Monday, September 30, 2002

Why not New Jersey?

From WCAX (full article):
Two Dartmouth College students were arrested on charges of making and selling more than than 100 fake drivers licenses, according to police in Hanover, New Hampshire.

Friday, September 27, 2002

Return Volley

This is my response to Mike Sevi's criticism of my criticism of Harvard's Summers' response to the recent revival of anti-Semitism.

I know about all of the incidents that Mike Sevi cites. I have been saying for a while that anti-Semitism is both on the rise (in Europe, particularly, but also here in America and, as I'm sure many of you are aware, Canada) and is increasingly shrouded in Leftist pieties.

All of what Mike Sevi says regarding the resurgence of anti-Semitism is true. But it is not related to my point.

The objectionable part of Summers' speech was not talking about any of this. He was, rather, declaring that the issue of the existence of a Jewish state is settled, and that saying anything to the contrary is prima facie anti-Semitic. That's what he said. That is, as I said, intellectual thuggery.

The point that, given recent anti-Jewish incidents, it comes as no surprise that Jews will suspect anti-Semitism to be lurking behind any strident criticism of Israel is well-taken, and understandable. But that does not justify any such easy equation, because at its heart -- if the critic is not anti-Semitic -- it's still invalid, no matter how understandable a mistake it is on the part of Jewish listeners. The case for Israel is strong enough that it doesn't need intellectual contortions to justify itself (this is, after all, what the Palestinians resort to).

Let's take someone who is opposed to Israel occupying the West Bank and Gaza, or even opposed to the very existence of Israel in Palestine: it is quite possible that that person sincerely believes this, in good faith, and that it is not an opinion informed by anti-Semitism.

The case to be made to such a person is: Israel does not "occupy" these lands as an aggressor (it was left holding the bag); they've had more of a chance for peace under the Israelis than under successive Arab governments; the Jews have a strong claim to at least parts of Palestine; etc. etc. etc.

The intellectually dishonest case to be made against such a person is: you're anti-Semitic.

(Incidentally, if the person is indeed motivated by anti-Semitism -- and a disturbing number of Israeli critics are -- then throw the moral book at 'em.)

So, is this Racism?

The Daily Bruin reports on rejected nominees (who were white) to UCLA's student judiciary board:
The applicants - Mark Belgen, Maegen Clark, Michael Filipiak and Owen Paun - were rejected despite no objections to their skills for the positions.

"I'm kind of confused because all of them were considered qualified," [Students Association Council president] Dahle said.

Council members opposing the appointments did not challenge the applicants' qualifications, but recommended a process to include students of more varied backgrounds.

"Race and gender should be taken into consideration," said Cultural Affairs Commissioner Robbie Clark. "I would like newer people, but (the applicants) are qualified."

Ding-dong the Witch is Dead

Today (or, more accurately, a few weeks ago) the bell tolls on the Women's Resource Center. After a brief conversation with former WRC director Giavanna Munafo, the Review has learned that the WRC is no more.

No, the Dean of the College, under whose auspices the WRC operated, didn't violently come to his senses. The program's just been renamed. What was the WRC is now the Center for Women and Gender.

"It's a soft roll-out right now," says Munafo, explaining why few on campus are yet aware of the change. "The message will be more distributed to campus in the fall." The Center's website has not yet been updated.

Fans of the Center's lascivious schedule need not worry that the new name portends a change in offerings. "It's just more accurately a reflection of what we do and what we've done," says Munafo. She named the Center's "Men's Project" as among its offerings that didn't quite fit beneath the former moniker.

Munafo also added that men have been welcome at "ninety-nine percent of [the WRC's] events."

Your reporter, having attended many, many WRC events, rarely, as a man, felt welcome at the WRC, especially when threatened with feminist-wielded office furniture. But maybe that's all changed by now.

Fine, Let's

Mike Sevi '02 responds to Emmett's earlier posting on Harvard pres Larry Summer's anti-antisemitism speech:
First, you completely take President Summers' comments out of context (an easy way to start a debate). What he is talking about in that quote is the supposed decline of global anti-Semitism (which I believe can be more accurately termed anti-Jewishness or perhaps anti-Judaism) since the Holocaust. Without much thought, he had attributed it to the enlightenment of man and the progress of civilization only to be sadly mistaken when he finds that in the year 2002 Jewish synagogues are being vandalized, desecrated, and burnt to the ground in almost every major country in Europe. He then goes on to say that he's been forced to reevaluate his earlier belief in the death of Jew-hating. In his own words, "[T]oday, I am less complacent. Less complacent and comfortable because there is disturbing evidence of an upturn in anti-Semitism globally, and also because of some developments closer to home."

Second, I agree that crying "anti-Semitism" every time someone says something anti-Israel or harms a Jewish individual is ridiculous. But equally ridiculous is not recognizing as anti-Semitic what truly is, and when it comes to Israel, sadly, those who hate the Jewish State very often hate the Jewish people just as much.

Consider these words, which I initially wrote in response to a somewhat similar comment made by Desmond Tutu last year. A rougher form originally appeared in The Dartmouth on May 16, 2002:

"In his May 14 interview with The Dartmouth, 'Tutu Tells of Apartheid Struggle,' Desmond Tutu states that with regards to Israel, 'The minute you say something critical, they say you are anti-Semitic.'

This is quite an exaggeration, but it is true that sometimes the label 'anti-Semitic' is inappropriately applied. Other times, however, an intelligent person cannot help but notice that anti-Israel sentiments are either conflated with or used to mask anti-Jewish sentiments.

Look at what happened at a recent rally at San Francisco State University. While Jewish students rallied in support of Israel, pro-Palestinian demonstrators encircled them and proceeded to shout racist comments at the Jewish students. Many of the comments I would never repeat, but the tamer ones included, �Go back to Russia, Jew!� and �Hitler did not finish the job!�

After the rally ended, the mob tightly ringed-in the Jewish students and continued shouting racist remarks at them. Luckily, the campus police were close by, and they quickly intervened to safely escort the Jewish students away from the mob. The president of SFSU's official account of the incident includes many of the details I won't repeat and underscores my point: being anti-Israel and hating Jewish people are often two wings of the same bird.

In another case of this unfortunately common phenomenon, I point to that bastion of liberal values and openness, U.C. Berkeley. After several pro-Palestinian rallies, a brick was thrown through the window of Berkeley's Hillel, the center for Jewish life on campus. Later, the words �Hate Jews� were scrawled on the door of the Hillel. And finally, the son of the campus rabbi was beaten up on campus.

Next, let's look at the international scene, where Europe has taken an anti-Israel line recently. Along with the increase in support for the Palestinians has come a plethora of anti-Jewish attacks. In France alone, in just the first five months of this year, over 400 attacks on Jewish citizens, synagogues, schools and businesses have been reported. Similarly, Great Britain, Belgium and Denmark have all witnessed renewed anti-Jewish attacks on their soil. Is it sill any wonder why the Jewish people are put on guard when anti-Israel protesters passionately vilify the Jewish state?

The truth is that both domestically and internationally anti-Jewish individuals often use anti-Israel activism to veil their racism behind seemingly legitimate political views. On Sunday, the Washington Post reported that 250 neo-

Nazis and white supremacists rallied in support of the Palestinian people and against American aid to Israel. Do you really think these skinheads are simply concerned, pro- Palestinian citizens?

Though clearly not all pro-Palestinian demonstrators are anti-Jewish -- and no one should think that I'm claiming that -- Mr. Tutu [or in this case Mr. Hogan] would be wise to take note of the numerous examples I have illustrated here, and not portray the Jewish community as crying wolf. Time again, even on supposedly liberal American college campuses, we have seen that what starts out as anti-Israel ends up as blatantly, and even violently, anti-Jewish.

Dorm locks: What about sprinklers?

Writes Dartlog reader James Killmond:
I saw in today's D that the College spent $500,000 to put in a pass-key door lock system. Perfect for monitoring student movements, if you like that sort of thing, but I would like to have seen the money spent an a much more important safety issue, sprinklers--which the College has not made
enough of a priority.

I believe there is solid story here. About two and half years ago, there was fire in a Seton Hall dormitory that did not have sprinklers. Three students were killed. At the time, the College said they had a five-year plan to fully outfit the dorms with sprinklers, which I think is ridiculous and unacceptable. Isn't the Greek housing required to have sprinklers? Haven't there been more fires? What about off-campus housing? Doesn't the College have regulations on that too? It may be hard to install them when the dorms are occupied, but isn't the College causing the problem by forcing people to live in sub-standard dorms in the summer, when it could be closing the dorms and installing the sprinklers? At $30,000 a building (one D article put the cost of outfitting the Gold Coast at $100,000), what
is taking so long?

Yours, James

Wright

Maybe I'm misunderstanding him, but Wright seems to be arguing that if white people thought of themselves as part of the white race, rather than as raceless individuals, they'd be less likely to feel victimized by, and resentful of, affirmative action. Has he, or any of the other people who push this notion, ever offered an explanation (as opposed to an assertion) for why this would be? I'd be curious to see something along those lines. It is, after all, the opposite of what one would expect based on America's history, where the more closely people have associated themselves with their racial and ethnic groups, the more likely they have been to agitate in favor of the interests of that group. Certainly, the history of white America doesn't inspire much optimism that it will be the exception.

For a broader question, isn't it incumbent on advocates of more white identity to explain the correlation between a decline in white identity and an increase in tolerance for minority groups over the past half-century? Correlation is not causation of course, but there's a clear prima facie argument to be made that it is precisely a lack of racial awareness in whites that has made most of the progress on racial issues in this country possible. Their response to this would be interesting, if anyone knows of one.

Thursday, September 26, 2002

Re: Women's Resource Center...?

It seems the WRC still has the same name; however, they have inaugurated a new "Men's Project" for (ahem) allies.

Women's Resource Center...?

I know this isn't online yet, but I remember hearing that the WRC is now called something else entirely. The new name involves "gender," I think. Anyone know more about this?

President Fanon?

Dartmouth's illustrious (and, it appears, newly-hirsute) president, Jim Wright, gave his Convocation Remarks on Tuesday, September 24, 2002. Incoming Dartmouth freshmen had barely set foot on campus when they were told, by the College's highest official, what they should and should not think about the sensitive and personal issue of race. Let's take a walk through this gem of a speech, shall we? (Warning: A paean to freedom of thought and opinion it is not.)

(read more...)
WRC and Shaheen
Actually, as a non-profit the College isn't allowed to endorse political candidates, and an endorsement on the official email Bulletin of a branch of the College would theoretically jeopardize its tax-exempt status. Obviously, that would never happen over something this minor, and Munafo actually worded her message fairly carefully to avoid an explicit endorsement. Still if anyone knows someone with the Sununu campaign at Dartmouth, you might suggest they ask the WRC, in the spirit of the non-profit tax exemption the College makes full use of, to post information on how to support his candidacy as well.

For Review Staff: There's a potential article in the extent to which the resources of the College are used to promote the candidates of particular parties. It's a non-ideological problem (I doubt they're be many departments and offices shilling for the GOP, but there could be some), and it would be nice to know before the next time I'm pumped for contributions by the Alumni Office.

In reponse to Rollo's post

I personally find it appalling that a group associated with the college would endorse any one candidate. If "all women" are supposed to be able to use the "resources" of the Women's Resource Center, they shouldn't feel that in taking advantage of whatever the center offers that they must also support a Democrat for Senate. Why anyone would want to go to the Women's Resource Center at all to begin with, well that's another story entirely...

Rollo's post

If she is elected, wouldn't that mean that the terrorists have already won?

Wednesday, September 25, 2002

It's one thing if they want to make an argument on why a candidate is correct on a given issue, but does the Women's Resource Center really have to campaign for candidates?

"Jeanne Shaheen, Democratic Governor of NH, is running for a seat in the
US Senate. This race has been slated by many as one of the most
important races in the country because control of the Senate is at
stake.

"Those interested in supporting Shaheen's candidacy should contact
Rebecca Perkins '04, Josh Marcuse '04 or, in the fall, Josh Stern '04."

from a Blitz Bulletin posted by Giavanna Munafo.

Tuesday, September 24, 2002

History in Good Hands

Many of you may have missed the changeover at the helm of the History Department recently. Heide Whelan (whose name is, curiously, misspelled on the department website) has assumed control as chair, and David Lagomarsino is serving as vice-chair. Professor Whelan is Dartmouth's Russia expert, and she is masterful. Her dry sense of humor is evident from her biography on the department website. ("Dostoevsky, Tolstoy, and Russian tank units stationed half a mile away from my childhood home first provoked my interest in Russia and its people." As well they would.) Of note, '05s: Next summer term, she will be teaching her patented History 59,"The History of Warfare".

Professor Lagomarsino's fields of expertise defy enumeration, although he seems fond of early modern Europe and Spain's Golden Era. His infectious love for his subject manner is -- well, infectious. And he has consistently been ranked as one of Dartmouth's finest professors by the discriminating staff of The Dartmouth Review. No Dartmouth student can afford not to take one of his outstanding classes.

While at Dartmouth, I took classes with both of these professors, so I speak with some authority when I say that they both have a deep and abiding commitment to educating Dartmouth students as priority number one (something that, we know, will only become more and more rare). The department is in fine hands.

Let's Start a Debate

For fun, I think I'll post the following speech delivered by Harvard's president, Larry Summers, recently of Clinton admin fame. This speech was delivered on September 17, 2002, and has occasioned an outrage in many quarters. In the speech, he equates the call for divestment from Israel (aided by -- you guessed it! Noam Chomsky himself) with anti-Semitism. He even goes so far as to say the following:

"Without thinking about it much, I attributed all of this to progress -- to an ascendancy of enlightenment and tolerance. A view that prejudice is increasingly put aside. A view that while the politics of the Middle East was enormously complex, and contentious, the question of the right of a Jewish state to exist had been settled in the affirmative by the world community."

I think the introductory clause to his first sentence sums it up nicely.

More to the point, it is quite clear that "the question of the right of a Jewish state ot exist" has NOT been settled -- if it had been, we wouldn't see Palestinian mothers sending their sons off to kill themselves and, while they're at it, as many Jews as possible.

Now, you'd really be hard-pressed to find someone more pro-Israeli than me. I love Sharon, I don't think there should be a Palestinian state (at least not in the medium term; security risk and all), and I think that the Israeli government is the only honorable government in the whole region (not a difficult feat to accomplish, granted). But it is intellectual thuggery to suggest that disagreement on this issue amounts to anti-Semitism. This is the tactic used by the multi-culti Left when they accuse conservatives who oppose affirmative action of racism. In neither case is it honest or acceptable.

I have my opinion, and I hold it strongly; but it's silly to pretend that the issue has "been settled."

Sunday, September 22, 2002

MIT's gift to the world

MIT's Open Courseware initiative (a good overview from the BBC) is the kind of thing that more universities ought to be doing. As other college, universities, and online schools charge hundreds or even thousands of dollars per credit, MIT will be giving away all of their course materials, including lecture notes and videos, for free:
"I genuinely think there was an 'a-ha' moment when they said our mission was actually to enhance education," said Anne Margulies, Executive Director of OCW.

"Why don't we, instead of trying to sell our knowledge over the internet, just give it away."
Dartmouth should take this seriously (regardless of its "mission"), as the college and its faculty have a lot to offer less-privileged students. Vox clamantis in deserto, right?

Tuesday, September 17, 2002

Music, File-Sharing, and the Bastards at USC

iTunes Publisher is a neat little Mac program that puts out an HTML index of all the music on one's computer.

Here are my MP3s. Imagine if everyone at Dartmouth did this; it would be almost as good as having Napster back.

As Dartmouth has done its best to "throttle" file-sharing programs and severely slow down music trading, USC has banned it altogether. Though Kazaa (or Gnutella, Soulseek, etc.) may be effectively crippled on both networks, the two strategies underscore a big difference: Dartmouth recognizes that most file-sharing is secondary to its academic mission, gives file-sharing traffic a reduced priority on the network, and respects the privacy of its students by not prying into their data. USC, on the other hand, a priori considers its students to be petty crooks and proceeds logically from there to investigation and disciplinary threats.

Of course, there are unintended consequences of USC's policy (beyond angry students). First off, file-sharing is actually a pretty hot research topic right now. It's called P2P, and even IBM and Microsoft are taking stabs at it. Networks like Gnutella are useful in researching topics like scalability and network architecture. Apparently, USC isn't too involved in this sort of thing.

So, perhaps another consequence is more relevent: file-sharing need not be copyright infringement, and such legal use is indiscriminately blocked at USC. Then again, USC (especially the law school) is known for its close relationship with the entertainment industry, and so this may not be entirely unintended. RIAA considers every file sent over the Internet to be a tiny bit of lost revenue, whether the file was illegally copied or not. Unfortunately, the USC policy does decrease the University's exposure to lawsuits that might be filed by the record labels and other content owners.

When will Dartmouth's risk-averting tendencies overcome its concern for student freedom? Pretty soon, if recent administrative decisions (e.g., dorm locks, keg jump, etc.) are any indication. On the other hand, I get the impression that those managing Dartmouth's computer network are basically techno-libertarians and that College administrators, generally clueless about technogy, aren't even aware that there's much to administrate online. (perhaps a reason why Dartmouth is the most tech-intensive colleges around without really trying) At best, this just means that Dartmouth won't be proactive in restricting its students' online activities. But when RIAA starts directing serious legal threats at other schools, Risk Management will get the message.

And that will be that. Back to cassette tapes.

Hmmm, for some reason no Nina Nastasia tracks made it into my music index. Must be a bug.

More on Press Bias

CNS News is featuring a story on Dartmouth Professor Jim A. Kuypers' forthcoming book, "Press Bias and Politics: How the Media Frame Controversial Issues." You can read it here.

Monday, September 16, 2002

Get Shorty

From Taegan Goddard's Political Wire:
The Hotline reports a new Boston Herald poll shows Robert Reich [Dartmouth '68] fading dramatically in the last few days before Tuesday's Democratic gubernatorial primary in Massachusetts. The results: Shannon O'Brien now leads with 34 percent, compared to Reich's 16 percent. Warren Tolman has moved into second place with 21 percent and Thomas Birmingham is at 17 percent.

U.S. News Rankings

Yes, we know Dartmouth has been ranked #9 by the magazine this year. No, it's not news, which is why word of it wasn't posted here. (When's the last time you saw a TV station announce that regularly scheduled programming has not been preempted?) And, yes, we do know that Dartmouth would be #1 were it in the "Liberal Arts" category and competing against schools that consider the implementation of gender-neutral third-person singular pronouns to be a major campus issue.

Since that's clear, you can stop emailing us about it. Deal?

Saturday, September 14, 2002

The Top 5 Rules of Etiquette for Freshmen


5. Travel in groups of four or less (corollary: no Hanover restaurant will take a reservation for "umm, I dunno, maybe 15 or 20?").
4. If there's a line, spend no more three minutes using a public Blitz computer (addition: opening a web browser for any reason gives anyone in line license to kill you).
3. Ask for a beer. If you're at a fraternity or sorority, remember that you are a guest.
2. Check to see if a Blitzmail nickname is in use before taking it. Worth repeating: check to see if a Blitzmail nickname is in use before taking it.
1. If anyone asks, you were at Phi Tau (practice this before you need to use it: "This guy in a cape kept bringing me beers.").

Email in any that I missed. Maybe Larry will publish these in the hopefully-forthcoming Freshman Issue.

Friday, September 13, 2002

Let's Import a Tradition.

By the way, Talcott's link on "Wah-Hoo-Wah" includes a reference to what's called the "Not Gay" chant at the University of Virginia. I asked a coworker of mine who graduated from UVa what this was. UVa's alma mater, sung to the tune of "Auld Lang Syne," is "the Good Old Song" (whence comes Wah-Hoo-Wah). Apparently, there's a line in the song that goes, "We come from old Virginia, / Where all is bright and gay." The precocious tykes at UVa have taken to screaming, "NOT GAY!" after these lines, and -- so I'm told -- the stands at football games generally erupt into a frenzy of heterosexuality-affirming and/or homosexuality-denying behavior. Some feel that this brings shame on UVa and is very untoward behavior. Perhaps. But no one can ever accuse those plucky Virginians of even so much as a genuflection to political correctness. That deserves a "Wah-Hoo-Wah," I think.

To be clear

The Wired article doesn't connect EKT with the lewd study break exchange.

On Fox News Watch

An anchor to Sen. George Allen of Virginia: "Wah-Hoo-Wah." Makes sense

What's up at EKT?

Wired Magazine just gushes in this feature article about how wireless networking and BlitzMail have made Dartmouth one of the most tech-savvy (and tech-transparent) places around. Several excerpts:
The sisters of Epsilon Kappa Theta are definitely up to something. The wireless cards in the sorority house's computers each move an average of 222 Mbytes of data per day � only one other spot on campus, an administrative building, moves more than 150 Mbytes a day per card. An MP3 server, perhaps? Maybe they're watching streamed video on a big-screen TV � or using high-bandwidth Internet radio to supply the music for all-night parties. They could be trying to corner the market on Diesel jeans via sorority eshopping excursions, or running a molecular modeling program for a pharmaceutical company. We may never know for sure. Since the college has a strict policy against monitoring student computer use unless investigating complaints, university officials couldn't tell me what's going on. The sisters of EKT did not respond to my prying emails. So for now, their secret remains safe.
And, the one that everyone will be quoting:
What looming exam could hope to compete with the following hormone-fueled, technology-enabled midterm BlitzMail exchange, forwarded by Dartmouth senior Zachary Berke?

Male student: i'm so fucking exhausted from all this studying ... aaaaaah.

Female student: all this studying makes me wanna fuck ... aaaaah ; ) ... want a little study break? ; )


Arresting stuff.
Indeed. (Thanks to Ben patch for the link)

Wednesday, September 11, 2002

Shiny, and Whiney



Billy McKinney, the infamous father of Cynthia McKinney, on losing yesterday�s primary race in Georgia:

�I did not expect this because I expected black folks to turn out for me. They did not turn out for me. They wanted a Klansman, a son of the Confederacy.�

First the �J-E-W-S� slighted him, now the blacks. Helluva �civil rights leader� there!

and a warm hello to BWW...but $250k? that's outrageous

Tuesday, September 10, 2002

Oy Vey, This Again

The author, Ben Wallace-Wells (HM '96, Dartmouth '00), responds:
By February of my freshman year at Dartmouth, I'd wandered by the Review offices on a couple of occasions, mainly out of boredom and flickering literary yearnings brought on by a too-literal reading of This Side of Paradise. I'd contributed exactly one substantial piece to the Review, in which I'd been dispatched to a College sponsored drag ball, in drag, to report on what went on. What I saw became the irrefutable, though admittedly thin thesis of the article: College-Sponsored Drag Balls Are Lame.

On the basis of this experience, the paper's editor, James Panero (Trinity '94), decided that my intellect was perfectly calibrated to tackle the knotty, complex issues of social ambition and cultural gigantism embodied in the New York private school scene. As part of a Worst of Dartmouth issue that never ran (thankfully, since it would have been pretty embarrassingly emblematic of the Review's attitude-towards-world at that point - a shrill, nasty sneer), he asked me to write an article titled Dartmouth's Worst Feeder School. The idea was that we knew a lot of kids, like us, from New York prep schools at Dartmouth; that we were, as a group, regarded mostly as charming assholes; and thought it might be funny and interesting to detail the particular roots of that asshole-hood. I picked Horace Mann because I had to pick something; because I figured I was really making fun of myself and my own experience and so I might as well name it as such; and because, well, frankly, because there was at that time at Dartmouth a particular heir and Horace Mann alum who pranced about campus, eyeballs assiduously scanning own rectum, completely oblivious to the fact that he was enacting, in pretty embarrassing thoroughness, the New York Prep Idiom, and to the fact that he had come to define, for a lot of Dartmouth, the schmucky, pretentious prep school fop. Weekends off, he rented a Porsche to visit his girlfriend at Smith. Very Stradlater, with a no-sweat-ethic and an ultramodern twist.

My effort, "Dartmouth's Worst Feeder School," was pretty amateurish and unduly nasty. It was also a little too serious towards the end, in its sociological pretensions - I should have made it more self-evident that this was to be taken as a joke. My article didn't break much new journalistic ground - at that point in the mid-90s, New York Magazine devoted a full two-thirds of its staff to the making-fun-of NY-Prep-School-Kids beat. This story was different in that it named one school as emblematic of that whole culture, and that it was written by an 18-year old first-timer, me, who wasn't too good at what he was doing.

People at Horace Mann got mad; they wrote letters, they wrote e-mails, they called me anti-Semitic, they complained to the parents of my friends, who by way of reply said things like "He seemed like such a nice guy," which is the thing people say about someone who's just pulled a Gary Gilmore. It bugged me for a little while, but in the end I mostly laughed. Here's why: There are some things which are unmatchably glorious about schools like Horace Mann. In dozens of different ways and for dozens of different reasons these schools deliver to their graduates a sense that what they have to say is essentially important - metaphysically important, nearly - and what they think about issues, the world, may not only echo but may lead broader opinion. That's an intoxicating, exciting and wonderful thing for a 17-year old to be exposed to. I'm grateful for it. But the endless primping and constant buffering that schools like Horace Mann provide is a little much, (black tie parties at the Plaza for 13-year olds? a 35-million dollar capital campaign for a day school?), and can also be aesthetically off-putting and socially problematic, mostly because the kids believe the hype. And so we land at 18 full of the sense that we are really really important, with all the attendant positive and negative repercussions. I wouldn't trade having gone to Horace Mann for anything. But it would be nice if the $250,000 of education could buy us all a dash of self-awareness, too.

So I was a jerk, it was a nasty and not very good article, and, yes, it probably would have been a little more merited if I'd written the story about Dalton. But six years on, its time to stop getting so huffy about this. Horace Mann is an institution far more robust than I, and with a remade, $35 million campus and a current ranking as the seventh best feeder school in the country, its hardly suffered a death blow from the story.

It's also true that if I'd written this about Dalton everyone at Horace Mann would be nodding very gravely about the story - it's the naming that hurts.

Since I'm pretty much out of touch with most people from the Review at this point, I'd like to wish you all well and plug my essay, Creating September 12, which appears in a book called At Ground Zero, edited by Chris Bull and Sam Erman and available at Barnes and Noble's (look for the pupil-burstingly-bright 9/11 display), on Amazon, and at fine and mediocre bookstores everywhere. Buy the book. I could use the royalties to help get my Ford out of hock.

Dartmouth's Worst, Etc., Etc.

Above is a response to the great Horace Mann debate by Ben Wallace-Wells. Its long but but well worth the read. I feel I should preface it, just to clarify any confusion, by noting that the article in question was actually written in April of 1997.

More on "Dartmouth's Worst Feeder School"

Three years later and we're still getting hate mail; Ben should be proud. For those who don't know, Ben actually did graduate from Horace Mann. Really. He's even engaged in professional journalism and regularly producing stories like this gem, "Kidnapped tortoise makes slow escape," for the Philadelphia Inquirer.
Since I don't have the time or inclination to "sic" this letter, trust that it is published verbatim. It's funnier that way, regardless:
To whom it may concern,

I was shocked when I received an a-mail about the article written in your newspaper, but I was utterly disgusted after reading it's contents. As a so-called Gucci clad snob I find myself with my jaw wide open as I read this article. It is understandable that a superior school such as Horace Mann would receive its fair share of scrutiny every so often, and I myself have read many of these articles, but I am curious as to where you found your facts. We are not dismissed early on Fridays and are not devoid of school events. I have attended my school pep rally before each Homecoming weekend, watched our football team at its best, attended our Winter Formal Dance, and played on Varsity Water Polo and Swimming, of which I was the captain. Most students are on sports teams and practice each day taking their teams very seriously. But first and foremost we are at Horace Mann to learn. Our school does not give out ! athletic scholarships only academic. Students are into their work and excited for college because you do not attend Horace Mann unless you are interested in learning and continued growth in a college setting. At Horace Mann I made incredible friends, went to parties, studied, and was given opportunities others seldom get. I never wore black pants to school, never drove a BMW or a Lexii, and I was never tutored each night of the week. I graduated with immense pride and gratitude for my wonderful experience and felt a great appreciation to my parents and teachers who guided me through my years at Horace Mann. After a well balanced normal four year high school experience I do not find that my parents try to live vicariously through me in the hope that I will become the "new elite" but I do miss Horace Mann. For whoever wrote your article has never truly been part of the Horace Mann community and witnessed its inspiring atmosphere. My seni! or year I watched a best friend in Little Shop of Horrors the winter musical, watched another play the violin in a recital, blasted our stereos in the cafeteria while dancing on the benches with friends, meditated in history class, and played Frisbee on the field. And this only represents a small fraction of what goes on each day. You cannot write an article at Horace Mann unless you have been through it and if you have and still come out with this opinion it is only because you never made the effort to get involved and missed out on what Horace Mann was about and left jealous of your class mates who were able to enjoy themselves.

I hope that you will review your articles from now on before publishing them and make sure your writers portray their information more accurately.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Kahn
A proud Horace Mann Graduate

Monday, September 09, 2002

Elsewhere

Wall Street Journal:
For the second straight year, Dartmouth's Tuck School of Business was ranked ahead of Harvard, Yale and Columbia Universities. Recruiters gave the Hanover, NH, program high marks for producing graduates who excel in such areas as communication, teamwork and strategic thinking. Ranking behind Dartmouth is the University of Michigan (no.2), Carnegie Mellon University (no.3), Northwestern University's Kellogg School (no.4) and University of Pennsylvania's Wharton School (no.5).

Also: WSJ/Harris PR

Austin Statesman:
Dartmouth College was third [in a survey of universities that have profited from tech research] with $68.4 million, most of that from sales of stock in biotech company Medarex, which had given Dartmouth equity in re- turn for patent licenses.

AP: Tuck's Paul Argenti on Schwab's recent television campaign:
If you look at how people are looking at business, it's probably not a good time to be trying to build your reputation and credibility in the financial services sector.

Mercury News:
During frigid winter mornings as a Dartmouth student, Teevens ['79] delivered newspapers at 5 a.m., had hockey practice at 6 and was in class at 9. At Stanford, his day begins at 6:30 a.m. and ends at 11 p.m., after he has returned every phone call and responded to every e-mail. He sleeps just enough to justify the cost of a pillow.
...
Teevens climbed the coaching ladder with the speed of a four-minute miler. He spent four seasons (1981-84) as offensive coordinator at Boston University, then led Maine to its first back-to-back winning seasons in 21 years. In '87, Athletic Director Ted Leland lured Teevens back to Dartmouth, and Teevens produced two Ivy League titles in four years.

Also: SF Chronicle, SJ Mercury (again), Boston Globe


Dartobserver:
Finally, in what way is Jeffrey Hart "rancourous and ridiculous"? Smiling through the Cultural Catastrophe, despite its title, contains almost no polemics against multiculturalism. It is a learned and passionate defense of the Great Books, and is more well-written than The Western Canon. As for his articles in the Review, well, I think they're very good. Just because you disagree with them doesn't mean that they're "rancourous and ridiculous," yes?

Nemours Foundation: DMS's Paul B. Batalden, MD, wins the 2002 Alfred I. duPont Award for Excellence in Children's Health Care.

The Sun-Sentinel:
"Once people really begin to think about what invading Iraq is about, they are going to come to the conclusion this is not what America does. To me this is tremendously heartening," [says Dartmouth's Ron Edsforth].

Media Bias.

Dartmouth Professor Jim A. Kuypers has a book about to be released called
Press Bias and Politics: How the Media Frame Controversial Issues. The book examines press bias with regards to two controversial issues -- race and homosexuality -- that never receive fair and equitable analysis from the Fourth Estate. Several fellow '01s may remember this book from a seminar on conservative rhetoric that Professor Kuypers taught our senior spring; we read an excerpt from the draft that covered a June 1998 interview with Trent Lott on the Armstrong Williams Show. (Many of you will remember that interview; it caused a mild sensation when Lott said that homosexuality was a "sin" and compared it to disorders like kleptomania. Activists went apoplectic.)

The book draws some interesting and unexpected conclusions, to wit: "The mainstream press in America operate within a narrow range of liberal beliefs. Those with more conservative views will certainly feel the brunt of the press's bias. However, those who embrace moderate political beliefs will be hurt when they step to the right of the press position. The press will actively help certain politicians and social leaders on the left who espouse the same view of the country that the press has adopted. However, those who step beyond this narrow brand of liberal reporting, moving even further to the left, will be ignored or denigrated. In this manner, then, the American press acts to shut out the full range of political voices in the country."

Watch for reviews.

Sunday, September 08, 2002

Dartmouth's Worst Feeder?

Anyone have any idea where BWW can be reached? He's been getting fan mail:
To Benjamin Wallace-Wells and whoever thinks he is capable of writing:

I am currently a senior at the Horace Mann School. I have just read your article, "Dartmouth's Worst Feeder School." To be honest, I do not have the time (five hours of homework tonight!) to sit here and correct all of the lies that you have just written. Rest assure, when I have the time to do so, I will. In the interim, let me just say that it is a disgrace that a school of your caliber would print an article ridiculing others that strive for academic excellence.
Respectfully Submitted,
Jenny Aaron

Friday, September 06, 2002

Flag-color ribbons, national anthem "offensive" at Berkeley

So reported the Cal Patriot on the university's plans for a September 11th observence:
"We thought that [red, white, and blue ribbons] may be just too political, too patriotic," said Hazel Wong, chief organizer for the Associated Students of the University of California (ASUC). "We didn't want anything too centered on nationalism-anything that is 'Go U.S.A.'"

Wong said the event organizers are "trying to steer away" from anything political, and that, she said, includes singing the National Anthem and displaying the red, white, and blue. She said they don't want politics disrupting mourning and grieving.
Now Berkeley's Chancellor responds to defend the University: "The central allegation of The California Patriot is that the University of California, Berkeley is unpatriotic in commemorating the events of September 11. This allegation is wrong."

So is it no longer interdict at Berkeley to wear a red, white, and blue ribbon or to sing the National Anthem? That allegation is, well, so far unaddressed by the university, but the Patriot is optimistic. (via Instapundit)

Thursday, September 05, 2002

Diversity is Muskets, Rifles, and Pistols

NR's Dave Kopel on The University of Wisconsin's refusal to allow the West Virginia Mountaineer, a sports mascot, to fire his (unloaded) musket:
"[D]iversity" also includes people who do diverse things � such as the approximately 50 percent of the American population which participates in America's culture of responsible firearms use and ownership.
Of course, this wouldn't be the issue at Dartmouth. The nascent (last I saw) Southern Society or some such group would probably protest the whole thing as being insensitive to "mountain-dwelling peoples" and as promoting "demeaning regional stereotypes."

Unrelated: Heard from several sources last month: "'Racist': the new 'faggot.'" Unfortunately true.

Indeed

"Larry Scholer, editor in chief of the Dartmouth Review, long the best-known conservative newspaper on America's campuses, says, 'There could be problems with what we print if we were funded by the school.' Which may be taken as a bit of an understatement."

Wednesday, September 04, 2002

Dartmouth Weblogs

Dartmouth's director of communications services has a weblog.

Know of any other Dartmouth students, faculty, administrators, or alumni with frequently updated sites? Let us know, and we will link to them on the left of this page.

Tuesday, September 03, 2002

Dartmouth representation in Albany?

Newsday reported last week that Dan Mahony has moved out of state and Tom Golisano will be running without a Conservative Lieutenant Governor running mate. Now, Andrew Cuomo is out, leaving H. Carl McCall '58 as the Dems' candidate versus Pataki.

Monday, September 02, 2002

The Socialist Holiday

The history of Labor Day.
More: "While in the United States and Canada, Labor Day still continues to be observed on the first Monday in September, rest of the world observes it on May 1 or other dates."

RSS for The Dartmouth

It seems like nobody at the D has any idea how their website works, which means there's little chance of them creating an RSS feed for those of us who use aggregators.

Of course, we could just do it ourselves, like we did for Girls are Pretty (RSS).

Sunday, September 01, 2002

Alumni Blitzmail down

It seems like the Alumni BlitzMail server is down. Maybe somebody with email access could let Kiewit know?

Great timing: just two days before I get my UPenn account.

Update: Fixed, as of 9/2 at 4 PM.

Elsewhere

The Observer:
"When a child babbles, it's not just trying to get motor control," [Dartmouth neuroscientist Laura Ann Petitto] says. Babies are "literally trying to say the sounds" they hear, and trying to make sense of "the patterns of sounds in the world around them."
Stories also from CNN, the Salt Lake Tribune, the Boston Globe, and the Telegraph.

The Washington Post:
If the careful, unifying, well-spoken, Dartmouth-educated Carl McCall hasn't earned a shot at the [New York] governorship, who has? Anthony Weiner, a congressman who represents parts of Queens and Brooklyn, described McCall as "exactly the kind" of black politician that moderate white voters have always claimed to be looking for.
Also in the Post: "Top New York Democrats Face a Collision in Futility":
"I don't know anything about these guys," says Anna Blanchie, a lifelong Democrat who has pasted a Pataki sticker on her very minimal halter top. "Why vote against Pataki?"


The NY Times (carried by the SF Chronicle):
More than two months after a national advisory panel recommended vaccinating thousands of health care and emergency workers against smallpox as a precaution against a bioterrorist attack, state and local health officials are waiting for the government to announce its official policy... Now "it's a hurry up and wait" situation, said the panel's chairman, Dr. John F. Modlin of Dartmouth Medical School.


Sciencenews: "The new investigation indicates that left-brain networks assume primary responsibility for memories and knowledge about oneself, including the key visual distinction between 'me' and 'others,' says a team of neuroscientists led by David J. Turk of Dartmouth College"

allAfrica.com: Tuck prof. Richard d'Aveni writes on corporate "spheres of influence."

The Manchester Union Leader: On the Indians' quarterback prospects this season:
Early indications are fifth-year senior Brian Mann (6-2, 205 pounds) will be battling for the job with University of Wisconsin transfer Scott Willie (6-3, 205 pounds), a junior.

Though Mann, who missed last season with a broken hand, ranks fifth in school history with 2,999 passing yards, the bet here is that by midseason there�ll be a lot of cheese lovers on the Hanover campus.