear!

Yes, that's right, Charles has somehow convinced Ben Silver of Charleston & London to haul Indian ties out of the closet for a limited run. (I'm told poor Mr. Silver only agreed after he was told that otherwise he might have a rather debilitating 'accident.') And for the first time EVER Charles is offering Indian BOWTIES! The Dartmouth Review is now the exclusive purveyor of this item, by arrangement, worldwide.

Due to the limited run, and the large minimum necessary, Charles will be placing two orders--one on September 10th and one in November. Shipping time is around eight weeks, so you have to order NOW for Christmas. (Indian ties make great gifts for Dartmouth alums.)

Ties: $65
Bowties: $50

TDR alums are entitled to a discount of some sort.

For all other inquiries and to place an order, contact Charles at president@dartreview.com.

Wednesday, September 01, 2004

Thursday, August 26, 2004

Women's hockey news

Current and former Dartmouth players are gathering in Lake Placid for the U-22 tournament. The Article on the unofficial reunion from Monday's Valley News was written by a Dartmouth alum, Elliot Olshansky '04.

A former Reviewer in the news

Former Review Editor-in-Chief Andrew Grossman '02 has co-authored an op-ed in Thursday's USA Today on statistical methods used to calculate employment.

Wednesday, August 25, 2004

Dartmouth President Emeritus McLaughlin Dead

An e-mail from current President James Wright announced the sad news. More will undoubtedly follow, but our condolences to the family.

Dear Friends,

It is with deep sadness that I write to inform you of the passing of David T. McLaughlin, (Class of 1954 and Tuck 1955), the 14th President of Dartmouth and a valued friend and colleague to many of us in the Dartmouth family. He died this morning while on a fishing trip in Alaska with his sons Bill and Jay and some Dartmouth classmates and friends.Mr. McLaughlin dedicated so much of his life and considerable energy to Dartmouth and its people. Truly a citizen of the world, he distinguished himself as a student, an athlete, a businessman, a trustee, and ultimately as president. We have lost a good friend of many years. His life was full, and, in the end, too short.I have extended our condolences to Mrs. McLaughlin, and we are working on arrangements for a service and a full obituary to recognize his many contributions. We will share that information as soon as possible. Meanwhile, I know you join me in having Judy McLaughlin and the McLaughlin family in your thoughts and prayers.

Sincerely,
James Wright

Tuesday, August 24, 2004

Reviewer takes on censorship

In a letter in the Daily Dartmouth, Daniel Linsalata '07 denounces recent calls for internet filters in the College libraries.

New campus political journal

Today's Daily D describes a new campus publication, the Dartmouth Independent, which seeks to present both liberal and conservative points of view in a point-counterpoint format. According to the D, the two sophomore founders will appeal to centrists by presenting both liberal and conservative ideas. Seeing multiple facets of an issue, though, is not unique to centrist newspapers; it is, in fact, a tenet central to journalism. The D did not publish comments from representatives of existing publications, including The Review, the liberal College-funded Free Press or the non-partisan Dartmouth Contemporary, a newspaper reporter Matthew Abbott '06 entirely neglected to mention.

The Fuller Audit and Redman's email

Another reason Greek organizations may be suffering low occupancy is the so-called Fuller Audit, a College-funded examination on the physical plants of fraternities and sororities that required houses to undergo extensive renovations by 2008. This audit—which included even such frivolous details as the accessibility of fire alarm pull-stations—is costing many houses hundreds of thousands or even millions of dollars, forcing them to raise their rents and dues to pay for it, even as insurance rates rise astronomically. The rent at Greek organizations, already mandated to be 80 percent of College rooming fees and in many cases much more, may be a large factor in students' decision to live on campus.

Friday, August 20, 2004

Redman

Check out this blitz he sent:


Good day to all.


I am writing to let you know of a problem confronting both the College and CFS system. All of you should be aware of our historic issues regarding lack of undergraduate housing. While the College is engaged in the permitting process with Hanover and completing final construction documents for new residence halls, those facilities will not open for several years.


Normally, we have been able to accommodate those who remain on our housing wait list by the time classes start. I am sorry to say that at this point on August 20 I am very nervous about our ability to do that. Let me explain why.


For comparison purposes, last summer (03) on August 15 we had 51 students on the wait list and were able to accommodate them by opening day. This summer (04) on August 15, 110 students remain on the wait list. I do not believe that an additional 50-60 students based upon last years information will decide to change their D Plan to something other than being in Hanover between now and opening day.


I have tried to understand where the increased demand has come from. While there are multiple explanations I could provide one is a hard fact that is not easy to ignore. In the summer of 2003 within the greek system all but a few houses were filled to at least their minimum capacity and many were at their maximum capacity. As of today, the greek system as a whole is 46 students short of meeting minimum capacity figures. At the same time many of the organizations who are below their minimun capacity have members residing in the residence halls. Some may be UGA's but most are not.


I have several greek organziations that are not even at 50% occupancy. About half a dozen with 4 to 7 vacancies and many who have one or two vacancies to fill to reach minimum. Only six organizations are at their minimum number or above.


I believe this is a shared issue for several reasons:


1. All of those on the wait list are rising sophomores. The very ones that we intend to participate in rush and join our organizations in October. If they cannot secure housing, they will not be here to participate in rush in the fall and we all will suffer.


2. If the vacancies persist and I was one of these students, I would not be highly inclined to join a greek organization that had members who could fill their house but did not. The student and their family would look at it that the CFS student took away the space I should have had since I did not have other options.


3. Finally, there is the financial impact. If houses do not meet minimum in the fall it will undoubtedly have an impact the organizations budget. The only way I can imagine to cover the operational costs is to increase dues to all members or to divert existing funds to purposes they were not originally intended for. Less social to pay the taxes for example. In addition, some of these orgainzations are in the process of applying for loans to complete fuller audit work. Those groups are using income from rents to cover the debt. Those applications so far have been based on at least meeting minimum capacity. I can only speak for myself, but I would be hard pressed to approve a loan when at the time of application the revenue expectations to meet the loan obligation cannot be met.


Those are the facts and my opinions.


I am requesting your assistance to help me with this situation. For those groups who have not meet their minimum capacity obligations I ask you to fill those spaces. In order to fill the spaces so that I can accommodate those sophomores on the wait list, you must fill those spaces with students who have an R in the D Plan for fall term and who are currently assigned to traditional residence hall. Bringing people in from off campus does not help me one bit. Housing students who are on a leave term does not help me one bit. If you are to be helpful I need to be able to assign the wait list students to the residence halls hence people moving into your facilities need to come from the residence halls.


Please contact Alison Harmon in the Housing Office to get current information regarding you occupancy. You can email her on campus or call the housing office at 603-646-3089. I shared this information with the CFS advisors who attended Wednesday evenings quarterly meeting. I told them that I would be sending out this note to all. At our next advisors quarterly meeting I anticpate discussing why this situation is different than in the past and what we collectively can do about it.


I apologize for the the terse nature of this note. On our part I am actively engaged in trying to rent local housing and converting lounges to bedspaces for maybe 45 to 50 students. Our offices here have been as creative as we can be to meet the sophomores need. The only avenue I have remaining to me is to encourage you to meet your minimum capacity obligation as outlined in the CFS Policies and Recognition documents.


I will be happy to answer any general questions and Alison can answer specific capacity versus occupancy numbers.


Martin Redman

Dean of Residential Life


I have a few other suggestions, which Redman is sure to love:


  • Let students live in Zete.


  • Let sophomores live in the fraternities in the Fall, when they are at the greatest disadvantage from a housing standpoint.


  • Don't insult the frats' intelligence by justifying this request by saying that prospective brothers might not rush because they didn't have a full house, among other things.


Don't a lot of houses, especially the nationals, already pull their brothers in at the last minute? When I was an undergrad, I had a friend who de-pledged AZD because they tried to force her to live there and she was the manager of the football team, which meant she had to be up at four every morning, and living in a sorority house just isn't conducive to that. I also remember my house losing a boarder because Psi U forced him to live there.


I feel bad for the kids who aren't going to get housing, but I wish the Administration would take a little more responsibility for this whole mess.


When they admitted the Class of 2005, it was the biggest class ever. It was so big, in fact, that they had to offer $5000 to get more students to defer, and then build the Tree Houses. Now the 05s are seniors, and they all have to be in residence this fall, so the 07s are screwed.


And now they want the frats to bail them out.

For Rago, who hates Dr. Seuss

Somehow, pictures of a threesome between the Cat-in-the-Hat, the Grinch, and Cindy-Lou Who might be a good way to extort 2.5 million from Geisel's '20 widow. Insert additional jokes here.

Thursday, August 19, 2004

Debating Nothing

In another seminal piece in today's Daily D, guest contributor Patrick Mattimore '72, in an op-ed piece, rants against legacy admissions. Not only does he spend the first half of the article raving against George Bush for some slightly-relevant reason, but he finishes up with inspiring conclusion: "I have no intention of debating the merits of either side's arguments." This statement comes, of course, after a laundry-list of arguments for and against various types of admissions preferences, and still fails to draw a conclusion. Is news in the summer really so slow that the D has to publish crap like this?

Wednesday, August 18, 2004

More on Websites

Joe Malchow sends in a link to the Cornell website redesign weblog.

What's that? Are you saying that Cornell has a weblog so that the community, including students, faculty, and alumni, can participate in the design process, offer ideas, and critique the new design? Yep, that's it. There's even a link to the weblog on the Cornell homepage.

For a school that goes on and on and on about community, Dartmouth (Hanover, NH, USA!!!!) might have done the same.

(If Dartmouth did have something like this, please let us know and we will note it here. That said, it clearly was not as prominent as Cornell's effort to involve others in the design.)

The new Cornell site will go live tomorrow.

Tuesday, August 17, 2004

The Blackbird Papers

Has anyone read this Ian Smith Dartmouth murder mystery novel?

A little slow

The Daily Dartmouth is running a preview of the changes to the Dartmouth website today. Unfortunately, it seems the writers and editors failed to notice that the site had already gone online. The new version was available as of at least 12:56am, roughly two hours before the Daily D's press time.

Dartlog first commented on the changes last Wednesday, and followed up with lengthy critiques. The College's preview page was up as early as August 2nd.

An oft overlooked alumnus

Why?

The "Introduction to Dartmouth" page of the College website mentions some prominent alumni. We never seem to mention that we graduated a Chief Justice of the United States!

Salmon P. Chase, Class of 1826

New Dartmouth site now live

The new version of Dartmouth's webpage is now live. It seems that the College made none of the changes suggested here on Dartlog.

Monday, August 16, 2004

"Career contacts are just as good at Nebraska as at Dartmouth"

One of the reassurances offered here

Hottest college for the Tech-Savvy

Us, according to the Newsweek Kaplan College Guide

Another shameless plug



Closely examine the cover of The New Criterion's forthcoming September issue. Among the names of its esteemed contributors, you will find Stefan Beck and James Panero; both of these TDR alumni are editors of America's foremost critical periodical. For details, check Armavirumque , the TNC weblog.

G. Rollo Begley can kill you. Really.

Many of us scoffed when we considered that our beloved Rollo would shortly be defending our nation. Recent events in Fort Benning, GA, where Rollo has entered the white phase of boot camp, should give us pause. I refer to weapons training.

Some of you may recall Full Metal Jacket's epic opening sequence, and diehard fans may even remember that the men have to name their rifles. Private Pile, for example, names his Charlene.

Well, Rollo now has a rifle, and its name is Lorene Lou. I would not want to encounter either of the new lovers in battle:

"Wednesday was our first day live firing the M16 [Lorene Lou], and the second group I ever fired I grouped all six rounds in a 4 cm circle from 25 meters. Then, on Friday, we were shooting stationary targets between 50 and 300 meters, and I was the best in the platoon with 39 of 40 hits. This coming Friday we qualify on the M16 with pop up targets from 50 to 300 meters, and the week after that is continued weapons training where we do covering fire with live ammo, night firing, firing with a gas mask on, etc. Then we qualify with hand grenades and learn to use the SAW, Claymore, and AT-4 anti-tank missile."

He also now runs two miles in 14:11, knows hand-to-hand combat, and is working on his push-ups and pull-ups. After a brief dispute we had on the merits of life on the Costa del Sol, Rollo finished his letter, querying, "What have you shot this week, bitch?" I am humbled.

I'm sure Rollo would love to hear from people; he can be reached at the below address, and his turn-around time is pretty sharp.

BEGLEY, George
203
A Co 1/38th INF
5480 Roush Dr.
Bldg 3210
Ft Benning, GA 31905

And write a large '203' on the back of the envelope--lest Rollo have to more push-ups.

Friday, August 13, 2004

Re: An ancient, elite college?

Great points, Andrew. I hope you'll pass them on to the powers that be in Computing.

I also found all of the tabs and text on the left WAY TOO LARGE; the font size needs to come down considerably.

Re: An ancient, elite college?

It's now online here.

Couple thoughts:

  • Doesn't this look positively outdated? That picture is so 1999!

  • If you're going to force people to use brand-new browsers to view the thing and give them nasty messages if they don't, why not take advantage that fact and ditch the tables? Still, I am impressed that there are no font tags in sight.

  • It is not a bad thought, but couldn't this be better integrated? How hard would it be to translate 100 words. On the plus side: almost no text-as-images. In other words, it should download more quickly, look better on slim browsers, be more accessible and translatable, etc.

  • The page title: "Dartmouth College - Hanover, NH, USA". What's the use of the location ID? It seems, well, provincial. Harvard is Harvard, Yale is Yale, Penn is Penn, and even Cornell is Cornell. What it should say: "Dartmouth College - Welcome".

  • Use of PNG images - Wow, they really are serious about requiring modern browsers. This will not work in Netscape 4. But, it's gratuitous--what do you get above using a GIF that justifies this added incompatbility. And why is this an image anyway? Why not put a link in 9-point (but relative) type below the image, right-aligned?

  • And why doesn't the image change on reload, like it did on the old (going back 2 generations) homepage? Maybe it does but my browser is caching the stylesheet. Quick fix: put that stylesheet declaration inline so that it can be done dynamically when the page is generated. Dynamic stylesheets are generally a bad idea.

  • Re the "Who Are You?" dropdown - Well, who are you?, and what's with the question, bub? "I am a...," which is still not great, would be better.

  • "Top of page" link -- kill this on the homepage.

  • Major complaint: No dynamic content. Where does news plug in? There's nothing fresh here to tell me what's going on on campus today, what happened yesterday, what research is hot, etc.

  • Major complaint: low density and flexibility. I like the design (it's a great improvement over the overly bland homepage of today), but the information density is much lower, making it less flexible. I'm not sure where to put news content or recent events. There really isn't anywhere. Keep the template, but redo the homepage. And do all these directory-->subdirectory links need to be on the homepage? It may be helpful for the first-time visitor, but...

  • Final complaint: Webblitz?! Students already know not to use it, alumni will love its sloth and data-destroying capabilities, and it's a great site for prospective students, parents, and other visitors who cannot access it at all. Great choice!

Bottom line: the broad information design is a great improvement. It makes a lot more sense and is more visually pleasing. The specifics, at least on the home page, need a lot of work.

Wednesday, August 11, 2004

'Recovered' Dartmouth Deaniac on the web

Self-described "Dartmouth Democrat, New Hampshire native [and] recovered Dean supporter" Sarah—presumably former Howard Dean campaign worker Sarah Ayres '06—has started a new blog, titled "The Dartmouth Wing Of the Democratic Party."

Intestingly, the site's subtitle is "Dartmouth: Not just for Republicans anymore," even though statistics support a strong Democratic streak at the College. Faculty, for example, are overwhelmingly Democratic, while students also lean to the left. Maybe it's just that Dartmouth's conservatives have a more appealing message.

Another slow news day?

Justin Neiman '06 is writing what he calls a "humorous" article profiling fraternity dogs for tomorrow's Daily Dartmouth. Fraternity members will supply "funny quotes" about the canines, plus their ages and breeds, to round out the piece. The Daily D publishes twice a week over the summer.

An ancient, elite college?

This new website design sure won't make us look like one in terms of web image.

It looks like it was designed for a summer enrichment program or something.

The sub-pages don't look as bad though.

Tuesday, August 10, 2004

Zywicki Back on Volokh

After a year at the FTC, alumnus Todd Zywicki is free again and visiting at Georgetown. Read his commentary on the Volokh Conspiracy (which is worth reading anyway, of course).

Monday, August 09, 2004

Professor Irwin in the Journal

Economics professor Douglas Irwin penned an article (subscription only) for today's Wall Street Journal that takes on critics of globalization and free trade. He especially emphasizes that globalization and "outsourcing" account for only a tiny portion?roughly three percent?of all layoffs, despite the labels of "Benedict Arnold" that some candidates attach to corporations. Instead, he argues, increases in productivity stemming from technological progress, combined with an economic slowdown, had more to do with job losses. His book on the subject, Free Trade Under Fire, was published last year.

Update: AEI has the column online for free. It's a good one. (--Grossman)

Friday, August 06, 2004

"I knew them when"

Some of us will someday maybe be able to say:

"I saw them hone their skills with Dog Day in the Hyphen," and few will know what we're talking about.

"Matt and Ben" takes off, leads to other opportunities

Wednesday, August 04, 2004

Speaking of FIRE

The Foundation for Individual Rights in Education is currently looking to fill two full-time positions: development officer and program officer. FIRE -- my old stomping grounds, for those of you not in the know -- is a great place to work. Details are here. You don't have to be a conservative -- in fact, that's completely irrelevant, as FIRE is a steadfastly nonpartisan organization. But you do have to be seriously committed to principles of free expression, especially in the academic context.

If you have any questions about FIRE, send an email to me at emmett.hogan -at- alum.dartmouth.org.

The Occidental President

The buffoonery is in full effect at California's Occidental College, according to this piece by Mike Adams, a professor at the University of North Carolina. Occidental President Ted Mitchell has used a shock jock's potty mouth as an excuse to shut down the entire student government, among other inanities. According to the college president, the radio host's offensive expression was -- I hope you're near your fainting couch! -- "masquerading as open expression." (I'm not sure how, exactly, you can "masquerade" openly; masquerading seems like an inherently furtive enterprise to me.)

Here's the best part:
In another bizarre twist in the Occidental case, Title IX officer Horowitz blames Jason Antebi for labeling a segment on his show "token black girls." Horowitz states that the label "is sexist as well as racist, an epithet that implies an adult has a job, or for that matter a college admission that she does not merit." The problem with Horowitz's accusation is that the segment was actually dubbed "token black girls" by one of the African American women (a friend of Jason's) featured on the segment, who discussed race issues from the perspective of an African American female. Of course, Antebi's speech would still be protected if he had indeed used this label in a derisive way, but the term was simply being used by African-American students to mock tokenism in higher education. For that, Antebi is dubbed a racist and a sexist.
Please direct all outraged emails to President Mitchell here.

Want more? The Foundation for Individual Rights in Education (who else?) has the goods.

UPDATE Uh-oh. President Mitchell's bio page says: "A Dartmouth professor from 1981 to 1991, Mitchell chaired the department of education [of course] and was co-chair of the academic senate for three years." So that's where he learned it....

It's as if he never left

Howard Dean—former Vermont governor, former Democratic presidential candidate and current object of Democrats' affections—will be appearing yet again at Dartmouth.

In what organizers are touting as "the first time a presidential candidate has ever come to a sorority at Dartmouth," the loser of all but one Democratic primary will appear at Epsilon Kappa Theta sorority on Friday evening to discuss "political engagement in the 21st century." The official Dartmouth distinguished visiting fellow for the summer, Dean has made few appearances on campus; perhaps he has instead been campaigning in the rural South. As at the few other events he has attended as a guest of the College, he will likely use Friday's visit to discuss the wild success of his flopped campaign.

Tuesday, August 03, 2004

Ivies in the minors

Former Ivy Leaguers playing minor league baseball

Here

Montgomery Fellow

The shirt-tail of this editorial feature on John F. Kerry and John F. Kennedy in today's WSJ:

Mr. Dallek, currently the Montgomery Fellow and a visiting professor of history at Dartmouth, is the author of "An Unfinished Life: John F. Kennedy, 1917-1963" (Back Bay Books, 2004).

Presidential historian Robert Dallek has been in residence at Dartmouth for the summer.

Dartmouth supports lewdness

The College did nothing to stop a man touching his privates in Berry Library last Thursday, dismissing it as not in violation of College policy. According to the Daily Dartmouth's account, many students were disgusted to observe the man fondle himself while watching explicit transsexual films on a public computer, though associate librarian Cindy Pawlek determined that such acts were consistent with library rules. In fact, Dartmouth defines sexual harassment as including "verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature" that creates "an intimidating, hostile, or offensive working or educational environment."

The incident may also have violated New Hampshire law, though. According to Title LXII of the New Hampshire Criminal Code, a person is guilty of a misdemeanor if he
(a) Fornicates, exposes his or her genitals or performs any other act of gross lewdness under circumstances which he or she should know will likely cause affront or alarm. (b) Purposely performs any act of sexual penetration or sexual contact on himself or herself or another in the presence of a child who is at least 13 years of age and less than 16 years of age.

Update: Former Review Editor Alston Ramsay '04 points out a quote from the article that takes the cake:
Katherine McNabb '06, who observed the incident, said that she was not particularly fazed by the transvestite pornography. "Don't yuck someone else's yum," McNabb said.

Indeed.

College to recognize Tubestock?

According to today's Daily D, the College is debating whether or not Tubestock can be counted as a "school environment" in order to file sexual harassment charges against participants.
According to [sexual assault awareness chief and professional feminist Abby] Tassel, there are two types of sexual harassment -- a direct verbal confrontation that she termed "quid-pro-quo," and a hostile environment. Tassel said she sees the chanting at Tubestock as a hostile environment. To find sexual harassment illegal, however, it must occur in a workplace or school environment. The question is whether Tubestock is considered a school environment or not.

If it does accept the annual river rite as a "school environment" event, Dartmouth may put itself in a legal bind. Having taken responsibility for some of the goings-on, the College might be found liable for anything taking place at the officially out-of-favor aquatic carnival--a risk it is unlikely to accept. The unofficial festival, held on the Vermont side of the Connecticut River since the New Hampshire side is College-owned, has grown less elaborate in recent years as the alumnus who bore the hefty insurance costs withdrew his support for fear of legal culpability.

Another bias incident

A conservative friend of mine sent me this email about a recent incident at the Hinman Mail Center:
This afternoon, I went up to the mail center window and handed the guy my ID card and asked to pick up the package that had been delivered to me. He asked me what my shirt said, and as I pulled away my bag's strap to reveal "Dartmouth College Republicans", he handed me back my ID card and pink slip saying "Come back when you have a Democrats shirt on." I insisted on getting my mail, and then he began to interrogate me on why I supported Bush.

One can only hope that this employee was joking and that he gave her the package in short order. With its recent efforts to crack down on dubious "bias incidents," Dartmouth policy should bring about an investigation by the Office of Plurality and Leadership. Whether such an investigation will take place is unclear, though the College has little record of punishing its employees for political discrimination.

Monday, August 02, 2004

Hockey attendance

Dartmouth finished 18th in the country in attendance this past year, averaging 4,037 fans per game. Wisconsin led the nation with 11,701 per game, followed by North Dakota and Minnesota, both averaging over 10,000 per game. Nebraska-Omaha and Michigan rounded out the top 5.

Dartmouth topped the ECAC, followed closely by Vermont (3,868) and Cornell (3,836). Dartmouth's attendance has risen dramatically the last several years, nearly doubling since the 99-00 season, while season ticket sales have nearly quadrupled from 295 in 99-00 to 1,159 this past year.

Average Attendance at Thompson Arena
2003-04: 4,037
2002-03: 3,738
2001-02: 3,254
2000-01: 2,952
1999-00: 2,205

What a tease

This is all the online of the Valley News has from an article in today's edition:

OK State Transfer Bulks Up Big Green O-Line
Hanover -- Are you ready for some football?


If anyone has access to the print edition, I'd love to know more about this.

Landing a Big 12 athlete on the line is a big deal...and this kid is probably a big boy.

Worth being excited about but I'd urge a restrained enthusiasm. Our University of Wisconsin quarterback transfer didn't work out this past season. Hopefully this new guy will help protect Rittgers, who could use some extra time in the pocket to find receivers, especially with the departure of our #1 and #2 all-time receivers -- Barnard and Cramer.

Cramer '04 signed by the Bucs

In the Chicago Tribune:

Tampa Bay: Signed WR D'Wayne Bates, LB Marquise Cooper, S Will Allen, G Jeb Terry, TE Nate Lawrie, WR Mark Jones and FB Casey Cramer. Placed WR Joe Jurevicius and G Matt O'Dwyer on active physically-unable-to-perform list.

Update:

The Tampa Tribune says the parties have agreed to terms on a five-year deal and that the signing bonus will be $43K.

Dartmouth's competition

Harvard, Princeton, Stanford....and Wisconsin?

An article on the alma mater of S&P 500 CEOs

President Wright is quoted.

There is no mention of the enrollment differential between Wisconsin and the other schools, but it is interesting nonetheless.
Daniel Webster, Dartmouth and nonprofit

Friday, July 30, 2004

Kiewit break-in

According to an email from Larry Levine in Computing Services, several of the College's computers were compromised on Wednesday. He speculated that some personal information had been copied, including some faculty pension data, though he noted that "there is no evidence that the intruder copied information containing names, social security numbers, and birth dates." Levine advised faculty, staff and students to watch their credit reports for unusual activity and said he had contacted the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

Wednesday, July 28, 2004

TDR - "Provocative rather than persuasive..."

So claims "Scoop" Duncan Currie, editorial assistant, on Weekly Standard Online:

"The most self-defeating thing philosophical conservatives can do in such an environment is retreat into a form of identity politics, i.e., play the persecuted campus minority and be deliberately provocative rather than persuasive. With undergraduates much less radically inclined than they once were, such Dartmouth Review-type rabble-rousing could easily ghettoize conservative students. For example: Harvard's conservative journal, the Salient, has become notorious in recent years for publishing fairly strident articles on homosexuality. On a campus where "organization kids" predominate, there's no quicker way for a right-wing publication to make itself peripheral to student life."

Currie is a 2004 graduate of Harvard. The full text of the article can be found here.

I don't know about everyone else, but I'd much rather be in The Dartmouth Review's "ghetto" (a well-appointed Main Street Office with lofty vaulted ceilings) than that of the Harvard College Republicans.

Ivy League athletic recruting

Exposed in this new book by a Middlebury alum who wanted to play soccer at Dartmouth, where his father was a prof.

Record giving

In terms of money, not participation rate

Dartmouth College celebrated its most successful fund-raising year ever with $118.1 million in charitable gifts in the fiscal year that ended June 30, 2004...

Reviewers save the world

Well, one at least. Of course I refer to the continuing antics of Specialist G. Rollo Begley, with whom I spoke briefly on Sunday. While Fort Benning is dreadfully hot, he seems to be in quite good spirits--save the loss of his hair, of course.

Apparently, his unit is not exactly the brightest, and they seem to get in a lot of trouble, thus necessitating more pushups and other physical pain. But things are looking up. They recently did an obstacle course just like the ones from the movies with the tires, the ropes, crawling under barbwire, etc.

In the next couple days, Rollo will learn hand-to-hand combat. Then he will be going on a 36-hour forced march where he will learn about setting up patrols, shooting positions, etc. And next week, he�ll don a gas mask and enter the gas tent. I don�t know when weapons training begins, but I�m sure we�ll here all about it.

If you�d like to mail him, his address is posted somewhere on this page a few days ago.

Ah, The Daily Dartmouth

Interesting article on Parent's Weekend.  Particularly odd, at least to me, is how the author managed (with one exception at the end) to only interview female students.

Tuesday, July 27, 2004

Reviewer runs for office

Review writer Katie Racicot '06 is seeking to represent the Hanover-Lyme district in the New Hampshire state legislature as a Republican, the Daily Dartmouth reports today. Also seeking the Republican nomination is Jesse Roisin '05, the former College Republicans president. The district has not elected a Republican candidate to the state legislature since 1982.

Monday, July 26, 2004

Fun with Yahoo

Go to Yahoo.com, and enter "sub-par school newspaper" or even just "sub-par newspaper." The top result, sadly, may not surprise you.

Saturday, July 24, 2004

Faculty for Kerry

While not shocking, it appears that 92% of Ivy League faculty who donated to a presidential candidate donated to Kerry. Interestingly, Dartmouth had the highest rate (97%) of giving to Kerry.

Thursday, July 22, 2004

A long overdue Robert Haines update

From early last month in the New Hampshire Gazette:

"How Not to Run for President"

A Senate confirmee

A rarity within itself it would seem, but a Dartmouth man to boot has been confirmed as the next U.S. Attorney in Rhode Island.

Specialist Begley update

My sources tell me that Private G. Rollo Begley has, after only two or three weeks in boot camp, been promoted from Private, First Class to Specialist, Fourth Class.  His letters, two of which I've had the opportunity to read while here at the Begley's, offer little detail, but Rollo is certainly up at 4 AM everyday, is completely bald, and owns no articles of clothing without "Army" emblazoned somewhere.  They are supposed to do four hours of exercise per day, but it ends up being much more because the whole unit suffers when someone errs in class, drill, ceremony, etc.  He "hurts everywhere."  Eight of sixty-three in his unit have dropped out and await their dishonorable discharge, and two have collapsed from heat exhaustion, with only one hospitalized.  "Don't worry though--I'm drinking plenty of water," he writes.

Those who wish to contact Specialist Begley, his address is as follows:

BEGLEY, George R.
203
A co. 1/38th INF.
Ft. Benning, GA 31905

On the back of the envelope, write a large "203."  ("Otherwise the drill sergeant has to turn the envelope over--so it's right-side up--and that's a waste of the drill sergeant's time, so I have to do pushups.)

Wednesday, July 21, 2004

Tuesday, July 20, 2004

A Faculty Member Takes Note

In a letter to the Daily D, economics professor Meir Cohn points out that two College-sponsored Israeli speakers have come from a small (500 strong) leftist fringe organization that opposes mandatory military service to fight terrorists. He then, wisely, wonders "why Dartmouth resources are being squandered in promoting the personal political activism of some of its faculty members."

OPAL: Now Without Teeth

Holly Sateia, Dartmouth's Dean of Student Life, notes in a letter to the editor in the Daily Dartmouth that "the Office of Pluralism and Leadership has no authority or responsibility for imposing any sanctions on students." What, then, does OPAL do with its six employees?

Which One Is The Lead?

In this article in the Daily Dartmouth, Megan Spillane '06 interviews one historian who thinks the Iraq war will decide the election. This is a hot-button issue, and many would doubtless be interested in a new take on the election.

The article nevertheless starts with perhaps the least interesting paragraph of all, describing the professor's background: "Montgomery fellow and renowned presidential historian Robert Dallek, who will lecture Tuesday in Filene Auditorium, shed light on the current administration and the 2004 presidential election in a recent interview with The Dartmouth." Apparently, that the Daily D conducted an interview "recently" comprises the meat of the story.

The most interesting portion of the article, and quite arguably the most newsworthy, is Mr. Dallek's take on the key issue of the campaign, dumped unceremoniously in the second paragraph: "Voters' judgments of the continuing violence in Iraq and of the Bush administration's 'inaccurate or false assumptions,' will determine the outcome, according to Dallek. 'The Iraq war will be the determinative influence,' he said."

This violates a credo of news writing, which dictates that feature articles should start with something interesting to draw readers in. Instead, this feature attempts to start like a news piece, and unsuccessfully so. This is like starting an article on Nixon's "I am not a crook" speech with, "Richard Nixon, elected into office in 1968 and again in 1972, when he won by a landslide, spoke to a national television audience last night."

The article presents only Professor Dallek's point of view. Ms. Spillane neglected to point out other possible election issues, like the economy, and she cited no voter polls on the same topic. No spokesmen from either the Young Democrats or the College Republicans was given a voice. That the Democrats seem to be gambling on the economy being the big election-year issue was equally overlooked. Along the same lines, Ms. Spillane left out any mention of the events in Iraq; recent improvements like the handover of power have improved President Bush's standing, while continued violence hurts poll numbers. The lack of analysis makes it more of a press release than a journalistic endeavor.

Based on this piece, one would naturally conclude that the election was the President's to lose. This is most obvious when one notices that Ms. Spillane left out a glaringly key detail: John Kerry, the popular Democratic challenger to President Bush, is not named once.

Thursday, July 15, 2004

Quinnipiac to join ECAC

USCHO.com has reported that Quinnipiac will become the ECAC's 12th member in the 05-06 season, replacing the University of Vermont, who is heading for Hockey East after one more season in the ECAC.
 
Holy Cross was the other finalist, though it appears that their lack of comittment to their women's team tilted the decision toward Quinnipiac.
 
Niagara, Sacred Heart, and Mercyhurst were also considered, though ultimately ruled out.
 
For Dartmouth, this likely means that their travel partner would become Harvard, like most other sports. Brown would likely partner with Quinnipiac, and the others would remain the same: Yale-Princeton, RPI-Union, Colgate-Cornell, and St. Lawrence-Clarkson.


Dartmouth Students To Run For State Representative

--------------------
Press Release: Dartmouth Students To Run For State Representative

Thursday, July 15, 2004
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact:
Jesse Roisin
jesse.roisin_at_dartmouth.edu

Katherine Racicot
katherine.racicot _at_dartmouth.edu
603-646-6314

Hanover, NH -- Two Dartmouth students, Jesse Roisin and Katherine Racicot, both long-time Republicans and New Hampshire residents, are running for two of District Nine's four seats in the State House. They are joined by veteran Republican and general contractor Tom Toner of Lyme.

Roisin, 21, is a rising senior at Dartmouth, and studies History and French Literature. He is involved in Dartmouth College Republicans, and is currently its President Emeritus. Inspired by the spirited campaign of Bob Gienko, a Dartmouth student who ran for the same seat in the 2000 election, Roisin hopes to motivate young people, especially college students, in the political process. "As both a student and a local, I will draw on my connections to the student body as well as my ties to the area," Roisin said. "I intend to listen to the concerns and wishes of the folks in this district, and incorporate them in our campaign platform."

Racicot, 20, will graduate in 2006, and is studying History and pre-med. Currently Vice-President of Dartmouth College Republicans, she also is a staff member of the Dartmouth Review, an independent conservative student paper. Racicot is running to show support for the Republican party and to give Hanover voters a more conservative option. "Democracy can't exist in a one party system," she said. "Hanover is a very liberal area, and I'd like to give people a more moderate candidate to vote for."