Monday, December 29, 2003

Re: Vijay Govindarajan

Hmmm... I briefly tutored his daughter in French. He's a very nice man, with a very nice family.

Pretty valiant effort

Dartmouth men's basketball loses to Ohio State 71-58

The AP article above calls a crowd of 14,000 "sparse." Sure beats turnout in Hanover for games.

And some guy made a halfcourt shot for only $100.
In the Valley News, Vijay Govindarajan, the Earl C. Daum Professor of International Business at Tuck, on globalization:

Here

DHMC shoots for $250 million

Here

Caretakers of an abandoned past

In the Valley News:

Student leaders from Dartmouth College's Jewish student organization are waiting to hear whether they'll receive funding to enable them to return to Eastern Europe to restore a Jewish cemetery left decaying after World War II.

Sunday, December 28, 2003

#14 Dartmouth defeats Mavericks 8-5

Update: With Vermont tying Umass tonight, Dartmouth is the official winner of the Bank North Classic. Both Vermont and Dartmouth had 1-0-1 records, but Dartmouth's goal differential gave them the title via tiebreaker. Hugh Jessiman and Brian Van Abel were named to the all-tourny team.

#14 Dartmouth beat Minnesota-State Mankato 8-5, in a game that featured 4 goaltenders, 3 misconduct penalties, and plenty of goals.

Sean Samuels '07 got his first career start at Dartmouth, though he was pulled in the third after giving up his fifth goal of the game. Dan Yacey '05 finished the game. Samuels picked up the win.

Mike Ouellette '06 had two goals and an assist, while Hugh Jessiman '06 had a goal and three assists. Lee Stempniak, Mike Turner, Nate Szymanski, Max Guimond, and Jarrett Sampson each scored as well.

Dartmouth finishes its nine-game road trip with a 3-2-4 record, and improves to 5-2-5 (3-0-3) on the year. The team finally returns to the friendly confines of Thompson Arena this Friday against travel partner Vermont.

The Continuing Crisis...And How You Can Help

It's the end of the year, and you know what that means: your last chance to decide what to do with your hard-earned money.

We all know that the federal government wastes a good chunk of what we pay in taxes every year. There's no reason to expect that 2004 will be any different. Here's what's in next year's budget already: millions of dollars to install a rainforest in Iowa, hundreds of thousands for a musical theme park commemorating the life of Johnny Appleseed, tens of millions to unlock the secret of the trout genome, and billions more for thousands of similarly worthless items.

And what happens to the money that our elected officials and the bureaucrats haven't simply pocketed when no one was looking? They take a good amount of it, and they give it away to poor people. I'm not making this up. Between all of the New Deal and the Great Society programs, we're talking about billions of dollars. Maybe trillions.

After skimming off for waste, fraud, abuse, and idiocy, not to mention the $20 billion or so that the government can't account for at all, it's a wonder that there's any money left for programs of vital national importance like missile defense, interstate commerce, and ethanol subsidies.

Unfortunately, there is no such thing as a "taxpayer earmark." You can't direct the government to spend your tax money on something useful, like the NIH's research into idleness, and to keep it away from things that you don't believe in, like the Supreme Court, the postal conspiracy, and evolution "science."

And you can't just not pay taxes, even if the Sixteenth Amendment was not lawfully ratified and is therefore null and void and you have a pamphlet that proves it beyond a reasonable doubt. Trust us. We have friends who've tried this. They're in jail.

But you can still keep your money out of the government's greedy paws...to a point.

If you're not maxed out for 2003, why not make a last-minute tax-deductable donation to The Dartmouth Review?

The Dartmouth Review shares your values: it has always been vociferously anti-Communist, a fierce defender of freedom and free expression, a bulwark against change in uncertain times, and a powerful opponent of anything more than just a misting of Vermouth. The Dartmouth Review is perhaps the only voice on Dartmouth's campus today speaking in favor of virtue, morality, and privilege. As you may know, the Tucker Foundation isn't what it once was.

And neither is the College. It may shock you to learn that several faculty members on campus agreed with Democrat Howard Dean's assertion that the capture of Saddam Hussein made our great country less safe. Such sentiments are, unfortunately, prevalent on college campuses today. That's why The Dartmouth Review needs your support more than ever.

As I recall from my days doing it, running the Review is an expensive proposition, what with publishing costs, postage, rent, computers, and the ever-increasing prices of the premium Scotches. Every little bit you can spare helps to defray these expenses. Every donation counts. Especially larger ones.

Best of all, it's now easy to contribute. The paper has shrugged off the complexity of checkbooks, indelible inks, and proper postage, and now allows donations to be completed online, instantly. You can even elect to have the Review withdrawal a donation every month from your credit account automatically, if you choose to become a sponsor.

Remember, the government's just going to waste your money anyway. So if it's going to be wasted, why not let someone you trust do it?

Help The Dartmouth Review save Western civilization. Just click here.

Saturday, December 27, 2003

Dartmouth hockey @ UVM Tournament

#14 Dartmouth's record goes to a bizarre 4-2-5 (3-0-3) on the year following yet another tie, this time to the 9th-ranked Minutemen of Massachusetts.

The goals for Dartmouth were scored by Darcy Marr '06, Hugh Jessiman '06 (on a 5v3 power play), and Nathan Szymanski '05. It was Marr's first goal of the year, Jessiman's seventh, and Szymanski's third.

Dartmouth came back from a 3-1 deficit to tie the game at 3 following Jessiman's goal late in the 2nd and Szymanski's in the first few minutes of the third. The two goals came after head coach Bob Gaudet '81 said the magic words to the ref, drawing an unsportsmanlike conduct penalty. The fiery Gaudet sparked the team, however, and they managed to mount the comeback.

Dartmouth will finish their 9-game road trip when they face Minnesota State-Mankato tomorrow at 4 PM at the Gutterson Field House in Burlington, Vermont. They'll return home for the first time in two months on January 2nd, where they will face off against Vermont at Thompson Arena.

It's primary time

Government professor Linda Fowler quoted in the Anchorage Daily News

A profile of General Electric CEO Jeffrey Immelt '78

In the Financial Times:

Here

Wednesday, December 24, 2003

Holy Cross football taps former Dartmouth defensive coordinator

Tom Gilmore, the Crusaders' new head coach, helped the Indians to Ivy League championships in 1992 and 1996.

Holy Cross has been one of the few teams Dartmouth has beat perennially. They went 1-11 last season and still caught some flack for their decision for dismission to dismiss former Head Coach Dan Allen, who suffers from multiple chemical sensitivity, a rare disease that has confined him to a wheelchair.

Princeton Review Guide to Elite Colleges

A photo of Dartmouth Hall is on the cover.

Tuesday, December 23, 2003

B. Espen Eckbo, founding director of the Center for Corporate Governance at Tuck, is quoted in this Business Week article about the Safeway supermarket chain and its board of directors.

Petition recognition

Pro-Israel activism at Dartmouth recognized.

On a side note, apparently there are Israeli and U.S. flags side by side in the Roth Center, which is uncomfortable for some non-Zionist Jews. I also recall an '03 who objected to a Hillel ski trip that conflicted with the sabbath.

Monday, December 22, 2003

Dumb jocks...

we have not.

A 3.70 and a 3.48? And these were some of our best performers on the gridiron.

A Dartmouth ski bum alum

In theVail Daily:

Here

Dartmouth and wireless LANs

In Computerworld:

Here

For those of you in Hanover

Holiday schedule and office closings

Sunday, December 21, 2003

Maybe They Went to Dartmouth?

Well, it would explain their Mac ... lifestyle.

Friday, December 19, 2003

Drinking like a Dartmouth boy

Latvian man sets world record for blood alcohol level

Oh well

The Olson twins are going to NYU.

The Annals of Inanity

Date: 17 Dec 2003 22:30:21 EST
From: Amy d. Salomon 01 (make list)
Subject: Tony Bennett...
To: Amy d. Salomon 01 (Verbose [I'll say! -- Emmett])
Bcc: Emmett M. Hogan 01
------
I've been listening to his Christmas album all night while making candy cane
reindeer for my first graders and drinking too much egg nog...oy vey. This is
what happens when I leave my Harry Connick Jr. holiday album in Montreal with
my mom :) Only one crooner this year - what a shame.


Please, please, please enliven my holiday season with your updates for the
Class Notes! I would be overjoyed to hear from you. Really. And please write
SOON (I'd like to write these this weekend...)


Enjoy your holidays!


Amy

###
Why is my inbox disturbed by this sort of thing?

Thursday, December 18, 2003

U of Vermont may leave ECAC

The University of Vermont announced today that it has initiated discussions that could lead to its men's and women's hockey teams leaving the ECAC for Hockey East (HEA). No timeline for official meetings or a possible vote by current HEA members have been set.

UVM's leaving would impact Dartmouth more than anyone else, as the two schools are travel partners under the current scheduling system in the conference.

No word yet from the ECAC on what they would do if UVM does in fact jump ship, be it adding a new 12th team or trying to work with the ugly scheduling of an 11 team league. Fan speculation has the conference looking at Holy Cross, Army, Quinnipiac, UConn, and Sacred Heart as possible replacements.

There is no doubt that UVM is likely a better fit for HEA, as they are currently the only public university in the ECAC. HEA currently has UNH, Maine, and UMass along with BU, BC, Providence College, Merrimack, Northeastern, and UMass-Lowell.

Re: Not "Dr."

Many newspapers (incl. the Times) will only use the title "Dr." for newsmakers who specifically request it.

Yes, it is a good way to chart public figures' insecurity.

Anyway, I used "Mr." below to distinguish Prof. Blanchflower from his ex- (soon-to-be-ex?) wife, who may also be a Dr. or, for all I know, a professor.

Another interesting item: "Prof." ranks above "Dr." for the reason that most professors can be assumed to hold doctorates while not all those holding doctorates are professors.

Of course, another explanation may be that it's professors who decide this sort of thing.
According to the Valley News, Dresden plan reviewed: "A plan that would make a new middle school the center of a new village on Lyme Road is nearing approval from the town planning board."

Sacerdote in the Christian Science Monitor

...[D]oes living and working with other smart people really boost a student's performance? A cluster of recent studies suggest the answer is less than clear. "It's mostly been assumption up to this point," says Bruce Sacerdote, an economics professor at Dartmouth College and one of a cadre of researchers trying to quantify what, if any, effect students have on one another's academic performance. "Nobody's completely nailed the question."

Wednesday, December 17, 2003

Career Services blitz bulletin

Done at noon? Sounds like a drinkin' party

Date: 17 Dec 2003 16:03:58 -0500
From: Teresa.K.Hawko@Dartmouth.edu (Teresa K. Hawko) (make list)
Subject: Thurs noon closing
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Career Services will be closed all Thursday afternoon (after 12) for our office
holiday party.

We will reopen on Friday at 8am for your service

Happy Holidays!

A major Dartmouth luckily does not offer

American Studies

It's his last season

"We knew they were a quicker team," Dartmouth Coach Dave Faucher said. "I don't like to use the word slow, I think we're a controlled team and, overall, I thought we played very controlled."

Yeah, he called the team slow. The Indians did stick it out for a 68-65 win over Maine, starting all underclassmen, including four guards who scored in double figures.

It's Faucher's 13th and last season as head coach according to many preseason reports.

Not "Dr."

Not in editorial or features writing for the Wall Street Journal.

Re: ???

Actually, Andrew, Mr. (wouldn't it be "Dr."?) Blanchflower is best known (I know) for being a not-too-cool guy.

Tuesday, December 16, 2003

Re: ???

The case, by the way, is titled "In the Matter of David G. Blanchflower and Sian E. Blanchflower" and concerns, according to the court, "Divorce -- whether petitioner can specify adultery as fault ground for divorce when the respondent and co-respondent are of the same sex; appeal from denial of motion for interlocutory transfer."

And here is the court's opinion. The dish:
The record supports the following facts. The petitioner filed for divorce from the respondent on grounds of irreconcilable differences. He subsequently moved to amend the petition to assert the fault ground of adultery under RSA 458:7, II. Specifically, the petitioner alleged that the respondent has been involved in a "continuing adulterous affair" with the co-respondent, a woman, resulting in the irremediable breakdown of the parties� marriage. The co-respondent sought to dismiss the amended petition, contending that a homosexual relationship between two people, one of whom is married, does not constitute adultery under RSA 458:7, II. The trial court disagreed, and the co-respondent brought this appeal.

Before addressing the merits, we note this appeal is not about the status of homosexual relationships in our society or the formal recognition of homosexual unions. The narrow question before us is whether a homosexual sexual relationship between a married person and another constitutes adultery within the meaning of RSA 458:7, II.
...
The plain and ordinary meaning of adultery is "voluntary sexual intercourse between a married man and someone other than his wife or between a married woman and someone other than her husband." Webster�s Third New International Dictionary 30 (unabridged ed. 1961). Although the definition does not specifically state that the "someone" with whom one commits adultery must be of the opposite gender, it does require sexual intercourse.
...
As noted above, the concept of adultery was premised upon a specific act. To include in that concept other acts of a sexual nature, whether between heterosexuals or homosexuals, would change beyond recognition this well-established ground for divorce and likely lead to countless new marital cases alleging adultery, for strategic purposes. In any event, "it is not the function of the judiciary to provide for present needs by an extension of past legislation." Naswa Motor Inn, 144 N.H. at 92 (quotation and brackets omitted). Similarly, "we will not undertake the extraordinary step of creating legislation where none exists. Rather, matters of public policy are reserved for the legislature." In the Matter of Plaisted & Plaisted, 149 N.H. 522, 526 (2003).

The court's restraint is, I think, laudable.

BTW, Mr. Blanchflower is a professor of economics at Dartmouth and best known (I think) for his work on wages.

???

When a woman cheats on her husband in a lesbian affair, it isn't adultery. At least so says the New Hampshire Supreme Court in a 3-2 ruling. The court ruled that a Dartmouth College professor cannot use same-sex adultery as a ground for divorcing his wife. Adultery, the court said, takes place only when the extra-marital sexual liaison involves a man and a woman.

Monday, December 15, 2003

Piss-poor performance and turnout

Dartmouth loses 56-45 to UNH, shooting just 3-21 from three-point territory, to a "crowd" of 550 at the Verizon Wireless Center in Manchester, which holds 11,000. There was a snowstorm, 3000 tickets were sold, and Dartmouth lives and dies by the three, but this still stinks.

Here

Sunday, December 14, 2003

DMS/DHMC capital campaign

Hockey loses heartbreaker in Maine

Dartmouth fell behind 3-0, only to rally and cut Maine's lead to 3-2. Dartmouth appeared to tie the game with Hugh Jessiman's 2nd goal of the game at 19:59 of the 3rd period, but the ref waved it off on a controversial man in the crease call. A Dartmouth player was in the crease, but was knocked in there by a Maine player.

Dartmouth falls to 4-2-4 (3-0-3) on the year. They'll finish up their 2 month, 9 game road trip between Christmas and New Year's when they travel to Burlington, VT for the Auld Lang Syne Tournament. Dartmouth will finally return home January 2nd to face travel partner Vermont.

Saturday, December 13, 2003

Happy 234th!

On this day in 1769, Dartmouth College received its charter.

A nice time to review a brief history of the College and our succession of presidents.

Monday, December 08, 2003

Dartmouth Polling

Polipundit is pointing to an article exposing some John Kerry fibs through the cunning use of facts. And a 2000 primary poll by Dartmouth is used to do it!

Since when did Dartmouth do polling? That's neat to hear.

Sunday, December 07, 2003

Re: Quaker takes

I hate to break it to everyone, but a penguin is an Antarctic bird, not an Arctic bird.

If you're looking for Arctic birds, I believe the ptarmigan is available.

Quaker takes on Keggy

The editorial page editor of the Daily Pennsylvanian on Keggy

Re: Alumni Vote

Here's a story from The Daily Dartmouth on the vote. Good stuff. As we learned with the swim team debacle, it's very possible to get alums interested in current affairs at Dartmouth. Heck, we can even win, too.

Saturday, December 06, 2003

Alumni Vote

The proposal did not meet the 3/4 requirement at the vote today. More details as soon as we have them.

He once was lost...

>Date: 06 Dec 2003 00:13:17 EST
>From: Jack-O-Lantern
>Subject: Keggy Found
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

Keggy has been recovered. He was in a dorm room inhabited by students who are known for stealing from fraternity houses. His nose is crushed beyond recognition, but the rest of the costume seems to be okay, so if we can make a new nose Keggy will hopefully be back sometime in the winter.

Word will slowly spread about the identity of Keggy's captors. Please be kind to them, at least until winter term. We want them to get good grades during finals so they can transfer to another college with relative ease.

Thanks to everbody for words of support. We'd like to reemphasize that this was NOT a Jacko publicity stunt, that we really have been running around like headless chickens all day hunting for Keggy, and will fail our exams tomorrow because of it. We look forward to providing Dartmouth with further silly-mascot services throughout winter term.

Good luck on your exams.

Love,
The Jack-O-Lantern

Friday, December 05, 2003

Re: Mansfield after Dark

Nothing about this speaks well for the nation's most unquestionably prominent institution of higher learning.

First of all, it would be nice if the article actually told us what the speech was about.

Second, some of the students' are silly enough to warrant repitition of the old rule: if anyone ever uses the words "I was offended," or any derivative thereof, in a sentence, disregard everything and anything they say.

Finally, let's look at Ms. Goetz's statement: "If I was a gay man I'd be offended." A few comments:
a. She's not a gay man, so who the &#@% cares?
b. Some substantiation or reasoning please? Not a real helpful comment here.
c. If I WAS? if I WAS??!?!??!? are we joking here? A student at any self-respecting elementary school would get hit in the head with a ruler (from about 10 yards away) for saying something like this, yet a graduate student (4th year, no less) at Harvard can't get their grammar straight? IF I WERE.

Wow. Unbelievable.

Re: FO&M Troubleshooters

So did they manage to get your roommate out? The few times I've had to deal with the Troubleshooters, they've been both knowledgable and helpful. That said, that arm of the administration is extremely well run, even the ORL end of things. Bernard Haskell's a great guy, despite the way we may feel about his employers.

Mansfield after Dark

The Harvard Crimson is reporting that "students in Eliot House said they were offended" -- horrors! -- by a speech on undergraduate sex by Professor Harvey Mansfield. The most interesting part was the following:
Students said they were offended when Mansfield said the only gentlemen left were either gay or conservative.
Immediately afterwards came the following, entirely without irony:
�If I was a gay man I�d be offended,� said Rebecca Goetz, a fourth year graduate student in history who attended the speech as a guest of an Eliot undergraduate.
Boy, that just takes the taco. Where should I begin? That it was offensive for Mansfield to say that gays are gentlemanly towards women? That Rebecca doesn't think conservatives should be offended as well? Her refusal to use the subjunctive? Beautiful.

Via Andrew Sullivan.

Re: Pizza and Protest Tomorrow

Although we are Dartmouth students today, we will spend the majority of our lives as Dartmouth alumni.

No kidding!

Snarkiness aside, this is a good thing.

Pizza and protest tomorrow

>Date: 05 Dec 2003 21:05:32 EST
>From: Noah R. Riner
>Subject: Protest for Alumni Rights!
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

**Protest tomorrow to maintain your alumni voting rights!**

Take a break from studying and join the protest this Saturday at 11:15am at the HOP (we'll be immediately inside the doors). Free pizza will be provided.

Although we are Dartmouth students today, we will spend the majority of our lives as Dartmouth alumni. One of the most important ways that alumni contribute to the college is by helping select half of the Board of Trustees. Alumni have brought a very disturbing issue our attention, and we feel it should be shared with you, the future alumni of Dartmouth.

This Saturday, Dec. 6, the Association of Alumni will vote on a new constitution, merging with the other alumni governing body, the Alumni Council. The problem lies in the fact that the new joint constitution could be amended by a small group, the leadership of the association. Alumni's rights to vote on trustees could be taken away and placed in the hands of that leadership group. Members of Student Assembly are not accusing anyone of trying to immediately take away alumni's voting rights; however, the new constitution would open the possibility for such an appalling act.

Also disturbing is the fact that according to a recent alumni-funded poll, 89% of alumni were not aware that a new constitution was being proposed. Numerous alumni have contacted us and are vehemently opposed to the new constitution because of its vulnerability to non-democratic amendments.

Because this proposed constitution is dangerously susceptible to significant non-democratic changes and because so many alumni are unaware that the vote is taking place, the issue should be tabled or voted down until these problems have been addressed. A student protest will take place this Saturday at 11:15 outside of the HOP to safeguard our voting rights as future alumni.

Sincerely,

Janos Marton
Student Body President

Noah Riner
Student Body Vice President

For more information, see these articles:

*http://www.daog.org/
*http://www.thedartmouth.com/article.php?aid=2003110401010
*http://69.57.157.207/archives/2003/11/03/silencing_alumni_voices_alumni_lose_rights_of_selfgovernance.php

Re: Still Not Laughing

Well, I think it's actually kinda funny... But I have a taste for outrageously offensive humor that others wouldn't find amusing. At the least, it's definitely provocative, and it's the height of irony that it would be by a comment on political correctness.

Re: Still not laughing

During a Blitz exchange with Mr. Shpeen, he revealed that his original headline for the article was "The Dartmouth Toreadors." A certain Karsten Barde is responsible for the printed title. Apparently "he didn't even realize the connotation" of his new title. So much for recognition, and the language of political correctness. This is just outright stupid and offensive.

Keggy update

Complete with photo of a bound and gagged Keggy

Senior intelligence officials believe Mr. Keggy may be moving between the Pakistan-Afghanistan border territory.

Re: Still not laughing

Perhaps the real joke lies on the opposing page: an editorial titled "Recognition: The New Anti-Racism." And part of the pull quote:

"As a generation, we are extraordinarily well versed in the language of political correctness..."

Still not laughing

We at TDR often scold the Dartmouth Free Press for lacking a sense of humor. They finally tried their hands at a joke, and the result is . . . uh . . . I really don't know what to say.

Well, here's the headline to Adam Shpeen's article about Red Bull:

THE FINALS SOLUTION

Re: Letter from the SA...

Janos' email may be on track, except for the fact that the email address he gives for Mr. McClintock is not in use according to a quick DND search. C'mon people, its not hard to check things like that!

Letter from the SA to Alums

I haven't seen anything about this posted here, so here goes-

Dear Young Alums,

As some of you may have heard, this Saturday, Dec. 6, the Association of Alumni will vote on a new constitution, merging with the other alumni governing body, the Alumni Council. The problem lies in the fact that the new joint constitution could be amended by a small group, the leadership of the association. Further, the new constitution gives this leadership the wide discretion to call new meetings in any manner they see fit - by internet ballot, mail ballots, or meetings in Hanover. Alumni's rights to vote on trustees could be taken away and placed in the hands of that leadership group. Members of Student Assembly are not accusing anyone of trying to immediately take away alumni's voting rights; however, the new constitution would allow for this dangerous possibility. Considering the recent fiascos at the administrative level of the College, from the SLI to the swim team and library cuts, it seems that now more than ever Dartmouth alums need to demand open and accountable governance and a renewed roll in the selection of trustees.

Also disturbing is the fact that according to a recent alumni-funded poll, 89% of alumni were not aware that a new constitution was being proposed. Several alumni have contacted us and are vehemently opposed to the new constitution because of its vulnerability to non-democratic amendments.

Because this proposed constitution is dangerously susceptible to significant non-democratic changes and because so many alumni are unaware that the vote is taking place, the issue should be tabled by being voted down until these problems have been addressed. There are many good changes in this constitution, but because it remains dangerously nebulous on issues of great importance to all alums, it must be voted down. Help preserve our rights as future alumni by coming to Hanover to vote no on these changes!

Feel free to forward this to your friends who are alumni so that they can have a chance to come to Hanover and vote this down. Buses for the day cost only $10 from New York City as part of an organizational effort by the alumni relations office. Please consider making your voice heard.

But we know many of you can't get away from your work and lives for this vital event, so we would ask you to instead please blitz those responsible for safeguarding your liberties, and CC Student.Assembly@Dartmouth.EDU on those blitzes so we can compile a record of those emails.

Please blitz President of the Association of Alumni, Michael McClintock '80, and tell him he needs to stand up for alumni against this dramatic and dangerous change. His blitz account is: Michael.R.McClintock.80@Alum.Dartmouth.ORG

Sincerely,

Janos Marton
Student Body President

Noah Riner
Student Body Vice President

I remember there being another Alumni Association meeting that ended up being cancelled due to 9/11 where Grossman tried to get alums to mail in proxy votes for those alums who couldn't make it. Would a blitzed proxy ballot work? I tried blitzing one to Janos, and he said he'd go and see if it works.

Otherwise, is there any fax number to which we can send a proxy ballot?

This sounds like pretty typical Administration maneuvering to subvert the Alumni Association, and as such, needs to be fought.

Reward for Capture?

On Wednesday night, the Keggy costume was stolen from its temporary storage location.

Keggy took three weeks of planning and over a week of labor from almost a dozen people to be created and smuggled into Homecoming football game. His costume is of immense sentimental value to us. Furthermore, many of his parts, particularly his nose and internal frame, are fragile. We are worried we may never see Keggy again; we are worried that, if we do see him again, he may have been damaged beyond repair in the process of the theft. The costume is irreplaceable -- we almost certainly can't make another.

If you have any information on Keggy's whereabouts, please blitz us. If we have any new information on Keggy's theft and/or recovery, we will post it to the JACKO! blitz bulletin.

Good luck with your end of term work.

Nic Duquette and Chris Plehal
Keggy co-creators

Thursday, December 04, 2003

Did You Know?

This evening, my roommate became trapped in our dorm lounge. Sent to extricate him were two "Troubleshooters." Apparently the troubleshooting department, a sub-category of F,O&M, has seven (!) employees. Best of all, the two guys were wearing vests emblazoned with their names and "Dartmouth Troubleshooting."

Damn

Big Democratic debate at UNH Tuesday

Dartmouth hosted both Republican and Democratic televised debates for Campaign 2000.

Wednesday, December 03, 2003

In case you missed...

Queer Bar Night I...

***
I T ' S F I N A L L Y H E R E ! ! !
***

It's the night everyone has been waiting for and everyone is talking about...

It's here, it's queer....

QUEER BAR NIGHT II
The Second Coming

@ Lone Pine Tavern

Presented by the Dartmouth Gay Straight Alliance

TONIGHT!!!!!!! WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 3rd at 9 PM

Prepare to have the most *FABULOUS* night of the term in a totally queer atmosphere

Dancing, karaoke, music all night, food, drinks, prizes, and so much more...

Come see what all the talk is about...

Come see for yourself what a Queer Bar can do to you...

***
FIND OUT WHAT REALLY HAPPENS AFTER HOURS...
...AND DISCOVER THE ANSWERS TO ALL OF YOUR QUESTIONS...
***

Selling out?

* * * T O D A Y * * *

We invite you to join an important discussion...

WHAT'S FUNNY, WHAT'S NOT?

A student-led open forum exploring racial collisions and contradictions.

5pm, Wednesday December 3rd
Alumni Hall, Hopkins Center

Featuring a student panel and small group discussion to address issues including intention, representation, privilege, and social responsibility.

Sponsored by: Aires, Afro-American Society, Casque & Gauntlet Senior Society, Deep Community, Office of Black Student Advising, Office of Pluralism and Leadership, Office of Institutional Diversity and Equity.

Tuesday, December 02, 2003

New England's real-life Rip Van Winkle

It looks like Howard Dean's a bit behind the times. From last night's Hardball appearance:

The key, I believe, to Iran, is pressure through the Soviet Union. The Soviet Union is supplying much of the equipment that Iran I believe mostly likely is using to set itself along the path of developing nuclear weapons. We need to use that leverage with the Soviet Union, and it may require us buying the equipment the Soviet Union was ultimately going to sell to Iran, to prevent Iran from developing nuclear weapons.

Monday, December 01, 2003

Finals stress?

Alpha Theta Presents


BUBBLE WRAPPED

We're covering our entire first floor in
bubble wrap! Come stomp out stress
for an hour -- we promise mayhem,
mania, light refreshments, and fun.

Thursday December 4, 9-10pm
Alpha Theta
33 North Main
(two doors north of Carson Hall)

The Pete Blodgett

The Times on a dry deer hunt:
Our destination was the Pete Blodgett cabin, a weathered and commodious log building nestled against dark spruces less than 200 yards away. The cabin, owned by Dartmouth College, is one of several such hideaways that the college maintains within or abutting the Second College Grant, a 42-square-mile wilderness tract north of Wentworth Location, N.H.

Re: privaledge

Wow, those Daily Kos (I'm not even going to ask where such a dumb-ass name came from) guys are Losers.

With a capital "L".