Monday, June 30, 2003

The Latest From FIRE

At Cal Poly, in San Luis Obispo, a conservative student has been found guilty of the heinous crime of "disruption." What, you ask, did this monstrous student do? He tried to post this flier, announcing a forthcoming speech by a black conservative, in a public area. Some students who were nearby were offended at the poster, going so far as to call the campus police. The administration, of course, played along, forcing the kid through a lengthy hearing and finding him guilty for exercising his First Amendment rights.

Get the goods here. And complain to Cal Poly President Warren J. Baker here.

Wow!

I know I shouldn't like to things from Andrew Sullivan, but I really did find this example of trendy European academic anti-semitism incredibly appalling.

Fuega

What do you know? I've made it into one of the biggest Spanish language newspapers in the world. Es muy bueno!

Wednesday, June 25, 2003

Wright's selective memory

In response to Rollo's post: Wright *must* be referring to our school's founding for the benefit of New Hampshire's natives. Of course, whenever the Indian mascot is brought up, everybody says that's a "myth," that the school was founded to Christianize and control the hapless Indians--and there's a lot of hand-wringing about Dartmouth's secret shame. Which is it gonna be, Wright?

Myth or no myth, I'm leaning toward the "diversity commitment" version of history. Who can argue that Old Eleazar didn't have the Indians' best interests in mind? Just think of the words to that old tune: "a Bible and a drum, And five hundred gallons of New England rum."

Tuesday, June 24, 2003

President Wright

released an initial statement on the Michigan cases yesterday. The statement doesn't really say anything except that there will be more to come, but I'm really curious about one line: "Dartmouth's commitment to diversity dates back to its very founding, and we will continue to work hard to maintain that commitment."

Excuse me??? Dartmouth's historical commitment to diversity??? Has he ever seen an old school yearbook? This is a college that didn't even accept women until the seventies.

Monday, June 23, 2003

Way to go

I happened upon this in the May 24 National Journal. Congrats are in order.

Media People

The Washington Monthly is getting a new editor to succeed
Joshua Green, who wrote the recent scoop with Newsweek's Jonathan
Alter about virtue guru Bill Bennett's gambling habits. Green
will soon move to The Atlantic Monthly to be a senior editor. Joining
Nicholas Confessore on The Washington Monthly's editorial
team will be 24-year-old Benjamin Wallace-Wells, who has spent
the past two and a half years on the suburban staff of The
Philadelphia Inquirer. Wallace-Wells, who grew up in the
Bronx, got his introduction to The Monthly as a youngster, after
his policy-wonk father and education-expert mother subscribed.
At Dartmouth College, he found his calling as editor of The
Dartmouth Review. He interned at The Boston Globe before
moving to Philly. It was the sense of being where the action was
that excited Wallace-Wells, he said. "The privilege of access was
something I really responded to," he said, as well as "the
ability to shape the ways in which we try to understand the
world."

Interesting OpEd

in the Daily D today. Interesting because it paraphrases many of the Review's stances over the last couple years, and uses the specific examples on which we've harped (libraries, Dean of Plurality, etc.). Glad to know someone is listening.

Sunday, June 22, 2003

More NHL Draftees

Lee Stempniak '05 was taken in the 5th round today by the St. Louis Blues. Stempniak led the team with 49 points last season.

Also drafted in the ninth round was Tanner Glass, an incoming freshman forward who went to the Florida Panthers. And David Jones, a right winger who is being recruited for the '08 class, went to the Colorado Avalanche, also in the ninth round..

Both Stempniak and Glass are still expected to play for Dartmouth next season along with fellow draftee Jessiman (1st round - NYR).

From ESPN.com's analyisis - "Hugh Jessiman, RW. The big 6-4, 200-pound winger from Dartmouth made huge strides during his freshman year, but he still needs time to develop. Hopefully, the Rangers -- not known for developing young players -- will allow Jessiman to develop at the proper pace. If they do, there might be a time in the future when they don't have to overpay for a top-end forward."

----------
College Players/Recruits Drafted by Round
Dartmouth Draftees
Pre-Draft article on Jessiman
NYR Press Release on Jessiman
Valley News article on Jessiman

Pink Eye: New Research

Reuters:
Researchers who investigated a 2002 outbreak of conjunctivitis, a type of eye infection also called "pink-eye," among students at Dartmouth College in New Hampshire have said the germs may have spread, in part, through shared keyboards on university computers.

Little new info in this story. Their experimental technique seems a bit weak, frankly:

"We don't know if the (laboratory) experiment really recreated what happens in real life with people using keyboards, so the result might not be the final answer," [Dr. Cynthia G. Whitney of the Centers for Disease Control] said. "On the other hand, we also don't know if we would have found the bacteria initially on the college keyboards if we had used more sensitive culturing techniques," Whitney added.

Still, interesting that someone's still looking into this, even if results to date are far from conclusive.

Saturday, June 21, 2003

Jessiman taken 12th Overall in NHL Draft

Forward Hugh Jessiman '06 was taken by the New York Rangers with the 12th pick in the NHL Draft. He becomes the highest draftee ever from the ECAC, and is the first Dartmouth player ever to be taken in the 1st round.

Jessiman broke the Dartmouth freshman scoring record and finished 2nd on the team in scoring this past season with 47 points. Dartmouth won 20 games for the first time since the 1940's.

It is likely Jessiman will return to the Dartmouth for his sophomore season. After that, whether he stays or not may depend on how the new collective bargaining agreement between the NHL and the players' association ends up. Most people are expecting a strike/lockout following the 2004 Stanley Cup.

Lee Stempniak '05 could be drafted in the later rounds.

Friday, June 20, 2003

Quick Question

Is anyone -- or does anyone know -- a young conservative in southern California? Email me -- emmett -- at -- thefire.org.

Hue and Cry over "Whiteness Studies"

To read this puff piece from The Washington Post, you wouldn't know there's a hue and cry at all.

That said, if "whiteness studies" means Great Books, scotch tasting, and cigars, perhaps I could lead a course!

Thursday, June 19, 2003

'Blog Directory

Got a weblog? Add it to the Dartmouth weblog directory. There aren't too many in it at the moment, but that's probably because there aren't too many out there.

Send an email to get yourself (or someone else) listed.

"I Know What I Like, and I Like a Lot of It"

Well, you get a lot of it, that's for sure. The question is what "it" is.

(Thanks -- I guess -- to Molly Feltner for passing this along.)

Fraud on a Massive Scale

Over on Critical Mass, Erin O'Connor is blogging about a very intriguing book by historian Keith Windschuttle called The Fabrication of Aboriginal History: Volume One, Van Diemen's Land 1803-1847. The book asserts that the widely accepted account of the genocide of the Aborigines in Tasmania by British colonialists is a fiction. Turns out it never happened -- funny, that. Windschuttle's book chronicles a litany of outrageous lies perpetuated by historians more dedicated to the proper answer than to the true answer.

So what did happen? Windschuttle explains: "True, the full-blood Tasmanian Aborigines did die out in the 19th century....But this was almost entirely a consequence of two factors: the long isolation that had left them vulnerable to introduced diseases, especially influenza, pneumonia and tuberculosis; and the fact that they traded and prostituted their women to such an extent that they lost the ability to reproduce themselves."

Predictably, Windschuttle is now persona non grata among his peers. He has been called a "cultural chauvinist" (surprise!); one detractor charged that he left no room for -- wait for it -- "historical imagination." Well if that don't beat all.

Here's a link to Windschuttle's comments in The Australian, an Aussie daily, from which Erin O'Connor quotes extensively. Plus, here's an article that Windschuttle posted in The New Criterion back in September of 2001, when we were preoccupied with other affairs.

UPDATE Here are Windschuttle's thoughts on Edward Said and orientalism.

Tuesday, June 17, 2003

Take That, Stanley Fish!

With gusto and aplomb, FIRE's legal director, Greg Lukianoff, annihilates Stanley Fish's fatuous assertion that there are "just not that many" free speech issues on college campuses today.

Well done Greg!

Monday, June 16, 2003

"Regime Change on the Charles"

In The Weekly Standard, Hugh Hewitt ponders the possibilities of Larry Summers' refreshing tenure at the helm of Harvard.

Friday, June 13, 2003

Right and Wrong

Stanley Fish writes in the Chronicle that free speech issues are rarely in sight on American campuses. He's right in that too often free speech is used as the only defense of rude, disrespectful and unthoughtful speech, even when no one proposes that such speech should be banned. While no rule or law prevents one from writing and publishing, for example, an incontrovertably racist column, nothing compels the editor of the campus paper to publish it and common sense and tact would argue that he not. But that's not a speech issue; the author may still publish elsewhere or even self-publish. He retains his right to free expression regardless.

But I'm not sure that such cases are so common as Fish implies. Aside from his two examples, no others come immediately to mind.

In misrepresenting the state of speech controversies on campuses, Fish sweeps under the rug a more interesting (and relevent) sort of case, those in which students' rights are clearly abridged by their universities, as opposed to merely criticized or marginalized. Look to FIRE for dozens of examples of this sort of policy.

He Must Have Terrorized Himself...

Charles Glander, a seminary student in Minnesota, has been charged with making terrorist threats because he scrawled a racial slur on his own truck. That's right, his own truck.

Actually, this story illustrates a number of different concerns.

It seems that Glander is under suspicion over several instances of legitimate unlawful threatening graffiti -- but he has thus far not been charged. In light of this, consider the following quote:
Obang Okello, a Bethel senior who found and reported a racist message drawn on his car in April, said he was somewhat eased by the arrest.

"That brings hope that something is being done about it," he said. But "I'm very sure there could be more people involved."
Wait a sec. As of now, there's no evidence that Glander is responsible for anything other than the graffiti on his own vehicle. It's a bit hasty to assume that his arrest constitutes "something being done" about the other incidents. This could be -- not is, mind you, just could be -- the early stages of a good ol'-fashioned scapegoating.

Perhaps of more obvious concern is the fact that no elaboration on the allegedly racist message on Glander's truck is given anywhere in the article. How can the reader make any assessment if the reader has no clue what the message was about? Frankly, only something like "I will kill all Spics today" would be an arrestable offense. Simply putting, for instance, "nigger," "kyke," or some such vulgarity on his truck does not strike me as an illegal act, and it certainly does not count as a terrorist act. (It could be that he was violating some local ordinance on obscenity, under the colloquial understanding of the word. But again, that's not terrorism.)

But the reporter gives absolutely no hint as to the content of the message. I think this is rather emblematic of how paralyzing racial ettiquette has become in this country. The slur itself need not be reported, but what would be wrong with saying "a slur against blacks" or "a death threat to Muslims" or some such thing? It's impossible to make any sort of assessment from reading this article.

Very interesting stuff.

UPDATE FIRE's legal director, Greg Lukianoff, also raised a very interesting point about this incident. The article never mentions Glander's race. Considering his defense:
Glander's explanation for marking up his vehicle, according to the complaint, was that he was angry at whoever was targeting minority students on campus and at Bethel for what he saw as the college's failure to properly deal with the incidents. He also said he was angry at campus security for ignoring complaints he had made about alleged harassment of him and his spouse and upset that a professor had failed to give him academic help he needed.
Oddly, then, this fellow could be a minority himself. The plot thickens...

Tuesday, June 10, 2003

Hey, Graduates

So, you just graduated from a prestigious Ivy League Uni, and, after four years of academic toil, you're back at home doing nothing. Forget i-banking, forget consulting, why not be a mystery shopper?
On the breezy patio of the Silver Lake Golf Course here, Jennifer Voitle was hard at work.

"Cheers," she said, hoisting a frosty Corona with lime. Tanned and relaxed after playing a few holes, she finished up the beer and ate a cheeseburger. The golf and burgers were all part of the job, as were the strict instructions from her boss to "consume at least one alcoholic beverage."

Her morning jobs were equally trying. She went dress shopping, stopped into a bank to cash a check and visited a Saturn dealership to look at new cars. After golf, she was headed to Manhattan for dinner at a nice Italian restaurant. All these activities were paid jobs. Her total earnings for the day: about $300. "Can you believe they call this work?" she said.

And if it doesn't work out, remember, you're always qualified to be a medical test subject!

Sunday, June 08, 2003

Nicolas Duquette '04 responds

>Date: 08 Jun 2003 18:36:23 EDT
>From: Nicolas J. Duquette
>Reply-To: SunkCostsSunk
>Subject: your blog
>To: Alexander D. Talcott

"the honesty to look closely at ourselves and what we do, the resolution to face those broader matters that seem to be simply wrong, the courage to confront them. "

And how is this inconsistent with free speech?

It's called "moral clarity" to use a Republican term for the idea. Racists have a right to express their ideas, but the College doesn't have to allow acts of racism on campus. That's common sense. Racism is "simply wrong."

The PROBLEM with the administration is that it views certain forms of speech as actions. Saying racially insensitive things (or supporting racially insensitive mascots) has been lumped, dangerously, with shouting fire in a theater as unprotected speech. And the College is not as bad about it as most -- whatever FIRE has to say about the issue. Go to Smith sometime and then tell me Dartmouth is anti-speech.

If you (the Review, not you the person) want to fight against Dartmouth's conflation of speech (wah-hoo-wah!) with actions, go ahead. But as long as you frame the debate in terms of that Indian mascot nobody but alumni a generation ahead of us care about anyway, don't expect the student body to rally around you.

Also, watch out for Marty Redman. He's a [expletives deleted] who will tell you to distribute to the dorms then instruct his staff to throw the Review away. You guys need to get some distribution boxes on public property.

Website

The Website has been updated with the Commencement Issue, which is a) very long and b) almost entirely recycled material, save a good piece on Kucinich's visit.

For those who care about the little things, I also put all the covers online from this term. Apologies for the tardiness.

How dare President Wright

Now may be as good a time as any to call for the resignation of Dartmouth President James Wright.

A number of conservatives, including our own Dinesh D'Souza, have successfully--hijacked, some would say--the rhetoric of Martin Luther King, Jr.'s "I Have a Dream Speech," arguing that present-day liberals are not only failing to live up to King's call for colorblindness, but in fact they are doing entirely the reverse.

In President Wright's commencement address today, he invoked a former Republican president's call for the embracing of knowledge, education and free speech. Meanwhile, Wright's administration has trumped free speech and relegated it to ranks that would've shocked President Eisenhower in 1953 and must be making him roll over in his grave today.

Wright's "Principle of Community" is being used to burn books. He oversees a once proud liberal arts college turning mediocre research university in which guilty middle-class whites and 'everybody else who isn't racist' must go out of their way to deny history--the Indian was never really our mascot (it didn't appear on uniforms or in the daily student newspaper, right?), no Indians ever scalped anyone, etc.--and obfuscate current events.

In his speech, Wright espouses "openness to ideas" and "tolerance towards those with whom we might disagree." I suppose we all ought to do as he says, not as he does.

But then he also embraces "the resolution to face those broader matters that seem to be simply wrong, the courage to confront them." On one hand, we are to tolerate everyone with whom we disagree. On the other, he acknowledges that some matters seem to be "simply wrong" and they are to be confronted.

I am baffled, I am embarassed, and I would like a new Dartmouth College President to deliver an address at the graduation of my class of 2004 next spring.

A section of President Wright's speech:

In 1953 President John Sloan Dickey invited President Dwight D. Eisenhower to receive an honorary degree at that year's Commencement exercises. In an historic, well-publicized statement, President Eisenhower urged the graduates not to join "the book burners," an obvious and pointed challenge to the excesses of McCarthyism and a remarkably clear call for openness to ideas and tolerance towards those with whom we might disagree.

President Eisenhower's comments that day offered much more than the criticism of the book burners, which produced the headlines across the nation. He also told the graduates here that there were two qualities he wished them to embrace: joy and courage. Joy, that which makes for a happy life, is obviously personal, but it is critical. And President Eisenhower thought courage equally important. He described honesty and integrity as manifestations of courage -- the honesty to look closely at ourselves and what we do, the resolution to face those broader matters that seem to be simply wrong, the courage to confront them.

Others

Mark P. Johnson has gone back and forth between the Mets and Triple-A ball, after coming over from the Pirates. Johnson, in addition to being a standout for Dartmouth on the diamond, is our second leading passer on the gridiron of all time after Fiedler.

I'm not sure whether Zach Walz is still on the Arizona Cardinals in the NFL.

IvyLeageSports.com has a fairly complete and accurate list of Ivy Leaguers in the pros.

Alumni in the Pros

Sorry to the Yankee fans out there, but today's victory by the Cubbies got me thinking about Dartmouth alums in the Majors.

Mike Remlinger, RP, Chicago Cubs
All in a day's work for Remlinger
Season: 29 GP, 4-0 W-L, 3.12 ERA, 26.0 IP, 18 Hits, 20 BB, 34 K
Career: 469 GP, 48-41 W-L, 3.77 ERA, 737.1 IP, 642 Hits, 369 BB, 716 K

Brad Ausmus, C, Houston Astros
Season: .194 AVG, 34 H, 15 R, 2 HR, 19 RBI, 2 SB
Career: .256 AVG, 1038 H, 514 R, 61 HR, 402 RBI, 82 SB

I forget if there's anyone else out there from Dartmouth in the majors. I don't think so though. There's Fiedler in the NFL. No one in the NBA or NHL (yet).

Friday, June 06, 2003

A Dartmouth Lu'au

Tomorrow night, the 50th anniversary dinner is going to be a lu'au.
This is why it's a big deal.
"Apparently it's okay have a lu'au for old people who might be able to write the College big checks, but not actual students at the College," remarked one '03. Or maybe it's that alums are wiser or have thicker skins or are less PC or are more conservative or are racists or aren't as fussy.
In any case, it's all ridiculous.

Monday, June 02, 2003

FIRE on MSNBC

Tonight, at 6pm EST, FIRE's legal director, Greg Lukianoff, will be a guess on MSNBC's "Buchanan and Press." He'll be discussing "free speech zones" -- i.e., censorship zones -- on college and university campuses. Be sure to tune in...

Sunday, June 01, 2003

Re: Big Brother on the hill - Green Terror

A reader writes in:
I am also horrified at the privacy violation of the GreenPrint message on the DartLog about the top 25 students using paper.

One thing that you may want to note on the DartLog is that no only is the college monitoring how much people print, but they are disclosing it to students! Callen H. Thompson, the author of the e-mail on the Dartlog, is a '05!

~Jed Sorokin-Altmann

Can these student monitors also find out what you're printing. Do they have access to print job names or even the actual contents of the jobs?

It's worth finding out. Any word from Kiewit would be welcome.

I predict that free printing for students will come to an end within a year or two, once all those students who became used to the print windows graduate. Less outrage that way.