Thursday, November 28, 2002

The soda bar

In a corner of the Tabard's filthy and trash-strewn basement rests a disused soda fountain, hoses and wiring strewn about it like tentacles. I asked a long-time house resident about the tap - after all, few fraternities and sororities have made such a committment to non-alcoholic bevereges as to buy a tap system.

Apparently, it was in use until two years ago, when the College forced houses to remove their permanent bars, into one of which, in Tabard, the soda soda fountain has been attached. But now it sits, disused, on the beer-sticky floor, a victim of the College's bizarrely-indiscriminate alcohol policies.

Wednesday, November 27, 2002

More on LA Senate Race

Fox News is now reporting that Landrieu has an almost 17% lead over Terrell. It seems that this will probably dissolve into a squeaker, in the end.

Re: Correcting Rollo, Again

Does anyone else get the feeling that "Correcting Rollo" is a particularly common theme on Dartlog? Remember that next time you feel like nagging me about my lack of TDR contributions.

Correcting Rollo, Again

Rollo: You criticize me for criticizing the reasons given by the police when they arrested the demonstrators in Providence. Your error is in assuming I mean that all that is realistic or graphic should be allowable. I mean no such thing. My criticism is based on the fact that outlawing such expression sweeps in perfectly lawful expression, and for that reason is dangerously broad. Now, displaying pictures of obscene sex (and obscene has a specific legal meaning) would be both realistic (people do do it, after all) and graphic (I mean, it's obscene), and hence can be banned from a public street corner. But I can also think of much expression that, while realistic, should be allowed -- case in
point, pictures of aborted children, or displaying the atrocities of the communists.

Likewise, I can think of much expression that, while graphic, should be allowed -- case in point, again, pictures of aborted children, or displaying the atrocities of the communists.

Such a broad standard really should trouble you. Imagine, for instance, if the police said that speech that was "racially offensive" language was prohibited. I think it's pretty apparent that "offensive" is about as ambiguous a standard as "realistic" or "graphic" (I actually think it's a stricter standard; but if you disagree, you can find your own adjective to suit). Now, you wouldn't "sorta hope" that such a law would be enforced, much less upheld, would you? You can see how some nutjob would interpret your criticism of affirmative action as "offensive." If that's the case, then bye-bye free speech. We'd be no better than Germany.

As for your ACLU crack: for the record, I can't stand the ACLU. They ignore certain civil liberties (ever heard of the Second Amendment?), and they are actively hostile to other amendments (we don't need religious liberty anyway). They've done good work, but they've done a LOT of bad work too. They need to get their act together, in my mind, and stop playing to their donor base.

Alston

Do you honestly think that if the school divested in tobacco, then the schools endowment would end up in cash? I can understand saying that for the sake of proving the point that the endowment would be unbalanced in terms of its moral judgements, but we all know that a line would be drawn somewhere and that the endowment would continue to invest in some stocks that some people find morally questionable.

Do I generally oppose speech codes? Yes, but I do so because they tend to be imposed at schools like Dartmouth that claim to guarentee free speech. Do I generally oppose restrictions on gun rights? Yes, but I do so because I think that armed citizens are a better deterrant than the threat of prison (don't pretend you haven't read John Lott). In the case of gun control, though, the slippery slope holds some weight because there are people who honestly do want to completely ban guns and have said as much. Nobody is arguing for the complete divestment of the Dartmouth endowment.

Re: On the road again

A correction to this posting from the first week of Dartlog's existance:
Stinson's own "Baltimore Jack" -- recently returned from the Trail -- pointed out tonight over drinks that he is not, as was previously reported, a graduate of Baltimore's Johns Hopkins University. He claims that his trail name (appelations given to all through-hikers by their peers) is from a Bruce Springsteen song ("Hungry Heart" from the album The River; the song opens with the lyrics "Got a wife and kids down in Baltimore, Jack / I went out for a ride, and I never came back").

Further, Jack has never been in Baltimore, but for three times passing through on Amtrack. And he'd like to keep it that way, he says.
Dartlog: we take our accuracy seriously.

2 Things

1. Here's what disturbs me about the swim team debacle, and it really has nothing to do with the swim team itself:
Why on earth is there rioting and class council blitzs for this one when there wasn't anything for the library announcements? While I like to see students (finally) getting upset over the budget, the priorities are still screwy. I'm with Andrew that the first goal of budget cuts should be to maintain our academic infrastructure at top-notch, even if that involves cutting a team or two. But none of these teams should be axed before the Collis projects and some of the various deans are eliminated (I'd also recommend severely curtailing the amount of money flowing into the UGA program). Academics should be the absolute priority, but no one was upset enough to protest over the libraries, and I never saw the class council weigh in. I suppose the fact that specific library cuts have not been announced could have some effect, but still...

2. This is regarding Rollo's "slippery slope" comment about my editorial. First off, I don't think slippery slope arguments are "stupid." If you truly do Rollo, then you should have no qualms accepting a speech code which restricts only the most vile expressions of speech. You also wouldn't have a problem accepting just a couple more restrictions on gun rights, even if they were very very tiny. Afterall, if there's not a slippery slope, then what is just one more law affecting only a few people's guns, especially if it doesn't affect law-abiding citizens? I write this knowing full well it is bound to start a debate.

But more importantly, I don't think I was outlining a "slippery slope" issue. It is more like a cliff. Either you invest concentrating on the social implications of stocks, or you invest looking to generate the greatest return, unhindered by other thoughts. "Moral" investing is not possible with something like Dartmouth's endowment because it would have to be representative of 4000+ students' views, not just the individual investor. I'm not saying that tobacco divestment is the first step and could be taken further. I'm saying it would be taken further (yes I'm aware of the South Africa divestment; no I don't know all the details or why there weren't immediately calls for other divestment schemes), but even if it weren't, it would still affect the way we invest money. Maybe I'm being obtuse, but this would force our brokers to do research on all the social issues related to any company before investing. For instance, they would be loathe to make some long-term investments if they knew they might have to sell them off before they reached fruition because someone might cry foul. They would have to take the tobacco divestment into account as an example of what can happen with the slightest bit of controversy on our fair campus. There is no doubt in my mind that keeping an eye towards these things would handicap their ability to invest wisely and quickly (clearly, the last couple years were not the best examples of investing, but a 45% return for one year ain't too shabby). It would also divert tremendous research manpower.

There are a few more reasons why divesting is a bad idea. First, before any scheme is considered, the College would have to make all its stock ownings public, which they have been loathe to do. Next, the issue of who decides which stocks are bad ones is very unsettling. What if it were a representative from each student group? Elections would be just as bad. But this decision would come back to the Board eventually, and I prefer they don't spend their meetings squabbling over whether or not business involvement in China is grounds for dismissal. Given how many stocks we are bound to own, this alone would takes weeks or months to sift through, and I sincerely hope the trustees have better things to do. I had a couple others I think, but I'm tired now. Happy Thanksgiving all.

Tuesday, November 26, 2002

#1 Boston College @ #16 Dartmouth

In front of a capacity crowd of 4500+, #16 Dartmouth takes #1 Boston College to OT and wins it 5-4 on a goal by Mike Ouellette. Dartmouth wins despite allowing BC to go 3-5 on the PP, Dartmouth went 0 for 2 with the man advantage. Max Guimond had 2 goals for Dartmouth, Trevor Byrne and Lee Stempniak also added goals. Nick Boucher got the W in net.

Dartmouth came back from deficits of 2-0, 3-1, and 4-3. They never led until they won it in OT.

Dartmouth improves to 6-3-0 on the year, and remain unbeaten at home this year at 6-0. They take on UMass in Amherst on Saturday before taking a break for finals.

Saving money?

Troy Blanchard '05 writes in:
I think readers and other students should begin a movement to call for the removal of the Dean of Plurality. Maybe a blitz petition or something in writing, but either way something has to be done. With the anger of the student body and alumni at fever pitch over the swim team (and the alcohol policy, indirectly related to the budget crisis), this would be the perfect time to get this rolling.
Good point: they are related. Everything's related - it's all about money being misspent. And the Dean of Pluralism is about as big of a waste as you'll find.

Orozco 2?

Today's D mentioned that artist Judy Baca might paint a mural in the newly-dedicated Berry Library. Some samples of her work can be found here and here.

Good News

The Dems really are in the toilet these days. A new New York Times/CBS poll shows that almost half of Americans have a negative opinion of the Democratic Party. Wow.

The reason? No message. And to think, the aristocratic liberal dons of the Left fancy themselves populists!

Furthermore, the article says that Al Gore, supposedly the leading candidate for the Democratic nomination in 2004, has unfavorables leading favorables by two to one. Almost two-thirds of voters think Gore should step aside (so much for heir apparent), and a majority of Democrats concur. No doubt they recognize in Gore's leftward lurch a determined attempt on the part of the former veep to relegate himself to the dustbin of history.

Bush's favorables are at 65%.

My Damn Research

Here is a link to the Lebanon District Court documents regarding the drive-by shooting.

Ethnomathematics?

It seems that two plus two still makes five.

Fish in a Barrel -- But Still Funny

Here's Rudyard Kipling's poem, "Tommy."

Here's one witty blogger's clever adaptation, for today's hypocritical pacifist.

Queen Elizabeth

While I admire the attempt, even if it be futile, at proving the Church of England's leadership better than that of the Roman Catholic Church, it seems to me ludicrous to describe the Queen of England as a young lady.

Volokh

"Yes folks, in Providence, you can now call the cops when you are confronted with painful truths that are 'graphic' and reflect 'realism.'"

Well, I sorta hope so. I mean kinky sex is real too, but I think I should be allowed to walk down the street, minding my own business without having graphic pornography everywhere I look. I think you've been hanging out with your ACLU-types a bit too much, Emmett.
Emmett: You're entirely correct. Catholics to Muslims is not a good parallel.

Roisin: Do your own damn research.

Rollo

It seems you're wrong. While 33% of the world -- just over 2 billion people -- is Christian, 20% -- or 1.2 billion -- is Muslim. Catholics account for 17.4%, or about 1.044 billion -- a small but significant difference of 156 million.

However...

If 85% of the world's Muslims are Sunni (and I think that figure is right), then 1.02 billion people are Sunni Muslims. This puts Catholics over the top by 24 million, as the single largest denomination in the world!

I repeat: In nomine patris, et filii, etc. etc.

Begley

How many divisions does the Queen have?

Censoring Pro-Lifers

Eugene Volokh is blogging about an arrest of anti-abortion demonstrators outside of an abortion clinic in Providence, RI, according to The Providence Journal.

Police there received a phone call about shouting at 8am (fair enough). They also received a call from two motorcyclists who objected to the "graphic nature and realism" of the protesters' signs, which displayed the bodies of aborted children. Fifty bucks says no one objects to an Abercrombie ad, though.

Yes folks, in Providence, you can now call the cops when you are confronted with painful truths that are "graphic" and reflect "realism." (Note to Self: Better be careful not to say anything bad about affirmative action there...)

(PS -- Alas, the Supreme Court, in Hill v. Colorado, has unconscionably sanctioned the suppression of protesters outside of abortion clinics. Maybe a Chief Justice Scalia can undo this damage... and the damage of Roe v. Wade, while he's at it.)

Begley

She also rules the UK. Ever heard of this chap? Or these fellows? The Pope is a dictator, and proud of it.

Emmett

While estimates of religious adherents are notoriously unreliable, it's my understanding that the religion of peace is larger than the Catholic Church. It's not until you include the, um, freedom fighters that Christianity ranks above Islam.

Roisin

Actually, I believe this stately young lady rules the Church of England.

She can take the Pope any day. (After all, how many divisions does the Pope have?)

Kick a Dog When He's Down

Although the Catholic Church may be troubled these days, it is still the largest church in the world (and the best, I dare say). In contrast, Rollo's beloved Church of England (aka, "Splitters") now claims the active allegiance of only 800,000 Britons. Although the Catholic church is suffering in England, too, it has the highest attendance figures of any organized religion in England.

Islam, that religion of peace, is the fastest-growing religion in England, as it is throughout Europe and, indeed, the world.

Via Glenn Reynolds

Here's a photo showing what Europeans do in their spare time. No wonder they want a 35-hour work week!

PS -- I can't really make out all the words on the memorial because they're (obviously) obscured. What I can see reads:

In this forest in April 1945, thousands of prisoners [were deported to?] Sachsenhausen and Ravensbrueck [Nazi death camps]. Hundreds were murdered here by the fascists.

"Mankind, be watchful!"

Re: Settlement with NH Priests:

Right on, Emmett... Also, who would want to be part of a church ruled by this pinko commie?

Re: Swimming Cut

Grossman, I disagree with you here. Naturally, as an academic institution, the absolute last items to face the axe should be those directly bearing on the College's educational mission -- library, faculty, etc. Everything else is fat: we should be willing to cut it if necessary, and thankful for it when we have it. We are all in agreement with this.

However, the story here is not whether or not swimming and diving should be cut. All things being equal, that's a debatable point, depending on your preferred method of resource allocation. The story is that swimming and diving were cut, while ridiculous expenses (like the Office of the Dean of Plurality, the Women's Resource Center, and just about everything done in Collis) were not. That's the outrage -- not what was cut, but what they were thinking when they did the cutting. It is fully deserving of your condemnation.

This is about opportunity costs. Whatever you think of swimming and diving, you have to acknowledge that they have a better claim to College funds than the politically motivated boondoggles they chose to keep. Yes, the administration's values are on display here, and more and more we're looking like Swarthmore or Bryn Mawr.

Re: Shut up

Ben, while I do agree that swimming is a less attractive target than near anything taking place in the Collis Center, it is by far the most deserved victim of budget cuts announced so far. That the team has been around for more than seventy years shouldn't give it funding priority over, say, the library or nearly any academic programs. Obviously, no student or alumnus will agree completely with all of the administration's chosen cuts, but at least let's applaud them for looking in the right direction, towards programs that are not essential to the school's academic mission.

Reviewers should remember that while we've often been quick to criticize the College (and almost always rightly so), we should hold off when the administration makes sensible choices and decisions. No matter what is cut, that program's beneficiaries will be upset; it will always be easy to find students and alumni dissatisfied with this or that cut. Instead of the just echoing the inevitable complaints, the Review should praise those decisions that fit our values, no matter how unpleasant those decisions may be (because, unless the College decides to go for the women's studies department, every cut will be unpleasant).

Re:I'm a Little Teapot

From the letter: "[B]y accompanying the photo with the caption: 'I'M A LITTLE TEAPOT: The Dartmouth Dance Ensemble performs one of their 'modern dances,'' you have critically undermined a sincere effort at the advancement not only of dance at Dartmouth, but of modern art in the broadest sense."

From their own pages: The Daily Dartmouth undermines the advancement of "modern art in the broadest sense."

That's a rather tall order.

Speaking of athletics

I encourage everyone on campus to pack Thompson Arena tonight. #1 Boston College comes calling for a pre-Thanksgiving battle with #16 Dartmouth at 7:00. The ticket office is expecting an SRO (standing room only) crowd as plenty of Eagles fans are coming up for the game. If you're not able to make it, catch the radio broadcast online by following the link from Boston College's athletic site - I can't in good conscience point you to Dartmouth's broadcast as Dartmouth uses student announcers which honestly are painful to listen to.

Just a Thought

Has anyone thought about organizing a petition of alums saying they won't donate to the College unless it gets its priorities straight?

Wesleyan Bans Chalkings

The New York Times has an article today about Wesleyan University, where the president recently banned chalking on sidewalks (a common practice at this arch-liberal school). President Douglas J. Bennet cited vulgar references to professors as the justification (it would be interesting to know what those references were, exactly, and whether or not they were libelous). After his announcement, leftie students, feeling that the University was demonstrating a "lack of commitment to minorities and unprintable gay chalkings," protested with a "chalk-in." Choice scribblings include "Free Palestine," "Where is Asian-American Studies," and -- my personal favorite -- "There Are Too Many White People."

Re: Shut up

I must respectfully disagree with Andrew, the swim team has been around for 70+ years. Intercollegiate athletics are an integral part of the college's history, tradition, and a much more deservedly funded program than 90% of the crap that goes on at Collis. No one is going to confuse Dartmouth for Notre Dame or Stanford when it comes to sports, but that doesn't mean we shouldn't offer them at all. Afterall, isn't a 50 yard swim test still a requirement to graduate?

Swimming and diving may not draw the crowds of football or hockey, but they deserve their team as much as the sailors or the riders on the equestrian team.

If they want to add money to the athletic budget, raise prices of hockey, basketball, and football tickets by $1. The hockey team's been averaging 3500 fans a game - say 3000 of which aren't students. 3000 x 15 home games = $45000. You'd likely get the same amount of money from football, and maybe half-3/4ths of that from basketball. There's at least half of the needed money from one easy step. I'm sure it couldn't be that hard to come up with another $90k.

The only thing I will agree on is that it does make sense to cut one program as opposed to making budget cuts across the board affecting every team. But it doesn't make sense to have to cut any of them in what has been a rediculously minor economic downturn. How the hell did the swim team survive the 1970's if it can't survive this?

I'm a Little Teapot

...short and stout.

Comments

Why would the NY Times mention that the Masters, in addition to being a great sporting event, is also "the world's great attractions for business executives who bring along their most valued customers and clients"? I have not read the article, but based on this statement it does not seem that the NY Times is trying very hard to support their own desire for Augusta National to admit women. While it may not be fair that there are far fewer women executives who play golf and bring their clients to golf tournaments, I would believe it is a fairly accurate statement. This being said, so far, the NY Times has failed to provide readers with a worthwhile reason for the club to admit women.

In response to an earlier post-- thanks for the suggestion, but I do not plan to convert.

Re: Settlement with NH Priests

Rollo: Our Church may be going through difficulties, but at least it doesn't have as its basis a fat English bigamist who wanted to shag Ann Boleyn. Ultimately, we all know that the Church of England is a dead end. So there!

(In nomine patris, et filii, etc etc...)

Swimming in the D

There's an article about the swimming team controversy in today's D. It's exactly what you'd expect, until you get to the last paragraph:

"The Undergraduate Financial Committee decided to postpone disclosing its budget, which it had planned to release today. Though the UFC is completely separate from the Dean of the College and the athletic department, a source close to the UFC told The Dartmouth that the UFC had postponed their announcement so as not to cause student outcry over funds received by other less popular campus organizations while the swim team is being eliminated."

So, to clarify, according to the D's source, the College knows damn well that it is funding programs that students don't like, while cutting spending on programs that students do like. All I have to say to the UFC is this: you can't withhold it forever. Your donors have a right to know how well their donations are being managed.

Also in the D is an op-ed by some kid named Alston. I'm not actually sure I agree with his reasoning. Slippery slope arguments tend to strike me as sort of stupid. I do, however, agree with his conclusion: that Dartmouth should not divest from tobacco companies. My logic is this: how can we in good conscience announce that we think that the production of cigarettes is wrong without ever announcing that we think the use of cigarettes is wrong? Surely, there's an inherent flaw in telling people that it's okay if they smoke, but if anyone helps them smoke they're in for it. Until Dartmouth has an anti-smoking policy, I don't think it's in any position to have an anti-smoking-enabling policy.

NY Times

is still waxing idiotic about the Masters.

"To understand the outcry about the Augusta National Golf Club's refusal to admit women members, it helps if you think about the Masters tournament as more than just a sporting event." This sounds like a Dartmouth course (English 38: Deconstructing Sporting Events).
"It is also one of the world's great attractions for business executives who bring along their most valued customers and clients." So, sporting events are attractions. It's for insights like that that I subscribe to the NYT. I'm also surprised that the Times, in its efforts to point out that Augusta discriminates illegally because business takes place there, didn't point out that only male customers and clients are allowed to see the Masters. Oh, wait.
"CBS nevertheless plans to go on with the show, simply for the prestige of broadcasting the Masters. Some prestige." Given the significant majority of Americans (both male and female) who support Augusta National, yeah, I'd say it is pretty prestigious.
"Top players present and past, starting with Tiger Woods, also need to ask themselves whether winning the Masters next year will be such a crowning achievement." A few days ago, on this site, I said that I thought the NYT was pushing Tiger to boycott the Masters simply because of his drawing power. I was wrong. Clark: I apologize. There is absolutely no reason why a boycott has to "start" with Tiger Woods. This is absurd. And, for the record, winning golf's biggest tournament will be a crowning achievement (jacketing achievement?), shocking as this may sound.
"The Masters has produced more than its share of great champions, but if Augusta National wants to retain its place in the golfing firmament its leaders must step into the modern world." I don't know where the Times has been, but its version of "the modern world" effectively ended in 1989.

And no, I won't provide the link. Deal with it.

Settlement with NH Priests

The Catholic Diocese of Manchester has apparently reached a settlement with almost all of the 65 people alleging sexual abuse against it.

Emmett, Talcott, Alison, et al: feel free to convert.

Weak?

I dunno. It's late. Good crowd. Funny chants and cat-calls (I liked some of mine, personally.)

Weak rioting

After giving up on Larimore, around 150 students wound up demonstrating in front of the President's house, not realizing that he lives in Norwich. While their chants were somewhat inane, they were loud, pissed, and armed with tp-rolls, trying to get Jim and Sue out of bed. It's beyond me why swimming would get people that frenzied, but the trend is promising. Strange bedfellows though.

Shut up

A mob chanting "Student voice!" just wound its way past the Tabard on its way to the Choates (I don't know why either). Apparently, this was the swim team, irate over something or other, like the school cancelling their program.

I say, screw swimming, It's a great way to cut the budget down without abandoning the school's academic priority. Swimmers: you're here to learn, right? Get your ear infections on your own time and without wasting everyone else's money, OK?

Monday, November 25, 2002

Class Councils getting on it

--- Forwarded message from 04-Class-Council ---

>Date: 25 Nov 2002 21:39:24 EST
>From: 04-Class-Council
>Reply-To: dabeast
>Subject: Support the Swim Team
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

--- Forwarded message from 03-Class-Council ---

>Date: 25 Nov 2002 21:07:57 EST
>From: 03-Class-Council
>Reply-To: bestclassever
>Subject: Support the Swim Team
>To: (Recipient list suppressed)

As you may have already heard, due to budget cuts the Athletic Dept is going to cut the swimming and diving teams.

Show you care!

Help their voice be heard.

Come show your support for your classmates.

101 Collis

11:30 PM *tonight*

Who knew?

Amy Fisher is funny.

Town-gown relations

Watching Channel 14 here at Dartmouth (yes, I'm that bored). There's a panel of Hanover High guidance counselors. Apparently the College offers mock admissions interviews to their students.

Swim Team Factoid

We will now be the only Ivy League school without a Swimming and Diving team. Hurray for us.

In the immortal words...

...of President Wright:

"Students don't rebel against adult guidance in the way they did 30 years ago," said James Wright, Dartmouth's president.

New York Times, 3 March 1999. (Available on Lexis-Nexis)

Dumb question:

Re: Lengthy blitz #2... What do the authors think will be accomplished through solidarity with the swimming/diving programs and/or a community hour with the provost? I'm not suggesting that we don't support the swimming/diving athletes, but isn't it time for the students to move beyond inane sentiments into real constructive action? Personally, I would love to occupy an office or two a la 1968...

Who says all student demonstrations have to be led by lefties?

Re: swim team

While Dartmouth isn't the first school to cut a swim team nor will it be the last, it is troubling nonetheless. It's one thing when a school like Nebraska cuts men's Swimming and Diving because of budget troubles (Nebraska's athletic department is self-sufficient, funded mainly through football money while receiving no taxpayer money or general university funds) and Title IX issues (they kept the women's team), it is another entirely when a school like Dartmouth, with an athletic department which is funded by the school and doesn't depend on ticket revenue to support its teams, must cut its swim team anyway.

Swimming and diving, while not high profile sports, are at least well-known Olympics sports which the USA used to dominate. As the number of NCAA swim teams diminish, though, that will change, as we saw in Sydney when Australia started to challenge the US for supremacy in the water.

Frankly, I must question why swimming and diving get cut but not the obviously more cost-intensive and yet more obscure sports of sailing or equestrian. Or why an athletic department that can squeeze 34 varsity sports out of a budget of $10.8M is being forced to cut sports at all. That is a bargain price, and provides much better use of student and endowment funds than any Collis event or a Dean of Plurality. For comparison, consider again a place like Nebraska, which offers 19 sports with an athletic budget of around $55M. Granted that includes scholarship costs which Dartmouth does not have, but the point is the same. It would seem like they could dig up the $250k necessary to save the team if they really wanted to.

Say the Ryans

Gorsche: Not only did they cut the swim team, but now Larimore's trying to keep me from getting piss drunk before attending meets.It's not like I'm that chick from Swimfan, but does anybody else find it ridiculous we have a Dean of Plurality and no intercollegiate varsity swim team? Really I don't care...As long as they don't touch the National Ammo Day party funds, but I fear they're next. Damn this school!

Samuels: I think that more and more folks are beginning to find it ridiculous. Here is a rather sensible piece in the Daily D from some right thinking 05s: http://www.thedartmouth.com/article.php?aid=200211250201.

Also

With all of the swimming team stuff and the alcohol policy stuff, I feel like people have sort of forgotten that:
1. SOMEBODY SHOT INTO THE WINDOWS OF A DARTMOUTH BUILDING from a distance at which they may not have known if there was anyone inside.
2. Nobody bothered making this info generally available. Apparently snipers shooting at the campus don't merit "crime alerts."

The only thing that's worth double-checking (I'm looking at you Roisin, as I don't actually subscribe to the Connecticut Valley Spectator) is that those dates were from this year, since we all know what the courts are like, although I would have thought the article would have made it more obvious if it were old news.

UPDATE: yeah, it was this year.

Michael Ledeen

Thinks Tehran is going to fall.

This is one hell of a day.

Big Brother in my house

Ruth Morgan blitzed the Alpha Chi president a reminder about a House Tour with Student Activities scheduled for tomorrow. They're going to walk around the house with a digital camera and take pictures of all of our exits and social areas, and ask where we serve alcohol from during parties.

Things not going swimmingly

I won't be done with swim team rants for some time.
I've been told that team members only learned of the decision today.
My public high school didn't even have a pool, and we still had a swim team.
The swim team is an institution, an obvious organization. What's next to go?--Mid-Mass? The English Department?

Important lengthy blitz #2

Dear Dartmouth Students,

This morning we were all stunned to find out that the Athletic Department has made the decision to cut the Dartmouth Swimming and Diving Teams as varsity programs. The Budget Committee has also approved these recommendations, so this news is official. While the Student Assembly was under the impression that most of the budget cut proposals would be released this December or January, this decision has been released at this time because of its implications for early decision students, particularly prospective swimmers and divers.

Student Body Vice President Juila Hildreth and I met with Dean of College Jim Larimore this morning to discuss the details of this decision. First, we would like to point students to the following link, which hopefully will clarify some of your questions: http://www.dartmouth.edu/%7enews/releases/nov02/swimming.shtml

Among other things, Dean Larimore conveyed to us the reality that any cuts in the Athletic Department would be more visible to the campus than cuts in other departments. In addition, we discussed the viability of maintaining a competitive swimming/diving program despite its lack of a varsity status.

Clearly no one on campus wanted this to happen, and we should all stand in solidarity with the swimming and diving teams. We should especially support them during this Winter season, and make their home meets truly memorable.

While this decision appears to be final, students' voices can still be heard, especially with regard to the future status of the swimming and diving programs.

On Tuesday, December 3rd, the SA has scheduled a Community hour in Collis
Commonground from 12pm-1pm with the Provost Barry Scherr, who oversees the budget committee. We had already arranged this date to discuss potential budget cuts, but now the discussion will feel far more relevant to many students. In addition, the Student Assembly has convened a task force to collect student feedback throughout the budget cut process. The Administration has agreed to work with this group to ensure student voice in evaluating further budget cut decisions.

Thank you, and please blitz me, Julia, or the Student Assembly account if you would like to discuss this further.

Janos Marton, Student Body President
Julia Hildreth, Student Body Vice President

Important lengthy blitz #1

Date: November 25, 2002
To: Dartmouth Students
From: Jim Larimore, Dean of the College
Re: Revised Alcohol Policy

In early October, I sent you an email to provide you with a status report on revisions to the College�s alcohol policy that were recommended last spring by a Working Group comprised of students, faculty and staff. The Working Group paid particular attention to questions surrounding the language in our alcohol policy, social event registration, server training guidelines, and the �Good Samaritan� policy. Student input on the proposed revisions was extensive and thoughtful, and many of you offered helpful suggestions for ways to improve the campus social environment.

Campus discussions made clear that our alcohol policy needed to place greater emphasis on health, safety, individual, and group responsibility, and to provide clear information regarding when and where registered social events could take place when they included the service of alcohol. I have accepted the main recommendations of the Working Group. Beginning January 5, 2003, we will implement a revised alcohol policy; a copy of the revised policy will be available at http://www.dartmouth.edu/~deancoll/alcrec/ on or before the beginning of the term.

The revised alcohol policy better reflects the social climate that we strive to maintain regarding the appropriate role and use of alcohol by members of the community. The policy balances desirable freedoms with essential responsibilities, such as respect for self and others. The success of the policy will require the cooperative effort of students, administrators, faculty and alumni. Specific changes in the policy include:
� More clarity about where social events involving the service/provision of alcohol to students of legal drinking age can take place.
� The �Tier System� for registering parties has been replaced by a simpler system (registration is encouraged, but optional if attendance is 10 or fewer in a residence hall common area; 40 or the number of organization members, whichever is fewer, in a Coed, Fraternity, or Sorority physical plant).
� If alcohol is present at a social event, certified trained student or other servers, or paid professional servers will be required. Training will be optional but encouraged during the 2003 winter term, and required as of the start of the 2003 spring term.
� The �Good Samaritan� policy has been reaffirmed and clarified.

The College supports the choice made by some students not to consume alcohol and actively discourages and responds to the irresponsible use of alcohol. We recognize that the majority of students who choose to drink do so in a responsible manner. However, we also recognize that the irresponsible use of alcohol can have negative consequences for the irresponsible drinker as well as for others with whom they come in contact.

Social gatherings at Dartmouth, including those at which alcohol is served, can be an important and enjoyable part of community life. They must also be conducted in a manner that protects the health and well-being of community members and guests, complies with College policy and State laws, and reflects the high value we place on respect for the rights of all individuals. When alcohol is served, it should be an adjunct or enhancement to the event rather than the sole reason for the event. Given the degree of freedoms and responsibilities associated with social life at Dartmouth, it is expected that students will model responsible alcohol use and that the hosts of events will exercise care and good judgment in the planning and management of events.

Student suggestions about the procedures for registering and hosting social events resulted in the adaptation of the Social Events Procedures used by the Greek Leadership Council. These revised procedures will apply to all student organizations and residences interested in hosting an event that involves the service of alcohol. The Social Events Procedures will be available for review by the beginning of winter term on the Safety and Security website.

As recommended by the Working Group, a new training program for event hosts, servers and monitors is being developed. Training will be optional but encouraged during the winter term in order to allow students the opportunity to help refine the training. Training for servers and monitors will be required as of spring term 2003, which will provide student organizations sufficient time to have their members participate in training.

I believe that these improvements to the alcohol policy will strengthen our ability to work together to safeguard the health and well-being of students, and to preserve the ability of students and student organizations to exercise freedom and good judgment in hosting social events where alcohol is served. As suggested by the Working Group, I will review the effectiveness of the revised alcohol policy and social event procedures with students and colleagues during the summer and fall terms of 2003.

Best wishes for an enjoyable winter break.

More Election News

Word is that the GOP is negotiating with a Democratic congressman from Kentucky, Ken Lucas, to get him to switch parties. That would mean a six-seat pickup from this election cycle, with three seats outstanding. Lucas is expected to announce a decision today.

I repeat: gravy.

A Prudent Reminder

Blogger Tacitus reminds us why the multi culti nostrum that all cultures are created equal is demonstrably false. The values of our enemies and their (many) lay supporters in the Arab world are not, as the multi cultis would have us believe, simply another set of equally legitimate values, different from our Western values but not really better or worse. Rather, they are values that favor extremism over prudence, intolerance over civility, and -- ultimately -- death over life. They are, in a word, evil. Here's one more reason why.

Bayou Brawl

The Republican candidate for the Louisiana Senate seat, Susan Haik Terrell (an Arab, by the way), is leading incumbent Democrat Mary Landrieu. The latest poll of likely -- that's likely -- voters has Terrell ahead 48-40%, putting her lead outside the margin of error.

Gravy, ladies and gentlemen. Gravy.

Professor Tony Martin

On his blog (Daimnation!), Damian Penny mentions a scholar by the name of Professor Tony Martin.

Here he is billed to give a speech on "the tactics of organized Jewry" at the Institute for Historical Review (HIS), a notorious group of pseudo-scholars whose main saw is Holocaust denial.

Professor Martin's scholarship includes The Secret Relationship between Blacks and Jews, used in his courses and published by the Nation of Islam, and -- most recently -- The Jewish Onslaught. Avik Roy reports nicely on his unstable temperament.

Tony Martin has been a full-fledged professor at Wellesley for thirteen years.

Swim Team

This is truly an atrocious development. My question is this: the $1.8 million the school is dropping on Phi Tau aside, why not sell some land? It's liquid, we've got tons of it, and much of it is valuable.


"Oh German! I thought there was something wrong with you."

An exchange

...between the missus and me.

Kristin: Shit [includes a forwarded blitz about the swim team cut]
Talc: i know. up at dartlog. absolutely awful
K: can they not fucking get rid of fuel??
K: it's not like swimming is some exotic sport
T: mabye if it was the underwater gay sex club they'd still have a team

Whatever You Do, Don't Mention the War

Some Germans living in England have their Lederhosen in a bunch over workplace slurs. Verfluchte Englaender!

Hilarious

"The Chronicle of Higher Education is reporting on the intolerance gays frequently show to bisexuals. This has prompted many bisexual students to decry "biphobia," and to create support groups.

One student at Brown commented that bisexuals need places where "they are treated as more than 'just good for orgies.'"

No people, you cannot make this stuff up.

3 months late

Oh well. Here's some damage control by Mr. Thornhill back in August.

And I don't have the 12/2 Weekly Standard in front of me, but I'm guessing Chi Scam?

News we don't hear:

What with such a well-connected small campus, one would think that shooting crimes and the trials of Dartmouth students would be common knowlege. However, leave it to an up and coming local paper to inform us of our own news. Here are some excerpts from the November 21 edition of the Conneticut Valley Spectator:

A 17-year-old Dorchester man has been charged in the connection with the Nov. 7 shooting of a second-floor window at a Dartmouth College office.
Bruce True, 17, of 1672 Route 118, Dorchester, NH, was arrainged in Lebanon District Court on charges of criminal liability for the conduct of another between 11 pm and 3 am Nov. 6 or 7 at 11 Rope Ferry Road in Hanover.
Police contend True aided or attempted to aid another in committing a crime in that he drove a car while his passenger, a juvenile, discharged a .22 caliber pistol in the direction of a building located at 11 Rope Ferry Road.
A bullet was found Thursday, Nov. 7, lodged in an interior wall of the office.

The report goes on to state that True stole the gun, a .22 Waffenabrik GMBH Sierra. So, drive-by shootings in rural Hanover.

Also, from Lebanon District Court:

Emily Lewis, 22, of 213 Russell Sage, Dartmouth College, Hanover, pleaded no contest to criminal mischief. She allegedly defaced artwork of others housed in Clement hall, Dartmouth College, by either smearing yellow paint, spraying yellow paint, or a combination of both, and by ripping or tearing the finished or unfinished painted canvasses of others, on Feb. 23. She was found guilty and ordered to pay restitution to the owners of the art.


We haven't heard a peep from the D of the conclusion of this saga, even though they plastered the story all over the place last year.

"Dmouth does Diversity"

N.B.
Heather Mac Donald takes on this topic in the 12/2 Weekly Standard. In response to the 11/12 pieces in the NYT. Trivia: what's the frat house in the picture on p. 19?

Dartmouth to cut Swimming and Diving teams after this season

Budget Cuts have hit the athletic department:
http://www.dartmouth.edu/athletics/archive/2002/11/0098.html


As part of planned College-wide budget reductions, the Dartmouth Department of Athletics and Recreation has announced the elimination of its varsity men�s and women�s swimming and diving programs effective at the conclusion of the current competitive season in March 2003.

The Dartmouth athletic department faces a $260,000 reduction of its $10.8 million annual operating budget. The permanent elimination of the swimming and diving programs will reduce the athletic budget by $212,000 annually beginning in 2003-04. The department had already pared down administrative budgets, increased revenue expectations, and required reductions to intercollegiate, recreation and maintenance budgets the previous year. The athletic department is a part of the Dean of the College area, which has sustained a $1.15 million reduction overall.

England, the Home of Liberty

It seems they've not only forgotten about free speech; they've forgotten about common sense as well.

They put the man in jail...

Relatedly: you know, certain actions and utterances by Prince Charles lead me to think that he has a very good head on his shoulders. Cf. here, here. Methinks the man is a conservative.

Sunday, November 24, 2002

Zimbabwe

"The threat of being deliberately starved by the government if the opposition won votes, was used to profoundly influence vulnerable rural voters in recent elections in Zimbabwe."

I can't, of course, speak to the validity of that claim, but you hear so many similar reports, that you've got to start wondering how the rest of the world allows this guy to stay in power.

Re: Even Dartmouth has Idiot Fans

Ben, if you think Dartmouth has problems:
In Clemson, S.C., a 67-year-old sheriff's officer and a female fan were injured when fans rushed the field and tore down a goal post following the Clemson Tigers' 27-20 win over South Carolina. Fans piled on top of Officer James Booth, was hospitalized in stable condition. Details on the woman's condition weren't immediately available, but officials said her injuries were not life-threatening.

In Raleigh, N.C., one person's leg was broken and two people suffered knee injuries on the field when fans tore down goal posts following North Carolina State's 17-7 victory over No. 14 Florida State.

In Berkeley, Calif., hundreds of University of California fans overwhelmed security guards and tore down the goal posts following the Golden Bears' 30-7 over rival Stanford. Some of the fans were taken away in handcuffs.
There are a lot more incidents mentioned in the full AP article.

Happy Birthday, Girls

the Bush twins

Even Dartmouth has Idiot Fans

Apparently even Dartmouth with its dwindling attendance in most sports (though hockey is bucking the trend with a large increase in attendance over the last 2 years) isn't immune to idiotic sports fans. Last night the team was assessed two delay of game penalties as fans threw tennis balls after the 2nd and 3rd goals, not just the first like tradition calls for. Thankfully Princeton didn't score on the ensuing power plays, but the fact remains the so-called "fans" could've cost Dartmouth a win.

The tennis ball tradition is one of the few sporting traditions we have left on campus. But you only do it after the first goal, because if you do it more than once the team takes a penalty. And if penalties keep happening year after year, then it will likely mean the end of yet another tradition because sooner or later it will cost Dartmouth a game, and the administration will have no choice but to ban the tennis balls.

Hopefully the idiots who decided they were bigger than the game will never attend another game all year, since they were likely part of the bandwagoners that always show up for the Princeton game (attendance thus far has been roughly 3000-3500 people per game, last night it was 4500). I somehow doubt we'll get anywhere near that many when Boston College comes calling on Tuesday, despite them being ranked #1 in the nation.

Saturday, November 23, 2002

Weekend Sports Update

Update from the world of Dartmouth sports:

Football:
The football team wraps up another disappointing year today at Princeton, losing 38-30 to finish the year with a 3-7 (2-5) record.

Hockey:
The men's hockey team prevailed with a 5-4 win over Yale on Friday to move to 4-3-0 on the year (3-2-0 in ECAC play). Lee Stempniak led the way with 2 goals, while Hugh Jessiman had the game winner and added an assist. Nick Boucher got the win in net.

Dartmouth defeats Princeton 3-2 Saturday Night to improve to 5-3-0 (4-2-0) on the year. Dartmouth moves into a tie for 3rd place in the conference, and is now 5-0-0 at Thompson this year. Coming to Hanover on Tuesday is #1 Boston College for a non-conference game.

Basketball:
The Dartmouth men dropped their season opener to Lehigh 68-62. They play Vermont in Burlington on Tuesday.

Friday, November 22, 2002

That Fat Bastard

Wired News:
"Years From Now They'll Call it 'Payback Tuesday'," Moore wrote in a hyperbolic letter urging his fans to vote in the U.S. elections Nov. 5. The full letter, posted to michaelmoore.com two days before the vote, predicted, "We will deny Bush control of the Congress next week ... Expect a wake-up call from me at your bedside 6 a.m. Tuesday!"

After Republicans handily won majorities in both the House and Senate, the essay disappeared from Moore's site.

The irony of Moore �- who ambushes executives and politicians on film with their own statements -- apparently trying to erase his own words was too rich even for some of his fans.
As he's already well-known as a liar (or "factually challenged": see and here), is it any surprise that Moore is a hypocrite as well?

Fascists...real live ones

http://www.ufu.gq.nu/id31.htm

This is the website to the United Fascist Union. It's leader is pure comedy. I urge all to check it out--give fascism a chance.

Re: Emmett

Rollo: I'm saying that Aegis destroyers will make up the first iteration of a missile shield -- an Aegis (-based) defense. The "defense" that I'm referring to is simply the application of Aegis destroyers to NMD.

As for putting them into American ports... An Aegis off of Long Island and Newport News would pretty much protect all of the Eastern seaboard from Atlanta to Boston from short- and medium-range nuclear attack. However -- who's going to launch a short- or medium-range nuclear attack on New York City? The Canadians? The dictates of geography mean it would, by necessity, be a long-range attack.

Far better to deploy the Aegis defense in hotspots around the world: the Sea of Japan, the Eastern Mediterranean, the Persian Gulf, the Bay of Bengal...

Emmett

Your last paragraph is confusing me. Are you saying that the Aegis cruisers, which have been around for several years, do not have Aegis defenses? Or are you saying that we're going to but Aegis cruisers into ports like NY and DC (a la Tom Clancy) to provide "Aegis-based defenses"?

Good News on National Missile Defense

Fox News reports on the latest successful interception of a ballistic missile in tests yesterday, bringing us one step closer to developing a full-fledged NMD program. This particular test is of great interest; it involves the interception of a missile before it goes beyond the atmosphere. This is a crucial strategy for avoiding the problem of MIRVs (Multiple Independent Re-Entry Vehicles -- multiple, independently-targeted warheads on a single missle that detach in space and re-enter the atmosphere separately).

Also, the delivery of the interceptor missile is of great interest. It was launched from an Aegis-class destroyer. Aegis destroyers are slated to be the first iteration of NMD; they are highly mobile, highly accurate, and -- since they also happen to be bad-ass warships -- can serve other purposes as well, giving us a measure of protection on the cheap (relatively).

When deployed, the Aegis program will provide us with a rudimentary and localized NMD shield. This plan was designed, incidentally, with North Korea in mind (that's why we have so many Aegis destroyers in the Sea of Japan). Early estimates put the date for full-scale deployment of Aegis-based defenses in 2003 or 2004, and Rumsfeld is certainly pushing ahead.

I wrote an article about this back when Bush was just elected; it's here.

Manchester Union Leader

Has an editorial on diversity at UNH. Beats the hell out of that crap the D tried to pass off as editorials today.

They also report on a Dartmouth grad and Hanover resident who's being considered for GM of the Red Sox.

Major Requirements

I've just been flipping through the ORC, and somebody really needs to go through and standardize major/minor requirements. For example:

An engineering major modified with economics is twenty (20) courses.
A religion major is ten.

A major in women's studies is ten courses.
A minor in applied math is ten courses.

This is a crock of shit.

Re: Augusta

Clark:

First of all, hilarious catch on my earlier post.

Regarding Augusta, however, I really don't think the Times was calling on Tiger because he's black. I think they singled him out because of his drawing power (admittedly his drawing power may have something to do with his race, but I think it's got a lot more to do with his ridiculous ability to play the game of golf). I mean let's be serious, the guy sometimes gets more for showing up to tournaments than he gets for winning them, so if you're going to single out a player whose attendance is going to effect the Masters, it's not Ernie Els.

The Review, of course, wholeheartedly supports the boycott on the Masters and is calling on its readers to protest the concept of private clubs by mailing their tickets to PO Box 343, Hanover, NH 03755. You can send them to my attention.

Thursday, November 21, 2002

Anti-Divestment at Yale

Yale now has a group and a petition opposing the ludicrous divestment movement there.

Re: Fascinating

The key to the whole article is the last sentence: "And I'll be stuck in between, plenty on my mind and nothing useful to add." "Nothing useful to add" pretty much sums up the whole article. What a truly self-centered person with no respect for anyone in her family.

Augusta

Great Bill Simmons column today on this stupid debate surrounding female members at Augusta.

What annoys me most about this is when the New York Times calls on Tiger to boycott the Masters next year because of this. Why does it have to be Tiger, why are they not calling on Phil or Ernie or any of the other top players to boycott? Could it possibly be because they assume that since he is black that he automatically agrees with them? Few things annoy me more than journalists who call on athletes to be more political. Witness all the columns urging to Michael Jordan to do more for the Gantt campaign against Jesse Helms is '96 or the deification of Muhammed Ali that has certainly been aided by the fact that his political views meshed nicely with liberal views of the '60s and '70s. Much like actors and other celebrities, who cares what they have to say. Just let them play the damn game.

Fascinating

Jessica Corsi is a student at Georgetown. Her vagina does not do dishes, she tells us. It's just as well, I suppose, but I hope it does housecleaning, or else she'll never get married.

Wesley Clark

To CNN's Judy Woodruff on a potential candidacy for prez: "Well, I'm looking at all of the issues and the problems confronting our society. I'm looking at my own situation. But I don't have any plans. I don't have any intent, and it's just a long way from anything like that. But I do think this country is in a very difficult set of circumstances right now. If you look at where we are, we've got Osama bin Laden and al Qaeda still throughout. We've got troops on the ground in Afghanistan. We now recognize that despite all the rhetoric of the election, U.S. forces do have to be involved in nation-building and peace-keeping, because that's essential to international security and maybe there's bipartisan recognition of that now. And meanwhile, another conflict facing us in Afghanistan, the economy's in difficulty. People are losing their jobs. Good people are losing their jobs. We have other problems that we're wrestling with in this country. So I think it's a time of significant challenge."

I couldn't find the transcript on CNN.com (didn't look very hard), but that's excerpted from Hotline. Sounds like the Dems may have a candidate after all.

Drivel from Daschole

It's been all over the place, but yesterday Tom Daschole (D., Ottawa) finally went into meltdown mode.

Comparing conservatives to Islamofascists? The man should be ashamed of himself.

And now, Georgetown

A Lebanese newspaper reports this (via Sullivan):
The �international Zionist movement� is leading the United States to wage war against the Arab world with the intentions of colonizing the region, according to a professor speaking here during a lecture Tuesday.
Hisham Sharabi, a professor of Arab Culture at Georgetown University in Washington DC, told an audience of students and faculty at Balamand University, that the region is currently under �a neocolonial attack� but insisted that the Arabs would not be vanquished.

�However, in the long run, neither the Jews nor Americans will be able to subdue us for
we are not (Native Americans),� he said, adding that almost 280 million Arabs form a �massive force.�
Sharabi, who was peppered with questions from the audience, insisted the greatest danger faced by Arabs is their attitude toward their own problems.
Here's a telling biography of Sharabi that leads me to believe he probably wasn't misquoted.

For what it's worth, Sharabi has gone emeritus, but the Georgetown history department has been active of late commemorating his tenure.

Of interest, perhaps

In The New York Times today, "Poet Who Spoke Against Israel Is Reinvited to Talk at Harvard."

Political Polarization among Professors

A recently-released study by UCLA's Higher Education Research Institute (HERI) suggests that professors are becoming increasingly politically polarized -- and that the polarization is happening exclusively on the Left. Only one-third of professors identify as moderates. While only 18% identify as "conservative" or "far right," a whopping 48% of them identify as "liberal" or "far left," with the trend to extremes strongest among women.

If you ignore the ridiculous anti-Republican spin HERI is giving this, it's quite revealing...

Freudian Slip?

Rollo, did you mean "homicide" when you wrote "homocide" in your post about transgender murders?

Howard Dean

From an edit in today's D, "We noticed the political puttering and wanted to find out who Gov. Dean is. We met with Gov. Dean in a handsome Manchester residence before the midterm elections. Gov. Dean sat atop a blue child's bed while we asked questions from our position on the floor. It felt like story time all over again, but Gov. Dean's words were no stories -- they were charming words of wisdom, words of a political physician."

I think I'm going to be ill.

Today's Union Leader

"Two Ku Klux Klan Motorcycle Club members� convictions for methamphetamine trafficking yesterday crushed the only known significant supply of the highly addictive drug to New Hampshire and also crushed the outlaw motorcycle group, investigators said."
The article is here. According to the US attorney, they weren't racists. Brilliant.

TDR on Google

Much more significant than anything Grossman mentioned: we're number 10 for "Bloody Mary mix reviews"

Transgender

I have just learned from the Center for Women and Gender (the old WRC) that "In a year marked with TWO DOZEN [emphasis in original] reported anti-transgender murders, members of the transgendered community will be holding events on November 20th to honor those lost." I somehow missed the events, but I have to question the statistics.

If twenty-four transgendered people were murdered, even at the normal homocide rate (i.e. no one was murdered because they were transgender) that means that there are approximately 400,000 transgender people in America (I'm using the 1999 FBI homocide rate of 5.7 murders per 100,000 people). This means that only 1/700 Americans are transgendered (bear in mind the term includes cross-dressers); somehow this seems like a vast underestimation.

So, by hosting these events are we discrediting many transgendered people, or are we simply promoting bullshit statistics and using them to promote a non-existent cause? Or, alternatively, am I simply wrong, and only 1/1000 or 1/10,000 people are transgender? If anyone has reliable data on the number of transgender people in America, I'd love to hear them.

Wednesday, November 20, 2002

Out on top

TDR wins these Google searches:
dartmouth snob
dartmouth drunk
dartmouth frat
dartmouth sex
dartmouth lecherous
dartmouth dullard
dartmouth racist
dartmouth "free speech"
dartmouth diversity (well, 3rd place)
dartmouth indian
dartmouth cocaine (TDR does pretty well on this one)
Jimmy O�s tenure
"beyond the box" dartmouth
ivy league eurotrash
Find any others? Let us know.

Poisoned Ivy

Hannity (of Fox News's Hannity and Colmes) mentions Review alum Ben Hart's Poisoned Ivy in a discussion on the Amherst Student Senate's "diversity seats," one of which was just denied to campus conservatives.

Colmes asks their guest, head of the Amherst College Republicans, "Are you really saying that a while, heterosexual, male conservative is a disadvantaged minority?"

Hannity and the guest both reply, "At Amherst."

Penn students tar Princeton debater

The Princeton debate team was in Philadelphia for a weekend tournament.

The student and his sleeping-bag were doused in motor oil. The police are investigating.

US rejects Internet hate speech ban

CNET has the story here. Glenn Reynolds asks, "Want to bet that the Bush Administration won't get much credit for this move from the people who claim it's 'stifling dissent'?" Good point.

Barak at Berkeley

Blogger Stefan Sharkansky gets assaulted at the protests outside Barak's speech:
The biggest lesson that came out of this episode for me was the nature of the demonstrators. It was clear from their puerile signs and vapid slogans, their hostile attitudes, the yelling, the disruption, the theft and destruction of my camera, the various multi-cultis who have no connection to the conflict, not even by ties of ethnicity. Few, if any of them know anything or really care about Palestinians. They simply require something to hate and to attack, and Israel just happens to be the fashionable target du jour.
Hilary Miller '02 assaulted this reporter as he took in an anti-Israel protest at Dartmouth when Barak came to speak.

Dershowitz on free speech at Harvard Law

"These are people with extraordinarily thin skins who want to be treated as adults but insist that Mommy, Daddy, and the dean come to their rescue instead of debating in the market of free ideas."

Arielle Farber Responds

The following comes from Arielle Farber, a co-sponsor of the pro-Israel resolution, who was -- predictably -- misquoted in The Dartmouth. I've never been so happy to be corrected.

*****

You wrote:

That being said, a sponsor of the resolution said this:

[Arielle] Farber ['03] also said that the phrase "struggle against terrorism" is meant to condemn the suicide bombings which have harmed or killed American citizens visiting Israel.

And what about the suicide bombings that have harmed or killed Israelis? Does the resolution condemn that? Do their murderers not deserve condemnation as much as the murderers of Americans do? All people are equal, you see; but -- even for the sponsors of a pro-Israel petition -- all people are more equal than the Israelis.


As you guessed, I was misquoted. Not only did the D attribute something that Michele Nudelman [the resolution's co-sponsor] said to me, mislabel DIPAC as the Dartmouth Israel Political Action Committee when it is actually a non-political organization called the Dartmouth Israel Public awareness Committee, but they also ommitted half of the
sentence I said in regards to terrorism in Israel. What I actually said was that the struggle in which Israel and the US are engaged, that against terrorism, is meant to condemn attacks that both Americans and Israelis have tragically come to understand through suicide attacks in both countries, including a recent bomb at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem that killed innocent Israeli and American college studenst just like us. In no way did I mean to imply that the loss of American life is any more tragic than the loss of Israeli life, or the loss of any life for that matter. All terrorism is condemned by the resolution.

I hope that helps clarify my position.

Arielle

Department of "Feels So Good"

Jim Jeffords is already trying to come in from the cold.

Department of the Unexpected

The Student Assembly engages in X-treme navel-gazing. Your dollars at work!

Jeff Jacoby: No room for this campus minority

Jeff Jacoby's Column from the New York Times News Service on conservatives pushing for their own diversity seats on the student government at Tufts and Amherst.

"Real diversity encompasses the spectrum of human variety - a vast array of tastes and talents, beliefs and backgrounds, passions and personalities. What passes for diversity on campus and wherever the left holds sway is an impoverished fraud. Depressing that it should still be necessary to say so."

Incidentally

Stanley Kurtz, of National Review, agrees with me on the Saint Xavier University affair:

TOO FAR [Stanley Kurtz]
Having condemned the viciousness and hypocrisy of Peter Kirstein, I must say that I think St. Xavier has gone too far by relieving Kirstein of his teaching duties, even if only for a semester. The best way to combat Kirstein's outrageous statements is by making arguments and issuing condemnations, not by banning him from the classroom. True, the case against punishment is not iron clad. Professor Kirstein's outrageous letter did violate the standards of professionalism promulgated by the American Association of University Professors. It would be perfectly fair to take Kirstein's actions into account in a tenure decision, and a teacher who grievously and persistently insulted his students in class could not be allowed to continue with impunity. But in a case like this, while punishment may not be categorically illegitimate, it is nonetheless best to act on the principle that the best remedy for offensive speech is more speech. Punishing Kirstein will only license craven and politically correct administrators to silence the speech of anyone who dares defy campus orthodoxy, not matter how politely they speak. Posted at 12:19 PM

Transphobia at Harvard

The gay student group at Harvard, the BGLTSA (don't even try to decipher it), actually doesn't want to get its freak on. They're protesting the -- ahem -- "heteropresumptive" policy of same-sex rooming on campus.

First, gays want to be able to have sex with each other. Now, they want not to be able to have sex with each other. Curious.

Incidentally, the BGLTSA is looking to expand Harvard's nondiscrimination policy to include "gender identity and expression" -- meaning this blog, at Harvard, would be officially verboten. The aim, they say, is to reduce transphobia.

Divestment Dopes

To the list of prominent schools that have made asses of themselves by having serious divestment petitions, add Yale.

The petition, from the Yale Divest from Israel Campaign (UDIC), can be found here.

Here's an article on the divestment drive at Harvard and MIT, featuring a picture of everyone's favorite idiot, Noam "September 11 was America's fault" Chomsky. Here, too, is the response to the petition from the always unflappable Alan Dershowitz.

Paulin Reinvited, Emmett Hogan Wins One Again

Amazing!

The Harvard English Department, bravely bowing to public pressure, has re-invited Tom Paulin. Stand by for re-dis-invite, and the subsequent dis-re-dis-invite.

Quote of the Day: "If he comes back and has his free speech, I'm sure I'll have mine as well."

For Dartmouth's Alums

There's good news on the pro-Israel petition that's going around Dartmouth. One of the petition's cosponsors, Michele Nudelman, told me that alums could add their names to the petition by emailing, from their Dartmouth accounts, to DIPAC@dartmouth.edu. (DIPAC stands for the Dartmouth Israel Public Awareness Committee). The petition reads:

"We, the undersigned, as registered voters of the United States of America, and as members of the Dartmouth College community, stand by Israel in our shared pursuit of democracy, freedom, and peace. We support a strong relationship between the United States and Israel in the battle against terrorism. We advocate security and stability for both Israelis and Palestinians. We pray for peace and freedom for all peoples in the Middle East."

Michele tells me that they have 550 signatures so far -- 400 of which came in just yesterday. They're shooting for 1000 names. Think of it: While petitioners at Harvard and MIT pitch hissy fits over Israel and -- unconscionably -- compare Israel with apartheidist South Africa, we sensible Dartmouth folk have a resolution with a little more moral clarity. What other school can boast a fraction of our good sense?

I encourage all Dartmouth alums who support Israel and would like to add their names to this petition to send a quick email to DIPAC, and let them know you support them.

Ezekiel

Full points to TDR's own Raphael Clarke for voicing the minority opinion in today's D in opposition to a divestment from tobacco companies. Of the six opinions published only one other took this view, the rest relying on the idea that tobacco companies are evil.

I propose a solution to the divestment petitions: complete divestment. I think we should take delivery of the entire endowment in crisp new $100 bills and stick it all in the basement of Parkhurst.

Submarines

If I recall correctly, Trident submarines are an early model of ballistic missile sub and are equipped with nuclear missiles. In the US, the use of deadly force is authorized for defending and protecting nuclear missiles and nuclear missile sites. I can only assume the same is true in the UK.

That being the case, shouldn't these people have been shot?

Tuesday, November 19, 2002

Odds and Ends

"What is it, Daddy?"

A Caveat

It should be said that my rant about the article on a "pro"-Israel petition in today's Dartmouth is based on the utterances of people quoted by that news source. That being the case, it is very conceivable (if not likely) that any one of the three people quoted was, in fact, misquoted in some way. If this is the case, those quoted are invited to let me know, and I will post corrections and changes as needed.

Re: Harvard Law to ban "offensive language," Emmett Hogan surrenders

Surrenders? Never! Into the breach!

Harvard Law to ban "offensive language," Emmett Hogan surrenders

From the Boston Globe (via alert reader Philip Mone '02):
A Harvard Law School committee announced plans yesterday to draft a speech code that would ban harassing, offensive language from the classroom, a highly unusual step for a law school and a move that runs counter to a national trend against interfering with campus speech.
...
Harvard's Black Law Students Association and some faculty have been pressing since last spring for a speech code that would punish offending students and professors. The law school community was ruptured at that time by a series of racial incidents - most notably one student's use of the word ''nig'' in an online course notebook, a professor's defense of that student, and another professor's comment that feminism, Marxism, and black studies have ''contributed nothing'' to tort law.

Yet while law school officials have taken steps to soothe campus tensions since then, their primary action - forming the Committee on Healthy Diversity, which said it plans to draft the proposed speech code - has created a new wave of concern.
Does anyone else think it's strange that "Healthy Diversity" apparently doesn't include ideological diversity?

Bostonian Jay Fitzgerald: "Larry Summers needs to give another of his thunderbolt speeches, this time on free speech."

I Don't Know Where to Begin

Okay, okay, so the D has an article this morning on a pro-Israel petition that's being circulated at Dartmouth. Great news, you say, as do I. (In fact, I wish it were online, so I could sign it myself.) But some pro-Arab students are getting their keffiyahs in a bunch over it. Why? Here are some quotes:

"Expressions like 'strong relationship' and 'battle against terrorism' ring bells of discomfort in the ears of many Arabs, because to them, 'strong relationship' inevitably connotes such things as unfounded IDF [Israel Defense Forces] violence and a U.S. foreign policy unfavorable to Arabs," [Zosia Krusberg '04] wrote.

Now, I know Zosia, and she's very nice. But frankly, I don't see why American support for the only democracy in the region should trouble Arabs so much. Perhaps if the Arab world provided us with a model of successful Arab democracy, this justification would be weakened somewhat. But Israel is the bulkhead of democracy, human rights, and prosperity in the region. Indeed, the Arabs who live in Israel are the freest Arabs in the Middle East. (What other country in the region actually gives them the vote?) Alas, the prospects of successful democracy in an Arab nation seem pale -- indeed, perhaps the best shot-in-the-arm for Arab democracy would be an American invasion of Iraq.

Furthermore, why would a pledge to "battle against terrorism" be so "discomfort[ing]" to Arabs? This is a very shocking insinuation. Is Zosia trying to say that Arabs actually support terrorism, and are troubled by our attempts to battle it? (Sadly, if this were what she were saying, she would be right; the lack of moral outrage over the atrocities that are committed in their name is a black mark for Arabs. Though it took them forever to do it, even Amnesty International now recognizes the intifada as a violation of human rights.)

"I can picture an Arab family reading the newspaper one evening, and in response to this type of statement saying, 'See, I told you the U.S. doesn't like us," Krusberg added.

Well, it's really only when they launch attacks on civilians eighty-four times in the past two years that we turn cool towards Arabs.

[Adil Ahmad '05, former president of Al-Nur,] questioned "why it's necessary to stand by Israel, one particular democracy" in order to support the broader goal of democracy in the Middle East.

What do you suggest, Mr. Ahmad? That we be best buds with Syria?

Ahmad said that the phrase "as registered voters of the United States of America" was "a pressure tactic" and a "way to pressure U.S. authorities to side with Israel."

Heaven forbid they should try to actually have an impact!

Ahmad also said that the phrase "struggle against terrorism" in effect compared "the Palestinian struggle against Israeli oppression with Al-Qaeda, thus denigrating the Palestinian effort to terrorism."

Yes, and rightly so, Mr. Ahmad. The Palestinian "effort" is terrorism, plain and simple. Blowing up innocent civilians -- women, children, the elderly -- is not a courageous struggle of liberation. It is cowardly, it is cruel, it is evil, and it is terrorism. What a disgrace that Mr. Ahmad doesn't recognize that -- but no one ever accused the PLO or its supporters of having moral clarity.

That being said, a sponsor of the resolution said this:

[Arielle] Farber ['03] also said that the phrase "struggle against terrorism" is meant to condemn the suicide bombings which have harmed or killed American citizens visiting Israel.

And what about the suicide bombings that have harmed or killed Israelis? Does the resolution condemn that? Do their murderers not deserve condemnation as much as the murderers of Americans do? All people are equal, you see; but -- even for the sponsors of a pro-Israel petition -- all people are more equal than the Israelis.

From Kiewit

The Office of Alumni Relations is responsible for the creation, maintenance, and general oversight of all Alumni accounts. Information about the Vox Alumni Network is posted at its Web site, located at http://www.alum.dartmouth.org/

All inquiries regarding these accounts - including password and access issues - should be directed to help@alum.dartmouth.org or call (888) 228-6068

Ellen Young

Ammo Day

Do you think The D knows that it reviewed the Grafton County Fish and Game Association on National Ammo Day?

NY Times, wrong again

How out-of-touch can one paper be? The Times ain't faring well in an ESPN.com poll. With 34,229 votes in so far, 86% disagree with an editorial's contention that Tiger Woods should consider skipping the Masters because of the Augusta controversy.

Monday, November 18, 2002

Alumni email outage?

Any Dartlog contributors on campus have any information on the alumni mail server? It has been down for most of the afternoon.

There might be something in the "Computing - Outages" Blitzmail bulletin, but, being an alumnus, I can't check it.

Update: (1:40 AM, Tuesday) Still down. I'm told that there is no "outages" bulletin. Does Kiewit even know about this?

UPenn's webmail is incredibly slow. Given the size of the place, Penn should have at least one Dave Marmaros. Apparently not.

Puh-leeze

I was hyperventilating about this last week.

Kirstein suspended, Emmett Hogan already hyperventilating

Prof. Peter Kirstein of St. Xavier University has been sanctioned by the school's administrstration, reports the Tribune, for sending a vitriolic email to an Air Force Academy cadet. The cadet had emailed Kirstein for assistance in promoting an academic discussion at the academy.

Responded Kirstein:
You are a disgrace to this country and I am furious you would even think I would support you and your aggressive baby-killing tactics of collateral damage. Help you recruit? Who, top guns to reign death and destruction upon nonwhite peoples throughout the world?
...
You are worse than the snipers. You are imperialists who are turning the whole damn world against us.
Kirstein has been "relieved of his teaching responsibilities" for the current semester and officially reprimanded. His record at the University will be reviewed by faculty during the spring term.

Bollinger Caves

Columbia University's president, Lee Bollinger, has finally decided to allow the Army to recruit at the University's law school, in violation, he says, of his own deep moral convictions (and everyone else's, if he is to be believed). Bollinger cited the damage that would result from the loss of 70% of its federal funding if the University refused to allow the Army on campus. Accordingly, Bollinger bravely and courageously abandoned his deep principles.

Would it be too much for this smarmy little demon to say anything nice, anything at all, about the men and women who put their lives on the line so he can pontificate from his cozy tower?

Is this supposed to be reassuring?

"November 18 Hanover Police Press Release:

"Update: Following its investigation into a sexual assault reported to have occurred on November 9th at the Tabard House, the Hanover Police Department is advising that a particular male has been identified as a party with involvement in the incident. The male is a Dartmouth College student. The male's name is not being released at this time. No charges have been filed to date. The investigation is continuing."

They've identified someone "involved" in the assult and aren't arresting him? Wow, I'll sleep better tonight.

Early Admissions

From the AP:
Dartmouth College is standing firm on its early admission policy.
...
Critics of early decision say the process puts too much pressure on students to apply early, before they've had a chance to review all of their options.

[Dartmouth Dean of Admissions Karl] Furstenberg disagrees. He said that by making early decision nonbinding, Yale and Stanford did "nothing to reduce pressure on students."

"I don't think it's as big a step as they're making it out to be," he said.

Sunday, November 17, 2002

A Thanksgiving Experiment

turkey hanging by a string
Word is we're going to be trying something new this year and cooking outside of the kitchen.

Listen to an interview (requires Realplayer) with William Rubel, author of The Magic of Fire, to learn what you could be doing in your fireplace.

The idea is that you skewer your turkey, tie a string to it, and hang it from the ceiling in front of your fireplace. If the string is long enough, the dangling turkey can be made to slowly spin for a few minutes with a single push. Three hours of spinning and basting later, you will have, in Rubel's words, "A perfect roast! A deep, rich color," and his pictures certainly do bear this out.

I'm not making this up. Read the recipe.

We will be cooking at an undisclosed location on campus. If you're going to be around, why not drop a line?

History prof Johnson denied tenure at CUNY - department was looking for "some women that we can live with"

From the NY Sun:
Twenty-three of the nation�s most prominent historians � including Donald Kagan of Yale and Ernest May and Akira Iriye of Harvard � have written a letter to the CUNY chancellor describing the decision to deny tenure to Robert David �KC� Johnson as �disastrous� and �unjust[.]�
...
Mr. Johnson and his defenders say his two offenses against collegiality were objecting to a one-sided college-sponsored panel following the September 11 attacks and suggesting that a search that seemed predetermined to pick a woman � in need of �therapy� or not � instead be conducted on the merits.

�At the end of the day, all universities are the epitome of diversity. But there�s one diversity they don�t have � that�s diversity of opinion,� Mr. Wiesenfeld said.

Not that such things ever happen at Dartmouth...

Hostile environment?

Also via Instapundit, "Why males don't go to college," from the IWF:
Part of the reason it is difficult and unpleasant to be a male college student today is that anti-male bigotry pops up by surprise all the time in the most unlikely places. For example, on my Portuguese final we were presented with some disputes and were expected to discuss possible solutions to them in Portuguese. A couple of the problems were between married couples, and in both situations there was a clear person who was right and a clear person who was wrong. The reader can guess the gender of both offenders without my assistance.

Blackface at UT

Glenn Reynolds (aka Instapundit) links to this Daily Beacon article, which reports that the University will not be initiating disciplinary action against students who donned blackface as part of their Halloween costumes.

Reynolds also highlights this quote from a campus campus, which I'm sure Emmett will love:
Gray also pressed the president on the decision to not levy any punishment on those involved in the incident.

"The Second Amendment gives us the right to own a gun," she said. "If the university can prevent the student body from exercising that right while on campus, why can't it punish people who abuse their First Amendment rights?"

Saturday, November 16, 2002

Last sports update for the week

The Big 2 sports in action today.

Football: Dartmouth loses another close one, this one cause by 2 missed PAT's and a failed 2-point conversion, as they fall to previuosly winless Brown 21-18. This marks the fifth time this year Dartmouth has lost by less than a touchdown (losses by two, three, three, four, and five points). This also marks the 2nd week in a row that missed PAT's have come back to haunt Dartmouth. Last week at Cornell they lost by 2 points after missing a PAT early and then being forced to go for 2 in the 4th quarter (and failing).

Dartmouth (3-6, 2-4) finishes its season against Princeton in New Jersey next Saturday.

Hockey: Dartmouth pulls ahead 3-1 after a strong second period, then manages to hang on with some help from the ref as Cornell dominates the third. After 2 empty-netters, the final ended up 5-2, but the score was not indicative of the closeness of the game. Cornell appeared to tie the game at 3-3 late in the third period but the referee ruled the net had come off its moorings before the puck went in. Dartmouth improves to 3-3-0 (2-2-0 in ECAC), while #9 Cornell loses its first game of the year to fall to 4-1-0 (3-1-0). Dartmouth extended its unbeaten streak against Cornell to 8 games (7-0-1), and that will be put on the line when the team makes the return trip to Ithaca in the 2nd half of the season.

The hockey team returns to action next weekend when they host Yale on Friday and Princeton on Saturday at Thompson. Be sure to bring your tennis balls on Saturday to throw at Princeton's goalie after the first goal.

Censorship at Ohio State

The University decided that an ad placed in its Faculty and Staff directory, which is distributed to students, was unacceptable and had workers remove the offending piece, by hand, from 10,700 of the directories.

Did "Dockside Dolls" cross the line of acceptability or has OSU gone overboard? Decide for yourself.

Saturday Sports Update

Hockey:
Dartmouth blew out Colgate 6-2 last night at Thompson Arena. Lee Stempniak '05 led the way with a hat trick, the first of his career. He also added an assist. Mike Ouellette '06 also had a 4 point game, with a goal and three assists. Darren Gastrock '04 made 32 saves in net for his first win of the year. Dartmouth (2-3-0, 1-2-0 in ECAC) hosts #9 Cornell (4-0-0, 3-0-0) tonight. Cornell is coming off an 8-0 win at Vermont last night. Dartmouth is unbeaten against Cornell since 1998 (6-0-1).

Football:
Dartmouth trails Brown 21-12 early in the 2nd half.
ESPN College Gameday is live from the Penn-Harvard game today. It's the show's first visit to a non D1-A game site. Penn currently leads 34-2 at the half.
For other scores, goto the Ivy League Scoreboard

Friday, November 15, 2002

Re: Who's drunk at Dartmouth?

If the link that I posted yesterday didn't work for you, try this local copy.

Re: Office of Black Student Advising

Where's the office of Institutional Revolution?

Long live the revolution!
Long live the dictatorship of the proletariat...er, student body!

Washington Post

Talcott: You're right, I plumb forgot to post it. While we're on it, however, let's not forget the companion piece by Jay Mathews, in which yours truly gives the most eloquent two-word quote in history.

PS - Menashi, fear not, my response is coming...

ROTC #s Up

Fox News released the following military statistics on increase in ROTC participation in the last fiscal year:

Army: +4.7%
Air Force: +31%
Navy and Marines: +1.5%

Big sports weekend in Hanover

Dartmouth (3-5, 2-3 in Ivy league play) looks to get back to its winning ways at home this weekend in both football and men's hockey. The football team hosts the winless Brown Bears (0-8, 0-5) in its final home game of the year on Saturday at Memorial Stadium.

The hockey team hopes for a repeat of last year's classic weekend when Colgate and Cornell come to town tonight and tomorrow at Thompson Arena. The puck drops at 7:05 EST. Dartmouth (1-3-0, 0-2-0 in ECAC play) is looking to rebound following a pair of losses last weekend to Brown and Harvard. Last year at Thompson Arena Dartmouth upended Cornell 1-0 in OT in the best home game of the year (Jamie Herrington '02 got the lone goal), then followed it up with a 4-3 come-from-behind win over Colgate, with Herrington again scoring the game-winner, this time with 15 seconds left in regulation. Also of note, Dartmouth is 6-0-1 against Cornell since 1998.

Zogby Lecture

The United States and the Arab World: The Growing Crisis in Understanding

Casual sex

"Sex is casual at college papers," says Mary Beth Marklein in USA Today.

Ben Stein vs. Jeffrey Jones

Stein = "Bueller? Bueller?"
Jones = "Bueller!!!!! Bueller!!!! Oh, Bueller!!!"

Beat Brown

Maybe this Sacramento State technique would help the Indians beat the Bears tomorrow.

In the red

Dartmouth shamed in the Washington Post Magazine for intolerance of free speech. Surprised this wasn't posted by our FIRE correspondent.

From the Weekend Update

It would probably be risky for most Greek organizations to advertize something like this...

____________________________________________________

*tHiS SaTuRdaY...
tHe LaDiEs oF tHe PINK aNd tHe GREEN
hAve a VeRy SpEciaL tReat fOr yOu...

~*PiNk FaNtASKEE*~

..LoSe YoUrSeLf iN tHe LaViSh GrOoVe...
pRoMiSeD tO bE a NiGhT yOu'LL nEvEr fOrgEt...

...CuTtEr/ShAbBazZ uNdErGrOunD...
11 PM
DJ CoMpLejO

sHoW oFf YoUr bEsT *BLACK*
aNd/oR
YoUr wiLdeSt *WHITE*
tO reCeive aNd iNduLge iN a SpEciAL LiTtLe
sOmEtHiNg...

....cOme sAtisfy yOuR DeSirE....
yOu wOn'T be DiSappoiNted...

Not overstated in the least, Brother Clark

And at Cornell I have a few friends who established the Cornell Freedom Project to address some of these issues on their campus. Most recently, they petitioned the SA to abolish seats reserved for minority, LGBTQ and international students. They've also tackled affinity housing. And, believe it or not, they're liberals; where Berkeley went wrong, these students are far more genuine in their free speech demands.