Monday, December 29, 2003

Re: Vijay Govindarajan

Hmmm... I briefly tutored his daughter in French. He's a very nice man, with a very nice family.

Pretty valiant effort

Dartmouth men's basketball loses to Ohio State 71-58

The AP article above calls a crowd of 14,000 "sparse." Sure beats turnout in Hanover for games.

And some guy made a halfcourt shot for only $100.
In the Valley News, Vijay Govindarajan, the Earl C. Daum Professor of International Business at Tuck, on globalization:

Here

DHMC shoots for $250 million

Here

Caretakers of an abandoned past

In the Valley News:

Student leaders from Dartmouth College's Jewish student organization are waiting to hear whether they'll receive funding to enable them to return to Eastern Europe to restore a Jewish cemetery left decaying after World War II.

Sunday, December 28, 2003

#14 Dartmouth defeats Mavericks 8-5

Update: With Vermont tying Umass tonight, Dartmouth is the official winner of the Bank North Classic. Both Vermont and Dartmouth had 1-0-1 records, but Dartmouth's goal differential gave them the title via tiebreaker. Hugh Jessiman and Brian Van Abel were named to the all-tourny team.

#14 Dartmouth beat Minnesota-State Mankato 8-5, in a game that featured 4 goaltenders, 3 misconduct penalties, and plenty of goals.

Sean Samuels '07 got his first career start at Dartmouth, though he was pulled in the third after giving up his fifth goal of the game. Dan Yacey '05 finished the game. Samuels picked up the win.

Mike Ouellette '06 had two goals and an assist, while Hugh Jessiman '06 had a goal and three assists. Lee Stempniak, Mike Turner, Nate Szymanski, Max Guimond, and Jarrett Sampson each scored as well.

Dartmouth finishes its nine-game road trip with a 3-2-4 record, and improves to 5-2-5 (3-0-3) on the year. The team finally returns to the friendly confines of Thompson Arena this Friday against travel partner Vermont.

The Continuing Crisis...And How You Can Help

It's the end of the year, and you know what that means: your last chance to decide what to do with your hard-earned money.

We all know that the federal government wastes a good chunk of what we pay in taxes every year. There's no reason to expect that 2004 will be any different. Here's what's in next year's budget already: millions of dollars to install a rainforest in Iowa, hundreds of thousands for a musical theme park commemorating the life of Johnny Appleseed, tens of millions to unlock the secret of the trout genome, and billions more for thousands of similarly worthless items.

And what happens to the money that our elected officials and the bureaucrats haven't simply pocketed when no one was looking? They take a good amount of it, and they give it away to poor people. I'm not making this up. Between all of the New Deal and the Great Society programs, we're talking about billions of dollars. Maybe trillions.

After skimming off for waste, fraud, abuse, and idiocy, not to mention the $20 billion or so that the government can't account for at all, it's a wonder that there's any money left for programs of vital national importance like missile defense, interstate commerce, and ethanol subsidies.

Unfortunately, there is no such thing as a "taxpayer earmark." You can't direct the government to spend your tax money on something useful, like the NIH's research into idleness, and to keep it away from things that you don't believe in, like the Supreme Court, the postal conspiracy, and evolution "science."

And you can't just not pay taxes, even if the Sixteenth Amendment was not lawfully ratified and is therefore null and void and you have a pamphlet that proves it beyond a reasonable doubt. Trust us. We have friends who've tried this. They're in jail.

But you can still keep your money out of the government's greedy paws...to a point.

If you're not maxed out for 2003, why not make a last-minute tax-deductable donation to The Dartmouth Review?

The Dartmouth Review shares your values: it has always been vociferously anti-Communist, a fierce defender of freedom and free expression, a bulwark against change in uncertain times, and a powerful opponent of anything more than just a misting of Vermouth. The Dartmouth Review is perhaps the only voice on Dartmouth's campus today speaking in favor of virtue, morality, and privilege. As you may know, the Tucker Foundation isn't what it once was.

And neither is the College. It may shock you to learn that several faculty members on campus agreed with Democrat Howard Dean's assertion that the capture of Saddam Hussein made our great country less safe. Such sentiments are, unfortunately, prevalent on college campuses today. That's why The Dartmouth Review needs your support more than ever.

As I recall from my days doing it, running the Review is an expensive proposition, what with publishing costs, postage, rent, computers, and the ever-increasing prices of the premium Scotches. Every little bit you can spare helps to defray these expenses. Every donation counts. Especially larger ones.

Best of all, it's now easy to contribute. The paper has shrugged off the complexity of checkbooks, indelible inks, and proper postage, and now allows donations to be completed online, instantly. You can even elect to have the Review withdrawal a donation every month from your credit account automatically, if you choose to become a sponsor.

Remember, the government's just going to waste your money anyway. So if it's going to be wasted, why not let someone you trust do it?

Help The Dartmouth Review save Western civilization. Just click here.

Saturday, December 27, 2003

Dartmouth hockey @ UVM Tournament

#14 Dartmouth's record goes to a bizarre 4-2-5 (3-0-3) on the year following yet another tie, this time to the 9th-ranked Minutemen of Massachusetts.

The goals for Dartmouth were scored by Darcy Marr '06, Hugh Jessiman '06 (on a 5v3 power play), and Nathan Szymanski '05. It was Marr's first goal of the year, Jessiman's seventh, and Szymanski's third.

Dartmouth came back from a 3-1 deficit to tie the game at 3 following Jessiman's goal late in the 2nd and Szymanski's in the first few minutes of the third. The two goals came after head coach Bob Gaudet '81 said the magic words to the ref, drawing an unsportsmanlike conduct penalty. The fiery Gaudet sparked the team, however, and they managed to mount the comeback.

Dartmouth will finish their 9-game road trip when they face Minnesota State-Mankato tomorrow at 4 PM at the Gutterson Field House in Burlington, Vermont. They'll return home for the first time in two months on January 2nd, where they will face off against Vermont at Thompson Arena.

It's primary time

Government professor Linda Fowler quoted in the Anchorage Daily News

A profile of General Electric CEO Jeffrey Immelt '78

In the Financial Times:

Here

Wednesday, December 24, 2003

Holy Cross football taps former Dartmouth defensive coordinator

Tom Gilmore, the Crusaders' new head coach, helped the Indians to Ivy League championships in 1992 and 1996.

Holy Cross has been one of the few teams Dartmouth has beat perennially. They went 1-11 last season and still caught some flack for their decision for dismission to dismiss former Head Coach Dan Allen, who suffers from multiple chemical sensitivity, a rare disease that has confined him to a wheelchair.

Princeton Review Guide to Elite Colleges

A photo of Dartmouth Hall is on the cover.

Tuesday, December 23, 2003

B. Espen Eckbo, founding director of the Center for Corporate Governance at Tuck, is quoted in this Business Week article about the Safeway supermarket chain and its board of directors.

Petition recognition

Pro-Israel activism at Dartmouth recognized.

On a side note, apparently there are Israeli and U.S. flags side by side in the Roth Center, which is uncomfortable for some non-Zionist Jews. I also recall an '03 who objected to a Hillel ski trip that conflicted with the sabbath.

Monday, December 22, 2003

Dumb jocks...

we have not.

A 3.70 and a 3.48? And these were some of our best performers on the gridiron.

A Dartmouth ski bum alum

In theVail Daily:

Here

Dartmouth and wireless LANs

In Computerworld:

Here

For those of you in Hanover

Holiday schedule and office closings

Sunday, December 21, 2003

Maybe They Went to Dartmouth?

Well, it would explain their Mac ... lifestyle.

Friday, December 19, 2003

Drinking like a Dartmouth boy

Latvian man sets world record for blood alcohol level

Oh well

The Olson twins are going to NYU.

The Annals of Inanity

Date: 17 Dec 2003 22:30:21 EST
From: Amy d. Salomon 01 (make list)
Subject: Tony Bennett...
To: Amy d. Salomon 01 (Verbose [I'll say! -- Emmett])
Bcc: Emmett M. Hogan 01
------
I've been listening to his Christmas album all night while making candy cane
reindeer for my first graders and drinking too much egg nog...oy vey. This is
what happens when I leave my Harry Connick Jr. holiday album in Montreal with
my mom :) Only one crooner this year - what a shame.


Please, please, please enliven my holiday season with your updates for the
Class Notes! I would be overjoyed to hear from you. Really. And please write
SOON (I'd like to write these this weekend...)


Enjoy your holidays!


Amy

###
Why is my inbox disturbed by this sort of thing?

Thursday, December 18, 2003

U of Vermont may leave ECAC

The University of Vermont announced today that it has initiated discussions that could lead to its men's and women's hockey teams leaving the ECAC for Hockey East (HEA). No timeline for official meetings or a possible vote by current HEA members have been set.

UVM's leaving would impact Dartmouth more than anyone else, as the two schools are travel partners under the current scheduling system in the conference.

No word yet from the ECAC on what they would do if UVM does in fact jump ship, be it adding a new 12th team or trying to work with the ugly scheduling of an 11 team league. Fan speculation has the conference looking at Holy Cross, Army, Quinnipiac, UConn, and Sacred Heart as possible replacements.

There is no doubt that UVM is likely a better fit for HEA, as they are currently the only public university in the ECAC. HEA currently has UNH, Maine, and UMass along with BU, BC, Providence College, Merrimack, Northeastern, and UMass-Lowell.

Re: Not "Dr."

Many newspapers (incl. the Times) will only use the title "Dr." for newsmakers who specifically request it.

Yes, it is a good way to chart public figures' insecurity.

Anyway, I used "Mr." below to distinguish Prof. Blanchflower from his ex- (soon-to-be-ex?) wife, who may also be a Dr. or, for all I know, a professor.

Another interesting item: "Prof." ranks above "Dr." for the reason that most professors can be assumed to hold doctorates while not all those holding doctorates are professors.

Of course, another explanation may be that it's professors who decide this sort of thing.
According to the Valley News, Dresden plan reviewed: "A plan that would make a new middle school the center of a new village on Lyme Road is nearing approval from the town planning board."

Sacerdote in the Christian Science Monitor

...[D]oes living and working with other smart people really boost a student's performance? A cluster of recent studies suggest the answer is less than clear. "It's mostly been assumption up to this point," says Bruce Sacerdote, an economics professor at Dartmouth College and one of a cadre of researchers trying to quantify what, if any, effect students have on one another's academic performance. "Nobody's completely nailed the question."

Wednesday, December 17, 2003

Career Services blitz bulletin

Done at noon? Sounds like a drinkin' party

Date: 17 Dec 2003 16:03:58 -0500
From: Teresa.K.Hawko@Dartmouth.edu (Teresa K. Hawko) (make list)
Subject: Thurs noon closing
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Career Services will be closed all Thursday afternoon (after 12) for our office
holiday party.

We will reopen on Friday at 8am for your service

Happy Holidays!

A major Dartmouth luckily does not offer

American Studies

It's his last season

"We knew they were a quicker team," Dartmouth Coach Dave Faucher said. "I don't like to use the word slow, I think we're a controlled team and, overall, I thought we played very controlled."

Yeah, he called the team slow. The Indians did stick it out for a 68-65 win over Maine, starting all underclassmen, including four guards who scored in double figures.

It's Faucher's 13th and last season as head coach according to many preseason reports.

Not "Dr."

Not in editorial or features writing for the Wall Street Journal.

Re: ???

Actually, Andrew, Mr. (wouldn't it be "Dr."?) Blanchflower is best known (I know) for being a not-too-cool guy.

Tuesday, December 16, 2003

Re: ???

The case, by the way, is titled "In the Matter of David G. Blanchflower and Sian E. Blanchflower" and concerns, according to the court, "Divorce -- whether petitioner can specify adultery as fault ground for divorce when the respondent and co-respondent are of the same sex; appeal from denial of motion for interlocutory transfer."

And here is the court's opinion. The dish:
The record supports the following facts. The petitioner filed for divorce from the respondent on grounds of irreconcilable differences. He subsequently moved to amend the petition to assert the fault ground of adultery under RSA 458:7, II. Specifically, the petitioner alleged that the respondent has been involved in a "continuing adulterous affair" with the co-respondent, a woman, resulting in the irremediable breakdown of the parties� marriage. The co-respondent sought to dismiss the amended petition, contending that a homosexual relationship between two people, one of whom is married, does not constitute adultery under RSA 458:7, II. The trial court disagreed, and the co-respondent brought this appeal.

Before addressing the merits, we note this appeal is not about the status of homosexual relationships in our society or the formal recognition of homosexual unions. The narrow question before us is whether a homosexual sexual relationship between a married person and another constitutes adultery within the meaning of RSA 458:7, II.
...
The plain and ordinary meaning of adultery is "voluntary sexual intercourse between a married man and someone other than his wife or between a married woman and someone other than her husband." Webster�s Third New International Dictionary 30 (unabridged ed. 1961). Although the definition does not specifically state that the "someone" with whom one commits adultery must be of the opposite gender, it does require sexual intercourse.
...
As noted above, the concept of adultery was premised upon a specific act. To include in that concept other acts of a sexual nature, whether between heterosexuals or homosexuals, would change beyond recognition this well-established ground for divorce and likely lead to countless new marital cases alleging adultery, for strategic purposes. In any event, "it is not the function of the judiciary to provide for present needs by an extension of past legislation." Naswa Motor Inn, 144 N.H. at 92 (quotation and brackets omitted). Similarly, "we will not undertake the extraordinary step of creating legislation where none exists. Rather, matters of public policy are reserved for the legislature." In the Matter of Plaisted & Plaisted, 149 N.H. 522, 526 (2003).

The court's restraint is, I think, laudable.

BTW, Mr. Blanchflower is a professor of economics at Dartmouth and best known (I think) for his work on wages.

???

When a woman cheats on her husband in a lesbian affair, it isn't adultery. At least so says the New Hampshire Supreme Court in a 3-2 ruling. The court ruled that a Dartmouth College professor cannot use same-sex adultery as a ground for divorcing his wife. Adultery, the court said, takes place only when the extra-marital sexual liaison involves a man and a woman.

Monday, December 15, 2003

Piss-poor performance and turnout

Dartmouth loses 56-45 to UNH, shooting just 3-21 from three-point territory, to a "crowd" of 550 at the Verizon Wireless Center in Manchester, which holds 11,000. There was a snowstorm, 3000 tickets were sold, and Dartmouth lives and dies by the three, but this still stinks.

Here

Sunday, December 14, 2003

DMS/DHMC capital campaign

Hockey loses heartbreaker in Maine

Dartmouth fell behind 3-0, only to rally and cut Maine's lead to 3-2. Dartmouth appeared to tie the game with Hugh Jessiman's 2nd goal of the game at 19:59 of the 3rd period, but the ref waved it off on a controversial man in the crease call. A Dartmouth player was in the crease, but was knocked in there by a Maine player.

Dartmouth falls to 4-2-4 (3-0-3) on the year. They'll finish up their 2 month, 9 game road trip between Christmas and New Year's when they travel to Burlington, VT for the Auld Lang Syne Tournament. Dartmouth will finally return home January 2nd to face travel partner Vermont.

Saturday, December 13, 2003

Happy 234th!

On this day in 1769, Dartmouth College received its charter.

A nice time to review a brief history of the College and our succession of presidents.

Monday, December 08, 2003

Dartmouth Polling

Polipundit is pointing to an article exposing some John Kerry fibs through the cunning use of facts. And a 2000 primary poll by Dartmouth is used to do it!

Since when did Dartmouth do polling? That's neat to hear.

Sunday, December 07, 2003

Re: Quaker takes

I hate to break it to everyone, but a penguin is an Antarctic bird, not an Arctic bird.

If you're looking for Arctic birds, I believe the ptarmigan is available.

Quaker takes on Keggy

The editorial page editor of the Daily Pennsylvanian on Keggy

Re: Alumni Vote

Here's a story from The Daily Dartmouth on the vote. Good stuff. As we learned with the swim team debacle, it's very possible to get alums interested in current affairs at Dartmouth. Heck, we can even win, too.

Saturday, December 06, 2003

Alumni Vote

The proposal did not meet the 3/4 requirement at the vote today. More details as soon as we have them.

He once was lost...

>Date: 06 Dec 2003 00:13:17 EST
>From: Jack-O-Lantern
>Subject: Keggy Found
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

Keggy has been recovered. He was in a dorm room inhabited by students who are known for stealing from fraternity houses. His nose is crushed beyond recognition, but the rest of the costume seems to be okay, so if we can make a new nose Keggy will hopefully be back sometime in the winter.

Word will slowly spread about the identity of Keggy's captors. Please be kind to them, at least until winter term. We want them to get good grades during finals so they can transfer to another college with relative ease.

Thanks to everbody for words of support. We'd like to reemphasize that this was NOT a Jacko publicity stunt, that we really have been running around like headless chickens all day hunting for Keggy, and will fail our exams tomorrow because of it. We look forward to providing Dartmouth with further silly-mascot services throughout winter term.

Good luck on your exams.

Love,
The Jack-O-Lantern

Friday, December 05, 2003

Re: Mansfield after Dark

Nothing about this speaks well for the nation's most unquestionably prominent institution of higher learning.

First of all, it would be nice if the article actually told us what the speech was about.

Second, some of the students' are silly enough to warrant repitition of the old rule: if anyone ever uses the words "I was offended," or any derivative thereof, in a sentence, disregard everything and anything they say.

Finally, let's look at Ms. Goetz's statement: "If I was a gay man I'd be offended." A few comments:
a. She's not a gay man, so who the &#@% cares?
b. Some substantiation or reasoning please? Not a real helpful comment here.
c. If I WAS? if I WAS??!?!??!? are we joking here? A student at any self-respecting elementary school would get hit in the head with a ruler (from about 10 yards away) for saying something like this, yet a graduate student (4th year, no less) at Harvard can't get their grammar straight? IF I WERE.

Wow. Unbelievable.

Re: FO&M Troubleshooters

So did they manage to get your roommate out? The few times I've had to deal with the Troubleshooters, they've been both knowledgable and helpful. That said, that arm of the administration is extremely well run, even the ORL end of things. Bernard Haskell's a great guy, despite the way we may feel about his employers.

Mansfield after Dark

The Harvard Crimson is reporting that "students in Eliot House said they were offended" -- horrors! -- by a speech on undergraduate sex by Professor Harvey Mansfield. The most interesting part was the following:
Students said they were offended when Mansfield said the only gentlemen left were either gay or conservative.
Immediately afterwards came the following, entirely without irony:
�If I was a gay man I�d be offended,� said Rebecca Goetz, a fourth year graduate student in history who attended the speech as a guest of an Eliot undergraduate.
Boy, that just takes the taco. Where should I begin? That it was offensive for Mansfield to say that gays are gentlemanly towards women? That Rebecca doesn't think conservatives should be offended as well? Her refusal to use the subjunctive? Beautiful.

Via Andrew Sullivan.

Re: Pizza and Protest Tomorrow

Although we are Dartmouth students today, we will spend the majority of our lives as Dartmouth alumni.

No kidding!

Snarkiness aside, this is a good thing.

Pizza and protest tomorrow

>Date: 05 Dec 2003 21:05:32 EST
>From: Noah R. Riner
>Subject: Protest for Alumni Rights!
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

**Protest tomorrow to maintain your alumni voting rights!**

Take a break from studying and join the protest this Saturday at 11:15am at the HOP (we'll be immediately inside the doors). Free pizza will be provided.

Although we are Dartmouth students today, we will spend the majority of our lives as Dartmouth alumni. One of the most important ways that alumni contribute to the college is by helping select half of the Board of Trustees. Alumni have brought a very disturbing issue our attention, and we feel it should be shared with you, the future alumni of Dartmouth.

This Saturday, Dec. 6, the Association of Alumni will vote on a new constitution, merging with the other alumni governing body, the Alumni Council. The problem lies in the fact that the new joint constitution could be amended by a small group, the leadership of the association. Alumni's rights to vote on trustees could be taken away and placed in the hands of that leadership group. Members of Student Assembly are not accusing anyone of trying to immediately take away alumni's voting rights; however, the new constitution would open the possibility for such an appalling act.

Also disturbing is the fact that according to a recent alumni-funded poll, 89% of alumni were not aware that a new constitution was being proposed. Numerous alumni have contacted us and are vehemently opposed to the new constitution because of its vulnerability to non-democratic amendments.

Because this proposed constitution is dangerously susceptible to significant non-democratic changes and because so many alumni are unaware that the vote is taking place, the issue should be tabled or voted down until these problems have been addressed. A student protest will take place this Saturday at 11:15 outside of the HOP to safeguard our voting rights as future alumni.

Sincerely,

Janos Marton
Student Body President

Noah Riner
Student Body Vice President

For more information, see these articles:

*http://www.daog.org/
*http://www.thedartmouth.com/article.php?aid=2003110401010
*http://69.57.157.207/archives/2003/11/03/silencing_alumni_voices_alumni_lose_rights_of_selfgovernance.php

Re: Still Not Laughing

Well, I think it's actually kinda funny... But I have a taste for outrageously offensive humor that others wouldn't find amusing. At the least, it's definitely provocative, and it's the height of irony that it would be by a comment on political correctness.

Re: Still not laughing

During a Blitz exchange with Mr. Shpeen, he revealed that his original headline for the article was "The Dartmouth Toreadors." A certain Karsten Barde is responsible for the printed title. Apparently "he didn't even realize the connotation" of his new title. So much for recognition, and the language of political correctness. This is just outright stupid and offensive.

Keggy update

Complete with photo of a bound and gagged Keggy

Senior intelligence officials believe Mr. Keggy may be moving between the Pakistan-Afghanistan border territory.

Re: Still not laughing

Perhaps the real joke lies on the opposing page: an editorial titled "Recognition: The New Anti-Racism." And part of the pull quote:

"As a generation, we are extraordinarily well versed in the language of political correctness..."

Still not laughing

We at TDR often scold the Dartmouth Free Press for lacking a sense of humor. They finally tried their hands at a joke, and the result is . . . uh . . . I really don't know what to say.

Well, here's the headline to Adam Shpeen's article about Red Bull:

THE FINALS SOLUTION

Re: Letter from the SA...

Janos' email may be on track, except for the fact that the email address he gives for Mr. McClintock is not in use according to a quick DND search. C'mon people, its not hard to check things like that!

Letter from the SA to Alums

I haven't seen anything about this posted here, so here goes-

Dear Young Alums,

As some of you may have heard, this Saturday, Dec. 6, the Association of Alumni will vote on a new constitution, merging with the other alumni governing body, the Alumni Council. The problem lies in the fact that the new joint constitution could be amended by a small group, the leadership of the association. Further, the new constitution gives this leadership the wide discretion to call new meetings in any manner they see fit - by internet ballot, mail ballots, or meetings in Hanover. Alumni's rights to vote on trustees could be taken away and placed in the hands of that leadership group. Members of Student Assembly are not accusing anyone of trying to immediately take away alumni's voting rights; however, the new constitution would allow for this dangerous possibility. Considering the recent fiascos at the administrative level of the College, from the SLI to the swim team and library cuts, it seems that now more than ever Dartmouth alums need to demand open and accountable governance and a renewed roll in the selection of trustees.

Also disturbing is the fact that according to a recent alumni-funded poll, 89% of alumni were not aware that a new constitution was being proposed. Several alumni have contacted us and are vehemently opposed to the new constitution because of its vulnerability to non-democratic amendments.

Because this proposed constitution is dangerously susceptible to significant non-democratic changes and because so many alumni are unaware that the vote is taking place, the issue should be tabled by being voted down until these problems have been addressed. There are many good changes in this constitution, but because it remains dangerously nebulous on issues of great importance to all alums, it must be voted down. Help preserve our rights as future alumni by coming to Hanover to vote no on these changes!

Feel free to forward this to your friends who are alumni so that they can have a chance to come to Hanover and vote this down. Buses for the day cost only $10 from New York City as part of an organizational effort by the alumni relations office. Please consider making your voice heard.

But we know many of you can't get away from your work and lives for this vital event, so we would ask you to instead please blitz those responsible for safeguarding your liberties, and CC Student.Assembly@Dartmouth.EDU on those blitzes so we can compile a record of those emails.

Please blitz President of the Association of Alumni, Michael McClintock '80, and tell him he needs to stand up for alumni against this dramatic and dangerous change. His blitz account is: Michael.R.McClintock.80@Alum.Dartmouth.ORG

Sincerely,

Janos Marton
Student Body President

Noah Riner
Student Body Vice President

I remember there being another Alumni Association meeting that ended up being cancelled due to 9/11 where Grossman tried to get alums to mail in proxy votes for those alums who couldn't make it. Would a blitzed proxy ballot work? I tried blitzing one to Janos, and he said he'd go and see if it works.

Otherwise, is there any fax number to which we can send a proxy ballot?

This sounds like pretty typical Administration maneuvering to subvert the Alumni Association, and as such, needs to be fought.

Reward for Capture?

On Wednesday night, the Keggy costume was stolen from its temporary storage location.

Keggy took three weeks of planning and over a week of labor from almost a dozen people to be created and smuggled into Homecoming football game. His costume is of immense sentimental value to us. Furthermore, many of his parts, particularly his nose and internal frame, are fragile. We are worried we may never see Keggy again; we are worried that, if we do see him again, he may have been damaged beyond repair in the process of the theft. The costume is irreplaceable -- we almost certainly can't make another.

If you have any information on Keggy's whereabouts, please blitz us. If we have any new information on Keggy's theft and/or recovery, we will post it to the JACKO! blitz bulletin.

Good luck with your end of term work.

Nic Duquette and Chris Plehal
Keggy co-creators

Thursday, December 04, 2003

Did You Know?

This evening, my roommate became trapped in our dorm lounge. Sent to extricate him were two "Troubleshooters." Apparently the troubleshooting department, a sub-category of F,O&M, has seven (!) employees. Best of all, the two guys were wearing vests emblazoned with their names and "Dartmouth Troubleshooting."

Damn

Big Democratic debate at UNH Tuesday

Dartmouth hosted both Republican and Democratic televised debates for Campaign 2000.

Wednesday, December 03, 2003

In case you missed...

Queer Bar Night I...

***
I T ' S F I N A L L Y H E R E ! ! !
***

It's the night everyone has been waiting for and everyone is talking about...

It's here, it's queer....

QUEER BAR NIGHT II
The Second Coming

@ Lone Pine Tavern

Presented by the Dartmouth Gay Straight Alliance

TONIGHT!!!!!!! WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 3rd at 9 PM

Prepare to have the most *FABULOUS* night of the term in a totally queer atmosphere

Dancing, karaoke, music all night, food, drinks, prizes, and so much more...

Come see what all the talk is about...

Come see for yourself what a Queer Bar can do to you...

***
FIND OUT WHAT REALLY HAPPENS AFTER HOURS...
...AND DISCOVER THE ANSWERS TO ALL OF YOUR QUESTIONS...
***

Selling out?

* * * T O D A Y * * *

We invite you to join an important discussion...

WHAT'S FUNNY, WHAT'S NOT?

A student-led open forum exploring racial collisions and contradictions.

5pm, Wednesday December 3rd
Alumni Hall, Hopkins Center

Featuring a student panel and small group discussion to address issues including intention, representation, privilege, and social responsibility.

Sponsored by: Aires, Afro-American Society, Casque & Gauntlet Senior Society, Deep Community, Office of Black Student Advising, Office of Pluralism and Leadership, Office of Institutional Diversity and Equity.

Tuesday, December 02, 2003

New England's real-life Rip Van Winkle

It looks like Howard Dean's a bit behind the times. From last night's Hardball appearance:

The key, I believe, to Iran, is pressure through the Soviet Union. The Soviet Union is supplying much of the equipment that Iran I believe mostly likely is using to set itself along the path of developing nuclear weapons. We need to use that leverage with the Soviet Union, and it may require us buying the equipment the Soviet Union was ultimately going to sell to Iran, to prevent Iran from developing nuclear weapons.

Monday, December 01, 2003

Finals stress?

Alpha Theta Presents


BUBBLE WRAPPED

We're covering our entire first floor in
bubble wrap! Come stomp out stress
for an hour -- we promise mayhem,
mania, light refreshments, and fun.

Thursday December 4, 9-10pm
Alpha Theta
33 North Main
(two doors north of Carson Hall)

The Pete Blodgett

The Times on a dry deer hunt:
Our destination was the Pete Blodgett cabin, a weathered and commodious log building nestled against dark spruces less than 200 yards away. The cabin, owned by Dartmouth College, is one of several such hideaways that the college maintains within or abutting the Second College Grant, a 42-square-mile wilderness tract north of Wentworth Location, N.H.

Re: privaledge

Wow, those Daily Kos (I'm not even going to ask where such a dumb-ass name came from) guys are Losers.

With a capital "L".

Sunday, November 30, 2003

Re: privaledge

More angry feedback, this from comments by a parenthesis-happy Daily Kos reader:

"The focus [of the Nightline story] was principally on the movement of campus conservatives to put liberal professors on 'watch lists' (they talked to the president of the College Republicans at the Univ. of Texas., and a snide little prick from the Dartmouth Review)...this kid (wearing a jacket and tie, of course) had some waspy name (last name for a first name). Allton something..."

Saturday, November 29, 2003

Caption contest



1: "Dude, that is totally Olivia Newton-John! Just turn your head sideways a bit. Eh?"

2: "MIT sunk our battleship!"

3: "I dunno, guys, I liked pong better with beers and paddles and stuff."

4: The argument for coeducation.

(from "Bringing Up Basic" by John Kemeny and Thomas Kurtz)

Thursday, November 27, 2003

Reflections on Dartmouth privaledge

A certain "Jo" sent this along to the Dartmouth College Republicans, who passed it along to TDR. It seems to be a response to Alston Ramsay's appearance on "Nightline" last night--but I can't say for sure, as I am not proficient in the crude proto-language in which it's written.

Dear Club:
I am not sure if the person that appearred on CNN last night regarding conversative paper and views on campus professors but would like some to share thoughts on that interview.

Amazing that person felt like they had to appear like a little Blond Hair Blue Eyed Patriotic whiner. He talked about how he and other conservatives felt that they had to bring up proffessors that were unfair due to their political views. How sad. One, why do all those that are conservative have to throw the flag up in the face of others. Even in the colors of a tie. Two, that person felt the professors were so unfair about how they graded conservative and republican views and they felt they were being picked on.

I'm tired of this approach of republicans and especially young republicans. You whine about affirmative action and then the professors. How sad. You who are white and go to Dartmouth have a privaledge that most americans don't have. One you're born mostly white. You have never been in proverty or had to fight for anything besides your cell phone bill. You are among the people that will be hired by companies and be told to believe in the corporate way. You will believe in corporate way and most of you will go on to be rich due to Dartmouth and your parents. Your views and political connections will never be in question other than what college tries to teach you, if the professors are really being bias but I doubt that. You never even heard what that kid from Madison said about the campus having many views and he never whined. He knew that republicans and democrats have been at that school for years and co existed and gone on to do great things.

I deal with republicans every day at work and can't say a word about what I believe. You learn in life that it isn't fair and I can have my own views and beliefs but at a cost. Republicans whine every day but have power right now in congress. You go to a school where you have the ability to get one of the best educations from a famous school but still whine. Boy babies.

Jo

At first I was offended, but then I realized that "Jo" had promised us untold wealth and success. Perhaps he/she is not such a bad sort after all.

Wednesday, November 26, 2003

#11 Dartmouth loses first game of season

And then there were none. #11 Dartmouth, the last unbeaten team in college hockey, lost to #2 Boston College in Boston 4-1 tonight. The game was not nearly as close as the score would indicate. The game could've easily been 10-1 except BC hit the post 3-4 times and Dartmouth netminder Dan Yacey '05 made some absolutely ridiculous saves, including one where he dove across an open net to save what appeared to be an easy goal.

Dartmouth's offense was non-existent, getting off only 15 shots to BC's 40.

Dartmouth falls to 4-1-3, 3-0-3 on the year. They'll take the ice again in Boston on Friday against #12 Boston U.

Tuesday, November 25, 2003

Nightline

I'm supposed to be on Nightline discussing some issues of campus politics later this evening. Tune in...

Monday, November 24, 2003

Weekly Hockey Polls

Both the Men and the Women's hockey teams will enter play this week being ranked in the national polls.

The Women are #2 in both the U.S. College Hockey Online (USCHO) and USA Today/American Hockey Magazine Polls. Dartmouth (7-0-0, 4-0-0) picked up two first place votes from #1 Minnesota in the USCHO poll after sweeping #9 Princeton and Yale. The team will host #4 Minnesota-Duluth for a pair of games this Friday and Saturday night at Thompson Arena. Game time both nights is 7 PM.

The Men enter the polls officially for the first time after being among those receiving votes since the season started. Dartmouth (4-0-3, 3-0-3) enters at #11 in both the USCHO poll, and the USA Today poll. The men play games five and six of their nine-game road trip in Boston this week, taking on #2 Boston College tomorrow night and #12 Boston University on Friday night. Last year Dartmouth defeated then-#1 BC 5-4 in OT at Thompson Arena despite being outshot 40-16.

Banjeree in the D

He's no Nilly, but Jay '04 offers up an excellent letter questioning the goal of inflammatory, anonymous anti-rape posters that have been ubiquitous on campus as of late.

One thing he fails to note is that the statistics on these posters (if they contain them) are suspect at best. Many originate from the late '80s and early '90s.

Saturday, November 22, 2003

Weekend Sports Update

It was a winning weekend on the field and the rink as the main spectator sports went a combined 5-0 this weekend.

Men's Hockey:
Dartmouth (4-0-3, 3-0-3 ECAC) remains the sole unbeaten team in the country after sweeping Yale and Princeton on the road this weekend. The beat the Bulldogs 9-4 on Friday night, with Hugh Jessiman breaking out of his funk for 4 goals and an assist. Tonight it was the second line of Lee Stempniak, Mike Ouellette, and Nate Syzmanski combining for four of Dartmouth's 6 goals in a 6-3 win over the Tigers. Dartmouth is off to a 2-0-2 start on the 9 game, 2 month road trip.

Women's Hockey:
The women also swept Yale and Princeton this weekend, with the action taking place at Thompson Arena. #2 Dartmouth is now 7-0-0 on the year. They beat #10 Princeton 4-2 on Friday night, and took down Yale 6-2 this afternoon.

Football:
Dartmouth (5-5, 4-3) beat Princeton 21-15 this afternoon at Memorial Stadium to finish at .500 for the first time in 6 years. The 4-3 finish in the Ivies puts Dartmouth in a 4-way tie for 2nd with Yale, Brown, and Harvard. Penn ran away with the Ancient-8 title this year, going unbeaten at 10-0 and 7-0 in conference play.

Princeton loses

a) to Dartmouth at football

b) to felons at chess

Friday, November 21, 2003

The Smarter Dartmouth

Be sure to read this week's The Smarter Dartmouth.

Thursday, November 20, 2003

A contest

"To give way to rhetorical temptation, the metaphorical avaiary of security studies, which already includes hawks, doves, chicken hawks, owls, and putative ostriches, should be expanded to include eagles. They are powerful, keen sighted, high-flying, remotely perched, and thus eminently well-protected birds. Symbolizing strength and freedom, the bald-headed eagle also happens to be America's national bird. Although the eagle became an endangered species, it is we ourselves who killed and allowed them to be destroyed, having only lately come to appreciate their distinctive value. They are now on their way to insured survival, possibly a good deal more."

-Eric Nordlinger, Isolationism Reconfigured, assigned reading for Govt 54.

Which brings up an interesting idea: Blitz me with the most ridiculous sentence or paragraph from an assigned reading, along with the class it's from. I'll think up prizes later.

In the Valley News

Keg-of-Beer Mascot Rallies Dartmouth

Ever since the Indian symbol was retired in 1970, Dartmouth College sports boosters have been trying to fill the mascot void. And with little success.

Keggy

The student who dons the Keggy garb was interviewed by Playboy magazine.

Sports Editor of the D Elliott Olshansky was interviewed today by Sports Illustrated magazine.

Wednesday, November 19, 2003

More Keggy

Commentary from Friday's University of Kansas Daily Kansan deserves quoting in full:

***

Students who consume alcohol hurt students, damage property, violate essential 'rule of law'

By Matthew Dunavan
Guest Commentator

Alcohol consumption at college is not a laughing matter, even if people at Dartmouth College think it is. Recently, the college ditched its mascot in search of one that people would find less offensive. Many different mascots have been paraded in front of fans at Dartmouth sporting events, most with lukewarm reception.

One unofficial mascot entry won the acceptance of a large number of people in the stands. His name? �Keggy the Keg.�

�Keggy� looks like an enormous beer keg with arms, legs, and a face painted on the side. According to their college paper, The Dartmouth, his creators intended him to be entirely unacceptable, but fans, including two 8-year-olds who asked for his autograph at a ball game, can�t get enough of him.

Dartmouth�s lighthearted search for a campus mascot shows a dark side of college life. At college campuses all across the nation, alcohol is a normal part of the college experience.

Alcohol has disastrous effects on people�s health, especially in the large quantities most college students are used to. You would be a rare college student if you could say that you never had to clean up after a drunk person or put another person in the place of cleaning up after you.

People under booze�s influence are frequently dangers to themselves and others and cause untold amounts of property damage each year.

The part of the issue that troubles me most is one simple, often-overlooked fact: College alcohol consumption is mostly illegal. Most students on this campus are between the ages of 18-21. It�s not a shock that underage drinking goes on here. Fake ID�s are confiscated every night of the week at local bars, and many more pass undetected by bouncers who don�t know or don�t care that they are fake.

Rule of law is the backbone of any democracy. When a majority of citizens expresses its will through a legitimate legislative process, we create a system of laws by which we are all expected to abide. Democracy involves the recognition that proper government comes from the expressed will of the majority with respect for the rights of the minority. Any law validly created with this process should be binding on all persons in the society.

It is hard to defend the idea that the minority is able to break a law whenever it feels like it, especially when no great value like justice is on the table. Yet that is exactly what is practiced when an underage person takes a drink. In an age where the word �patriot� is starting to become a compliment again, legions of young people unthinkingly attack the very fabric of their country.

Cheryl Mills, a presidential lawyer, argued before Congress that rule of law applies to the weak and the strong, the rich and the poor, and the powerful and the powerless.

�You cannot only love it when it provides the verdict you seek; you must love it when the verdict goes against you as well,� Mills said.

It is impossible to claim to love democracy while spitting on the process that causes it to work. No one who loves America and its democracy can violate the laws of our country without good reason.

And as far as Keggy goes, it�s time to kick him and the college life he represents to the curb.

Dunavan is a Topeka senior in political science and philosophy.

***

Comments here, although KU students seem to have done a good job responding to Mr. Dunavan in the comments section of the main article page.

Tuesday, November 18, 2003

Dinner and a Show

In case any of you missed it (I know Larry did), this evening Food Court patrons were treated to an improptu poetry slam. Though I couldn't make anything out except frequent iterations of the word "fuck," I am told the woman standing on the table was attempting to raise rape awareness on campus.

I wonder if Food Court manager Larry James will stand idly by, as he did tonight, for my fiery recitation of "Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God" tomorrow.

Keggy the Keg goes national

Wilbon and Kornheiser of the Washington Post talked about Keggy on Pardon the Interruption a few minutes ago. I believe either NESN (ch. 36) or ESPN2 (ch. 34) reairs PTI at 6:30 PM for those interested in hearing about it. Not a whole lot of substance, and I don't think they realize it's a joke and not the official mascot...

Mike Wilbon thinks it's inappropriate (and also mentioned we're the only Ivy League campus he hasn't visited), while Tony Kornheiser thought it was perfect for Dartmouth.

Vandalism Update

It turns out that at least thirteen bundles (1300 issues) were removed from our office and thrown in a nearby dumpster. Many of the bundles were our latest issue.

This crime has been reclassified as a burglary, and we would much appreciate any information. The crime occurred sometime between midnight and 8 AM.

TDR Vandalism

On Friday night, a couple people lit some of our issues on fire on our office stoop. Luckily, Zeta Psi reacted quickly and put them out. Last night, someone entered our office through a window and took a couple hundred issues, which they threw on Zeta Psi's lawn. They then rummaged through some of our archives and threw a number of these issues around the office.

Our office is not a fraternity; it is rented commercial property. We do not take these things lightly, and, in accordance, we have filed a report with the police, and will prosecute the persons responsible to the fullest extent of the law. If anyone at Dartmouth has information about either of these incidents (particularly the one last night), we are offering a reward.

Monday, November 17, 2003

Another Issue

Is now online at www.dartreview.com. Enjoy.

F$@! tha police?

>Date: Mon, 17 Nov 2003 20:11:24 -0500 (EST)
>Subject: Excessive Force?
>From: Review of Excessive Force
>Reply-To: "student.assembly@dartmouth.edu"
>Precedence: bulk
>To: Alexander D Talcott

Have you felt mistreated, manhandled, or abused by the either S&S or the Hanover police? Have you felt threatened or been threatened by these authorities? Have you felt that your rights have been violated by these authorities?

Student have complained of falling victim to excessive force during Homecoming events and college investigations. As a result of these and other complaints, Student Assembly and The Dartmouth Civil Liberties Union are joining together to ensure students are treated with respect.

If you feel that your rights have been violated, or you have been mistreated by the administration, S&S, or the Hanover Police, please tell your story. Either reply to this blitz, or if you wish to remain anonymous, you may submit your story to the DCLU's website:

http://www.dartmouth.edu/~dclu/report.htm

With your permission, your personal accounts will be used to present a case to the Adminstration that calls for action to address these greivances.

Thank you for your help.

Re: Dartmouth Studies on race matters (first link)

So they found out that racial tension leads to reduced productivity.

Wasn't this why the Army resisted integrating? They thought it would be a distraction?

I'm happy that these people are spending time and money finding out what people have known for quite some time.

Isn't science supposed to advance knowledge?

Dartmouth studies on race matters

Here

here

here

and here

An e-Dartmouth Special Report

Board of Trustees to increase size, reduce terms

Alluded to here on DartLog on August 18

Sunday, November 16, 2003

Ugly weekend in Dartmouth athletics

The winning ways of the previous 2 weekends wore off, as the major team sports lost or underachieved all weekend long.

The football team held a 21-20 lead with 2 mintues to go, but gave up a 95-yard drive to allow Brown to score their 3rd touchdown of the fourth quarter to pull out a 26-21 victory over Dartmouth. The lack of a running game really hurt Dartmouth, as they had a first and 5 in Brown territory needing only to get one first down to ice the game, and they ended up being forced to punt. This came after two other 3-and-outs by the offense when they needed to be running the clock.

Women's soccer lost 5-0 to Florida State in the opening round of the NCAA tournament. They had gone 6-0-1 in the Ivy League to clinch the title and get the automatic berth.

The Men's hockey team remained unbeaten at 2-0-3, but had to settle for two 1-1 ties on the weekend @Union and @RPI. Dartmouth's defense and netminder Dan Yacey '05 have been outstanding, but the offense has yet to get on track.

Women's hockey won yesterday 1-0 against UConn to improve to 4-0, but by all indications it could've easily gone the other way. They play UConn again this afternoon.

Saturday, November 15, 2003

Confederate Copycats

Apparently students in Iowa have followed the example of the flag-wavers here at Dartmouth. From yesterday's San Francisco Chronicle :

"As he spoke on college campuses, a group followed him holding signs displaying the Confederate flag, a reminder of Dean's remark that he wanted to be the candidate for Southern men with Confederate flags on their pickup trucks. He apologized for the comment after intense criticism.

"At Iowa State University, he sarcastically chided the sign-holders.

"'We don't think you should use the Confederate flag," Dean said, laughing. "It's a divisive symbol.'"

"Dixie Comes to Dartmouth": One More Link

Yesterday's Opinion Journal Best of the Web . Fifth item down.

Also note the thanks to our own G. Rollo Begley at the bottom.

Confederate Flag images

The Review's article on the Battle Flag incident now has images for those who haven't seen any yet.

Jim Baehr on CNN

Discusses politics and the Confederate Battle Flag. It's the Nov. 14th Washington Journal link, right around the 2 hour 25 minute mark.

Friday, November 14, 2003

Dean's Confederate Brethren

The Review's more expansive coverage of the fiasco yesterday is now online.

Hot off the presses

Look for the new "Bureau-craZy!" issue outside of your door or around campus.

Be careful tonight, Dartmouth party-goers/hosts

Dartmouth Safety & Security Officer Gregory L. Timmins reports/e-mails/warns:

"Dozens of Castleton State College students were cited for underage drinking. The Vermont Department of Liquor Control sent an undercover State Police officer into a keg party last night at a fraternity. After paying a two dollar cover - he ticketed 41 young people for consuming alcohol beverages. Three of the fraternity brothers also face 42 counts of enabling minors to consume alcohol. Under Vermont law, they could get up to two years in jail and a two thousand dollar fine."

For you beltway aficionados

You'll be pleased to know that the Dean visit made the Hotline:

DEAN: Those Crazy College Campuses

AP's Sneyd reports, A group of students who attended ex-Gov. Howard Dean's (D-VT) 11/13 Dartmouth College appearance "unveiled Confederate flags as he was introduced." The group of "about nine students" sat "with the flags draped across their shoulders throughout" the event, and "did not otherwise disrupt" Dean's speech on higher education. "Fellow students and Dean campaign staffers" identified them as "conservative activists."
Dean "did not acknowledge them or refer to controversy surrounding his recent remark that he wanted to attract voters with Confederate flags in their pickup trucks" (11/14). Still, "the action sent a murmur through the crowd" (Gold, Los Angeles Times, 11/14). Dean's only comment: "Things happen on college campuses" (Wilgoren, New York Times, 11/14). Dean spokesperson Matthew Gardner "dismissed the incident as 'a political trick'": "It's sad that whoever is behind this felt forced to resort to misrepresentation."
Dean's appearance "also was marked by posters around the Dartmouth campus bearing the Confederate flag image." The posters "were identical" to posters printed by the Dean campaign, "except that they were against a backdrop of the Confederate flag and they said 'sponsored by young Democrats'" (AP, 11/14). Young Dems Pres. Paul Heintz said they were a "hoax," and neither Generation Dean nor the Young Dems were involved. Heintz: "Whoever is doing this is engaging in the most negative form of campaigning imaginable or participating in the most awful sort of prank" (Ourbuch, The Dartmouth, 11/13).

Dixie at Dartmouth

Peter Robinson comments about the rebel flag wavin' Dartmouth boys on the Corner.

"Howard Dean, Meet Johnny Reb"

Good job, lads.

Media Blitz

Expanding media coverage on the Dean visit...

Articles from:
Valley News
The Dartmouth
The New York Times
The Guardian
The New York Post
The Boston Globe
The USA Today
The Union Leader (with AP photo)
San Jose Mercury-News

Photos

Taken by photographer/publisher Michael Ellis. Two of these aired on Fox News.







Drudge.

Whoever those saucy postersmiths are, they sure as hell made it to Drudge. Congrats, mystery men.

UPDATE: Drudge has been updated. Peep that.

Thursday, November 13, 2003

Faux Statistics Proffered

In Dean's speech today on higher education he offered the fact that one in three students will not make it to graduation before dropping out. It must have been believed that the crowd would overlook this with the slew of numbers shot at them. Dean also attempted to attribute this "increase" in dropouts to the Bush Administration. Could have fooled me... The November report from the National Center for Education Statistics reports that the rate is at an historic low for non-Hispanic whites, with only 7 percent of students not attending school. The high rates for Hispanics is in part the result of the high proportion of immigrants in this age group that never attended school in the U.S. Asian/Pacific Islanders, with a dropout rate of 4 percent, had the lowest dropout rate among all racial and ethnic groups. The gap between non-Hispanic Blacks and Whites is also being bridged, with the current rate down to 10.9%.

The Child Trends Data Bank offers the insight that : "The dropout rates of Hispanics vary greatly by how long they have been in the United States. In fact, much of the gap between Hispanics and other racial and ethnic groups appears to be due to the high dropout rate among Hispanics born outside of the United States (43 percent in 2001). This rate is almost three times the rate of first-generation Hispanics born in the United States (at 15 percent). "

Sounds to me like to solve this problem he'd have to end immigration and border hopping...(that is IF the dropout rate were something so grievous as 33.3%)

Another highlight was when Dean stated that if anyone worked hard enough they would be able to attend college. This comment may have marginalized human ability and capacity. Inherent capabilities don't play a role in this perfect world of Dean's. Every child is entitled to $10,000 per year as well...This in the same breath as "we're balancing this budget", "we're taking away this $400 billion in credit-card debt".
*by "credit-card debt" he meant the budget deficit, clever colloquialism.

What can I do to help?

Help Howard Dean get elected by writing letters to the editor of The Dartmouth Review. Or the editor of the Daily Dartmouth. But don't bother writing one to the editor of the Dartmouth Free Press. That would be a waste of time, because nobody reads it.

Fox News Picks Up Dean Story

The election report on Brit Hume's 6 pm show featured coverage of Dean's appearance at Dartmouth. The item featured three photographs of the attendees unfurling Confederate flags taken by our own publisher, Michael Ellis, with credit given to the Dartmouth Review.

At a media conference later in the day, Dean refused to answer a question about the appearance of the flags, saying something to the effect of: "Things happen on college campuses. They wouldn't say who they were or who they represented, so I have no comment."

UPDATE: The story showed again in the 7 pm hour and again just now. Either they added text or I gleaned more this time around. Apparently "the college is investigating the incident" and "rival campaigns have denied involvement."

Self-defense

I hope any conservative student involved in the grandstanding at the Dean event who explained his actions as being in protest of Dean's insensitive, stereotypical comment was just saying that to cover themselves and not look too mean. Maybe they feared being beat up by a room full of pacifists.

As conservatives, our message should be that "I still want to be the candidate for guys with Confederate flags in their pickup trucks," isn't worth all the intraparty Democratic fuss. They should cut their own guy some slack and understand his message.

This is not much different than President Bush welcoming support for his reelection from pro-choice Republicans.

Great photo from the Dean event

Here

Wednesday, November 12, 2003

And in THIS Corner

Did anyone else notice that some literature for perennial candidate Lyndon LaRouche popped up at Thayer this evening?

Though the suggested donation was $5, I picked up a copy of Children of Satan: The 'Ignoble Liars Behind Bush's No-Exit War' for no charge. Highlights of this third edition include the article "'Insanity as Geometry': Rumsfeld as 'Strangelove II'" and the anti-Straussian appendix "Synarchism: The Fascist Roots of the Wolfowitz Cabal."

If anyone catches these folks around campus, interview them.

Dartmouth v. UNH tix on sale

Just a heads up, since the college has done a pretty piss poor job of getting the word out themselves.

Tickets to the hockey game between Dartmouth and UNH in Manchester, NH on January 13th (that's a Tuesday, but it's only a week and a half into the term) have gone on sale. Game time is 7 PM at Verizon Wireless Arena. The past two years it has ended up being a sellout with 10,000+ people in attendance, and with the crowd probably split 80% for UNH and 20% rooting for Dartmouth.

Tickets are $5 for Dartmouth students w/ID and $27/$23 for everyone else, and can be bought at the Dartmouth ticket office during normal business hours M-F.

The catch for students is that it's reserved seating and you can only buy one $5 ticket with your ID, so if you and your friends want to sit together you all need to buy your tickets together. I also believe they are planning on arranging buses down there if you don't have access to a car, but that I am not 100% sure about.

College-Lebanon showdown

In the Nashua Telegraph, courtesy of the Associated Press:

Dartmouth College and some city officials have different ideas about the best use of some 150 acres that the college owns.

Short article here

The College wants to build research facilities and some housing. Meanwhile, several city council members are advocating "smart growth" in the form of multi-family housing and coin laundromats.

The Wright salaries?

In response to this article on college president compensation, Alice Givan, a member of the research faculty of DMS in a letter to the NY Times: here

Clark and Dean on campus

>Date: 12 Nov 2003 03:09:49 EST
>From: Young Democrats
>Subject: Wesley Clark on campus today
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)


Two presidential candidates coming to campus in two days: General Wesley Clark today at 12:30 in Brace Commons and Governor Howard Dean tomorrow at 9:45am in Alumni Hall. Details below.

--------------

WESLEY CLARK ON CAMPUS!
WEDNESDAY AT 12:30 IN BRACE COMMONS!

General Wesley Clark, a Democratic candidate for President, is coming to Dartmouth. He will be having a Town Hall Meeting on Wednesday, from 12:30 to 1:30 pm in Brace Commons in the East Wheelock Cluster. Gen. Clark will give brief remarks and then take questions from the audience. Come meet General Clark and ask him questions about the issues that are important to you.

---------------

HOWARD DEAN IS COMING TO DARTMOUTH!

*** THE DOCTOR IS IN! ***

Thursday, November 13th, at 9:45am
in ALUMNI HALL at the Hop.

Governor Howard Dean, MD is coming to Dartmouth to roll out his Higher Education and National Service Initiative. Hear his plan live as he unveils it to the nation.

Tuesday, November 11, 2003

New Research Facilities

This article in the Vally News raises a menacing specter: Dartmouth plans to build more research facilities in the DHMC area. One hopes it's related to DHMC itself, but you never know. Fortunately, it looks like Lebanon will be making it impossible with zoning ordinances. Guess these things cut both ways.

Pump It Up

>Date: Tue, 11 Nov 2003 13:39:44 -0500 (EST)
>Subject: Any Thoughts on the Gym?
>From: Kresge Expansion Group
>Reply-To: KEGs (Kresge Expansion Group)
>Precedence: bulk
>To: Alexander D Talcott

****************************
Any Thoughts on Kresge Gym?
****************************

Do you love Kresge Gym? Do you hate it? Is there not enough space to stretch? Do you want more machines? Is it just too small? Are you interested in Kresge and how it can be made better?
Here is your chance to ask questions about the gym and contribute suggestions for how it can be improved.


Be there:
Tomorrow
Wednesday, November 12
At 3:00pm
In Tindle Lounge (located inside of Thayer by the Smoothie Bar)

The community forum will feature Roger Demment, the Associate Athletic Director for Physical Education and Recreation, and Sarah Berger, whose major responsibilities are Kresge Fitness Center and late night programming. They will be there to answer your questions and hear your suggestions on how the gym can be enhanced.

All of this is part of the Student Assembly's 2003-2004 campaign to expand the Kresge gym and support athletics at Dartmouth. Please join us for refreshments and to contribute your ideas for how Kresge can be improved.

Monday, November 10, 2003

Think back...

...two weekends, and two Dartmouth football wins ago, to our homecoming context versus Columbia.

During the half-time show, I remember hearing some partial-birth abortion references by the Columbia Marching Band. Unable to ever decipher the halftime marching band shows over the PA system at Memorial Field, I turn to you to help figure out exactly what was said.

Andrew Grossman brought this Mass News account of the event to my attention.

An archive here of Columbia Marching Band halftime show transcripts doesn't include fall shows unfortunately.

Re: The results, peeps!

I experienced, firsthand, Mr. Buckholz's pong abilities last week. If he is the best and the brightest of his generation, then perhaps TDR should call it quits now. He and J. Lawrence were unable, as a team, to beat someone who hasn't played pong in more months than a (normal) person has fingers.

In their defence, that "someone" was probably the best pong player on staff when he was here, and also one hell of a guy.

On a related note

As the media swarmed around Mr. Haines earlier, he asked for business cards from all. I whipped mine out, someone else did the same, but the D reporter, not surprisingly, didn't have one. Mr. Haines berated him for his lack of professionalism. The reporter's whining response: "But I'm just a college kid." How telling.

A Brush with Greatness

It's not every day that one gets to dine with a presidential candidate, but this evening Harry Camp and I lucked out and treated Republican candidate and New Hampshire resident Robert Haines to dinner at Murphy's.

You may not have heard of him, but Mr. Haines is a perennial candidate; he ran for president in both 1992 and 1996 (I believe he missed 2000 due to a conviction for felonious reckless conduct and felonious use of body armor). In 1994, during his '96 bid, he tackled an individual outside the White House who had just opened fire and was later convicted of attempting to assasinate the President. He has the newspapers and letter from Secret Service to prove it. Mr. Haines is no lightweight; he has campaigned in 36 states, and he even beat out every other candidate and was the FIRST person to submit his papers for the NH primary (photo on that link as well). Other campaigns are clearly onto him though: He suspects an operative for another candidate stole his American flag outside the Hanover Inn today. (Yes, he has filed a complaint with the police, and yes, you should report it if you know who is responsible.) In all fairness, he is sharp and fiery, and he has solid conservative stances. For example, his position on gun control: "Use both hands." He is also deeply religious.

You'll probably read about him in tomorrow's D since he was kicked off campus by S&S and the Hanover Police. WDCR also did a brief interview that they'll be airing at some point. But until then, a few gems from dinner:

He plans to raise more money than Bush and Dean.
His daughter is named Liberty Ann Justice.
He serenaded Harry and me with an original country song about his campaign.
He likes ketchup. I mean, he really, really piles it on.
"Wesley Clark has a handshake like a woman."

UPDATE: Here's the D's rather unfair article on Mr. Haines. No worries though, Mr. Haines is on the corner of Main Street as I write this.

The results, peeps!

It is my pleasure to announce that the winner of the First Annual Rigoberta Menchu Memorial TDR Pong Tournament is one John Buckholz '04, a formidable opponent for any hopeful champion, to be sure. His opponent, the fleet-footed and nimble-paddled Stefan Beck '04, lost by a hair's breadth...having won a single game out of four. Indeed, the Vestal Virgins wept bitterly for Stefan's losses, but the rules are the rules.

Personally, I was rooting for this Stefan Beck fellow. But there's no accounting for the demands of the Fates. Be sure to make it to next term's First Annual Snorri Sturluson Memorial TDR Pong Tournament. My money's on Beck in the upset.

Sunday, November 09, 2003

Diversity Dialogues

>Date: 09 Nov 2003 19:09:07 EST
>From: Delta Sigma Theta
>Subject: Mark Your Calendars!!
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

*:-.,_,.-:*'``'*:-.,_,.-:*'``'*:-.,_,.-:*'``'*:-*:-.,_,.-:*'``'*

D I V E R S I T Y D I A L O G U E S

*:-.,_,.-:*'``'*:-.,_,.-:*'``'*:-.,_,.-:*'``'*:-*:-.,_,.-:*'``'*

IN RECOGNITION OF
THE 50TH ANNIVERSARY OF
BROWN vs. BOARD OF EDUCATION,

THE OFFICE OF
INSTITUTIONAL DIVERSITY & EQUITY
IS OFFERING A 9-PART SERIES ABOUT

RACE,
GENDER,
IDENTITY,
& EDUCATION

*^*^*^*^*^*^*^*^*^*^*^*^*^*^*^*^*^*^*^*
PART I

WOMEN'S PERSPECTIVES ON
THE ACCESS TO EDUCATION

The Role & Effect of the Brown Decision on
the Life of Women at Dartmouth

JOIN US & LISTEN TO A DISTINGUISHED PANEL
OF DARTMOUTH WOMEN!

A Discussion Will Follow...

So...

"Bring Your Own BROWN Bag Dinner"


NOVEMBER 10TH
6PM
COLLIS 101

~~Light Refreshments Will Be Served~~


*:-.,_,.-:*'``'*:-.,_,.-:*'``'*:-.,_,.-:*'``'*:-*:-.,_,.-:*'``'*

Winning weekend in Dartmouth athletics

Football: 26-17 W over Cornell...Dartmouth is now 4-4 on the year and 3-2 in Ivy Play. They are now in a 3-way tie for 2nd with Yale and Harvard.

Men's Hockey: 3-1 W over Brown behind Stempniak's hat trick and Yacey's solid play in net.
2-2 Tie vs. Harvard, Jessiman and Wheelihan with the goals, and Yacey played another great game in net. The crowd of 4500 meant that hockey outdrew football at the turnstiles on Saturday, and doesn't include the people seen standing outside the arena in the 3rd period and OT because they couldn't get into soldout Thompson Arena. They stopped admitting students after the 1st period because it was packed to the rafters. Dartmouth remains unbeaten at 2-0-1 as they embark on a 2-month long road trip. Their next home game won't take place until January 2nd against UVM.
Box Scores
Brown 1 @ Dartmouth 3
Harvard 2 @ Dartmouth 2 (OT)

Women's hockey: 8-2 W Saturday @ Vermont, 9-2 W this afternoon against Vermont in Thompson Arena. This without 3 of their best players who are off participating in the Four Nations tournament.

Elsewhere both soccer teams won, field hockey won, and men's basketball won their season opening exhibition.

Crazy event

Learn how to diagnose your professors.

>Date: 09 Nov 2003 13:28:50 EST
>From: Student Health Advisory Committee
>Subject: Who's crazy?
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

Sunday Nov. 9th
7 pm
Dartmouth 105

always wanted to be able to diagnose your family/friends as crazy? Tried to get into abnormal psych and found it full...
here's your chance to hear an overview of topics covered in the course from one of dartmouth's best psych profs.

Janine Scheiner is giving an hour talk on abnormal psychology.

This event kicks off Mental Health Awareness Week
brought to you by S.H.A.C (student health advisory committee)

Friday, November 07, 2003

Al-Jazeera in Hanover

>Date: 07 Nov 2003 12:50:09 EST
>From: Middle East Forum
>Subject: Al-Jazeera event
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)


MEF presents......


"Al-Jazeera in a Changing World"

Come and hear producer Imad Musa talk about his experiences at the largest Arab news network.

4:30 pm
Monday, Nov. 17th

28 Silsby

*****************

Imad Musa is a producer in the Washington bureau of Al-Jazeera TV. He
has studied journalism at the University of Missouri-Columbia, and has
worked as a producer for ABC TV in New York, and Reuters TV in both
Washington, DC, and Jerusalem. Born in Virginia to Palestinian parents,
Imad has spent equal parts of his life in the United States and the
Middle East.

***********
Middle East Forum is supported by the John Sloan Dickey Center for International Understanding. This event is co-sponsored by The Dickey Center's War and Peace Studies program.

The Smarter Dartmouth

Today's posts, along with those from the rest of the week, are up at The Smarter Dartmouth.

Thursday, November 06, 2003

An Ulster table?

Rollo?

>Date: 06 Nov 2003 16:40:09 EST
>From: Meghan E. Hill
>Reply-To: Accidents Happen
>Subject: European Culture Night - Friday!
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

International Students Association presents:

-~= European Culture Night =~-
Friday, November 7, 2003

7pm to 9pm
Collis Commonground
Traditional European Performances & Cuisine
Featuring:
-> Folklore Dances from Albania, Bosnia, Bulgaria, Greece
-> Traditional Spanish Songs
-> Bulgarian Rap
-> Belly-dancing from Turkey
-> Sevillana Dance from Spain
-> Sample Cuisine from 5 countries

---))) $2 with undergrad ID, $5 for everyone else (((---
++ Tickets on sale in Collis and Thayer on Wednesday and Thursday, and at the door from 6:30 on Friday.++

Come and join the after-party
11pm - 1am
Brewster International House
Featuring DJ Todor
Snacks and Drinks provided
!! Free for everyone !!

Many Thanks to the Co-sponsors: COSO, PB, Dickey Center, BBL and Collis GB

Drew Hall '05's catch vs. Harvard

Picture here.
Video clip here.

If you haven't seen it, it should've been on the Plays of the Week on Sportscenter. It was doubly big because it came on a 3rd and forever to go after a bizarre play in which the Dartmouth quarterback was tackled by the referee for an 18-yard loss as he was scrambling to avoid a sack.

We found it!

The unified theory of political correctness:
"Diversity May Curb Binge Drinking"

Wednesday, November 05, 2003

>Date: 05 Nov 2003 21:59:36 EST
>From: Religious and Spiritual Life
>Subject: College Chapel
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

Come to the student-led chapel service.

By far the chillest half hour at Dartmouth.
Come and see.

Rollins Chapel, 12:30 Thursday.

Student participants include: Student Body VP Noah Riner '06, John Stern '05, John Wilson '07, and others.

Tuesday, November 04, 2003

Cool...

International Students Association presents:

-~= European Culture Night =~-
Friday, November 7, 2003

7pm to 9pm
Collis Commonground
Traditional European Performances & Cuisine Featuring:
-> Folklore Dances from Albania, Bosnia, Bulgaria, Greece
-> Traditional Spanish Songs
-> Bulgarian Rap
-> Belly-dancing from Turkey
-> Sevillana Dance from Spain
-> Sample Cuisine from 5 countries

---))) $2 with undergrad ID, $5 for everyone else (((---
++ Tickets on sale in Collis and Thayer on Wednesday and Thursday,++
++ and at the door from 6:30 on Friday.++


Come and join the after-party
11pm - 1am
Brewster International House Featuring DJ Todor
Snacks and Drinks provided
!! Free for everyone !!


Many Thanks to the Co-Sponsors:
COSO, Dickey Center for International Understanding, Programming Board, CollisGoverning Board, and Bigger, Better and Later

Re: A New Link

The Smarter Dartmouth is now up for today.

The archives are coming soon.

A New Link

Larry's moved.

We will add it (and a bunch of other stuff) to the links list soon.

Email me if there's a site that you think I should add.

Monday, November 03, 2003

A New Book on the Zantops

The latest issue of The New Yorker has a short blurb on a new book about the Half and Susanne Zantop murders in January 2002. The book -- Judgment Ridge -- is written by Mitchell Zuckoff and Dick Lehr, two Boston Globe reporters who covered the story (perhaps even relying on The Dartmouth Review for breaking details). The blurb reads as follows:
Half and Susanne Zantop, popular professors at Dartmouth College, were murdered in their home in New Hampshire. Clever detective work linked knife sheaths found at the scene to a pair of teenagers, Robert Tulloch and Jim Parker, who lived in an isolated Vermont town thirty miles away. Confronted by police, the boys fled; eventually, they were tracked down in Indiana. Parker, the sidekick, struck a plea bargain that may free him in sixteen years, but Tulloch pleaded guilty and received a sentence of life without parole. Zuckoff and Lehr, who covered the case for the Boston Globe, examine in fascinating detail the ordinariness of the boys' grudges -- typical high-school controversies about the student council and the debate team -- and how, in Tulloch's twisted mind, the idea of random killing became an obsession.
Interesting stuff. I have to register my chagrin at the horrible title, however. It's a real-life tragic story of murder -- not an after-school special. What were they thinking?

Re: Amazing Moments in Academia

Closer to home....


WINTER 2004
WGST 48 (students may take more than one WGST 48 class...see note at bottom)
"Here and Queer: Placing Sexuality"
Professor Kate Thomas
Class Hour--2A
Open to All Students

NOTE: This course will be listed as "Placing Sexuality" on student transcripts.

COURSE DESCRIPTION
Here and Queer: Placing Sexuality. This course asks what it means to imagine a queer nation, and works towards theorizing relations between modern constructions of sexuality, nationality and ethnicity. Using an international range of theoretical texts, our "place study" will be Britain and topics will include: postcolonialism and cultural hybridity; aristocracy and effeminacy; drag and music hall traditions; public school culture; Thatcherism, transgendering and the "nanny state." Authors may include Oscar Wilde, Virginia Woolf, Jeanette Winterson. We will study films by Pratibha Parmar, Isaac Julian and Derek Jarman. Open to all students.
Dist: LIT, WCult: EU.
Professor Kate Thomas. 2A

NOTE: Students may take more than one WGST 48 course--as long as the course titles/descriptions are different.

Sunday, November 02, 2003

Re: Textbook bias

Going beyond bias, that's an awfully-slimmed down explanation of the early-1990s recession.

I would go so far as to argue that it's just wrong, implying a far-stronger connection than any evidence indicates. Monetary policy was a far bigger bigger culprit, and some argue that technology shocks were to blame.

But oil? Look at inflation: it wasn't that kind of recession.

Re: One of Dartmouth's Best

Note also Irwin's Cato connection, mentioned on the list.

Re: One of Dartmouth's best

You'd think they'd at least get his department right, if not his title.

Prof. Irwin is the Chair of the Economics Dept. I have no clue why they made him an associate professor in the gov't dept.

Saturday, November 01, 2003

One of Dartmouth's best

Date: 01 Nov 2003 22:54:22 EST
From: Elisabeth F. Sherman
Subject: FREE TRADE UNDER FIRE
To: (Recipient list suppressed)



Tucker Social Justice Lecture

"FREE TRADE UNDER FIRE"

Douglas Irwin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Government
Dartmouth College

Tuesday, November 4th, 2003
Dartmouth 105
7:30pm

Prof. Irwin will be speaking about his latest book, "Free Trade Under Fire". He is a recent recipient of a fellowship from the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation. He is also a Research Associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research and has worked in the federal government (the President's Council of Economic Advisors and the Federal Reserve Board).

Preceded by...

Presentation of Granger Award to
Micael Stern '59, T'60

Textbook bias

In Environment, 4th edition by Raven & Berg, the textbook for Andy Friedland's Environmental Studies 2:

During the 1990s the United States continued to depend on foreign energy supplies and was even willing to go to war to ensure that supply remained dependable -- witness the 1990 war in the Persian Gulf, which has been at least partly attributed to our dependence on foreign oil. During the conflict, President George H.W. Bush released oil reserves from the Strategic Petroleum Reserve to minimize cost increases due to a demporary disruption in supply. Despite this effort, the increase in energy costss precipitated by the crisis contributed to an economic recession, the only one in the 1990s. (p. 209)

Hockey struggles to 2-1 win

Edit 11/4/03: The linked box score is now correct and up-to-date with everything

Dartmouth capped off a big sports weekend with a victory in the season opener for the men's hockey team, 2-1 over the Crusaders of Holy Cross in front of 3494 fans at Thompson Arena. The victory comes on the heels of the women's hockey win last night (7-2 over #5 Providence), the women's soccer win in 2ot over Harvard to clinch the Ivy Title, and of course the football game earlier today (see the post below).

The team looked like it was running on fumes for most of the 2 periods I was able to attend. Lee Stempniak '05 scored the game winner roughly halfway through the 2nd as he just took the puck down the boards and beat his defender to the corner, cut to the net and got it under the goaltender. Eric Przepiorka '06 had a breakaway chance to ice it late in the game, but was stoned by the Crusader netminder. Sean Offers '06 got sent off after receiving a spearing major and a DQ, but the team was able to kill it off.

Dan Yacey '05 stopped 25 of 26 shots to earn the victory. Jarrett Sampson '06 got Dartmouth's other goal. The box score is incorrect, as Dartmouth's 2nd goal came on the power play, making Dartmouth 1-8 on the PP, not 0-8. That also means Dartmouth hasn't scored a shorthander since the 00-01 season.

Hugh Jessiman '06 looked slow and sluggish most of the game, but I heard he took a big hit in the 1st period and sat most of the time until the intermission, so he may have been playing hurt the rest of the game.

Next weekend will be the last home games until after Christmas. Dartmouth will take on Brown and Harvard in a pair of ECAC and Ivy League contests. Brown earned a 2-0 upset win over Harvard tonight in Cambridge, MA. Faceoff both Friday and Saturday is at 7 at Thompson Arena. Expect the Harvard game to sellout, so I wouldn't plan on showing up too late or you may be stuck without a seat.

Box Score

Dartmouth rolls over the Crimson

For the first time since their unbeaten 10-0 season in 1996, Dartmouth beat Harvard in Cambridge by a final of 30-16. Dartmouth held a lead of 16-9 going into halftime and never surrendered it as they cruised to victory.

The win came as Harvard is celebrating the 100th year of Harvard Stadium. Dartmouth won the very first game played there in 1903, and also won in 1953 when Harvard was celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Stadium.

The win improves Dartmouth's record to 3-4 (2-2 Ivy), and all of the remaining games on the schedule are winnable. Harvard falls to 6-1, and 3-1 in conference play.

More MEChA Madness

The Stanford Review, Stanford's conservative newspaper, recently ran an article that ticked off many campus Hispanics:
In an editorial titled �MEChA: Social Justice Group or KKK?� The Review called MEChA �a racist organization that advocates revolution and segregation,� dubbing it �the modern-day Ku Klux Klan of Chicanos.�

[...]


�We are open to criticism from the community,� said junior Laura Godinez-Avina, co-chair of MEChA. �But they were misinformed and, based on that misinformation, made judgments on our group that were libel.�
Sheesh. Libel. People can be so incredibly stupid.

But wait! The liberals at Stanford proceeded to get even stupider. Now, some dorms are actually restricting delivery of student publications:
In recent weeks, staff members at Casta�o House and Roble Hall decided to prohibit student groups such as The Review, The Stanford Chaparral and The Stanford Progressive from slipping publications under residents� doors. Those groups must now leave publications at dorms� main entrances.
I wonder where they got that idea from... Way to promote the free exchange of ideas, fellas. Fortunately, some campus progressives aren't going to take it sitting down:
�I would encourage my Progressive successors and [The Stanford Review] and such to violate it flagrantly,� said Josh Benson, former president of The Progressive.

Senior Michael Zakaras, chief editor of The Progressive, also expressed disagreement with the policy.

�I don�t think there is any question that this policy will negatively affect the readership of The Progressive,� he said. �Distributing door to door is the only way to guarantee that all the students at Stanford have a chance to read our paper.�

Zakaras believes that the possibility of offending students is no reason to stop door-to-door distribution.

�The few people who have been offended by a campus publication shouldn�t dictate dorm or campus policy,� he said. �Many more students will suffer from not getting publications delivered to them than the few students who will have to throw the papers away. In the end, unless the University can come up with a way to ensure the kind of wide readership that door-to-door distribution allows while at the same time protect the sensitive students from being offended, then we�ll continue to distribute.�
Perhaps Stanford will have a Left-Right free speech coalition out of this. Well, it's a start.

(This, and other great stuff, from the redoubtable Tongue-Tied.)

Friday, October 31, 2003

Hopefully Fiedler '94 can hold on

John Clayton of ESPN isn't so sure.

Weekend Sports

For those of you headed to Boston this weekend, a reminder that the Dartmouth-Harvard game at Harvard Stadium kicks off at 12:30. The game is being televised by the YES Network as well.

For those staying on campus, the #2 ranked women's hockey team hosts #4 Providence tonight in the season opener. And the men's season opens tomorrow against Holy Cross. The puck drops at 7 both nights at Thompson Arena.

Thursday, October 30, 2003

Trouble in paradise?

Here is an amusing post from the new blog Lady-Likely, the mouthpiece of an all-female DFP splinter cell. Methinks this site will be worth monitoring.

Re: Homecoming Heartbreak

WFRD is 99Rock.

The AM station is WDCR...

Tuesday, October 28, 2003

Homecoming Heartbreak

From: Jennifer A. Kosty
Reply-To: BlueCanaryInTheOutletByTheLightSwitch
Subject: Homecoming Heartbreak (and Hookups)
To: (Recipient list suppressed)

heartbreak, hookups, and horror stories!

Was your homecoming weekend bad, good (perhaps too good?) - do you remember?

In the aftermath of homecoming, we're back with answers to all your questions about sexual snafus and relationship rampages - as always, Sheila Hicks, guest sexpert Elizabeth Hirsh, and company will be answering all your questions about love, sex, and relationships tonight on IN YOUR PANTS, WFRD AM 1340, now (10 pm) till 12 AM

So tune in, and don't miss out on a moment of the fun!

Got a question yourself?
Blitz jak or sjh, or call 646-1750 with your live calls and questions.

Conservative Discourse

Berkeley Professor George Lakoff is claiming to know the secret of conservatives' recent electoral success. The reason, he opines, is simple:
By dictating the terms of national debate, conservatives have put progressives firmly on the defensive.
In other words, Lakoff claims that conservatives have used language to wheedle and nudge the American people into supporting them, their policies, and their candidates.

But this strikes me as facially absurd. After all, which side is more enamored of semantics -- the Left or the Right? Which side created ludicrous neologisms in the pursuit of political correctness? Which side actually chastizes (baselessly, I might add) the other for supposed insensitivity to the power that words can have? The Left produces "African-American," "life-partner," and "differently-abled"... They institute speech codes on college campuses everywhere. If anyone seeks to set the terms of debate (and sometimes, I might add, through less than honest means), it's liberals.

This argument is also a handy way for "enlightened progressives" to dismiss the success of ideas they abhor. It's not on their merits, you see; it's all attributable to the Right-wing's masterful use of linguistic trickery.

That being said, Lakoff doesn't strike me as entirely half-baked (heh, that's a good one). His observations seem somewhat insightful -- this is not a crackpot job like that report a few months ago on the psychological makeup of conservatives. For instance, he says this:
Language always comes with what is called "framing." Every word is defined relative to a conceptual framework. If you have something like "revolt," that implies a population that is being ruled unfairly, or assumes it is being ruled unfairly, and that they are throwing off their rulers, which would be considered a good thing. That's a frame.

If you then add the word "voter" in front of "revolt," you get a metaphorical meaning saying that the voters are the oppressed people, the governor is the oppressive ruler, that they have ousted him and this is a good thing and all things are good now. All of that comes up when you see a headline like "voter revolt" � something that most people read and never notice. But these things can be affected by reporters and very often, by the campaign people themselves.
A provocative thought -- precisely the sort of thing that can be taken too far, but interesting. Now I wonder what he would find if he were to turn his lens to -- say -- The New York Times?

(Thanks to Todd for passing this along.)

Monday, October 27, 2003

A Century of Seuss

PR Newswire:
Letters, letters, everywhere, written in longhand.
A stamp, a stamp is needed, for mail to cross the land.
Which one - just one? - should we use, then?
Next year you will see.
Theodor Seuss Geisel! It's the stamp for you and me!
...
Joining Steele at the Dr. Seuss National Memorial Sculpture Garden for the unveiling ceremony were Audrey Geisel, Theodor Geisel's wife; Rep. Richard Neal (D-Mass.); Joseph Carvalho, president and executive director, Springfield Library and Museum; and Michael Albano, mayor of Springfield. Entertaining the enthusiastic crowd of Dr. Seuss fans and stamp collectors were the "Seuss Singers," a 40-member youth vocalist group.

Seuss National Memorial Sculpture Garden?