Sunday, August 31, 2003

So much for Dean's populism getting more people involved

Key facts from an article-

1- Two-thirds of Democrats still can't name one of the candidates in the field for President.

2- Somehow, 40% of Democrats are satisfied with the field, which means that at least 7% of Democrats are happy about the field despite not knowing who any of these people are.

3- Half of all Democrats wanted more choices despite the fact that most of them likely do not know who their choices are. Are they all pining for Hillary or something?

4- Howard Dean isn't doing nearly as well overall as polls in the early states suggest, though at least he's not John Kerry, who's stuck back there with Al Sharpton.

5- So far, Howard Dean has failed as a populist candidate because he hasn't gotten more people interested in the primaries.

My big question is how 53% of Democrats have decided who they support in the primaries when twenty percent less of them can actually name one of the candidates. Does the caller just read off a bunch of names after the respondent has already answsered the question about being able to name a candidate, and then the respondent decides based on who has the prettiest name?

Thursday, August 28, 2003

Wednesday, August 27, 2003

Well read?

Kumar Garg, who doubts we're well read, writes:
I guess being a conservative really is a disease. So says a British psych study which "has concluded that conservatism can be explained psychologically as a set of neuroses rooted in "fear and aggression, dogmatism and the intolerance of ambiguity". ...

The first sentence of the article:

A study funded by the US government has concluded that conservatism can be explained psychologically as a set of neuroses rooted in "fear and aggression, dogmatism and the intolerance of ambiguity".

One wonders if Garg even read the article?

Some might remember that this was big news, oh, a month or so ago, which is a long time on this Internet-thing, right?

He "figured it out"

Kumar Garg at FreeDartmouth:

I Figured it Out: I always wondered whether Dartloggers really were reading as widely as their posts of obscure mentions of Dartmouth in the media might suggest. In fact, their posts correspond almost exactly with a Google News search on "Dartmouth College." Oh well.

1) Actually, we have a newswire.

2) And we do read a lot. I've found that conservatives are more likely to read the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times and then some than liberals are to read anything besides the Times. At least at Dartmouth...a place where even offering facts and statistics can be racist or just not PC (e.g. opinion poll results on the U.S.'s disapproval of reparations).

Monday, August 25, 2003

Name Debate

The Washington Post reports of a rift among those of the hispanic/latino descent in the U.S. as to what to be named. Some on campus are adamantly opposed to the 'term' Hispanic while others (myself as a Cuban-American) can care less. Being that we're becoming the largest minority group, this could be an important issue rather soon.

Dartmouth Bookstore news

An article in the Concord Monitor

"If we don't get our overhead down, it's conceivable we could be closing," said [part owner Dave] Cioffi.

Re: Food

Mark Yohalem '02 writes:
I assume they're talking about Collis, which was always known for its baked goods, and had food prepared on the spot almost exclusively (stir-frys, smoothies, and omelets). Though one can niggle over whether or not it was healthy, it almost certainly was healthier than other locations. The salad bar was, as far as I know, stocked by the Dartmouth Organic Farm as much as possible. There was almost always a vegetarian entree at the far left end of the counter and a vegetartan soup.

Have you ever tried the vegetarian entree? Ick.

Re: A fond reminiscence

Stan Horowitz writes:
Notice that the NY Times article on Animal House doesn�t mention Dartmouth. Jim Wright must be very happy.

Mr. Horowitz beat me to the punch. I thought the same thing but probably would have said it more verbosely.

Cramer-watch

'04 is on the Payton Award Watch

Dartmouth senior Casey Cramer is the lone tight end among the 16 players on the Payton Award Watch while Harvard senior linebacker Dante Balestracci is the only Ivy Leaguer on the Buchanan Award Watch.

The Walter Payton Award is awarded annually to the top player in I-AA football while the Buck Buchanan Award goes to the top defensive player in I-AA. The honors will be presented at the 17th annual I-AA College Football Awards on Dec. 18 in Chattanooga, Tenn., on the eve of the 2003 I-AA National Championship. The Eddie Robinson Award, honoring I-AA's top coach, and the Sports Network Cup, bestowed upon the nation's best I-AA mid-major program, will also be presented at that ceremony.

Cramer, a first-team All-American last year, caught 72 passes for 1,107 yards in 2002. Both of those numbers were -- by far -- the most by a tight end in Division I-A and I-AA.

A fond reminiscence

Remember the old strategic vision for Dartmouth?

Sunday, August 24, 2003

Re: Food

Def. not the Pavillion; the letter writer is an '89 (n.b., the Pavillion opened two years ago). Plus the food in the Pavillion is 1) no healthier than anything else served elsewhere, 2) not vegetarian-targetted, and 3) not particularly good (at least the couple times that I ate there; the staff had to prepare in advance so many options for so few diners that everything was cold and dead).

Jonathan Eisenmen thinks that she means Collis and adds that some of the salad bar selections come from the Organic Farm. Any confirmation? What about the other stuff grown that's not salad bar fare (e.g., tubers, onions)?

It's definitely humorous that no one can agree on which is the healthy place to eat on campus. Perhaps this is because there is no consistantly healthy, fresh, etc. dining choice?

Update: Yes, we know that Homeplate and the Pavillion do offer vegetarian options. That's not the same, however, as being "vegetarian-oriented." Jasmine rice, my dinner one evening when I ate at the Pavillion, doesn't really make a meal. And, as much as I like pasta, I don't think that offering it nightly with that thick sickly-sweet marinara in Homeplate counts either.

To be fair, Homeplate did offer some not-bad vegetarian entrees (e.g., lentil stews), but this was certainly not the norm. And it was definitely not a "healthful, vegetarian-oriented student restaurant that is popular with students, faculty and visitors who crave its delicious, made-from-scratch dishes and baked goods."

Re: Food

I'm guessing the writer's referring to The Pavillion, not Homeplate. But that's not vegetarian oriented - they serve plenty of meat, just not pork.

And I have no idea on the Organic Farm - and don't really care to.

Dining at Dartmouth

I hadn't noticed this before, but I think it's stretching the truth a bit:
According to "Food and Man at Yale" (news article, Aug. 16), David Davidson, who runs the dining services at Yale for Aramark, a food service provider, thinks that Yale's new sustainable food project could be the beginnning of a change in how colleges look at food.

Yale is behind the times. Dartmouth College, my alma mater, has long had an organic farm that students and professors tend. It also has developed related courses.

Dartmouth also has a healthful, vegetarian-oriented student restaurant that is popular with students, faculty and visitors who crave its delicious, made-from-scratch dishes and baked goods. Dozens of colleges nationwide have similar programs.

This last paragraph is the most troublesome. Homeplate, to which I assume the writer is referring, is often unhealthy (particularly w/r/t saturated fats), not-at-all vegetarian oriented (I wish it had been), and rarely serves much that's delicious. Sure, there were rare exceptions, but most of the time Homeplate was just a like alternative to the dining hall fare next door. That is, more of the same.

Does anyone know anything about how food from the Organic Farm is used? Does DDS get it or what? I know that it is not sold to local markets, for fear of undercutting "real" farmers. I can only think of the irregular sales held on the sidewalk in front of Collis.

The Schick Quattro

Dartmouth marketing professor Kevin Keller says it depends on �whether men believe that after seven days the blade has lost its pop.�

Gen. Wesley K. Clark for prez?

Prof. Linda Fowler on the former NATO Supreme Allied Commander in Europe:

Clark's military background could position him as a strong candidate on defense, the area where current Democratic contenders may be most vulnerable, Dartmouth government professor Linda Fowler said.

"[Democrats] have got a problem," she said. "The public seem to be willing to trade in George Bush, if they could be reassured that the Democrats would do a good job on keeping the country secure. And the problem, of course, is that none of [the candidates] except [Massachusetts Sen. John] Kerry and [Florida Sen.] Bob Graham has much standing on those kinds of issues. And then along comes Wesley Clark, and he has immediate credibility."

But Fowler and other analysts also said Clark would face a difficult road in early-primary states like New Hampshire and in the Iowa caucuses, where name recognition and media momentum often decide the winners.

We spoiled this stadium's debut in 1903

Harvard Stadium turns 100
Former Dartmouth Big Green football and track standout Adam Nelson has won his third straight global silver medal, finishing second in the shot put (69-9) at the IAAF World Championship in Paris on Saturday.

Saturday, August 23, 2003

Says It All

Grossman has previously referenced Dartmouth's self-description of campus life on the Princeton Review web site.

Its general description begins:

"Dartmouth College, founded in 1769, is one of the foremost universities in the world."

Ouch. It continues:

"A member of the Ivy League, Dartmouth has a long history of dedication to the highest educational ideals. The College community comprises a breadth of cultures, traditions, and ideas. The diversity of backgrounds, talents, and accomplishments among our students, faculty, and staff enrich our community and create a campus that is alive with ongoing debate and exploration."

Re: Prophecies

As of the Dartmouth Club of Long Island meeting last weekend, a representative of the Office of Alumni Relations was still offering the #2 behind Princeton ranking. He said the College's goal was to rebound back above 50% and approach the top.

The SLI is at play here in two different ways. First, it is unpopular within itself. Second, it contributes to a larger issue of what Dartmouth is or may be. I've been discussing Dartmouth as a brand since my freshman year, though not as a brand solely as a relative measure of prestige. Dartmouth simply need not be all things to all people. The SLI and campus expansion are signs of a school confused about its identity. When students apply to Bob Jones University, they know what they're getting. When they apply to Indiana University, they know what they're getting. When they apply to Dartmouth, they are applying to Darvard University or Cal-Hanover or something. I remember being told by an administrator, "You're going to Dartmouth at a very important time. What you do will shape this place. It is a great opportunity and responsibility." Or something to that effect. If not Ye Olde Dartmouth, I just want a little stability.

Another issue that may be at play in the recent alumni giving drop or will at least be a challenge in the near future may be the commitment to (ethnic) diversity. Last year an active alumnus at a top prep school who is involved in the school's fundraising told me that ethnic minorities at the school were not pulling their weight in terms of alumni giving. Affirmative action acceptees, or since many argue you can't pinpoint such acceptees on the individual level--ethnic minorities, strictly by the numbers, give less money and less often.

Re: This Day in Blabbery...

Don't forget the references in "The Simpsons" too - especially trick pouring counting for course credit at Dartmouth College.

And really, what movie stands up to the test of time better? "Animal House" or "Stealing Harvard?"

Prophecies Fulfilled

Thursday, I predicted Dartmouth's alumni giving rank would fall from #2 in U.S. News this year. Using my premium online subscription (don't ask), I have culled the following ominous data:
1. Princeton - 61%
2. Harvard - 49%
3. Notre Dame - 48%
4. Dartmouth - 47%
5. Duke - 46%
6. Yale - 44%

Also, I think this data follows a couple of years behind the actual giving, so I would accept similar drops in the future.

Friday, August 22, 2003

Re: This Day in Blabbery...

...and specifically the Bertran quote, "The last movie about Dartmouth may have very well been that black and white one about Winter Carnival, not one with Reese Witherspoon or Joshua Jackson."

Well, we do get choice shout-outs in films "She's All That" (Freddie Prinze!), "Wag the Dog," "A River Runs Through It" and "Can't Hardly Wait" (Jennifer Love-Hewitt!).

Speaking of U.S. News...

Hot off the proverbial press:

1. Princeton University
1. Harvard University
3. Yale University
4. Massachusetts Institute of Technology
5. California Institute of Technology
5. Duke University
5. Stanford University
5. University of Pennsylvania
9. Dartmouth College
9. Washington University in St. Louis

More

I know Grossman linked to the new Princeton Review rankings, but, for what it's worth, I'd like to explicate the Quality of Life categories for folks who haven't read them.

These are, you may remember, top 20 lists compiled by students:

Happy Students
Dartmouth - #3
Harvard - NR
Princeton - NR
Yale - NR

Great Food
Dartmouth - #6
Harvard - NR
Princeton - NR
Yale - NR

Palatial Dorms
Harvard - #13
Dartmouth - #17
Princeton - NR
Yale - NR

Beautiful Campus
Dartmouth - #9
Harvard - NR
Princeton - NR
Yale - NR

Quality of Life
Dartmouth - #4
Harvard - #9
Princeton - NR
Yale - NR

The moral of the story? Dartmouth provides the number 1 quality of life of in the country, combined with a top 10 academic experience. Combining these two measures yields what is very likely the best overall undegraduate experience to be had.

I freely admit that Harvard, etc. are currently better schools if one only factors in academics (SAT scores and the like). Incresing D's National Merit haul, for instance, is a worthy concrete goal. But for people who realize that college is a place to live, not just to learn, Dartmouth is the unparalled choice.

I'd love to see this fact disseminated more widely (i.e. higher prestige). I'd love to see Dartmouth #1 in U.S. News. However, neither should occur at the expense of our wonderful quality of life.

Moreover, much worse than its aims (which I don't so much mind), the way BlabberForce has communicated its message is 1) silly (worrying about three/four universities with more prestige when thousands have less) and a slap in the face to everyone (read: all D students) who've recognized the value of the Dartmouth experience.

And I say all this as a former prestige whore who once had his little high school heart set on attending HYP.



This Day in Blabbery

Review associate Eddie Bertran weighs in on the controversy in today's D. I've been on the fence about this whole issue thus far, but Eddie's lucid and confident apologia of Dartmouth as is strikes a chord.

A choice chunk:

"Sure, we don't have an office of overseas apparel like our good friends in Cambridge or New Haven. The last movie about Dartmouth may have very well been that black and white one about Winter Carnival, not one with Reese Witherspoon or Joshua Jackson. But do you really want that? Do we even need that? Or would you rather have Dartmouth be the school that has its student's (sic) speak for the institution without any need for self-promotion, by account of their own merits and achievements."

Thursday, August 21, 2003

Re: Still running at the mouth

Glabe,
When I applied, Dartmouth's alumni giving rate was 60%. Apparently it had been 70% a few years before. And it's been about the same since '01 or so, which means that alumni giving dropped by a fifth during an economic boom. Not a good sign, and I can't see the rate going up anytime soon, not with everyone having a bad taste in their mouth from the swim team and such.

Basically, from what I understand, alumni giving used to be Princeton and Dartmouth about even, with the rest of the Ivies way behind. Since then, it's gone to being Princeton then Dartmouth then everyone else, and now it's very nearly Princeton and then everyone else.

Thank you James Wright.

Maybe if they re-name it the Alumni Fund instead of the College Fund, people will give again.

I'm actually surprised that Princeton's rate hasn't gone down, given all the scandals with the Woodrow Wilson School's endowment and the like. Showing such massive disrespect for those who give gifts usually causes those who give gifts to cease and desist.

Re: Still Running at the mouth

Re #2 below:

According to U.S. News last year, Dartmouth is now #2 in the Ivies behind Princeton (and also #2 overall), at around 50%. However, according to Christian Weeks' piece a couple weeks back, the '03 giving rate was 25%, compared to Princeton's 60+%. I predicted sinking number when the new rankings come out.

Re: Still running at the mouth

Some quick thoughts:

1. This has nothing to do with Dartmouth College. Just like Liberia's Charles Taylor isn't the Converse guy, either.

2. Dartmouth had the highest alumni contribution rate among the Ivies before the SLI. I'm not sure about now, but I do know that it's dropped. How's that for a strategic vision?

3. If there is a "language of disparity," it's probably owned by those on high who devised that strategic vision.

4. Will the man who's prosecuting Kobe Bryant "[evoke] unimaginable pride among women and minority alumni"?

Embarrassment will probably cause these links to break. Smell the mediocrity while you can.

Update: Thanks to MRC for letting us know that, as we expected, the files were all removed. Fortunately, we keep backups of everything and have updated our links.

Also, thanks to DM for sparking this particular snarkiness.

Update: And if you weren't convinced that this Kabir fellow is an odd duck, take a look at this and, for a nervous laugh, this.

Re: Still running at the mouth

If asked yesterday, I would have doubted that a name worse than "Blabberforce" were possible.

I would have been wrong.

How embarrassing.

Can I sue if they drive down the value of my diploma?

Clearly, the admissions office is guilty of negligence.

Wednesday, August 20, 2003

Still running at the mouth

BlabberForce didn't see fit to acknowledge our super-sleuthing re: the existing BlabberForce firm. But they did change their name in a hurry, eh?

For the past month, we've been working on a new name to help take the force to the next level in spreading Dartmouth's story to ever wider audiences. Hundreds of bad suggestions later, here we are. Our mission is the same, our name is new and improved. We're going to be launching the website soon as well (www.buzzflood.com), so things are looking good.

That's funny; we never heard that BlabberForce was having a contest to determine its new, official name. I'm sure Joe could have provided a few amusing suggestions. In any event, "BuzzFlood" will surely have an easier time embarrassing Dartmouth than did its previous incarnation.


By the way, "hundreds of bad suggestions"? From whom, pray tell? Kabir and Jim Wright?

Re: Ski Team

I wouldn't bet the farm on it, but I believe that the ski team *is* part of the Athletic Dept, but because of the outdoorsy bent of the ski program, as well as what I think is a greater degree of financial independence, they lease space in Robinson Hall. Outdoor Programs is just one of many orgs leasing space in the building, other notables are the Aegis, D, and WFRD.

Re: Ski Team

Here's a question, why is the ski team, which competes in the NCAA, part of the Outdoors Program and not the Athletic Dept.? I can't help but think that the violations, especially if inadvertent as they claim, wouldn't have occured had the team been run by the athletics department - which must be far more familiar with NCAA rules and guidelines than the Outdoors Program.

Snow Snafu

As a result of both a regular audit of its athletic programs and an internal investigation of its own, Dartmouth College is preparing a report for the National Collegiate Athletic Association on what the school believes may be violations in its skiing program.

Blatherforce: Busted!?

Review associate, the Rev. John Buckholz, has found Blabberforce's smoking gun. Seems a few chaps from Babson founded their own Blabberforce with a slightly different purpose: "Our mission is to be the college market's first student owned and operated marketing company providing the most effective network of BlabberMouths marketing internally throughout college campuses."

It appears they had this game first.

But: As John wrote in his yet-unpublished letter to the Daily Dartmouth, Kabir and Brent may have a reasonable excuse.
If they do not, John points out quite rightly: "That's odd: a group that wants to raise Dartmouth's prestige is also guilty of copyright infringement and plagiarism. This is the model we want to follow?"
If they have permission, I'd like to hear all about it. I'll even print Kabir's and Brent's reply right here. They can send it to editor@dartreview.com or rdg@dartmouth.edu.
Brent, Kabir: We're waiting.

(Grossman adds: yes, we know it's not copyright infringement. Potentially, it could be a trademark dilution issue, though...)

(Gorsche adds: A whole new ballgame with dilution. Either way, it's certainly plagiarism, assuming Babson's Blabber boys haven't given permission...we'll see)

Tuesday, August 19, 2003

Dartmouth College in the Princeton Review

#5 "Lots of Beer" school, among other rankings: Dartmouth Rankings.

Then again, the College's own description of campus life for the Review's survey is really strange.

Monday, August 18, 2003

How cute...

That other blog has added to their name. They have appended Fair and Balanced to their already ironic moniker.

Kabir Sehgal, Master of Fine Prose.

The Daily Dartmouth is noted, of course, for its delightful prose. Take, for example, this treat from today's edition:

"For only the second time this summer, beef strips will flow like water as unimitatable campus dining option Homeplate opens for a one-night-only showing tomorrow."

I couldn't help but be reminded of the fine work of Kabir Sehgal, the staff columnist who first pushed the idea of "Branding" Dartmouth. Here are some gems from his collected works.

From a bit on late-night comedy:
"Two minutes later, I was laughing louder than the voice of an auctioneer."
"Let's just say his idea of funny is not in keeping with the rest of America as his Nielsen television ratings have slipped lower than the price of a Christmas tree on Dec. 26."
"...funnier than Ex-Lax in a diarrhea ward."

And these, I think, speak for themselves:

"'Bzzz!' The Monday morning alarm clock buzzer is an annoying reminder. It is the clock's way of saying "The weekend is over."

"America lost its moral way years ago. It bounced on the aimless avenue of ambiguity like a dazed child springing on her trampoline. "

"The media has swooped in on LeBron like vultures going after appetizing prey, or -- in Dartmouth terms -- like an ardent coterie of '06 girls going after the Dartmouth Cords."

"Sniff, sniff. Something stinks. America's skies are more polluted than Chi Gam's basement."

Kabir Sehgal - that guy is a bit of terrific.

Dartmouth/Hanover news

I went to a meeting of the Dartmouth Club of Long Island yesterday. There was a representative from the Alumni Affairs Office. Learned two interesting things.

1) The College went to the NH House of Representatives for approval to amend its charter to increase the number of trustees. Approved. No clear details on how many more and how they will be allocated.

2) In the Main Street space once occupied by Mojo's restaurant, there are plans for a "Canoe Club." A Connecticut-based developer foresees a restaurant/bar with a folk music scene. It may be open and ready as early as September.

Sunday, August 17, 2003

A worthy cause

Why not donate to the Dartmouth Review, which is a 501c(3) charity?

Just click the button on this page and you're ready to go. Major credit cards accepted (even Discover, for those of you who are into that sort of thing).

Saturday, August 16, 2003

Anyone else heard of this?

Seems like a BlabberForce concept, seeing as they were talking about inventing a "Dartmouth" drink sometime earlier this term....

From: NYCDART@aol.com
Date: Wed, 13 Aug 2003 15:42:14 EDT
Subject: Re: the Club

You can be one of the first NYC alums to try The Dartmouth Green*, a cool fresh drink that is quickly becoming an upscale favorite on the Hanover scene. You are invited to celebrate the
College and The Dartmouth Green at the Dartmouth Club of New York City (in residence at the Yale Club). So lets give it a shot on Thursday night, August 14, from 6 till 9:30 pm!

* Midori (melon liqueur), Malibu (coconut rum), Absolut (80 proof vodka), Triple Sec, any light beer

Thursday, August 14, 2003

More Dartmouth communications coverage in the Times

Here

And I didn't even have a phone in my room last year.

Re: Dartmouth, Blitz and the NY Times

More proof, as if it were needed, that the most inept rise to class and campus government:
Ms. Stutzman, who spent 20 hours over a three-month period transferring more than 200 folders from her student account to her alumni account, said her messages had created a chronicle of life at Dartmouth. "It catalogs your college experience," she said. "You can look back at a blitz conversation you had with a friend about whatever, and it's something you might forget ever happened. But you have it saved."

This brings to mind a fun story about Josh Green et al., the SLI, and the Dartmouth Review: after the Review published the story linked above, Green and his co-conspirators spent the next several terms storing important emails on floppy disks that they carried with them, so concerned were they that The Dartmouth Review would continue digging tidbits from their Blitzmail accounts.

I'm sure sjm, akw, or Clark could elaborate on this...

Today's D

My favorite gems from this article on Kathy Kelly, an anti-war guru:

"The audience also appeared to have strong liberal leanings -- when a former faculty member introducing Kelly asked rhetorically, 'Is anyone here a Republican?' no hands went up."

"Noting that the war cost the United States government approximately $1 billion a day, she said, 'If even a fraction of that money had been invested in education, communication, social services -- perhaps Iraqi society could have moved toward more democratic government, maybe they could have eventually overthrown Hussein.'"

Great idea. Give a murderous dictator one billion dollars a day. And finally:

"Later, Kelly suggested that, since the American taxpayers typically foot the bill for major military campaigns, planning one's finances to withhold funds from the federal government can serve as one viable form of revolt. 'I haven't paid federal income tax since 1980,' she said, also noting that her contact lenses are the most expensive things she owns."

There's also a piece on campus segregation.

Branding panel, or lack thereof

Kabir was probably too busy trying to figure out a different way of writing the exact same thing he's written for each of his last four or five columns in the D.

Dartmouth, Blitz and the NY Times

Here

Update: The librarians are interested, too.

Wednesday, August 13, 2003

Re: Oh these guys

Mr. Rago's vision may be "rooted in the past," but Mr. Hui's future Dartmouth is filled with chaps who can't use pronouns.

Tuesday, August 12, 2003

In other BlabberForce news...

I was supposed to talk today at a scheduled panel discussion about Dartmouth "Branding," but Kabir, Brent, et al. refused to participate and the thing hit the rocks. What a shame.

Oh these guys

The irony, of course, is that no one who writes like this should have been admitted.

FOXNews picks up "Jack the Snipper" story

Here

I posted a Boston Globe article about it yesterday.

Also yesterday, in related (?) UNH news, Dartmouth Student Body President Janos Marton -- working on Kerry's presidential campaign -- told me that that the NH Democratic primary debates are likely to be held at UNH. Both the Republican and Democratic debates were held at Dartmouth in 2000. Maybe this story will scare the candidates away from Durham. I think I speak on behalf of The Dartmouth Review, DartLog and The Inner Office when I say that we would lllllllove to have 'em.

Winters predicts Kerry

Dartmouth Professor of Government Richard Winters impressed by Dean's move, but thinks Kerry will take New Hampshire.

Dartmouth and the Macarena

In the NY Times:

Petr Janata, a research assistant professor at Dartmouth who studies music and the brain, said the effect can be heightened when sound is linked to motion. "The brain and the body get involved. When we put specific dance to the music � like with the `Macarena' or `The Hustle' � the whole body remembers the tune."

New TDR Email Contacts

Mail sent to review@dartreview.com and letters@tdr.com will bounce to sender (see here for explanation).

From now on, email TDR at these addresses:

editor (at) dartreview.com (editorial concerns)
president (at) dartreview.com (business concerns)
dartlog (at) dartreview.com (online stuff, weblog responses, etc.)

Thanks.

"Rude Kids And How They Get That Way"

Dartmouth mentioned in a Washington Post article with this title

No, we're not rude.

A DMS prof is quoted:

"Television plays a huge role in instructing children how they should act," says Steven C. Atkins, associate professor of child and adolescent psychiatry at the Dartmouth Medical School. Atkins contends that much of the behavior portrayed on TV is rude.

Dartmouth trivia in the blogosphere

Yes, we were the last Ivy League school to go coed.

Turnabout

While checking out our own newswire, I came across a post by one Jim Kalb, father of our own John Kalb. The blog is "Turnabout: Exploring culture, politics, tradition and Catholicism"

Bad Will Hunting

Brenda Withers '00 and Mindy Kaling (Chokalingam) '01 in "Matt & Ben," as reviewed by the NY Times

Proud to be crunchy

We are.

I wasn't kidding about the sheep

This e-mail was legit.

It doesn't matter...

...how strong the College is academically or how intellectual its students may be.

When I read something like this, I think of all the drug-enhanced revelry that will be going down in Hanover.

Monday, August 11, 2003

Forget the "Beltway Sniper"

Beware New Hampshire's "Jack the Snipper"?

Re: Safety & Security failure

Isn't there a federal requirement that compels them to do this sort of reporting within, I think, 2 weeks or something of events having occurred?

Someone should check on that...

Safety & Security failure

"In an effort to keep the Dartmouth College Community up-dated on incidents that
occur on campus, we are providing a periodic incident log, beginning with
weekly postings. We are also hoping to create a better understanding and
communication with the community."

You all remember the remarkable literary endeavor that was the S&S Incident Log.

Well the bulletin has not been updated since the period covering 2/14 - 2/28/03.

Highlights from the most (though not-so) recent one:

02/15/03
7:50 p.m.
Personal Injury
Accidental:
While attending the hockey game at Thompson Arena an employee was struck in the
head with a hockey puck. The employee was transported to DHMC by ambulance for
treatment.

02/16/03
3:48 a.m.
Fire Alarm:
A fire alarm activation came in for the Collis Center. The activation was due
to the bitter cold.

02/16/03
9:16 p.m.
Unwanted Attention
Written:
A student reported a case of unwanted attention.

02/17/03
1:17 p.m.
Theft
College Property:
An employee reported a theft of a digital scale from Remsen.

02/19/03
2:50 a.m.
Animal:
The Department of Safety and Security received a complaint from a student who
did not want to leave Feldberg, as there was an animal outside the door of
Feldberg Library. Safety and Security Officers responded and lead the dog away
from the door. The Officers noticed that the dog appeared to be injured. A
veterinarian was called, and the dog was transported by the Hanover Police to
the vet for treatment.

02/19/03
4:20 p.m.
Suspicious Person
Trespass:
An employee reported a suspicious person at Parkhurst Hall. A Safety and
Security Officer responded and found the male, who was non-affiliated, and had
other issues in the past at the College. The male was taken into custody by the
Hanover Police, and issued a trespass letter by Safety and Security.

02/20/03
2:32 a.m.
Depressed Person
Personal Injury
Self Inflicted:
The Department of Safety and Security received information in reference to an
alumni. Protocol was followed.

02/21/03
1:47 a.m.
Assault
Simple:
A student reported a case of simple assault.

02/28/03
12:08 p.m.
Suspicious Letter/Package:
An employee reported a suspicious letter/package. Protocol was followed.

02/28/03
4:05 p.m.
Information:
Information was passed onto the Department of Safety and Security.



Bowden '71 for Trustee

J. Murry Bowden '71 to be inducted to the College Football Hall of Fame

A successful businessman from Texas, he contributed to one of the great Dartmouth achievements in its history -- the undefeated 1970 football team.

Are you ready for some football?

Hoping for a strong season for my senior year.

Dartmouth is 4th in the league in the preseason media poll

Here's the 2003 Ivy League Football E-guide

Roadtrip?

Brought to my attention by fellow intern Michael Mayernick, JHU: Black church will pay whites to attend

Friday, August 08, 2003

SHEEP EMERGENCY! HELP NOW!

>Date: 08 Aug 2003 12:15:25 EDT
>From: Dartmouth Organic Farm
>Subject: SHEEP EMERGENCY! HELP NOW!
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)


The sheep have escaped from the farm.

They're on the run north on route 10. We have one but the other
two have taken off and we can't keep up. Police have been
called, etc. but we need all the help we can get.

PLEASE if you can, come out to the farm. Someone will be there
to tell you what to do. If no one is there, head north on route
10 slowly.

People who are volunteering at the golf tournament....Please
decide amongst yourselves on one person to go to the golf
tournament this afternoon....the rest, PLEASE come out to the
farm!!!

thanks
-meredith

2 stories of interest in the Valley News

1) Coverage of the mascot debate.

Includes:

"...Dartmouth never had an official mascot. While the Indian symbol was ubiquitous for many years before it was dropped in 1974, it was never formally adopted by the college."

Well, prominent display in the student newspaper and on team uniforms certainly is "ubiquitous."

"The latest effort to identify a college mascot began to take shape during the spring when the Dartmouth Student Assembly polled the campus to gauge interest in the idea. More than 600 e-mail messages and 150 mascot suggestions later, the Student Assembly decided the project was a go.

Earlier this week an email message -- a blitz in Dartmouth-speak -- was sent to the entire student body asking for a vote on the 13 finalists as chosen by a student focus group. Balloting closes on Aug. 17, and it is expected the majority of students away for the summer will be online before then with a chance to have their voices heard."


The rag probably should've elaborated on the student focus group and the true results of the initial e-mail poll.

2) Music Club to Get Mojo's Working? --no link available
"Hanover -- There's been a rising chorus in the Upper Valley calling for more music venues, especially in this well-heeled college town."

Thursday, August 07, 2003

Picking college roommates

Matchmaker, matchmaker...

Personally, I was happy to be randomly paired with a fine young man from Wisconsin who slept below a Bob Marley poster. I had all my Bush for President paraphernalia all over my half of the one-room double in the Choates, and it was probably better for us both as a learning experience.

Re: ego-plug

Wow, Sharepoint sounds really simple and intuitive to use:
To change the default logo image

1. Delete or rename the WPIcon.gif file located in the following folder:

local_drive:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Web Server Extensions\60\Template\Images

Note The HTTP path to this folder is http://server_name/layouts/images/

2. Copy the new Graphics Interchange Format (GIF) file that you want to use into this folder, and then rename the new GIF file to WPIcon.gif

Nilly, you'd better watch out; when things get this straightforward, they're not going to need anyone to write documentation.

Isn't it a little bit misleading, though, to put a web-page logo there, given that it's not a program file, not a Microsoft file, not a webserver extension, and has nothing to do (probably) with the number 60? To be fair, it is indeed an image.

Wednesday, August 06, 2003

Re: ego-plug

I have one too =).

Mascots

I personally think everyone should vote for the most outlandish one on the list (Salty Dog) just to prove once and for all how doomed to failure this is.

I'd also add that the Indian was the second most popular choice in the original survey. I guess it's unsurprising that they wouldn't even include. God forbid the unwashed masses actually get to decide...

Mascot Survey

Just received this...

Date: Wed, 6 Aug 2003 14:41:35 -0400 (EDT)
From: Summer Assembly
Reply-To: Summer Assembly
Subject: Vote for your Mascot
To:
-----------------------
*******MASCOT SURVEY*******

Dartmouth has never had an official mascot.

Last spring, Student Assembly polled the campus to find out if
there was an interest in finding an official mascot to represent
Dartmouth College. Your response was an overwhelming yes!

You answered us in over 600 blitzes and with over 150 mascot
suggestions. These were trimmed down to a list of 13, based on
the popularity of the concept and its potential to be a unifying
mascot for the Dartmouth community.

Below are the thirteen suggestions that made the final cut.
Please vote for one of the suggestions by sending your preference
to Student Assembly by Sunday, August 17.

*******Please vote for ONLY ONE on the options below*******

-Bear
-Big Green Giants
-Dr. Seuss Name
(Grinch, the Cat in the Hat, or another creative name)
-Evergreens/Lone Pine Tree
-Foresters/Woodsmen
-Granite
-Moose
-Penguins
-Phoenix
-Polar Bear
-Wolf
-Salty Dog
-Yeti (Mythological mountain creature)
Student Body President Janos Marton '04 addresses Blabberforce founder Kabir Sehgal '05 after ideas attributed to Sehgal by the D in this article.

Date: 05 Aug 2003 23:28:18 EDT
From: Janos D. Marton
Reply-To: Students For Kerry
Subject: you must be joking
To: Kabir G. Sehgal
-----------------------
the D has tendencies to misquote or quote out of context, so i
assume you'll recant soon enough

"Enlisting the help of the administration is vital to the
success of the project, [Kahir] Sehgal said, adding that students
criticizing the administrative vision is counterproductive."

these are with us or against us times, man, and the people need
to know which side youre on

sincerely,
-the people

Tuesday, August 05, 2003

ego-plug

Here is an article I got published this week. Just an online thing, but I had fun writing it, so hopefully it'll be a fun read.

Live Free?

UNH is following Dartmouth's door-locking 'precedent'

Reviewer book plug

Peter Robinson '79, How Ronald Reagan Changed My Life

As if VH1's "I Love the '80s" weren't enough, now I am fully jealous. What a decade, what an icon.

Having nothing intelligent to say...

I just discovered that Rollo Begley is an anagram for Golly! Lo Beer!

Just thought you all might like to know that.

Monday, August 04, 2003

Wright's new lapdogs

From today's D article on the Blabberforce:

"Enlisting the help of the administration is vital to the success of the project, [Kahir] Sehgal said, adding that students criticizing the administrative vision is counterproductive."

The last bit pretty much sums up the Blabberforce.

Club Townie

Buried in an an article in the D titled "Hanover neither welcomes nor eschews chain presence," Lou's owner Toby Fried is paraphrased on an interesting potential replacement for Mojo's restaurant:

Something like a nightclub, however, which town residents speculate will fill the space formerly occupied by Mojo's, would add an aspect to Hanover that is currently lacking, Fried said. But a potential problem, though, is the hit-or-miss nature of evening-oriented businesses.

Friday, August 01, 2003

Wow, New Hampshire really is lame

I love the state to pieces. Pieces of granite I suppose. When you go to school in a state in which the governor appoints "Old Man of the Mountain Revitalization Task Force," you know it's a happening place.