Thursday, July 25, 2002

Hey, Osama, C'mon Over.....

The City Council of Boulder Colorado is discouraging its police force from working with federal agents investigating terrorism.

Monday, July 22, 2002

Now that's interesting

Readers have been finding their way to our history of Green Key article (Green Key: 103 years of debauchery) by searching Google for the keywords "dartmouth college coeds."

Now, who would ever do a search like that?

To peruse the linklists by article, check out this directory.
TitleabovePosthere

John Walker's Blues

Former heroin junkie-come-country music legend, Steve Earle, tired of the hot water country stars have been in with their ballads to America (a la Charlie Daniels: This ain't a rag, its a flag, and I don't wear it on my head), has turned traitor by recording, "John Walker's Blues," in which the former American Taliban-er is likened to Jesus Christ. In the words of Hank Williams Jr., "I'd like to spit some Beechnut in that dude's eye!"

Anyone interested in shooting skeet using my extensive Steve Earle record collection can drop me a line.

Because we can

Another summer update to Dartreview.com:

All articles now support backlinking (click on the link if you're unsure of what this is) automatically. No need to do anything other than link. Look here for an example; it points back here, to this page and the archive page.

Forthcoming updates include plea pop-ups for donations (don't worry, only on your first visit to the site), more backlinking enhancements, many more RSS feeds with full Radio support (if you haven't tried Radio, it's worth doing so), and more than a few behind-the-scenes speed-ups.

Yes, there are some benefits to unemployment.

Comments?

Update (5 minutes later): spotted the first bug. Yes, links from blogger (the tool we use to maintain this site) will be blocked...tomorrow.

Friday, July 19, 2002

The Dartmouth Review: not titsup yet

You may have noticed that Dartreview.com, The Dartmouth Review's flagship website, is back online after a several day hiatus. No, Larry and Darren weren't pulling some kind of Weekly World News stunt. And, no, this is not a pledge-a-thon: The Dartmouth Review needs funding to publish, plain and simple.

Click on the link below, and you can donate money to The Dartmouth Review via Amazon's payment system. Or, click here to donate via Paypal, which charges smaller fees. Donations are deposited directly into The Dartmouth Review's publication bank account -- none of this money goes to overhead; it pays to publish The Dartmouth Review and to keep the Review's websites online.

With your help, we were able to get Dartreview.com back online quickly for the thousands of surfers who read it regularly. With your continued support, we will be able to resume our regular publication schedule. Just a few cents a day really can make a difference, as Sally Struthers has often said.

Amazon Honor SystemClick Here to PayLearn More

Donations are tax-deductible to the extent allowed by law. Donors of $40 or more will receive a subscription to the Review at their request. To request a subscription or a receipt for tax purposes, email us here after you have donated using the link above.

Donations are limited to $50 through Amazon. If you wish to donate more to the Review's publication fund, contact us, and we'll figure out a way.

Thank you for your support. If you have any questions or concerns, email me here.
(I'm going to keep this at the top of Dartlog for a couple more days, then we'll let things go back to normal. Contributors should post as usual.)

Wednesday, July 17, 2002

Oh, to be a rat

Workers had to be evacuated when tradgedy struck Kentucky recently. About 1,500 gallons (GALLONS!) of Southern Comfort was spilled into the Louisville sewer system on Friday. I will be observing a moment of silence this evening. You are all welcome to join me.

Monday, July 15, 2002

Also

Representative James Traficant testified before the House Ethics Committee today. You may recall that Traficant defeated accusations of racketeering and bribery in 1983 by claiming that he was taking part in a "one man sting operation." Traficant apparently can't understand why the FBI has been "after him" ever since he gave them that story.

Traficant admits he uses "unorthodox measures" and "may have raided this House for some appropriations money" and believes that he may go to jail for his new convictions of fraud, tax evasion, and bribery. He remains confident, however, that he "might be the first American to win a congressional seat while incarcerated." Good luck, Jim.

Practice makes Perfect

It seems as though our friends in Florida have been practicing that whole voting thing. In a variation on the complicated "point-and-click" procedure, residents took part in a mock election recently with their new touch screen voting machines. They voted on their favorite American president (it wasn't Pat Buchanan this time), their favorite holiday (Tuesday), and whether the words "under God" should stay in the Pledge of Allegiance.

There's already been a lawsuit claiming the machines are inaccurate.

Blue Light Special

DrKoop.com, founded by Dartmouth alumnus, former surgeon general and Koop Institute founder and Senior Scholar(Chick) Everett Koop has been sold to vitamin peddler Vitacost for $186,000.

At the height of the boom, Koop.com was valued at over $1 billion.

The asset sale comes as no surprise to followers of the beleaguered company, which declared bankruptcy last December and ceased operations. Of late, even Koop himself has been a bit erratic, giving passionate yet occasionally incoherent speeches on the "malignant" tobacco industry.

Saturday, July 13, 2002

"Attack of the Cyber-Terror Studies"

The Reg on academia's over-hyping of cyber-terror threats:
Created at Dartmouth College, the report Law Enforcement Tools and Technologies for Investigating Cyber Attacks (reg req'd) starts with an assumption that is not substantiated within the document: cyber attacks are a significant threat. It implicitly suggests that because the digital forensic tools are so bad, law enforcement will be unable to protect us from these attacks. The explicit conclusion is that there must be a national agenda for the research and creation of law-enforcement specific investigation tools.
...
It's easy to envision the staff at Dartmouth brainstorming topics for interesting research topics that would help put their new Institute for Security Technology Studies on the map. Did they deliberately design a survey that would inevitably conclude such research topics were vital to national defence? This report, bankrolled by the US Department of Justice, gives that impression. It will now be used as evidence to justify requesting additional public money on security software, an area where 25 years of government sponsorship has resulted in virtually no useful technology.
Full story here.

Friday, July 12, 2002

More Guns, Less Crime

Crime is on the rise in Britain, despite strong regulations against firearms. While the chances of having your house burglarized may be down, your chances of being raped or murdered in your home are on the rise.

Thursday, July 11, 2002

The Immutable Laws of Dowd

This came out a little over a month ago, but is still worth reading (and when it stops being so, we'll throw a party). A peek inside the mental mechanics of everyone's favorite columnist.

To be fair, she did publish her first ever tolerable column last week, about a fish.

We're #1

Dartmouth's Stephen Brooks and William Wohlforth in Foreign Affairs: "If today's American primacy does not constitute unipolarity, then nothing ever will. The only things left for dispute are how long it will last and what the implications are for American foreign policy." Full text here.

Also: Dartmouth's Rajesh Aggerwall on Bush's compensation from Harken: below-prime loans "are not unique, but are by no means widespread." From the Washington Post.

Wednesday, July 10, 2002

70 Virgin Strippers

Terrorists "having a good time" at San Antonio's XTC Cabaret threaten to blow up military bases. Never fear though, while I can tell you the SAPD is severly lacking, Texas vigilante justice is world renowned.

Sunday, July 07, 2002

Dartmouth Indian/Atlanta Brave

Mike Remlinger '88 will represent the National League in the All-Star Game .

WWF

I know the professional wrestling company is now known as WWE, but honestly, the World Wildlife Fund is way nuttier than the old World Wrestling Federation.

Academic Freedom

The fine folks at NRO found this gem about what academic freedom means in Britain at the moment. Due to how absurd this Prof. Baker is, we can play the fun game of "find the most ridiculous sentence in the article."

Saturday, July 06, 2002

DartLog Update

Since it's the summer and, presumably, no one's reading this anyway, I made a few changes to the site
- The layout has been updated to take advantage of the dartreview.com stylesheet. This means smaller file sizes all around.
- Everything (or nearly) has been made HTML 4.0 compliant. This site should render well in all standards-compliant browsers.
- The most recent Dartmouth Review headlines will be displayed on the left (still a few bugs here...).
- And, finally, a new logo, since no one liked the last one.
Send any complaints here, or just post them if you can do that.

This explains that wishy-washy mess in the Alumni Magazine...

"A majority of seniors � 73 percent � chose the statement 'what is right and wrong depends on differences in individual values and cultural diversity' as the message college and university professors most often transmit," in a National Association of Scholars survey covered here.

Tuesday, July 02, 2002

Hagelin in the News

Dartmouth's own John Hagelin, former Natural Law Party candidate for President (and former loser to Pat Buchanan for the Reform nomination), makes today's Best of the Web (Opinion Journal) Stupidity Watch (bottom of page). Hagelin believes Transcendental Meditation will bring about world peace. Original news link here.