Friday, January 31, 2003

For future reference

Anyone off-campus who has article ideas for the Review, please send them directly to the editor, or someone else on the Review's staff. A story Emmett mentioned a few days back--department funding for the anti-war trip to DC--was the headline for the D this morning...

Wednesday, January 29, 2003

BeGiled

Such bulletin boards and display cases are meant for the UGA's "passive programming" requirement. UGAs are supposed to put up an assortment of posters and whatnot with information on a topic of interest, e.g. an AIDS or STD or Eating Disorder or some other theme, or just a selection of what's going on around campus outside of the residence halls.

Gile

Next time you're on the first floor of Gile, check out the bulletin boards there; they're sort of interesting. There are some standard bulletin boards crammed with posters detailing club meetings, speakers, etc., and then there is a glassed-in bulletin board that (presumably) only the UGA or CD or someone can post on. Inside that are a couple of photos of Gile residents, as would be expected. The glassed-in board, however, also contains the "Why War?" posters.

Does this mean that Gile Hall has taken a stance on US foreign policy? If so, what is the procedure for policy determination for a residence hall? Can we decide to equip South Mass with a missile defense system?

Tuesday, January 28, 2003

Oh no!

My beloved Fark.com has fallen the way of the New York Times in terms of inaccurate reporting.

The item titled "Bush government is 'neo-Confederate according to Dartmouth Prof." links to an article in The D about Paul Robeson, Jr.'s lecture. He is not a Dartmouth Prof. (might as well be).

Scherr on the Budget

>Date: Tue, 28 Jan 2003 14:36:13 -0500 (EST)
>From: Barry.P.Scherr@Dartmouth.EDU
>To: on-campus-undergrads-announce@locum.dartmouth.edu
>Subject: Budget
>Sender: massmail-sender@locum.dartmouth.edu
>Precedence: bulk

January 28, 2003
Letter to the Dartmouth Community from Provost Barry Scherr

As promised in the fall term, I am writing to provide you with additional information regarding the 2004 budget and our need to reduce expenses. Since mid-October, the Budget Committee and senior officers have reviewed proposals for budget reductions from department heads in nearly every area of the College. We have consulted with or heard from many students, faculty, and staff, and I would like to thank them for their thoughtful suggestions. The current budget plans reflect these discussions. Over the next month or so, Adam Keller, the Acting Vice President and Treasurer, and I will continue to meet with these groups to discuss the FY �04 budget and to receive further comments. We will finalize the budget for Trustee approval in late spring.

While the budget savings will be achieved in various ways across campus, chairs and directors looked for savings that would have the least impact on teaching and learning, both in and out of the classroom, and on other priority needs in their areas. We have protected the financial aid budget, tenure-track faculty positions, and competitive faculty and staff compensation. All areas reduced non-compensation office expenses such as supplies, travel and entertainment, and professional development. Reorganization of operations will occur in some areas including the libraries, where the services of the satellite libraries will change, and research computing, which is still under discussion. I have summarized these budget strategies in the document copied below. (These materials, as well as further information on the budget, are available on the Dartmouth website: www.dartmouth.edu/~news.)

I indicated in an earlier communication that to balance the budget, we might need to lay off as many as 30 employees. I am very pleased that we have not had to do this so far. Instead, we have eliminated approximately 50 positions through attrition and reorganization. We still need to reduce expenses in several areas to fully realize our budget goal, and we will need to eliminate additional positions. Nonetheless, because of the success we have had so far and our interest in avoiding layoffs, the President has urged us to continue with the current process. We will look aggressively for further attrition and will encourage thoughtful and focused reorganization plans. We remain committed to try to find other positions for employees who may be affected by these changes. I am very grateful to all of the people who have helped and continue to help in this process.

It is still too early to predict with certainty how the budget will look for FY �05 and beyond. But the three consecutive years of disappointing endowment performance will have an impact on the budget for some time to come. Therefore, it will be important for all areas to continue to think about savings that can be obtained through additional cost-saving measures. Resources for new initiatives other than those that are part of the strategic plan will have to come through internal reallocation and efficiencies rather than through reliance on the central budget. We must organize our activities in as efficient a manner as possible while maintaining the very high quality of our educational program.

In closing, I want to thank all employees for their patience and support during this year. This has been a challenging time, but Dartmouth is strong fiscally, and we will move forward with our key priorities. Dartmouth will continue to attract the best students and faculty, provide need blind admissions, offer competitive compensation packages, and provide vibrant academic and co-curricular programs.

********************************************************************************

Summary of Changes to the College-Only FY �04 Budget

The senior administration continues to develop the FY �04 budget and to discuss it with the appropriate officers and faculty and student committees before final approval by the Board of Trustees in June. Because of the downturn in the market over the last two years, we have had to adjust budgets. The College experienced a return of -5.7 percent on the endowment in 2002 following 0 percent in 2001. This compared to national returns for universities and colleges of -6 percent in 2002 and -3.6 percent in 2001.

Of the four main revenue streams � student tuition and fees, endowment income, gifts for operations, and sponsored research � we anticipate increases in tuition and fees (although the Trustees have not yet set the tuition increment for next year) and sponsored research. Sponsored research funds are fully restricted to the research project for which they were granted. For budgeting purposes we project income from endowment will decline slightly and gifts for current operations will remain flat in the coming year.

In the 2003-04 budget, Dartmouth will see expenses grow in several areas: faculty and staff salaries, fringe benefits, financial aid, taxes, and utilities costs. Because we expect these expenses to outpace the growth in revenue we have reorganized operations in some areas and reduced expenditures in all of the College's activities. In August, President Wright announced reduction targets for each area of the College amounting to $5.7 million out of a budget of approximately $300 million. In addition, the Arts and Sciences, the Provost, and the President reallocated just over $2 million in restricted funds to protect key priorities.

Arts and Sciences (target: $1.09 million from operating budget and $525,000 from restricted funds)

The Dean of the Faculty will not eliminate any tenure-track faculty positions and, indeed, has authorized five new positions as a result of prior fundraising. No academic programs will be cut, but academic departments will reduce their non-compensation budgets by 5 percent. The Dean of Faculty, in consultation with department chairs, will reduce the total number of courses by approximately 20, or less than 2 percent of the 1,500 courses offered. (The Dean will add a few courses to meet the Interdisciplinary requirement.) In addition, the Dean of Faculty Office used its own and departmental restricted funds to reduce net expenses.

Provost Division (target: $1.6 million from operating budget and $350,000 from restricted funds)

Library: The library system will undergo a reorganization of its satellite operations. Sanborn will remain open as a reading room and the tradition of afternoon tea will continue. Sherman Art Library will also remain open, but the reserve books will be transferred to the Baker-Berry reserve room. The Cook Mathematics Library will close and its collection will be absorbed into Baker-Berry as the Department of Mathematics prepares to move to Kemeny Hall. The Rare Books collection within Rauner Special Collections Library will be reorganized. The President and Provost have provided $250,000 from their budgets to ensure that there will be no reductions to the collections budget.

Computing Services: Under the guidance of the director, Computing Services will undertake an internal review to take fuller advantage of technological advances and to be ever more responsive to changing academic and administrative needs. Interim Associate Provost for Research Roger Sloboda will chair a committee to review Research Computing, which may expand into a cost center where heavy users will purchase services through grant and professional development support. Although we expect that Curricular and Academic Computing Services will see little change, Administrative Computing is likely to reduce some services and to slow the implementation of new administrative systems. Upgrades in the network system and increased security needs could result in some reorganization within Technical Services.

Admissions and Financial Aid, Hood Museum, Hopkins Center, Tucker Foundation, the Provost�s Office, and other offices within the Provost Area: There will be no reductions to financial aid or the admissions program budget. The Hop and the Hood have protected those programs and services offered to faculty and students. Tucker will reduce its subsidy of programs. To meet their target reductions, offices will reduce their net administrative costs including travel and entertainment and professional development funds and will leave some open positions unfilled.

Dean of the College (target $885,000 from operating budget)

The Dean of the College will leave some positions unfilled and will reduce administrative expenses and student programming budgets including those in the Offices of Student Life and Residential Life. The Office of Residential Life will adjust maintenance schedules on facilities. Dining Services is evaluating cost-saving measures in its satellite operations and expects to increase sales in all areas. Athletics and Recreation will rely on new gift support for the swimming and diving program. Outdoor Programs will rely more heavily on gifts, endowment, and external revenues to support recreational opportunities. Morton Horse Farm and the Hanover Country Club will increase non-student fees by a modest amount.

President�s Area (target: $188,000 from operating budget and $1.3 million from restricted funds) and All Other Administrative Divisions (target $1.9 million from operating budgets)

Administrative areas, including Alumni Relations, Development, Public Affairs, and the Vice Presidency for Finance, will reduce net operating expenses by eliminating some unfilled positions, reorganizing office functions, renegotiating outside contracts, and reducing non-compensation budgets such as travel and entertainment. The College will delay some renovations to facilities while being careful not to create future problems with deferred maintenance. Facilities Operations will institute energy saving measures. The President transferred $1.3 million of restricted funds to the Dean of the Faculty and the Dean of the College to protect key priorities.

Reduction of Positions
Dartmouth is heavily dependent upon people and compensation makes up a significant portion of our budget, but we hope to avoid having to lay off any employees. Many areas met their target allocations through the elimination of vacant positions and restructuring. Several employees agreed to take positions elsewhere in the institution. We have currently recovered approximately 50 positions through this process. We will continue to review all new and replacement hires and to assess other reorganization plans as we seek to recover still more positions to bring the budget into balance.

Saturday, January 25, 2003

Boucher breaks wins record as Dartmouth beats RPI

Correction: Dartmouth's road win over Vermont occured on January 4th, thus this is their 2nd win of 2003, not their first.

Dartmouth's offense returned in force tonight, tallying seven goals including five in the decisive 3rd period as they cruised to a 7-3 win over RPI at Thompson Arena. Netminder Nick Boucher broke the record for career wins by a Dartmouth goaltender tonight, earning his 41st victory between the pipes. The previous holder was current Head Coach Bob Gaudet.

Dartmouth was led by Hugh Jessiman tonight, as he had his 2nd hat trick of the year and added two assists for a 5-point night. Kent Gillings added 2 goals and an assist, Lee Stempniak had a goal and a helper, and Jarrett Sampson added four assists to help the cause. Pete Summerfelt also added two assists as he chases the team record for most assists by a defenseman. Boucher made 22 saves on 25 shots.

Special teams played a big part for both teams, as a combined 5 power play goals were scored. Dartmouth went 2 for 5 with the man advantage, while RPI got all of its goals on the PP, going 3 for 6 on the night.

Dartmouth (10-8-1, 6-6-0) broke several streaks with the win. They snapped a 5 game winless streak, broke a four game ECAC losing streak, and ended a two game home losing streak. This was also their first win in 2003. The team heads out on a four game road trip starting next weekend, with games at Princeton and Yale this coming weekend followed by a trip to Cornell and Colgate the following weekend. The road has not been kind to Dartmouth this year, as they have only managed a 1-6-0 record in road games thus far, with the sole win coming at Vermont.

In other Dartmouth action today, the women's hockey team, ranked #4 in the country, beat UConn 8-1 in afternoon action at Thompson. Carly Haggard netted four goals to lead the team. Dartmouth (13-5-0) plays UConn again tomorrow afternoon at 2 PM, and host Yale and Princeton next weekend. The Yale game starts at 7 PM on Friday night, while the Princeton game takes place at 4 PM Saturday afternoon.

Also, the men's basketball team lost a heartbreaker, losing 84-83 to Albany in triple overtime on the road. Charles Harris scored a career-high 32 points in the loss.

RPI @ Dartmouth box score
(Women's) UConn @ Dartmouth Box Score

Dartmouth falls again at Thompson

Dartmouth had won 10 straight at Thompson Arena dating back to last year's playoffs heading into last weekend's game against travel partner Vermont. They've now lost 2 in a row, falling to Union College 2-0 tonight in a game which was the exact opposite of everything Dartmouth fans have come to expect to see this year, namely a high powered offense with little defense.

Dartmouth netminder Nick Boucher turned in perhaps his strongest outing of the year stopping 30 of 32 shots, but the offense failed to give him any goal support. Again like last week, Dartmouth had some chances from the low slot in the third and were robbed by the opposing goalie. Dartmouth was also hurt by a plethora of penalties in the 1st period. Though they survived the period only trailing by a goal, and killed off 1:45 of a 5v3 in the process, it visibly sapped their energy and they were running on fumes by the end of the game.

The officiating tonight was mediocre at best. The linesmen had a very poor night, one of the only times in memory where the linesmen got booed more than the referee. And the ref, while not calling a bad game per se, called one that definitely favored Union. After Union went up 1-0, they went into a clutch-and-grab neutral zone trap, and the ref was letting most of the stuff away from the puck go without a call.

Dartmouth (9-8-1, 5-6-0) has now lost 4 straight ECAC games and are winless since the turn of the calendar at 0-4-1. They return to action tomorrow night against RPI at 7 PM before starting a 4-game road trip next weekend.

Union@Dartmouth box score

Friday, January 24, 2003

Robeson

Reader Troy Blanchard sends in a link to this article, though Dartlog in no way vouches for its central premise:
Did the CIA Poison Paul Robeson?

Paul Robeson, the black actor, singer, and political radical, may have been a victim of CIA chemist Sidney Gottlieb's MK-ULTRA program... In the spring of 1961, Robeson planned to visit Havana, Cuba to meet with Fidel Castro and Che Guevara. The trip never came off because Robeson fell ill in Moscow, where he had gone to give several lectures and concerts. At the time, it was reported that Robeson had suffered a heart attack. But in fact Robeson had slashed his wrists in a suicide attempt after suffering hallucinations and severe depression. The symptoms came on following a surprise party thrown for him at his Moscow hotel.
...
Robeson never recovered from the drugging and the follow-up treatments from CIA-linked doctors and shrinks. He died in 1977. Robeson, Jr. has been pushing the U.S. to release classified documents regarding his father. He has already unearthed some damning stuff, including an FBI "status of health" report on Robeson created in April of 1961. "The fact that such a file was opened at all is sinister in itself," Robeson recently told the London Sunday Times. "It indicates a degree of prior knowledge that something was about to happen to him."

Of course, Dartlog stands behind the conclusion a reader might draw: that Paul Robeson, Jr., is a nut-job.

Don't have much time for a full Fisking, but aside from his comparisons of Bush's actions to the Confederacy, Stalin and Hitler (Bush is just soooooo inconsistent, one day he's a fascist the next he's a communist...so frustrating), Robeson made this suggestion,

"He highlighted the need for economic justice in the United States, and instead of reparations to the black community, Robeson suggested spending "hundreds of billions of dollars" elevating the income of every American who made less than the median income."

We sort of tried this, it was called welfare. It didn't work. Beyond that, doesn't raising everyone to the median just move the median higher (remember though that the median is not the mean)?


Also, glad to see that he rules out a civil war to fix our problems. At least he's not being TOO crazy.

Emmett...

Truth. Also, I'd be obliged if some could explain to me what on earth this means:

"Paul Robeson, Jr., son of civil rights renaissance man Paul Robeson, delivered a deliberate but passionate speech..."

Deliberate but passionate? Aren't all speeches deliberate? Am I to believe this is odd because it is both deliberate AND passionate?

Paul Robeson, Jr. Is a Fucking Idiot

Pardon my language, but it had to be said.

Ambassador Young

In an op-ed in today's Daily Dartmouth, Kabir Seghal '05 writes, "Ambassador Young has spent more than 35 years in public service. President Jimmy Carter appointed Andrew Young as the United States Ambassador to the U.N. He was forced to resign in 1979 after it became known that he had met with a member of the PLO. Today America negotiates with both Israelis and Palestinians. Mr. Young was 20 years ahead of us."

Wait, wait... So by cavorting with the PLO when they made no pretense to hide their bloodthirsty aims (rather than now, when they do), he is ahead of his time? Let's not forget that he was under strict orders not to contact the PLO. When it became public, he lied about the contact, and for this, was fired by Secretary of State Cyrus Vance.

You know, I guess he was ahead of his time. He was fooled by Arafat long before most other liberals were.

Better Dead Than Red

Well your dad was a commie.

Thursday, January 23, 2003

Also...

Let's not forget, these academic departments might be funding field trips for political rallies -- at a time of budget cuts!

College Funds

I think this was noted earlier (although it could have been in a personal email), but wouldn't the use of such funds contravene the College's non-profit status? Any lawyers out there know?

More on MAJOR Story

Here's the email I sent to the chair of the Department of Spanish and Portuguese. I sent similar emails to Dean Larimore and the chair of the Sociology Department. Feel free to send emails yourself. Their email addresses are:

Dean Jim Larimore: jim.larimore@dartmouth.edu
Marsha Swislocki, Chair, Department of Spanish and Portuguese: marsha.swislocki@dartmouth.edu
John L. Campbell, Chair, Sociology Department: john.l.campbell@dartmouth.edu

###

Dear Professor Swislocki,

My name is Emmett M. Hogan, and I am a 2001 graduate from Dartmouth. I recently read two pieces in The Daily Dartmouth that troubled me greatly. They are:

"Responsible Government," by Andrew Biteen '04 - January 23, 2003
http://www.thedartmouth.com/article.php?aid=200301230201

"Students to Attend D.C. Protest," by Kaitlin Bell - January 16, 2003
http://www.thedartmouth.com/article.php?aid=200301160104&is_date=2003-01-16

These pieces state that the Department of Spanish and Portuguese provided funds to students to cover the costs of a trip to DC. The purpose of the trip was to protest the Administration's policy towards Iraq.

I am writing this letter because, as a concerned alum, I fear this action -- if true -- amounts to an unconscionable misuse of College funds. Please let me know if these accounts are true, and if money from your department -- at a prestigious liberal arts institution -- has been used for political ends.

Sincerely yours,

Emmett M. Hogan '01
Day Number: 215-717-3473
Evening Number: 215-546-4655
There is an excellent article here on the rise of Conservative campus papers. The Review is, of course, mentioned in passing. I also post this because the author, Bolek Kabala, was one of my classmates at Groton.

MAJOR Story: The College Is Funding Political Causes

Andrew Biteen '04 has an excellent article in today's Daily Dartmouth in which he condemns College funds being used for political activities. He cites Student Assembly cosponsorship of John Kerry's speech last week and the use of COSO funds, Department of Spanish and Portuguese funds, Sociology Department funds, and possibly Dean's Office funds for this activity. His source (which I wish I had caught myself) is a January 16, 2003 article in The Daily Dartmouth.

Student organizations should be allowed to spend the money they receive as student organizations on political activities as long as it is generally pursuant the organization's mission. To ban organizations from using funds to these ends is to ban them from engaging their missions in any real sense. So Student Assembly funds going to a speech by John Kerry isn't troubling.

(In fact, I pretty much think that the Student Assembly should be allowed to spend its money however it decides, short of contributions to a candidate's campaign. After all, the mission of the SA is generally what it's members decide it to be. We've had SAs in the past that have decided to become very political indeed. This is separate, note well, from the question of what the Student Assembly should spend its money on. The SA funding a rally against abortion, for example, should be allowed, but should not happen.)

Indeed, if such restrictions were held, Aquinas House would be prohibited from using College funds to buy candles for Mass. The College Republicans and the Young Democrats would basically have to cease on campus. Naturally, such stringent boundaries on what you can advocate and how you can advocate it would constitute an intolerable restriction on expression, and would seriously damage the health of "the free marketplace of ideas" at Dartmouth. (Granted, it's hurting already.)

However, academic department funds -- and Dean's Office funds -- should not be used to further any specific political cause. This is nothing short of an outrage. Neither the Dean's Office nor any academic department can justify in any way funding a trip to DC to protest the war. Imagine if the shoe were on the other foot: the Dean's Office funded a protest outside the Planned Parenthood in Lebanon; the French Department took out an ad in The Valley News defending Second Amendment rights; the Mathematics Department bought 500 copies of Daniel J. Flynn's Why the Left Hates America. The walls would fall, and everyone would instantly see how outrageous that would be.

This is a story, a big one, and needs to be commented on. If it's true, Dean Larimore, Spanish Dept. Chair Marsha Swislocki, and Sociology Dept. Chair John L. Campbell must answer.

Monday, January 20, 2003

AISES at Dartmouth

While sending something to Greenprint, I stumbled accross the constitution for the AMERICAN INDIAN SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING SOCIETY AT DARTMOUTH.

How many people can possibly be in this group?

Happy Milk Day

Reader Philip Mone '02 sends in his ruminations on the day:
No work for me today. Time to reflect.

"I didn't get into law school because of the color of my skin. I repeat: I didn't get in to law school because of the color of my skin."

Is there anything more inherently racist than the University of Michigan Law School rejecting more qualified students because of their skin color? Where's the equal opportunity in that? Isn't that unequal opportunity?

Admission to law school should be based on merit and merit alone. As it now stands, University of Michigan Law places Skin Color alongside GPA and LSAT
scores as elements of "merit."

Skin Color.

Hmmmm, our constitution actually specifically states that that's illegal.

Someone, please present the other side of the case. Am I missing something? Right now it seems EXTREMELY hypocritical, especially on this day of recognizing civil rights, for anyone who has ever felt they were discriminated against because of the color of their skin, to be arguing FOR the continuation of raced based admissions at University of Michigan Law. Ask yourself: what would Martin Luther King, Jr., say on this issue.

Well in a sense, in his famous speech, he did ring in on the broader issue.

"I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: "We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal."

"I have a dream that my four children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character."

That dream is not being realized, at least not at the University of Michigan Law School, because Dr. King's children, if they were to apply today, WOULD be judged by the color of their skin.

One final thought: there is no such thing as "reverse discrimination." It's just discrimination, plain and simple; all that changes is who wins and who loses.

Sunday, January 19, 2003

Dartmouth falls to UVM 6-4

Dartmouth lost their first game of the year at Thompson Arena, falling to UVM 6-4 in a game which looked to be an easy win for the first 38 minutes. Jessiman, Stempniak, and Overlock gave Dartmouth a 3-0 lead, when the meltdown began. UVM scored twice in the final two minutes of the second, and got three more in the first three minutes of the third to turn a 3-0 deficit into a 5-3 lead in less than five minutes. Dartmouth got one back to make it 5-4, and had a two-man advantage for a full 2:00 when two Catamounts were sent off at the same time, one for roughing and the other for hooking. Dartmouth had several chances from point blank range, but UVM's goaltender made some spectacular saves to keep UVM in the lead. UVM added an empty netter to make the final 6-4.

Dartmouth (9-7-1, 5-5-0) stays home next weekend to take on Union College on Friday and RPI on Saturday at Thompson Arena before starting a 4 game road trip.

Despite having beaten Cornell and Boston College and tying New Hampshire, Dartmouth's chances of an at-large bid to the NCAA tournament have taken a huge blow the past two weeks by losing to Clarkson, St. Lawrence, and Vermont and giving up 20 goals in the process. Dartmouth now needs to fight to finish 4th or better in the ECAC to get the first round bye in the Conference Playoffs and hope to win the automatic berth in Albany.

Vermont-Dartmouth Box Score
Game Recap

Thursday, January 16, 2003

Go meet Jason

He's a neo man. I mean a new man.

>Date: 16 Jan 2003 22:56:38 EST
>From: Joshua J. Valdez
>Subject: Interested?
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

Are you a poet?
Do you enjoy spoken word?
Interested in performing your pieces?
Then blitz "Joshua Valdez" by Tuesday January 21st.


A G A I N S T - T H E - T I D E
envisioning.peace.&.justice.in.times.of.hatred

[#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#]
((*
*))
((* !!! MLK ~ SPOKEN WORD !!!
*))
((*
*)) 8pm - 10pm ~ FRIDAY jan 24 ~ TOP OF THE HOP
((*
*))
((* Guest Poet: JASON CARNEY!!! (See bottom for bio)
*))
((*
*)) Student Performances & Student Theater Presentations
((*
*))
((* Music provided by DJ KHAOS
*))
((*
*)) !!!FREE & OPEN to ALL STUDENTS!!!
((*
*))
((* Blitz "Joshua Valdez" with any questions.
*))
((*
[#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#][#]

_____________________________________________________
Jason Carney is a former skinhead who now uses poetry to continue to reform himself and heal others.

As a young man, Jason was sent to a juvenile detention center after several violent incidents involving gay bashing and racial intolerance. While in the detention center, Jason was roomed with a young gay male who was HIV positive. A friendship formed from what could have been a volatile situation. The experience changed the way Jason saw people that were different from him. After Jason was released, he tried to look up his new friend only to find that he had lost his battle with the disease.

Jason has made it his life work to heal and help eliminate intolerance.

a la University of Wisconsin?

Prof. Darryl Caterine used to be in this photo. He was apparently airbrushed out.

DartLog discussion of his "un-invitation":

DartLog comment 1
DartLog comment 2
DartLog comment 3
DartLog comment 4

And from an issue of the Review from last spring, "At the Twilight's Last Gleaming: Reflections on Academic Culture at Dartmouth" by Prof. Darryl Caterine

Stinson retiring; Students to be involved in replacement process

>Date: 16 Jan 2003 17:44:01 EST
>From: Sandra W. Curtis
>Subject: Upcoming interviews
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)
>Return-receipt-to: Sandra W. Curtis

Dear Religion majors -

Professor Ronald M. Green, Chair, Department of Religion, asked me to send a note to you inviting your involvement in the department's current search for a tenure-track faculty position. As of this date, the department has 7 short-listed candidates each of whom either have been or will be invited to visit the campus for an interview and presentation.

Below* I append a note from Professor Green that is addressed to you, our Religion majors:

****

Majors,

This term,. the Religion Department will be interviewing seven candidates for a position in the history of the Christian traditions. This new appointment is to replace Prof. Stinson, who is retiring. This hiring decision is of great importance for the future of the Department.

I am writing to ask you to commit to attending the presentations by as many of these candidiates as you are able. Presentations are scheduled for 105 Thornton at 4:00 PM on the day of the candidate's visit (see below for a listing of the confirmed dates and the candidates' names; other dates will be forwarded to you as soon as they are determined).

We have asked each candidate to offer a lecture in a course like Religion 15, Introduction to the Christian Tradition (for a description of the course, see http://www.dartmouth.edu/~reg/courses/rel.html). It can be any lecture in that course, although the candidate is asked to make clear why s/he has chosen that lecture and how it relates to the themes and approaches of the course as a whole. Since this will be a lecture to and for students, your presence is especially important. At the close of the lecture, we will ask the candidiate to step out of this teaching role and reflect, with us, on what s/he has tried to accomplish for the students in the lecture.

Once the whole series of lectures is over, I would very much appreciate receiving from you a brief evauation of each candidate from your perspective. A few lines or a paragraph for each candidiate will do.

Would you please let Sandra Curtis, Department Administrator for Religion, know via blitz whether you can make a good number of these presentations?

Thanks so much for your help to build the future of the study of religion at Dartmouth.

Ronald M. Green, Chair

**Here, below, is a list of five of the seven candidates who have been contacted and, to date, accepted our invitation for a campus interview. We are in the process of contacting, receiving confirmation from, and scheduling the additional two candidates; when the remaining three dates are finalized, we will forward the information to you for your further consideration. Here is the list to date:

Christine Shephardson, Tuesday, January 21.
Stephen Shoemaker, Monday, January 27.
Charlotte Radler, Tuesday, February 4.
Clarence Hardy, Thursday, February 6.
Kent McConnell, TBA.
____________

Grossman knows vibrators

Emmett: Andrew posted on the Cornell vibrator issue, complete with a humorous photo, on October 31, 2002. I thought the Review went on to do a Week piece or article, but I couldn't find one online.

Left Coast Lunacy

The Oakland, CA School Board held a "teach-in" on the impending war with Iraq, reports Fox News. The event seems to have been mandatory, as some parents criticized that it "[took] away from the curriculum." School Board Member Dan Siegal asked suggestively: "What is the role of oil in this dispute?" Also, they featured a presentation on Palestinian refugees and brought in a pro-Palestinian speaker. What this has to do with a war against Iraq is anyone's guess.

One Oakland High senior noted that no one said anything in support of war. In his defense, Siegal noted that they could not find anyone in support of the war to present the other side, although they had invited President Bush and SoS Colin Powell. (They should have invited me.)

Now, normally I would get in a huff about this. But frankly, I'd expect nothing less from Oakland. Just living there is indoctrination.

UPDATE Here's an update from The Oakland Tribune that has a bit more candor. Here's the first sentence:

Schools held 1960s-style teach-ins Tuesday against President Bush's possible war in Iraq, encouraging students to remember Martin Luther King Jr.'s message of nonviolence on his birthday today and urging them to march against war.

I just don't know where to begin with what's wrong with this. But it goes on:

Groups scheduled to speak included Veterans for Peace, the Black Radical Congress and the Middle East Children's Alliance.


Indeed! Further:

Still, the teach-ins were about education, not anti-war rhetoric, Siegel said. "Our teachers and our students here in Oakland are too smart to be victims of propaganda," he said.


If Propaganda Minister Siegal says so, then it must be true!

And here we have white, limosine liberal guilt in action:

"It's Dr. King's birthday. Dr. King didn't die so we can take a three-day weekend and go skiing," Hodge said.

Dartmouth forges tie with #5 UNH

In front of a sold-out crowd of 10,104 mostly hostile fans, Dartmouth forged a 1-1 tie with #5 New Hampshire at the Verizon Wireless Arena in Manchester, NH. Perhaps 1,000 fans made the trek from Hanover, and they were rewarded with an outstanding effort by sophomore netminder Dan Yacey, who stopped 34 of 35 Wildcat shots while making his first start of the season. Dartmouth's lone goal was scored by sophomore Nathan Szymanski, the first of his career. Both teams had numerous chances late in the third and in OT, but both goalies made spectacular saves to keep the game knotted at 1.

Dartmouth (9-6-1, 5-4-0) finished its non-conference schedule with a 4-2-1 record. They return to action Saturday at Thompson Arena against Vermont. The game will likely sell-out, so students are encouraged to arrive before the first puck dropped to avoid having people with standing room only tickets confiscate the student sections as their own.

UNH-Dartmouth box score

Why War

Andrew, according to Rollo, Why War has been recognized by COSO, so they are an official student organization. Why they are under the "05" department is anyone's guess. As I understand it, they sailed through, as did the Dartmouth Israeli Public Awareness group, and some East European group (ask Rollo for the details; he attended). The Southern Society, however, remains unrecognized, but I expect them to go before COSO later this term.

Wednesday, January 15, 2003

The Race Is Not Always to the Swift...

...but sometimes it is.

Though I was terribly excited (is that the word to use?) about "discovering" the below story on vibrators at Cornell, it seems the ineffable Ryan Samuels beat me handily to the story on Dartmouth Observer. By more than three months, to be exact -- on November 4, 2002.

This is New York Times-ish sluggishness. Shape up, Emmett.

PS

I intentionally left off a picture from that last blog. There's an appropriate time for showing off html skills, and a story like that is just not it.

From the "In Case You Missed It" Department

According to a story last October in the Cornell Daily Sun, Cornell University -- "the other Ivy League school" -- is apparently considering having Health Services distribute vibrators to women on campus.

Merits aside, this article is also a fine example of impartial collegiate reporting. One student, described as "less encouraging" about the proposal, commented: "Are they going to start selling Hustler too? ... It's not a necessity. If people really want one, they can go online." This student is certainly more understanding of womyn's issues than I am -- I simply let out one big "WTF" ...

More hilarity: Sarah Jacobs, a student at Cornell and a particularly ardent defender of womyn at Cornell, commented, "I think one of the most important things is for women to be able to get themselves off."

Indeed, Sarah. Indeed.

Re: Trip to Washington

A DND search for "why war" turns up this:
Name : Why War
Nicknames : whywar
Department : 05
Hinman : HB 6154
Phone : 646-7808
Email : Why.War@dartmouth.edu
URL :

In other words, according to the DND, there is a student named "Why War" in the class of 2005. This seems a bit suspicious. Is "Why War" an officially recognized student group? Is it some other college activity? Is it a student?

The account seems to exist in violation of College policies, suggesting that it may have been created informally, perhaps by an employee of Computing Services. Someone ought to look into this.

...Is Made Part of Them 'Till Death

Want to show your school spirit? Want to show it forever and ever? A company in Georgia called Collegiate Memorials is now creating coffins personalized with your alma mater's insignia. This picture, of a Duke casket, is just one of dozens on offer. (There's nothing for Dartmouth, but they probably wouldn't offer an "Indian" anyway, so what's the point...)

Apparently, the schools collect royalty fees of 8.5 percent to 10 percent for each casket, "in addition to annual licensing fees." Annual licensing fees, from now until the end of time -- that's a cash cow!

Monday, January 13, 2003

Re: Open Letter to Pres. Wright

Reader Stan Horowitz writes this in response:
That�s a really great letter.

It confirms what I�ve been saying. The cause of the budget crisis is not that the College has less money, it�s that they�ve chosen to spend it elsewhere.

Prof. Alverson has shown that increased spending on non-instructional salaries has sapped the ability to spend on anything else. Now we need to find out just what activities the increased non-instructional salaries support. Keep peeling back the onion and we�ll know what the administration�s priorities really are.

Are you as surprised as I am that instructional salaries are less than half of non-instructional salaries, down from 57% in only three years?

Stan Horowitz

Sunday, January 12, 2003

College wants cake...

... and to eat it too!

Valley News article about budget problems. The College seems to fear "targeted" giving...

Saturday, January 11, 2003

Dartmouth hockey road woes continue

Dartmouth lost a pair of road games this weekend. The Green has never had much success on the North Country trip, and this year was no exception.They lost to Clarkson on Friday by a 7-5 score. Dartmouth allowed the 7 goals on only 21 shots. Saturday night Dartmouth led 3-1 after 20 minutes of play, but proceeded to give up 6 unanswered goals in the final two periods to lose to St. Lawrence 7-3.

Dartmouth is now 9-6-0 (5-4-0) on the year, with an abysmal 1-6 record away from Thompson Arena. Dartmouth travels 60 miles down I-89 to face UNH at the Verizon Wireless Arena in Manchester on Wed. the 15th of January in front of a sold out crowd of 11,000 people. They'll return home on Saturday when they faceoff against Vermont. That game will likely be sold-out as well, with only SRO tickets left.

Kerry Visit

John Kerry spoke at the Rockefeller Center last night. Below are some general impressions, followed by running notes from his speech and the Q&A session that followed.


Kerry was very comfortable talking the envrionment and civil rights to Ivy League liberals. These are not issues I'd imagine he'd emphasize so much in a different forum. In national TV and small-town appearances alike, he won't be able to pull out historical examples and be quite so esoteric and thorough about how debates have proceeded in Washington on different issues. It will be interesting to see him cut the fluff when he's forced to be more succinct--i.e. when Tim Russert and Chris Matthews get a hold of him or when there's a moderator.


Large American flag backdrop, first floor Rocky lounge

Supposed to start at 7:30
Starts a little after 8:00, but Kerry apologizes profusely

Wishes to offer "an alternative to Bush's foreign policy"--first major crowd applause

Remarked that based on the numbers in attendance, "Either many of you want to change the world, or it says something about social life in Hanover"

Perhaps hasn't been to Dartmouth since getting his "rear end kicked around" on the soccer and lacrosse fields

He serves along with another Rockefeller, Jay. At one point, they were #s 99 and 100 in seniority, but enjoyed sitting in Harry Truman's old spot.

JFK and RFK assassination memories

George Bernard Shaw "why not" quote...--->environmental movement, women's movement, peace movement, EPA, Clean Air and Water Acts

Universal health coverage--why not

Global warming: become energy independent in our generation--why not

Attended major summits: 1990 Rio, Buenos Aires, Kyoto, The Hague (only U.S. Senator)

Environmental efficiency important for national security

President Bush actually made a good point in one of his debates with Gore. Scoffs, "He was at Yale at a different time." Bush said we should proceed with humility, not unilaterally.

AIDS in Africa--$1.2 billion secured along with Sen. Frist

Proliferation

We can make the nation more secure "by making some friends on this planet."

A call to "go to the moon right here on Earth," referring to alternative energy sources

By 2020, wants 20% of America's electricity to come from renewables

When aircraft carriers were needed during the Cold War--when the leadership saw a defined threat--it led to the development of Boeing and other companies, dreating jobs
We can do the same with environmental development

"Go to Madagascar--see the forest clearing. Go places here." (I'll be on the next flight out)

Wants to make the environment a "voting issue"

Energy awareness that began in 1979 under Carter was forgot under Reagan and Bush. (What about Clinton?)

"Fundamental fairness is what this country is built on."

Worker-CEO salary ratio was 12:1 15 years ago; now 531:1
Called this a "breach of faith in fundamental fairness"
But "not saying this as a matter of class warfare."
This is a matter of"economic common sense, fairness, trust."

"The Greatest Generation gave us 50 years of peace and prosperity. It's on the bestseller list."
What about our generation?
Will we be remembered as unwilling to do something other than for ourselves?"

"Citizen soldiership"
David McCullock's "John Adams"
Iwo Jima survivor went to mother of one who fell raising the flag
We must engage in commitment here

RFK's quote that" we measure everything except those things that make life worth living." Among thins not measured: education of children, strength of marriages


Q&A

North Korea a "trumped up" crisis
Engagement all of a sudden
Candidates in Germany and South Korea ran against U.S. policy

University of Michigan affirmative action
"The U.S. should intervene to keep the program"
Not for quotas, putting unqualified people in positions
Make universities look like America (He didn't say what to do with high-achieving Jews in this meritocracy)
Touts his work in the Middlesex, MA prosecutor's office

Same-sex marriage and sodomy ban in Nevada
Favors unions, partnerships
Marriage the oldest institution, for procreation--historical and religious reservations
Knows that he served with gays in the military. Favors that with the exception of certain special forces for "unit cohesion" reasons.

I mentioned that he served two years as Lieutenant Governor of MA two decades ago. Now that last four Governors of MA have been Republicsn (two elected). How could this happen in a state like MA?
"Because I left"
"An aberration for our state"
Other cases where you can't anticipate how politics will pan out
"Ralph Nader helped elect the president we have today."
Only has one issue difference with the Green platform--approach to trade
Nader's contention that no difference between Republicans and Dems silly because of Supreme Court appointments and its potential of reversing Roe v. Wade, "the great Civil Rights challenge" of the day
(In other words, no regret that popular Senators like Ted Kennedy and he could not fill the Governor's seat with a Dem. Dems should not take this lightly; such failure is why Daschle isn't running.)

Public school education is separate and unequal
Over-reliance on property taxes
90% in public schools. Vouchers not fast enough--schools, facilities.

RE: diplomacy in the Middle East and potential diplomacy partners: "Not Arafat"

Egypt--Mubarak now responsive to homeland security. Sees it's in his interest now
25 years ago, Egypt was the same as South Korea economically
Now South Korea is the #11 economic power and Egypt is where it was

Kerry is "a gun owner and a hunter who votes common sense"
"You don't need an AK-47 to shoot a deer"

RE: MA as a liberal home-state handicap: Cites Daniel Webster on the Senate floor debating the Missouri Compromise in 1859--"I come to this floor not as a man from MA, but as an American."

On immigrants: "Immigrants built this nation every step of the way."
Needed to contribute to what this country's going to be in the future
"We've got people in jail whose names we don't know." (Who's fault is that?)

On Iraq, wants "the UN to hold Saddam accountable"

We shouldn't lag behind Japan and France in high-speed rail. We should have one stretching from New York to California. (Sure to work out fine, just like the Big Dig in MA)

Friday, January 10, 2003

Swimmers = winners

The same day they learn they're stickin' around for a while, both the men's and women's swimming teams beat up on Middlebury.

The men broke 14 pool records, winning 188-88.

The women won 177-118.



Thursday, January 09, 2003

Affirmative Action at Michigan

Here's a very well-argued piece in today's D on Michigan's racist admissions policy.

Wednesday, January 08, 2003

Re: Victory for Dartmouth's Swimming and Diving Teams

I beg to differ, Grossman. Past SA administrations wouldn't have even thought of pulling together $2 million. That money strikes at the heart of the "we don't have the funds" argument -- no other SA administration would have had the nerve to refute the administration so directly. It's the most effective opposition campaign one could imagine.

Past SAs could not have imagined it. They'd have objected, moaned, furrowed their brows, and gone quietly into the night.

Re: Victory for Dartmouth's Swimming and Diving Teams

Emmett: This isn't exactly "an SA that doesn't roll over for the administration." The SA came to the table bearing $2 million, which I think made a bit of a difference.

All in all, a good turn of events, assuming that this new fund for the swim team doesn't just funnel money from the College's fundraising efforts.

Shameless Self-Promotion

Lastly, my own organization, the Foundation for Individual Rights in Education (FIRE), issued a press release today regarding a victory in an amazing case at Harvard Business School.

Decide for yourself if this cartoon warrants a meeting with and threats from top administrators. It's unbelievable -- check it out.

Curse You, Talcott!

You beat me to it by minutes...

PS -- Happy birthday, go get sloshed...

Re: My Earlier Post

I said that Jimbo liked to issue "yet another ukase from on high." This picture seems to capture that, I think. He looks like he's about to read a scroll or something.

Victory for Dartmouth's Swimming and Diving Teams

This is big news! How come no one had posted on it here?

A choice selection:

President James Wright said that the plan "is a wonderful example of how the Dartmouth community can work together in a constructive effort. I commend the different groups involved � the athletes, Student Assembly, parents, and alumni/ae as well as James Larimore and JoAnn Harper and her staff, and I am pleased that we will continue to have swimming and diving at Dartmouth."


Sure, Jimbo. Sure. We may have a swim team, but it's no thanks to you, James Larimore, or anyone in your administration, who would have been perfectly happy to see us swallow yet another ukase from on high. There's more where that came from if you don't start listening to us, dammit!

More positively, it seems this victory owes a lot to the work of the Student Assembly under the fine leadership of Janos Marton. Even the SA Website is spiffier. Well, whaddayaknow! An SA that doesn't roll over for the administration. Who would have guessed...

Public Affairs press release

It's here and more information on the funding is here.

What that last post was about

From:
Pamela.S.Misener@Dartmouth.EDU
Subject: Swimming and diving


Dear Affiliated Group Officers:
The college has made a decision in reference to the swimming and diving
teams. The following letter is from Stan Colla, Vice Presidetnt of Alumni
Relations.
Thank you,
Maria



Colleagues,

I am writing to advise you that Dartmouth has reached a decision to
continue
its men's and women's swimming and diving programs as full intercollegiate
varsity sports.

In November, Josie Harper, Director of Athletics, and Jim Larimore, Dean of
the College, announced that swimming and diving would be dropped in order
for the Athletics Department to meet its required goal within the overall
Dean of the College budget cuts for next year. This was not a cut that
anyone wanted to make, but in the face of the economic realities facing the
College, Josie recommended a "vertical cut" in order to preserve and
strengthen the rest of the intercollegiate program. It was a tough
decision, but it was also one that the Dean and the President supported.

As you know, members of the swimming and diving teams, their parents, and
interested alumni/ae subsequently voiced their concerns and asked to have
the opportunity to see if they could develop a proposal that would respond
to Dartmouth's needs and allow the swimming and diving programs to
continue.
Such a proposal was developed over the holidays and accepted by the College
this week. The essence of that proposal will be described in a press
release that should be available tomorrow morning on Dartmouth's home page.
Because we are liable to see this story in some of our local newspapers
tomorrow, I wanted to share this announcement with you today.

This is a moment to celebrate the strength and responsiveness of the
Dartmouth family. Please be good enough to share this important news with
your volunteer leadership as soon as you can.

Thank you.

Stan

It's my 21st and I'm still posting?

This whole Blogger thing must be addictive.

>Date: 08 Jan 2003 17:45:35 EST
>From: Student Assembly
>Subject: SUCCESS!!
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)


Dear Fellow Students-

This is a great day for Dartmouth! Today, for the first time in recent memory, we have seen the powerful impact of unified student voice. This is a victory for every student who marched to the President's lawn, who rallied on the steps of Parkhurst, and who participated in the sit-in that filled Parkhurst to its walls, forcing the administration to confront this issue. This is a victory for everyone who blitzed in their support, who wrote to the D, who drafted letters to President Wright and administrators, and for organizations that gave their unrelenting support. And of course, this is a victory for the Swimming and Diving Teams; their passionate persistence made this new decision possible, and every member of the Dartmouth community can celebrate the return of these Varsity programs together.

When we first began working on this issue, conversations with administrators were at times disheartening. However, there were significant breakthroughs on December 9th when administrators became receptive to the ideas put forth by the swim team captains and members of the Student Assembly. Over the winter break, significant leg work was done by parents of the swim team and faithful alumni. All these efforts were validated by today's announcement.

While this process was extremely arduous for all involved, we commend the administrations ultimate decision to agree upon the preservation of the Dartmouth Swimming and Diving Programs. Handling budget cuts is never easy, and we appreciate that the administration recognized the overwhelming student consensus on this issue and responded appropriately. Hopefully this experience will set a precedent for truly open communication between students and administrators on issues of great importance, and will forever strengthen student voice within our community. We look forward to the formation of the Budget Advisory Committee, which will ensure student input in upcoming budget decisions.

There are many other issues that unite us today, and the administration's willingness to compromise in the face of a mobilized student body illustrates our ability to fight for what we know is right. Thanks again to everyone for all their help!

Sincerely,

Janos Marton '04
Student Body President

Julia Hildreth '05
Student Body Vice President

The usual uglies

Frontpage on Harvard's ROTC ban. It's worth correcting that ROTC is not banned at Dartmouth, as the article reports. While returning ROTC to Harvard would be a symbolic gesture (given that students there already participate at MIT), it's still not a bad one.

Speaking of Harvard, former NH governor Jeanne Shaheen is headed there, having accepted a fellowship at the Institute of Politics at Harvard University�s John F. Kennedy School of Government. The Union-Leader reports. Said Shaheen, "I am excited about sharing what I have learned during my years of public service with a new generation of leaders. I am looking forward to this new opportunity." Meanwhile, Shaheen's recent campaign opponent John Sununu was sworn into the Senate yesterday.

The Manila Bulletin talks with Dartmouth prof. Heinz Valtin about the "8 x 8 recommendation" (that one should drink eight eight-ounce glasses of water a day. Says Valtin, "Rigorous proof for this counsel appears to be lacking."

Thayer's Victor Petrenko has gotten a lot of press in recent years for his ice lab research. Here's the latest in The New Scientist on de-icing power lines.

E4 Engineering reports on research by Dartmouth profs Arjun Heimsath and Hany Farid on mapping land using photographic data. The extremely detailed topographical maps that they've created can be used to model landslides and erosion.

Sunday, January 05, 2003

A History Lesson

Here's a neat little piece from National Review, featuring Dartmouth's own Daniel Webster.

Friday, January 03, 2003

Kang on North Korea

Government prof. David Kang comments in the Financial Times:
George W. Bush's administration is right to ease the pressure on the North Korean regime, since the events of the past month have threatened to spiral out of control. But the US still lacks a long-range strategy to resolve the peninsula's tensions.

Women's hockey

After an exhilarating win over Ohio State last night, they play Findlay (?) tonight, again at Thompson at 7:00 p.m.

Thursday, January 02, 2003

Winter Sports Update

It was a good holiday season for Dartmouth Sports.

The Men's basketball team won its first holiday tournament since the 91-92 season, as they won the Poinsettia Holiday Classic by defeating Stetson 86-74 and then host Furman 63-59. Dartmouth is now 4-5 on the year. They start Ivy League competition @ Harvard on Saturday.

The Men's hockey team won the Auld Lang Syne Classic for the first time. They defeated Notre Dame 6-4 before routing UMass-Lowell 10-2 in the title game at Thompson Arena. Dartmouth is now 8-4-0 (4-2-0) on the year. The team will try for its first road win of the season as it returns to ECAC play Saturday against UVM in Burlington.

Re: Freedom of Association

As Emmett posted below, UNC backed down and the InterVarsity Christian Fellowship will remain an official student group. Chancellor James Moeser said this to the AP:
On balance, given that general membership in IVCF is open to all students, I believe that in this matter, preserving freedom of expression is the more crucial consideration. Thus I have asked our staff to allow IVCF to continue to operate as an official recognized student organization.

However, Rutgers, which got into a similar scrape with its InterVarsity Multi-Ethnic Christian Fellowship, looks to be headed to court. Attorney David French has taken up the case and is looking to set precedent:

If this does become a precedent that's favorable ... it will have, I believe, national ramifications for Christians on campuses, and it also could have constitutional ramifications beyond the campus.

Stories from UPI, the AP, and Family News (a service run by Focus on the Family, a ministry). My original post.

We're #42!

Seventeen ranks Dartmouth the 42nd "Coolest College" in their survey. Rice took the top spot.

Mount Holyoke is #18, which is odd since Seventeen's criteria included "opportunities to meet members of the opposite sex." Then again, at Mt. Holyoke everyone's potentially an opposite sex.

Update: Talc tells me we already hit this, and he's right. He also notes that Wabash -- all male -- made #76 on the list.

Re: Books or Bust

Could the Dartmouth Bookstore's current problems with the College and many departments have something to do with bookstore owner Dave Cioffi's affiliation with the Republican party? Cioffi is active in local politics and is a NH Republican party delegate and chair of the Hanover Republicans.

Whitney Foster Spaulding, owner of the Wheelock Bookstore, is said to be more progressive, politically. Is there a story here?

Notes from the Front Lines

There's an update on FIRE's efforts at UNC-Chapel Hill: they've caved, and only one day after we did our press release. They'll be recognizing the InterVarsity Christian Fellowship. We'll be doing a press release on this victory on Monday. Stay tuned.

Books or bust, part 2

Meanwhile, a cordial e-mail from Wheelock Books:

>Date: 02 Jan 2003 08:46:42 EST
>From: Wheelock.Books@valley.net (Wheelock Books)
>Subject: Winter Book Rush
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

Happy New Year!

We here at Wheelock Books are excited for winter term to get underway! We've got more books for more classes than ever before, including the texts for ALL Government and Economics courses.

We also just expanded our facility to allow for these extra books and to accomodate more students in the store, and we're psyched to have you all check out our new space.

We will be open THIS WEEKEND (January 4 and 5) from 10am - 6pm. C'mon in and beat the big lines!

During the first week of class, we'll be open from 8am until 8pm. NO ONE ever shows up at 8am, so if you want to have a lineless shopping experience and can make yourself get up early, we'd love to see you then!

AND we could really use some more help on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday from 11am - 7pm, and especially in the 4:00-7:00 slot. So if you'd like to work for Wheelock Books, just reply to this blitz or give us a call (643-6567)! First come first serve.

See you all in the next few days, and best of luck for the coming term.


-Katie Lynch '02
Whit Spaulding '89

Books or bust

The Dartmouth Bookstore was not kidding about scaling back on textbook offerings. Much is set up there already, but many departments have little or no courses provided for (including books for only one course in my beloved Religion Department). And the College and its departments are being openly blamed for not coming through with deadlines for submitting text requests to the store. To wit, a sign by the would-be French section:

"French books! Be very careful. We did not receive the textbook order from the french department. This is a sample of books from past terms. We hope you find something interesting!"
Andrew has a roaring social life.

Wireless in the Classroom

The Times has a front-page article today on in-classroom wireless Internet use. Among other schools (mostly American University), Dartmouth gets a cite.

Having taken advantage of wireless access while in classes at Dartmouth (and pining for a similar service at Penn), I think that it can be a great benefit to classroom discussion. With entire libraries of authoritative sources within reach, discussions can be better factually grounded and sources more correctly quoted. Sure, 'Net access may be another distraction for students, but those not inclined to pay attention were probably reading the New Yorker or The Economist anyway.

Moves to ban classroom laptop use or to restrict wireless access (one administrator quoted in the article suggests that, at professors' discretion, Internet access might be limited to only certain websites), ignore the value that these technologies add to the classroom experience. As a tool, laptop computers are sometimes more convenient for taking notes than a pencil and paper (especially for those of us who write illegibly) and allow easy keyword searching of previous notes and other class materials. Combined with wireless Internet access, laptops can be used to access all kinds of ancillary materials, from cited cases in law classes to government statistics in political science classes.

Using Omni Outliner, I've been able to take neat outline notes in all of my classes and then post them on the Internet -- which is easily done -- for my and others' use. Even my professors have benefitted, consulting my notes to help themselves remember what's already been covered in class.

This sort of usage -- becoming more and more common every term -- is a real benefit to the classroom and shouldn't be sacrificed just because a few professors can't bear the thought that they might not have their students' undivided attentions. Short of replacing lecture classes with seminars, there's no way of guaranteeing such a thing, anyway. Even without laptops, students still find plenty of ways to distract themselves: reading books and magazines, writing letters, sleeping, knitting (seen several times), drawing, and so on. Computers are hardly the basis of the problem.

Update: Glenn Reynolds: "Students who don't pay attention in class are likely to do badly on the exam. That's their problem, not mine."