Wednesday, April 30, 2003

More on Poetry

You may be interested to know why I wanted to post the poem "New Hampshire." (Alright, maybe you're not.) Besides being a great poem about a great state, it has this unbeatable stanza:
She had one President. (Pronounce him Purse,
And make the most of it for better or worse.
He's your one chance to score against the state.)
She had one Daniel Webster. He was all
The Daniel Webster ever was or shall be.
She had the Dartmouth needed to produce him.
Neat, huh? Those of you who worked on the 2000 presidential campaign will appreciate this little bit, too:
And I remember one whose name appeared
Between the pictures on a movie screen
Election night once in Franconia,
When everything had gone Republican
And Democrats were sore in need of comfort:
Easton goes Democratic, Wilson 4
Hughes 2. And everybody to the saddest
Laughed the loud laugh the big laugh at the little.
Why did I only encounter this after graduation...

Also

Does anyone else have thoughts on the trustee election? Anyone agree with me? Disagree? I'd love to hear it.

Poetry Is Dead

Or so says Newsweek, at least. To prove them wrong, read this. Or this. Or this.

(Grossman tipped me off to the article.)

UPDATE You know, when I googled for the above poem -- using the terms "Robert Frost" and "New Hampshire" -- one of the first links to appear was rfrost.com, which (get this) sells essays on Frost's poems, ostensibly to students who couldn't be bothered doing it themselves. I guess that really settles it, no?

Also, I tried to find online Frost's longish poem, "New Hampshire," with no luck. It's the title poem from one of his books, yet I can't find it anywhere. Anyone know where it might be hiding?

Re: Emmett Please...

Never fear Alston, just a good-natured ribbing. I've been nothing but impressed with your fine stewardship of the Review.

Clearly, though, the structure of the sentence seems to suggest that Grantham herself was the author:
Grantham is a long-time veteran of the peace movement. Her left-wing credentials include several years working full-time against the Vietnam War and an article in the conservative campus publication The Dartmouth Review about her English 5 class called "Into the Heart of Darkness."
Poor prose, once again. Now that you mention it, however, I do remember Barrett's article, and it was uproarious.

I find it's generally a good idea to doubt anything the D says. This only serves as more evidence of the wisdom of that position.

SA Elections

For the past several years, as both a student and alum I have been the designated "Review guy who cares enough about Student Assembly to write about the elections. Well, I seem to have blown it this year, since I gather the election is today (it's a little difficult to be sure since the Daily Dartmouth appears to have scrupulously avoided mentioning the day of the election in any of this week's election stories).

That said, for those of you who still haven't voted, which is probably most of you unless A LOT has changed at Dartmouth, here's my last minute take on the presidential election: Janos is the way to go. A lot of what the Assembly does continues to be stupid, and Janos certainly hasn't come through with the scorched earth reforms I've long thought are essential if students want to have any control over the path the College takes. But given what he's working with he's done a good job (and if he's tough enough to still want the job after doing it for a year that in itself is a reason to vote for him).

He's been a staunch and highly credible supporter of the Greek system, and a far more vigorous advocate of student rights than any SA president has dreamed of being going back to my Freshman year in 1997 (the Swim Team, Alcohol Policy and Dorm Delivery issues come to mind). His push for a young alumni trustee may be futile, but it's a worthwhile endeavor that looks closer to getting done now than it ever did before. And despite having strong political views, he seems to have shown a laudable amount restraint in bringing them into SA, and kept the organization focused on Dartmouth, as it should be.

As for his opponent, Brett Thiesen has a number of nice ideas, but there's no indication he has any plan for how to accomplish any of them. I noticed he called in his Daily Dartmouth op-ed for a student referendum on major College policy changes, which would be great. But given that to achieve it would probably require an upheaval on the scale of the 60's anti-Vietnam protests, I've got to wonder about a guy who doesn't even devote a sentence to how he might get that kind of power for his constituents. Since he doesn't I think you have to conclude he either a) doesn't understand the issue well enough to be in charge of SA; or b) doesn't have any idea how to go about achieving his major campaign proposals, in which cased he probably shouldn't be in charge of SA. So, given a choice between a guy who's been better for Dartmouth and the SA than all his immediate predecessors, or a guy with good intentions and no sign of the ability to follow through, who are you going to choose?

Full Discloser: Janos is a member and former president of my fraternity and an alum of my high school, so I'm well disposed to him on those grounds. On the other hand, I disagree with his politics profoundly, and i think his recent support of the anti-Indian t-shirt movement is just silly (Janos, it's a t-shirt for goodness sake! Can't we all just get along!). Plus you've got to figure that I'm subconsciously bitter that after I blazed the Chi Gam brother for SA President trail, Janos sneaks in and actually gets elected a few years later (and for two terms probably). So I think my biases even out, but judge for yourself.

Emmett please...

The operative word in the article cited was "about," as in we had written ABOUT Prof. Grantham. You should have checked our archives to read the actual article, a seminal piece by Mr. Thornhill, of Mixology lore. Just so we have an idea of the content, here's an excerpt:

"The bully pulpit was the oak-paneled 234 Baker; the topic of the sermons teetered between environmental ga-ga and feminist slop; the self-appointed preacher was Professor Shelby Grantham."

Whaddayaknow

The D is not afraid to mention the Review, after all... Although mentioning an article that leftie prof Shelby Grantham wrote in its pages as evidence of her "left-wing credentials" seems a bit odd. Gorsche, Alston, what are you guys doing to the paper?

Plus, the article starts like this: "On April 4, a story on the front page of The New York Times proclaimed: 'It is not easy being an old lefty on campus in this war.'" Who buys that, other than Howell Raines?

Trustee Elections

Well, the deadline is tonight at midnight, and I've made my choice: John J. Donahoe '82. He was Greek, an econ major (which means probably very sensible), a businessman (which means the same thing), and president of Aquinas House.

You have to speak in code sometimes when you're running for a position like this, so I interpret the following statement from him:
Dartmouth must continue to develop well-rounded graduates able to contribute as tomorrow's leaders.
...as an endorsement of Dartmouth's liberal arts mission. (The emphasis is original.) This would preclude turning Dartmouth into a pre-professional factory.

Then, he says this:
But the pressures on Dartmouth continue to mount. Higher education has become an increasingly competitive environment, with many leading universities going down the path of greater scale and specialization. Dartmouth must embrace the reality of a more dynamic and interdependent world. And yet the College's commitment to a cohesive, intimate, liberal arts experience is more important than ever.
That's promising, too. Lastly:
The College must not lose sight of its strengths -- the things that distinguish Dartmouth from other leading academic institutions. At the top of my list are Dartmouth's commitment to outstanding teaching, interdisciplinary experiences, and need-blind admissions. I believe these elements cannot be compromised. At the same time Dartmouth needs to strengthen its connection to our increasingly global and diverse world.

But perhaps the greatest challenge Dartmouth faces is maintaining balance. The college must actively embrace the changes necessary to attract the very best students and faculty, while preserving the "soul" that makes Dartmouth unique. We must encourage greater faculty research, while maintaining an unwavering commitment to teaching. We must create social alternatives, while maintaining a responsible fraternity and sorority system. We must continue to be a place that builds character and spirit, in addition to intellect. We must continue to encourage the importance of community and teamwork, in addition to individual accomplishment.
Good stuff. If you want to vote for him, too, go here (note: you'll need your special PIN and login numbers. You were emailed them, but if you need them again, go here.)

More Historical Revisionism

This time, they're rewriting history in California...

Tuesday, April 29, 2003

In Your Pants response from Nicolas Duquette '04

>Date: 28 Apr 2003 18:04:47 EDT
>From: Nicolas J. Duquette
>Reply-To: GivingTheTime
>Subject: dartlog
>To: Alexander D. Talcott

What's so weird about that "in your pants" blitz?

Most of the spelling/grammar is inoffensive, and I would like to know the answers to some of those questions, actually.
>Date: 29 Apr 2003 09:26:53 EDT
>From: Alexander D. Talcott
>Reply-To: alex.talcott
>Subject: Re: dartlog
>To: Nicolas J. Duquette

Go for it---give 'em a call.

It's been my experience that this kind of radio show/lecture/discussion we've come to expect at Dartmouth. Forget Dante, Milton, Shakespeare. Let's chat about getting off instead.

Here's a whole section of the Review website with articles about sex on campus:

http://www.dartreview.com/archives/cat_sex_on_campus.php

>Date: 29 Apr 2003 12:20:18 EDT
>From: Nicolas J. Duquette
>Reply-To: GivingTheTime
>Subject: Re: dartlog
>To: Alexander D. Talcott

My econ major's response to this is skepticism that you or anybody who sneers and these gender studies things would tune in to an AM radio show on Milton. Mass media is rarely good at making the timeless topical and interesting as the format necessitates.

I don't actually want to know what Shiela and Jen think about sex, as I think they're both loose cannons. But if the WRC started handing out Ripley's-style pamphlets with data on the average vaginal depth, I know I'd give it a reading.

Is The Daily Dartmouth Racist?

Seems so! Check out how they lead one article from today's issue:
mcCongressman James McDermott (D-Wash.) delivered scathing criticism of the Bush administration and its foreign and domestic policies yesterday, calling the war in Iraq "unnecessary."
"McCongressman"? Wow. That's an old-timey prejudice!

Monday, April 28, 2003

Tyrant, Fugitive...Birthday Boy.

Rollo's charming toast to Saddam's 66th: "I'll raise a glass to him. I mean, in order to keep my good beer even further from his spot in hell."

Cheers.

Sunday, April 27, 2003

In Your Pants follow-up

>Date: 27 Apr 2003 19:41:09 EDT
>From: Jennifer A. Kosty
>Reply-To: BlueCanaryInTheOutletByTheLightSwitch
>Subject: In Your Pants
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

Did you ever wonder...........................

Is it safe to have sex in the water (or the river) ?

Are there any STD's you can get while using a condom?

Is anal sex more dangerous than Intercourse?

Does the G-spot actually exsist?

Where can I get sex toys in Hanover?

How "deep" is the average vagina?

Does phone sex with another person count as cheating?

If I'm having sex on a regular basis, should I be on the pill?


Tune in to WDCR 1340 for the answers on IN YOUR PANTS - Dartmouth's only LIVE, CALL IN (or blitz in, or HB in) SEX SHOW!!!!!

We will be tackling these puzzling questions and many, many more along with resident sexpert Giavanna Munafo from the Center for Women and Gender tonight on WDCR from 10 - 12 pm, so take a break and tune in.

Don't be shy!!! If you have a question, blitz jak, call in live 643-1340, or drop of questions through intracampus mail, HB 1529

We know you're curious.... and so are we, so tune in and give us your questions!

An event

Usually I post event listings in jest.

For a change, here's a good one:

>Date: 27 Apr 2003 01:28:22 EDT
>From: College Republicans
>Subject: Special Event!
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*
Sex, Lies, and Feminism...

Does the feminist movement seem out of touch with the lives of real women?

Do you want to learn about a modern, optimistic, and exciting role for the next generation of feminists?

Come see what noted author and political pundit Dr. Christina Hoff-Sommers has to say about the problems of the current feminst movement and its exciting future!

When: May 1 at 5:30
Where: Dartmouth 105

Be sure to tune in

My old lady just found a flyer in Collis that reads:

Can Girls Chafe.....

Internally?

Got Questions?
Call 643-7655
Sheila Hicks and Jenn Kosty have answers.
In Your Pants.
Every Sunday.
10PM-12 AM.
1340 AM WDCR
Because you need to know.
___________

Hicks is an '04; Kosty, an '06.

Saturday, April 26, 2003

Dartmouth shocks #2 Princeton in men's lacrosse 13-6

Dartmouth beat #2 Princeton 13-6 in men's lacrosse Saturday afternoon, giving Dartmouth their first victory over Princeton since 1988 and just their second win ever at Princeton, the other coming all the way back in 1955.

Dartmouth (10-2, 4-1) will try to earn a share of just its third Ivy Title in school history Friday night when it hosts Harvard at 7 PM. Dartmouth's previous titles came in 1964 when they shared it with Harvard and Princeton and 1965 when they split it with Princeton. Dartmouth has never won a title outright.

Cornell has already finished at 5-1 in the Ivy League and has clinched at least a share of the title. Princeton can make it a three-way tie by defeating Brown on Friday.

If Princeton loses and just Dartmouth and Cornell are tied, Cornell will get the automatic bid to the NCAA tournament due to their victory over Dartmouth earlier this season. If there is a three-way tie for 1st, a random drawing will decide who gets the automatic bid to the NCAA tournament because the other tiebreaking measures don't resolve the tie. Dartmouth could still possibly get an at-large berth if they don't get the automatic bid.

And for those wondering, there are only 6 Ivy League games because Columbia does not have a men's lacrosse team.

Friday, April 25, 2003

TDR

New issue online.

Outlawing Criticism of Israel?

Rick Santorum's already in a fair bit of trouble. If there's any truth to this report, he'll be -- or should be -- in even more. The article, from San Fran's Indy Media, says that Santorum is leading the charge to amend Title IX language so that a school could lose its federal funding if anyone engages in criticism of Israel.

This article is almost certainly erroneous in some way. The real question is how much truth is there... Does anyone know anything more about this?

UPDATE Nick Duquette adds this:
Actually, there's already a law on the books prohibiting boycotts of Israeli goods, according to a magazine someone loaned me on my UK exchange titled the New Internationalist. It makes no bones about its leftist stance, so take it with a grain of salt, but apparently it was passed in the 1970s and has been broughtback and was actually used against a news agency called La Voz Aztlan promoting an Israeli boycott. It's in the July 2002 issue of the magazine, a sitebar taking up half of page 7 if you want to pursue it.
Simply appalling.

Wednesday, April 23, 2003

Re: Ah, Emmett

Hummel, I have the shameless self-promoter role down pat on this blog. Now, as for posting two links to FIRE's website, you'll not that you are really complimenting my devotion to this site. The story was hot from the presses -- er, printer -- not a long while at all before I was sharing this breaking news with you, dear readers. You'll also note that, despite this devotion, the AP still managed to get a story in (and on the New York Times website, no less). Plus UPI -- and I'm mentioned in that story. So you see, I'm graciously sharing hot news with Dartlog's d�vot��s, at a time when we're the only source.

That being said, the two links are different. The first is to our press release, where all documents can be found. The second is to FIRE's synopsis of the speech code at Shippensburg, with links to the originals. Different things entirely. Or didn't you read it?

The Big Green

I apologize for weighing in sorta late on the Big Green mascot thing which seems to have come up again, but I would just like to publicly announce that I have recently become a big fan of the "Big Green" mascot/slogan/thing. Ever since I came to Dartmouth, I thought it was really stupid, but I changed my mind when I started to really think about it.

The key is trying to figure out what in the hell whoever came up with the Big Green was thinking, and why they would choose the Big Green. So, go ahead and ask yourself:

What's big and green and associated with Dartmouth (anyone answering "the green" gets shot)?

A: Boot, obviously.

Yes, folks: we are the only college in the country with a mascot theme of getting ridiculously drunk and vomitting (at least I think we are, anyone who knows of another college please blitz me immediately). Clearly whoever came up with it was a brilliant individual and figured that Dartmouth students would be intelligent enough to catch the reference immediately (insert your own Harvey Mansfield joke here).

Now that we've discovered this (note the sweet use of the royal we), we can take advantage of this brilliant plan. Imagine: we can actually have chants again. I'm thinking maybe "Boot on Harvard," but we can have some liberal protest-attending type come up with some more clever chant that starts with either "hey hey ho ho" or "1, 2, 3, 4."

Furthermore, I think it's awesome that we're embracing our Animal House/heavy drinking tradition, which, let's face it, is much more academically interesting than the tradition of educating Indians.

FIRE Declares War on Speech Codes

Yesterday evening, FIRE Legal Network attorney David A. French filed a lawsuit against Shippensburg University, a public institution in central Pennsylvania. The suit challenges, on behalf of two anonymous students, that University's atrocious speech code. This is the first in a wave of lawsuits that FIRE will coordinate, across the country, until speech codes have been defeated in every federal circuit.

The goal is to establish an unequivocal precedent: America's colleges and universities that restrict free speech must be prepared to face the legal and moral consequences of their actions.

Trustee Elections

The Daily Dartmouth began a series on the current candidates for the upcoming trustee elections. Today, they featured Richard Lewis '84.

I can't say I'm terribly impressed. His ambiguous claim that Dartmouth needs to "be the very best" conspicuously skirts the one thing at which it is the very best: being a liberal arts college. He, too, wants Dartmouth University. So much for him.

Tuesday, April 22, 2003

Ripe For Abuse

Chris Hummel below, and Frank Webb over on Dartmouth Observer, both point out how ludicrous this teapot scandal over campaigning is. Frank hits on an important point:
Amazingly, it seems that at Dartmouth, a candidate is responsible for the actions of his supporters.
It's important to think about this a bit. How hard is it to imagine an enterprising -- and unscrupulous -- candidate plastering public areas with flyers for his opponent, who will be punished as a result? This policy practically invites fraud.

I know the elections are irrelevant, but I fulminate against policies like these for a living.

PETA at it again...

I think it's official. PETA has become a parody of itself. But then again this is the same organization that wanted the Milwaukee Brewers to add a veggie burger to their traditional between-innings sausage races.


HAMBURG, N.Y. (AP) A national animal rights group has offered Hamburg officials $15,000 to change the town's name to Veggieburg.


''The town's name conjures up visions of unhealthy patties of ground-up dead cows,'' said Joe Haptas, spokesman of People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA), in a letter faxed Monday to Hamburg Supervisor Patrick Hoak.

PETA offered to supply area schools with $15,000 worth of non-meat patties for the name change.

In 1996, PETA proposed that the Hudson Valley town of Fishkill change its centuries-old name to Fishsave, since the group believed the name conjured up violent imagery of dead fish.

The town was named by Dutch settlers in the early 1600s. ''Kill'' is the Dutch word for ''stream.''

Monday, April 21, 2003

03-04 sports schedules

The football schedule is set for next year, and though not official yet, the opponents for the men's hockey season appear to be set, though there are no dates available at this time.

2003 Football schedule
9/20 COLGATE
9/27 at New Hampshire
10/4 PENN*
10/11 at Yale*
10/18 at Holy Cross
10/25 COLUMBIA* (Homecoming)
11/1 at Harvard*
11/8 CORNELL*
11/15 at Brown*
11/22 PRINCETON*
* Ivy League

Football Schedules through 2011

2003-2004 Hockey opponents
22 ECAC games (11 home, 11 road) (Harvard, Brown, Princeton, Yale, Cornell, Colgate, RPI, Union, St. Lawrence, Clarkson, and Vermont)
Auld Lang Syne Tournament (@Vermont, with UMass and Minnesota State-Mankato)
HOLY CROSS
vs. New Hampshire (@ Verizon Arena in Manchester)
@ Boston U.
@ Boston College
@ Maine

It should be noted that Dartmouth will play at least 6 teams that made the NCAA tournament this past year, and possibly 7. They will face Cornell and Harvard twice each in conference action, plus BU, BC, UNH, and Maine all made the field of 16 this past year. The 7th NCAA team would be if they play Minnesota State-Mankato in the Auld Lang Syne Tourney.

Dartmouth Weblogs

If you're a Dartmouth student, staff member, or graduate, click here to create your own Dartmouth weblog. It only takes about a minute.

There will be some domain errors until dartblogs.com starts working, which it should sometime on Monday.

Thursday, April 17, 2003

Rewriting History...

...literally. Educrats in Europe are cooking the books: downplaying the role of nation-states, calling Napoleon a reformer, and the Vikings peace-loving farmers and traders. Er, huh?

You know, if The Guardian is criticizing PC excess, then it's simply got to be good...

Wednesday, April 16, 2003

re: Greeks and programming


Personally, I think it's a lot more out of character that BG is sponsoring such an event. Back in the day when I was an undergrad, there was an unsaid rule that a capella wasn't entirely condoned. But Talcott, how much did you guys pay? $25? $50? Boo hoo hoo...

Greeks and programming

Another event I had no idea my fraternity was sponsoring. I'm the Vice President of Alpha Chi, a small house of about a dozen brothers a class, and we foot the bill for all sorts of non-alcoholic programming events that our Brothers have no intention of attending. What social options would there be at Dartmouth without Greek hospitality and dollars?

>Date: 16 Apr 2003 15:49:21 EDT
>From: Aires
>Reply-To: aires@mac
>Subject: Aires and X.ado TONIGHT!
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?
THE AIRES and X.ADO
Tonight at 11:30
Alpha Xi

X.ADO - Bringing the Dartmouth Community closer to the Lord.

AIRES- Bringing the Dartmouth Community closer to rutabaga, and other tragically underappreciated vegetables.

Two noble missions. One noble show.

Come check it out...or we will place a curse on all of your houses!
?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

Co-sponsored by Bones Gate, Tri Delt, Alpha Chi, and Sigma Delt.

The Indian

Even if they come up with a new mascot, I have a hard time believing that that will end the use of the Indian. Most people who wear Indian merchandise do not believe that it will eventually return as the mascot. They either wear it because it's far cooler than the big green (or i predict anything the SA could ever come up with) or because it really pisses off a lot of annoying people. Take a look at Marquette, when they went PC and became the Golden Eagles, no one paid attention. All their fans still cheer for the Warriors.

Tuesday, April 15, 2003

T-shirt trade-in

More details on it:
The proposal passed unanimously, although an amendment to condemn the symbol as 'offensive' was defeated. They are allocating $750, 1/3 paid by the SA, the rest probably by the President's office. If it's successful, they'll go for more money. They plan to harass alumni associations to send (or bring, I'm not sure) in their contraband. They will have a table soon I think, then office hours, and on the big weekends when alumni are present, they will be making a big push.

Re: Stetson University

Over on Free Dartmouth (from what?), Dan Pollock writes:
I'm sure Emmett will want to debate me about the constitutionality of this decision:

Stetson University announced it was suspending publication of its student newspaper and fired the editorial staff because of an April Fools' Day issue that included profanity, racist jokes and a sex column advocating rape and domestic violence.
Well Dan, I don't know if you're arguing that it was constitutional or unconstitutional. I argue neither: Stetson is a private institution. The First Amendment is irrelevant.

That said, I think it's outrageous. You seem to equivocate on it:
On the one hand, you have a newspaper that clearly crossed the line, even for a joke issue (some of you may remember when the Jacko got in trouble for similar racist "humor"). But on the other hand, the school's conservative Baptist history makes this sentence somewhat troubling:

"The newspaper had been under pressure from administrators to tone down the content of recent editions."

What exactly was the "content" of recent editions? And did administrators jump on this event as an excuse to get rid of a newspaper that was a thorn in their side?
This is an absurd statement. You say "on the one hand, you have a newspaper that clearly crossed the line." How can you say that? You ask what the content was, implying of course that you don't know what the paper said; how, then, can you be so sure that it "clearly crossed the line"?

But this is peripheral; the fact that there's a content-based line to cross at all is an outrage that you fail to realize. Satire and parody are, and should be, some of the most protected expression there is. If the humor is interpreted to be offensive or racist, that's just tough -- it's the price of living in a free society.

But then we get the good ol' Dan Pollock double standard. After stating that they "clearly crossed the line," you say that you're troubled by the school's Baptist conservative history being the impetus for censorship. In other words, you can understand why they would censor if it were motivated by goo-goo concern for other's "feelings" when it comes to potentially racist speech, but you are troubled by that very same censorship if it were motivated by conservative Baptist principles.

That's a double standard, Dan. Fess up and plead for mercy!

Re: Budget Priorities

While Mr. Horowitz's point about spending is well taken, he's incorrect that it explains the budget cuts. The reality is that Dartmouth can spend money where it wants to spend money without making budget cuts, precisely because the endowment is there to tap into, about 4 times as large as it was a decade ago. That it isn't willing to do so suggests that preserving the endowment is a priority in and of itself.

Personally, I think one of the more plausible explanations is that the reason for the cuts is so the endowment remains large enough to finance major capital expansion in the face of declining alumni support. Which is in line with Mr. Horowitz's thoughts. It's also possible the Trustees, by nature of their positions more fiscally than educationally focused, have succumbed to the notion that a large endowment is good in and of itself. This would reflect a certain amount of current thinking in academia, where, as a single example, university rankings usually include a variable for endowment size.

Either way, regardless of the long-term strategy, the short term purpose seems quite clearly to be conserving the endowment.

Re: Wright's Budgetary Priorities

Stan Horowitz responds:
Concerning Mr. Wilson?s post:
No.� It?s not about conserving the endowment.� Keep your eye on the ball.� Dartmouth?s endowment is dramatically higher than it was in 1999.� Nobody talked about closing libraries or eliminating teams in 1999.� It?s about spending money where the administration wants to spend money.� I don?t really know the priorities, we?d have to look at those budget items that have increased.� Perhaps the increases are in areas that have to do with funding for political correctness and becoming a research university, the Harvard of the North.� Perhaps not.� Follow the money and you will know.

Stan Horowitz
Falls Church, VA

Monday, April 14, 2003

By The Way...

...today's my 24th birthday.

Re: Developing

Alston wrote:
"Whereas the Assembly supports the right of every member of the Dartmouth community to exercise the right of free speech within the constructs of the Principles of Community."

Isn't this just a clever way of saying "speech code"? The Assembly ONLY supports free speech if it adheres to the Principle of Community, a nebulous, subjective principle if ever there were one. At least they're admitting it these days. Emmett, how does this one strike you?
It is tantamount to advocating for a speech code.

It's true that the Student Assembly doesn't get to decide what policy is, so this is no cause for alarm. (Unless you happen to think that students at a liberal arts college should have even a modicum of respect for the principle of free speech.) We shouldn't forget, however, that Dartmouth actually does enforce its Principle of Community -- Greek houses are required to include its provisions in their charters. The College (Redman claims) can punish them for violations not only of this requirement, but for violations of their own charters -- meaning, essentially, that the Principle of Community is actually enforceable for almost half of Dartmouth's students.

I wrote about this a while back in the Review.

Re: Community Letter

The war in Iraq has stimulated a great deal of debate on campus. Students, faculty, and staff have participated in a series of discussions on various aspects of the war, and, like the rest of the country, the Dartmouth community includes people who represent the whole range of opinions. But it is moments like these that underline more than ever the importance of open dialogue and the need to protect and even encourage freedom of expression.
I nearly spilled my tea when I read this.

Wright's Budgetary Priorities

This letter makes it even clearer than it already was that the College�s budget cuts are merely about endowment preservation. The only change in the financial picture was a �decrease in endowment revenue,� which actually sounds like the endowment rebounded from the negative year it had and is growing again, just not by that much. That may be just be ambiguous wording, but either way the notion that the endowment must be preserved rather than spent, even if it means shutting down libraries and athletic or academic programs is appalling. The endowment is supposed to exist to support the College�s activities, not the other way around.

And as an alumnus being asked to �step forward in this time of need,� I�d love to know how the College justifies even considering funding something as frivolous as a Critical Review of Dartmouth Symbols project if it�s in such dire straits.

Community Letter from Pres. Wright

April 14, 2003

Dear Friends,

In his poem �Snow,� Robert Frost wrote, �You can�t get too much winter in the winter.� This winter in Hanover might just have proved him wrong. Our temperatures were 30 percent lower than normal, and we experienced the coldest day ever recorded for early March. The plentiful snowfall, however, made possible the creation of a wonderful Winter Carnival statue. And, to underline this special winter, the skiers won their Winter Carnival competition for the first time since 1984. In addition, Dartmouth hosted the NCAA skiing championships, finishing 6th, and the men�s and women�s hockey teams were in the playoffs. It has indeed been a winter with a lot of winter. Now, can spring be far behind? (No, but it did snow in early April!)

As a strong indication of Dartmouth�s growing popularity among the nation�s top students, undergraduate applications to Dartmouth increased by 16 percent for the Class of 2007, to a new record level. This was the greatest increase among our peer institutions, and it provides continuing affirmation of the recognized quality of the Dartmouth undergraduate experience. Our intimate setting and special sense of community, combined with close interaction between students and faculty, small classes, faculty who are passionate about their teaching, a diverse student body that loves the College, extensive opportunities for independent study, and our excellent off-campus programs result in one of the best educational experiences in the country. These qualities continue to define Dartmouth as a very special place.

* * * * *

This year, Dartmouth students and faculty garnered numerous awards and other recognitions. I have room to mention only a few of them. Professors Judy Byfield �80 in History, Roberta Stewart in Classics, and Barbara Will in English received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Humanities, while poet Cleopatra Mathis received one from the National Endowment for the Arts. Faculty from Thayer School of Engineering, the Dartmouth Medical School, and from Arts and Sciences continue to compete successfully for grants from the National Science Foundation and the National Institutes of Health. You may have seen media coverage of several Dartmouth research projects, including the work of Dr. Elliot Fisher and Professor John Skinner, which suggests that more health care does not necessarily translate into better health care, or John Baron�s research, affirming that an aspirin protocol may lower the risk of colon cancer. Dartmouth manages better than any place I know to focu!
s on the undergraduate experience and also be a place of discovery.

Three Dartmouth students are on their way to Oxford University on Rhodes scholarships. Heidi Williams �03 will study for a Masters of Science degree, specializing in the mathematical foundations of computer science. Fiona Herring �02, now studying computer science at the London School of Economics, will study social anthropology. And Amar Dhand �01, who is currently a student at Harvard Medical School, will work toward his doctorate in education. Also, Collin O'Mara �01, who graduated with a double major in classics and history, received a Marshall Scholarship to study for his BA in Philosophy, Politics, and Economics.

I am delighted that, following the regular periodic internal review process Paul Danos has agreed to serve another term as Dean of the Tuck School. The Tuck School continues to prosper under Dean Danos� leadership. He has hired new faculty, expanded the size of the MBA program, and opened Whittemore Hall, a marvelous facility. Most importantly, he has fostered a residential MBA program that is one of the best in the world. For the second year in a row The Wall Street Journal ranked Tuck the Number One business school in the country.

I am also pleased to announce the appointment of Stephen P. Spielberg as Dean of the Dartmouth Medical School. Dr. Spielberg comes to us from Johnson & Johnson Pharmaceutical Research and Development where he was Vice President for Pediatric Drug Development. He has also held teaching and research positions at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, the University of Toronto, Toronto�s Hospital for Sick Children, and Merck Research Laboratories.

On Sunday, March 30th, we joined students and community members in Enfield to celebrate the completion of a house built by the Dartmouth chapter of Habitat for Humanity. Under the guidance of the Tucker Foundation over 250 students from across the College participated in this effort. The Tucker Foundation also sponsored an alternative spring break this year that sent 42 students to work on three other Habitat projects in the southern U.S., as well as to Florida to work with underprivileged children and to Costa Rica to help construct a clinic. As I told the students in Enfield, I am proud to be at a place where students are so committed to service.

Finally, congratulations go to Murry Bowden �71, who was named to the College Football Hall of Fame. As a young junior faculty member I watched Murry play; a few years ago I told him that he had made the hardest tackles I have ever seen at Memorial Field. He joins his coach, the late Bob Blackman, in the hall. (Prior to Murry�s selection, the most recent Dartmouth player to be so recognized was Bob MacLeod �39.)

* * * * *

President John Sloan Dickey regularly told Dartmouth undergraduates �the world�s troubles are your troubles.� In this way he sought to encourage students to be responsible world citizens. Mr. Dickey�s statement continues to resonate. We are very much a part of the world community. Venezuelan labor strife and the ongoing crisis in the Middle East have had an impact on what we pay for oil (and in a winter like this, that is substantial); the war in Iraq and the threat of terrorism have raised questions about off-campus programs, emergency protocols, and campus preparedness; health care costs for our employees have skyrocketed; and the downturn in the financial markets has had a negative effect on our finances. Dartmouth is a real part of the real world � the bad, along with the good. This is no ivory tower.

The war in Iraq has stimulated a great deal of debate on campus. Students, faculty, and staff have participated in a series of discussions on various aspects of the war, and, like the rest of the country, the Dartmouth community includes people who represent the whole range of opinions. But it is moments like these that underline more than ever the importance of open dialogue and the need to protect and even encourage freedom of expression. I have also encouraged people to be especially sensitive to the most vulnerable members of our community � those who have family members involved in the conflict or who are from the Middle East or are of Arab or Muslim heritage.

We have taken a number of measures to respond to the threat of terrorism, the war with Iraq, and Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS). Our spring term off-campus programs all started as scheduled; the health and safety of our students and faculty are uppermost in our minds, and we are monitoring those programs closely. Faculty leaders have reviewed specific contingency plans and protocols with their students, and we have communicated this information to the parents of all students currently enrolled in such programs. We have also increased our alert on campus. Hanover and Dartmouth remain peaceful in a tense world, but we know full well that we are part of the world � reminders of which come regularly. The federal government has suggested that colleges and universities could be targets of terrorist activities. A team of administrators is meeting regularly to ensure our preparedness. We also work closely with the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center and local town officials!
to coordinate our efforts. The world�s troubles surely are our troubles!

* * * * *

In the years when the financial markets were good, the Dartmouth endowment grew very well. We ranked 8th for returns among the 35 private schools with the largest endowments, and Dartmouth�s endowment per student increased at the 7th highest rate (ranked with Harvard) among all schools. At the same time, Dartmouth�s spending rate from the endowment ranked 13th in the group of 35. Moreover, we maintained a AAA bond rating. The performance of the Dartmouth endowment continues to be one of the best in higher education, and our spending rate, which the Board of Trustees reviews annually, has been prudent, strategic, and responsive to the needs of our community.

The growth in the endowment over the last four years has allowed Dartmouth to address critical priorities and major needs. We kept tuition increases down to a minimum and reduced our dependence on tuition. We twice enhanced our financial-aid packages, as part of the College�s ongoing commitment to attract the very best students to Dartmouth. As a result, we have one of the most economically diverse student bodies among our peer institutions. We invested in faculty and staff compensation � Dartmouth had lagged in both areas, which hurt our competitive position � and in the library and computing. We funded several capital projects, as well. With the construction of McCulloch Hall, we took an important first step to meet our undergraduate housing needs. And we addressed pressing academic needs with the Baker Library renovation, the Wilder expansion, the renovation of the Fairchild Science Center, and the renovation of Silsby Hall. Finally, increased revenue enabled us to enhanc!
e an array of academic and student life programs, including athletics. These investments helped ensure the quality of the learning environment for our undergraduate students.

As a historian, I knew that the good times could not last. As a President, I surely wished they might, at least, have lasted for a little longer! The decrease in endowment revenue has led us to reduce expenses and to look for greater efficiencies. We have cut budgets by approximately
$5 million in FY 2003, and we project a $7.8 million reduction in FY 2004. We have reduced programs and activities in all areas. The Trustees also voted to increase tuition by 4.9 percent, slightly higher than the increases we have enacted in recent years. We are surely not alone in having to cut expenses. Corporations and businesses, as well as institutions of higher education around the country, have imposed hiring and salary freezes, cut budgets, and have even laid off employees.

The good news is that we continue to be blessed with generous supporters. We have begun planning for a capital campaign, and alumni/ae giving continues to be a critical element in our ability to move forward with new initiatives. The Dartmouth College Fund provides absolutely vital support toward the meeting of our key priorities including financial aid and academic programs. While we have done well, in recent years we have seen a decline in our donor participation numbers, and we need to recover ground in this regard. A Dartmouth education depends on the quality of our faculty, our students, and the programs that we offer � all of which depend, in turn, on the support of alumni/ae. We hope that everyone can step forward in this time of need.

Every area of the College has implemented expense reductions, although we have tried hard to limit their impact on academic and student programs, and we have accordingly taken the greatest reductions in administrative areas. Of all the reductions, the one involving swimming and diving received the most attention. No one set out to eliminate this activity, and the cut would not have been suggested if we had not had to make severe budget reductions. Consequently, we were delighted to be able to find a plan that allowed us to reinstate swimming and diving. This episode demonstrated remarkable spirit and ingenuity on the part of our students. as well as generosity on the part of many alumni/ae, parents, and friends, who worked with the Athletic Director and Dean to create a way to sustain swimming and diving. Susan and I were pleased to join the team members at their last home meet. It was a festive occasion and a winning one!

* * * * *

Sadly, this winter Jean Kemeny, First Lady of Dartmouth 1970-81, passed away. Susan and I had visited her just days before her death and told her (using the title of her 1979 book) that it was �Different at Dartmouth� and that she had helped to make it so through her numerous contributions. We and many, many friends attended the Rollins Chapel memorial service and warmly remembered her spirit. She was an extraordinary woman, and we shall miss her.

Susan and I hope to see many of you on our travels this spring, and we look forward to a wonderful Commencement in June. In the meantime, it is hard to focus on our business of learning without pausing to reflect on the current world situation. Our thoughts are with our forces in Iraq and our prayers are for their safety and for peace for that suffering region.

Sincerely,

James Wright

Re: Developing

"Whereas the Assembly supports the right of every member of the Dartmouth community to exercise the right of free speech within the constructs of the Principles of Community."

Isn't this just a clever way of saying "speech code"? The Assembly ONLY supports free speech if it adheres to the Principle of Community, a nebulous, subjective principle if ever there were one. At least they're admitting it these days. Emmett, how does this one strike you?

Re: Developing

The New York branch of Dartlog (consisting of Alex and I) is a little confused by the "CARDS" project. More specifically, how does one get "CARDS" out of "Critical Review of Dartmouth Symbols"? Where the hell does the "A" come from? The seventh letter of "critical"?! Have standards fallen this far?

Additionally, does "voluntarily" replacing "belongings with the Indian insignia" mean stealing?

I do think that this exchange program could work though. I know I have some old Indian T-shirts that are a little worn out and would be happy to receive brand new replacements.

Developing...

--- Forwarded message from Amit Anand ---

Student Assembly Resolution to Endorse the Critical Review of Dartmouth Symbols Project
Sponsored by Amit Anand '03, Natalie Walsh '06, Ben Waters '06, Mark Herman '06, Jenna Krumminga '06, Rene Moya '06 and Student Life Committee

Whereas the continuing presence of the "Indian" symbol has a significant social, emotional and cultural impact on members of the Dartmouth community;

Whereas the Assembly has organized a week-long series of open discussions to address the use of the "Indian" symbol;

Whereas the Assembly supports the right of every member of the Dartmouth community to exercise the right of free speech within the constructs of the Principles of Community;

Whereas some members of the Dartmouth community have voluntarily sought to replace belongings with the Indian insignia;

Whereas the President's Office has demonstrated a commitment to monetarily support the Critical Review of Dartmouth Symbols (CARDS) project;

Whereas Dartmouth has no official mascot and previous searches for a mascot have been inconclusive;

Whereas next year will mark the 30th anniversary of the Board of Trustees' finding of the "use of the [Indian] symbol in any form to be inconsistent with present institutional and academic objectives of the College in advancing Native American education";

Let it be resolved that the Assembly establishes a program facilitating the exchange of apparel and other items bearing the "Indian" symbol for comparable Dartmouth merchandise.

Let it be further resolved that the Assembly requests the President to monetarily support the said program.

Let it be finally resolved that the Assembly's Student Life Committee start an intensive campaign to obtain suggestions, survey students and alumni, and submit a final proposal to the Board of Trustees for an official mascot before the end of Spring term.

Copies of the resolution shall be sent to the President and presented to the Dean of the College, the Director of Athletics and the Dean of Student Life.

This is still an issue?

>Date: 14 Apr 2003 00:21:58 EDT
>From: Daniel Webster Legal Society
>Reply-To: DWLS@Dartmouth.edu
>Subject: Indian Mascot Discussion
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

***The Indian Mascot at Dartmouth: A Discussion***

*What: A Student Assembly discussion on the role of the Indian symbol/mascot at Dartmouth including student speakers on both sides of the issue and excerpts from the documentary 'In Whose Honor?'

*When: Monday (today) 7 pm

*Where: 101 Collis

*Co-Sponsored by DWLS

Food will be served. Please RSVP by 3 pm Monday.

NOTE: This will be in lieu of our regular meeting in Rocky.

We hope to see you there!

Your Co-Chairs,
Adil
Andy
Matt

Sunday, April 13, 2003

They've been watching me?

Students against the Abuse of Food and Exercise

>Date: 13 Apr 2003 17:18:40 EDT
>From: SAFE
>Subject: MEETING TOMORROW
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

We've seen you in Food Court and Collis, in Kresge and on the Green. We know you're going to want to hear about this ... SAFE holds our first meeting of Spring term.

Spread awareness about issues concerning health, nutrition, eating disorders, and exercise. We kick off the spring term with our first big meeting tomorrow night. We've got loads of activities to plan. Bring your ideas !!

MEETING
TOMORROW
MONDAY, APRIL 14th
COLLIS Rm. 218 @ 7:00pm

All are welcome!

Friday, April 11, 2003

School Follies

A Democratic state legislator in Texas is looking to require that all students take a multicultural or gender studies course in order to graduate. This sort of thing is actually quite common, but since students tend to have a choice in how they will meet the requirement, it's usually not that bad. (Most non-Western history courses, for example, probably count.) The primary objection, of course, is making requirements out of faddish or particular concerns. Imagine, for instance, if Texas wished to require all students to take a course on American patriotism, or if Utah were to require students to take a course on Mormonism.

More outrageous, I think, is a case in a Colorado grade school. A 12-year-old there -- he's in the sixth grade -- was playing a ball game with his friends when he called one particular call "gay." The student was suspended, under an anti-bullying policy, of all things. The school district, predictably, is not saying a word on this, citing, predictably, the Buckley Amendment.

The school board has a vote on April 15 as to whether or not they should add a ban to language on sexual orientation to their anti-bullying policy. (But wait, doesn't that mean it's not in the policy already? So doesn't that mean that the student couldn't have... never mind.)

Perhaps they should read this first.

Thursday, April 10, 2003

Quote of the Day

You may or may not believe all the statistics you see. You may or may not believe all the words written on the T-shirts. You may or may not believe testimonies from survivors. And it's true -- it's possible that some of what you hear or see this month might not be completely correct. But even so, the mission of this month will have been accomplished because it will have focused attention on a grave problem that transcends any college campus or social setting.
From "Sex, Lies and T-Shirts," an op-ed on Sex Abuse Awareness Month by Tanisha Keshava '05 in today's D. Paging Rigoberta Menchu...

Wednesday, April 09, 2003

Re: The Dartmouth Indian

Alex, the DartMoose is serving the Man.

Victory for Due Process at Harvard

Yesterday, FIRE announced a great victory at Harvard. The disciplinary code was recently changed to require that proceedings in cases of student misconduct cannot begin unless there is some evidence that the charges can be corroborated beyond an accusation. This is, of course, a great victory for fundamental fairness, and is basically akin to instituting a "grand jury" system. Wendy Murphy, a Boston lawyer, filed a complaint with the US Department of Education's Office for Civil Rights (OCR), alleging that, since more women file sexual harassment and assault claims than men, more claims coming from women will be thrown out. This, she claimed, was sex discrimination, a violation of Title IX. Fortunately, the OCR has dismissed the complaint, noting that the law �does not prohibit the use of due process.� I'll say.

Read all about it at the link above.
The Dartmouth Indian
Is it possible that this debate has gotten even more absurd since I graduated?

"[Native American Studies Program Director] Hanitchak made the key distinction that while a mascot inherently reflects a power differential because the mascot 'serves' someone, the seal can indeed represent Dartmouth's origin as a school that would educate Native Americans," Student Life Chair Amit Anand '03 said.

I just want to know one thing: who exactly has the DartMoose been "serving" all these years. Cause dammit, that's just wrong.
Re: Dartmouth Women at War
Well, there you are then. Strikes me as all the more reason compiling a list of current Dartmouth alumni, of both genders, currently serving in the military is a good idea. It's important to remember the Dartmouth's war dead, but the ones who should be must in our thoughts are the men and women now in harm's way.

Re: Dartmouth Women at War

A friend and former army-type responds:
If you want to pass anything on to the Reviewers, tell them that coming from one who was in Military Intelligence, albeit a short time, that women in intell or jag positions or even in other MOS's are just as likely to be deployed during active combat on the front lines. Alex Wilson's statement "Women serving as military intelligence analysts or with the JAG Corps, for example, wouldn't ever be put in Iraq until it was at least theoretically no longer an active theater of operations" is false.

How do I know? Because I have several female friends in Iraq right now, counter intelligence people and interrogators, and I have another friend working in Afghanistan. At this point, more and more commanders are viewing women and men in intell positions as equally deployable and useful. One reason perhaps is that they have a tremendous shortage of interrogators & counter-intell. people in the field at present. They currently have just a few hundred at present to cover the entire globe but there is now an order for over 1,000 new intell people in the Interrogator MOS alone. Among the new trainees who actually graduate - nearly 50 % are women. Scary or not, they can't afford to be picky, they need "bodies" as the Army calls them, and women help fill that gap. Also, in many cases, the women outperform the men. In other branches, I can guarantee you that there are women pilots dropping bombs over Baghdad tonight.

And our source adds, "Joseph Scott '00 is a patriot missile officer and is currently helping to launch missiles from Qatar, though by this point in he may be in Iraq." Best wishes to him and his compatriots.

Tuesday, April 08, 2003

Re: Dartmouth Women at War
Granted. if nothing else, this war has made it quite clear that all soldiers in a combat zone, women and men alike, will probably end up under fire regardless of their technical designation as "support."

What I was meaning was how many are actually combat zone deployable in a meaningful sense. Women serving as military intelligence analysts or with the JAG Corps, for example, wouldn't ever be put in Iraq until it was at least theoretically no longer an active theater of operations. Or such is my understanding, and I'm happy to be corrected if I'm wrong.

Thanks to Alston and Chris for the prompt responses.

Monday, April 07, 2003

Re: Dartmouth War Dead

Alex, according to the freshmen who wrote the article (and the poor one that typed in every name), the records for more recent wars and military action are shoddy at best. I'll check to see if there's a better explanation.

2-4-6-8

"2-4-6-8...stop the date rape" and "Hey hey, ho ho...sexual assault has got to go"

or something to that effect

Pots and pans banged

Sexual Assault Awareness march down frat row

Any more appropriate than having a protest against Affirmative Action outside of Cutter Shabazz?
Trustees and Chi Gams
By the way, if the talent pool among male alums is so low that only my fellow Chi Gams are left, the College may be in even bigger trouble than I imagined.

Also, does anyone else find it odd that we can only get one candidate out of three who still lives in the United States? The number of statistical improbabilities in this election gets higher the longer I look.
Dartmouth Trustee Election
A long while back both Emmett and Chris asked whether anyone knew anything about the alumni trustee candidates. While obviously some people must, even if not any associated with DartLog, the basic answer is no. No one knows anything about them, and no one is supposed to. As some of the leaders of the Alumni Council and Association, which both have responsibilities relating to the election of Trustees, informed me at a forum in New York last week, the system is designed to leave us with very little knowledge of the candidates' views, in order to ensure that the election isn't "political."

So, whom should one vote for under the circumstances? No one. If you haven't already, simply don't. Voting in an election where we, as alumni, are given no knowledge about what the candidates think about the challenges facing Dartmouth, at a time when the Board is considering actions that may fundamentally reshape the College, simply encourages the belief that the current system should be maintained. The people who run the elections are primarily concerned with alumni participation; the fewer who participate, the more likely it is that we will be given a real choice in the future. So don't even bother. It will do far more harm than good.

That said, if you have to vote, I must recommend either of the two gentlemen, as both are alumni of my fraternity.
Women of Dartmouth?
I was gratified to see the middle verse, known as the war verse, of Men of Dartmouth included in the issue. It's a shame that this part of the song has been expunged from the College's practices altogether. For those who don't know, the war verse was traditionally added to the alma mater during time of war, to honor those Dartmouth men who had died in the service of their country, and who might be doing so at that moment on the front lines. When the decision was made to alter the song to include women, rather than adopting a new alma mater and keeping Men of Dartmouth as simply one more song in the College canon, the war verse was basically eliminated (look at the lyrics and you'll understand why).

On first reading the lyrics again I was going to emphasize this point. But it occurred to me that in the near future the verse could legitimately become obsolete, if Dartmouth women were killed in combat. So, another assignment for the Review staff if anyone wants it: how many female Dartmouth graduates serve in the military? How many are in specialties that would lead to forward deployment?

The Michigan and National Reviews

Editors of the Michigan Review opine, or at least ramble, at National Review Online

Oh yeah...and they call themselves "nerds."
Recent Dartmouth War Dead
That list raises an interesting question though: have any Dartmouth graduates been killed in action since the Vietnam War? My guess is not, given the limited number of U.S. casualties since then, and the even more limited number of Dartmouth grads who serve in the military. But really I have no idea. Does anyone else?
The Issue
In all seriousness, my congratulations to the new editorial team for a very solid effort their first time out. The service rendered by Dartmouth men in the past was overdue for a tribute, especially since what the school seems to be offering most prominently now is the boilerplate college anti-war nonsense as every other liberal academic institution. And whoever thought to include a list of Dartmouth's war dead deserves enormous credit. This is exactly the time when we should be remembering them.
It's Been a While...
But the excellence of the new issue has shamed me into returning to at least occasional posting. Please excuse the initial profusion of posts while I do a bit of catch up.

Saturday, April 05, 2003

U of Iowa and the state are sued over 1939 experiment

A 1939 professor induced stuttering on children who were speaking normally at the time. Only 2 of the five plaintiffs are still alive.

Friday, April 04, 2003

This Kid Is a Criminal

A twelve-year-old kid in Texas has been punished by his school for sticking out his tongue at a girl who wouldn't be his girlfriend. The charge? Sexual harassment. Yes, sexual harassment.

When did the world go crazy, people?

Harvard's Website

Take a look at this picture, from the front page of Harvard's website. Sort of an odd image for Harvard to have there, isn't it?

TDR War Issue

Fresh off the press...read it at dartreview.com

Thursday, April 03, 2003

I Guess

...I can't get upset when college administrators seem blissfully ignorant of the principles of free speech. It seems even congressmen have no idea. J.D. Hayworth -- a Republican from Arizona whose only other crime, as far as I know, was supporting John McCain in the 2000 primaries -- is looking to get the "million Mogadishus" professor at Columbia fired. He's circulating a petition around Congress. Here's a quote that could have come from any two-bit university president:
As members of Congress who stand for election every two years, we are no strangers to the frank exchange of ideas and vigorous debate, and we have a deep appreciation for America�s tradition of academic freedom. However, we also have an equally deep appreciation for the fact that our words have consequences.
For fun, compare this to the following statement from Jim Larimore, during the Zete fiasco in May 2001:
Some argue that anything that an organization can characterize as expressive conduct must be tolerated even though it violates the rules and standards of our community. They assert, in effect, that the Principle of Expression and Dissent "trumps" all our other rules-that it is a license for an organization to engage in any and all expressive behavior, subject to no standard whatsoever. I respectfully disagree....
Or this letter, from James Wright also with respect to Zete:
We do not have a speech code at Dartmouth [I beg to differ], but a related speech issue illustrates the way we need to confront tensions between individual rights and the values of the community.
Yep, Hayworth's rhetoric sure does sound familiar...

Stanley Kurtz on Affirmative Action

Here's a good piece by Stanley Kurtz on NRO, regarding the oral arguments in Gratz v. Bollinger. It's quite good, and focuses -- rightly -- on the role to be played by Sandra Day O'Connor. I think he overstates the nature of the dilemma she's in, but not egregiously.

Re: Anti-oppression

Anyone pro-oppression out there?

Well, I...

...never mind.

Wednesday, April 02, 2003

Anti-oppression

Anyone pro-oppression out there? Didn't think so...

>Date: 02 Apr 2003 21:41:57 EST
>From: Eva L. Vivalt
>Subject: anti-oppression
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

What do you feel are the main sources of oppression today?

Are you looking for fair trade?
Want alternatives to sweatshops?
Believe in closing the gap between men and women's education worldwide?

Talk about it. Then act upon it.

A bunch of us are trying to start a campus group to address some anti-oppression issues. We're going to try to get this together and determine scope (really, whatever people bring to the table) and talk about possible events at a first meeting this Thursday at 8pm in the hyphen (inside lounge between russell sage and butterfield.

Come on out... be heard... lead... discuss... help out.

Appropriate event name?

>Date: 02 Apr 2003 17:04:58 EST
>From: Matthew E. Potts
>Reply-To: whowantesme
>Subject: S'MORES PARTY AND SHEBA SHOW!!!!!!!!!!!
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

S'mores Entertainment Presents...

RUMBLE IN THE JUNGLE

featuring a special performance by SHEBA

Where: Shabazz Underground
When: Friday 4/4
11 PM til...

Co-sponsered by PB, BBL, Cutter/Shabazz, and Tri-Kapp

The Supreme Court Debates Affirmative Action

Here's a partial transcript of yesterday's oral arguments in the closely watched University of Michigan case...

UPDATE Here's a better transcript, that gives the names of the justices asking the questions.

Tuesday, April 01, 2003

Governor Shmovernor

The recent high-profile firing of Steve Lavin at UCLA and the resignation of Matt Doherty from UNC has raised an amusing point about public university spending. These men's basketball coaches are the highest paid state employees in their respective states. They make more than the Governor, Attorney General, Comptroler, etc. I'm surprised their isn't more taxpayer outcry about this. And also that private universities wouldn't thus be more dominant by then paying for the best coaches as they do with professors.

UPDATE

Readers Brian Ross '04 and Jeremy Presser '04 respond.

Ross: "[I]n response to your comment on dartlog.net about the coaches - the reason state schools still do good is because they can attract the top coaches not with money but with prestige and large recruiting pools. Most major state schools that I can think of (UCLA, UNC, Kansas, Arizona) have been successful programs for quite some time and thus have prestige to attract the best even if the money isn't there."

Presser: "[T]here isn't much public outcry about the coaches because their respective sports (UCLA/UNC basketball) bring in much more money every year than the money they pay the coaches. This allows the athletic departments to sponsor non-revenue sports beyond their original budget. Plus, if they were paying $200,000 for a coach, the talent level would drop to the point where they would lose significant ticket sales, tv revenue and alumni donations. Basketball and football are money sports, despite the high salaries."

Not to make light...

of their mission, but the "Free Food!" subject and the exclamation points try to make this event like a real blast. Are these meetings really fun, light-hearted, etc.?

>Date: 01 Apr 2003 22:51:59 EST
>From: Coalition Against Abusive Relationships Everywhere
>Subject: Free Food!
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

Come check out CARE at our kick-off meeting of spring term!

Thurs, 3 April
10pm
Collis 212

Enjoy some free EBAs and get to know others committed to promoting awareness of dating violence on campus.

We'll be watching a brief documentary on domestic abuse and sharing thoughts and ideas about programming for the upcoming term.

See you there!

Dartmouth Review, Free Press announce merger

Former Dartmouth Review editor Andrew Grossman and former Free Press editor Timothy Waligore will announce the collaboration of these two news organizations at a conference later today. "It was the plan all along," said Mr. Waligore, who conceived of the Free Press while living in Washington, D.C., with Mr. Grossman. "Paleo-conservatives and the anti-globalization Left just have so much in common; this makes sense in so many ways."

Mr. Grossman spoke similarly of the new operating agreement. "When Ralph Nader, Pat Buchanan, and Hunter S. Thompson have basically the same take on world affairs, you know that there's something going on. This merger carries that kind of synergy out to its logical end." Mr. Grossman also agreed that the deal had been long in development. "We've wanted to work the Free Press for some time and have been sending Review staff members to Free Press meetings since the beginning, just to build this kind of bridge... Evidently, it worked!"

The new organization, to be called the Dartmouth Free Review Press Herald, will set up office on the first floor of the former Zeta Psi fraternity's building, with half of that space being reserved for the former Review staff's private functions. "There was concern that their [The Free Press's] staff would run down our bar with some celerity, but we addressed that in our operating agreement."

"Hands off our stash, man," added Mr. Waligore, giggling madly, explaining that "you [The Dartmouth Review] promised, man. You promised!" Mr. Grossman ackowledged that staff coming from the Review had agreed to procure marijuana outside of the organization. "It wasn't really an issue for us," he said. Mr. Grossman and Mr. Waligore declined to discuss other, rumored drug-related terms of the agreement, referring questions to the new organization's counsel, Schwartz, Jacobstein, Rabinowitz, Goering of Lebanon.

According to both sides, editorial details are still being hammered out. Who will hold the top post is still undecided, although many insiders consider current Review co-editor Ryan Gorsche a front-runner, citing his broad experience and extensive arsenal. The combined publication's publishing schedule for the Spring is also undetermined, with factions arguing between weekly and quarterly editions. In recent days, a compromise position has emerged that would call for issues to be scheduled weekly but only published bimonthly. Alston Ramsay, coeditor of the Review and a driving force behind the negotiations, explained the rational behind this third way. "The Review has two decades of experience in combining aggressive scheduling with erratic output. There's a lot of history, a lot of tradition and feeling bound up in this model. People have fought for this, I fought this, and I'm proud of our heritage in this."

Former Review publisher Charles Kluender will fill that position again in the new organization. Speaking anonymously, an insider claims, "He [Kleunder] sat down in the office and said he wouldn't move until we made him publisher. We didn't really have a choice." The source added that concerns about Mr. Kluender's health are widespread and may force him to step down before completing the duration of his term. "He can't even make it to the bar without panting," said the source. In direct response to that allogation, Mr. Kluender countered that his inactivity was not a health matter. "I know a guy who makes the best drinks you ever had," he said.

John MacGovern, who directed the Dartmouth Review's fundraising efforts from 2000 through 2002 has signed on with the new organization as CEO, president, chairman of the board, CFO, MFA, PDA, and head librarian. "I hope to, ah, bring to bear, yes, the, ah, the strengths, that I brought to my, to my work with the other, the other, the Review," he said. MacGovern also stated that he was "ready, willing, and prepared and ready" to accept editorial duties should the need arise.

Asked for his opinion of the merger, former Review editor-in-chief and current editor-in-hiding J. Lawrence Scholer exclaimed, "Books!," before collapsing onto a glass-topped table.

I think this is for real...

>From: Lena.E.Previll@Dartmouth.edu (Lena E. Previll)
>Subject: QuEER bAr NiGHt
>Date: 31 Mar 2003 17:54:40 -0500
>Bulletin Topic: Activities for Students
>Expires: 5 Apr 2003 17:54:06 -0500

**********oo, pretty stars*****

Thursday, April 3

QuEER bAr NiGHt
(if this snazzy combination of lower case and caps doesn't grab your attention, we don't know what will)

(now for some perfunctory slang)
Wassap, DAWG?!
Get yo' QUEER on at LONE PINE TAVERN. We'll be mixing it up with CRaZy drinks yo, like:
Fruity Flamer
Lime Hook-up
Out with a Twist
Ellen DeGingerale
Siegfried and Roy Rogers
Coconut Cruiser

one FrEe with a drink ticket when you roll in. And kickA$$ appetizers.

Show off your VoCaL StYLiNZ at our phat KARAOKE machine.

Competition @ 10 pm!!! AWesum prizez... it's gonna be riDUNCulous, yo!

Win some TiGHT DoOR PRiZeS.

(now for some irrelevant pop culture references)
Come see Lone Pine like you've never seen it before! It's HeRE, IT's QUEeR, (go lone pine, it's your birthday....) This bar is not nearly as SkeTchY as Colin Farrell might not have been.

(and now to quote that oh-so-overquoted anthem)

"It's gettin hot out there, so come to Q-B-N... "

So do it... Thursday Night, 9pm to 1am, at the LPT... coMe sTrAigHT or with a tWisT

*****more pretty stars***********

This message brought to you by GSA.
Much thanks to COSO, Programming Board and LonePineTavern for sponsoring Queer Bar Night at Lone Pine Tavern. Special thanks to Don, Lena, Tim, Patrick, and the awesome staff at Lone Pine.

For those with faith in SA...

>Date: 31 Mar 2003 18:19:34 EST
>From: Student Assembly
>Subject: REDIRECTING DARTMOUTH
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

****************************

VISIONS

****************************

Budget Cuts. New Administrators. Where your Money Goes. What about Dartmouth needs to be preserved? What aspects of Dartmouth should change?

With massive budget cuts this year and more budget cuts projected for the years that follow, it is important that the Dartmouth Community articulates its fundamental needs to the administration. More programs are likely to be cut, so it is up to us to dig deep and think about what is the essence of Dartmouth. Help us in our effort to shape and define Dartmouth's future.

Please answer the following two questions and blitz them back to "Student Assembly" by April 9. Student Assembly will compile your responses and publish them to the school's administrators.

***************************

1) What is your vision for Dartmouth College and is this the direction that you think the college is heading in?

2) In response to budget cuts and an always changing Dartmouth community: What aspects of Dartmouth should be preserved and what others should be changed?

Any Additional Comments: